Excerpts related to tourism Budget Speeches 2008 to 2012:

• There are some critical national concerns and a Tourism Master Plan is currently being designed by a new Unit in the Ministry of Tourism designed to look at our tourism development strategy in a holistic way addressing our product, land use policy, marketing, carrying capacity and linkages to our other sectors and the lives of Barbadians among other matters.
  • The expansion of the luxury tourism market will include the construction and opening every two years of a major internationally branded luxury hotel and associated branded residences catering to the five-star and ultra luxury tourism market.
  • The expansion of the luxury room stock will also assist in the establishment of the Health Tourism market in Barbados.
  • I [the late David Thompson’s first budget] have just returned from a CARICOM Heads of Government meeting at which tourism, regional and international transport were discussed for one full day. Some important decisions were taken including the commitment to a regional brand, the establishment of a Caribbean Tourism Marketing Fund and discussions are taking place between LIAT and Caribbean Airlines Limited on their future together – Budget 2008

• We must maintain our presence in the marketplace and make our marketing more impactful and efficient. We have increased the Budgets of the Tourism Authority and Invest Barbados significantly for the task. We have streamlined the corporate structure of the BTA and increased the mandate of Invest Barbados to include the Diaspora and launched the Team Barbados concept in our foreign Missions under the CIEX mandate – Budget 2009
  • In addition, I propose to establish a Tourism Loan Guarantee Facility to provide assistance to those hotels which require working capital support. The provision of guarantees presents a viable option for government as it will enable the sector to meet its working capital needs with little damage to government’s fiscal position – Budget 2010
  • Accordingly, Mr. Speaker, this Government will work with our cultural workers, across disciplines to establish a public/private sector mechanism whose focus will be to promote, market and distribute the products and services of our cultural workers. It is hoped that after the appropriate consultations with all stakeholders, which I suggest should begin in short order under the auspices of the Ministries of Culture, Tourism and the Ministry of Finance (Investment Division), the mechanism will be put in motion in the shortest possible timeframe – Budget 2011
  • It has been proposed to establish a Hotel Refurbishment Fund to assist small and medium sized hotels. An additional $5 million will be provided to the BTA to assist with special marketing activities. Land taxes on hotel accommodation to be frozen at current levels (11/12) for the next two evaluation cycles – Budget 2012
  • The Minister announced that over the next 18 months, an additional US$50 million is to be expended on the marketing and promotional activities of the Barbados Tourism Authority.
  • The Minister also announced the launch of the “Barbados International Culture and Sports Tourism Promotion Initiative”. This initiative would market Barbados for culture and sports events, and would be funded by
  • It was also announced that the Bds$50 million Hotel Refurbishment Fund (announced in the 2012 B udgetary Proposals) is being administered by the Central Bank of Barbados and is now ready to receive applications from registered tourism accommodation establishments. This Fund is to be financed by surplus funds from NIS which will be loaned at reasonable rates of interest. an initial investment of Bds$20 million – Budget 2013

167 responses to “Is the Ministry of Tourism Underachieving?”

1. @CCC…Carson got he nose so far up Butch’s ass he sounding like a Jamaican. He like he in love wid de Jamaican white man. According to CCC Butch all by heself gine save the Bajan economy..Wunna think Butch give a shite about Barbados? He smell the blood and move in for the kill…

2. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

For heavens sake, look at it this way.

Current thinking got us where we are.

Extra ordinary things will have to be done to get us out of the rut.

But what you BLP people need and are calling for is “regular thinking”.

A lot more shaking up has to be done. This economic downturn is the perfect opportunity to overturn the status quo. What are we waiting for? A lot of what we hold sacred has to be dumped. We can not go forward by clinging to the past. The paying of tuition fees is a step in the right direction.

3. A reminder to some of you that BU has no problem with Sandals and Beaches coming to Barbados. It is a good brand and Stewarts marketing might and ability to leverage across all his properties will put Barbados in a good place. This does not mean as taxpayers we should not ask questions about the circumstances around Stewart getting his basket of concessions. It is our right in a democracy.

4. Carson C. Cadogan | November 13, 2013 at 7:10 PM |
    georgi porgie

Go and get your cup of hot cocoa and let the Shady Pines nurse tuck you in your bed.You are straining your self.
    YOU ALWAYS MAKE ME LAUGH

HERE YOU ARE YOUR TRAINING WAS TO WAIT TABLES
    AND THEN TO LICK YOUR BOSSES ASS
    AND YOU WANT TO BE RUDE TO ME LIKKLE BOY

I SIT AT TABLES IN THE BEST RESTAURANTS AND HOTELS – NOT WAIT AT TABLES LIKE YOU……. AND I HAVE NEVER LICKED ANY BOSS ASS EVER

EUSTINE WAS BEING TICKLED IN ONE BEDROOM WHEN YOU WERE IN THE NEXT AS SHE HORNED THE DRUNKING TAXI MAN MCCLEAN WHO EVENTUALLY MARRIED TO SHE IN SHE LATE 50’S

THAT IS THE ILK FROM WHICH YOU COME
    IS SHE IN SHADY PINES OR LOOKING AFTER MCCLEAN IN SHADY PINES?

5. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Jonny B Good | November 13, 2013 at 8:14 PM

I challenge you to show me the paragraph where I said or even implied that “Butch all by heself gine save the Bajan economy..”.

I am waiting.

6. “For the first time in a long time, you don’t have to be an optimist to see the glass as half full,” Carney said in a press conference following the publication of the Bank’s quarterly economic projections. “The recovery has finally taken hold.”

7. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

georgie porgie

I am going to get your nurse to take away that computer from you. It is doing you no good.

I was led to believe that SHADY PINES had 7.00pm lights out policy. How do you get around it?

8. THE SAME WAY THE MAN WAS SCREWING EUSTINE IN THE TURNING AND HORNING MC CLEAN AND THE SAME WAY HE WAS SCREWING HER WID YOU IN THE NEXT ROOM
    THATS HOW I GETTING AROUND
    YOU WANT ME IDENTIFY THE SCREWER?

9. It is obviuos that YOU Back in time does not understand “investing” retun and value. what BUTCH is giving is added value in terms of investing. It is not what he puts in financially. but the return and beneftis which will be dreived by name recognition. namely the butch style of mangement. His brand. and its abilty to draw attention worldwide .HIs competitive edge. asking butch to put money in ahotel that not his would be unreaonable after all the positive benefits he brings to our dying market.

10. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

BTW the shooting and chopping in St. Lucia continues apace. My, my,

11. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Shooting rampage in Guyana, two policemen among the dead.

12. Wait Carson

Like they made you point man quarterback on BU now…. . Poor Ac ran herself in trouble with her dumb-wit-nit self….Miller serve her with last rites …with a slam dunk …..so like now its just you, Balaam finest leading the charge…nice going CC…..I notice too your new found modus operandi is the cut -n- paste of whiffs of nutting to draw in a response….But is ok …your days will come too…..Accost Sir Carson, accost….LOL

13. GP why do n,t you behave yuself why u using that kind of language are you not a born again christen shame on YOU. and to think YOU say that ac was worthless. wuh kind iof gutter talk dat. u too old fuh dat.

14. CARSON IT USED TO BE A SHOOTING RAMPAGE IN THE TURNING TOO……..BUT NO ONE DIDNT DIE
    MAYBE THE SHOOTER WENT ON TO SHADY PINES YOU THINK?
    OH ME AM!

15. NO AC IM USING THE TRUTH TO REMIND CARSON CADAGON WHERE HE COME FROM AND TO WHOM HE IS TALKING TO
    HE CANT DENY IT
    I KNOW THAT I AM TELLING THE TRUTH ABOUT WHAT HAPPEN

16. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

FROM FACEBOOK:

“You never change things by fighting the existing reality. To change something, build a new model that makes the existing model obsolete.”

BUCKMINISTER FULLER

17. CARSON DOES THAT MEAN THAT EUSTINE STOP HORNING THE DRUNKEN TAXI DRIVER WID………………….
    IS IT BECAUSE THAT FELLA AT SHADY PINES?

18. Carson
    What is that to do with the price of cheese?

19. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

ONIONS

“your days will come too”

I think you time came and went.

Hint, hint, Feb. 2013…….

20. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

What that has to do with the price of cheese?

That you and all the other old men and old women on this blog are only interested in maintaining the status quo.

In order to advance the status quo must be crushed.

21. DLP(formerly CBC) TV Avatar
    DLP(formerly CBC) TV

It is hilarious the DLP jokers on this blog wanting to highlight this SCANDALS (oops i mean SANDALS) deal as this oh so “wonderful” scoop. I mean it was expected, after all after 5+ yrs of just plain bad news in the tourism sector the DEMs needed something to cling to, something to “celebrate”. I hope SCANDALS brings with it 5 years worth of tourists and foreign exchange to compensate. I also hope SCANDALS will at least bring in $300m in foreign exchange in 3 mths so that we can forget how poor this MOF has run this economy. I also hope SCANDALS can give us an upgrade S+P and Moodys ratings, and reverse the projected negative growth in our economy. Let us get REAL since the DEMS like to live in the realm of fantasy, in a market with Sandy Lane, Royal Westmoreland, Hilton etc hotels. with “names” and international recognition what will SCANDALS do so different that will turn around the tourism sector, the tourists still have to come. What is being done to make Barbados more attractive than other destinations even within the Caribbean far less the world

22. “but then again within months of MILLIONS being paid out, at least two hotels closed with the loss over over 630 jobs and around one in ten of our entire hotel room stock.”

you need to elaborate on the above.closed why? did the hotels which close benefit from the relief as well? and if so who is to blame, Minister or bad management?

23. Barbadians will not effuse confidence in a vacuum. BU has been making this point ad nauseam to null effect. In the same way PM Stuart, to good result, led his party to victory by leading from the front, he must do the same by pulling Barbadians kicking and screaming to believe his path is the better way. It will not happen by Kellman and Innis leading the charge, neither is the Prime Minister of Barbados. Confidence will not come by talking, it must be demonstrated.

24. Adrian Loveridge Avatar

Balance, I am sure it’s combination of both, but it’s Government DUTY to practice due diilligence before handing over millions of dollars. You only have to look at the published list of NIS defaulters to see that several of them received TIRF money despite owing outstanding NIS.

25. Adrian Loveridge Avatar

David, thank you for posting the Ministrial Statement by the MOT. Unless I missed it, there was no mention of the NUMBER of Work Permits or Duty Free Vehicles granted. I am also puzzled by the ‘800 rooms’. Casuarina currently has 280 and occupancy/visitor arrivals numbers will not significantly increase before additional rooms are added, if that is the plan?
    ABV currently has just under 400, so the 520 rooms will be some years up-the-road. Furher clarification is also needed to provide details of the interim operation of a quoted 100 rooms at ABV by MW Sun Hotels. Was this put out to tender and was it discussed with the BHTA and other potentially interested parties?
    The MAIN question that also still has to be answered if the Minister wants anyone to take him seriously about transparency is exactly what initial DOLLAR value are the Sandals companies investing in Barbados?

26. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Adrian loveridge

I can understand your dismay.

We have a “go getter versus a Complainer”.

Now let me see who will win this fight.

27. Back in Time Jack | November 13, 2013 at 7:06 PM |
    Is Richard still bulling?

From what I read, it sounds like Richard (Sealy) is not the bully; but the one being bullied by William “Butch” Stewart.

28. Interesting to read Senator Irene Sandiford-Garner’s comments in today’s Nation. She suggests that Barbados’ tourism product need life breathing into it. She is the parliamentary secretary in the MOT.

29. Richard Sealy proved beyong the shadow of a doubt that he is clueless as the main spokesperson on Tourism Barbados.Heard him this morning on VOB saying ‘Bookings are very strong this November period FOR SOME REASON’
    For some reason?You mean you don’t know why Mr Minister?Ad libbing on serious matters requires a quick intellect.You don’t seem to have it.

30. I sincerely hope the Minister of Tourism is right about November, but I would remind readers that November 2012 recorded the lowest long stay visitor arrivals in TEN years (down 9 per cent on previous year). Unless ‘we’ exceed 42,975 stay over visitors this November it will be yet another month of decline.
    My personal advice would be less prediction and more implementation.

31. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

OFF TOPIC

Local farmers develop sorrel-harvesting machine

Thursday, November 14, 2013

A new sorrel-harvesting machine, which could significantly boost local production, was unveiled at the offices of the Rural Agricultural Development Authority (RADA), Ministry of Agriculture and Fisheries in St Andrew on Wednesday.

The machine, which was developed by St Elizabeth farmers and entrepreneurs, Oral and Allison Turner, is designed to, among other things, increase the volume of sorrel harvested, while reducing the time and manpower needed to do so.
    Agriculture and Fisheries Minister Roger Clarke, who was among the people witnessing the unveiling of the prototype, endorsed it as a welcome innovation capable of revolutionising and enhancing the sorrel sub-sector.

“I am pleased to see this. A machine like this (once) properly put in place and running efficiently…will enable us to get the volume of sorrel that we need,” he said.

Noting that the sorrel industry’s potential is “enormous,” Clarke said maximum outputs can only be achieved if technology is incorporated into the harvesting process.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/Local-farmers-develop-sorrel-harvesting-machine_15432456

Why is it that nothing is ever invented in Barbados other than ADRIAN LOVERIDGE’s complaining and whining?

32. Good afernoon David…………..have a nice day

33. CCC what use is a sorrel harvester upping production .if the people you put on the bread line cant afford to buy it. Barbados has had many great inventions that may have not made it internationally similar to sorrel may have a limited market, like the monkey griller, or the I don’t see my dog going for a crap on your lawn sunglasses, or one of my favorites the strip search bursary.

34. Good aftanoon Adrien……..let me run this one by u since recently u have been flying above radar. now get this even before the ground breaking ceremony of he new improved refurbished and state of the art almond. the reservations are being made and almost sold out. i already made one.. wuh u think about dat. no need to answer.

35. David

Thanks for the link to the Ministerial Statement.

DD is confused.

The Minister talks about “Sandals Couples at Casuarina” Sandals is Sandals and Couples is Couples, the other Jamaican All-Inclusive resort operator, that had invested its money in upgrading Casuarina; but was squeezed our to make room for Sandals.

“Sandals Beaches will initially be owner by the Government of Barbados, but Sandals Resorts International has reserved an option to purchase this property which the Company is likely to exercise in the future”

Why would the Company exercise its option, when it has a sweet deal?

Likely to exercise? When; 25 years, 40 years, when the concessions expire?

“The purchase and development of Sandals Beaches will require expenditure of in excess of BD$500 million. We are in discussion with the Government of the People’s Republic of China for the provision of concessional funding for this project. Every effort is being made to structure this financing in a way that minimizes the impact on our debt-to-GDP ratio”

DEBT id DEBT, so DD does not understand how, in the absence of creative accounting, the Government can minimize the impact of $500 million of new debt on our debt-to-GDP ratio.

And, when is the last time a government completed a project on budget; assuming the $500 million figure has been subject to a detailed budget. Expect $750 million of new debt to be required by the time the Beaches property is completed; some time in the future

“The arrival of Sandals marks a seismic shift for the tourism industry in Barbados”

He got that right; just ask the existing hoteliers who will be playing on a playing field tilted in favour of Sandals/Beaches.

Minister’s Math?

The Minister has been reported as saying the two resorts would bring an additional 800 rooms to the island’s hotel stock. In the Statement he says “It is expected that these two properties will contribute ….1,500 workers… .130,000 additional visitors will protect the airlift.

From what I have read Casuarina has 280 rooms and the new facility Government is going to build at Heywoods (if approved by T&CP) will be 426 rooms; for a total of 706 Sandals/Beaches rooms. That is a margin of error of 13% – not too bad. BUT, the 280 Casuarina/Sandals rooms already exist; so additional rooms will be the 426 at Beaches Heywoods. The 800 rooms overstates the real number (426) by almost 100%.

130,000 more visitor?

Beaches/Heywoods, a family resort, will have 426 rooms, each of which it is said could accommodate up to 6 guests – Mom, Dad and four kids. All-inclusive visitors typically stay for one week (some maybe two, three, four weeks). Assuming 100% occupancy with each room occupied by six guests for a one week stays for 50 weeks (2 weeks down for maintenance), the total possible visitors is 127,800.

But that is not going to happen. Even Sandals/Beaches does not have 100% occupancy.

The more likely scenario would be an average of 4 guests per room – Mom, Dad and two kids, occupied 85% for 50 weeks = 72,420 guests. and that is not going to happen for 3-4 years

Sandals/Casuarina, a couples only resort, is reported to have 280 room. Assuming 100% occupancy for 50 weeks, with two people to each room = 28,000 guests/visitors.

But that is not going to happen either.

The more likely scenario would be 2 guests per room, occupied 85% for weeks = 23,800 guest/visitors.

Further, given that it is reported that Couples had good bookings for winter 2014, many of the 23,800 guests (say 50%) in the first year have or would been guests at Couples, it could then be said less than 12,000 more guests/visitors could be attributed to the Sandals brand..

So 12,000 now and 72,000 sometime in the future – a long way from 130,000 more visitors from the Sandals deal(s).

1,500 new jobs? I recall reading that Butch said 1,000 jobs.

But, assuming that 1/3 of those jobs already existed at Couples/Casuarina that leaves less about 650 new jobs – not 1,500.
    And that does not take into account the jobs that will be lost at competing hotels that will have to downsize or close because they cannot compete on an uneven playing field with the heavily subsidized/incentivized/ concessionized Sandals and its “marketing might”.

The entire Statement is a government spin document delivered by a Minister who is obviously delusional.

36. ac can you point us in the direct of where you made your reservations?

37. Why is it that nothing is ever invented in Barbados other than ADRIAN LOVERIDGE’s complaining and whining?

You ass Cadogan. Have you never heard of Colin Hudson? Or doesn’t he count because he was white?

38. he realized the govts were selling off Barbados to keep the independence dream alive instead of being innovative for that foresight alone he should be remembered.

39. Peltdownman | November 14, 2013 at 1:59 PM |
    re You ass Cadogan. Have you never heard of Colin Hudson? Or doesn’t he count because he was white?

DO YOU REALLY EXPECT THIS SEMI-ILLITERATE TO HAVE KNOWN OF COLIN HUDSON?
    COLIN WAS NOT A SHIT HOUND THAT HANGED OUT IN GEORGE STREET

lawson | November 14, 2013 at 12:59 PM |
    MANY OF COLIN HUDSON’S INVENTIONS MADE IT INTERNATIONALLY

40. SAME SHOIT DIFFERENT DAY!!!
    WHAT PLANET YOUS GUYS ON.
    WHEN YOUS GUNNA WISEUP .
    ITS A HANDOUT .
    MINISTRY OF ANY DAMNED TING.
    SOME FUH YUH AND FUH MUH.
    SHUT YUH MOUT,TEK YUH CASH.
    WE IN BO!!
    FILL UP ,WE SOON DONE.
    SKIN YUH TEET, SWEET SWEET SWEET

41. Adrian Loveridge Avatar

As DD pointed out the MOT numbers quoted are at best fanciful. ABV closed 30 April 2012 so even IF the new Chinese built Beaches opens April 2016, we would have already lost 132,150 long stay visitors based on an average stay of 7 nights and two per room for the current 396 rooms.
    Even at 4 per room, 500 re-built rooms and 100 per cent (a near impossibility) it will take another year PLUS , April 2017 to make up for the loss of ABV in terms of arrivals.
    Airlift is not going to be restored until we HAVE the rooms available and NOT before.

42. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Peltdownman, georgi porgie, Lawson(otherbackward thinkers)

Thanks for strengthening my point.
    Colin Hudson, Colin Hudson, Colin Hudson!!!

Colin Hudson a blast from the distant past. See what I am saying you guys are all about holding onto past glory while the World is moving along. at a rapid pace, too rapid a pace for you geriatrics. No wonder we are where we are.

As AC eloquently put it you all are all about putting “new wine in old wine skins”.

Sorry to have to burst your bubble. It is not going to work, even Jesus said so.

You all one sorry bunch hurry up, Westbury Cemetery is calling. The only way Barbados will progress is with you lot out of the way. What are you suffering with “peltdownman”, heart troubles, what are you suffering with “Georgie porgie” , heart troubles, high blood pressure, Dementia, MS, TB, gall stones, cirrhosis of the liver, cancer, what about you Lawson?
    Hurry up and let one of those ailments carry you along for Barbados’ sake. We would be better off without you lot.

43. Carson said:
    “You all one sorry bunch hurry up, Westbury Cemetery is calling.”

Carson………..i must agree with you there, only thing, right now that goes for all politicians across the board both DLP/BLP, they are all absolutely useless, to quote one author “the world’s politicians are all from the same cookie cutter………..they are all in it to get something from it”….in my opinion, they could all do the world and future generations of the island a huge favor and DIE OUT..

44. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

However it is good to report that not all the old folks are as backwards as many who populate Barbados Underground.

45. Carson…….are you speaking about yourself? seeing as you do not know what is happening in Sri Lanka and your PM is about to visit that country..

46. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

OFF TOPIC
    APPARENTLY DE POLICE PRODUCING PORN….

BY TIMSLINGER | THU, NOVEMBER 14, 2013 – 12:10 AM

POLICE HAVE LAUNCHED an investigation into an obscene Internet video posting involving one of their officers.

The nude video scene, which has been widely circulated on a number of Internet sites, including Facebook, as well as via BlackBerry Messenger, features a man, identified as a police sergeant, masturbating for about two minutes.

Assistant Commissioner of Police (Crime) Mark Thompson yesterday said the matter was being looked into by the Criminal Investigation Department (CID).

“I can confirm that it has been brought to our attention that a nude image of one of our members has been circulated through cyberspace. As to be expected in such circumstances, we have launched a formal investigation into the matter,” Thompson told the DAILY NATION.

47. Talking about OLD SCHOOL man BU reinvented the WHEEL .these guys are so far stuck in the past.UMM just as well let them stay there. no real need to help them dig themselves out.for them tommorow is the same as yesterday. .Look carson leave these old foggies alone them lights soon out. EVERY MOVING BACKWARD whilst the WORLD MOVING FORWARD. that is there MOTTA.

48. Carson said:
    “You all one sorry bunch hurry up, Westbury Cemetery is calling.”
    Now we really know how Carson was thinking when he elicited the old woman’s vote for Stevie ,took her light bill,expecting that Westbury would have come a-calling long before the BL&P disconnect man.

49. Maybe those old foggies are so far ahead of you , that when you observe that they have taken a few steps backwards, its from a position behind them.

50. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

TAKEN FROM FACEBOOK

@ Adrian “Cobweb Airport’ Loveridge

In a letter to the Barbados Advocate recently, successful Barbados businessman Sir David Seale took to task the lazy, selfish businessmen who are living in the 20th century and preaching doom and gloom. He didn’t mention you by name , Adrian, but the cap fits you. Here is the extract from the publication.

‘Businessman Sir David Seale welcomed the arrival of the Sandals hotel brand to the island, projecting that it would reap untold success for our tourism industry. He hailed Sandals’ Mr Butch Stewart as an astute businessman who has built the hotel chain into a coveted brand.

Positive stuff, right? However, his opening remarks hint broadly at the fact that Barbadians – and their businessmen – are suffering from a paralysing and self-defeating lack of confidence.

“After nearly five years of economic recession and with no visible expectations of any improvement, it is only natural that the majority of Barbadian business persons are now pessimistic about our island’s future and cannot but help to preach doom and gloom,” wrote Sir David.

But is it really ‘only natural’ when successful regional business entities are doing the exact opposite? No doom and gloom for them; they’re investing millions!
    Why aren’t Barbadians doing the same? Why are we so insecure?

Central Bank Governor Dr. Delisle Worrell is often accused of being more cheerleader than economist, but it seems that is precisely what is needed to combat the low self-confidence that appears to be plaguing Barbadian businesses.
    At the beginning of the week, Business Monday carried an article by Central Bank governor Dr. Delisle Worrell, in which he contended that “Barbadians have every reason to be confident of our economic future”. The country’s economic policy-making framework, its social and political stability and its physical infrastructure were all pinpointed as attributes which would assure progress.

Meanwhile, having previously admonished others to cut out the negativity, Ralph ‘Bizzy’ Williams last night reiterated his confidence in Barbados with the opening of a new building in Warrens, and has signalled plans for more investments.
    Hopefully, more will do likewise, rather than join the ‘doom and gloom’ refrain.

Leave a Reply to acCancel reply