Submitted by Keep It Real   (and clean)
Roy Morris - Editor in Chief Nation Newspaper
Roy Morris – Editor in Chief, Nation Newspaper

I am waiting with bated breath to Emoji see a page-one comment from either the Publisher or the Editor in Chief of the Nation newspaper denouncing, in the strongest possible terms, its own journalistic faux-pas     (I am being kind) committed in today’s Sun on Saturday.

None of us, not even the most perverted person, would have expected that that tabloid would have sunk further into the depths of depravity and lewdness, especially after the recent appointment of  “people of impeccable character”.

Perhaps, such erotic journalism  can be easily explained-away since many in society, including some people in our most noble professions, have had to wrestle with their own amoral feelings, as they try to overcome an obsessive propensity for pornography and predatory exploits, while simultaneously fighting the said sexual appetite and their rapaciously  philandering demons.

I wonder if it is mere happenstance that today’s salacious story (Sex Scene) by one of the paper’s editors (also a man of unblemished standing) and accompanied by a most graphic and explicitly offensive photograph, that left absolutely nothing to the imagination, coincided with the start of a certain group’s get-together. They might have needed a little titillating to spur them on after falling far-short earlier in the week.

Remember, they make queer bedfellows.

We, however, should not be totally surprised at the level of trash emanating from the junior publication on “Barbados’ Fleet Street”, since weekend after weekend  (just read Flying Fish & Cou-Cou, Pudding &Souse, and I {Lie} Confess) that newspaper insults and seeks to undermine our sensibilities and time-honoured values, with a constant diet of wanton vulgarity, sexual innuendo, gossip and lies – that can only pass for ‘gutter journalism’.

Even the late  fearless Chocholingo of T&T (Founder of The Punch newspaper) would have derided such smut and lasciviousness. But, not the Nation! That sensationalizing tabloid, the self-proclaimed paragon of virtue, has all but outdone itself this time.

So, we all await that front page self-censure.

I believe the likes of Gladstone Holder,  Jimmy Cozier, John Wickham and Clennel Wickham, all past local doyens and guardians of “the fourth estate”, must all be turning in their graves.

Notice, I did NOT include the other Wickham (the self-proclaimed Emoji homo-analyst) in that august company.

Indeed, she might be rubbing her hands in glee and salivating at the clear doggie position shown and explicitly elucidated by Mr. Price.  Lord Have Mercy! Emoji

As it stands, this country is crying out for a Press Censorship Body. I want to Emojihear The 4-H Emeritus Man (aka Hard Headed H—– H—-) pronouncing on this one – what the late J C Proute ( a renowned Barbadian journalist of The Gleaner newspaper) used to call “journalistic gaucherie”.

77 responses to “Sheer PORNOGRAPHY In SUN On SATURDAY!”

1. The fact that this girl was at Summerville on one other occasion what does this say?

What about the boy?

What does it say about the quality of parenting.

2. Well Well

Finer points elude you.

3. Ross….they would elude me, i do not have the predilection of a pervert.

4. Me gone! cat Piss and pepper up in here ….FIRE IN BABYLON…..Me Gone!

5. @David “The fact that this girl was at Summerville on one other occasion what does this say? What about the boy? What does it say about the quality of parenting.”

Dear David: I think that we all agree that parenting is hard work. I think that we can all agree that we rarely have parenting experience before we become parents for the first time (except me of course who had already raised several children before I became a parent myself)

It may just be that both sets of parents were inexperienced. Every first time parent is inexperienced. Most people become better parents as they gain more parenting experience and wisdom.

So what if the parents are somewhat incompetent. Does that mean that we should crucify the parents and stigmatize the children? Parents who are less than perfect deserve the support, love, care, wisdom and assistance of the larger community. We should be looking to see what we can do to help them become better parents. We should try to see how we can help them to become better parents. We ought not to be making the job of parenting more difficult that it already is.

What the children did is youthful foolishness.

What the Nation did is disgraceful.

6. Thought that this should be passed on, although someone told me don’t don’t do it, let the worms kill the idiots.

Shock as Worm-Infested Weaves from Dead People Find Their Way into the Market
    Posted on October 28 2013 by Efe Tega

Shock as Worm-Infested Weaves from Dead People Find Their Way into the Market
    Nairobi, Kenya: Irene Myangoh, a personal assistant working at a law firm in Nairobi went to an upmarket hair salon along Kenyatta Avenue, and spent more than N5,500 on a human hair weave.

Two weeks later she started suffering from severe headache that would not go away. She would wake up with severe headache at night.

She went to a private doctor who gave her drugs for the relief of mild to moderate pain of inflammatory origin with or without fever; they would only work for a few hours and then the headache would be back worse than even before.

Desperate, she went to see a specialist who did blood tests and even a brain scan. All the tests were negative but the headache persisted, making her unable to concentrate at work and sleeping very poorly.

She went back to her doctor who decided to examine her scalp and under the beautiful weave he found worms!

The worms were burrowing into her skull and after sending the samples to the lab they found that the hair had eggs from which the worms had hatched.

The doctor told her that the hair was probably from a corpse because those worms are usually found on dead bodies. Efforts to reach her doctor for further comments were fruitless for he was said to be out of the country.

The manager of the salon where Irene got the hair product was traumatised and said they had fitted ten weaves from the package already, adding that the particular batch of hair had sold very fast; in less than a month, she had sold over 150 pieces.

“I am shocked to hear this because this is the first time such a thing is happening to my clients. I will get more information from my supplier because we import these weaves from the UK, USA and India,” says the salon manager who did not want to be mentioned.

She continued to say: “Maybe, the supplier sent us rejects from the factory or weaves that had overstayed in the stores but I promise to follow up on the matter and compensate Irene.”

Irene had to shave after this ordeal and took antibiotics for two weeks.

Dr CK Musau, a surgeon at Nairobi hospital says that he has dealt with more than ten cases of the same in a period of six months.

He further urges ladies to be very careful with what they put on their heads, and adds that it is better to appreciate natural beauty and be content with what God has blessed them instead of chasing artificial beauty.

“It is unfortunate how the West has influenced Kenyan youth; especially ladies. They should stick to their natural African beauty as opposed to trying to ape what they see,” says Musau.

Dr Musau reiterated that the youth must keep in mind that of late, Kenyans can sell anything: from body parts to human beings to used coffins and now even weaves that seem to come from corpses.

Elsewhere, 16-year-old girl from Buruburu, a Nairobi surburb, also suffered the same fate but unfortunately for her she died. Cobweb eggs were found in her hair after she died.

There was a profound cobweb design in her weaved hair. She dropped dead after constant headaches.

The root cause? The weave had unnoticed spider eggs. The warmth produced after weaving provided a very conducive environment for the eggs to hatch.

A spider grew in her scalp and bit her. The poison found its way to her blood. She could not survive the attack.

7. Well Well

I guess not poor thing. Must be a very barren, miserable life you lead. I’m very sorry. But not to worry – as BAF says, self-advertisement IS your strong point.

8. Ross…….me?? miserable…………..you have an identity crisis or something?? you are the one confessed to being the PERVERT not me……perverts always without fail complain of the misery in their lives, particularly to their psychiatrists/psychoanalysts, i have none of the aforementioned, when did i ever tell you i was miserable? i am fine and good to go, nothing bothering my conscience. LOL!!

9. Ross……….i forgot to ask…..how is your fellow lawyer Rita Evans healing after being chopped, how is her hand and head??, and are you going to bail out Philip Vernon Nicholls attorney at law tomorrow when he faces the judge charged for stealing over $600,000 and also for money laundering??? lol

10. WW
    yOU DO KNOW THAT IN ADDITION TO BEING A LAWYER Philip Vernon Nicholls IS THE SON OF SIR NEVILLE NICHOLS FORMER PRESEDENT OF CDB
    Philip Vernon Nicholls attorney at law AINT GOT A THING TO WORRY BOUT

11. GP………who cares, i can also give you some stories about neville nicholls, by the way, i am not the one in jail tonight nor am i going to be the one before the judge tomorrow charged with stealing and laundering money, if i was nicholls i would more be worried about the case after this one…………lol

GP useless man made titles DON’T impress me at all at all,,,,,,,,

12. ww
    i am not talking about titles
    i talking about how we know things work in Bim, and I am sure you know what I mean.

also i suspect you know more about the cases than i do

13. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@Well Well. | October 29, 2013 at 8:16 PM |
    “GP………who cares, i can also give you some stories about neville nicholls,”

Is he still part of the FTC?
    There is a saying that the berry does not fall far from the tree. Is this a case of BL&P retribution?
    Ask Bryan from the Advocate.
    CCC would confirm that ‘the sins of the father should fall on the sons (and daughters in his case)’.

14. just want to know Avatar
    just want to know

Why are some people trying to shoot the messenger about this message, instead we should be trying to solve the problem. this picture was on the social media for about 4 or 5 weeks before it was put in the Saturday Sun, and no one in authority said or did anything about it until Mr. Morris put it in the paper. Let’s get real this has been happening in schools for some time, and don’t tell me the authorities knew nothing about it? Where were the teachers? where were the security guard? Instead of shooting the messenger please Mr. Minister of Education stop the thought of shooting people and cracking heads, and do some real work on our schools & children.

15. St George's Dragon Avatar

@Well Well
    Please check Snopes before relying on stories like this.
    http://www.snopes.com/horrors/vanities/hairweave.asp

16. GP>>>>>>>>>>>>.rest assured this time is very different, the lodge connection, the bar association connection and politicians/lawyers/governments connections will not help all the little black yard boys (corrupt lawyers) who love to work in conjunction with the local bajan whites and other minorities on the island to disenfranchise their own black people and would sell their mother for a dollar bill are all in for a very rude awakening, and that includes the politicians from both DLP/BLP political parties.

St. George…..whatever, for years there have been documented medical cases of microscopic eggs and mites living in those weaves and questions about where the weaves originate………………i could give two shits who profits from some stupid black females heads being used as a nests, i don’t wear nastiness on my head, when i see white/black females who wear that garbage, i make sure they don’t get too close me, i would not want any mites jumping into my natural hair.

17. Just want to know said:
    “Where were the teachers? where were the security guard? Instead of shooting the messenger please Mr. Minister of Education stop the thought of shooting people and cracking heads, and do some real work on our schools & children.”

Just ask some of the security guards at Combermere school what has been going on there for many years, apparently those who should, Ministry of Education et al, can’t be bothered…….sad.

Miller………Some bajans are yet to realize that everything under this sun has to run it’s course and come to an end.

18. Well Well

I see you are in denial. And as ever, your substitute for ‘delight’ is simply village gossip of the “I can tell you stories….” nonsense.

19. Sorry I should have asked you Well Well…do you think you are Nemesis you poor old thing? For God’s sake don’t forget your medication.

20. Ross…don’t worry your poor little perverted head about me, you need to worry about the next bajan lawyer who might be stabbed, shot, chopped or arrested for stealing/money laundering client’s money, why?? cause it just might be you…lol

21. Carl Moore, the retired Editor of the Nation emailed the talk show yesterday suggesting that the video under discussion was circulating on Facebook for five weeks but it is only when the traditional media published it that we have seen the public outrage. Obviously his aim was to show the importance of traditional media. Now why would he feel he needed to reinforce the idea of the importance of traditional media? Social media advocates can readily respond that it is Social Media which triggered it all.

What does this tell you Mr Moore? Nothing like working together perhaps?

22. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

What about the advertisers ?
    Many businesses in Barbados are owned by Muslims who insist that women cover up as part of their faith. Do they endorse the printing of sex acts in public along with graphic description?
    Have they no principle?

The biggest way to show their contempt for the Nation’s newspaper publishing the photo is to WITHDRAW THEIR ADVERTISING.

If they WITHDRAW THEIR ADVERTISING, the Nation newspaper will get the message.

23. Pompasettin Pearlie Avatar
    Pompasettin Pearlie

De body dat write dah story and print dah picture want time in Glandiary or he doggy cutting off! Dem lower dan gutter water! All who want to mek excuses fuh dem wunnah could talk from now til Neburary. Dem pretending dem care bout de young people, but dahs only a excuse for dem wuflessness. Dem wufless! Can’t fool me one shite!

24. @ PP

you still around. had it not for u I wont comment on this article. Tell mah something doh, don’t journalists got fah adhere to certain standards like the radio stations or else the broad cast license can be revoked. The promotion of pornography isn’t against the law? What the nation did wasn’t promoting such. I only asking bosie.

25. A relevant article, good to see the journalists association is active.:
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    New ACM Head Speaks Of Challenging Times

Published on Tuesday, 29 October 2013 14:19
    Written by Ken Richards

St Kitts and Nevis (WINN) Winn FM’s Managing Director, Clive Bacchus,  says he has taken over as President of the Association of Caribbean Media Workers at a very challenging period for journalists in the region.
    Bacchus was elected president at the ACM’s seventh Biennial General Assembly in Trinidad on Saturday.
    The new ACM president says the situation is not helped by growing economic challenges impacting on the media.
    “You also have a situation where media owners are increasingly cutting back on newsrooms … and people are becoming accustomed to a diet of press releases with all their spinning parts as news, without any serious attempt to verify content,” Bacchus said.
    He also made mention of social media presenting “some competition for information”, and talk show hosts, in the opinion of some “replacing journalism with chatter”.
    According to the veteran broadcaster, the problem is compounded by some callers to Talk Shows who feel they have the right to say anything that they want to.
    The impact of government on the media can also be a deterrent, ACM President Bacchus told Winn FM’s Breakfast Programme.
    “Some governments are better than others when it comes to dealing with the media.  But invariably we have several governments who are almost  contemptuous of the media, and see the media as an entity to be fed red meat … but not to be taken seriously, not to be respected,” Bacchus said.
    The Association of Caribbean Media Workers which he now heads says it intends calling on international organizations active in the field of press freedom and journalistic ethics to work with their counterparts throughout the Caribbean “in support of efforts to bring about free, independent and quality journalism in the region”.
      http://www.winnfm.com/news/local/6041-new-acm-head-speaks-of-challenging-times

26. Does anybody know whether it is a criminal offense to make, possess or distribute child pornography?

And if I have last Saturday’s image or the Facebook video of the children apparently having sex, can I take that image or video with me on my phone or laptop into the U.K., U.S. or Canada without fear of prosecution?

While I am those countries can I distribute the video or still image to my relatives and friends in those countries?

Thanks,

27. @Simple Simon
    Another vital question is if the Saturday Sun with that image was sold at the usual news agents in London or New York