Henderson Bovell

There are instances in history where the person in charge does something remarkable act (at the right time) which saves the lives of people or accomplishes some other remarkable feat on behalf of their country or those for whom they have responsibility. Names like Owen Arthur; Tom Adam; Barrow and Clement Payne, easily spring to mind. A captain of a cruise liner or a pilot of a plane – is no different from a Prime Minister of a country. Take, (then 57-year-old) Capt. Chesley B. “Sully” Sullenberger, for example. The world will remember him as the man who landed a US Airways Plane with 155 passengers and 5 crew, successfully and safely on the Hudson River – having lost power to both engines – after the plant hit a flock of Canadian Geese. You probably cannot imagine the degree of difficulty or, how remarkable it is to land a plane on water but the experts thought what Capt. Sullenberger did was such an outstanding achievement that the entire Crew of Flight 1549 was later awarded the Master’s Medal of the Guild of Air Pilots and Air Navigators. The award citation read, “This emergency ditching and evacuation, with the loss of no lives, is a heroic and unique aviation achievement.” It was said to have been described by NTSB board member Kitty Higgins as, “the most successful ditching in aviation history.”

If the DLP was flying that plane, everybody on-board would have been dead and the plane completely destroyed. A far less difficult undertaking and yet, the DLP somehow manages to crash the Barbados economy, AGAIN!

Just imagine: A man can land a plane (without power to both engines) on water but EVEN with such a large Cabinet – the DLP cannot manage a simple economy of Barbados, despite increasing: VAT from 15% to 17.5%; Excise Tax by 50 %, freezing public servant pay for years and then unconstitutionally robbing them out of their allowance!

Little wonder that whereas the experts were happy with the way US Airways Flight 1549 was handled, Moody’s; Standard and Poor’s and others – are unimpressed with the DLP’s reckless mismanagement of the Barbados economy.   So while Capt. Sullenberger got an award for “heroic and unique aviation achievement,” the DLP has so far received four downgrades or: “award of shame,” including a humiliating downgrade to “JUNK BOND STATUS.” For the DLP, this is historic, because – despite tremendous effort – not even Sandi, was able to sink the country that low!

The DLP is now alleging that it has done more for Public Servants than the BLP did in fourteen years, is a horrible nonsense, which only serves to remind the country that Public Servants have had their salary frozen and their allowance unconstitutionally hijacked – despite a ‘1995-BLP-amendment’ to Section 112 of the Barbados Constitution, which is intended to address precisely that: prevent the DLP from reducing the pay and or status of Public Workers, to their disadvantage, again. There is a serious point here, except that the Union (which now wants Public Servants taxed more) is not interested.

See what I told you about human decency?

Was Capt. Sullenberger walking around telling anybody on that flight – or the crew for that matter – that he saved their lives?  In contrast, even though there is no truth to the DLP’s wild baseless allegation of “doing more for Public Servants than the BLP” – the country will easily detect the DLP’s desperation for hero worship and false praise!

I think workers would prefer their salary on payday, than new office furniture to sit on. But, new furniture or not; new office accommodation or not, the reality is that the Barbados economy is still in recession, perhaps for four consecutive years. Barbados has been downgraded to JUNK; the Transport Board hardly has buses for the same Public Servant to get to work; the QEH does not have medicine; Land Tax gone up; VAT gone up; Road Tax gone up: water rates gone up; the price of food gone up, yet Public Servants’ pay remain frozen. Still, the wild allegation of doing better under the dems!

I detect and understand the DLP’s deep sense of frustration and anger, as displayed by their AG in Parliament Tuesday (November 26)! It cannot cut Public Servants’ pay because of that 1995-BLP-Constitutional-amendment. Secondly, as much as it would like to, it gave a commitment that if re-elected, ‘IT WILL NOT’ send home not one Public Servant and that is the source of its consternation. A few weeks ago, it flew a kite to test the waters, as regards – taxing so-called middle class more. It is why Public Officers should be happy that the BLP made that amendment to Section 112 of the Constitution because the DLP would be cutting their pay again – this time by more than any 8%.

Given the way the DLP functions, somebody has to blamed for the fiscal mess the DLP has created and you know that the DLP has acquired a target and a scapegoat, when on Tuesday, November 26 – the DLP was publicly complaining that 54.5% of Government’s revenue is being spent on wages and salaries for Public Servants.  If after five years in office – this announcement from the DLP – is a new discovery, that would be very scary. If it is not a new discovery, then it may be confirmation that the DLP is reaching for the butcher knife and not any Scalpel. An IMF-Mini-Budget may be lurking in the dark.

In the August Budget, the DLP outlined policies to reduce the deficit but (to date) managed to increase it by over $150 million.  What if Capt. Sullenberger had made such a monumental mistake or got it wrong, like the DLP keeps doing?

Whereas Capt Sullenberger will be remembered as the man who landed a US Airways plane with 155 passengers and 5 crew,  safely on the Hudson River (after it lost power to both engines) – for doing to Barbados – the complete opposite of what Capt. Sullenberger achieved for “ALL” on-board flight 1549 – the DLP will long be remembered as: ‘a party not to be trusted and a symbol of failure and incompetence, which causes severe pain to the people of Barbados.’

Perhaps already having the IMF on stand-by – that the DLP would somehow still be able to tell Barbadians “Happy Independence” – in three days time – would truly be “bold” and “unpatriotic.”

68 responses to “The DLP: A Party Not to be Trusted, A Symbol of Failure and Incompetence”

1. Economies don’t just crash overnight. They are usually a chain of events , or bad decisions that act as a prelude to a crash. Barbados was making silly decisions for at least two and a half decades now. Everyone wants to blame the DLP administration for the financial meltdown. They are certainly not blameless. For instance, one may ask why so much money is outstanding in VAT contributions that hasn’t been paid as yet. Why does the government continue to allow the businesses of this country who collect VAT on their behalf, not to pay it in and this continues to go unchecked. But there’s a deeper cause to all this. its called GREED.
    Tourism was failing for years now, but hold onto it so that certain classes of people can live exorbitantly while pretending to be a large employment force. Does one really think that paying the general staff of a hotel $1500 to $2000 a month can really contribute the necessary funds to the economy in the way of taxes? Does paying AA with those disgustingly despicable looking old crones, hefty fees for empty seats to fly here make sense? Does having three of 4 cruse ships in port berthed simultaneously with only a small fraction of their passenger compliment disembarking and spending make sense? It doesn’t. And no amount of excuses will ever make it logically add.
    We refused as a people and government to be novel in our approach to running this country. Same old ideas re-packaged and presented as new. Cant make your targets, then cut your costs. But when we were all feeding at the trough of greed created by the magicians who led this country previously, none of us saw or thought of the impending danger coming. Land prices got astronomical. So Barbadians couldn’t own their own lands anymore. Now land is out of reach and only the rich can afford it. But we were feeding at that trough. We all had money, but by what means? The sale of our national assets? When there was just too much money to stuff into the pockets of the rich, the “over-flow” trickled its way into the population and we felt good! Now, those very people are holding back their money and daring the government to come after them because they didn’t get what they wanted. That is, the financial enslavement of the remainder of us. Keep playing the backside and see where this leads..
    My prediction for 2015 is dire and bleak, but all I will say is: “Its happened before and will happen again, magnitudes more impactfully than it did then!”
    Just leaving my comment!

2. @ Ross
    ..just ignore it.
    That is the work of ac and her ilk who are at times torn between whether one star or five stars is the positive vote…
    …a symptom of brassiness… 🙂

3. @ just commenting
    “…none of us saw or thought of the impending danger coming.”
    This is your only factual error JC.
    Some of us saw it way back in the days when we were tossing money around by the billions….

Otherwise….well said.

4. bush tea got to agree with ross the voting system is rigged by malcontent BLP voters,. almost like voters fraud, now u BUSh tea accused me of voting, if that is so check the number of one votes i get , but i am not flicked skin to let them irritate me,

5. The whole world went mad during the 1980’s and some of us saw it coming way back then and we battened down the hatches. Some of us were regarded back then as doom and gloom merchants.

Even before that, in the UK in the early 1960’s they ridiculed Japanese products – transistor radios as cheap plastic boxes with lots of extra transistors that did nothing, cars as cheap and nasty – I disagreed then.

1960’s they ridiculed the Chinese as being able to live on a bowl of rice a day.

1966 -1969 I was out of the UK and when I returned nearly every car on the road was Japanese or Italian with a goodly number of German cars.

From the 1980’s we courted Japanese companies and tourists.
    Some years ago UK commentators were laughing at the Japanese economic problems.

Today we are looking at the same bowl a day Chinese for investment and trade and we are also looking to depend on India for trade, investment and skills.

Possibly Barbadians have the British disease but don’t know it.

Us sceptics “cynical Sid” as I was called, have been proven right on every count – they are not laughing now! Apologies to the late Bob Monkhouse.

In the immortal words of the late Bob Monkhouse – “When I told them I wanted to be a comedian, they laughed – they’re not laughing now!”

6. Bush Tea

‘Pressing the wrong button’…..lol……..I do it all the time.

The ac point is also valid……we push them party political……..so the system is meaningless.

7. “The new measures agreed on by the Bank’s Monetary Policy Committee (MPC) and sanctioned by the Treasury are known as qualitative easing—steps taken by central banks once the normal methods of boosting the economy have been

AREN’T WE USING GOOD FOREIGN EXCHANGE TO ESSENTIALLY BUY “JUNK” BONDS, WHICH INVESTORS AROUND THE WORLD SEE AS “UNATTRACTIVE?” DOES OUR CENTRAL BANK KNOW SOMETHING THAT CREDIBLE INTERNATIONAL INVESTORS DO NOT?

exhausted.”http://www.morningstar.be/be/news/article.aspx?articleid=78396&categoryid=488

8. Sorry about that! I made an error with the first link – grateful if you would please, tidy-up. Regards.

9. Ross

I still here but for the grace of … wait .. wah I talking ’bout. Ol’ age setting in. Ha. Thnx for the thought

10. @just commenting

Yaaawn, you are no different to Denis Lowe in the YouTube post here on BU–all rhetoric. Pray tell if Barbadians can’t own land who owning it? What do the statistics say? Stupse!

11. BAF

Cuddles and blessings…. or (to save BT the galloping frown)

A warm handshake, a grab, an ear whisper and a slap on the back – Obama-way.

12. henderson bovell Avatar

It Is Within Your Power To Help Make Things Better!

My fellow Barbadian, as we prepare to celebrate yet another year of Independence, we must never doubt our ability to bring about positive change. No longer can any of us afford to believe the false notion that ‘better is not possible!’ Faced with greater obstacles, neither Clement Payne, Bussa, Conrad Reeves nor Grantley Adams, believed that folly.

Alleging that better is not possible, ‘is an excuse! It is not the Barbadian way!’ Presiding over four downgrades, with Rating Agencies warning that yet another is around the corner – is not an achievement to celebrate, but a clear message of a lack of confidence and that something is very wrong (not with Barbados but) with the Government and its policies. Barbadians may not be able to change the policies, but..!

Will you sit on your hands; do nothing and allow the hard work we did; the sacrifice our forefathers made and the success we achieved (in the interest of Barbados) to be eroded completely by people who are only now realising that you can bluff your way as a party in Opposition, but not as the Government?

Success’ like victory – never comes easy and while it is true that the gold does not always go to the most equipped or accomplished competitor, we must never stop believing in our ability to bring about real change.

Men like Grantley Adams and Clement Payne achieved that objective with great danger to their lives. Barbados is still a cause worth fighting for. We must work like the future of this country rests on our success because it really does.

No doubt, each of you will have your own reason to get involved, whether it is: to see the economy rebuilt and in a way that: will work for you; create jobs; make businesses strong again, change Barbados junk status, ease the pressure on the poor and middle class, or to make health care and tertiary education affordable again.

You too may be saddened and deeply troubled by the alarming number of Barbadians who were robbed out of their hope and happiness and today are literally have nothing even to eat and are finding it difficult to make ends meet and keep body and soul together.

But each of us has something that drives us and that is telling us that we must and can do more now, to secure the future for others. That’s why so many of you are coming together to get the job done for Barbados.

None of us can elect the right Government or bring-about the change this country urgently needs – on our own, neither can “the best team possible for Barbados” – continue the job it started and make things better for you, without your help. It is either a commitment to four more years of famine; hardship and human suffering or to something better.

Together, we can and we must help fix and change our broken Government and our broken economy, by supporting a team that will put this country back on track and get Barbadians working again.

This country needs leaders at all levels. I am therefore inviting you to join me and other patriotic Barbadians and let us rescue our country and make it attractive and strong again. Let us renew our commitment and refresh ourselves to supporting a group of leaders who share your views and care about the things that are important to you.

Note however, that the road ahead will be rough and there may even be times when you feel like just giving up but people are counting on your strength and commitment to make a difference in their lives. We must not fail them.

Better is possible and within our reach. Note also, that we gave a commitment to be craft-men of our fate: Let us write our names on history’s page so that one day our children will know that at this critical moment, when others were losing hope and direction, when it mattered most – we wrapped ourselves in the flag; lifted the banner and step forward with the torch and said, “follow me,” “we will show you the way,” and, “if you are to weary, we will help you.”

Thank you for the confidence in your ability, as well as for your commitment, to make things better.

There is hope! Be Blessed and may God be with you! Happy Independence!

Let’s get to work!

13. Who ever wrote that Morningstar article is either an idiot or an economist.
    “Households not spending”, of course they are spending to the max, on increased electricity, gas, food and everything else.
    House prices have been rising so fast that the Bank of England has had to curb the government’s recently announced flagship guarantee on mortgages.

The economy is a mess whichever way they bend it in an effort to avoid the next impending crash.
    When the smoke and mirrors clear we’ll see that the recovery was all a mirage.

14. Let’s face is, Barbados has moved from the front – burner to the back – burner and now we’re looking for every and any Tom, Dick, Harry to take blame.

Now, the economy is and has been on lifesupport for quite sometime and I fail to accept the common narrative that the DLP is total at fault.

Ya’ll ought to know that the PAST with its GOOD and EVIL lives in the PRESENT and OLD is in the NEW concealed and OLD is in the NEW revealed. Now, just chew a little on the Nation’s Birthday cake you antagonist.

Finally, and as I’ve said on a former occasion: I do not know how those persons who had been concieved of a low birth in Barbados, could find it in they conscience to vote for any other political party than that of the DLP.

15. Life Changer + Avatar

@ Hamilton Hill
    In response to the captioned challenges, the civilised political stance – two recommendations, one aimed at improving Caribbean governance, the other at improving the administration of national budgets:
    The publication of ‘letters of intent’, inspired by those issued by the International Monetary Fund (IMF) to developing countries confronted with budget difficulties. The letters would contain precise quantitative objectives and a record of the national measures put in place to meet the objectives of the stability and growth pact.
    The vote and implementation of the budget: Rules could be introduced that would condition government taxes and levies to a reduction of the budget deficit along annual objectives agreed at the beginning of each legislature. Taxpayers could thus compare the true performance of political parties during election campaigns.

Leave a Reply to robert rossCancel reply