westindiesWe recall well, between sleep and wake, nightmares of the slaughter of our teams, by the great Australians of the 60’s and 70’s. But this New Zealand team of 2013 is the opposite of the Australians, and yet, the expectation of capitulation remains our constant companion, in this battlefield of dreams, especially at this time of the year.

Last test match the West Indies Cricket Team succumbed for the umpteenth time, over the last two decades, to a less than viable opposition. This cultural rot will only stop when we properly locate its causation firmly in the laps of the administration of the West Indies Cricket Board (of Control) (WICB) and take concerted actions to excise the underlying cancer of this prolonged and institutionalized failure.

Since the coup that ended the ‘Age of Dominance’ the cricket establishment in the Caribbean has not produced one single player worthy of that epoch. What we have had is the constant recycling of average pretenders totally removed from the mind set of Worrell, Lloyd and Richards. The warrior mentality has been stripped from them, by executive design. The coup plotters of 1991 and their descendants continue to destroy West Indies cricket at all levels. So the largesse of team management could be directed to a Richie Richardson, the instrument of the plot which relocated effective power from players to administration.

Back then, we wonder why our players had to spend this time of year in far off places, way down under. We wondered why their families were not with them. But now we have a bunch of ordinary folk who are to be brought home for the holidays, what irony! A set of people who ‘lack courage’, badly led, on and off the field. Players, when you look into their eyes a deep vacuousness is to confront our enemies. But they are the gentlemanly types, they say, and exhibit all the behaviours which the elites in West Indies cricket like to see. What a bunch of female rabbits, on the Boards, no pun intended.

We have a captain whose only claims to fame is as the first Saint Lucian to lead the West Indies. This is our inheritance from Julian Hunte, himself a Saint Lucian. For Darren Sammy can neither bat, bowl nor field to the level where his place as a team member never comes into question. Thanks to Hunte, mediocrity in West Indies cricket has reached a normalization where Caribbean people are now use to being beaten up by cricketing infidels and a compliant administration remains unresponsive, insensitive to our pain. Still, we do not present Sammy as the proverbial lamb to be sacrificed on an altar of failure as constructed by a headless Muirhead, the new president.

Current players are supported by all kinds of high performance centres (HPC), comparatively better reward systems, modern training, university faculty, diet and a greater voice in the number and kinds of matches to be played, but yet, mediocrity continues apace. No pun intended. Because there is no real pace in truth. There are some people who take a long run but always ‘brecking down’ or mek you wonder whether they are bowling on the same pitch as the opposition speedsters. Our batters are no different. The opposition can be guaranteed a number of catches going down.

It is a team of 14 to 16 players and a travelling management team of another NINE. This smacks of some sort of bureaucratic skulduggery. Or could it be the dysfunction of a regional administration so caught up in its own internal politics that it lacks the sensibilities to see the lopsidedness of this management to player ratio. Could this excessive ‘management’ be informed by the mindset which brought Sammy to the captaincy? We are talking about the relative power of patronage networks within the WICB(C). There are no set of circumstances where this could be justified, given our dimensions for resource allocation!

The members of the extended Board, people like Joel Garner, Hilary Beckles, the president and the gravy train of representatives from regional Boards seem more interested in imposing monarchist cultural norms on players than destroying are common enemies, pretending that they are interested in shaping young people. So you will hear Beckles telling Kirk Edwards how he (Edwards) should dress when not playing cricket. As if he (Beckles) is in a position to dictate personal choices of others, what trivia! Or his unwarranted traducing of the reputation of Christopher Gayle. The coup of 1991 continues to use these cricketing satrapies to extend our political defeat in the only real cultural war we have ever won. Until we can get these pimping administrators from around our cricket the success of former years will never return.

47 responses to “Fire the Pimps on the WICB(C)”

1. What this fella say?

2. As could be easily forecasted the slide is on again at 135/5. The only question is whether the match would be completed in 3 days. Is this not the continuing failure of the board/s. Everywhere else in the world when teams continue to fail it is rightly seen as a management problem, not so in the Caribbean. The whole team is more likely to be replaced many times before there could be any discussion about the structural problem this is. None of the top 3 or 4 are ready for cricket at the highest level. The brains are not on the WIBC(C)

3. This is arguably the weakest team we’ve produced, barely avoiding a black wash thanks to rain delays in match one. In addition, New Zealand are not anywhere near the top rankings. Still all kinds of executives are receiving inflated salaries and social largesse.

4. @ Pancha
    Everywhere else in the world when teams continue to fail it is rightly seen as a management problem, not so in the Caribbean. The whole team is more likely to be replaced many times before there could be any discussion about the structural problem this is
    What are you really talking about Pacha? Cricket..? ….Or the coming layoffs where 3000 low paid workers will be laid off while the highly paid idiots at the top continue with their folly….

The president and board should have the common decency to RESIGN now….as should the political leadership – and the top administrative jokers….
    …but they won’t…:)

5. We recall well, between sleep and wake, nightmares of the slaughter of our teams, by the great Australians of the 60’s and 70’s.
    The WI Teams of the 60’s & 70’s were all fighters (the 60’s Team had the first tied Test) except for that slight hiccup when they faced Thomson & Lillee in Australia. I have some friends who burn the midnight oil watching this travesty unfold while paying the Cable companies a premium for the privilege. They are the definition of “gluttons for punishment”.

As adolescents playing “bat and ball” we all tried to emulate the “greats”, if you were left handed you would be Gary Sobers complete with upturned collar, if you were right handed there were myriad batsmen to copy, today’s young males more likely to be Kobe or some budding English or Brazilian football player.

Some people in the Caribbean will not like the following but WI Cricket today is like driving a car with the fuel gauge on “E” and no service station for hundreds of miles, soon it will be just the fumes and then it is kaput.
    Old men will wax nostalgic about the glory days of WI Cricket ,spin tales of batting or bowling heroics to their grandchildren and gaze wistfully into the sunset lamenting what we lost.

It was fun while it lasted……..All glory is fleeting.,,,.

6. The symptomatology of West Indies cricket is pathognomonic of contemporary Carribbean calousness.
    Like most diseases one can trace and outline its pathophysiology in much the same way as one can do for the political mire in which we find ourselves.Both are like a slowly developing and metastising cancer.

We need just to go back 1981 when we banned 18 cricketers for life for plying their trade in South Africa, when there is still more apartheid in Barbados- even if veiled.

Then we dropped Greenidge Dujon Richards and mistreated Marshall in 1992.

One of the off shoots of this is that these top players stopped playing regional first class cricket and thereby providing on the job mentoring for the young players just as they had them selves received.

20 years later the tree has borne its fruit.

7. 289 for 6 good recovery. Ramdin 107, Chanderpaul 94 not out.

8. We are playing New Zealand which is below us in the world ranking, on paper we should be dominant but the reality is that we are playing away which exposes a mental weakness.

We have no professional league for our players to hone their skills. How then can they compete with the other countries who have a cadre of professional cricketers? We have to go to the root of the problem. The UWI is spending a lot of money on cricket hut without a professional league or some opportunity to play and encourage good cricket, we are spinning top in mud.

9. We didnt have a professional league in the 50’s or 60’s either.
    As I travel across the region I do not see boys playing cricket.
    Our team selection is poor and we pick inexperIenced players who dont care unless the money is big …like IPL

rAHANE JUST JOINED THE INDIAN TEAM WITH STATS OF 60 FIRST CLASS MATCHES AND 20 FIFTIES AND 20 HUNDREDS

HOW MANY OF OUR PLAYERS HAVE THESE STATS

CHECK THE RECORDS OF 50’S EVEN BEFORE SHELL SHIELD DAYS AND SEE THE SCORES OF THE BATSMEN IN THE TRIANGULAR TOURNAMENTS WHO THEN REPRESENTED THE WINDIES

10. This is why we need a professional league because the interest in the game of cricket has changed over the years. In the 50s and 60s you played cricket and football and there was not TV or Internet. It is not village life now it is a global.

11. @ David
    Your ideas is not a bad one but what is wrong with an evolving West Indies culture cannot be solved by a professional league, alone, one run by the same people. In fact a stronger argument would be that our cricket will not improve until all other cultural expressions do likewise, in the political-economic sphere for example.

12. Bushie, correctly made this connection

13. @Pacha

Agreed but the pro league is a bridge to allow for competitiveness in the near term as we grapple with the more complex issues which of necessity will take time.

14. On that point you are wrong. The so-called pro league will just degenerate into a boondoggle with the accumulated loses ending up in the lap of government.

15. @Pacha

Do you anticipate this is how the CPL will end up?

16. @ David
    Wait, we are not talking about a West Indies that some years ago had a world cup and left the people of the Caribbean with billions in debt. All this by an establishment that claims to have dominated cricket for 20 years. And you now telling us that we should have confidence in putting a pro league under their supervision? You got to be kidding me! When will they pimps address the debts from the world cup and take real ownership of the stadia etc? The success of the teams from the past never translated in excellence in the boardrooms and they never will in the future under this feckless and perennial management culture.

17. @Pacha

The debt if you are referring to the infrastructure which had to be setup for CWC was incurred by respective governments.

18. Regardless, it is on the books of countries now having problems with further borrowing and their debt to GDP ratios

19. Yes but the countries took the decision to incur the debt and not the WIBC. As an example T&T refused to incur the see level of debt, the irony.

20. The mangers of the countries are no different than the management of the board/s, then

21. The Bushman made the point so long ago!WICB and DLP same problem!!
    The real nastiness of the WICBC under the Short man heralded the demise of our cricket when he refused to allow Haynes his rightful place in the team owing to some ancient rule made by mice and men.Peter Short can hold a lot of the balme for the downward slide in cricket but the ‘greatest cricketer the wold has ever known’was ignominously turfed out of the WI team himself and the same treatment was meted out to the great Brian Lara just after World Cup.All of dem fuhcup as Malik sang.The WIBC and the DLP fuhcup….

22. Things go around in circles so Shut the trap up. Nobody is perfect and people will live up and love what they do if they are appreciated .Aprreciate and love the cricketers and they will respond .

23. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2013 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2013 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

24. Cricket defines the Caribbean

25. For those who don’t believe WI cricket is dead and by extrapolation the dearth of leadership which exist in the region the evidence again forced it’s way to the fore last night.

26. @David

We cant believe this, again. See what we told you about the mindless louts on the boards. This is a huge management failure. Just checked the scores and was surprised to see 103 all out in the second innings. Why are the members of these boards not in a cricket jail, doing hard labour? Even when yuh think that these people won’t be beaten in 3 days or less they insist on proving you wrong.

27. re Gabriel | December 19, 2013 at 3:35 PM |
    The WICB and DLP same problem!!
    EXACTLY!
    THE CHICKENS HAVE COME HOME TO ROOST AND A CPL WILL NOT SOLVE THE PROBLEM

WHY DOES PUJARA HAVE 5 CENTURIES IN 15 TESTS AT AGE 25?
    HINT
    HE HAS PLAYED 89 FIRST CLASS GAMES
    HAS 25 CENTURIES INCLUDING THREE TRIPLE CENTURIES
    HE CAN PERFORM AT THE TOP BECAUSE HE HAS BEEN DOING IT FOR YEARS AT THE LOWER LEVEL

COMPARE THIS WITH OUR BOYS

JUST MAKE 25 RUNS VERSUS SOMEBODY SUNDAY SCHOOL TEAM OR QUEENS COLLEGE WOMEN TEAM AND YOU ARE A STAR AND IN THE TEAM!
    GIBSON DROP NASH CAUSE HE WHITE
    IF HE HAD HIS WAY HE WOULD DROP CHANDERPAUL TOO—–THATS WHAT HE WANTED TO DO

28. I first observed here in the UK that when West Indies were doing well, grounds were packed out with West Indians but as soon as they were not doing so well, supporters went and hid under rocks and they haven’t come out to this day.
    If I contrast that with any other team, their supporters came out in force when they were at their lowest and being thrashed by all other teams.

The difference is that those teams and their supporters never lost heart whilst we descended to a state where we witnessed a spectacle where it was difficult to spot a West Indian in a test match against England at Kensington Oval, Barbados.

There is a defeatist mentality the pervades, it’s everywhere and not confined to cricket.
    As Pacha opined, it’s not just about cricket and it’s endemic everywhere in the Caribbean and the diaspora and there seems no way it will change.

On a lighter note, there was an joke email being circulated here last year which said — There was a boy in Trinidad who went to court to divorce his parents because they beat him and he wanted his aunt to be his guardian – granted by the judge.
    Six months later he went back to court again asking for his guardianship be changed because his aunt also beat him. The judge proposed his uncle but the boy said his uncle also beat him and suggested instead guardianship by the West Indies team because they don’t beat anybody.

29. My bad, “the pervades” should read “that pervades”, “an joke email” should read “a joke email”.

30. @ Sid Boyce

LOL. We don’t even want to watch them on TV free so why should we go somewhere to pay or travel all over the world to watch a bunch of brass bowls, as Bushie would say. If this cricket is not as important as politics and we are saddled with ‘cage’ of female rabbits on the boards and executive management, how can we even think bout getting the rid of this class of political people? Getting the rid of pimps should happen as a matter of course, not so in the Caribbean.

31. We are convince that if Desmond Haynes was made captain when Richards ‘retired’ and the captain’s relative power was left intact, we would still be beating people bad, all like now

32. AGREED PACHAMAMA

33. I hear the same sentiments here but the rot set in a long time ago when we still had world class players in the team.
    That was the time when solid support was needed but sadly unlike melted snow on a bright sunny day that leaves water on the ground, no trace of them was left.
    “Rally round the West Indies” never galvanised support either and you could see that the supporters had lost heart and next were the players who have not recovered from that deep depression.

The last West Indies test match I watched at Edgbaston there were only 6 of us there, my Jamaican friend Jeff, his son, myself, a Jamaican couple and their friend.

The essential ingredients for a successful outcome are just not there. When England were getting beaten all around the globe, at cricket in clubs, schools and at Edgbaston Cricket Centre – places where I coach was thriving with youngsters eager to learn and perform.
    We’ve achieved sterling success in getting kids into county and district teams run by Warwickshire, Worcestershire and Staffordshire.

When I saw Ricardo Gordon operating as a Warwickshire fast bowler this year – I coached him at school and at Handsworth CC. I have one youngster only 12 years and 4 months old who is the opening bat for Warwickshire Under 15’s and now has been inducted into the England High Performance setup.

Admittedly I can’t claim as the sole reason they made it so far but my contribution was significant in laying a platform.
    The structure of cricket in England is different from bottom to top, bottom as that is where it starts.

I see a “Test” team with fundamental weaknesses that should have been corrected when they were kids. Contrast that to a 11 year old girl here facing a bowling machine at 60 MPH who played away from her body and nicked an away swinger being asked by the coach “Lee-Ann, did you have to play at that?” Problem fixed immediately.
    One youngster 11 years old who I stopped from bowling around the wicket to left handers when he was 9 years old and proudly I watched him in this year’s Warwickshire district trials bowling over the wicket, quick, hostile and bang on target to both left and right handers. I have every confidence that he will progress from district into the County side and even to the Warwickshre County Academy.

What is needed in the West Indies is a system to coach them young to be competent, analytical and smart. When they get to test level it’s way too late. They don’t meet the fitness requirements nor the levels of skill required.

34. West Indies produced great cricketers when we had little else to do.

No TV, no computer, no cell phone and no athletic scholarships.

We played cricket at school and when we went home from school.

Yes we need organization, coaching and high performance centres.

I watch a lot of West Indies cricket and it is clear that they were not properly coached in the fundamentals.

35. You become competent at cricket as you do at anything- you do a lot of it.
    If our players want to be successful cricketers they need to play lots of cricket- as they do in India.

36. And you by having leagues at different levels and of course there is the money to fund it. The opportunities our players had in past have tried up.

37. The opportunities our players had in past have tried up BECAUSE THEY DO NOT MERIT THEM.

38. No GP the rules were changed to impact how clubs are able to recruit.

39. David | December 22, 2013 at 1:12 PM |
    No GP the rules were changed to impact how clubs are able to recruit.
    CHANDERPAUL AND NASH ARE PLAYING COUNTY CRICKET

WHO ELSE MERITS A PLAY OR ARE EVEN INTERESTED?
    WHY SHOULD THEY?
    THEY WILL STILL MAKE THE WINDIES TEAM THOUGH MEDIOCRE?

40. @GP

You are focusing on the result of the rule change.

41. DAVID
    WE ARE JUST MAKING LOTS OF EXCUSES FOR INCOMPETENCE AND MEDIOCRE PERFORMANCES

I CANT UNDERSTAND THIS BECAUSE IN MY PROFESSION I NEVER HAD THAT OPPORTUNITY

42. Georgie Porgie wrote “I CANT UNDERSTAND THIS BECAUSE IN MY PROFESSION I NEVER HAD THAT OPPORTUNITY”

YOU CHOSE TO WORK HARD TO BE COMPETENT AT EVERYTHING YOU DO.

YOU COULD HAVE JOINED THE UNDERACHEIVERS LIKE ME.

43. hants
    you are absolutely correct

44. Today the South Africans made 450 in a 4th innings chasing 457 to win, 7 wickets down. This is something seldom done and could have been a new world record. Wonder when the WI gine grow this type of tenacity (balls) to do something like this again.

45. Turn off the lights the party is over, the voice you are hearing is the fat lady singing and judging from the recent antics in NZ there will be no happy ending.

The patient was in intensive care for a long time and is now comatose, someone should pull the plug.

Leave a Reply to Sid BoyceCancel reply