Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler

Today Christopher Sinckler, as Minister of Finance (MOF) is in the middle of delivering some bitter medicine to the people of Barbados – read Ministerial Statement On Government’s Fiscal Consolidation Programme 2013-15 presented to the House of Assembly by The Hon. Christopher P. Sinckler, Minister of Finance and Economic Affairs. This after years of hide and seek by a government still wedded to a political-economy model that is in decay, universally. Like a magician Sinckler continues to believe that our current problems could be solved by continuously tinkering with a chronically unwell economy model when more aggressive and transformative actions were clearly required, even decades ago.

All other things being equal Sinckler will be repeating doses of his snake oil in coming months. This first tranche comes mere months after the last budget.  Of course, there could be an intervention by the people of Barbados in their own defense, but that is unlikely to happen, though it may prove unavoidable. To us it seems that Sinckler and indeed the Government of Barbados is stubbornly unwilling to address the fundamental issues at work. As the proverbial neo-Keynesian, it remains impossible for Sinckler to see that another economic world is possible. We are lock step in a death march off a cliff. The words of Dr. Kennedy are indeed proven true by Sinckler’s admission today that his recent budget was a national mis-direction.

135 responses to “Sinckler Missed the Mark, Again”

1. crusoe equally as important would be your admission that the blp hands are as much a part of this mess as that of anyone else lest we forget that there policies where less than stellar and were unable to undergo the rigors of the economic down turn u see blp yardfowls would want to belive that this economic problems suddenly appear and the economy was strong enough to endure what ever financial or social problem might have come its way however….however the economy failed the test as they was not financial strength from the past leading into the present to which it could have rely upon. the fact is what financial strength it had was manufactured and unreliable .

2. “What an intellectual he was. Smart as they come.”
    Yes, very smart indeed and one giving proof to the maxim that ” a little learning is a dangerous thing.” His pursuit of a futile cause before the Caribbean court of justice has now caused persons whose posts were abolished in contravention of the requirements of the Pension regulations to wait years for pension benefits they would otherwise have been immediately entitled on the abolition of their posts..

3. are-we-there-yet? Avatar

Hants; Re your 10.29 post.
    The mean salary of the Civil servants who are being laid off is unlikely to be $60,000 per year. Layoffs in the civil service hardly ever start near the middle / top. Its more likely to be in the vicinity of 18,000 per year, i.e. using your example, it would be more like 128 workers whose jobs would be saved by your examples, not 40.

4. YUH BIG GUTS IDIOT, 10% of ur salary is only $1000 n you can afford to buy CELL PHONES on top of CELL PHONES. this time around to WIN OVER YOU CONSTITUENCY FOR ELECTIONS, I HOPE YOU ASS GIN DIP INTO YOUR OWN FUNDS N NOT MY GOVERNMENT CAUSE YOU ANIT SUPPOSE TO GOT NO MONEY .ALL THE PEOPLE LIKE YU SO SHOULD BE TAKING A 50% salary CUT AND SHOW THE PEOPLE THAT WANNA WOULD WE AND STOP RAISING THE TAX PUN WE AND STAGNATING WE SPENDING POWERS CAUSE WE CAN’T BUY FOOD N GOT THE TAX ON FOOD REMOVE IT CAUSE WANNA CAUSING THE ECONOMY TO GO NO WERE BUT IN WANNA POCKETS N GUTS. NOW MOREEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE TAXS TO COME ”WHO WILL PAY ALL OF THESE AS THE WORKING FORCE IS DEPLETED ”. 50% CUT
    N PUT BACK THE MONEY FOR THIS PERIOD YOU ”ELECTED DICTATORS”. WANNA ANIT GOT ENOUGH. ENOUGH YUH HEAR ENOUGH IS BLASTED ENOUGH.

5. Bush Tea | December 14, 2013 at 9:36 PM |
    Give it a rest Crusoe do!….Would YOU do better?…talk is cheap…
    Why don’t we focus on WHAT needs to be done – rather than just cussing the wind…?
    ———
    For the record, I have said what needed to be done ever since, from years and as recently as after the poor thing that was called a budget.

I am justified in stating what I want, I have already ‘talked and given solutions’, my talk is not cheap.

Another defense ‘talk is cheap’. No, we HAVE given solutions and there ARE solutions, but the reality is that the current administration is who is in charge.

And yes, both groups are to blame, but the current administration has been in 7 years, they are the taxi driver going down the hill, who have to steer and brake, no one else.

If you cant drive the car, get the hell out and let someone else give it a go.

6. crusoe

If you cant drive the car, get the hell out and let someone else give it a go.

;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;
    and did not the previous drivers drive the car to the top of cliff and btw who do u propose the new drivers be,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

7. But the new driver has had more than enough time to stop the car going over the cliff.

8. well well unbelivable asking some one to rebuild an economy in six years . most homes take much longer ,,,

9. Permanent Secretary Avatar
    Permanent Secretary

Sinckler has more than missed the mark! And you know what, he does not even care how many of us he is hurting! What are the odds that the state corporation CBC is not affected by layoffs? Think about it!
    How can you in good conscience stand in Parliament and give that statement having months earlier denied the rumours about layoffs? You feel that people stupid? Even the most uneducated among us knows when they are being mamaguiled!
    Get with the programme MInister! Acknowledge that you know nothing about economics, give up the portfolio and rid us of you once and for all!!!

10. What is missing from this discussion are our critical responses. Why can’t we form a transitional government for national reconstruction. A rival Barbados government will not pay this DLP/BLP duopoly any mind. And those loyalties will have to be left at the door. We will withhold our taxes, shut down the country and take all other actions to collapse the governing system. After all, this what the West is now supporting in Ukraine right now and ‘maybe’ we could work an inside – outside strategy in Barbados too.

11. @Pacha

It is not the Barbados way, we sink or swim with the tried and trusted. Our docility was once a strength which was even marketed to the tourist. The world has changed and we do not know how to change gears. We will have to bounce on the bottom to get the jolt we need. It will not come from rational decision making.

12. David boy, we are afraid you are right, as you often are. But we had to try. We hope this country will not start looking at the BLP to be any better than the DLP. We have to de-establish both, now!

13. @Pacha

What did you write, DE-established the DLP ad BLP? Given how the interest of private sector and the flavour of incestuousness is enmeshed and embedded in the structure of the two parties it is nigh impossible.

14. Well, nothing is ever impossible. Or things are only impossible until we make them possible. We are still paying homage to Madiba. Apartheid was more entrenched in the body politic of South Africa than the DLP/BLP will ever be in Barbados. Remember 50% of the Bajan people don’t vote at all. You may be surprised at the gravamen of a snow ball once it gains momentum. Sometimes a singular act is sufficient. Let’s hope that such an act will manifest itself soon. Or that Sinckler speech on Friday was that signal moment.

This is living in hope and we hate hope-mongering, mongers. However, the people of Barbados are now in a place where we have to save ourselves. We truss that our responses for self preservation will no longer be tied to the establishment.

15. The first oder of business of a transitional government for national reconstruction (TGNR) must be making both the BLP and the DLP illegal organizations.

16. order of business

17. Come on Pacha, we live in a [democracy].

Note the parentheses.

18. Once we make them illegal you would be surprised by the great multitude that will swear that they were never affiliated. Everybody would be wanting to play a role within any new dispensation.

As a practical and in addition to gaining critical mass, we need to gain the confidence of the securities forces having laid out a popular agenda for the country.

All near term plans must be consistent with longer range planning, 50 to 100 years in the future. Unlike the hodge podge of disorder and incoherence that has passed for planning over the last 50 years.

19. Your remarks are in jest, we know. However, how democratic can it be when time after time bald face lies can be told and the people have no means of correcting themselves?

20. are-we-there-yet? Avatar

Pachamama;
    Give us some examples of where your suggestions have worked. A new government system was instituted and the country rebounded or at least looks like it is on the path to rebounding.

And don’t mention South Africa. There is no reasonable comparison between our situation and that in legally Apartheid South Africa. For one we don’t have the resources. For two we depend on Tourism and Services for our foreign reserves. For three we totally depend on a reputation of stability for absolutely essential foreign inputs.

Your prescriptions seem to me to, if we are unfortunate enough and they come to pass, be sure to carry us into the list of failed third world states.

My advanced age would render me uncomfortable in the Barbados you paint but I suspect my children and grandchildren might even relish the changes.

But I might be wrong. I am willing to be educated on how your suggestions will allow a small country with few if any natural resources to bounce back and flourish in your brave new world as I too can see the venality and antiprogressiveness of both the DLP and BLP but think that I am not yet ready for the changes you have painted in your numerous postings on BU and the likelihood of a totally different Barbados to the one I’m accustomed to resulting from the implementation of those changes.

21. @ are we there yet
    Our comparison is proximate and is highly relevant when dealing specifically with transformation, as a principle. We were not interested in considering a broader application. That would be as irrational as you were.

While you exhibit the classical Bajan attitude of waiting for an idea to be successful somewhere else before it could be considered as worthy, is the prime reason we are in this mess. By the time you and this backward BLP/DLP establishment catch on to what’s happening in the world we will once again consigned to eternal underdevelopment. The world of waiting for others to copy from is dead. You say yuh independent. That should mean finding our own unique path. That is the challenge of independence.

You talk about failed states. Barbados’ trajectory is already going towards a failed state, by most measures, as you who come late to the party will soon see. One of the underlying problems with the social structure in Barbados is that there is no cadre of futurists and there is a general fear for the unknown. A disinterest in seeing the benefits of problems, the opportunities that accompany them. In this regard you are truly the quintessential Bajan.

If you are so committed to being small and helpless why not beg the US or the British to let us become a colony again. But doing something is better that just aimlessly drifting into perdition. We have previously argued that Barbados itself should be redefined from merely geographic to strategic. Meaning adding all Bajans and our descendants all over the world, bringing all these capabilities to bare on national issues.

We are afraid that the world of tomorrow will be markedly different than that of today or yesterday and we have to stop waiting on others and try to find ways to influence that new world. Athenian democracy was started by a population less than Barbados in a place not much bigger. ‘Democracy’ cannot represent the end of the evolution of mankind, can it? If not we have to play a role in creating the world we desire.

22. Six years is time enough for corrective measures to be put in place & the turnaround started. In this case the situation has been gotten worse because of action not taken & the action taken has been a major contributor to the continuing decline.

23. ”THERE IS CORN IN EGYPT”. YES THERE WILL BE SEVEN YEARS OF FAMINE AND SEVEN YEARS OF PLENTY. ”For a long time now we were WARNED TO STORE UP FOR A RAINY DAY AND DID WE LISTEN I HOPE SO, NOT MUCH OF A CHRISTMAS FOR OUR PEOPLE NOW, DO NO SPENDING SORT UP YOUR BARNS. WHAT do WE do now, i suggest we be our neighbors keep.Lets all return to the SOUL FOOD BOTH THE RICH AND POOR ALIKE AND COOK THE CORN MEAL PORRIDGE, CORN MEAL CAKES, CORN MEAL COU COU, BREAD FRUIT COU COU , BREAD FRUIT IN THE SOUP, SEW BREAD FRUIT WITH THE SWEET POTATO, THE YAM,EDDOE, DASHIN, ENGLISH PATOTOE, CASSAVA AND SEW DUMPING. OH WHAT THIS IS CALL THE POOR MAN FOOD.WE GOT TO GO BACK TO ALL KINDS OF VARIATIONS CAUSE M O F YOU WOULDN’T TAKE THE VAT OF THE FOOD BUT WE WILL SURVIVE LIKE WE OLD FOLK DID ,NOT BECAUSE WE LIKE YOU BUT BECAUSE WE LOVE OUR COUNTRY. PEOPLE CORN IS IN EGYPT AND WE NEED A JOSEPH -WE REFUSE TO BE AN ALLEGORY UNDER THIS PHARAOH ADMINISTRATION ”I M F AND THESE ELECTED DICTATORS”. We refuse to be a representation of abstract ideas or controlled by poor principles created by characters of the IMF, BLP AND THE NOW DLP and to end up like some fictional dramatic or pictorial end in a foreseeable future in the fragment of your so call proposals. PHARAOH LET MY PEOPLE GO” WOE TO THE SHEPHERD WHO DESTROY AND SCATTER THE SHEEP OF MY PASTURE! and LEAD THEM ASTRAY,declares the LORD . THERE IS CORN IN BIM, ”JOSEPH COME FORTH” AND SAFE YOUR PEOPLE. WANNA SHARE THE BREAD FRUITS.

24. do es anyone understand the social and economic realities that would have affected this country if in the six year period tthree thousands people were dismiss in the midst of a global economic meltdown , the govt got it right within the correct time period for dismissal. if this govt had listened to the naysayers as far back to take drastic action, the social and economics outcome would have been worst even as the debt decline. just take a look at the countries whose first response was to take austere methods . and the rest is history. ,

25. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2013 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2013 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

David (not BU) | December 15, 2013 at 6:34 PM | global economic meltdown , @ this is more about fraud coming to a head and not the world coming to an end. We had plenty of money and over price land sale to suckers from over seas and now its over , You can not bring in money and run a county by selling land by fraud with no clear title to the land , Even that will work for a while until the true owners are known and not hidden by the NEWS and the lawyers. Now we will see how many lawyers can make a living with out land and rentals on the island ,
    Let them now get back to business and stop selling out the people of Barbados , How can a visitor come to your home and live better than you , have more rights than you ,pay less taxes and VAT , and then can stay and live free in your home as you pay all the bills?
    Because more are white they will even look down on their own people .

26. In the strategy of war sometimes the best warrior presents themselves in such a light of helplessness and stupidity that they are able to achieve what other strength and military might cannot.

So for example one will assume the role of court jester and, under the cover of pretend idiocy, be allowed to say what others cannot, lest one looses one’s head

One can use reverse psychology so skillfully that in proposing a particular stance that it estranges others to that stance, just because one pretends to have it near and dear to one’s heart.

I have come to the conclusion that AC and CCC are in fact the greatest BLP supporters that have ever lived and, by adopting what seems to be an unerring support of the DLP, intermingled with their idiotic and simplistic submissions, they subconsciously have made many here believe that, if these two idiots are the best that the DLP has to level at the world, then the DLP, which we all know to be incompetent, is really much worse, and border on cretins.

In thread after thread, whether one is talking about the new paint job that BWIA had when Caribbean Airways took over their jets, one can be assured that by some incredible means, AC is going to link it to the BLP’s ineptitude and the DLP’s foresight.

Look how adept she has said that Sinckliar, in sending home the 3000 people in January, has been wise in his timing!!

Well i expect that she will come back and post something about how ole people like me want killling and her sidekick CCC will, with his witchdoctor powers, will me to die tomorrow and 2.31 pm, but i am now of the mind that what seemed to be idiocy is pure einsteinian genius to be admired by us simple mortals.

27. @ All

See what i mean?

“ac | December 15, 2013 at 9:10 PM |

pdyr //who de hell are u to tell somebody when to comment or not, u coming in here with ur communistic attacks trying to curtail people freedom of speech, old man this is 2013 and not 1913 , so get to hell off yuh high horse before i push u off………..

True to form….

We ole mens does read a few tings dem right aftah all

De one ting i love is how she say “communistic attacks” whuloss, hold muh, muh belly, I gine fall…

I is going to call de cyber police fuh de threat she gi me bout pushing me off a high horse ……ROTFLM*O

28. hey oleman u get to express u freedom of speech with verbal assaults on me then what do u expect for ac to do, just sit back and let u pummeled me to the ground.u got that wrong brother i am entitled to stand my ground as long as i was provoked by malice and if in the event i pummel ur backside with a good a..ss kicking needless to say u had brought it upon yourself and deserve every kick.

29. David [BU]

Murdah…. i am being “pummeled” for “provoking AC to malice” and not a man coming to help de ole Geezer wid dese warm kicks she giving me in my noggin.

Can I not call a number in cyberspace and axe for police protection from “malice aforethought” or some virtual “bodily harm” or pre meditated (or in this case non-medicated) murder of the English language??

Whuloss, will no one come to the octogenarian’s rescue? Whu dis country cuming to, man it appear dat since dis blog bout Sinckliar and I talk bad bout he name, nuh body ent coming to help me.

De blows is too much for dis skeletal frame, man even Cocky Locky doan do me like dis….

Murdah, murdah, she “standing her ground and I pun de ground, in tears ….

I gine call de new Commish uh Police tuh morrow en find out if “threatening tuh push somebody of a horse” in BU’s cyberspace is someting dat he wud sen de same police dat he sen to Mia, Smiley teets Dale Marshall and Kerrie, De Mathematician wid De Oblong Head, to protect me.

30. @Piece

You know what they say when you go to the gutter…

31. good pdyr,,,,,,,hope u got the message ……a friend in need has no friends in deed……………think about it before babbling off ur mout and disrespecting ac……good night

32. @David | December 15, 2013 at 10:00 PM |

not like that David… ac would not understand. ma belly. lol

33. @ David – @ Pacha

“It is not the Barbados way, we sink or swim with the tried and trusted. Our docility was once a strength which was even marketed to the tourist. The world has changed and we do not know how to change gears. We will have to bounce on the bottom to get the jolt we need. It will not come from rational decision making.”

That is a dire psychological assessment!

34. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2014 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2014 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD

Well still looking to block the truth , well the world seeing all of you now , banking soon gone ,,,

35. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2015 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2015 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD

more to come on the massive fraud land fraud in clico Barbados and the Banks packing up , no clear title to land