Walter Blackman

When judged against the harsh background of adversarial politics, only two prime ministers of Barbados (who led the country for 7 years or more) can lay claim to being able to escape the clutches of the IMF for the entire period of their rule – Errol Barrow and Owen Arthur.

Say whatever you will, it is an undeniable fact that Barrow and Arthur were able to utilize whatever resources they had available at their disposal without plunging the Barbadian economy into disequilibrium. This achievement in itself represents a public demonstration of their political and economic skills. One was from the DLP, and the other is from the BLP, but we must commend and applaud both of them equally for distinguishing themselves in this regard.

Borrowing, taxation, and easily accessible NIS funds were the main resources available to Barrow, Arthur, and all Ministers of Finance. Naturally these resources varied in amount as administrations came and went.

By the time the David Thompson administration assumed office in early 2008, the world had changed drastically. Volatility and uncertainty had become so widespread that the Governor of the Central Bank informed and warned all Barbadians that the macroeconomic models used to analyze and predict outcomes under the “old” economic order, were no longer applicable.

The quality of hundreds of thousands of Barbadian lives depended heavily on Thompson’s ability to successfully confront the challenges brought on by weakened world economies. Recessionary conditions in Britain and the USA especially, two of our major tourist markets, had the potential to adversely impact our foreign exchange earnings and cripple our economy.

Unfortunately, the Thompson administration decided to spend its way out of the problems created by the global crisis. Rather than tackle economic difficulties head on, the government offered Barbadians a placebo of propaganda and encouraged them to seek solace out of the fact that, whereas the global meltdown had wreaked havoc on nations worldwide, our tiny country was still holding its own.

Nevertheless, when all of the political spin has been cast aside, an impartial analysis of the economic performance of the brief Thompson administration paints a picture of woe.

The administration had come to power promising to control and reduce consumer prices, but prices surged instead.

By the time of Thompson’s death, the public debt had soared from about 7.3 billion when he assumed office to 9.5 billion. Unemployment moved from 6.7% to 12.1% in 2011, an increase of just over 80 ½%.

By late 2010, when Freundel Stuart emerged as PM of Barbados, the deteriorating state of the Barbadian economy ought to have been weighing heavily on his mind. To compound his problems, a multiplicity of issues related to CLICO, Al Barrack, better governance, transparency, integrity legislation, white-collar crime, and political corruption were crying out for attention.

Philosophically, as Prime Minister of Barbados in the twenty-first century, Mr. Stuart would have been well advised to reflect on the following definitions, listed in declining order of national pedigree:

Bajan – A person born in Barbados

Barbadian – A citizen or Permanent resident of Barbados

West Indian – A person born in a CARICOM country

Alien – A person not born in a CARICOM country

Philosophy and economic considerations converged in the form of the St. John by-election in January 2011. Given the perilous state of the economy, the by-election presented Stuart with an excellent opportunity to broaden the knowledge base in his cabinet by searching for someone with a business, economics or finance background.

By selecting David Thompson’s wife, Stuart eloquently told his subjects that he could not find a Bajan amongst them who was qualified for the job, and furthermore, he demonstrated that strengthening the cabinet to tackle economic issues was not one of his objectives.

Not surprisingly, the economic morass left by Thompson worsened under Stuart. In its 2011 consultation with the Government of Barbados, The IMF emphasized that the government should concentrate on reducing its expenditure, cutting its wage bill, lowering its transfer payments to statutory corporations, and minimizing tax exemptions.

The Government of Barbados opted to disregard the IMF’s advice.

However, despite the untouched worsening fiscal deficits, the unchecked declining receipts in tourism and exports, and the galloping public debt, private capital inflows and increased government borrowing were enough to absorb the pressure that was brought to bear on the balance of payments situation. At September 2011, international reserves were respectable enough to provide 4.5 months of imports cover. Yet, cognizant of the government’s unwillingness or inability to effectively tackle economic problems, the IMF cautioned that the international reserves could reasonably be expected to come under pressure in the short term.

The IMF did not have to wait very long before its expectations materialized. Downgrades and an unstable outlook by the international rating agencies sent a signal of alarm to investors and eventually made it increasingly difficult and expensive for our government to borrow. By 2012, private capital inflows had begun to dry up. Paltry private capital inflows, reduced tourism earnings, and the severely limited borrowing capacity of the government all conspired to produce the ingredients needed to create a balance of payments crisis.

Therefore, at the end of 2012, despite public and political declarations to the contrary, Prime Minister Stuart certainly knew that the economy was hemorrhaging its way into disequilibrium. Alas, with general elections just around the corner, political self-interest dominated a DLP strategy aimed at convincing the electorate that there was no need to worry about the economy. It was stable and jobs were safe. Instead, so went the propaganda, all energies ought to be directed towards building a society. Building a society? I can picture the biggest village idiot in Barbados asking “Was there a society before? If so, who destroyed it?”

By the time the 2013 general elections were over, a triumphant Prime Minister Stuart had missed two opportunities.

One, Stuart would have observed through his ‘historian’ eyes that Erskine Sandiford had used an 8% civil servants’ salary cut to get the economy off the rocks after he had crashed it in 1992. Owen Arthur, sensing an opportunity to build up political capital among civil servants, had responded by promptly amending the constitution and restoring the reduced salaries to their original level.

Knowing at the end of 2012 that the economy was headed for much more dangerous rocks than in 1992, Stuart should have attempted to regain the ability to cut civil servants’ salaries just in case the economic situation desperately required it. Put differently, it would have been worth Stuart’s political while to amend the constitution to reverse Arthur’s effect. Mind you, even with the ability to cut civil servants’ pay, given the damaged state of the economy, it would still be reasonable for anyone who is not a fool to expect significant job losses.

Politically speaking, the clean, quick across-the-board salary cut option was now out of the question. Stuart was now limited to the messier options of selected furloughs and firings.

Two, the general elections of 2013 provided another opportunity for Stuart to introduce fresh ideas and new talent into his cabinet aimed at battling the economic crisis. Again, he demonstrated that constructing a cabinet with an increased ability to understand and solve the nation’s economic problems was not one of his top priorities.

Before delivering his budget speech in February this year, the Minister of Finance alerted Barbadians to the fact that a yawning ½ billion dollar fiscal gap had opened up in the government’s finances. Remedial action needed to be taken swiftly and comprehensively, he argued. The Governor of the Central Bank, obviously sensing the stress being placed on the balance of payments, also recommended a fast acting solution.

Sir Frank Alleyne, convinced that the brittle economy could not withstand the shocks that would be generated by the effects of such a huge reverse multiplier, condemned such swift comprehensive action as madness. The Prime Minister, clearly not backing his Minister of Finance, opted for a time-consuming process of post-budget meetings and discussions with a view to minimizing or eliminating job losses.

Just a couple of days ago, the Minister of Finance announced that 3,000 civil service jobs will be eliminated by March and ministers and junior ministers of government will suffer a 10% cut in their salaries. To my mind, this action amounts to nothing more than an appetizer. The main course of pain, suffering, hurt, anguish and deprivation is yet to come.

Why do I say this?

Between 1948 and 1966, just over 130,000 babies were born in Barbados. These were the local representatives of the widespread post-world war II baby boom. The front wave of our baby boomers reached age 65 this year. From 2013 to 2031, our cohort of baby boomers will exert excruciating pressure on our health care delivery, social security, and private and government pension systems.

The repeated reckless, ignorant and irresponsible raping of our NIS fund means that government will have to tax the Barbadian population to the tune of over $2 billion, again, to provide future NIS retirees with the benefits their contributions paid for over their working lives.

Increased taxation of Barbadians will most likely provoke civil unrest, so the baby boom generation is destined to receive considerably reduced NIS benefits.

Additionally, government has promised generous benefits and gratuities to retiring civil servants. These pension promises have not been funded, so taxes will have to be raised to turn the promises into monthly pension checks. That will not happen.

Clearly, the quality of retirement life for civil servants who will be depending heavily on NIS and government pensions is very, very uncertain at this stage.

The IMF has repeatedly cautioned government that it will have to seek a private sector solution to the CLICO crisis so as to minimize the use of government funds. Since 2009, it is possible that many of the younger, healthier CLICO policyholders have lapsed their policies because of the great level of uncertainty. If they did, a toxic portfolio heavily weighted with older uninsurable lives may be all that remain. With each passing day, a private sector solution to the CLICO scandal thus becomes less likely.

Conclusively, I would like to stress that in Barbados, some problems and issues emerge within government, get outsourced and solved (e.g. .The Alexandra School Affair), whilst some get outsourced and remain unsolved (e.g. The Barrack Affair and the CLICO Affair).

Serious national economic problems that emerge and remain unsolved get outsourced to the IMF. Each time, we, as a country, went to the IMF, the economy was in a worse position than the time before and the remedial medicine became more bitter and difficult to swallow. I cling tenaciously to the view that the Barbados economy in 2013 is much, much more damaged than it was in 1992. Cutting 3,000 civil servants and the salaries of ministers will not get us near to solving the problem.

145 responses to “The Wolf is at the Door”

1. @David and Miller,
    This is what I talk about with regard to our so called Private Sector in Barbados.
    Mr Valladares has the right attitude; so lacking in Bajans:
    He’s on a mission to convince fellow entrepreneurs that they have a moral duty to give back to the community.
    ‘I want people to understand that not only should there be economic benefit, but they can contribute to the social benefit,” said Valladares, 44.
    Maybe Bajans need a period of austerity like Cuba went through to bring them to a christian understanding; necessity forced Cubans to look out for their families and themselves first. Rooftop vegetable gardens sprang up everywhere.”
    Thus when Miller wants to know why businesspersons should build a public toilet for “everybody to visit, I know he reflects the attitude of our private sector whose only interest is the dollar, the people and their needs don’t matter.
    By the way Adrian Loveridge, how is it that no one in the Private Sector (businesspersons) can come up with the money to buy Peach and Quiet? How come you can’t convince any overseas entrepreneur to purchase it?.

2. @Alvin

You may copy paste all you like the true quality of any leader – in this case Stuart – is to find a way to get the job done, no excuses.

3. @ ALVIN
    RE By the way Adrian Loveridge, how is it that no one in the Private Sector (businesspersons) can come up with the money to buy Peach and Quiet? How come you can’t convince any overseas entrepreneur to purchase it?.

YOU ARE BEHAVING LIKE CCC- NOW GONE AWOL, AND MISSING IN ACTION OVER THREE WEEKS

4. MIA a waffler???? when what is Stuart?

5. wait GP u like u miss CCC for as many times u have been commenting about him not being around i guess he miss u too …………NOT!

MIA ;;;;;;;;;;;a Waffler!

6. @GP

The best form of defense is to attack they say. It is clear DLP apologists do not understand that attacking the private sector dies nothing to ease the situation.

7. wuh them easy to attack from an outsider looking in they have done very little to help mindful of the fact that the govt has been holding their hands also in an effort not to have them release employees,

8. @ac

Again you demonstrate how clueless you are about what is happening in Barbados. For your information it is the government which has asked the private sector to hold strain about sending home employees and by and large it gas done so. Meanwhile the government gas been padding the public service with their lackies.

9. @enuff,

I believe Barbados is being targeted by the Conservative government of Canada because it was a Liberal minister of finance who helped create the Barbados Canada tax agreement.

The only hope Barbados has is if the Liberals win the next Federal election. They will likely cut Barbados some slack.

In the meantime Harper will do what will help him win votes.

As far as tourism is concerned do some research. Let Google be your friend.

10. David the private sector supplies the Government with goods and services.

Fewer civil servants will also hurt the private sector.

What is needed is Barbadians with vision to start new business and industries.
    Easier said than done because Bajans with money are very conservative and they probably already filling their bank accounts in New York and Toronto.

11. They (the DLP) screwed up the economy with their wait and see attitude, now let them FIX IT, the upside is, there is noting left to steal or designate to friends, bizzy et al or family, yardfowls will not even count anymore ha, ha …..OR if you insist, allow the BLP to FIX IT, again, all the above applies….

12. @Hants

As usual you cut to the meat, investment in any country happens when there is confidence.

13. @Hants | December 15, 2013 at 6:15 PM |

Can you blame them? this lying government has given them no reason to invest in this country. the same way they have not given outsiders any reason to invest. you could talk all you want about what bajan people with money but the fact is nobody wants to see their money hard earn or not go down the drain.

the discussion now has to be seeing the back of this clueless bunch of misfits we have for a government.

14. millertheanunnaki Avatar

”investment in any country happens when there is confidence.”

This prerequisite is applicable especially in a country with limited or no tradable resources or commodities the World wants. All Barbados has is its people and sea with which other countries are also sufficiently endowed in the region.

Confidence and trust are the two key ingredients along with productivity in any recipe for economic sustainability or recovery as with the current situation in Bim.
    The current DLP administration because of its inability to inspire confidence and motivate the people would now seek to engage in the politics of fear and threats of violence in order to remain in office.

15. T&T in discussion to acquire shareholding in GAIA, Port Authority and BNOCL

16. Equal Rights & Justice Avatar
    Equal Rights & Justice

ppl looking to invest in the country knew that the present Govt. had no clue what they were doing ,after watching failed economic policy after policy and then ah lazy ass PM with no game plan, but to sit down and watch ah arrogant MOF fulck up things. In order to go forward we need ah strong and decisive leader to make important decisions and rally his or her team

17. millertheanunnaki Avatar

CHAUCER | December 15, 2013 at 7:07 PM |
    “T&T in discussion to acquire shareholding in GAIA, Port Authority and BNOCL”

Why would T&T be interested in BNOCL other than to close down the production arm leaving just storage and distribution as the core functions of the State-owned enterprise?

We wonder if the PM is aware of such discussions and what he has to say. Most likely such high-level sophisticated discussions are outside his intellectual pay grade.
    Is the fool still going to undermine his MoF and obstreperously remain in puerile ignorance as he displayed in his last visit to Canada for the DLP branch’s Independence celebrations?

We would like to hear Bushie, Alvin and ac (and even Bajanfuhlife aka Fractured BLP) have to say on such a move to sell out to the Trinidadians and those damned despicable foreigners.

Forex to Barbados has become like crack cocaine to a Paro.
    Now tell us who is going to become the biggest practitioner of PARO Economics? Certainly not OSA anymore!

18. This is the time for serious and concerted democratic political action to be taken by the broad masses and middle classes of this country against the DLP and the BLP for all the evil and wicked wrongs they have – over the years – been doing to so many people in this country.

19. @ Walter Blackman

To get a baby to drink aloes, mix it with alot of honey

The skill of clapping with one hand is something that you have mastered so well Walter.

No will in no way gainsay the fact that the DLP is bereft of ideas but I will also say that the BLP was/is no better.

Barring MIa’s Ministry, Owen Seethru Arthur ran the Barbados economy by himself.

He too was besieged by a set of inept ministers and, in times of global meltdown, he too would have been hard set upon to come up with good ideas to bring the country out of this morass

Poor Fumble, is not a Seethru and, say what you will about the Arthurian short man’s personality, Owen was able to rule the dimwits, while bridling Mottley, and her pretensions to the throne, at the same time, while he was Prime Minister.

Clico will never be resolved until Dupree gets locked up.

Greenverbs Parris will keep his millions under his bed or in another less aggressive CARICOM country, Gonzales will welcome his millions there.

Other than decrying Fumble and party in all your submissions I would just like you to make a few submissions as to how you, Saint Blackman, would turn all this around or are you saving that for your political platform?

If you are so selfless and interested in the well being of the average Bajan and this Road to Perdition that Owen started and Fumble catch a speed wobble on, give a man a berry nuh?

20. You are all aware of the Canadian Investments in Cuba.

“sub-region and bilateral merchandise trade between the two countries is over one billion dollars annually. Canadian companies have significant investments in mining, power, oil and gas, agri-food and tourism.

Yuh mean we best friends prefer to invest in a Communist country even wen Owen an de BLP did in powa?
    Nuh wunda ova 3 million tourisses does guh to Cuba some aided an abetted by kanada.

At lease de 3 leadin banks in Barbados are kanadian.

21. @Walter
    An improved post.You are taking an unblinkered view of the current status.
    @Wild Coyote 10.55a
    Spot on.I support your posting 100%.
    The MoF has already sought the help of the IMF in sorting out some Statuory Boards,so am I to understand that we could’nt do it ourselves?I am sure we can.
    I,like Prodigal and Enuff boldly say that Barbados needs a government to restore the confidence needed to get this country back on its feet.We have to work to be rid of this Fatted Calf Brigade that only knows how to destroy,not how to build an economy with the social capital at its disposal.
    We need leadership,vision,management,control,planning,organising all of which skills are available in Barbados.It’s not within the DLP to tap these people.

22. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2013 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2013 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

Equal Rights & Justice | December 15, 2013 at 7:15 PM |
    David (not BU) | December 15, 2013 at 6:34 PM | @

Good post , for we see who in the hell will invest in Fraud, Barbados 27 years of stead fraud , Madoff had 30 years and he in jail, matter of time before the law get to work on MIA, OWEN , COW and HAM.
    DBLP just dont understand or want , that other people with money are not fools and they are now learning , Until they tell the Truth , and then fix no one will come here, True CUBA soon will be the best return for Your Investment,

23. @ Walter Blackman

How do do stumble, let me count the ways….

You said and i quote “By selecting David Thompson’s wife, Stuart eloquently told his subjects that he could not find a Bajan amongst them who was qualified for the job, and furthermore, he demonstrated that strengthening the cabinet to tackle economic issues was not one of his objectives.”

Like i said before, aloes with honey, mix up dribble in Fruttee

Can you be so simplistic with your reasoning?

If, and i say if, you believe this dribble then you are as big a phantom and phantasm as i repeatedly proffer that you are Walter.

1. St John is supposed to be a DLP stronghold.
    2. If Fumble had experimented with choosing a replacement for St. John, and LOST, the likelyhood was that it would have cost the DLP the government
    3. Under the guise of “Buy Bajan” you Walter Blackman, HE WHO CARES FOR COUNTRY SO MUCH, shows your xenophobic colours clearly.
    4. Ent Mara Bajan by naturalization? or by injection? why you would seek to rile 10 percent of the population who mudder or faddah is foreigners i ent know, you just plain stupid doah Walter

FOr your illiterate self Walter, in case you din realize dis, Fumble was trying to win a majority in the Parliament, not effect an Aryan, pure blood, sonnerkinder government.

I vex wid David [BU] doah, he letting you write bare pup.

Man you is almost as bad as AC, onliest ting is dat you does write big words and longer sentences

Which bring me to axe you dis question sincing you is a man dat is an authority pun writing pup

Iffing a ball of pup can only be a ball depending on the diameter of the sphincter when it get deposit, therefter it becomes a sphere, what does one call jobby that exceeds spherical dimensions i.e. the diameter of the a$$hol* called?

Logs?

Well them Walter, I encourage you and AC to stop writing logs

24. Equal Rights & Justice Avatar
    Equal Rights & Justice

we got to sell ,and go into marijuana production as our new cash crop ,it will bring much need foreign exchange

25. BNOCL ,GAIA,and The barbados Port Authority will soon be sold to TT&T ,discussions at an advanced stage

26. Good news?
    “JETBLUE AIRWAYS IS adding additional seats and flights on its New York-Barbados route during the current winter season.”

be thankful for small mercies.

27. @Puny

28. @Puny
    It is called csmEconomy. It can’t be stopped. Wet much boy Owen Seymour Arthur? Dem caaant touch yuh Owen!

29. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2013 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2013 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

jet blue tickets for Jan 2014 as little as $ 202us one way from New York ,,, look for that on LIAT
    https://book.jetblue.com/B6/webqtrip.html?_flowExecutionKey=_cA5B75797-B45A-B5EA-1C0A-DA55E41E4A66_k5CFDE693-4635-488C-5084-08282D15140E

30. pdyr //who de hell are u to tell somebody when to comment or not, u coming in here with ur communistic attacks trying to curtail people freedom of speech, old man this is 2013 and not 1913 , so get to hell off yuh high horse before i push u off………..

31. As I recall it the great strategist Hartley Henry said when he asked the dead king who he would like to take his seat he the dead king said”Look,she is there” and pointed at his wife Mara.Further,Stuart did not want Mara to run and according to the constituency,he recommended another candidate for St John.
    Once the king anointed Mara,Stuart didn’t have the balls to cause a rupture in the party and had to go along with the dead kings choice.Similarly,Sinckler was the dead kings choice of MoF and Stuart could have changed that in 2013 but didnt have the guts to do it for fear it might have caused a palace coup.Stuart always looking over his shoulder and thats why we are in the poor state we are in.The man is no leader.Never was.Can’t run a home because he does not have a family how can he run a country when certain basic things escape his daily thinking.

32. David | December 15, 2013 at 4:05 PM |
    @Miller

Can anyone conceive a workable plan to haul our asses from this mess if we are NOT sitting in Bay Street?

Dismiss the DLP
    Elect the BLP
    Sell the frigging Airport. Seaport. Transport Board, CBC, Post Office, and any other

33. Stuart always looking over his shoulder and thats why we are in the poor state we are in.The man is no leader.Never was.Can’t run a home because he does not have a family how can he run a country when certain basic things escape his daily thinking.

Stuart always looking over his shoulder and thats why we are in the poor state we are in.The man is no leader.Never was.Can’t run a home because he does not have a family how can he run a country when certain basic things escape his daily thinking.

34. You could send home double the civil servants being planned for layoffs, and still not see a difference in productivity of the govt. There will be no economic improvement till the national productivity of each person improves, and that will require a cultural change from ground zero.

Good luck. Until you deal with Trotman and all protecting the useless idiots you are bound to fail.

35. “A POLICY OF PRIVATISING STATE-OWNED ENTERPRISES IS A MAJOR COMPONENT OF THE MEASURES WHICH GOVERNMENT IS IMPLEMENTING TO STABILISE THE ECONOMY AND LAY THE FOUNDATION FOR FUTURE ECONOMIC GROWTH.’
    The Prime Minister and Minister of Finnce & Economic Affairs in a recent address to the private sector stated that the privatisation programme will seek to achievethe following objectives:
    1.to reduce the fiscal deficit to around one percent of Gross Domestic Product by curbing the growth of public expenditure;
    to transfer ownership and control of certain state-owned enterprises, in whole or in part, from the public to the private sector;
    to encourage the private sector to play a leading role in heklping to expand the economy;
    to reduce foreign and domestic debt by raising cash through the sale of public assets, thereby improving the public interest;
    to restructure and upgrade the services offered by the retained state-owned enterprises , with greater emphasis on profitability;
    to develop and strengthen the domestic capital marke by increasing the number of share offers;
    As the Government implements the programme of privatisation it will utilise as appropriate some or all of the following modalities:
    partial or total divestment of several state-owned enterprises;
    leasing of certain facilities to the private sector ;
    management of state-owned installations by private sector management contracts;
    construction of new projects through innovative “build -operate” or other arrangements;
    full or partial or staff buy-out of state-owned enterprises or facilities;
    incorporation of selected Government departmental operations.
    want me to go on Mr Unimpressed but there is no need to be ashamed for althe above in my view are laudable policy initiativessome of which were embraced by the Arthur administration but unfortunately have now been repudiated by the present administration on the altar of political expediency.
    SO MR UNIMPRESED, PRIVATISATION DID NOT BEGIN WITH THE BLP.

36. idiots you are bound to fail.

1 Vote

Quantcast

“JUST ASKING | December 16, 2013 at 1:57 AM |
    “A POLICY OF PRIVATISING STATE-OWNED ENTERPRISES IS A MAJOR COMPONENT OF THE MEASURES WHICH GOVERNMENT IS IMPLEMENTING TO STABILISE THE ECONOMY AND LAY THE FOUNDATION FOR FUTURE ECONOMIC GROWTH.’
    The Prime Minister and Minister of Finnce & Economic Affairs in a recent address to the private sector stated that the privatisation programme will seek to achievethe following objectives:
    1.to reduce the fiscal deficit to around one percent of Gross Domestic Product by curbing the growth of public expenditure;
    to transfer ownership and control of certain state-owned enterprises, in whole or in part, from the public to the private sector;
    to encourage the private sector to play a leading role in heklping to expand the economy;
    to reduce foreign and domestic debt by raising cash through the sale of public assets, thereby improving the public interest;
    to restructure and upgrade the services offered by the retained state-owned enterprises , with greater emphasis on profitability;
    to develop and strengthen the domestic capital marke by increasing the number of share offers;
    As the Government implements the programme of privatisation it will utilise as appropriate some or all of the following modalities:
    partial or total divestment of several state-owned enterprises;
    leasing of certain facilities to the private sector ;
    management of state-owned installations by private sector management contracts;
    construction of new projects through innovative “build -operate” or other arrangements;
    full or partial or staff buy-out of state-owned enterprises or facilities;
    incorporation of selected Government departmental operations.”

ARE you sure Just asking that the Prime Minister enunciated those policies in a recent address to the private sector. The reason I am asking is because those policies came directly from the statement on privatization on 10-11-92 by Mr David Thompson Minister of State in the Ministry of Finance.

37. @ Konkieman

I, like a few of the commenters here rise in support of your observation, question and conundrum.

After all the privatization, selling off dis and dat and de rest of the delaying of the inevitable strategies, what will be done to eradicate the inveterate ethos of indolence that permeates what we call the Public Service or the Army of Occupation?

I wonder if the IMF could insist that (i) all of the non-performing Permanent Secretaries are sent home and (ii) those that remain are engaged under a performance based contract i.e. if their respective ministries continue to hemorrhage as they have done these 25 years, their carry home less money since their now untouchable salaries are pegged to the level of efficiency and production of their respective ministries?

38. The civil service reports to the prime minister and BU has consistently placed the view that the Pam’s sloth style dealing with this portfolio sparked the E11. It is a view which has not resonated but it is one we will continue to hold until persuaded otherwise.

39. WUNNA CUD EASE OFF DE HENNESY AND DRINK SOME MOUNT GAY

40. Maybe i am alone when it comes social conscience .however i am of the firm belief that something is morally and inheritently wrong when sections of a society would take delight for political reason in favour of austere policies especially when these policies affect the poor.

41. “Weak exports and tourism arrivals, slow growth and expansive fiscal policy have led to a sharp increase in public debt and fiscal financing pressures,” the IMF said in a statement after a 10-day visit to the island of 288,000 people. http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2013-12-13/barbados-debt-higher-than-cyprus-prompts-firing-of-3-000.html
    The government’s focus was all wrong. Instead of focusing on EXPORTING they focus on BLAMING and putting Party ahead of the job at hand.

42. @ David [BU]

Fumble, when he speaks, which is on rare occasions, practices a “bi-directional slothfulness”.

So imagine the following, FS slowly formulates his thoughts, then synapses convey them, in a molasses like fashion to the organs of the tongue and he then speaks.

Then comes the complimentary action, hearing, having the thoughts move to the brainbox of the sloth, and assimilating them for further action.

The slow viscous action molasses and corn syrup, or honey, the real type that used to be in the caves by Jacob’s ladder personifies this slow poke.

Couple his plague like disease with PSes, many of whom were promoted beyond their competencies, whose sole goal is to preserve their gratuities and well, what you have is a comedy of errors or the Barbados economy at 2013

Solution –

Concurrent with the private sector raising a cool $10 Million offer that to the forever broke MP Patrick Todd to cross the floor and bring down the DLP government overnight, without any coup etc.

I am sure that Bizzy and COW could find that pocket change in a hurry.

Examine the length and breadth of this Rock and find a few men and women with balls to the election podiums, doan tell me that we cant find at least 30 with integrity, after we let these parasites go home.

43. Who de hell is this AC character?

Observe the clear, coherent comment and commensurate cohesiveness of thought that the AC submission at 9.53 a.m and it is obvious that there are two people using that moniker!!

Jekyll and Hyde to be sure

44. Exporting what?
    They WERE focusing on exporting…
    ….they exported the Light and Power to Canada
    ….they exported BS&T to Trickidad
    ….they exported the BNB
    ….they exported Almond….

Shiite man, the only thing soon left for export will be Bajans…as slaves.

What you mean is that we all should have been concentrating on PRODUCING MORE that we consume…. Instead of operating like PARASITES…..looking to reap what we did not sow….

45. @ DAVID

HERE IS A QUESTION THAT YOU SHOULD RAISE AS A MAJOR BLOG.

We have long established that failure in an organization is ALWAYS due to poor leadership/ management.
    When such failures occur, emoluments are invariably targeted as the means of equalizing the situation….. Here is the question…..

WHY THE HELL SHOULD THE JOB LOSSES BE FROM THE MIDDLE AND BOTTOM?
    Why the hell should there not be at least ONE top job lost for EVERY two at the middle, and for every four at the bottom?

Can ANYONE give a good response to that question?

The TRUTH is that dismissals should be TOP DOWN……
    …fewer people would be displaced
    …those displaced would be “of means”
    …those displaced would be the ones ACCOUNTABLE for failure
    …those new ones at the top would “HAUL” and produce…

….but that makes TOO much sense for brass bowls apparently…

46. Poor mangem.ent but at whAt a oprice. when money can trump mans humnaity to man…..something is morally wrong with this picture. No matter how much we achieved the bottom line takes precedant And morality is shove out the door. that is whAT we witnessed as those financial house to whom we seek refuge through loans told us in true form we are here to collect And the poor and vulnerable are not our problem.

47. A good point Bushie, there is a lot of similarly to the management challenge which has confronted the WIBC for the last 15 years.

48. Miller………..look at the bright side, if Trinidad is really interested and gets the BNOCL and oil is actually found off Barbados’ waters, the risks would be significantly reduced, close to eliminated that either the DLP (aka WAIT, WAIT) or BLP (aka AND SEE, SEE) will get their grubby,. greedy little hands and empty heads on it to sell/give away to the bizzys, British, Americans, Canadians or whomever it turns them on to sell out the island and it’s people to………i always look at the bright side….

49. And as i have been saying all along, rename Barbados Trinbar, all the crooks and thieves would be scared shitless to run scams on the island…check out Trini murder rate…lol

Piece……….as usual you are killing me..

AC…what conscience what, you have no damn conscience, you remind me of condoleeza rice when the Russian diplomat said she is not female, has no feeling, no uterus, beast….the island is being subjected to more loans to pay off previous loans going forward for a hundred or more years, figure out what i am trying to say and you will understand the method to the madness.

50. Again as mandella so correctly pointed out that the forces of good and evil are always at war .however he choose good. On friday the tippng point of evil was endorse by many as the provocateurs reign down terror on a nation and most passively sat by and agreed.

Leave a Reply to Yagga RoweCancel reply