Rihanna receiving her AMA Icon Award from her mother.

We have had a couple of interesting news items in recent days which served to piqued the curiosity of members of the BU household. Sir Hilary Beckles is of the view Barbados must capitalize on the success of Rihanna and her one billion dollar enterprise. To support his view he referred to Jamaica having built an industry around Bob Marley and reggae.  BU is unsure how Beckles is able to make the comparison to Marley riding the crest of an indigenous genre of music anchored in the DNA of a nation. Rihanna maybe Barbadian – with Guyanese lineage -but her success has been manufactured on the back of a US-international genre of music. How Barbados can bottle and leverage for success the way Jamaica did for Marley remains highly sceptical but BU is optimistic.

Then we heard from Canon Frank Marshall on the need for Barbadians to embrace values which represented the core of what drove our success of yesteryear. Many will query though whether these values have to be embodied in a religious dogma to qualify.  There is a strong view held by some Barbadians that when the Church played a leading role in our society the nation appeared to be in a better place morally, socially and economically.

Most if not all Barbadians have felt the urge to congratulate Rihanna winning the first AMA Icon Award.  BU offers our congratulations BUT acknowledges she is a R&B performer who uses the imagery of sex bordering on smut, suggestive lyrics and dance to peddle her stuff. This is a compromising of the very same values which Canon Marshall has attributed to our success as a nation.  Bear in mind Rihanna is our Youth and Cultural Ambassador although we believe this is an avenue used by government to provide access to a ‘red’ passport.

Our view may not be widely supported but it is ours nevertheless. As a nation we cannot be critical of the lyrics and substandard music which originate in Jamaica and elsewhere and give Rihanna a pass solely on the basis that she is Barbadian. How hypocritical can one be? We cannot be a nation lamenting the slide in our moral standard but lift up onto the hills a Bajan artist who exploits said wholesome standards which Canon Marshall offers as the basis for our past successes. Don’t we see a conflict or are we so intoxicated by the fact local girl makes big that we are willing to toss standards through the nearest window.

For what it is worth Rihanna, congrats on getting a top award from your fans BUT when our daughter grows up we do NOT want her to be like you.

313 responses to “Rihanna, We do NOT Want Our Daughter to be Like YOU”

1. http://www.entertopten.com/top-10-richest-female-singers-of-2013-2014/

http://hittop10.com/top-10-richest-female-singers-in-the-world-2013-2014/

http://www.clicktop10.com/2013/07/top-10-richest-female-singers-in-2013/

@ Mark Fenty

Who/which female singers are influential around the world has earned and demand respect?

Madonna/United States

Tina Turner/United States

Janet Jackson/United States

Beyonce/United States

Cheryl Lloyd/United States

Ayumi Hamasaki/Japan

Britney Spears/United States

Celine Deon/Canada

Barbara Streisand/United States

Miriah Carey/United States

Others:

Lady Gaga/United States

Taylor Swift/United States

Christina Aguilara/United States

Adele/United Kingdom

2. [youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9SFka6I2fQ8&w=420&h=315]

You don’t have to be educated to be recognized and respected. Steve Jobs, Bill Gates and Princess Diana of Wales (1961 – 1997) proved this. You don’t have to be an entertainer or a great sports figure either. Proof of this is Caroline Kennedy, United States ambassador to Japan and daughter of the late ex-president of the United States John Fitzgerald Kennedy but respect and recognition is earned. All of these have needles to say have earned both respect and recognition: Nelson Mandela, Dr. Benjamin Carson, Princess Kate of Cambridge, Celine Dion, etc. Rihanna is recognized all over the world but NOT RESPECTED. Her demeanor is distasteful and her mother the same.

3. @ Look

What about Chris Sinckler?

4. @ Hal Austin

What about Kerrie Symmonds? LOL

5. @ Look

Lawyers cannot be stupid. Can they?

6. @ Hal Austin

Mia Mottley is lawyer and stupid.

7. @ Hal Austin

Rihanna, her mother and Rob Ford (Toronto Ontario, Canada) as far as I’m concerned could all eat at the same table. LOL

8. @Onion s
    I regret NOT getting back to you sooner BUT I was making serious $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$ this week and my relatively new computer had to be relieved of all the shoite you does write pun this blog!!! LOL.

Anyway I woulda wish you a White Christmas but appreciate that would be seen as racial!

9. R.I.P. Madiba https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JGoOCFA1TOI 46664 Mandela was imprisoned on Robben Island in 1964, and was the 466th prisoner to … The number was imposed on him by the prison for over 25 years

10. @ Alvin/Mark Fenty

Embarrassed or just took your licks and ran off?

11. @LOOK
    For your information: Da fuh lick youh!!
    Rihanna on the Cover Glamour UK January Issue
    by ivetteromero
    Caribbean Entertainment Magazine focuses on Rihanna’s front cover photo and participation in the January issue of Glamour UK.

In the latest issue of GLAMOUR UK, Rihanna reveals that she is looking forward to being a mom one day, and how she had to go away for a while to regain her fearlessness. “One day I will have kids. I look forward to the day when I’m gonna be a mum,” she told UK Glamour. “But I’m nowhere close. I don’t even have a potential baby daddy!” On overcoming fear with the help of her mom Monica Braithwaite
    “I had to regain my fearlessness because it did go away for a bit. My mother said something to me a few years ago: ‘I’ve seen something in your eyes I’ve never seen before: fear.’ She was like, ‘No, this is not you’. I just got back to being OK with myself,” she said. “I can’t run from (the haters). You can’t change who you are. It’s important for me to know who I am and work with that. They’re gonna keep knocking away until all this comes crashing down. But I’m not ever gonna crash. I’m in control,” she added.

The singer admitted her experiences of bullying when she was at school helped her to deal with the constant scrutiny. “I got teased my entire school life. What they were picking on I don’t understand,” she said. “But I’m not victimised – I’m grateful. I think those experiences were strategically put together by God for the preparation of being in the music industry. It’s so easy for me to deal with the bull**** now.” The Bajan beauty who graces the January cover of the magazine- also added the she goes home to Barbados to stay “real”.

Read the full interview in the January issue of Glamour.

For original article, see http://www.caribbeanemagazine.com/2013/12/rihanna-on-cover-glamour-uk-january.html

12. @look
    How low can you get? No! Don’t tell me I guess real…….low.I would love to see you and Rob Ford one on one in a discussion based on your assinine comments comparing Rhiana and her mother to being like he Rob.Ford.The Mayor is not without sin neither are you.You might need a lawyer and Mia might be the right one for you!Go piss off and while ya at it fire a je–@self too!Bajans will never give Rhiana all that is due to her but she is being true to herself.The mind boggles.

13. http://www.eonline.com/news/390931/rihanna-and-kate-moss-snuggle-up-for-v-magazine-in-supersexy-cover

@ Alvin

Rihanna and model Kate Moss snuggled up for V Magazine. Know about that one. LOL

In the Glamour Magazine, the singer, Rihanna admitted her experiences of bullying when she was at school but on Twitter she admits she’s bisexual, “guaranteed to turn a square into a bi bitch.