Submitted by Anthony Davis
Senator Kerryann Ifill
Senator Kerryann Ifill, president of the Council For The Disabled

It is simple theft; the stealing of precious space –– parking spots reserved for the handicapped or disabled of our community. And the more we talk about it, the worse it seems to get.

Advocates for the disabled –– not least among them the president of the Council For The Disabled, Senator Kerryann Ifill herself –– say fines for the able-bodied who illegally park in the spots for the handicapped should be twice or triple what they are now. A few have recommended instead a mandatory seven days in jailBarbados Today

First of all let me congratulate “Barbados Today” for a well-written editorial. It is despicable for hard-backed men and women to park in spots reserved for the handicapped. I have noticed that mainly males park in such spots. Females tend to desist from breaking this law, as they do with most of our laws!

Of all the reasons for so doing, laziness takes first place. He who dares ask the perpetrators why they are parking in that spot will get a mouthful of the vilest invectives he/she has ever heard. However, this should be ignored, because it only shows a lack of vocabulary. I think that parking in such spots can be seen as violating the human rights of the handicapped, and such cases should be dealt with accordingly.

I would suggest a mandatory three-month stay as a guest of Her Majesty at her beautiful hotel in Dodds. I would also add one week of community service in a high-traffic location like Oistins, where the culprits will be tagged with “I parked in a handicapped parking spot”, with writing large enough to be seen from a way off.

Unfortunately the “love thy neighbour as yourself” went through the window on 30 November, 1966, because many do not know what Independence really is. Politicians are trying to blame the churches, but they still play a pivotal role in our country. It was the politicians who took religion out of the schools in their blind eagerness to follow Britain and the EU countries.

The old people always say, ” Follow pattern kill Cadogan!”. We follow too much instead of leading!

Right now our country needs a new crop of leaders, but there is not one to be seen – either in the BLP or the DLP camp. It is: “SIX OF ONE AND HALF A DOZEN OF THE OTHER.” You have Government ministers giving pretty speeches, but are not living up to what they preach, and there are Opposition members doing the same. So, to whom should the younger generation look up?

You have a Government minister banning teachers’ unions from school premises. One must be very wary when someone advocates banning unions, because that is a very slippery slope and can lead to anarchy and the muzzling of the press. Another is talking about the “rot” in Jamaica, and thinks that nothing is wrong with that. Our Minister of Finance can make disparaging remarks about the leader of the Opposition, and the Prime Minister backs him up for not apologising!

This Government has driven so much fear into the youth of this country that they are afraid of demonstrating against something that is to their disadvantage. In not one of these has the relevant minister shown any love for his neighbour. On the contrary, the venom with which the words were uttered leaves much to be desired!

Then again the members of this Government are in stand-your-ground mode, which means that they do not have to make apologies for anything as they are infallible. There are too many godfathers/godmothers in our country, and also too much nepotism. These things have nothing whatsoever to do with loving your neighbour. In fact, they tend to bring about the opposite, because those who should really get the jobs don’t.That is why there so many square pegs in round holes in Barbados – and this pervades throughout our society, whether in the public or private sector.

But, as you said in your editorial, there are the untouchable big-ups, and so we can wait till the cows come home, and nothing will change in that respect. This attitude towards the disabled in our society is the epitome of callousness, and should be countered with the same hard-heartedness that the perpetrators show towards our disabled sisters and brothers.

They give no quarter, and none should be given them!

This is NOT  the kind of situation where one should turn the other cheek. When we get laws in this country whereby one is convicted no matter what his/her status is, then this country will be ready for First World status.

NOT BEFORE!

65 responses to “Disrespecting the Disabled”

1. There is no level playing field when it comes to the disable. The laws provide such a field and for u Ross to throw everything into a law that specifically mandate the necessity for “accessibilty” a key and important component of the law in aiding the disable expose your overzealous reaction and not one of good lawyering.

2. AC…old fella

You know…you are far too intelligent not to understand what I’ve been about so do stop trying to kid everyone you’re not.

3. BT

Just a quick remark because I have to go. IF you’re really interested in how the legal process works I’ll try and explain it. But just let me say this now.

All the great cases of the law have been decided as they were because of the free enterprise in argument of lawyers whose interests, for the most part, did not go beyond the winning of today’s case. Lawyers are not, as such, social therapists. They are combative creatures who understand that the law is not, as commonly supposed, fixed and certain however tidy it may appear, or be supposed, to be. There is always a shifting element. The concepts with which we work are open textured. They do not operate as mathematical calculations – else nothing would ever reach the courts.

In one of Lord Denning’s books he makes special mention of an old friend of mine, Huw Laddie, who, he says, was instrumental in arguing for and fashioning what we know as the Anton Piller Order. That’s the source for change and innovation….me, as you might say, Amused and all the other pedlars of argumentation and even sophistry before our courts who write on here. The process is, if you like, an attempt to create order, understanding and, yes, even right in situations as disparate as clouds. And that is why originally I was very careful to frame the question in the way I did, viz “Who is a disabled person for the purposes of a parking space?” And that is why you are right to say..’Yes, but what if a security guard intervenes and….’. Because in life THAT is precisely how issues arise for determination.
    Or to put it another way…’Is a flying boat a plane or a boat? or “Is a child’s bike a ‘vehicle’ for the purposes of a rule which says ‘Vehicles are not allowed on the pavement?’

4. Look Rosss ur pupose to open other aveues in the case of the DIsable is a useless futile attempt. take the issue of parking spot and availabilty.if one reckons time into it most likely than not that parking space would be unaviable to the disable one because of the frequency of use by the “able bodied” making it an almost avialabilty to the Disable w on any giving day or time.

5. Balance did Barbados copy its immigration laws from T&T?

LAWS OF TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO IMMIGRATION

PROHIBITED CLASSES
    (1)
    Except as provided in subsection (2), entry into
    Trinidad and Tobago of the persons described in this subsection,
    other than citizens and, subject to section 7(2), residents, is
    prohibited, namely—
    (a)
    persons who are idiots, imbeciles, feeble-
    minded persons, persons suffering from
    dementia and insane persons, and who are likely
    to be a charge on public funds;
    (b)
    persons afflicted with any infectious or
    dangerous infectious disease;
    (c)
    persons who are dumb, blind or otherwise
    physically defective, or physically handicapped,
    which might endanger their ability to earn a
    livelihood, or render them likely to become
    charges on public funds;
    (d)
    persons who have been convicted of or admit
    having committed any crime, which if committed
    in Trinidad and Tobago would be punishable with
    imprisonment for one or more years;
    (e)
    prostitutes, homosexuals or persons living on
    the earnings of prostitutes or homosexuals, or
    persons reasonably suspected as coming to
    Trinidad and Tobago for these or any other
    immoral purposes;
    (f)
    persons who are reasonably suspected of
    attempting to bring into
    Trinidad and Tobago or
    of procuring prostitutes or other persons for the
    MINISTRY
    OF
    LEGAL
    AFFAIRS
    http://www.legalaffairs.gov.tt
    UPDATED
    TO
    DECEMBER
    31ST
    purpose of prostitution or homosexual or other
    immoral purposes;
    (g)
    habitual beggars or vagrants;
    (h)
    persons who are likely to become charges on
    public funds;
    (i)
    persons who are chronic alcoholics;
    (j)
    persons who are addicted to the use of any drug;

6. Another point which you seem intent on forming a conclusive opinon is defination of Disable. One can reasonably argue that there are Varying degrees and causes involved but one cannot get around the fact of the pemanant or temporay state which would defined disabilty or handicapped

7. @ Ross
    You know …..your problem is that you are a bit too deep for mass consumption… Little more, and you would be expounding on the attributes of BBE and getting dissed like Bushie…. Lol

OK….you point about the legal role in expanding the limits of our reality is taken. However you know FULL WELL that ..as is the case in all areas of life…most lawyers have little – if any- interest in that kind of contribution.
    You done know that the only thing most of your pals care about expanding is their bank accounts and their waist lines…

With all the lawyers in Barbados….apart from you, Amused, the occasional Jeff Cumberbatch and of course ac’s husband (when he is not in Arizona ) how many offer their perspectives or solutions in the public domain?
    How many seek to provide guidance to the many issues raised here on BU and in the traditional press…?

Have to admit however, that you raise an interesting role that could and should be played by your profession…

8. @ Islandgal
    Of late balance does seem to have become OFFbalance.
    LOL Ha Ha…..
    ..somehow Bushie feel that that was caused by one erice……. 🙂

Look.
    A country is just an extended family grouping. It is GOOD to have new entries to the family from time to time….HOWEVER there must be some level of compatibility.
    Over the years endless new Bajans joined our family ….and endless Bajans left here to join other families. When those who came here and who chose to become BAJAN…there is NO ISSUE AT ALL.
    …and mostly when bajans leave here – they QUICKLY adapt to fit their NEW homeland (picking up habits, accents etc. overnight)..as they should.

The PROBLEM comes when OUTSIDERS want to come here into our family home, and remain OUTSIDERS….
    …as man Onions …dat mek sense to you?

A fellow move into your house – but he bringing HIS ways from his old place to change your home?
    …best haul!
    If you coming to Rome be prepared to do as we Romans do..

9. “Balance did Barbados copy its immigration laws from T&T?”
    could be the other way around but who knows?

10. Bushie – To every thing there is a season, and a time for every purpose under the heaven- I shall not be moved.

11. Why do we generalize? Issues which have cropped up must be dealt with in context. The COP needs to expand on his statement.

12. BT

‘Lawyers have little interest……’: agreed – beyond winning, and that’s the point. For the rest, I was writing to you so mass consumption didn’t come into it – but I do know what you mean.

However, you see, who knows, my little whispers may just tickle some ear ready to be tickled. Consider the following sentence written by ac –
    “One can reasonably argue that there are varying degrees…but one cannot get round the fact of….”
    Does that sound like the pathetic, dyslexic ac we all love and, on Thursdays, moon over? NO. Most definitely an ear ready to be tickled.

13. so ross in your wild eye view and closely watched analytical conclusion u might one day even suggest that even handicapped animals should be allowed special parking space, before u answer think that the animal might be driven by a person with special needs.

14. Our point of departure should be that everybody is ‘disabled’. Some disabled by slavery others by some form of impairment others to be disabled by all types of disease and ‘old age’. The country has to disengage from puritanical notions of normalcy. In addition there is a new morality emerging that will leave Barbados behind, as usual. In this new morality there will be no room for any type of discrimination at law. Indeed there are places in the world were large law suits will be filed if, for example, public transport systems are not accessible to all people. In the work place, if employers do not have a representative sample of people with disabilities, questions would be asked of the courts. And on and on. Unfortunately in Barbados, There is a perverse notion of the survival of the fittest.

15. “Pachamama”
    I only hope that I am not disabled in any way shape or form prescribed by the common understanding of society.

Leave a Reply to Mark FentyCancel reply