Adrian Loveridge - Hotelier
Adrian Loveridge – Hotelier

If you have not done so I implore you to read – especially if you are involved in tourism or financing – what in my humble opinion is an excellent article entitled The La Source Saga. The author S. Brian Samuel spent 20 years with the World Bank, primarily working on the Caribbean Project Development Facility with the specific task of raising finance for regional businesses.

Brian honestly admits that La Source was one of his favourite projects and in fact on retirement, he took up the post of Executive Director when it re-opened in February 2008, after the ravages of Hurricane Ivan. Within three years of its original opening, La Source financially broke-even and achieved a year round occupancy of between 72 and 78 per cent, prior to Ivan striking the island. Even with just 100 rooms, which then represented only 8 per cent of Grenada’s total room stock, it was providing a staggering 20 per cent of the entire hotel guests to the destination.

The article goes on to graphically detail the challenges that followed, leading up to a second closure, or as the writer describes it, ‘Death and Rebirth’. Faced with mounting unemployment, declining revenue and a real risk of losing further airlift, the Government of Grenada, had to do something and I understand that Sandals had already expressed an interest. To seal the deal, the then Minister of Finance, Nazim Burke, gave them ‘something special’ and concessions granted included:

29-year waiver of corporate taxes; 25-year waiver of property taxes; 25-year waiver of customs duties on capital goods; 25-year waiver of customs duty on consumables and a 15-year waiver of VAT (Value Added Tax).

For any type of business these inducements must be considered extraordinary. Only time will tell after an estimated US$100 million has been spent enhancing and adding rooms, whether it all will be worth it, when the scheduled re-launch takes place as planned on 12th December 2013. Faced with an even greater crisis scenario locally, including 37 closed hotels, plummeting arrival numbers and the loss of something approaching 60,000 airline seats alone within the last year, it was never going to be easy for our Government to find a perfect solution for Almond Beach Village. Sadly despite the promise of greater transparency and accountability in the 2008 DLP Manifesto, I doubt if the taxpayers of Barbados will ever learn the full extent of the incentives given to entice Sandals and Beaches to our shores.

But there are other very serious implications that must be taken into account with potentially detrimental consequences. If substantial tax breaks are given will this now disadvantage our existing accommodation providers? After all, they will have to compete with the two new brands and can that still happen on a second uneven playing field?

Will competitive advantages gained by the concessions, enable Sandals and Beaches to undercut existing tour operator rates and switch sell customers from other hotels?

For sure the CEO’s of established hotels and potential investors are already asking these and other pertinent questions. Years later many of our smaller hotels are still recovering from the decade or more of systematic predatory pricing practised by GEMS (Hotels and Resorts Ltd). ‘We’ have to be very careful not to create this situation once again that may force other properties out of business.

169 responses to “Managing the Transition in Our Tourist Industry”

1. Carson could it bethat they don.t trust their own cooking LOL…..and all the products they put in the market untested aannnd man look at the pollution index in CHINA killing them own. so wuh yuhthink about us…….m.man carson u need to convince ac on this one man…….

2. Hal Austin | October 29, 2013 at 10:06 AM |
    BEWARE OF MEN BEARING GIFTS

DO YOU REALLY EXPECT THE DUMMIES ON BU LIKE CARSON TO EVEN START TO UNDERSTAND OR ASSIMILATE THE TRUTHS OF YOUR POST?

3. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | October 29, 2013 at 12:40 PM |
    “The Chinese are here to help us. Pure and simple.”

No fool, the Chinese are here to expand the market for their manufactured consumer goods and to establish enclaves to facilitate the emigration of their burgeoning excess male population. We trust you would not object to your highly educated daughter marrying a Chinese bachelor.

Would you be prepared to welcome the Taiwanese with such open arms as they are entertained in other territories in the region?

Barbados has no natural resources or large tracts of land to grow food and other commodities. Barbados is of NO major interest to China. So forget about getting large loans to build hotels or anything else of no interest to them.

You really expect the Chinese to give you $1/2 billion to build a hotel in your sunset industry. You are having a right laugh, mate.
    That amount of renminbi would find itself in Cuba or Guyana any day before Bim.
    Eco–tourism is what the Chinese are interested in; not sea, sand, expensive service, and harassment as Barbados is known for.

4. why does every Chinese joke start with someone looking over there shoulder?

5. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Miller

“No fool, the Chinese are here to expand the market for their manufactured consumer goods”

I keep telling you that one day you will write something that makes sense. With that statement you are near there.

Don’t you think that if we Bajans had entered other peoples domain “to expand the market for OUR manufactured consumer goods” that we would be here now catching our Royal asses. Far too many of us believe that the World begins and ends in Barbados that is why we are where we are now. Unfortunately for us others don’t think the way we do and they are emigrating to the four corners of the Earth much to our Chagrin. But we have to live with it.

Instead of fearing these people we ought to be reaching out to them.

6. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

The problem with Barbados Labour Party members and supporters is the fact that they are unhappy(and we all know why) so they are determined to make everyone else unhappy and miserable just like them.

7. Carson ……… Ching chong maccahiyo. When next you meet your Chinese friend tell this to him/her!

8. Carson C. Cadogan | October 29, 2013 at 2:54 PM

|Don’t you think that if we Bajans had entered other peoples domain “to expand the market for OUR manufactured consumer goods” that we would be here now catching our Royal asses. Far too many of us believe that the World begins and ends in Barbados that is why we are where we are now. Unfortunately for us others don’t think the way we do and they are emigrating to the four corners of the Earth much to our Chagrin. But we have to live with it.
    ,………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

o.k. carson ……………..Good point……………………

but moving right along…………Miller wuh uh got to say bout dat………..

9. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | October 29, 2013 at 2:54 PM |
    “Instead of fearing these people we ought to be reaching out to them.”

If the Miller can change and begin to write something “sensible “ (in your stupid opinion) so too can a dye-in-the-wool racist xenophobe like you become a more ‘universal’ individual.
    Maybe you would come around to respecting (if not personally liking) Adrian instead of attacking him just because he ‘happens’ to be of European background.

CCC, are we detecting some traction in you moving away from your anti-foreigner, anti-white or any other ethnic group stance? Do you feel Chinese see you blacks as their equals?

From what you say about Barbados’s failure to establish a viable export-led manufacturing sector like Singapore (despite its early advantage) can we conclude that the amount of money spent propping up the tourism sector should have been thrown behind manufacturing and agriculture?

So the question t you CCC and your parrot ac is: shouldn’t you be asking the Chinese to lend Bim the $1/2 billion and the rest to revive the manufacturing and agricultural (agribusiness) instead of taking money to throw into the tourism Maxwell pond called Sandals?

Do you really feel Butch Stewart and his Jamaican gang (xenophobic reference right up your racist street) would promote Sandals Barbados over the other Sandals in which he would have direct financial/investment interests?
    Imagine Shanique Myrie applying for and getting the job of Coordinator of Guests Amenities & Social Activities at the same Sandals Barbados; just to rub salt in the wounds of xenophobic Bajans like you.

10. Miller said:
    “So the question t you CCC and your parrot ac is:”

LOL!!!

11. millertheanunnaki | October 29, 2013 at 7:37 PM

|So the question t you CCC and your parrot ac is: shouldn’t you be asking the Chinese to lend Bim the $1/2 billion and the rest to revive the manufacturing and agricultural (agribusiness) instead of taking money to throw into the tourism Maxwell pond called Sandals?
    …………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
    Not a bad idea……miller ! now dat u got that off uh hairy chest,,,,,,, but first things first,

12. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | October 29, 2013 at 8:07 PM |

What do you mean by “first things first”?
    Do you mean the WTE project seemingly dropped by the decaying lowedown? How is that going to be funded? By the Chinese too or by the elusive Japanese?

Please explain the discordance between the construction of a $1/2 billion hotel plant on the West Coast of Barbados and the country’s continuing failure to build a sewage system to stem the fast degradation of the coast caused by the pollution from the land.
    Which should come first? The sewage system or a hotel in which the guests would be unable to use the beaches and the sea would destroy by erosion in a few years?

13. Chinese huh ! well if your government lets them in .
    you are done for.they got so many of them you barbados will not stand a chance.
    i suggest you put a stop to it now. IMMEDIATELY.
    if you can ac may be the chines economic hit-men have a hand in it.
    you borrow or take so much money from them
    they own you and want flavors; or else!
    please note they do not mix with Negroes.
    and they like a good fried negro stir fry with yellow dog .
    may be soon will have chines restaurant serving negro cock and balls special.
    you bunch of fools.

14. iabingy | (aka Mr Correcto) October 29, 2013 at 8:46 PM |
    may be soon will have chines restaurant serving negro cock and balls special.
    …………………………………………………………………………………
    You seem to be fixated with negro cock and balls. Perhaps you have had your fill of this delicacy nil by mouth.

15. Why are we allowing FLOW to de-beautify this island further by placing ugly fridge -size junction boxes on top of 15 foot utility poles all across the island ?
    Can you imagine one of these boxes crashing into your home during a storm? They should have been set on a concrete plinth, like the ones owned by LIME.

16. OH miller give it a rest,,wunna had fourteen longgggggggggggggg ears to fix and all wunna did is mash up and brek up, fuh christ sake let the new owners go about doing their job without further interruption frum u the “king” of loud mouth followed b the” queen” ( did i get that right) correct me if i am wrong MIA

17. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | October 29, 2013 at 9:42 PM

Far from fixing your inept administration is also mashing up and ‘breking-up”. Just look what you have done to the sugar industry! Just look what they are going to do Almond! What next? Dynamite Four Seasons?

Soon the entire economy would be on the skids as predicted by the IMF (not the miller this time).
    When the new owners keep their promise to privatize the air and sea ports along with the TB the miller’s mouth would shut automatically. When is the CRA going to come into existence? No CRA, no assistance from the IADB, ya hear?

18. @Miller

with your intelligence, don’t you know that high end hotels in Barbados are not complaining?

19. what nonsense, if they aren’t getting the same deal as the new kids on the block they will be wailing like banshees or AC s.

20. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ newblood | October 30, 2013 at 12:19 AM |

With your “grasshopper “experience you should know high-end hotels anywhere do not have to complain since they are dealing with a niche market not mass tourism to fill their rooms.

That is the problem with Bim’s tourism today. Going after the mass market has been to its detriment.
    By expanding tourism based on mass marketing- at the expense of other industries like agriculture and light manufacturing for which it is ideally suited- Barbados is no longer seen as an upscale destination catering to the elite tourist.
    The country has been turned into a concrete jungle and tourist trap and in the process is destroying its singularity, indigenous quaintness and the simple friendliness of the ordinary folk which once attracted and appealed to high-end visitors.
    Is Sandals a high-end brand name?

21. Is this the same CCC that supported the deportation of Guyanese and denigrates local or foreign white people now embracing the Chinese? What about Half who few months ago was imploring us to learn mandarin? Piss in much pocket!

22. @ miller
    You are right, mass market tourism is a recipe for vulgarity, violence and drunkenness – just ask the Spanish, Greeks and Portuguese.
    Was it Wes Hall, under Sandiford, who tried to introduce mass market tourism under the prime ministership of Erskine Sandiford? We had people in the 1990s flying out of Manchester in charter flights with one intention, getting drunk in Bim and getting laid, as they call it.
    On the other hand, Ultra-high network and high net work tourism involves more than having nice beaches. These are people with loads of money, often their own yachts and the finance to fly to the best spots in the world.
    We need a far wide leisure industry to get these people off the beaches and spending money.
    Barbados does not have any of that. I have made suggestion for the development of Ragged Point and Culpepper Island, but we have allowed an Irish-Canadian to get planning approval for what I consider the vandalising of Skeete’s Bay.
    We have done the same thing with Royalk Westmoreland, allowing a former kitchen and bathroom maker to t4urn that in to an areas that few Barbadians even visit, far less live in; and we have allowed fa former caravan site owner to buy up our land along with a semi-educated ex-footballer.
    Our first tasks is to take our tourism industry out of the hands of the Canadians, Irish and other foreigners and try managing it ourselves.

23. like you have managed your country since independence?

24. @ Lawson

You just don’t get it.

25. Your denigration of people with humble beginnings reeks of elitism, these people seem willing to invest in your no resource postage stamp island rather than your peers who by all accounts are not willing or not able to invest in their future because they are too busy syphoning everything out of Barbados . One thing that I have noticed about people with money they are usually proud of how they earned it, belittling investors may not be the tact you should be taking as you circle the toilet bowl.

26. Right now is not the time to be hollering about high end and low end tourist. measures can be put in place to take care of what might deemed immoral or lewd behave by tourist only jerks would at this stage when an economy is bleeding take a “those and them ” REmember beggars can,t be choosers. high end or low end no difference at this point as long FX is injected into the economy. but some would prefer to sit on their royal backside and block any effort by govt to move the economy forward…… BLaH!

27. @Hal Austin

r u sure that the concept of mass tourism did not start long before the advent of Sandiford?

28. @Miller the fluke

r u aware that it is necessary to have a tourism mixed product. I am quite aware, unlike you that upscale tourism is for a specific clientele, and that is the reason why we have hotels with different stars. it is how we manage our tourism
    product. If u have any memory, industrilisation by invitation was supposed to be the solution to our development and that has failed. We also started our tourism strategy by upend tourism, but why have we moved from that; there was a demand for mass tourism; but we have not managed that strategy. We gave the impression that sun, sex and sand were the pull factors. WE failed to manage the mass tourism product and we failed to have the linkage between tourism and agriculture, as the major players in tourism, felt the need to import the food the tourism accustomed to eating. We need to follow the Jamaican example feed the tourists with the thing we grow.

Thus, we need a paradigm (hope u know what that mean) shift in managing our tourism product; that means all hands must be on deck and this hand out mentality must cease.

29. U right Lawson hal comment in response to miller is so disgusting it makes me want to puke. Still belive that the rich should be allowed a certain status in life Those who he deemeds as trouble makers should be excluded . Who de hell does he think he is in raising the bar between the have and have nots using ridiculous assumptations about crime and lewd behaviour associated with mass tourism. How insulting and offensive.

30. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | October 30, 2013 at 9:19 AM |
    ” REmember beggars can,t be choosers. high end or low end no difference at this point as long FX is injected into the economy.”

So what’s holding up the Four Seasons decision? Why can’t the cabinet of puppets make a timely decision? Or are certain members squabbling over the size of kickbacks? The FBI would be monitoring this deal.

You guys refused to heed advice about that con artist Persaud thereby allowing the man to bilk millions from the tax payers. Now you have dumped him would you be engaging his bullshit services elsewhere?
    Why not get him to revive the sugar cane industry? He is an expert in producing bovine excrement (to borrow GP’s alternative for bullshit) and would make an excellent supplier to the CLICO cane fields.

The people in St. Lucy are still awaiting the Pickering Housing Development. What about the Merricks and Foul Bay projects? Aren’t they also forex generating projects?

31. What it exactly would it cost a family of four to come to Barbados for 10 days compared to other locations such as Mexico, Costa Rica, Brasil, Dominican, or Cuba. Check that out and then look at which countries have foreign exchange controls and a currency on a fixed peg to the US$. Brasil has got cheaper by 25% in the last 3 years just on FX rates. Then have a look at Barbados hotel stock. Most of the hotels in Barbados are lucky to squeeze out a 3 star rating when compared to the competitors. Add to that the fact that travel agents in places like Canada have almost stopped promoting Barbados and now convince yourself it is going to get better because of Sandals. I would not be betting on that.. Sam Lords was a unique location with a major brand. How is it doing these days?

32. @Miller

owen Arthur and Erskine Griffith were to have modernized the sugar industry when there was so much money, why didn’t they?

33. @ Lawson

I have never been called an elitist before, but I guess there is always a first. Tell me what a small developing nation can get from a former Leeds-based kitchen and bathroom manufacturer, who for whatever reason left his business to relocated in Barbados. What, apart from the money he got from his business, has he got to contribute to a small developing nation? Gold clubs? Highly priced apartments?
    What does an ex-footballer have to contribute? Or a caravan site owner, apart from turning some of our prized property in to caravan sites?
    Our vision of our society must be deeper and wider than that. We are not in the business of charity.

34. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ newblood | October 30, 2013 at 10:08 AM |

Both of them are irrelevant today.
    The DLP promised a restructuring of that industry in their 2008 & 2013 manifestoes. Instead the country has an industry in the morgue ready for burial.
    The national debt has moved from around $5 billion to almost $10 billion to date.
    Where has the money gone?
    Here is an excuse that has currency. Blame the CLICO problem since much of the sugar lands are owned by that moribund entity that would be in litigation for years to come.
    Don’t expect the Japanese to invest in an industry where most of the land to grow the canes is totally encumbered in legal confusion.

35. Miller u need to stop worrying uh little head about project A B or C ..the govt going to roll them all out just don,t fret u pretty little soul .if them teking too long just pick u third foot and get on yuh high horse and leave town. wunna had 14 years to roll out wunna projects to rebuild the economy and WE still waiting. REKLAX man. take my advice take a vacation.

36. Now that hal has caught with his pants hanging below his/ back side he retreats tryingb tio change the subject how about answrring the question of yiour holier than thou attitude painting certain classes of peole as bad influence. for tourism remind me of back in the racist day when balcks were only allowed to be gardens and servantsbut couldn,t live in the ritzy neighbourhoods. u statement is offensive and u should be asamed of spouting such garbage

37. Why can’t the cabinet of puppets make a timely decision?
    cabinets of puppets
    LOL @

38. ” Hal…..I have never been called an elitist before “……..that is because prat is easier to pronounce, Your forbearers have suffered not so you can show the same disrespect to people that was shown to them.

39. @ Lawson
    I have been called worse than that. But if you want to be rude go on. I stand by every thing I have said. I do not know who you forebears are nor do I particularly care.
    Your analysis is silly and basic. I do not have to be rude to say that. The caravan owners, ex-footballers and kitchen makers do not make any fundamental contribution to the development of Barbados. This erroneous belief is what has kept the nation pinned to the ground.
    Let us talk about real development, not turning Barbados in to a rest home for lottery winners and those who suddenly came in to money.

40. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | October 30, 2013 at 10:33 AM |

We also think you should take your own advice seriously. You are the one in need of a rest but in an institution caring for those who are delusional and refuse to face reality.
    Why don’t you listen to what Prof. Howard has to say or even PM Kenny Anthony?
    They are only repeating what the miller has been saying all along. And you are not going to shut him up.
    Investors have no confidence in your lying incompetent administration. What massive project what for the alternative energy sector! This goes contrary to the proposed deal with Emera or SOL’s plans.

What you said about rolling out of projects is what the country has been hearing for a long, long time now. Remember the restart of Four Seasons project since September 2009? What about the WTE and the West Coast Sewage project? What about Pickerings and the Pierhead marina. Can we rely on the BOLT arrangement for the Sugar Point Cruise terminal? Maybe!

Now you STFU, political pimp and head for Black Rock (and not Four Seasons)!

41. I know you, your that guy that comes home and stays with family its cheaper, you will look for the best deals, you will take advantage of the vacation money offered by the govt, everything on points you want to be noticed the returning conquering hero. I don’t have to get my hands dirty in the bogs at the caravan sites, have all my fingers because I don’t labor at cutting cabinets, my brains aren’t scrambled from heading a ball I am a writer. …So what makes your think that your contribution to Barbados is worth more than these gentleman’s.

42. @ Lawson
    You are also am amateur psychologist. I suggest you go off and write about something useful, rather than make apologies for people who have no truck with ordinary Barbadians. They see Barbados as a rest home, employing a few domestics, which is appreciated, but our development must rest on the education of our young people, not tourism.
    I know what it feels like having young people serving you. By the way, I would pay anything to be a cabinet maker – skills are important – although I won’t be caught dead in a bog..

43. Hal, amateur or not you know I am right, and working people relate to working people no matter of race nationality or religion because they know the effort involved. Careful you don’t get a callous on your finger Barbados prides itself on how educated they are 95% schooled I have heard . so what has gone wrong is it possible they are overeducated ? And again I will ask you what are you contributing more than these blue collar guys.

44. @ Lawson
    I refuse to answer a question that is more relevant in the UK and Europe – class. I never talk about blue collars, that is North American. I have not mention nationality or race, but if the cap fits.
    I define my politics and social awareness in other ways.
    What am I contributing? making ordinary Barbadians aware that idiots come in all guises.

45. @miller

the money gone to pay for the expensive bolt projects your party got involved in. Your thiefing party. How much you got for yourself. Crook. Go help MIA with her pr strategy.

46. Thank you on behalf of the ordinary people for taking time from your lofty perch to spot the idiots for us,

47. @ Lawson
    Don’t thank me. Thank the kitchen maker, the caravan site owner, the ex-footballers, who have made such great contributions to the development of Barbados sand to whom the Barbadian people should be ever grateful.
    By the way, remind me of this great contribution to our development.

48. Miller man u really thinking too hard .like uh ready to explode. just stop the worrying and trying to eavesdrop about what the govt doing. ac not ging to tell uh the secrets fuh you tell MIA and wunna sabotage everthng. now it seems like since the govt pulled a classic big food move wid Sandals u and the rest of yardfowls gone butt starked naked crazy. just calm down. a lot more surprises in store.hope uh heart can handle them.Tek it easy my BOY! tek it easy.

49. Garfield Sobers ex cricketer Samuel Prescod planters son jesus carpenter what have they contributed to Barbados in your analysis, if anything . To be fair you really don’t know what is going on behind the scenes…. these idiots you have pointed out could be the most charitable, standard raising, educating people on the island only history will tell When I read your comments it reminds me of an old scots saying….. oh the lord the gift to gee us to see oorselves as others see us.
    I saw a great quote the other day, if you get on the wrong train it does no good running down the corridor in the opposite direction, Hal I believe you are a good man that today has gotten on that wrong train, everybody has a part to play in Barbados recovery the builder the tourist the pundit the politician the unionist …..Barbados will never rise again without all hands on board.

50. Lawson well said! take note the words on statue of liberty was not an afterthought its true meaning is what help to build a nation. THINK about it.Hal can.t help himself he belongs to a group thatlaugh in one face and snicker behind their back.

Leave a Reply to DavidCancel reply