Henderson Bovell

You can excuse the DLP if it did not care to read the ‘National Strategic Plan 2005-2025. But Goal #6 of that document speaks, in part, to: “Branding Barbados Globally.” When you read it, you begin to understand why the demise of a Barbadian brand like Almond, is a national scandal. I suppose the same can be said about the DLP’ reluctance to spend a puny US$500,000 to save a $80m Rum Industry, which will result in “a-310-year-old-company” leaving Barbadian hands for the first time in its history.

Of all people, the BLP, which is responsible for the “National Strategic Plan Document,” should understand that the issue of “Sandals” – is more than the quantum of concessions or what is contained in some MOU, especially since the same National Strategic Plan sought “to continue consolidating the country’s international image, particularly on account of political stability, educational quality, democratic governance and good leadership.”

I do not know that the present Barbados Cabinet and Government – are showing good leadership on tourism right now” because “Almond” is a Barbadian-home-grown-international-families-brand,” which was on par (in the view of many) with Sandals, which is nothing more than a Jamaican home-grown-international-families-brand. That makes Ralph Taylor, the equivalent of the Jamaican Butch Stewart.

Like Sandals, there was also global excellence about Almond, which had a marking apparatus across europe and north america. And, it too was expanding throughout the Caribbean.

The real issue of the Sandals fiasco has very little to do with concessions or what is contained in a MOU. But that, in the month of November (Independence, nation hood, sovereignty, a Barbadian brand and identity; Barbadian pride and industry) while the country is being asked to buy local, public policy is embracing a Jamaican brand (Sandals) which is not superior to the local brands (Almond). Whether it is Sandals, the demise of the rum industry or reversed colonization in relation to the virtual “give-away” of all that land at Coverley – the DLP is always the one holding the smoking gun.

I tend to agree that a Government, which said that it is against privitisation – but sees nothing wrong with selling Barbadian passports or citizenship – would be “eager” to choose Sandals, rather than save Almond – the credible and successful Barbadian brand it allowed to wilt for over two years, while 500 found themselves on the bread-line and the foreign reserves nose-dive by over $400 million.

I mean, for his service to Barbados and contribution to Barbadian pride and a Barbadian hotel brand, we should be honouring Ralph Taylor with a Knighthood or GCM.

Only recently, the Myrie case was before the CCJ and we saw how the Jamaicans made all types or remarks about Barbados and Barbadians, whether true or false. They said that Barbadians are arrogant and cocky. That may be a debatable distraction but to now have a scenario where you are offering so many work permits for Jamaicans to come in here to work at a Sandals property, what are you saying about Barbadians: that they cannot meet Jamaican so-called high standards in the hotel sector. Where will the stay/live: at Coverley, as part of the deal?

Is it not true that our Chefs come-up against the best in the world and win gold awards? Is the same not true about our bartenders (mixologists)? Do we not train people at the Hotel School? What statement is our Government making about our Barbadian people in November?

This Government sat-back and allowed a Barbadian brand to decline. In the process, some 500 workers ended-up on the bread line. The DLP did nothing for the two years businesses in Speightstown were complaining about lost of economic activity due to the closure of Almond. Airlift fell and the foreign reserves nose-dive by some $400m. Yet, the government was not moved. It sat on its hands and allowed a Barbadian brand to fail and our economy to shrink and eventually, be downgraded to “JUNK.”

It presided over the diminishing and near demise of a successful Barbadian brand because it fail to see its role as anything other than to “tax” and “spend. But, increasing VAT; Land Tax; Excise Tax on petroleum products; water rates and so on – highlights the DLP folly of killing the goose that lays the golden egg for the Barbados economy.

Still, it is not as simple as a half of a billion in concessions or a MOU. This issue speaks to the unpatriotic character of the DLP. Is a duty-free car too good for local hotel workers? If per chance, a bajan is fortunate to get one of those jobs, he will have to catch the bus, while the, “brand-name foreigner worker,” will roll-in to work in an air-conditioned duty-free car.

This no laughing matter! Because, the DLP’ refusal to offer timely assistance or to take timely action – in relation to a Barbadian-home-grown-international-brand – is their vote of no confidence in the Barbadian people and in a Barbadian symbol of excellence.

The DLP did not care that it phased-approached to governance and laziness – resulted in over 500 Almond Employees ending-up on the bread-line or in businesses in Speightstown crumbling and the economy downgraded to “JUNK.

The clear message the DLP wants to send, is that the Jamaican brand is better than Barbados’! That Barbadian hotel workers cannot meet Jamaican high standards and that to be Jamaican, is superior – requiring the DLP to have to issue such an alarming number of work permits because these Barbadians cannot meet Jamaican high-standards. So tourists are not coming because of you – the Barbadian worker. It is a very sad thing when you have a Government making these horrible statements and judgments.

The other point is because of reduced load-capacity, Virgin Atlantic may have already made some adjustments, in relation to St. Lucia, while American Airline may make adjustment come 2014. The point is, even with a Sandals (when it eventually opens for business) it MAY NOT be a case of “increased capacity” or growth but merely – recovering ground that was lost when a home-grown international brand like Almond – was allowed by the DLP, to fail.

On another point: local hoteliers and restaurant operators bringing a class action suite against the Government – in relation to the favoured treatment given to Sandal – should not be so easily brushed aside as nonsense because of some ill-conceived notion of making the matter of concessions sub judice because there will be a similar outcome (essentially) once Sinckler or Sealy present the MOU the Opposition is asking for. Once that is done, the issue is dead.

I thought, having only recently brought a failed vote of no confidence against Sinckler, the strategy now would be for an independent authority (the law Court) to rule on the Opposition’s view (on the question of discrimination) thereby strengthening its point, that given the conduct now in relation to Sandals – the country really cannot have confidence in the Minister. At least Moody’s seem to share the Opposition’ view on the question of favourable concessions to Sandals, but the law court would be a further victory. Even though, emphasis purely on concessions or a MOU – is to vulgarise a good rallying-point debate and admit a failure to see the real issue relating to the matter. But, what do I know! I am just, Henderson Bovell.

70 responses to “DLP: Bajans Not Good Enough – Neither Can They Reach Jamaicans High Standards – Work Permits Therefore Necessary”

1. I DONT SEE WHY THERE CANT BE TRANSPARENCY IF TRANSACTIONS ARE ABOVE BOARD

2. @Well Well,
    I did not say what you attribute to me. Take it back.
    @Bushie
    Of course I went to the original Cawmere..any others are counterfeit. It was the principle that I was referring to…rebuilding the Hilton and giving the rebuilt one to Hilton to manage. So the “principle” with a rebuilt Almond (Sandals) is the same. They are not “:giving” the asset to Butch. GP is a past HC person. He will be glad for any oportunity to be able to use “tank-isms…Redundancy is I ever saw it.

3. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

Please do not mention schools again on this blog. Please do not. We are tired of the nonsense. What purpose does it serve. Big hard backed -old men who left school 100 years ago still talking about schools where they learnt to look down their noses at people. The old school tie should be retired. Stop the nonsense talk about schools, it is silly and childish. Shows that you gave not grown.

4. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

have not grown

5. @Dr The Honourable,
    I am sure you went to school. Aren’t you proud of your school? Sorry if it offencs you but I will be proud of Cawmere (there I said it again) until I die. I will praise Cawmere (darn it I said it again) until I dead. and will pass on these expressions to everyone who goes to school there. I am not responsible for your feelings about your school.It is not childish. Are you not proud of your country? Shouldn’t every citizen be proud of his country and sing its praises forever/ Sorry for you.

6. Alvin Cummins | November 19, 2013 at 6:31 PM |
    YOU ARE A VERY NAUGHTY BOY! HOW YOU MEAN THAT GP is a past HC person. ARE YOU SAYING THAT HE IS SUPRA COLLEM? MURDAH. LOL

7. “If you are talking of the “300 year old rum business, owned as Mount Gay, that was sold toe Remy Martin many years ago(again not under this administration).”

The Wards still owned the distillery and blended rum for MG as well as their own brands like Mount Gilboa. That distillery located in St. Lucy at the original site was recently sold and that is what Henderson Bovell, I believe, is referring to.

8. Alvin……….i only just noticed it was Miller said that……..but i would much prefer if you answered the question, it would be more stimulating coming from the horse’s mouth……..so……….answer me Alvin

9. Colonel………..i have lost track of so much stuff in Barbados, people are now surprising me with so much that has become lost to the island, but no one is telling me how it got lost and exactly how much Barbados has left to lose.

10. @BT

You gine leh these fossils send you to Black Rock?

11. Colonel………….i am also hearing that Barbados no long makes Sugar Cane Brandy..

12. LOL @ Enuff
    There ain’t enuff of them to accomplish that….

13. If you build a hotel or any business it is your responsibility to make it work. The people of Barbados is not there to prop up your business. If i open a hat shop do I have the right to go begging the Bajan people for funds if I mismanage the business.

14. @Dreamer

And what if that business is a significant part of a sector which is responsible for 60% GDP?

15. DR. THE HONOURABLE | November 19, 2013 at 6:57 PM |

Proppa!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

16. David | November 19, 2013 at 9:19 PM |

@Dreamer
    And what if that business is a significant part of a sector which is responsible for 60% GDP?

…………………………………………………………………………………………………

now it seems like the opposite is true the gains made by govt through the tourism industry all have but have been depleted and it is as if 80% of the GDP is now going to prop up the BHTA.

17. Monday Nov 20

Globe and Mail

Full page ad on back page of the first section

Joint St. Lucia Tourism/Westjet Vacations – 12 properties including 3 Sandals properties.

Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Resort and Spa – March 18 & 25,2014 = $2,329.00

When will Sandals start to use its marketing might to promote Sandals Barbados?

18. Interesting to hear about the building of a Civil Aviation headquarters from the MOT.

19. Man David, let the people talk yuh!
    …that is the only thing that they manage to accomplish ….and it cheap…. 🙂

20. […] when we Bajans scratch our heads and wonder wuh really goin’ on ’bout here? (see here, here, here, here and […]