Three Barbados Labour Party (BLP) members of parliament were questioned today by the police in connection with a Nation newspaper story penned by Barry Alleyne. The story based on a Voice of Barbados report has to do with coverage of the Opposition walk out of parliament in July 2013.

133 responses to “Barbados Labour Party MPs Questioned by Police – Freedom of Expression Under Threat?”

1. @ Prodigal Son
    “Not even Stinkliar brother, Roy Davis aint get many.”

So there is truth to the then plan to award a contract (Deacons Resource Centre) to a brother of the then Minister even before drawings were done far less a tender? I never knew whether to believe or not as I didn’t know there was a brother.

As for ac, she does not have a clue about what she speaks. The last report on poverty came out under this DLP and it stated that poverty had increased under this current administration.

2. ac……..while you continue to delude and convince yourself ONLY, in the real world ALL the investors in the world know that it’s the DLP screwed up the Bajan economy when they refused to listen to advice, they were too busy being arrogant and enjoying their perks at the taxpayers expense, while making sure that their real masters, bizzy et al continue to benefit from the hard work of the taxpayers….have you no damn shame??, even Carson has enough sense and self-esteem to realize that the shit is flying all over the place and has only just started….sit there and continue to convince yourself that March will be the end of the mess orchestrated by the DLP government these last six years…..lol

3. Same Script different Characters! .
    This is how it will play out. Once the 3000 cuts are implemented plus the other austerity measures, there will be some rough and turbulent times ahead both socially and politically. While this is happening the economy may experienced a bit of growth.
    Meanwhile there will be dissention in the DLP causing either a shift in balance of power or early elections in which the BLP will win. Once the BLP returns to power , confidence will be restored as a new government with a proven track record minus OSA and we will return to having 3 to 5% economic growth.
    Politicians will then return to their Modus Operandi by again interfering with the hiring practices within public service and creating redundant services in their quest to create 30,000 jobs within 5 years inflating the public service again. Bajans will be happy and forget all about the implications of these actions. Cost overruns and lack of frugality will be the order of the day.
    This will happen for another 10 to 15years and will get to the point where government expenditure will exceed its revenue on the current account. It will become unmanageable and government will have to resort to austerity measures by sending home 5000 civil servants by year 2036.

As they say, the more things change, the more they remain the same.
    No transformational leadership to prevent this script from reoccurring again!!!!

4. What a bunch iof hypocrites when wunna had been advocating lay off or dismisal of public servants since 2008. but for the grace of God and the sensitivity of PM stuart and the DLP these dismissals were put off as govt held strainNow the yardfowls get up in here on BU pretending as if the govt are callous and doesn.t care . U guys really tek peole fuh fool. after all wunna had plan to send home tens of thousands if wunna had won the govt.just by the gigantic fire sale wunna had plan

5. Yeah………..all they panty expose….lol

6. Can we move the debate pass ac please if this is possible?

7. Back in Time Jack Avatar
    Back in Time Jack

Summoned and picked up are not one and the same. You like you wanted to give the impression that the police went by them house ‘pick them up’ and put them in the squad car and took them to District A station.

8. Please Cedric Murrell, stop masquerading and talking shit…………e that you did not know that the workers were not going to be sent home.You and the NUPW, Barbados Union of teachers and others knew fully well what was coming. All of you are DLP yardfowls and knew the inner workings of government. All these faithful workers would have paid their union dues over the years , now only to come and get this kind of treatment. I hope the younger work force would have learnt a lesson from all of this. Seems that only Caswell Franklyn can be trusted.

Thank you Mr Ryan Straughn, David Simpson, Mr Owen Arthur Dr. Clyde Mascoll for alerting the public since 2009 about the death trap we were going into. I certainly took heed and therefore I can go to plan B if necessary.. I was not swayed with the public relations coming out of the government. BIG UP ALL OF YOU

9. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | December 13, 2013 at 4:01 PM |

Ac, you are so predictable. Only Today you were “programmed” by the miller to react the way you are doing right now as soon as the announcement of layoffs as mandated by the IMF before they leave Barbados was made. Two days ago you were arguing the imminence of layoffs was just a nasty rumour being spread by the BLP yardfowls including Caswell. As of now it’s a positive move by the government to save the country from the BLP 14 years of mismanagement and disaster.

Why don’t you opt for the alternative and do like CCC? Just buzz off!
    If not, we might just have to follow David(BU)’s advice to advance this debate way above your intellectual level.

10. The NUPW met with government, signed sealed delivered.

11. Hey u guys can take the debate whuch ever way u choose no sweat off ac tail. like i said after six years of the same talk about layoffs the govt did well in taking alot of the buden and as sual u BLP yardfowls can only see that what u had predicted had come true. but can,t see the magnitude of a govt being able to hold the hands of Three thousand households under the dire circumstances of a bad economy. u guys are unappreciative selfserving bastards.

12. “What a bunch iof hypocrites when wunna had been advocating lay off or dismisal of public servants since 2008. but for the grace of God and the sensitivity of PM stuart and the DLP these dismissals were put off as govt held strainNow the yardfowls get up in here on BU pretending as if the govt are callous and doesn.t care”

AC your PM and MOF have chosen to give Bajans a surprise Christmas present. Only callous people would do such a thing! They had time to give this bad news years ago and gradually introduce the stringent measures that is required to help this country. They refused to do such a thing and preferred to LIE to the public. LIE about the retrenching of public workers, they LIED about almost everything. We on BU knew what was coming including YOU but you were sent here to help prop up a failing government. You and CCC were sent here to spin propaganda and more LIES! Now tell me who are the BIGGEST LIARS IN BARBADOS NOW? The chickens have now come home to roost!

13. island gal you too are self serving with a bitter gall of a nerve to state that the govt opportunity was missed years ago by not sending home three thousand workers WOW that is a damming statement and shows the mindset and that arrogance of the BLP and the yardfowls who would suggest or hastily throw people on the street at the first opportunity where is the sensitivity in such a comment, anybody who is insensitive would be the BLP yardfowls and yourself who from 2008 have been asking the govt to dismiss this and more public workers and it took the govt six years to do so knowing full well the pain it would cause there by holding off and given these workers a six year chance of having a favorable livelihood Unbelievable how today that the BLP mouthpieces have the mitigated gall to be critical of govt decision a govt who held back knowing and understanding that these workers deserve a chance Now after six years of the BLP leaders calling for such an action u yardfowls have the nerve to be calling the govt a Liar , this govt have nothing to be ashamed of and should be commended for taking the weight and burden of three thousand households on it back for such a long period of time , God bless PM Stuart a man who put the needs of a people for six long years before the needs of the party,

14. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | December 13, 2013 at 7:18 PM |

We hear you and as predicted, right on cue.
    Now where is the other jackass Alvin to bray the same pup!

What’s next ac? Another charge of the Light Brigade or a final stance similar to Wounded Knee to defend your Boss man in his “Under No Circumstances will there be Privatization” position? Any one ready to buy wholly or partially the Transport Board, NHC, GAIA, Port Inc?
    But remember you are backing a bold-faced liar.
    Hint: Just recall his commitment to the UWI students about maintaining free UWI education and the wickedest of them all the lie told to the poor school boy about the elections date when all along he had the date written down on a piece of paper in his back pocket.
    Would you continue to trust this Faustian character of a man?

15. De Higher De Monkey Climb Avatar
    De Higher De Monkey Climb

I watched the CBC “news”. Somebody get these guys an image consultant, please. Whenever some bitter medicine is delivered the next shot is of politicians and their cohorts skinnin’ dem mout’. Men skinning dem mout’ at IMF officials today. Stupse x 10.

16. DLP (formerly CBC) TV Avatar
    DLP (formerly CBC) TV

AC……..AC….. AC…… Please do like your partner in gross ignorance (namely Carson C Caduncy )and TAKE A HIKE from this blog. It would be safe to say most of Barbados don’t want to hear wunna DLP jokers now!!!!!. Let me guess, wunna (the DLP) gine use the excuse that it ain’t wunna it is the IMF that force wunna hand. I gine ask the question, can Barbados REALLY last 5 YEARS of this gov’t? I am SERIOUSLY dreading the next 5 years!!!!!

17. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

AC

Well done thou good and faithful servant!

18. @ac ”God bless PM Stuart a man who put the needs of a people for six long years before the needs of the party,;’
    ———
    BS. February 2013 election ”we never had it so good and the next five years better’.

Does that sound familiar, and you spouting nonsense about putting needs of people before the party????

Self serving……

19. Now watch them blame everything on the IMF….

Stupse.

20. Ministerial jaunts (oops sorry)* travel* cut 50%.

50%? NO. Should be cut for *essential* negotiations only!

21. Sending families home and talking about travel cut 50%. Stupse.

22. @ac”ac | December 13, 2013 at 7:04 AM | now this news about the speaker and the allegations concerning details surrounding an article in the nation have sent the opposition and the BLP yardfowls into a political tailspin”
    ———-
    You cannot be fuh real. The economic imploding and the authorities, whomever they be, wasting time and valuable resources on nonsense???

And you support that xxxte? And for the record, yes, I think the BLP members ARE in a tailspin, not from the nonsense *potential charges* against a media house, but that a resuscitation job will need to be done on the Barbados economy.

ac…yuh musta read or been told about ‘the king’s new clothes’?

Yuh ent learn nuttin from that story??????

23. are-we-there-yet? Avatar

AC’s argument, likely to be soon taken up by many, is that the DLP did a huge favour to the 3000 workers who they will send home between January and March next year by keeping them in employment for periods ranging up to 5 years. i.e. the Government delayed the inevitable and should be congratulated for so doing.

That argument is an attractive one but omits any mention of what such a policy would have contributed to the overall economic decline of the country over that period and thus what is the real cost to Barbados of such a policy.

To pay those workers up to now the Government would almost certainly have leaned heavily on the NIS fund. A fund which a number of observers are suggesting is tottering under the weight of ill advised outlays that fall outside the ambit of typical NIS investments over the last few years and which may in a few short years cause the NIS to be unable to fulfill its commitments to pensioners and other beneficiaries.

Government would seem to have ignored the economic data which would have indicated that month by month Government was borrowing to pay the salaries and wages of these and other workers while its revenues decreased and expenditures went up. This would normally have been a red flag for any government but this one.

We are not told how many workers were brought on in late 2012 and early 2013 before the election and have remained on the Government’s payroll until now. This would have been a reckless policy in the face of the numbers available to the Ministry of Finance and would obviously not have been designed primarily to help those temporary workers it brought on but moreso to win an election.

That policy has now endangered the livelihoods of several times more workers than the ones brought on for election purposes as the economy has steadily shrunk to a level, through mismanagement by this government, that now demands many more workers being laid off than if corrective action had been taken much earlier when the problem was in its formative stages and would have been more manageable and less impactful on jobs. In addition it does not include any analysis of what the policy might have done to the private sector.

Government declined to engage the opposition to work along with it in utilizing a variant of the 8% sandiford solution. Such a solution, if it had been negotiated and implemented soon after the February 2013 elections, would have resulted in much kinder cuts some months ago.

I must say that I don’t believe that the 3000 layoff figure is likely to be the end. I think it may turn out to be much higher, given the really parlous state of the economy now as compared to Sandiford’s time.

In fact I think that the partial numbers the MoF presented suggests that it is not too late to shame the Opposition into joining with them to effect a new across the board wage cut solution as the MoF’s projections re. the likely success of the current measures to achieve his stated objectives seem to be somewhat optimistic and I think more cuts will be necessary as it becomes apparent that the measures will not do what he is projecting they will do.

Indeed, there also seems to be a measure of window dressing about these proposals that seem designed to impress the International funding agencies that the Government NOW has the will to really try to bring the deficit down especially since its bond offerings seem to be meeting up with some snags. The real cuts and austerity measures might come later.

24. Imagine somebody vomiting and then turning around and eating and drinking that vomit–uhmmp uhmmn ! ugh !

The writings of AC are like her own vomit that in a revolting way, she is eating

enough to make you puke eh people (commenters)

25. I’m a barbadian national studying abroad, in south america. I have been quietly following this blog and I am just so amazed that despite the fact that our politicians have not delivered anythin worthwhile at all, barbadians remain silent. The dlp govt is a MESS! This person AC is the epitome of pure hogwash. I do not even believe s/he has a brain. I am not sure mia understands the job that awaits her

26. Why waste money on importing rubber bullets and so many bullet proof vest while the hospital need supplies?

27. i hope that is just a rumour, it would be the most idiotic thing to do right now.

28. “Three Barbados Labour Party (BLP) members of parliament were questioned today by the police in connection with a Nation newspaper story penned by Barry Alleyne. The story based on a Voice of Barbados report has to do with coverage of the Opposition walk out of parliament in July 2013.”

ANOTHER SMOKESCREEN TO CURRY PYRRHIC FAVOUR WHEN THERE ARE SO MANY IMPORTANT ISSUES AFFECTING THE COUNTRY WHICH A WELL-OILED OPPOSITION CAN USE TO DRAW WELL DESERVED ATTENTION TO THEMSELVES.

29. Is there any truth to the talk a container of Bullet Proof Vests and Rubber Bullets where received by the RBPF? Where are the licorish journalist in Barbados who are suppose to investigate and bring the stories for ventilation?

30. Back in Time Jack Avatar
    Back in Time Jack

Did you see the back page article in the Nation newspaper today? Kerrie Symmonds is a real jackass though. He there making a right ass of himself and the BLP with all kinds of foolish excuses when the average reader understands that the BLP members of Parliament are NOT willing to take a pay cut.

These idiots in Parliament take us for fools. Stupse.

31. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

When I first heard of this container of riot suppression supplies, I checked my usual sources for confirmation but only one was able to confirm. Normally, I require more than one source but for whatever it is worth, I was told that the container was delivered to the Barbados Defence Force.

Can you imagine that the QEH does not have gauze and these people could spend money to acquire things to crack skills. Now pray tell me when they crack skulls and there is no gauze, what would happen? It proves my point, they are poor planners, gauze first!

32. @Back in time

Yes it is a disingenuous response by Kerri.

33. Can you imagine that the QEH does not have gauze and these people could spend money to acquire things to crack skills. Now pray tell me when they crack skulls and there is no gauze, what would happen? It proves my point, they are poor planners, gauze first!

The biggest I have laughed all year !