psc

Read the Recommendation of the Police Service Commission to retire former Commissioner of Police Darwin Dottin – Read it and weep!

168 responses to “BARBADOS MEDIA IGNORES RELEASE OF POLICE SERVICE COMMISSION REPORT: PSC Report Recommended the Retirement of Commissioner Darwin Dottin”

1. @Gabriel

Did you really read the report.

2. Gabriel; I see that you highlighted many of the areas that I did. I also did not think too highly of the report.

3. Let BU reminds checkit-out and Gabriel that Dottin in his Affidavit in response to Anderson Bowen on the issue of wiretapping declined to be specific on the grounds that it was a matter of national security.

4. Is that a good excuse for a report that is replete with innuendo and hearsay? But perhaps the appendices and attachments contain the meat of the accusations while the report itself is, imho, somewhat lacking in the requisite clarity and objectivity for a report of such a serious and groundbreaking nature.

David it would be good to see Dottin’s affidavit for the Anderson Bowen matter. Do you have that document or can point us to it? National Security seems to be the expected defence that would be invoked. How does one definitively prove that the CoP was not acting in furtherance of National Security?

5. The point checkit-it out Dottin did not deny that he tapped Bowen’s phone. This was reported in the Nation newspaper.

6. David
    I read the report.I will not be guided by a party of misfits and malcontents.If this goes before the CCJ and I have no doubt it will,they will crucify the PSC and all of Barbados.All I can get from this sorry group of the Fatted Calf Brigade is incompetence at every turn.It’s not what you do,it’s how you do it.I have zilch support for anything this vindinctive group currently making up the PSC does in the name of this blessed country.I have NO CONFIDENCE in the Democratic Labour Party as presently constituted.They are just stumbling from one howler to the other.The country will never setlle down with these people at the helm.It’s so bad for Barbados to be in this mess with no hope of getting out of the rut in a hurry.I’m hoping I’m wrong but I am assailed daily by folk who seem in dire straits and all I hear are lies and more lies.Fortunately,I read reports for myself and do not have to depend on CBC/DLPTV.Lord have mercy on Barbados.
    Today’s intercession is:DIRECT THIS NATION IN THE WAYS OF JUSTICE AND TRUTH.GIVE WISDOM TO ALL IN POSITIONS OF PUBLIC TRUST AND AUTHORITY.THAT THEY MAY PROMOTE THE PROSPERITY,GODLINESS AND PEACE OF YOUR PEOPLE.I don’t think Frank Marshall practises this.His predecessor Harold Emeritus expressed shock and dismay and publicly said you cannot treat people like this!!when news of Dottin’s hurried removal on leave became public.
    The DLP cannot get this place governed with this type of kneejerk approach.They will fail.Must we all fail in the process??

7. @Checkit-Out

The point is Dottin admitted that he tapped Bowen’s phone in his Affadavit which was reported in the nation newspaper.

8. When the Thanksgiving Service for a late teacher is held,no doubt we will be regaled with platitudes from the Ministry of Education and probably from Ministers of this Government so called.News on the ground is that the Ministry of Education made changes at a school without the knowledge of the teaching staff who matter and that the Ministry of Health was found missing in action ,both apparently combining to making a bad situation worse.
    Barbados deserves better.

9. Rational Thinking Avatar
    Rational Thinking

Gabriel you can wish it away as much as you want to but this will not go away it is more likely that Mottley will go away before this one goes away.

10. Are we as outraged by the thievery that went on at CLICO and the part played by the departed and living including the $3.3m cheque? Let us move to prosecute all!!!

11. enuff u come out swinging ! swing all u want but the fact is that David Thompson is dead,,, u get it … t

12. Does the fact Thompson is dead relieve the DLP from shining transparency on the CLICO Mess? We truly need to stop playing politics with every issue. BU looks forward to the probate of the Thompson Estate to begin another chapter in the CLICO discussion.

13. @Enuff

Is that all u have to say. Lord have mercy. I heard about the wire tapping, but I didn’t realize it was so extensive. Why is the commission protecting this bastard. the constitution allows for the setting up of an enquiry and this can be done. Does he deserve to be retired with a pension? I don’t think so.

14. Balance when you were an executive member of NUPWhow did you get confidential documents —-you balance supported Walter Maloney when he used the union cell phone and ran up $6200 in over seas calls –you again supported him when he went to China wnich was fully paid by the host country ,yet he asked and was granted allowances from NUPW–did you bring charges against denis Clarke

15. Balance you need to be fair don’t try to fool the people ,you are one of the same persons who supported a lot of crookery at nupw -your time will also come –remember you are a pensioner and still working (getting a salary from nupw –you don’t work for it because you are never there but Clarke and Maloney are your friends –by the way I understand Maloney has landed in trouble at NHC again -cannt keep his hands to himself

16. I threw that out there purposely knowing the responses would be political cue newblood and ac Wire tapping and fraud are both illegal, condemning one and trivialising/ignoring the other is hypocritical.

And Bowen dead too so what?

17. @Erice

when you have no scruples you will always find yourself on the wrong side of the law, people in position believe that they can do what they like, when they like and get away with it. Thus that’s why your friend walter is grabbing at everything, money and women in the office. lol

18. Enuff
    I got news for you.Thompson the dead king’s will has been probated long time and a leading ‘paper tried to get a copy to publish it but were told that the udder registrar sheself did walking’bout with it in she pocket bag.I can’t guarantee the veracity of this but will share that the source is top ‘o de class.
    Fudamoe,de source sed tink bout 39 mill.

19. Look what Policing come to in Buhbaydus.De acking commissioner say he know who de corrupt police are.The corrupt police know who they are.The corrupt police colleagues know who they are.And guess what.De actor waiting for de corrupt police to resign.Can you imagine in the police force of Barbados the top man mekkin dem kind ‘o statements?He want gine before the kangaroo commission aka the Police Service Commissioner.
    Barrow change de law to appint top civil servants and judges and ting.When de BLP use it to dem advantage the stinking Dems cry fowl.Hear the idyuts pun this blog.Mia appint Reefer.Mia appint Dottin.Mia appint Grace who is she lesbo fren.Mia appint Frundel.Mia appint Darcy.Mia appint Jepter.Mia appint Sinkler she big guts peanut brain fren.Blame Mia for living.We got nuff bright inelligent women in Buhbaydus.All the stinking dems can do is insult them,call them names,peep in their bedrooms and see their personal clothing,know how they look naked.
    We got a comedian for a PM who is a preacher man going the rounds pun a Sunday preaching to he faithful Fatted Calf Brigade,to handclapping every 10 words outa de fool mout.Buhbaydus is at its bathos and all the jackass PM can do is go along with every thing he ministers doing.Look wha buhbaydus come to!!!!!

20. Does/ any one understand the legal cost to govt not including the witness and fact finding mission involved in trying tio get at the bottom of CLICO does any one in their right mind believe that in the end after much prolonged battle that the final outcome would be sufficiently justifiable at the taxpayers cost to the cost The fact is David THOMPSON is dead and what evidence or light he could have given is buried six ft under. the govt has left this matter for courts to handled .rightfully so .

21. ac says:

“The fact is David THOMPSON is dead and what evidence or light he could have given is buried six ft under. the govt has left this matter for courts to handled .rightfully so.”

ac…..but his large estate in the form of millions that his widow cannot account for or explain it’s existence is very much alive and should be FROZEN……….

22. In addition…….this is what happens to a country, in this case the US, when corruption and all manner of evil is allowed to run rampant for years, unchecked and encouraged by the politicians who should know better and are supposed to be examples upholding the law of the land..

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=672615779427038&set=a.137591366262818.17658.137580649597223&type=1

23. Dottin The Tasmanian Devil aka ‘Taz’ should be in jail and no place else. He was the chief law enforcement officer on this fair land. He has had suspended others of the force for far less actions or omissions. A law enforcement officer must be morally and ethically sound because of the immense powers conferred upon them by Chapter 167 of the laws of Barbados. They are virtually the most powerful persons Barbados. They are the sole persons who can arrest you on suspicion and detain you, search your home and give evidence against you causing the death sentence to be pronounced on your head. Such operatives MUST be trusted and above reproach. Dottin is ludicrous, immoral, unethical, cantankerous, slippery and vile. He has to be exemplified as what can occur to such offenders. The force must be purged of Taz and his operatives. It is crass of some contributors to play the political game with this issue. When we have trouble we run to the police for fairness, help, redress, rescue, shelter, love, reassurance, partnerships and brotherly love. Can you imagine when your enemy and foe is the chief of police and illegally so? wuhloss.

24. Lighthouse; Excellent post above. But you have to prove the case. especially when you link a politician with the situation on the blogs and provide no such linkage or facts in the report or in the mainstream media. It smells of possible political skullduggery.

Do the necessary. Get out the facts. Bring them to Justice. Don’t let them get away.

Do that and I think 99% of Barbadians will be with you. As it is there is room to question your assertions, given how the incontrovertible facts now stands. This kind of matter cannot stand on innuendo alone. Bring the cases. It is passing strange that the lawyers like Observer, etc. have not spoken to this as well as what the rule of law might say in a situation such as this one.

25. Well ! well u so funny. what are u suggesting “attorney” that govt freeze DT assests. .are u crazy or what. . Where is the evidence of wringing doing on DT part. utside of a cheque which can be attributed to services rendered i am certain that if the BLP yardfowls had substantial proof of weilding and dealing but now.such proof would have fell of a truck and handed to media. HUSH girl.

26. Enuff ..but BOWEN had he say so “alive” in court…and the evidence was brought out accordingly.. now we have substantial proof of what went wrong…………trying to dig up DT not going to happen it is not like evidence through DNA . all is this is evidence done by verbal or ora let the courts decide.

27. @Well Well,
    Back in Toronto. How are you? Life is real interesting.

28. @ ac
    You head good? Bowen said so in court to whom and under cross examination by whom?

29. Enufff …wait u tell the BU household that under the OSA administration that BOWEN did not have a day incourt .yet u dumb a..ss get up in here talking b/s about a deadman giving evidence .and freezing he asset without having his day in court…

30. Alvin Cummins | October 28, 2013 at 1:00 PM |

@Well Well,
    Back in Toronto. How are you? Life is real interesting.

Alvin…………glad to hear you are well and safely back in Toronto….there is so much drama in Bim, don’t know where to turn. I hope to be in Toronto by the spring, still have lots to do in NY.. we will catch up then…

31. Enuff……are you really taking ac seriously….this is a black woman who is scared she will have no money if the minorities in Barbados decide not to live their anymore, afraid she cannot survive unless bajan whites do business on the island…….she does not even have confidence that black people can and will be much better off on the island without the likes of williams’, seales, jadas, simpsons, rams etc, etc,………someone like ac is never, ever to be taken seriously.

32. Why do we spend so much time nitpicking? Bowen’s case was heard by the PSC who instructed former COP to reinstate Bowen.

33. Frustrated Businessman Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman

Regardless of his political motivation and handlers, Dottin is scum.

The phone-tapping issue is just one that he could be brought to task on; nothing to do with the duty-free car thievery, the gun-license favouritism (one of his favourite’s guns was rented to criminals and used to shoot at the police), victimisation of anyone who opposed him in any way (civilian and cop alike) and on and on it goes.

SCUM.

I greatly look forward to reading the court reports.

34. @ David
    I am not nitpicking but Justice Reifer said in court that Dottin is the Commissioner of Police of Barbados.Griffith is acting Commissioner in the absence of Dottin on administrative leave.Let the axe fall where it might.Fiat justitia ruat caelum.
    @ Frustrated
    You join uncle Remus as one of the great storytellers of all time.

35. Is it not amazing we have this recommendation from the PSC to the GG which resulted in the removal of the COP Dottin and it does not generate the same commentary as the empty political blogs? What does it say about us as a people?

On 28 October 2013 21:25, Barbados Underground

36. @Frustrated Businessman

I agree with u that dottin is a scum, but if u r saying that he ended up with a duty free car, that could only have happen if the MOF allowed such.

37. Newblood
    Cast your mind back to 2007/8.Did not the dead king accompanied by his band of incompetent candidates go throughtout the link and bred of this land promising the police,nurses,teachers inter aux specialised groups of public servants,duty free cars and duty free housing starts??These categories were fooled one time and do you know they were fooled again in 2013 that bus fares will go up and old people will have to pay bus fares and public servants will be losing their picks because of privitization if the BLP takes control again!Look for all these things coming to pass under the incompetent,unruly,undisciplined Dems within the next few months.It going be cat piss and pepper.
    Meanwhile Kyffin going great guns.I say Kyffin for Prime Minister of Barbados.These idyuts we got with all the degrees can’t get this economy going after 6 long tired years of sputtering and stopping and sleeping at slumberest and posturpedic in lowlands.

38. Back in Time Jack Avatar
    Back in Time Jack

Owen went for a quote from the Rhymne of the Ancient Mariner to describe FS and CS as idle a painted ship upon a painted ocean, by english poet Samuel Coleridge Taylor.

39. David; When did Bowen’s case go before the PSC? pre or post 2008?

40. @Gabriel
    I don’t want to enter into any histrionic discussions with you, but I would say to you yes, such things were promised, but the prevailing economic times prevented the implementation of such. Further Barbadians have spoken in February and no Government intention is to screw up the economy. By the way, r u aware the technocrats in the MOF are the ones who help develop policies for the management of the economy. Also, why are the whites storing their money outside of Barbados; to destabilize the economy, with the mouthngs from your party.. Did you see how many whites went to queens park recently? Because they want the union to be involved ion their schemes, but it wont happen again, I can assure you.

41. @David | October 27, 2013 at 11:35 PM | Of course the fact that David Thompson is dead in no way affects the duty of the government to shine the light of transparency on the CLICO affair. But (and I think you will agree) these are two separate issues and the clear attempt by some to use Thompson and CLICO as a means of excuse and exculpation for the CoP, A-G and Min of National Security is, in my respectful submission, highly inappropriate. It is school child tactics. Mum and Dad catch a child red-handed and they seek to reduce or eradicate their culpability by pointing the finger of blame for some other alleged infraction at one of their siblings.

@lighthouse | October 28, 2013 at 10:51 AM | Excellent. You raise some compelling points that beg questions. How many convictions under Dottin’s leadership are tainted due to his alleged criminality? Your comments on the death penalty are also most compelling. As is well known, I am a firm opponent of the death penalty. But even those who support it must view with horror the possibility of its being carried out on the innocent for political expediency and ends, rather than as justice on the guilty.

@Well Well. My friend, do, ah beg yuh, give ac a break. She is arguing well, not that I necessarily agree with everything she is saying, but much of it has merit.

@David | October 28, 2013 at 6:58 PM | Hear hear!!!!!!

A final point which actually supports one made by ac, though in a different context to that suggested by her. It will be recalled that we spent $600,000+ on the Alexandra School COI (on which ac and I were adverse) and that was before one commissioner. The difficulty, as I have previously pointed out, in Dottin’s case is that there must be 3 commissioners, all senior to him. That means the DPP and 2 retired judges. The choice of these two retired judges is of great importance, as they must have the stature and status as judges so that no taint of political favour can be imputed, which immediately excludes Simmons. In any event, as Simmons is currently being sued by Jack Warner over his conduct of a COI in T&T, he would be a highly inappropriate choice. Ditto his wife. Chris Blackman’s conduct in the Bahamas effectively excludes him from consideration as well. Ideally, Sir Denys and Sir Frederick would be the best choices, but I think it doubtful that either would serve. Waterman could, but some questions about his conduct of the AX COI might arise. Lionel Greenidge could serve without, to my mind, raising any questions or controversy about his fitness to do so. It is in circumstances like these that it is realised just how much of a chasm the death of Justice Lindsay Worrell has left.

And the expense at a time of global recession, would be enormous. Also, the details of who was tapped enter the public domain, giving rise to a massive and successful amount of civil law suits being filed – and this would further clog up an already moribund court system.

Therefore, taking this into account, the PSC has given Dottin an out. Retirement with pension, provided he does not challenge his removal from office. For, once he challenges it and all the evidence of his criminality is brought before the Court, the DPP and the A-G have no viable option, except to criminally indict and prosecute him and any other higher official that may have instructed and condoned his actions, including, but not limited to, the A-G (former) and the Minister of National Security (also former). And I cannot believe that Dottin does not know this or has not had this pointed out to him by his learned legal counsel. Therefore, the only reason I can come up with is an attempted shake-down.

While fully understanding and appreciating the rationale of the PSC, I do not necessarily agree with it. Barbados is in the grips of a corruption so pervasive that perchance a clear warning and example needs to be made, whether it is the freezing of David Thompson’s assets due to CLICO (a course that I believe has no legal merit and would ultimately fail in a court of law) and/or the prosecution of Dottin and his accomplices – and let the chips fall where they may. I also believe that such a course of action would send a clear signal to members of the international community who now doubt and eschew Barbados, that Barbados is cleaning house and that a return of confidence in its infrastructure and state institutions deserve to be be taken seriously.

BUT what amazes and distresses me is the international perception that the BU revelations, having been fully documented, are being soundly ignored by the rest of Barbados’ press. And this is the clearest indication of all of the malaise of corruption that has taken over Barbados. I believe that had BU not put a watermark into the document, it would have been picked up by the rest of the press and it is a sad commentary on the lack of ethics and proper reporting by the Barbados press that because they cannot steal the fruits of BU’s investigative reporting and pass it off as their own, rather than give BU the credit that is customary in the press of other countries, they choose instead to ignore a story of such monumental national importance and the breaching of the right to privacy and the expectation thereof of their own readers. Shame on them!!!!

42. @Amused

To be fair to David Ellis at VoB he mentioned that Barbadians should go online check for the report but he could have done better. You are correct that the hypocrisy of the local media has been exposed here. It shows how they cherrypick what is news.

43. And Amused more troubling is that the many on Facebook who have seen/read it have not shown the inclination to share the report to express concern and or indignation.

44. @checkit-Out
    See Nation newspaper report:
    Bowen’s back on the job

Inspector Anderson Bowen, a well known crime fighter, returned to the job yesterday after almost five years on suspension. (Picture by Cherie Pitt)
    By WADE GIBBONS | Fri, October 08, 2010 – 12:00 AM
    ALMOST FIVE YEARS after being suspended following his public call for Commissioner of Police Darwin Dottin to resign, Inspector Anderson Bowen has been reinstated into the Royal Barbados Police Force.
    Bowen, one of the force’s top detectives, returned to the job on Monday and has been reassigned to the human resources department. When contacted yesterday at Central Police Station, Bowen declined to comment on the matter, saying only that all questions should be directed to Dottin.
    He did however express gratitude to those who had “counselled, advised and morally supported” him while he was on leave, including attorney-at-law Stephen Alleyne, wife Sharmane, brothers Daniel Bowen and George Haynes, and friend Bishop Alfred Vaughan.
    Reliable sources at the Personnel Administration Division told the WEEKEND NATION that Governor General Sir Clifford Husbands had accepted the advice of the Police Service Commission that Bowen’s suspension be terminated and that the half salary withheld from him since December 2005 be restored.
    Last month Dottin was directed by the Personnel Administration Division to make all arrangements for Bowen’s return to the job.
    Bowen will be entitled to retroactive vacation of about nine months. It is also understood that he will be promoted shortly. He had received formal disciplinary charges on April 2, 2007, some 16 months after being suspended for his comments.
    In October 2005 Bowen called on Dottin to quit, stressing he bore him no malice but suggesting that in the interest of the organisation and the general public he should leave the organisation since he lacked police management skills.
    Bowen also took exception to a number of public statements made by Dottin regarding police investigations and stated those comments often compromised the enquiries being undertaken.
    He made specific reference to comments about kidnapped victim Antonio Barker of Rock Dundo, St Michael, among other cases. Barker’s skeletal remains were later found in a canefield.
    Bowen was subsequently reassigned to the position of provost officer with responsibility for cleaners, maids and general workers, a position previously held by a constable, and up to that stage, never held by anyone of such senior rank.
    He took that matter to the Supreme Court seeking damages. Bowen also filed a writ in the High Court accusing Dottin of unlawfully wiretapping private homes, among other grievances. Those matters are still pending.
    While the Police Service Commission has ordered Bowen’s return to the force, it has undertaken a probe into Dottin’s professional conduct and recently filed four charges of misconduct against him.
    The Service Commission has also been probing complaints made by Deputy Commissioner of Police Bertie Hinds against Dottin over alleged mismanagement of the force.
    Hinds cited several instances where he said Dottin’s management was linked to diminished productivity, low morale and rampant sick leave in the force.
    •wadegibbons@nationnews.com

45. BU has no problem share newsworthy material from traditional media…look!
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    PCA up the wall

The Police Complaints Authority (PCA) is upset with the Commissioner of Police, suggesting that failure to investigate allegations against his officers in a timely manner, is frustrating the work of the tribunal.
    In its annual report for 2012, just laid in the House of Assembly, the authority said it “continues to be dissatisfied with the lack of response to its requests for matters to be investigated by the Commissioner of Police”. In fact, the report revealed some startling statistics which gave credence to the PCA’s concern regarding the “lack” of response from the top cop.
    “During the year 2012, replies were received from the Commissioner of Police with respect to 21 complaints, which were referred to his department for investigation. Of the replies received, one dated back to a complaint filed in 2005; one to a complaint filed in 2007; one to a complaint filed in 2008; seven to complaints filed in 2009; one to a complaint filed in 2010; and three with respect to complaints filed in 2011,” the seven-memberbody reported.
    The authority lamented that in spite of meetings with both the Commissioner of Police and the Attorney General with a view to improving the situation, there had been none.
    “The time between when a complaint is made to the authority and when the matter is resolved is far too long,” insisted the tribunal, which was established by an Act of Parliament. It said that sometimes a response was not received for over two years, and generally, the reply was simply that the matter was investigated by a senior officer and no wrongdoing was found.”
    The PCA noted that the act provided for it to deal with complaints directly.
    “However, the procedure set out in the act, requires that generally, it is the duty of the police to carry out the initial investigation and then have the findings communicated to the authority. The failure of the police to carry out the investigations adversely affects the works of the authority,” complained the body.
    It pointed out that frequent complaints made were of unprofessional conduct, as well as the abuse of power by police officers when dealing with members of the public.
    “The present system with its delays and lack of action can only cause frustration to complainants. The authority recognized that many complaints concern matters which are not of a very serious nature; and which are well suited to be disposed of summarily.
    “The authority should be able, without having to rely on the police, to investigate less serious matters; to summon the parties and their witnesses, take evidence and bring an end to the matter in a reasonable time,” the PCA added.
    Chairman of the authority, retired High Court judge Leroy Inniss, said in the annual report that it had recommended the legislation be amended to permit the tribunal to deal summarily with these cases.
    Chairman Inniss suggested that this would have the effect of disposing of matters without delay and thus ensuring greater satisfaction of the public. He disclosed that the authority had set up a committee to review the act, to make recommendations considered necessary.(EJ)

46. @Amused

if Dottin knew all along that there was dirt hanging over his head, why was he challenging PSC to send him on leave? I am just a small fry, and I had heard of the part he played in withholding correspondence issued by the psc to members of the force. I had heard of the wire tapping. I have a police friend and every time I give him a call to discuss local issues he would say I don’t want to discuss that. I believe that he believes that his phone is bugged too. This is a sad day in the history of Barbados. A secret can only be kept if if u who only know about it. The bible says what is done in the darkness will be revealed in the light.

47. let me make myself clear ac is in no way indicating that “if : DT was in any way form or fashion involved in wrong doing that evidence of that nature should not be brought to public attention,,,,However the substantial cost to taxpaers would be astronomical to which might amount to nothing of real value, just take a look at Trindidad on going efforts to get at the bottom of the Clico issue ,,biilons of dollars at the taxpaers expense and nothing earthshattering to the satisfaction of the cost has happened, I believe that letting the Courts handled this goriilaphant would be more approtiate and all that should be transparent would be revealed said and done , rather than govt digging themselves into a financial hole with no end in sight in an attempt to resolve which is clear by any standard corporate corruption intertwined by govt misconduct,.

48. @Ac

did u miss me from the site. Girl I see amused supporting you, and your boyfriend dropping some lashes in your behind. Ah see Mia in this mess. Yah don’t think the leaking of this document was to silence her. It was done at a strategic time with her talk about signatures and her foolish inept attempt at a no confidence motion, no wonder her senior parliamentarians kept quiet in the house. Do u think that they knew of the document and were in face saving mood.

49. @ac | October 29, 2013 at 5:36 AM | Excellent. Well said. If the Government is going to spend millions/billions of dollars investigating something which, at the end of the day, will likely not succeed in financially assisting the CLICO investors (as opposed to policy holders) then they might be better advised to take that money and reimburse the CLICO investors, at least in part. Otherwise, leave it, as you point out, to the courts.

I also think it appropriate to point out that investment always contains an element of risk, except where things like treasury bills and other government-backed (as opposed to santioned) investments are concerned. Back in 2004, the people who advise me on my very small savings, recommended CLICO to me to maximize my return. I pondered about it for a long time. Indeed, I even lost sleep over it. Finally, I concluded that if something looks too good to be true, it usually is and I declined to invest in CLICO. My point is that when you invest, as in CLICO, there is always an element of risk. Whether that risk arises out of fraud or fiscal mismanagement is a factor of that risk. It is therefore down to the courts to determine if fraud has occurred. Then, restitution can be sought. While I most sincerely empathise and sympathise with the CLICO investors, some of them my family members, I am not sure there is all that much the government can do and am most interested, from a family point of view primarily, to see what transpires.

But this thread deals with the CoP, unlawful invasion and violation of people right to privacy and the expectation of such, in a way that has all the hallmarks of the methods of Herr Hitler against whom we fought a world war costing many millions of lives so that, inter alia, such an abuse of human rights could not occur again. It is now also about the delinquency of the Barbados press and commenters, both here and on Facebook, in reporting and commenting on the matter.

@David. I am always happy to cut David Ellis some slack. He always appears to me to make best efforts, given the constraints and corporate guidelines under which he works. Would there were more like him in what is laughing called “the Press”.

50. @Amused

I have to watch u and AC, why r u two in such a harmonious relationship/ Boy I smell a rat.

Leave a Reply to millertheanunnakiCancel reply