Mia Mottley, Leader of the Opposition to file motion of no confidence against Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler - CLICK on image to listen to press conference
Mia Mottley, Leader of the Opposition to file motion of No Confidence against Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler – CLICK on image to listen to press conference

218 responses to “Barbados Labour Party to File Motion of No Confidence in Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler”

1. David/Crusoe
    The Central Bank Governor is to report next week!

2. Barbadian culture is not limited to verse,song,dance,cuisine.There are the many ‘pithy’observations made in the vernacular and many are heard on the buses and spoken with gay abandon.Like these heard this afternoon:
    ‘WHO HE!WHA HE ‘N COME FROM NUH WAY!
    ‘MAN HE WENT TO THE GARSUN,SO HE EN TOO BRIGHT’
    ‘WHO?BIG GUTS SINKLER.YOU CAHN SEE HE IS A HOG’
    ‘MAN HE ONLY GET 25 IN MATHS AT CXC AND GET A EF.’
    ‘HE ‘N NO MATCH FUH MIA.SHE GINE BREK HE UP’
    ALL HE DOES DO IS INSULT WOMEN,LIKE HE BORN E’SELF’
    It seems to me that the writing is on the wall.There are some in the Cabinet that want Sinckler out and this is their opportunity.You can’t put Sinckler ahead of Estwick and Inniss and expect those two to kowtow.After all,they are not the likes of the Lashleys and the Denis’s.

3. wuhloss even Crusoe come out to give some anal support to the exhausted malcontents BLP yardfowls,,but seriously crusoe i thought u had turned duppy after not hearing from u fuh so long,, glad yuh find some time to be ressurrected.

BTW the rest of wunna yardfowls foaming at moouth fuh sinckler removal…..listen UP and listen carefully fuh wunna dat wear hearing aid turn them up Loud,,,,, I AInT GONNA HAPPEn>>>> FOUR MORE YEARS WUNNA GOT TO WAIT << WUNNA MAKING FOOLS OF WUNNA SELF<<<< REMEMBER MIA BIG MOUT ABOUT CLICO<<.> A LoT OF LONG TALK>>> WUNNA GONNA LOOK LIKE FOOLS<<<

4. For starters Mia Mottley’s motion of No – Confidence has already IMPLODED !

How ???

George Payne has No – Confidence in MAM.

Ronald Toppin has No – Confidence in MAM

Glynne Clarke has No – Confidence in MAM

We are all aware of what OSA thinks of her !

So MAM explosive has actually EXPLODED in her hands>

Shame !!!

5. Ah but ac, you can admit it or not Mia has the advantage of being right about CLICO. history has proven that and bajan know all the lies the MOF told them.

Donville and Estwick know they will not lose them seats. Chris ass is grass right now and Donville and Estwick is the lawnmower.

Donville wants to be PM and Estwick MOF. i can hear the wedding bells all now.

6. Did ALL the BLP MPs attend MAM’s press conference today?

7. U full a sh..it the blow hard MIA came out wid guns a blazing blaming the DLP for everything that went wrong wid CLICO using she BIG MOUT to FOOL the people that the govvt should use taxpayers money to refund the CLICO policy holders when she should have told the policyholders that govt role is limted as a process like CLICO would have to be decided in the Court. Now again she is taking the BLP yardfowls on a wild goose chase .Have Fun

8. What filing the No Confidence motion will do is keep the country talking (focused???) on the management or mismanagement of the economy win or lose.

9. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2013, MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2013, MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD

I Askquith | October 16, 2013 at 1:56 PM | smell a political rat in the house.@ WHEN YOU SMELL A RAT , THAT MEANS THE CHEESE GONE ,,,,,AND THE RAT ALSO

10. A birds eye view of some of her failures as leader…….NO traction on Rubbing shoulders………Her remarks about UWI student fees fell flat.. the Rubbing shoulders gimmick has been erased by overkilll. Now this ridiculous call for NO CONFIDENCE on Sinckler OH and the PAC MIA at the rate u going the NO CONFIDENCE VOTE MIGHT BE YOUR PILL TO SWALLOW. OSA IS Watching and WAITING.

11. LIKE IT OR LUMP IT Avatar
    LIKE IT OR LUMP IT

We are headed into the hands of the IMF

12. Riots in de land!!! Avatar
    Riots in de land!!!

While Mia is at it she should call a no confidence motion on the Minister of Tourism and get a two for one!

13. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2013, MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2013, MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD

Well Well. | October 16, 2013 at 5:15 PM |

Plantation………….i forgot to mention, condolences are also in order for Caroline Herbert, i found out yesterday that she passed away last week.@

Well Well you may have better info than me, Its sad to hear , for we rather see her in court telling her side of the truth, We know they are nasty people in BARBADOS, LET US HOPE NO ONE KILLED HER ,WE KNOW THEY DONT WANT HER TO APPEAR IN COURT,
    HER FACE OVER THE YEARS BECAME DARKER AND DARKER AND SPOTTY , MUST HAVE BEEN THE STRESS OF THE FRAUD, NO MORE SMILES SHE ALWAYS LOOKED SAD AND KNEW THAT WE KNEW WHAT SHE DID, NO WHERE TO RUN ,, THOSE WHO HELD HER AND HIDE WILL ALSO COME IN TO THE LIGHT, SHE DID NOT SEEM PAST 50?

14. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

Is it a coincidence that articles written by Pat Hoyos, Clyde Mascoll, Albert Brandford, Harry Russell, Sanka Price,Tennyson Joseph and the other BLP supporters at the Nation newspaper all repeat the same political talking points which Mottley made in her recent public relations exercise.

Instead of the Nation newspaper trying to be balanced, they are acting as Mia Mottley’s public relations department.
    Even CBC is being more balanced than the Nation BLP newspaper. The evidence is overwhelming and the Nation newspaper cannot be trusted as a fair and independent publication.
    The Nation newspaper is behaving like the BLP’s prostitute. Its management should be ashamed.

15. David

What I found curious is that having put some lashes in Chris, Mia then turned her attention to Donville and put some lashes in him too.

16. The Budgetary Presentation of the MOF is approved by Cabinet so a vote of no confidence targeted at the MOF is in fact a vote of no confidence in the Stuart administration.

They won’t break ranks……………they can’t.

17. @C4, but of course they cannot break ranks, it is only 16-14/. A break of ranks will by implication, cause a no confidence in the Government as a whole.

The thing is, it is actually symbolic, unless we get a shock and someone does break ranks.

But it is necessary. After all, nothing is actually being done in policy, nothing.

ac, hey ya.

I guess I be around fuh now, as we all.

You talk about MIA failures, but too much going to pot for me to not say anything.

There is no way anyone will invest here at the moment. That is my second concern, subsidiary to the things falling apart, but part of it.

18. @C4

MAM’s attention to Donvile came as a result of question asked.

19. yes crusoe indeed it is of importance that mia;s weakness be broughht to the table, if she cannot take full control of the smaller issues and attain success ,how then as PM would she be able to obtain any success on the larger and more complex and complicated issues that beset a nation and its people, from what it i perecived mia is going about the goverance of a nation as a person with a political vendetta and not choosing good common sense to project hereself as worthy of PM. it as almost as if she is vex with a person or something , However as a person who has been in the political world forever she should know that loud noise and no substance only serves as a distraction and can only go so far, the public first and most important question at the end of the day is . What can YOU do to help is So far all . her strategies always seem to be complicated by noise and confusion and no solutions

20. MAM’s short comings – and we all have them – does not hide the reality that there is a lot of confusion arising from the MoF’s Budgets and the fact that Barbados’ economic performance like the MoT continue to languish behind our peer group of the Caribbean. This is the point. Also it is a no confidence in Sinckler and not the government, for now.

21. Guess this is why the PM should have listened to a large group of Cabinet colleagues when they begged him to postpone the Budgetary Presentation by the MOF. He was told this Budget is crazy, ill conceived and will be difficult if not impossible to effect.

22. To restate a point: the Opposition is doing its job by being a Whip in parliament. When the DLP won it’s narrow two seat majority and seven thousand popular vote as the Americans refer to it, many of us made the point that managing the country would be difficult. This is what we are seeing playing out and the blips and blunders are obviously not helping. The government just has to find a way to exude leadership and infuse people with confidence. This is what matter.

23. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

C4

You are just as bad as PRODIGAL SON, how do you know what the PM’s Cabinet colleagues told him, Liar?

24. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

It would appear that St. Lucia is NOT ‘at least 30 years behind Barbados in terms of (cruise) tourism’ either.
    CTO latest figures – January – August 2013 – Cruise Ship Arrivals
    Barbados – 381,387
    St. Lucia – 392,960

I wonder what the ‘political’ excuse is going to be this time.

25. Carson

I am not a liar. If you want check with any of your friends who are Cabinet and see whether or not at least 4 members did not ask that the date for the Budgetary Proposal be posoned so that the MOF budget could be reworked, refined and certain aspects reviewed as to their legality.

26. Carson

The Government is looking clumsy and juvenile in the execution of its functions. I carry no brief for the BLP but the truth is the truth and unless things change for the better the snake will start eat its tail.

27. C4;
    Things can’t change for the better in any great degree. The Government has proven comprehensively and conclusively that they can’t manage this economy properly. Anywhere else but in Barbados there would have been a groundswell of calls for at least the top people to be changed. But we are brainwashed.

It done. The IMF must come.

28. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Let me quote from a document made available by DAVID:

“The meeting which was held from around 10.25 am until about 2.25 pm was very acrimonious. It was held four (4) days after the BLP lost the 2013 General Elections for which members had been actively campaigning for some two (2) years, and in which they had anticipated a victory. In the aftermath of the narrow defeat members were understandably tired, acutely disappointed and financially drained. They were, too, disposed to blame one or more members of their own ranks for the (Barbados Labour)Party’s defeat.”

In light of this document which was posted by DAVID here on BARBADOS UNDERGROUND Bajans can now deduce from the stance being taken by MIA that,

Having being rejected by Bajan voters from forming the Government of the country the BLP is now trying to become the Government of Barbados from through the back door.

They are almost broke so they are desperately trying to get their paws back on the Treasury to recharge their Bank accounts.

They blamed each other for helping the DLP regain the Government so they (BLP) are now trying to kiss and make up(which is impossible).

29. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

ADRIAN

Go and take your medication!

30. The Minister of Finance has told Barbadians not to worry over the state of the country’s foreign exchange reserves (i.e US$, Euros etc). Although the the recent bond issue attempt failed, the Minister said “The Government is actively considering alternative funding scenarios and the proceeds of the Bond, once it is eventually issued, will be added to foreign reserves, which are expected to remain adequate even in the absence of any bond issue, as a result of an adequate fiscal correction.”

This fiscal correction is in Bdos $ isn’t? What is down the road?

31. Plantation said:

“THOSE WHO HELD HER AND HIDE WILL ALSO COME IN TO THE LIGHT, SHE DID NOT SEEM PAST 50?”

Plantation……..like a true black woman of African ancestry Caroline Herbert held her age well, she was closer to 80 i believe.

32. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

This one is for ADRIAN LOVERIDGE

Letter: Moving on; we’re getting there

Published on October 14, 2013

Dear Sir:

In the natural science of moving on one would have expected to be in a better place and loving it. But, for years now St Lucia is witnessing a reversal.

Of late, action words such as dream, vision, strategy and direction, including a stalled development plan for the island is all of a sudden the new ABCs of politicians.

These active words are not devoid of meaning. They should have been carried into an active operational theatre many moons ago. But human nature being varied and complex have allowed the politics of musical chair representation to take hold.

In recent times, the “University of the Market Steps” (the home of the SLP) has lost what was left of any semblance of relevance. And replaced with “Mickey Mouse” displays, that are more conducive for pre-school and “Sesame Street” playtime.

On the other hand, the charade of artificial offerings, have taken advantage of a depressed livelihood and a people struggling, to find a formula to sustain life. Even so, the vortex of mindlessness has perhaps resurfaced to permeate the non-acceptance of responsibility, and the gauche option of the main opposition political party to change, through old fashion backroom deals and armchair politics.

This has given rise and emboldened subconsciously new aspirants to become gracious liabilities, towards more erroneous calibration. In accordance with a brand of political and economic activity, that, if allowed to advance may be able to enhance the opportunities for cronyism and nepotism.

At any rate, history has the ability to unmask in time, the pretence that is on national display in the name of humanity and nationhood. However, in the interest of time, the subconscious state of mind that is filled with dreams or is it, pipe dreams and is expected to roll out in fourth quarter of the SLP administration should wake up with a more practical vision and do it now – instead of letting the people and country suffer.

Why not moving on NOW to somewhere NICE and meet the needs of the people of St Lucia, since a new ALBA and Petro-Caribe ambassador has been appointed, and remain conspicuously nameless to the vast population. Talk about clandestine… Sheee! But what’s new.

Weekly constituency conference has taken over like the hand to mouth economy, leaving the people to fend for themselves in a dangerous political game of servant and master.

Perhaps Charley Reese in the US newspaper the Orlando Sentinel is on target when he insisted that “Politicians are the only people in the world who create problems and then campaign against them.”

And now with very little left in the basket to offer; it’s time to move on to another weekend political party conference for more colorful headlines, chicken and rum, and Quick Quack… stories in the heritage town of Soufriere.

Hello, did someone say, where de jobs, jobs, jobs and better days that was the Holy Grail of mantras. Has that moved onto elsewhere? The people of Soufriere are still waiting, hoping and praying that trickledown economics is alive and well.

It is my hope that the SLP top brass will display their benevolence and do what was promised and delivered the better days on Sunday October 13 and save me and others some barrels from England?

Baring such, while en route to Soufriere do enjoy a stopover at the hot springs. Your choice of craters is as good as mine! We’re getting there.

And before I forget, is there going to be the usual barrel concession this Christmas, and when will the season open? Please, madame guest speaker, that’s not too much to ask for, not when the theme this weekend is “Moving on We’re getting there.”

I’m lost. Who are the we’re? A whisper will do?

Bagaii La Belle

Tori FataL

I keep asking ADRIAN and he keeps refusing to answer, if St. Lucia is doing so well from a Tourism point of view how is it that the overall economy of St. Lucia is performing so poorly?

Unemployment rate is 23% and climbing equaling Greece.

Where are the Tourism dollars going Certainly no into the pockets of St. Lucians and since this is so can we really say that any increase numbers of tourists going to St. Lucia is any benefit to St. Lucians?

33. NationBLPnewspaper, is that the same CBC that cut the MoF last part of his comments in his reply?

34. CCC, the point is St. Lucia is doing better than Barbados at this time. what the f$%k you dn’t understand about that, you ass?

35. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

David(not bu)

Doing better, how?

36. Is there any truth in the story going the rounds that the Director of Finance was not consulted nor permitted input into the Budget.If that is true,there is no wonder that we are in the mess we are in,but that is the habit of employing people whose trustworthiness is in the pit.How can anyone have a man like Darcy Boyce,a Judas Iscariot now notoriously addressed as a Quisling preside over the content of a budget with only micro content because he doesn’t trust anybody around him.A thief always think anyone else is a thief and hoards his booty.So is the action of the Quisling Boyce and Barbados suffers the result of no input from its senior civil servants,highly trained in monetary and fiscal policy.Public finance cannot be left to chance.Financial husbandry is better left to those whose thought processes are above and beyond political considerations only.

37. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

David(not bu)

Some silly Bajans led by an Englishman are saying that St. Lucia is utopia, but St. Lucians are saying otherwise!

38. NEVER in the history of this independent nation has public morale been at its lowest ebb as it is presently.
    The reckless management of our country by a group of INCOMPETENTS will forever be remembered. How can we BARBADIANS sit and watch these clowns further destroy this country? How can members of the present government not see that their leadership is arrogant and incompetent? How can we expect the PM to see the MOF’s incompetencies when he himself is incompetent of assessing the performance of his ministers. We have a government being lead and followed by blinded fools! IS THIS OUR FUTURE?
    THE INADEQUACIES of the MOF is most glaring. His responses to criticism is infantile and coarse. PLEASE THOSE OF YOU WHO HAVE SOME SEMBLANCE OF INTEGRITY TO PUT BARBADOS FIRST AND VOTE WITH YOUR HEART.

39. @Carson C. Cadogan | October 17, 2013 at 7:37 AM |
    “Having being rejected by Bajan voters from forming the Government of the country the BLP is now trying to become the Government of Barbados from through the back door”

with all the alledged stealing of votes that took place, i hardly believe that the BLP lost the government but look who it seems is sucking salt now, is it not those in the lower bracket who many believed voted for the DLP?

to file a No Confidence motion against anyone is in no way trying to become the government thru the back door…cease burying ur head in the sand

40. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Gabriel

“Darcy Boyce,a Judas Iscariot”

If that is so then what is KERRIE SYMMONDS?

41. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

PINKIE

How were the votes stolen?

42. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

ADRIAN

How much of the Tourism plant in St. Lucia is owned by St. Lucians, 2%, 5%?

43. SORRY but cries for UNITY would fall on deaf ears because of the offensive and reckless manner the BLP members and yardfowls have pounced on a weak and fragile economoy to gain leverage and score political points. not being cautious in their bad moutings which inevitably would hurt all. How can such a damaged be repaired when those from the outside looking in sees such madness and those living it ask WHY.

44. Adrian Loveridge | October 17, 2013 at 7:06 AM |
    It would appear that St. Lucia is NOT ‘at least 30 years behind Barbados in terms of (cruise) tourism’ either.
    CTO latest figures – January – August 2013 – Cruise Ship Arrivals
    Barbados – 381,387
    St. Lucia – 392,960
    I wonder what the ‘political’ excuse is going to be this time.
    ////
    Excuse for what? When you examine the same stats Loveridge quotes the liar conveniently forgot to mention Barbados is 10% up in cruise ship arrivals. His darling St. Lucia is up 2%. IOW Barbados is trending to overtake St. Lucia in short order. Last year the cruise gurus Goddard, Ince and them said they expect a drop in cruise arrivals because of repositioning of ships to the Med and Alaska which would hurt Barbados. The current trend shows the ships are back in Barbados with a bang and more are coming. That’s the most unpalatable news for Adrian Loveoridge and his BLP yardfowl cohorts.

Is there anyone who can explain why this loveridge guy does not relocate from BIM to St. Lucia?

45. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

It always amazes me how some contributors can comment without any real understanding of the tourism industry. St. Lucian hotel ownership – 2%, 5%. Clearly the writer is not familiar with the product. Just look at Sunswept Resorts Ltd and the Barnard family for one.

46. In the Daily Nation of Monday, October 14, 2013, Mr. Clyde Mascoll was reported as having said, in an article under the caption: Bond withdrawal will hurt island, that the withdrawal of the bond offer by government on the international market has serious implications for the financing of government spending in the short term, the foreign reserves position in the medium term, and the country’s debt servicing in the long term.

Therefore, otherwise said, this so-called economist would have in that sense definitely supported full subscription by would have been international transferors of foreign money/ access to the government of Barbados, if there had been that full subscription.

Thus, imagine that Mascoll wants this ramgoat DLP government to be getting other people’s money/access to further mask what have become serious and unavoidable dysfunctions in not only this government’s fiscal, financial, foreign exchange and so-called debt policies, but also the former BLP government’s said fiscal, financial, foreign exchange and so-called debt policies??

So, rather than coming up with serious far reaching policies and methodologies for helping to take Barbados out of this deep and wretched developmental abyss that it has been put in by primarily the adverse negative fiscal and other policies over the years of the same intellectually politically bankrupt and discredited DLP and BLP, this so-called economist would have been supportive of a bond offer that – had it not been withdrawn – would have substantially increased the cost of use of foreign money to the incomes, payments and transfers of the relevant Barbadians and their respective entities to even greater staggeringly higher levels than now, and that thus would have put Barbados greater on a path to greater becoming a second rate Third World developing country status.

Remove the Damned DLP and the Blasted BLP, now!!

47. Just Commenting Avatar

To all political “:foul cocks” and “pailing hens” who talk foolishness about vote stealing and other issues which are rumored to happen, you can now shut your collective backsides. Verbal diarrhea is not a good thing to suffer with.
    This Chris/MIA matter is a minuscule matter which is now enjoying center-stage because the people who are illuminating it are pea-brains. The saying that says “Small things amuse small minds” had to have been coined right here in Barbados. We are now aware who these small minds are, as this matter has shown whose brains are only exclusively supporting autonomic nervous functions in their bodies. And as for this “women’s” movement who’s quick to cry foul I say this to you. Show value or shut UP!
    Women now occupy many senior positions in the private and public sectors but cant get a single national project in this God-forsaken island off the ground and successfully brought to completion! So shut up already!
    We collective need to deal with the problem! The problem is the Status Quo. We Barbadians must keep things a “certain way” Only certain people who belong to specific strata in society should have anything or be facilitated with anything. The remainder can suck salt.
    The painful thing is to hear the very people who make up the Untermensch in this land speak about how bad the DLP is, but their educations and abilities to marginally function at a most basic cognizant level was as a result of the very DLP and the vision of its then leader who made certain that education became a right and not a privilege to the average man.
    Talk about biting the hand that fed you!
    Barbadians, stop being so “hand to mouth”. Look for ways to save, to cut your spending, to make your work more profitable. Stop asking the government to do it all. Stop expecting miracles from politicians. Stop calling brass tacks and crying about whose salaries didn’t take a cut, while the members of your race are still, in this economic climate, keeping supermarket prices artificially high! You have no credibility when your mouths are collectively opened to cry! You hate to be told that you are WRONG, You hate the DLP because it doesn’t let you run rough-shod over the population as you like. So you send home staff, reduce your spending, move your money to offshore accounts and do you best to undermine the party at the expense of the country! You FOOLS! You have no vision! You have been a merchant class for years you can never be a STRATEGIC class. You cant grow Barbados because you lack ideas and innovation. To HELL with you!
    The Chris/Mia smoke-screen will clear and we will look for the next rum-shop event to entertain or stupidity and fuel our un-ending complaints.
    Want to make a difference in this land? Want to make things better? Want the country to grow and progress? Do you really want this? Because if you do, if you really do, Ive got the solution and its simple and easy to implement. And I’m willing to share it for free.

48. Here is what some of you are missing. The inability of the government to infuse confidence in most Barbadians (individuals/businesses) has now leaked into the international sphere. The ability (or inability) of Barbados to fight its way out of this mess calls for some one who can rally the troops. So far it has not happened. The No Confidence Motion is an unnecessary diversion at this time. The government needs to squash it or they must be the perception that they have done so.

And yes, the MoT’s response was puerile and asinine.

49. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

My dear friend, the embattled and incompetent minister of Finance in Barbados admitted in the August 2013 budget that:
    “Noting the loss of over 300 million dollars in reserves in just over three months, it would be reasonable to deduce that much of this could be attributed to a decline in the level of overall confidence in our economy by foreign and domestic investors alike. … the prolongation of the international downturn, the persistently high budget deficits of the government and its unsustainable debt levels, together with the sluggish growth figures can be highlighted as the chief contributors to this apparent declining confidence.”
    Is the man who brought us to this position really expecting to survive a no confidence vote in the peoples’ court?

Leave a Reply to Code Name OctopussyCancel reply