Adrian Loveridge - Hotelier
Adrian Loveridge – Hotelier

Just over a week ago, my wife and I experienced a staycation at Sandals Casuarina.  An enormous amount of discussion has taken place concerning the extraordinary concessions granted to the Sandals companies and as I was not personally familiar with the product thought it was important that I tasted what is often referred to as the Sandals ‘WOW’ factor first hand.

Despite the website [Sandals] at the time showing that the hotel was fully booked until the middle of March 2014, I managed to reserve a room online for the dates of my choice and pay in full at published rates by credit card. Bookings are processed by yet another company, Unique Vacations Inc., based in Florida and an email confirmation was sent. Noticeably absent were any taxes or corporate information, including office address or contact details.

Having a few queries prior to our stay I emailed Adam Stewart, the CEO of Sandals Resorts International (SRI) and within minutes he responded personally apologising that because he was currently travelling, he had passed my concerns over to the General Manager (GM) of the hotel. Still within one hour, Josef Zellner, the new GM not only answered my initial questions but went on to monitor our reservation and ensure a seamless check-in.

Over our four day stay it soon became apparent that Joe was a hands-on manager, frequently seen in every area of the property from as early as 6am until late at night. Frankly, when so many senior personnel appear to find the comfort of air conditioned offices more attractive it was a refreshing change.

At this stage I think it is very important to point out that I have only stayed in two all-inclusive hotels in my entire life, the Montego Bay Sunspree Holiday Inn and the Jolly Beach Resort in Antigua,  observations made has to reflect this.

Clearly, even after four weeks re-branding from Couples, there is still a lot of work necessary to fully ‘Sandalise’ the hotel but you get the feeling that it is progressing as planned. The vast majority of the staff are friendly and helpful. When I brought up the subject of a three months probationary work period a Barbadian waitress we talked to could not have explained it any better. She said that during the current challenging trading times that this was not at all unusual and by no means limited to the hospitality industry.

There were a number of surprises, especially the current very limited use of locally available products. These included Banks Beer (draft and cans), Pine Hill milk, BICO ice cream, BBC bottled water and some soft drinks. As the birthplace of Rum not a single Barbadian produced brand was available at any outlet. I really hope that considering the tremendous commercial advantages Sandals has been given that Government can exert some gentle pressure to ensure a higher percentage of consumables are sourced here. It was however, commendable that local craft vendors have been allowed to establish a presence on the property to sell their wares.

On check-out, we asked for a receipted bill, but as all bookings are processed offshore one was not available. Apparently only incidental items including extra charges are payable locally and that again raises the question of VAT and ensuring a level playing field with the remaining tourism sector on Barbados. Would it therefore be unreasonable for the taxpayer to be told the net foreign exchange contribution to Barbados the company (SRI) will be making, after each trading year?

94 responses to “Bajan Sandals Experience”

1. Why don’t the two of wunna go on some Canadian blog an engage in wunna mambo jumbo nuh! Steupssss
    …damn dog dying and wunna talking ’bout ticks…

2. Your damn dog is dying because it didn’t take the medicine that its owners were told that it needed to get better. I have seen your old dog run around the same tree for a year now and nobody has been willing to or capable of getting it to reverse direction. The mange all over its body has started to show so now it is time to start cutting off parts to see if it can be saved. When it is over your once great dane will be like a Chihuahua looked down on by the bigger dogs in the area and sniffing assholes hoping to get lucky

3. Alvin………..Barbados would not need to settle for anyone’s scrap if their governments would use the education they got freely from the taxpayer’s purse wisely..

My business is fine, i can get concessions in Canada, in Barbados, if they are available, i did not try, but the double taxation treaty will work in my favor, don’t know if that it still available, it does swing both ways. or the US….by the way, people are saying they do not hear Inniss when they call him about business..so there you go.

4. @ Lawson
    Bow wow!! …snarLLL! 🙂

We dog dying because it’s time is UP…..All dogs die…
    ours may be getting a bit mangy because the brass bowls whose job it was to bathe the dog are too full of shiite and of themselves… so we getting some ticks and mange etc…
    ….THEN WE DOG GOING TO DIE…..

…here is the bad news for you, Alvin, Sarge and wunna big dog – the Canadian Mastiff – wunna may not got no ticks or mange, but wunna dog ass going die of the SAME old age as ours…

wunna big dog may make a prettier dog corpse – but um going rot the same way as our little mangy poodle down here.
    ..you playing you don’t hear what Zoe and GP telling wunna….

..FAT LADY SINGING JUST NOW…..

5. Not so fast BT when our hound is in need it just digs a hole, our dog finds bones everywhere, uranium bones, gold bones nickel bones ,oil bones potash bones etc and when its tired of digging it just pisses on miles and miles of trees, and when its hungry food is everywhere. I agree with you all dogs must die , but yours was humping the leg of Britain before it got shook off, now its trying to latch on to the IMF’s leg but its wearing pants made of thorns. The art of diplomacy is saying nice doggy till you find a rock. You guys need to find that rock.

6. Of course you are right Lawson
    Shiite man….you dog better off that the new one that Joined Obama’s family recently…PLUS- yours got a golden collar….and a silver bowl – congrats… 🙂
    You are also right that our Sardine -Can-Retriever down here full of fleas, ticks and smell like hell…and everyone throwing rocks at his tail…

But guess what….
    At the APPOINTED HOUR, both your big rich dog, and our mangy “pot-starver” will BOTH DIE…and be subject to the same grubby worms….by the mighty LEVELER.

Depending on what happens after that, it could well turn out that the poor mangy dog was better prepared…..you better stop counting wunna chickens yuh- they may not hatch….

7. It sounds like you mean when we go to meet our maker, but how do you know he wont be more upset with you islanders for squandering your talents instead of like us putting them to good use as in the bible.
    But your thinking is just the way I like it you getting your reward in the next life, I don’t want you coveting my wife, coveting my goods or stealing my stuff with your open door open window policy. lol

8. LOL @ Lawson
    Open door policy?
    You mixing up Bushie with Enuff…
    Bushie doors shut yuh!

You sure about the talent thing though….?
    Since when Digging under your feet and finding minerals is “talents”?
    Since when is finding yourself In the world’s largest country with a small population density a “talent” bozie?

If you REALLY analyse it, even our certified brass bowls down here may have outperformed your lot – given what the two groups have had to work with…and where we are now….

Over and above such analysis however, tell Bushie what is REALLY different between a 98 year-old billionaire with Alzheimer’s and a 98 year-old pauper with Alzheimer’s….

9. Nice going Bushie, the analogy fits in with my limited maths llesson; Things that are equal to the same things are equal to one another. Brooker (small cakes) circa 1946. Africa is the largest country; even though it is composed of many many small countries, the land mass of that continent is bigger than the U.S. Canada, China,Russia and other smaller ones combined. check it out.
    Unlike you , Lawson, and a lot of others I know, there is still lots of life in the “old dog. He may be mangy, but a few lysol baths, a good worming, lots of tick powder and good treatment and loving care, and he will come back. It has happened in the past.
    Well well, I wrote and answer on the other blog that apeared today. check it out.

10. I am starting to wonder about the thinking down there. Depends Bushman money makes a great deodorant so they will live a different lifestyle although they may not know it. Alvin it sounds like Bush Tea is talking about you, if you think Barbados will rise from the ashes like a phoenix you are delusional. But I hope you are right.

11. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Alvin Cummins | December 20, 2013 at 10:24 PM |
    ” He may be mangy, but a few lysol baths, a good worming, lots of tick powder and good treatment and loving care, and he will come back. It has happened in the past.”

When in the past did whatever happened?
    Please identify these occasions and who say who was /were responsible for the Bajan phoenix magically rising from the ashes.

Countries come and countries go. Empires rise and empires fall.
    Tell us what is so special about Bim? Do you, too, feel that your God is a Bajan? Barbados has had her day in the Sun and like her former Mother country Great Britain the Sun is slowly setting on her halcyon days when Bim was the brightest jewel in Britain’s economic crown and her raison d’être King Sugar is now dead.
    Long live Queen of Prostitution Tourism (according to Bush Tea’s playbook of serious debate)!

12. Lawson
    Money makes a good deodorant for healthy young persons who have hopes and visions of enjoying its benefits…
    At 98, when illness takes hold and the INEVITABLE stares you in the face, money suddenly is not so critical to your life….

In the scheme of things, our world has reached old age….it is suffering from all kinds of illnesses…..from Alzheimer’s to diabetes to heart failure and arthritis ….
    Wunna fellows up in shoulder (Canada) may well be in fairly good condition – while we down here by the brass bowl smelling shiite; and the poor folks in Syria (arthritic joints) seeing hell;
    But when the body dies (AS IT WILL SOON) the shoulder can’t live on its own….

If wunna know what good for wunna shoulder wunna better look after the brass bowls and the arthritic joints…

@ Miller
    Leave Alvin nuh!!
    You always bashing AC’s… 🙂

13. @Miller,
    IMF invited in by a young fellow named Tom. Three down grades “following Owen” at a time when he had already borrowed for a rainy day. At the time when the Sandiford government had to impose an 8% pay; when he offered to reimburse these cuts through the offer to issue Bonds that was
    refused, and even before that when people lived in squalour in Nelson street, jordans Lane, jessamy lane, and when people had to get their pit toilets cleaned periodically.
    Miller you are too young, and have had too privileged a life, to know those days. Do you know anythinng about cooking on “hard coals” that had to be bought?
    You have had a good life so you don’t know anything about suffering, that’s why you have such a nonchalant attitude, and are so unfeeling for people in financial difficulties. You know where Duke’s alley is?
    The Phoenix in this instance did not “magically” rise from the ashes. The fire was already out, and the groundwork had been laid.
    To use a cricket analogy; the pacers were already taken off, even though some of the opening batsmen had been taken off injured, and others were battered and bruised, the pitch was now playing easy. The batsmen were seeing the ball like a breadfruit, But then they lost sight of the goal, kept flashing at the ball and within a short time had squandered the build up. the incoming batsmen now have to face the refreshed pace bowlers and the wicket cracking up. Lots of bouncers, but like Wes Hall, and Malcolm marshall;batting with a broken hand, they are still holding on. to the bitter end.
    Do people like you think the land is going to sink into the sea? It has to continue. Whether or not you contribute to it’ssuccess, or try to hasten it’s demise, is up to you. Teamwork is essential, if you don’t want to be part of the team, get off the bus.
    We Will Survive. I am confident.

14. Bush Tea Barbados is in trouble so you want the whole world to die. That is the thinking that got you in the trouble your in now, thinking the sun rotates around the earth, or everything rotates around Barbados. I cant blame you for thinking like that because at one time you had it all, but times change. Now at home when we have a dog full of the mange, crippled with arthritis, suffering from dementia we give it one last chance to rally, failing in that we look for a nice way to put it to sleep.
    Some ideas to help you rally.
    Your overpopulated, somebody got to go
    Bush Tea going to your doctor and telling him you think you have a prostate problem is one way of practicing safe sex I guess, but for the main stream people give away condoms and educate

Hard choices have to be made to fix your economy it is like ripping off a bandaid the sooner you do it the quicker the pain will be over

You pay to feed a workforce in the prison, use them, clean up the mangy island. .and let the litterers know they can clean up with or without an orange jump suit on by putting some of them in jail.

Have another gun amnesty but couple it with after this date anyone caught with an illegal gun automatic 10 years. These people are killing your island and livelihood have no sympathy for them.

15. Lawson
    Now you see why Bushie advised you and Alvin to find a Canadian blog and write bout things wunna know bout….?

Look back at the archives and you will see that Bushie (and GP and Zoe and others) were talking about the imminence of our world dying (the end of this Phase) back when Barbados was punching above its weight….)

You recommend strict gun laws…. do you have ANY idea of our current gun laws? Skippa you can get ten years for having a USED cartridge far less a gun…
    Shiite then, they even lock up Arthur’s brother who was an OFFICIAL in a gun club….

…of course that has little impact on the bad boys, cause some jackass named KING who was attorney General decided that police cannot do stop and search ….. So now they mostly search the houses of people that they GIVE gun licenses to…. BBs…

Why don’t you find a Canadian blog and help them to sort out your Toronto mayor ? 🙂

16. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Let’s get back to Sandals Bushie and ignore the asides.

Earlier this year Sandals paid a settlement of $12 million dollars to settle a corruption case for bribing Government officials in Turks and Caicos. It would seem that when that news became known to our officials, Government switched and started dealing with Sandals.

17. @ Caswell
    …accept Bushie’s apologies Mr. Chairman…. Sorry… 🙁

So are you saying that the DLP is to Sandals what the BLP was to VECO and 3S?

18. Or is it that Couples were as inept as the local group that wanted to build the prison for ONLY $400M? ….and using a reputable international partner with decades of successful experience too boot…?

Wuh they could be serious?

19. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I am not saying that but it would appear so.

20. @ Caswell
    Well at least that would make some kinda sense….cause EVERYTHING else about that sandals affairs smells to high heaven… If THAT ain’t shiite then um is perfume we making down at the sewerage plant skippa…

21. In Antigua Sandals got similar resistance and then it fell away, like Barbados.

22. David, Sadly I think you are right. We may never know the true cost to the tourism industry on Barbados.

23. @Bushie,
    Don’t link me with Lawson.It is obvious that even though we are both in Canada we think differently. I am the eternal optimist. I know what barbados was before. I know what it is now and I can see whereit will be years from now. One thing about me, I never give up, and I will never give up on Barbados. Ant there is no way the Sandals situation can be compared with the machinations behind the VECO inbroglio. Check out the history of VECO not only in Barbados, but in Alaska and other places.
    Anyhow. I still want answers about the 1.4 billion that Henderson talked about. I still want an answer from Adrian about why he never visited or spent time at other Bajan all-inclusives; even though he was a competing hotelier. Earlier I asked him fpr specific suggestions for inproving the tourism industry he has never answered.
    Morning Well Well. Hope you are well. Weather still cold…freezing rain yesterday and more expected tomrrow. I am alive though.

24. Bush Tea I think I may know you now, You are that guy that used to stand near the brown sugar with the world will end tomorrow sign, eventually you will be right. Just the other day Harold Camping was right the world ended….for him. Forget Sandals they don’t even sell your rum, you guys will talk shit, but you will just get in line and follow along. That is why your transition to Canada is easy because we are the same. That pin head is still the head of Toronto, go figure I just put up all the decorations on our HAPPY HOLIDAYS tree, Went to see the children at the HAPPY HOLIDAY pageant, and on the 25 of dec we will open our HAPPY HOLIDAY presents we don’t want to offend anybody . Wait till they figure out happy holiday ham comes from a pig. we will be eating mangy dog.

25. LOL @ Lawson
    Man happy holidays to you too..
    Enjoy- and try and drink Barbados rum if you have to drink…. 🙂

26. Alvin it is easy to be an optimist living in comfort off the island. The opportunities are not there for people on the island to work and make the big income to be wealthy and prosperous as there are in Canada. I can tell from your writings that you have the ability to generate wealth quite easily. So tell me ….how much did you get for the rob ford tape.

27. @David,
    Just a matter of interest:
    S&P strips EU of triple A rating December 20, 2013
    Rating agency cites weakening cohesion and deteriorating financial profile to justify reduction of the AAA rating to AA+

28. Wait Sandals bring their own flights from Wales? This news very hush hush on BLP BU. Loveridge you know about it? Are you going to sneak on the flights like you did for a staycation at Sandals to see if they sold local rum?

Never heard of a hotel in Barbados getting planeloads of tourists into the air to come to Barbados. We’ve heard a lot of hot air from Loveridge, and the Hotel association economic terrorists.

BU investigate we want more information on the reported flights Sandals bringing if factual its a fantastic new opportunity for all the players in the local industry.

29. @BT
    …here is the bad news for you, Alvin, Sarge and wunna big dog – the Canadian Mastiff – wunna may not got no ticks or mange, but wunna dog ass going die of the SAME old age as ours…
    Why don’t you find a Canadian blog and help them to sort out your Toronto mayor ?
    Since you called my name I feel a bit inclined to jump in but didn’t “Lawson” write that he lived in Ottawa? These are two different cities Ottawa is where politicians go to get rich and Toronto is where they move after they have achieved that goal.

BTW the Toronto mayor has been defanged for now but he may get re-elected but Toronto is not the only city that has a bozo for mayor …. Ask H Austin about Boris Johnson.

BTW I don’t live in TO, just close enough to comment

30. Ruffin, Sadly it graphically demonstrates just how little you know about the tourism industry. In fact I was the first person to post on my and the BHTA FaceBook page details of the Sandals Cardiff charter. And hotels have in fact been chartering aircraft since at least the 1970’s. The first I can remember is Pegasus with travel pioneer Giuseppe Ollivierra.

http://www.walesonline.co.uk/business/business-news/first-ever-cardiff-airport-barbados-6424494

31. Alvin….glad you got the information on Africa and the fact that it’s true size has always been misrepresented and lied about, Only when a real map of the continent was shown to me that the information sank in, you need to distribute that information around Barbados.

I did answer you on today’s thread.

No one is saying Barbados will not rise again, it’s just annoying that it is very difficult to see the results of all that taxpayer funded education.

32. What kind of Barbados do we want to reemerge anyway? One where conspicuous consumption is rampant?

33. David..therein lies the rub, as long as they can get over the materialism (just see where it has gotten them, living in debt, being born to debt) the island stands a fighting chance of recovery going forward. First we have to rid ourselves of materialistic leaders.

34. David, why do you think I havae been calling for Bajans to cut the daamn imports? We have to change our lifestyles. Next thing, Loverage you are a shamefaced something. Now that Sandals is doing something positive..on its own…instead of waiting for the government, you are trying to say that this was started long ago by some body with an italian name. Sure does not sound Bajan to me. Tell the truth why das the BHTA do(the private sectoR)neVER explored THESE AREAS. yOU STILL HAVE NOT ANSWERED ME. By the way when did the charters you speak of stop? do you remember Ward Air?
    @ lAWSON, FOR Your information I live in Barbados. I come to Canada for part of the year. IF i was not an optimist I would NEVER have had the courage to leave Barbados and seek my education abroad. I am not wealthy and I know many people who still live in barbados (never left) who are rich. Getting their wealth honestly, who work hard, were judicious in their spending and live in a way that people would never even suspect that they have money.Barbados itself has a measure of wealth. Its people have worth in its housing stock. I have lived long enouth, and worked hard enough in the snow and ice to break away sometimes. But Barbados is more than my country. “My navel string bury there, and that is where my soul is. So I KNOW we will survive.
    That is why I get pissed of at the (dis)loyal sons who seek every opportunity to dis…the country and the people. If you want to see the difference between Bajans and Jamaicans, get hold of this weekend’s Pride or Share, and see pictures of the Jamaicans crowding the streets to watch Tessanne Perform in the Voice competition. When Rihanna won her first Grammy, how many people in the island supported her? Remember the criticism the Government got for making her an ambassador for youth? How many maintained “She can’t even sing”. Your comments are still there David. Jamaicans themselves have been calling for Tessanne to be an ambassador. We don’t rejoice in the achievements of other barbadians. When Ryan Brathwaite won the WORLD Championship in the 110 meters Hurdles. Many Bajans got on as if it was no big thing. Any time a Bajan excels. even to world standard, at anything it is an achievement. When compared with the billions of people in the world, and a person from a country of 270 thousand is first, and best, among them it is a big thing.

35. Oh, sargeant,
    I make such an effort to help my country that when I have to travel home I get my travel agent in Barbados to book my flight and take home the Canadian dollars the pay for it in Barbados.so I ent got no poodle or bull mastiff of Canadian vintage.

36. @Alvin Cummins | December 21, 2013 at 7:01 PM |

Next thing, Loverage you are a shamefaced something. Now that Sandals is doing something positive..on its own…instead of waiting for the government, you are trying to say that this was started long ago by some body with an italian name. Sure does not sound Bajan to me

———————-
    ROFLMAO.

37. Alvin you can fool your patriots but not me . At your age health care is your only concern and you are on the gravy train in Canada so sell your I am a barbadian to someone else. I am not barbadian but bleed for the island make trips ever year send goods every year. want only the best for Barbados hate the dlp hate the blp frankly all these boobs should be ashamed of what they have accomplished since they have been in charge . You are right we are not linked because I owe Barbados nothing but want to help you owe Barbados everything but think it is sufficient to pay it lip service

38. lawson wrote “health care is your only concern and you are on the gravy train in Canada”

All Canadian citizens living in Ontario for more than 183 days a year are entitled to health care ( OHIP ).

A lot of semi retired and retired Bajans pay taxes in both Canada and Barbados and become snowbirds just like the white canadians who flock to florida to escape winter.

39. Entitlement the scourge the world over, and here we go again ” white Canadians” I hate to break it to you but colored Canadians like florida too

40. The question of the day:

Did Sandals got this plane duty free?

http://www.odysseyfsp.com/locations/images/myef/sandals-jet-myef.jpg

41. David wrote “the question of the day:Did Sandals got this plane duty free?”

Duty free in which country?

42. Adrian Loveridge Avatar

As a hotelier I would also like to beg for a Challenger Jet. I understand they currently only cost US$24 million each and have an operating cost of around US$5,000 per hour. I also would like duty free concessions to operate this jet for 25 years and put my initials on the tail. Instead of N991GS (Gordon ‘Butch’ Stewart), I would like N991AL.