Submitted by The Mahogany Coconut Think Tank/Watchdog Group
Vivian Anne Gittens: Publisher of the Nation Newspaper

The publishing by the Nation Newspaper of Barbados, of two minors engaging in sexual activity, is a violent violation of the Convention of Rights of Children (CRC) as outlined by UNICEF of which the country of Barbados is a signatory. It is clearly pointed out within the CRC, that children have rights and privileges of adults. They are not the property of their parents or their schools but are equal to adults.

The photo carried on the back page of the Sunday Sun, was a very voracious grab at sensationalism and the public is correct in its outrage. Whether we condone under aged children having sex is irrelevant and the nation must know that in a small country such as Barbados, the children’s identities cannot be hidden.

The Mahogany Coconut Group calls on the greedy predators at the Nation Newspaper to desist from exploiting our Caribbean children with immediate effect .

We are convinced that this act of professional vulgarity will place the Barbadian journalist community in the trash heap of the profession. The Nation newspaper should be ashamed to exploit the images of Caribbean children. Its greed makes a mockery of its editorials calling for national morality. Once again we ask the simple question: Who will guard the guardians?

The top brass at the nation should be aware of the specific guidelines related to children in the document: Child Rights and The Media-Putting Children in the Right- Guidelines for Journalists and Media Professions by the International Federation of Journalists.

We quote from this document:

“Journalists need to be aware of the consequences of their reporting.

The co-operation of media organizations and journalists and their

Orientation towards safeguarding the rights and the dignity of children and

young adults is extremely important for all who strive for wider recognition

of children’s rights. Sensational coverage may distort and exploit a serious

problem, doing more harm than good. Some editors claim that

sensationalism permits serious social issues to capture the attention of

readers and viewers. However, such coverage rarely analyses the social and

economic causes of abuse of children: the dislocation of communities and

families, homelessness, corrupt employers, pimps, the drug culture or why

parents in poverty sell a child to support the rest of the family. The positive

story of children, their lives and their rights is not being told in full. To

examine how this can be changed requires examination of the professional

conditions in which media work, a review of the principles or guidelines

journalists and programme makers should follow, and the obstacles that

stand in the way of good journalism.”

166 responses to “Nation Newspaper Exploits Children in Need of Help”

1. Children follow their role models, take a hard look at the kadooment parade videos on youtube and see if you really find it surprising that this behavior has occurred. If they were dressed in costume nobody would give it a second thought. The nation newspaper should know better about printing this , but nothing ever gets done around that island unless it is confronting you right in the face and you have no alternative but to act. So to that end maybe the printing may bring some attention to the problem.

2. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

This article is a dis- service to the Nation newspaper and is just not true.

3. Former rape accused Roy Morris policy is clear make Barbados out in the worst possible light. Each day Morris and the anti Barbados writers at the Nation search high and low for some one, anyone to give the most dismal report card on we island. Not all Nation writers are not on a path to destroy this country. All the columnists and Morris are that’s certain. Today they found Erskine Griffith former BLP minister. Where did they dredge him from? Tomorrow they will highlight recent unfortunate murders and more bad news on the economy. So what do we do? Throw our hands up or try to work hard with optimism to bounce back. Morris and the Nation are bent on grinding Barbados into the ground of negativity and no hope. True Barbadians must set their face against the numerous traitors stalking this country and work together to reinstate Barbados to the top.

4. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Ruffin | November 4, 2013 at 8:45 AM |
    “True Barbadians must set their face against the numerous traitors stalking this country and work together to reinstate Barbados to the top.”

Who are “these traitors stalking the country”?
    The only traitors around are the current crop of liars, hypocrites and deceivers claiming to be managing the same country.

Bajans claim to be god-fearing people who like to profess their Christian conviction to such an extent they even lay claim to the god of Israel to be their very own Bajan-born god. Yet these same religious fanatics readily accept and elect leaders who are bold-faced liars and hypocrites who see nothing wrong with breaking promises and giving succor to frauds protection of criminals from the law and justice.

Ruffian, what is happening to Barbados is what you would call Retribution. Until the lying leaders apologize to the people for their hubristic arrogance and lies you can expect Nemesis to reign over Barbados. Meanwhile we wait and expect the appropriate legal process to be followed to ensure those persons who made threats against the life of a minister of the crown be brought to swift justice.

5. Oh hush do Miller!
    Years now Bushie identified the REAL role of the Nation newspaper…. and everything points to the bushman being (again 🙂 ) spot on.

They will grind us into the ground until we are REALLY no better than the rest …and weknow our damn place. …
    ….lowest common denominator.

No hard feelings….it is a CSME thing….. Lol…the biggest joke is that Bajans have been put to lead the CSME shiite over the years….and that we think that Harold Hoyte is somebody to listen to….. Ha Ha

…..brass!

6. All the good wishes for a return to sanity and good governance of Barbados will continue to fall on deaf ears so long as Freundel Stuart remains the Prime Minister of this country.The man would more likely be a successful Headteacher as he pretends to love English Language as well as demanding(not commanding )homage and kowtowing.He is not proving to be a man of vision and is unsure of the value of a knowledge of Economics sufficient to enable him to appreciate the management of scarce resources among competing demands.

7. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea | November 4, 2013 at 10:13 AM |
    “Years now Bushie identified the REAL role of the Nation newspaper…. and everything points to the bushman being (again 🙂 ) spot on.”

Yet you and your ilk continue to read the damn(ed) rag sheet.
    Without the revenue from sales to hypocrites like you and BLPNationNewspaper that newspaper would be out of business like the Truth or the other rags that started up in Bim.
    Your party gave it a financial lifeline in the recent elections by buying millions of dollars in propaganda space in the rag sheet. You should expect that kind of “brotherly” support from the BLP. But the DLP the paragon of integrity using that organ of moral filth to fool the people?

Why feed a dog that bites you, unless you like the pain, Bushie? Now grin and bear it.
    It is Bajans who are keeping that anti-Barbados newspaper in business NOT those with a CSME agenda. Just check the sales for the Sun on Saturday featuring the two young people ‘having it off’ in a school class room.

8. GP
    Maybe Mann depending on your year.

9. Wuh damm if the nation can use children to exploit and to push their political agenda wuh yuh think the country is immune. thier distasteful attitude and disrespect for country was nakedly exposed through their own lenses. what more can one expect from a news organisation that has blatantly showed disrespect for the youth . what more can one expect from a news organization who would hire a person who has been accused of illict acts only for the sole purpose of trying to bastardise a nation

10. ac. Stop your distraction. We all agree that the language used was inappropriate. Everyone getting on as though it was The Nation photographer who took the picture and place the real movementation (sorry Mac for your bajan description) on he net. I am hearing nothing about the boy who took the actual picture and uploaded to Facebook. Why is he not at Dodds or will he get a National Award on Independence day? However, let’s move on to the bigger picture and you know what I am talking about. THE ECONOMY.
    We

11. NIT WIT TMW . THE SUb TOPIC IS about the NATION. U are the one wid the distraction..

12. just want to know Avatar
    just want to know

As I have said before, do not shoot the messenger, do something about what is going on in the schools. Everyone is being so hypocritical when they know this is something that has been going on for ages in schools. Some of the children cannot even go to the bathroom, and this is not just happening to girls, it is also happening to boys. Get the M of E . and the Minister of Education to stand up & be counted. Instead of cutting funds find some money from all the taxes that are being imposed on us to get some teachers who cares about children & councillors to talk with them, to teach them what is acceptable behaviour. Most of them, it is obvious, not getting good guidance at home, so do something about it!!!!!

13. Dumbert ac. You confirm my statement that the Nation is the SUB TOPIC. Here it is you trying to mobilise relevant authorities against the Nation but fail to admit the hardship Barbadians are encountering due to your partisan cemented position. Now what is your position of constant latecomers who found themselves at the offices of the MoE. Is this an insult to the head teacher? Are we overlooking wayward behaviour and over-marketing Children’s Rights. Who will be bold enough to admit that we are over-playing the rights of the child which is creating havoc with parents, teachers, schools and the church. Yes, we must reason with the child, but must we sit back and accept juvenile nonsense. This is the reason societal love disappear from the Barbadian landscape.

14. Simple Simon

Shit fella are you dumb or something? I mean – and surely it is obvious to the meanest intelligence – that that is when the child matures. The female ovulates. The male produces sperm. Their sexuality confronts them. Now get off your ridiculous moral iceberg and THINK.

15. Carson…………..i hope you noticed that no one is happy and displaying for everyone to see articles about the 3 consecutive days of murders on the island……..no one in their right mind likes that this is happening in Barbados, i thought you of all people would speak out against these 3 unfortunate murders, but your silence is the loudest.

16. jerK SUBJECT TOPIC is what the artickle is about and its relevancy to the Nations exploitation of using child porn to sell newspapers. the other issues embedded within the article are those dealing with the nation disregard of childrens right. however others are quick to point out that the nation is be being emboldened with a self interest of weakening the nation

17. Tell me why

Without necessarily disagreeing with your basic premise, will you please explain (a) “societal love”, and (b) how the so-called rights of the child are playing havoc with the church.

I seem to remember asking the post writer early on to explain how the rights of the child so-called were here infringed. I don’t remember him answering.

18. The bottomline, when the harmones ‘kickin’ with today’s children how are they conditioned to respond.

19. Well Well. | November 4, 2013 at 1:40 PM |
    Carson…………..i hope you noticed that no one is happy and displaying for everyone to see articles about the 3 consecutive days of murders on the island……..no one in their right mind likes that this is happening in Barbados, i thought you of all people would speak out against these 3 unfortunate murders, but your silence is the loudest.

CARSON ONLY COMMENTS ON MURDERS IN ST LUCIA, WHERE TOURISTS ARRIVALS ARE INCREASING PERCENTAGE WISE THAN THERE ARE IN BIM

20. Why are Barbadians so unsure of their power as consumers? Stop buying the Saturday Nation until there is an official apology. If not stop shouting about professional ethics.
    I must say, as someone who has worked on a number of tabloids, including the News of the World, the decision to publish was rather odd.
    It is not a question of shooting the messenger, as a messenger I do not want to be shot, but there must have been a professional ethical reason to publish.
    Let the Nation defend itself.

21. Sister company VOB have ran some informative programs coming out of the recent publish and David Ellis head of programming admitted the Nation was invited to defend but management declined.

22. Trinidad with about 5 times your population is over 300 murders this year already but good news rapes are down

23. I bet the nation declined!.the backlash from this article was swift and severe to frighten the “giant”? neva thought that this media outlet who plays hard and dirty in the political arena would be afraid to face the warth of the public.anyhow when it comes to pelting big rock at the DLP camp the nation and its band of columist rag tags never retreat . Now when the big rocks headed their way the ran fuh cover. Dirty RAG.

24. GP…………every now and then Carson has to be reminded that Barbados is an island populated with people of different personalities, just like the other islands.

Lawson………….murder and mayhem in Trinidad is par for the course, they don’t pretend a la Carson that their are no murders existing there and they are the most sanctimonious, self-righteous people in the Caribbean, with them what you see is what you get, take it or leave it, murder and all.

25. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Well Well

What you all seem to like to ignore is the great job our Police force is doing in apprehending the perpetrators of these crimes. The good people of Barbados are passing useful tips to Law enforcement.

I didn’t think that I would have to mention this but there you have it.

26. Sister company VOB have ran some informative programs coming out of the recent publish and David Ellis head of programming admitted the Nation was invited to defend but management declined.
    (~_~) (~_~) (~_~)

Is this the said same VOB that exploited the said same bandwagon; with Carolling Robbers leading the charge top the all important ratings that motivate the advertising sales reps and their superiors?

27. Carson said:

“I didn’t think that I would have to mention this but there you have it.”

Carson..there i have what??? to date only the 12 year old surrendered himself to authorities through his attorneys and i am sure his parents had a hand in the surrender also…….where are the perpetrators for the female from St. Thomas and the young guy from Crusher Site Road in Prospect??…don’t tell me it’s one of your delusions that the killers were caught already by the police when we all know differently..

Do i have to remind you about the loss of confidence in the police (to be fair, it was under Dottin), the point is, in case you missed it, brutal murders happen in every country in the world, Barbados is not immune and NO ONE is safe anymore. Why do you think i always go right into the middle of the murder and mayhem, believe it or not i feel a lot safer there, in the so called ‘safe countries’ you do not know when murder and mayhem will be unleashed. So when you tried to demonize the other islands trying to push up the dead and dying stock of Barbados’ tourism, even you have to admit that because of last week-ends events in Barbados, your ploy has backfired.

28. A few years ago a Japanese criminologist did a tremendously piece of work predicting that in future a large number of murders will be by juveniles.
    It was a major study. I had a copy of the the publication and will search in my attic and garden shed for it at the weekend.
    Should make a good read.

29. @ robert ross ;” I seem to remember asking the post writer early on to explain how the rights of the child so-called were here infringed. I don’t remember him answering.”
    Here is the response of the Mahogany Coconut Group:
    FACT SHEET: A summary of the rights under the Convention
    on the Rights of the Child
    Article 12 (Respect for the views of the child): When adults are making decisions that affect children, children have the right to say what they think should happen and have their opinions taken into account.
    Article 16 (Right to privacy): Children have a right to privacy. The law should protect them from attacks against their way of life, their good name, their families and their homes.
    Article 34 (Sexual exploitation): Governments should protect children from all forms of sexual exploitation and abuse. This provision in the Convention is augmented by the Optional Protocol on the sale of children, child prostitution and child pornography.
    Article 36 (Other forms of exploitation): Children should be protected from any activity that takes advantage of them or could harm their welfare and development.
    It s obvious to the Mahogany Coconut Group(MCG) that the Nation newspaper has infringed upon the rights of these children and have used the images it printed to exploit the actions of these children. While MCG does not condone under age sex, we cannot stand by and watch the rights of Caribbean children trampled, in order to increase sales and profits of any service or product.
    The MCG calls on the government of Barbados, a signatory, to the Convention on the Rights of the Child, to reprimand the Nation newspaper for this dastardly act. We call on the management of the Nation newspaper to desist form such actions in the future.

30. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Well Well

The Royal Barbados Police has one of the highest success rates in the WORLD.

This is due largely to public spirited citizens working hand in glove with our Police, something that is missing in many jurisdictions .

Few of the murders in St. Lucia and Trinidad are ever solved.

31. MCG the nation will respond accordingly. thereare no two ways about it. THe Nation was Wrong! Wrong! Wrong! there is no wiggle room for them to fall back on. The parents of these children should also seek the advice of an attorney in pursuiant of this matter if there is sufficient proof that any of their Rights were violated. “Myrie should have an eye opener to those who belive that a person rights can be trampled on without proper recourse.

32. Carson………..if i told you about all the unsolved murders in Barbados going back from the 1970’s, what would you say?? don’t know if you recalled that the FBI repeatedly offered to help solve those murders and was always told NO, we can handle it, those same murders are still unsolved, canefield murders, Pele, etc, etc, etc……….at least 50 and those are only the ones that i know about, stop trying to fool the public, we know differently.

33. Carson……>i forgot Mark Stokes, you should be more than a little familiar with that one.

34. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Mahogany Coconut Group | November 5, 2013 at 10:27 AM |
    “Article 34 (Sexual exploitation): Governments should protect children from all forms of sexual exploitation and abuse. This provision in the Convention is augmented by the Optional Protocol on the sale of children, child prostitution and child pornography.”

“The MCG calls on the government of Barbados, a signatory, to the Convention on the Rights of the Child, to reprimand the Nation newspaper for this dastardly act.”

MCG, are you prepared also to condemn and to hold to similar account the people involved in the recording and publication of the little boy simulating the “sexual mounting” of an adult female on the streets of Barbados in full view of the public on Kadooment day previous to the last one?

The Police had promised to investigate the matter. Have you heard anything further or is this another nine days wonder typical of the moral hypocrites in authority?

What is the purpose of a newspaper? To be the moral conscience of its readers or to make profits for its owners and promote the agendas of the publisher and editors?
    If you subscribe to the view of a newspaper being a fabricator or designer of a society’s moral fibre instead of a reflector or mirror of the same society’s moral behaviour then you need to propose a case for either the closing down of the newspaper (termination of licence) or its nationalization.

By nationalization you would be able to dictate the moral propaganda to be published and thereby influence and control the behaviours of the people.
    W wish you luck in your “Animal Farm” project.

35. Hal a major study??? What brains does it take to realize that if minors are are going to be treated different under the laws than adults the criminal element will get them to do the wet work because they will get a lessor sentence. It reminds me of when we went to 24 hr shifts from 12 hr shifts and sick leave use rose and it took a major study to figure that one out to.

36. Just Commenting Avatar

If we’re all as concerned as were proporting to be, amid all this mud-slinging amongst contributors, why don’t we all stand together and boycott the purchase of The Nation newspaper for a few months. Coupled to this, the Nation now wants to extend its global reach with an electronic publication which they want US to pay them for. Boycott that too!
    Enough talk fellow Barbadians. Please ACT up or Shut up!

37. Steupsssss

The nation should be boycotted because they are committed to bringing Barbados to heel at the behest of their “ONE-CARIBBEAN” owners. They do their best to destroy EVERYTHING Bajan and really SHOULD be boycotted and forced to be more patriotic…

HAVING SAID THAT THOUGH, this lotta shiite talk about this PARTICULAR incident is really sickening. How is the newspaper wrong for reporting TRUTHFULLY what is actually happening in our schools?
    What wunna want them to do? Sanitize it and present the “love story” that led these two wutless youths to be putting on a sex show for their young student audience?
    Hide the whole thing up so that Bajan brass bowls can happily remain ignorant of what is happening in our EXPENSIVE schools – that have been producing HOARDS of illiterate idiots for the blocks -after spending a MAJOR block of our GDP?

This is NOT a Nationnews problem, it is an EDUCATION PROBLEM. Instead of calling on the Nation to apologize, we should call on the damn PRINCIPAL to resign and put someone who can actually run a school….and the idiot MoE….

What the hell will happen when wunna find out that most teachers hardly teach anything – UNLESS students come for PAID, PRIVATE lessons?
    …when wunna find out what REALLY HAPPENS in the youth service…?

Steupssss
    Ignorance is not a strategy for solving problems, so stop killing the damn messengers do…!

38. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea | November 5, 2013 at 9:50 PM |

Well argued! Apart from the jingoistic folly about ‘forcing the Nation to be patriotic’ you have put an objective case that circumvents the hypocritical moral hullabaloo and has gone straight to the core of the issue.
    Your point of having strong Principals capable of running schools has to be discussed against a backdrop of what recently happened when a principal’s decision to “discipline” children was shamefully undermined with total embarrassment and public humiliation of the same Principal.
    What kind of message is the MoE sending to the nation and its young charges?

39. @ Miller
    A national newspaper should have the general well-being of the country at heart. When they CLEARLY do not, sensible citizens should boycott them, lobby, and act to force them to do so….

The Ministry of Education is a colossal waste of money and resources. Bushie would reduce that ministry to three people, two of whom would answer the phone and tell callers which school Principal they need to contact to have their issues dealt with.
    Schools would be assigned Boards comprised if intelligent caring members whose role would include ENSURING that principals and staff ran a proper, productive school…..or would replace them as needed.
    All those damn jokers in the ministry would be sent to schools to supervise and teach the people’s children…..

…..wait Miller…you AGREEING wid Bushie? We ain’t at war? 🙂

40. U bush tea not surprising to hear u blame every and everybody for this kind of disgraceful exploitation the nation took upon itself to increase their profits. come to think of it it is the same kind of irrationality u used to support your position of when the child wasbeaten by the mom with a two by four. u have no respect for any one

41. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2013 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2013 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

It good to tell the truth even if it hurt now , Do other may learn from it,
    Many love to do nothing for they say they did not know , Now you Know, now what, There are much more things you all never heard and still turn your heads , Nothing new under the Sun , So lean forward and help and stop bitching at the NEWS when said , Unless you have a better way for the full Public to know one time ,

42. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea | November 5, 2013 at 10:23 PM |

It seems you are for a proposal to “Outsource” many of the MoE functions. One wonders what ac would have to say if those mandarins in the MoE were required to seek productive jobs elsewhere.

The miller is not at “war” with the Bush man. You are too well trained in the art of guerilla warfare of the intellectual kind to even consider such an incursion.
    Sometimes you can be a loose cannon and need to be brought back in line for your own sanity in order to ensure you continue to meet the high standard of contributions you are capable of making.
    There is nothing wrong in supporting a political party but don’t allow yourself to be blinded by yellow partisan stupidity. You of all people should know that all politicians are big friends behind the scenes of the political stage and public officers like the CoP are just ‘piggies-in-the-middle’.

43. Shiite Miller, you now step up on your high horse and got Bushie at a disadvantage….
    True, Bushie is a staunch yardfowl of a political movement…..one called BBE …
    ….and also ac , it is true that Bushie has no respect for foolishness from ANYBODY….
    But one thing for SURE…. The bushman remains open to be shown how ANY of his theories are wrong…..and willing to change.
    Wunna worry about THAT,

@ ac
    HUSH DO! 🙂
    …you know you in love with the bush too… lol
    …that man still in Arizona…?

44. How can anybody condone or suport such outright unethical and immoral publication at two childrens expense is beyond imagination. Yes the public has right to know. however the fourth estate is by no way giving such authorty to trampled and expose persons sexual acts by any method.

45. Ac I agree with you and to protect your privacy I will stop watching wild kingdom of omaha

46. @ ac
    You realize that when Bushie suggest that you HUSH, ….it is in your own interest…and suggested out of LOVE?

47. How many times must i tell u BushTea that u cannot tell me what to say ! how to say ! and when to say it . JUST LET ME REPEAT. the Nation is WRONG ! WRONG! WRONG! And if itwas up to me as a parent or a family member of these children i Would sue the nation for defamation of my childs character

48. @lawson ac don,tgive a f.. k….what u watch or don,t watch…….numbskull

49. millertheanunnaki Avatar

ac | November 6, 2013 at 1:36 PM |

Ac, don’t you know the same children you are trying to protect from the Nation newspaper and encouraging their parents to sue for defamation are the same children that use the same communications technology to read BU and see you as a role model to emulate?

Children learn what they see and hear the same way the simpleton ac has learnt how to lie and be deceitful to children just like her PM boss.
    Oh what a hypocrite you are!

50. You cant please this AC character , you agree and it attacks you . It seems it has no real position on anything other than being contrary. You seem to be very anal on this matter, hopefully the nation doesn’t get a picture of that .

Leave a Reply to Tell me moreCancel reply