Submitted by the Mahogany Coconut Think Tank and Watchdog Group
Owen Arthur, Leader of the Opposition, Mia Mottley MP, Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart
Owen Arthur, Former Leader of the Opposition, Mia Mottley Leader of the Opposition, Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart

Good Evening,

Fellow Barbadians, let me say how pleased I am, that our recently held general election was incident free and fair. Let me congratulate all the candidates for maintaining the democratic process and thanks to all those hard working citizens, who ensured that the highest standards of conduct prevailed.

Let me specially congratulate our main opposition, the Barbados Labour Party, on its success although the party of which I currently have the honor of leading, the Democratic Labour Party was victorious on this occasion. As you know, the result was very close and while the Democratic Labour Party was returned to office, the voters clearly showed that they are looking to both parties to solve our problems. In other words, while we are buoyed by the victory, we realize that these are challenging times and both parties have put the health of our economy, as their main priority.

Cognizant of this reality, immediately after the results of the general election, I held discussions with The right Honorable, Mr. Owen Arthur, who was the opposition leader going into the elections and sought his position on what I call a bi-partisan cabinet to administer the affairs of our country. Mr. Arthur, while being very interested in such a possibility, suggested to me, that I ought to discuss the idea with the right Honorable Ms. Mia Mottley, who has since become the Leader of our opposition.

After very frank and intense discussions involving members of both parties, I am pleased to announce, that I have formed a cabinet, comprising of both the government and the opposition to administer the affairs of our beloved nation. This cabinet will consist of five members from the government and three from within the opposition. The cabinet, on recommendation from the eight mentioned, will also include three members chosen from civil society.

The main focus will be to approach this challenging period with unified leadership and to send a very clear single to the citizens of our country, that the elections are over and it is indeed time to put Barbados first. The cabinet I now lead will consist of the following members of Parliament and those chosen from the civil society……………….

We ask you to join us in this new era of political maturity. Let us now work not only as a unified political force but more importantly as a unified Barbados. This promises to be an exciting and fruitful journey, for our young democracy, as we approach fifty years of independence and statehood.

I thank you and may God continue to bless Barbados.

(This is the speech that Barbados deserved and still deserves. It is not too late)

67 responses to “Time to Usher in an Era of Political Maturity”

1. @ David

Topic has nothing to do with US

2. Acting Police Commissioner Tyrone Griffith talking on CBC TV about corrupt policemen? dead with laugh. Apparently he has forgotten his past.

3. @ Bag Juice

Don’t forget the BLP has a past – Contractor Al Barack, Violet Beckles and VECO. Ohhhhhhh forgot this one, that Nigerian Water Heater Project

4. DLP (formerly CBC) TV Avatar
    DLP (formerly CBC) TV

@ CHAUNCER clearly you are narrow minded and you suck in the propaganda, misdirection and lies Fumble and Friends is throwing at people. The lies are wearing thin and the facts are coming to light that the DLP has FAILED this country. The DEMs dont have to mind us Bees, you can continue to dismiss us as playing politics as you usually do. What the DEMS have not done is explain to us why the economy is going down a hole. Don’t tell us the economy is performing, its on the right track etc because that is clearly bullshit. What the DEMs want us Bees to do, give Chris a good old pat on the back for a job well done after presiding over the worst performing economy in the entire hemisphere!!!! Fumble and Friends need a slap cross their heads !!!!. The Bees are rightly turning up the heat on Fumble and Friends. If the DEMs can’t take it that is their business

5. @balance

Man Oh! man U balance up in here swinging.,….but swinging in the wrong direction…but not to hurt uh feelings i give u an “A+ fuh B/S………

6. [youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7LSi4ehayoA&w=560&h=315]

The United States has many miles to go as does Barbados, but David the unlike Barbados United States persecutes and convicted corrupt lawyers and politicians. All should be persecuted and convicted: Owen Arthur, Mia Mottley, Dale Marshall, George Payne, Gline Clark, Sir Richard Cheltenham, Sir Charles O. Williams (COW), Mark Cummings, Samantha Cummings, Ralph Torne, Richard Byers, etc. The United States via Emminent Domain Law has right to take private property for public use. The private property owner however is compensated. The estate of Violet Beckles to date has not been compensated for Kensington Oval, Sandy Lane, Six Men, ABC Highway, etc.

7. Back in Time Jack Avatar
    Back in Time Jack

Errol Barrow destroyed perfectly competent and politically talented Dr. Richie Haynes by painting him as nothing more than power hungry.
    Owen is watching this mistake by Mia and laughing all the while. Why was it necessary to up the bar yesterday by saying this no confidence motion against Sinckler was more justified and easier that the one he brought in 1994?

Help your opponent set a high bar for themselves, remember to Pinot out the failure we it occurs and then appear to show empathy for the defeated.

8. “Man Oh! man U balance up in here swinging.,….but swinging in the wrong direction…but not to hurt uh feelings i give u an “A+ fuh B/S”

never hear you respond so mildly yet -seems I have you on the back foot- thanks for the vote of confidence as your marks suggest-

9. “Acting Police Commissioner Tyrone Griffith talking on CBC TV about corrupt policemen? dead with laugh. Apparently he has forgotten his past.”

Mr Griffith’s installation to the position of de facto Commissioner of Police is one of the most unethical acts visited upon this country in the area of promotions and appointments in the public service and serves to blatantly divide the Police Force and the country’

While it can be acknowledged that super-cessions in the pubic service is nothing new; protocol and public service procedure for elevation to higher office in the public service has always been guided by the dictum that the person so elevated must first express an interest in higher office;

It is on record that when the post of deputy was advertised, Mr Griffith did not even apply for the post.

This leaves me to speculate with reason that Mr Griffith was already aware of the events which were to unfold with regards to Mr Dottin’s removal and was told to stand fast.

10. Bag Juice | October 21, 2013 at 7:18 PM |
    Acting Police Commissioner Tyrone Griffith talking on CBC TV about corrupt policemen? dead with laugh. Apparently he has forgotten his past.
    ……………………………………………………………………………..
    Aren’t we Bajans supposed to have short memories.? Not many will remember, Roach, Barry and Ford . (Cock-roach, Barry- South Wales,& Ford Escort)

11. I heard M.P Mara Thompson, wife of the late P.M David Thompson, saying her late husband would never have behaved in the manner Mia is. Why are we trying to saintify David Thompson, he was just a forced ripe mango and threw tantrums whenever he didn’t get his way, like refusing to attend parliament until Owen Arthur called a general elections. He got his wish but couldn’t hold it for long.

12. Mahogany Court Think Thank,

We will make some submissions to your blog.

13. june boy | October 22, 2013 at 2:47 AM |

I heard M.P Mara Thompson, wife of the late P.M David Thompson, saying her late husband would never have behaved in the manner Mia is. Why are we trying to saintify David Thompson, he was just a forced ripe mango and threw tantrums”

Mara was just spouting her hypocritical lying garbage for those who did not know Thompson, he was famous for cursing, insulting and acting not like a spoiled child, but like a b***h out of Nelson Street, she is just trying to wipe shame from her face to find out what she was really married to……….

14. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2013 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2013 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

LOOK | October 21, 2013 at 2:31 PM |

The DLP is a bit embarrassing, the BLP is more embarrassing. Both are tainted with mess. The BLP mess mountains no doubt are more immense and so much more embarrassing. The BLP could/should just find themselves a rabbit hole and stay in it. There is nothing like a good laugh, the BLP group. Arthur just months ago was in the Bahamas, they mocked him and laughed at him.

Barbados could do better than Stuart but surely without Arthur and Mottley

WHAT IS WRONG WIT TRUTH? DOES IT HURT SO BAD?
    BMWs
    RRs
    VAT
    MOF
    MAM
    OWEN
    PM
    MOODYS
    S&P
    COW & HAM
    RATES, WATER, LIGHTS, ROAD TAX
    UWI,TAX CREDIT
    F.O.I & I.L
    AND MORE

Yagga Rowe | October 21, 2013 at 2:43 PM |
    @ what is your truth?

15. It’s a mess down there. It’s just a mess on that dot in the Caribbean. Moody’s and the S&P says so. There are lots of theft there, the United Nations says it.

Obama has his problems, Obamacare problems, Republicans – the GOP, mainly Mitch McConnell, Rand Paul and Michelle Bachman n on her way out but amidst scandal and investigation. http://www.thedailybeast.com/articles/2013/10/03/iowa-state-senator-quits-after-probe-into-michele-bachmann-payments.html The DLP has its problems – no money or honey and the BLP has its problems: Owen Arthur, Mia Mottley, Dale Marshall, George Payne, and Gline Clark – all those crooks.

16. Let’s not sugar coat anything. Call them what they are – crooks. All should be persecuted and convicted: Owen Arthur, Mia Mottley, Dale Marshall, George Payne, and Gline Clark – all those crooks.

http://barbadosfreepress.wordpress.com/2007/05/11/mr-prime-minister-why-are-you-only-now-so-concerned-about-conflicts-of-interest-with-duty-free-autos/

http://barbadosfreepress.wordpress.com/2007/03/25/nation-news-falls-into-our-trap-over-prime-ministers-money-laundering/

17. [youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vr12m2gP12Y&w=560&h=315]

Should apologize to Sinckler, MAM. Maybe she did in her diary – Diary of a Mad Black Woman

Leave a Reply to Well Well.Cancel reply