Behind every dark cloud is a silver lining.

The respected Bloomberg posted the headline [13/12/2013]  Barbados Debt Higher Than Cyprus Prompts Firing of 3,000. The preamble to the article reads “Barbados will fire 3,000 public sector workers by March and freeze wages as the eastern Caribbean island’s debt burden soars and the International Monetary Fund says “urgent adjustments” are needed.”  BU recalls in 2010 the suggestion to government to consider freezing public sector wages was mooted. In fact Minister David Estwick was publicly rapped on the knuckles for making the suggestion. The late Prime Minister David Thompson addressed the matter of wage freeze in his first press conference in 2010 – see Prime Minister David Thompson’s First Press Conference in 2010.

Where we find ourselves, AGAIN will provoke the usual political cackle from participants in the diluted Westminster system of government  we practice. In fact, leading political scientists and pundits will rationalize the political cackle as NORMAL,  emanating from an adversarial system borrowed from a colonial past.  Despite years of investing i education we have given little thought to changing the system of governance which continues to be a polarising force in a 2×3 country given how irrelevant it has become.

The national discussion will now mirror the tenor of the 90s when another DLP administration took the decision to slash public sector wages by 8% and jettison 8,000 public sector employees. Lessons learned you think? ‘Go to the ant thou sluggard…’.

The BU household always focuses on the part of the issue which Barbadians feel uncomfortable. Perhaps it explains why traditional media and prominent people in society read and contribute to BU but with a hushed involvement. This is the hypocrisy which supports a mendicant culture which is no longer relevant in a today’s world. No more preferential treatment from the More Developed Countries (MDCs) and no more lack of competition from the Lesser Developed Countries (LDCs).

The sending home of 3,000 public sector workers is not the solution to the problems which confront Barbados, it is a manifestation of one of many symptoms which ail the nation.  If there is one issue where there is consensus, it is that our economy has some deep flaws which must be addressed. Even the head of government’s economic advisory council has publicly admitted this to be the case. It seems to BU this was a good place to have started the discussion regarding a strategic economic approach in 2008. Looking forward, where do we go from here full in recognition that there is no silver bullet?

The two party system in Barbados has clearly failed us in the last 20 years. ‘Go to the ant thou sluggard, consider its ways and be wise’. Greek mythology refers to the mighty phoenix being reborn from the ashes of its predecessor.  How will Barbados re-emerge from the economic and social morass it now finds itself?

As a country we have to admit that both parties have failed us in recent years. We need to spend some time evaluating the present system of governance; its strength and weaknesses. Arising from the exercise we need to chart a roadmap for governance over the next two to three years. We have the option to shuffle the chairs on the Titanic but it must be obvious to all at this stage the Titanic is sinking. The time has come to take our casualties to take our hits, and move to temporary haven. What the last 20 years has painfully exposed in the Sandiford period, and now Stuart, is that the destiny of our nation must be chartered out of a fuller ENGAGEMENT in the system by the PEOPLE. 

Barbados has done well in the post-Independence period, we have maintained a stable political system the envy of many. It is this level of maturity which has served us well in the last 40 years which Barbadians will turn to manage what promises to be the most challenging period since 1966. A good first step is for Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart to breathe confidence back into the economy by firing Minister Sinckler or perhaps the better option, to return to the people for a mandate. Surely the rapid deterioration in the economic fortune of Barbados post February 2013, including the flight of foreign exchange contrary to the Governor Delisle Worrell’s repeated assurances merit drastic intervention.

188 responses to “Barbados Governance and Next Steps”

1. You Dems are unbelievable!

Since the dead king’s budget of 2008, BLP’s and independents on this blog have been saying that that budget was ill conceived and sucked the life out of the economy. Everyone offered suggestions, from 2008 until the election in 2013 and you hard ears Dems would not heed. Everyone was a prophet of doom and gloom.

You bragged non stop after the election that ‘we win”, Dems now, Dems again! Now you yardfowls really have the nerve to say that the BLP dont have answers.

bajanfuhlife, you for real? You have the gall to say……………..”We had to make these cuts now and our economy will be put on a more sustainable path.Political theatrics and self serving daily press conferences by a power hungry opposition leader will not get the job done”.

Only now you idiots realise that you had to make these cuts? These are all same supporters you all took on as part of the fatted calf policy! Dont blame anyone but your own inept, incompetent selves!

Dems NEVER again!

2. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2013 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2013 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

june boy | December 14, 2013 at 6:17 PM | @ Truth,DLP got a bad hand from Owen and MIA , they had the chance to call names and charge them , even put the blame on them where it need to be, But the greed and power got the DLP and they ran out of money to keep playing , After Madoff and Standford , The world then started to look at the books to make sure it match whats in the banks accounts , It did not match and they broke many laws by covering up what they found when they took over from the BLP.

3. To Continue:
    Native Son; As far as he is concerned Barbados continjes to be a backwater village. The memory of what it was like when he left these shores still remains with him. He has not seen any progress in the country in the interim.As far as he is concerned this administration must put into practise whatever is done in the UK even though these policies may not be suitable, practical or even possible. Of course the government is incompetent also and there is no redemption in sight.
    SITH: Devaluation is the only option. matters not what the effect; short term or long term, just as long as the peg is removed and the dollar is devalued.
    Caswell: His experience in the civil service, of which he was once a member, convinces him that the civil service is useless, he has no use for the other unions; except his “pretend” union. He has a negative attitude to the Social partnership, or for that matter anything done or being done by the DLP. He knows more about the government than anyone else and therefore his words should be taken as gospel. Matters not what damage is done to the country, as long as it is negative.
    All these people rejoice in the misfortunes of this government and COUNTRY. As long as it is negative say it and publish it abroad. They rejoice in the difficulties the country is having and rather than encourage people to support their country, they ask them to denigrate the government in power. They forget or do not seem to care that when everybody is in the same leaky canoe, everybody is affected. They forget that people overseas do not know or care about the person, they care about the country. The people in position to look at the resume of the government they have to decide on, look at all the recommendations being made, good and bad. When the reputation of the country is destroyed the destroyers are looked in a negative way just like those who are being destroyed.
    Is it any wonder Barbados was not able to get the bond floated that it wanted to? Do you think any investor would invest in a country with the type of reputation, it reads about in these blogs; especially since they are written by its own people?
    But the country will survive. Like the Phoenix rising from the ashes it will recover. We will wait and see. I remain optimistic, because there are lots of positives in the IMF report The most important is that they remain confident in the future of the country; unlike those I write about above, they have not said any thing about the prospects of devaluation, and suggested the government continue on its path.
    I hope those who were adamant that people MUST be sent home are satisfied; although the only thing that would satisfy these people is the BLP being in charge of the country again, but that will not happen any time soon. these people are not interested in the welfare of thos who will he MOFbe without work; their bread is well buttered, but they are not interested in the welfare of the poor and disadvantaged. They maintain that the government lied when it said it woule not lay off civil servants. It doesn’t matter if th circumstances changed. their cry is the PM, the MOF, in fact everybody lied. As far as they are concerned the country is made up of liars; all that is, except them. they are as innocent and blameless as a newborn child, and even that has more sin than they.

4. @Alvin

Your credibility must be seriously questioned. You define yardfowl.

5. I stated a few pertinent facts but the only response was manure from the Plantation.

Fact. All a wunna with few exceptions have been living large on the vapour cloud that is the economy of Barbados.
    You were “selling land for its best use” luxury homes and golf courses.
    T shirt tourist were replaced by “footballer’s wives” and the nouveau riche from the UK.Irish millionaires were buying and building.

Meanwhile the Bajan upper middle class were buying bimmers and benzes and building homes in Fort St.Gorge
    Even the middle class were buying $100,000 Hondas and Toyotas and building $500,000 houses.

Bajans prospered during Owen and the BLP’s 14 years.
    Therefore I am begging the PM to let the BLP take over so we overseas Bajans might be wined and dined at some of those nice expensive restaurants that he could not afford even with Canadian dollars.

Let Mia and the BLP restore the natural order of things so de fellas can shop 3 or 4 times a year in Miami and visit Toronto with de inside or outside woman.

Barbados’s greatest assets are its people. Exactly.
    No Oil. No minerals. No new ideas except the ones Mia will reveal when the snap election is called. Bushie? David?

6. @Hants

We have had this discussion before. We have only two political parties and if one messes up we have no choice but to turn to the other until something better comes along. What is evident in Barbados today, there is no confidence in the DLP Stuart government. Without confidence nothing positive will happen.

7. @David,
    I have a copy of the IMF report (straight from the IMF, I am on their mailing list) and have studied it thoroughly.I take comfort in the fact that they did not impose measures; they left it up to the government, they did not recommend devaluation as many on the other side were hoping for, we did not have to borrow money frm them, and thus did not HAVE to adhere to any impositions from them. They were satisfied with the measures the present government proposes.
    I would like to focus on the 3,000 people scheduled to be laid off. I note the glee with which people nonchantly treat this occurrence.
    They seem to have a feeling of satisfaction that the government announced it, but ignore the fact that first of all it won’t be implemented until next year, it wou’t be all in one fell swoop, and what is interesting is that the results on the families don’t seem to matter. As far as they are concerned the GDP is all that matters.
    Well I think differently. I think of the people; the families affected. I know they will recover from the after effects and rise stronger. If there is one thing I remember from the Sandiford cuts was the rise of a small entrepreneural class. People turned to sale of Barbecued pig tails, people started to sell clothes etc from their homes and flea markets and became more self sufficient. So I know we will survive.
    One thing we may never survive though is the pettiness and backbiting. We will never survive is the negativity, the jealousy, the envy and the lack of a feeling of nationalism necessary at this time. We will never be able to engender a feeling of everyone rowing together so that we will reach shore safely.
    We as a nation, and people have a serious problem; our inability to help each other when the time for it comes.

8. @Alvin

You can have the last word on this matter.

9. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2013 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2013 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

David | December 14, 2013 at 7:11 PM @ This is n about CON-fidence , this is about Truth , Until the liars can tell the truth nothing can be fixed , point blank , lie on top of lie and more lies,

David @ What you think what would happen if the PM came on government control TV CBC and said.

The Royal Barbados POLICE FRAUD SQUAD has completed its FINDINGS on the Violet Beckles claim , We find in Her Favor, WARRANTS ARE NOW BEING SERVED ON Sir Ham and Sir COW, EX CJ Simmons and All government departments at this time , The Banks and all her accounts ,

They will be held until the deeds are returned to the Archives of Barbados History , and to the rightful lawful owner . Full Audit will be done and His-Herstroy will reflect the Truth of the wonderful work of Beatrice Henry for the People of Barbados, May God save the Queen ,

Just think , The PM still have time , the fraud squad have the findings.

10. @ Plantation Deeds, Did not quite make it to the pharmacy today, nuh? Ran out of meds?

11. @ Editor….only one answer to the question re next steps.

The *right one* would be for someone on the government side to grow some balls and seek a new mandate.

Unlikely however.

12. @ Plantation deeds.

The members of the Fraud squad probably own land and houses in Barbados. You think they would make themselves your tenant?

By the way with which army do you plan to enforce your retaking of your Plantations and lands?

You really doan know Bajans.

13. @David,I am not one of those who worry about credibility: as seen through the eyes who like to hide the truth and don’harp”back, as long as I speak the truth and tell it like it is . People like to hide behind facades and I like to tear those facades apart; I hae said it before epithets and labels do not affect me.What I have wirtten above about those who seek to destroy my country (not the party) have no credibility as far as I am concerned. That is the difference between some Bajans and people from other countries. Jamaicans defend their country whatever it does, however bad it is, or wherever they are. They buy as many of the products from their own country as they can. They send home as much of whatever they have as they can. Cubans when they were subjected to the longest embargo ( still going on) in the western world, worked together made whatever sacrifices were necessary, to build their country from the groound up, to reverse the difficulties life imposed on them, conquered illiteracy, to rise to the top of scientific achievement. They showed their humanity by sacrificing their lives for others, in the interest of justice and humanity
    and reached out to help others constantly. Americans unashamedly show their loyalty to their country, even if it commits the greatest atrocities, as far as they are concerned it is “my country right or wrond”. Bajans on the other hand seem to take pleasure in pulling down their country, their brothers and sisters, and each other, at the first opportunity. Instead of defending their brothers and sisters they join others in saying how bad we are.
    My own people sometimes make me ashamed to call myself a Bajan.
    However, I will defend it until I am dead, even against my own who try to pull it down.
    Much of the “lack of confidence” comes from supporters of parties who don’t like the DLP, so it does not matter what it does they will still shout it from the housetops that they have no confdence in the government they form.
    What the party has to do is stick to its own agenda and manage as best they can. If people can survive from my young days when some people could get meat once a week,” it can survive wing showhat happens to day. AsMarcelle would say on mornings on VOB morning show “keep on keeping on”.
    You see,David, I have lived long enough to have seen and experienced a lifetime do almost everything. I have achieved all of my dreams; through hard work, honesty, and respect for others. I look at the imf report and take comfort from statements from the report like like:…”There is scope to greatly improve the targeting of social spending and lower costs to ensure that Barbados retains its high standards of equity and social protection. ” and also “…“The IMF remains committed to supporting the government of Barbados in its pursuit of macro stability and stronger growth. The team would like to thank the Barbados’ authorities and officials for their hospitality and constructive, candid discussions”.
    Thus I don’t pay much attention to the negativity and your statement about lack of confidence and my credibility, which by the way is not important.

14. David wrote”What is evident in Barbados today, there is no confidence in the DLP Stuart government. Without confidence nothing positive will happen.”

So let Mia find a floor crosser, offer him a ministry (remember mascoll? ) and file a no confidence motion.
    Time to show some …..intestinal fortitude Mia an co.

15. As a graduate of Brumley it is diffuclt to follow the logic of sad sack John Williams and Mia Mottley. These two clowns have been calling on government for the longest time to cut expenditure and send home workers. GOB after holding out for a year finally had to face up to the inevitable and do so. Now would you believe sad sack Williams moaning that the economy will contract as result of 3000 less jobs and he wants transparency. Is the man an idiot? What did he expect? Mia calls the move forced on GOB by falling revenues ‘betrayal.’ For Christ sakes it was these two clowns in the news everyday calling for government to cut the public service. The got what the asked for . So what’s the beef? The beef is the highest level of hypocrisy from the BLP its yardfowls and
    the business elites. The mendicant private now has to show its worth get cranking and absorb the workers they have been agitating should have been sent home long ago. The next year will be interesting.

16. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Alvin Cummins | December 14, 2013 at 7:26 PM |
    “ If there is one thing I remember from the Sandiford cuts was the rise of a small entrepreneural class.”

Is this the same Alvin that is so viciously opposed to the private sector (a private sector in his estimation does not exist in Barbados) which is just only a bunch of parasites leeching on the government?

We are putting it to you that the IMF has instructed the DLP administration to privatize a number of State-controlled entities.
    Would you agree that it would behoove your beloved DLP administration to honour the same Sandiford’s memory by ensuring that when the privatization / divestment process is undertaken it is done in a way to create a greater entrepreneurial class among black Bajans?
    Why spend billions of dollars educating people to be just glorified servants and not controllers of their own economic destiny?

17. millertheanunnaki | December 14, 2013 at 8:16 PM |

…. Would you agree that it would behoove your beloved DLP administration to honour the same Sandiford’s memory by ensuring that when the privatization / divestment process is undertaken it is done in a way to create a greater entrepreneurial class among black Bajans?
    ———
    Miller, two things firstly that the Government could not see that for themselves (albeit Inniss only coming on the bandwagon last week when the horse already bolted) and secondly, a government that cannot even bring a coherent budget and you expect them capable of actually implementing a complex rearrangement program?

I would like to believe that too, but sadly, there is no competence there.

18. @Miller,
    I DO NOT BELIEVE YOU!! Are youserious about what you ae saying? Are you comparing the small people; those selling barbequed pig tail etc, as survival mechanisms, before you were elected and enjoyed 14 year of governance, with the private sector today? when you have a private sector that is not creating jobs, that cannot absorb ANY people who will go home; a situation that you have been calling for; that cannot participate, on their own in any privatization of government entities; a private sector that could not embark on their own mission to rescue the Barbadian economy, by engaging with agencies overseas to help obtain the Bond that government was looking for; a private sector that would obviously need foreign entities to “OWN” whatever government decides to divest of thus deepening the foreign ownership of Bajan enterprizes and resource; a private sector that cannot get gtogether to build a public toilet to bring some comfort to the same tourists it depends on for its survivals.
    It hurts me that someone like you, an important member of the former government; a man of independent means, educated in the same Barbados at the expense of the people of this country, is so disloyal to your country,and has a political ego that is so warped that it cannot accept the truth.
    I do not see in the IMF report where they recommend “privatization” of state controlled entities. I have seen this: …”Alternatively, downsizing by attrition and implementing a wage formula that freezes the average wage per worker would also reduce the wage bill significantly over time and would contribute to lowering economy-wide labor costs. This is needed to raise Barbados’ external competitiveness, particularly given the nation’s deep commitment to its exchange rate peg, which the IMF recognises. ”
    I remember pointing out to you that these were measures that could be undertaken. This is what the IMF has said. Of course as usual you avoided this point.
    I keep telling you with me you have to come good.So when you and Crusoe come talking about privatizing things like District Hospitals, School Meals and bus transportation for school children you have to let me know who is going to take over these things.

19. There are those persons in Barbados who seem to think that our economic prosperty is suppose to last into perpetuality. A fact which many people in Barbados choose or haven’t been able to ponder with a pensive contemplation. ( Well! GOOD LUCK with your wishful thinking, because it ain’t going happen!) Yes, I do agree that we had been fortunate to be the one island in the Caribbean, that was able find inventive ways of maintain our position on the front – burner. But now that we’re progressively moving toward the back – burner, it seem as though some of us are have great difficulty in coming to terms with this eventuality.

20. @ David
    I always hear you trumpeting the position when questions are raised about the credibility of certain bloggers eg Caswell Franklyn ,Henderson Bovell ,that you should deal with the message NOT the messenger and his credibility.. How is it that you are now questioning Alvin Cummings’ credibility? Maybe Cummings should add you to his list of bad talkers of the country .

21. Alvin
    Your post in which you state”…..who have disseminated these sentiments worldwide obviously think their sentiments are ones that will instill confidence”.By the same token are you not providing a contrary opinion.Don’t you believe your point of view more reasonably argued.What then do you think of the Bloomberg release sent yesterday just hours after your erstwhile and brilliant MoF made a Ministerial Statement to Parliament.Did not Bill Faries provide the facts?Were not we whom you seek to castigate and excoriate for stating a proper opinion on the state of the governance of this place where we live,move and have our being seised of the facts which justify our findings?
    The market has no confidence in your DLP administration.PM Stuart needs to counter that, by being bold and decisive,then again it is not in his nature so to be.After 6 years,he is yet to show the measure of his vision and leadership.He has neither.Plain and simple.

22. truth is that the govt had to decide if holding the hands of barbdians was worth the fight of winning the next election , therfore for the blp yardfowls to be reeling in truimph and a false mindset or seeing this as the end of the dlp party is foolish .let’s be warned that the growing numbers of people who are aware that this govt was handed a less than stellar economy in 2008 and will analysis the efforts of the dlp party in doing what they believe was right going forward for the people and not as the BLP had suggested that the all and end is the financial security of the country by any means necessary,

23. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2013 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar

Crusoe | December 14, 2013 at 7:43 PM | @ Ask the more than 9000 people who will be out of work next year and there families when they ask them self ,,, WHAT THE HELL WENT SO DAM WRONG?

ASK , THE kids at UWI why they cant get free education any more , ask why we cant get our tax credit, Ask why more and more VAT dont fix any thing, Ask why the lawyers are so rich , the bankers so rich , where did they get s much money and we so poor, Ask the hospital look so good with no equipment to save out lives, Ask why ask why ask why , Its not the IMF or the WB fault ,
    Then Who fault is it? leaders , or You feel Crusoe , no fault to be had .
    Then who is to blame , Man and woman made problems to be solved by man and woman . or God Just dont like Barbados and its People .A mothers child never does wrong ,

24. @JU,
    I already had David at the top of the list. David, Gabriel, Miller and that the lot should be questioning the credibility of Henderson Bovell of the BLPwho made the claim that ‘”1.4 billion had been removed from the Barbados economy.” and taken out of Barbados. If this is factual (and I have my doubts ) then this is what I mean by (dis)loyalty to the COUNTRY. I look at these things as of more importnce than my credibility.
    Who gave Henderson this information? What do they know?Why did they give him this information to send out? Who would have told him to spread the message that over three thousand (closer to six) people were going home BEFORE christmas to spread panic among the civil servants, and in anticipation of the IMF visit. This is what I am talking about.
    @gabriel,
    Because people like your Bill don’t live here and have their being among us they have to take the i
    time from those who live here and have THEIR being. People like you who are also prepared to lie to fulfil their political ego. He has to take the time from people like you and Henderson Bovell, and Miller, and Old Onions, and sundry others who are not honest. I judge things for my self and judge for myself, because I know or a fact that Your Bill , Bloomberg and these agencies do not haave our goodwill at heart. their purpose is to make themselves look good to their superiors, and when they can make a country look bad they consider it a feather in their cap. I know how they operate. Are YOUR Bill’s facts different from those of the IMF? I have read their report, I don’t need to read Bloomberg’s.
    YOUR vision of leadership is not necessarily the only one or the best one, and the recommendations of YOUR “Professional Economist,” on how to handle the economy, are neither the only ones or the correct ones. Although we only have one mouth there are many ways of getting the nutrition we need through that one mouth, and the food can be taken in many different ways; liquid, solid, by spoon, by fork or even by tube. The important thing is to get the nutrients into the stomach.
    As I told Miller, I going be on wunna like nimbles pun a setting fowl.

You all got me mad at what you want to do to my country, and I won’t let you get away with it. Not without a fight.

25. @Crusoe,
    Ask the people of the Philippines, what happened to them. Compare what you have with them. Ask the people of Syria, Ask the people of Irqq, Ask the Palestinians. Compare wht you have with what they have. Ask your neighbors in the caribbean who are worse off than you. Ask children who do not even have the opportunity to go to school and compare them with you and yours who have the opportunity to go to University. When I was a recent graduate from secondary school there was not even the opportunity to go to University, or even get a job. My god what is the matter with you people? don’t you look around the world? Don’ you think you should give thands to the sqame God you are talking about that you live in a country like Barbados? Stop bemoaning the actions of the political party you have and stop watching television and longing to rebel. Make good with what you have and help your fellow man. that should be your goal in life. If you can make a donation to the school for the blind do so and thank God that you can see. Go to the eye clinic, just for a visit, look at the great number of people who get free eye care, equal to what you get in the best hospitals anywhere in Danada or the U.S. and be thankful that you don’t hae to attend. What do you know about the equipment at the hospital. Go to the hospital and see for yourself. follow healthy life style practices and you won’t need to go to the hospital. Stop judging from what you hear and check it out for yourself, then you will know the truth.

26. @ Gabriel.
    Out of curiosity I read the Bloomberg report (Mr Faeries) As I expected it ent saying anything different from what was in the IMF report. It ent saying a pang, not a ping or a pang. You and a lot like you can get excited at what a bunch of white people say but I happen to have a different opinion. They are not smarter than us. I don’t have to listen to or believe everything they tell. I went to school among them, I lived among them, I worked among them.

27. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2013 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar

Hants | December 14, 2013 at 7:58 PM | @ It like a Sinking ship and all the people chewing gum , But refuse to take the gum out of there mouths to plug the hole , The ship sink and all the people are dead, We can recover the ship , but all lives are lost.

Yes we need a Army of Smart people , If they dont follow the law , then the World will never help .
    Yes the Police, The Police Fraud Squad To man have a CHURCH on the land , and still building and never said where he or they bought the land from ,
    This is only the start with the layoffs, think 9 steps ahead and what will Barbados be well know for now , No law , no order, No trust, no truth , no justice , no court, only fraud , who will visit ,, the party will be over and no one to clean up.

Just think Hants, People on the out side knows the truth . How long will it take for bajans to know the truth and do the right thing.
    Many go to church every Sunday and lie to God in his face , and to their friends in the street , and to their Kids at home , What a life ,
    All running from truth , and want VISA to to go America to look for work.

Is robbing the dead the dead the law ?,what about the dead person family?
    Then we dont need lawyer to write Wills.We dont need Probate, We dont need Bank accounts, We dont need driver license , insurance, Birth papers, just get a gun take what you want, Remember they did this to the Jews in Germany . Hitler did has he please to who he dont like , How long before the world Acted ?

28. Truth be told
    HITLER had his supporters
    SON OF SAM had supporters
    SADDAM HUSSIEN had supporters
    CHARLES MANSON had supporters
    FREUNDEL STUART has supporters

29. THE WORST GOVERNMENT IN THE HISTORY OF GOVERNMENTS ANYWHERE IN THE WORLD, THE UNIVERSE , MARS AND OTHER PLACES.

THE WORST PRIME MINISTER EVER
    Makes SANDY look like SIR WINSTON CHURCHILL–remember me saying so

Remember me saying that many moons ago ?

JUST ASKING !

———————————————————
    It is not that 3000 are being axed
    ( The total agreed on is really 4800. My sources inform me that Cabinet agreed on 4800)

The DLP lied

The DLP SHOULD DO THE HONOURABLE THING.

RESIGN NOW !
    or face the people in Independence square, marchfield , crab hill, diamond corner, black rock , salters, wotton, deacons. haynesville, broad street, the garrison

DR,DAVID ESTWICK needs to pull out of the DLP

DECEIVERS
    LIARS
    PATHETIC -SOBs

30. I repeat
    “Political theatrics and self serving daily press conferences by a power hungry opposition leader will not get the job done.”

31. Mottley’s power hungry campaign includes her constant purchasing of Facebook ads to promote HERSELF , the strategy is to appear as if you are acting in a national interest while you refuse to highlight any specific spending cuts which might suggest sacrifice.
    She wants people to believe that she has a magic wand.

Mottley the megalomaniac . If the BLP says that the wage bill should not be cut, could Mottley tell the public how she would propose to reduce current account spending in a significant way?

Do not be fooled by the opposition crocodile tears. It is all about power for the Mottley crew.

32. Barbados’ economy will improve. Austerity on the government’s current account while stimulating the foreign exchange earning sectors and targeted capital works, building out our alternative energy and improved productivity by all and we will put this country on a sustainable growth path.

It will not be done by self serving public meetings, publicity stunts and by believing that one party has all the answers while the other has none.

“Political theatrics and self serving daily press conferences by a power hungry opposition leader will not get the job done”

33. @Baje
    mottley will get the embarassment of her life, she will step back from the public meetings when revelations are made.

The private sector including david was saying the public sector was too large and that expenditure needd to be griven down, now they have got theor sish, there is a different story.

None of ujs like tp know that our black brothers are going to be out of work, but it is inevitable at this time,

It is hoped that thoe merchants who are defrauding the govt by nderinvoicing wil be investigated and charged. It is hoped that those merchants who are selling barbadains duty free items will be charged, it is hoped that the govt will allow the vat people to go aftet those companies not paying their vat, example corts and cave sheperd, amog others. And what about the self employed

34. @Newblood

You political partisans will be the death of us. What is the issue here? The people being sent home? The fact that the economy is in chronic decline? The fact that our forex reserves has dropped to 500 million? Just deal with the real reason why Bajans and investors are concerned or shut the hell up.

35. the financial security of Barbados was dependent on real governance one that had vision ,one that understood that the well being of a nation was not one of putting all the eggs in one basket ,one that that understood that the real source of a country financial needs was dependent on it’s own viability and not on how wealthy an individual was by number of homes and cars each individual owned, having a govt who understood that individual wealth was not enough to sustain a country in hard financial times, the country have now reached a roadblock because of poor planning and govt who overlooked the totality of how wealth is measured and dispense of to a nation as a whole

36. but then again the opposition is doing what it does best ,having no solutions or alternatives ,still in a campaign mode ,hoping to whip up the emotions of public whilst bringing nothing even as much of”hope” to the table. the opposition is a waste and most all everything they say will continue to fall on deaf ears until they add meaningful dialogue representing a viable way forward to the nation economic needs, DEMS NOW DEMS AGAIN ask ac why.

37. To quote Minister Donville Inniss ‘successive political parties Read DLP and BLP have brought us to this point. Perhaps we can begin the discussion at this point.

The other nonsense about the BLP offering solutions, an Opposition in a adversarial Westminster system will never be encouraged to put solutions on the table and even if they put solutions on the table they wil not be accepted.

38. when the smoke is cleared and the dust settled , the govt attempts in trying to clean a house that was handed to them by the blp would bear enough fruit that those who were displayed by the actions of govt a couple days ago will in time find meaningful jobs ,this govt is not cold hearted and vindictive and would leave no stone unturned into doing what ever is right and necessary in helping these household maintain a reasonable quality of life .mia and the hypocrites are chopping at the bit hoping that govt action would indeed be a free pass for the next election,,,,however it won’t be that easy,………….as mia leadership so far has shown too many weakness and her cheap political shots are not enough to inspire and convince others that she has “the right stuff”

39. if a country is in crisis the patriotic thing to do is to give alternative, put country needs above political needs ..look out for the well being of a nation. don’t sit back and moan and groan. using a yardstick of disgruntle illusions and mayhem as a protective measure of healing, that is all the opposition has done so far served on a table of unlimited selfishness and self-righteous indignation to the point of no return

40. @David
    “an Opposition in a adversarial Westminster system will never be encouraged to put solutions on the table”

Stop making excuses for Mottley ,David. This opposition leader has the largest number of seats of any opposition in Independent Barbados, can get all the media houses to two press conferences within 24 hours and cannot give the country any specific spending cut solutions.

If Mottley is against cuts to the public service, she should tell Barbadians how the massive adjustment needed on the current account will be made. Plain and simple.That is what this is about.
    You say my plan is wrong, show the country specifically what you would cut because in this environment ,spending cuts will HAVE TO BE MADE!

However she will continue to make people believe that there is some manna from Heaven and a magic wand that she posesses.
    That s not PARTISAN, David, that is reality.

I repeat “Political theatrics and self serving daily press conferences by a power hungry opposition leader will not get the job done:.”

41. You are making this about Mottley and it isn’t, good trolling.

42. Back in Time Jack Avatar
    Back in Time Jack

The NUPW holds the fortunes of the Stuart administration future. The donkey ain’t kick yet.

43. @David,
    For sometime now, everyone was saying CUT SPENDING,CUT SPENDING .
    The biggest bill is wages and salaries.
    If your revenue is falling and you need to make additional expenditure cuts, the biggest area of expenditure will have to be addressed.

Minister Sinckler ,obviously reluctantly has announced a major ,credible package of spending cuts which is frontloaded ,ie most of the cuts coming sooner rather than later.
    The government has announced its position to cut spending.

If Mottley disagrees, do you think ,David that it is too much to ask her to put alternative cuts on the table?

The government has put forward a plan, my question is apart from public meetings and trying to get power, does Mottley have a credible alternative. I have been listening very carefully and I have not heard her suggest a massive spending cut package but she is very general CUT SPENDING,CUT SPENDING.

“Political theatrics and self serving daily press conferences by a power hungry opposition leader will not get the job done”

44. Why didn’t you agree before the last general election? Are you suffering from amnesia?

45. Here is the bottomline, a large chunk of Barbadians are dissatisfied with you lot, definition of lot, politicians.

46. mia mottley is becoming the biggest political buffoon. one would have thought that this woman would have step up to the plate and speak with a voice of singularity instead she jumps on the political badwagon after time and time again calling for jobs cuts and other austere measures to bring down the debt now once again she starts campaigning talking about defending the workers, same shitt she did when clico bust, this woman does not even understand the meaning of opportunity in the real sense unless the word political is attached to it,

47. I think the credible spending cuts announced will go a long way in addressing the fiscal imbalance. That is where the focus must be on addressing the expenditure and boosting foreign exchange earning sectors and private capital inflows.

Unfortunately, Mottley’s real focus in on how she can exploit this austerity package politically. Everything she has said and done in recent months has been guided by that goal.

48. david u really…..really belive bajans foolish ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,iknow cause u tek me fuh one tooo,,,,,,,,going back to the last election when u and the other yardfowls were proven wrong…….wunna still belive this is 1992 ,,,,,,,whatever……..

49. The issue is not the fiscal cuts it is also about the lack of confidence which has seen the international foreign reserves plummeting. You can have the last word.

50. “So let Mia find a floor crosser, offer him a ministry (remember mascoll? ) and file a no confidence motion.”

Why keep beating up on Mascoll. Floor-crossing is a legitimate weapon for the politician when the occasion demands. It is less potent to the party than calling an elections like Mr Sandiford did and confining the party to the opposition wilderness for 14 years when disgruntled with the action of his party colleagues. Many a politician has crossed the floor so why continue to malign Mr Mascoll as if he is the first and would be the last one. Mr Barrow enticed Mr Kenmore Husbands to cross the floor with the offer of the Ministry of Agriculture. So leave Mr Mascoll alone. After gradually lifting the DLP from the depths of despair in which they were left by Mr Thompson ( see Mr Stuarts speech to the DLP annual conference), Mr Mascoll was hounded from the DLP to accommodate Mr Thompson’s re-invigorated ambitions.

Leave a Reply to TudorCancel reply