Adrian Loveridge - Hotelier
Adrian Loveridge – Hotelier

When you read emotive statements such as ‘In two months we would have reached the enviable target of over one billion earned impressions on our digital properties supporting brand Barbados’  perhaps you cannot fail to be left in a condition of being awestruck. But then, reflecting on the words, what does this actually mean and how does it impact on our current tourism performance.

It is quickly realised that while the less informed may get blown away with the flowery phraseology, certainly in the last seventeen consecutive months, it has not had any positive effective on driving increased long stay visitor arrivals.

We are also in the third year of the quoted multi million marketing arrangement with superstar Rihanna and ten months since her long delayed campaign video has been aired. When I last checked YouTube it had received over 450,000 views. On reflection, at least the inclusion of a ‘call to action’ or proven method of monitoring the level of booked holiday conversion ratio would have demonstrated any cost-effectiveness. Surely, by now, we should have started to see some sort of return on ‘our’ investment?

Other promotions like the $11 million Barbados Island Inclusive initiative have clearly not made up for the dramatic decline.  This now stands at over 61,100 ‘lost’ long stay visitors from April 2012 until August 2013. September tourism figures this year, have yet to be disclosed, but indications point to the continuation of a dismal performance.

Yes! we know that ongoing national tourism policy direction is largely led by Government agencies but if the same scenario was being experienced by a private sector company or corporation, how much longer could it afford to go on losing market share month after month. While those in control of directing our tourism industry continue to function in a flagrant state of denial, it is very difficult to know, if this persists, what more can be done to address the crisis.

The facts speak for themselves. In 2012, of the 25 reporting Caribbean Tourism Organisation members, 19 reported positive stop-over growth. 4 recorded a fall of 1.8 per cent or less and only one, Grenada, approached anything like the 5.5 per cent fall experienced by Barbados. Simply put, of the 25 countries submitting their arrival data, Barbados had the worse performance. Yet right up until a few days ago, the media is quoting excuses like ‘some destinations may argue have seen growth, but usually they are emerging destinations which results will reflect, but they are not a mature destination such as Barbados’.

This continued facade of delusion must concern us all, and the longer we go on denying there is a problem, the path to recovery becomes more arduous and prolonged. After all, what other practical choice do we currently have?

Barbadian tourism marketing prowess used to be the envy of most of our regional neighbours. Nowadays, ‘we’ have almost become the laughing stock in the Caribbean when plan after plan are proclaimed publicly, then months and sometimes years later, the majority fail to materialise in reality.

86 responses to “Barbados Tourism: Plan Versus Actual”

1. Most sensible bajans are aware of the mindless ,hateful, and insightful, inspid garbage *drien continues cto write . The few here on BU who agrees with him you can count on your fingers…. In todays advocate there is an article which brings to light more tourism decline for carribbean islands as the ongoing stalemate in america in regards to govt shutdown and its impacts on the Tourism industry…. for Adrien ignorance is bliss where fools would follow

2. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

So am I wrong?

18th consecutive months of long stay visitors decline.
    Lowest September long stay visitor arrivals in 11 years.

As I mentioned before, we go on rewarding people for failure.

3. Adrian Loveridge | October 9, 2013 at 4:15 AM |

David, I did not hear the show yesterday, but being a ‘mature destination’ is no argument at all in my view. If anything, it should give us an advantage.

18 consecutive months of long stay visitor decline and the LOWEST arrivals numbers in ANY month during the last 11 years in September 2013.

Something has to change.

This is from:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Marketing

Marketing is the process of communicating the value of a product or service to customers for the purpose of selling the product or service. It is a critical business function for attracting customers.

And this:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Advertising

Advertising or advertizing is a form of communication for marketing and used to encourage, persuade, or manipulate an audience (viewers, readers or listeners; sometimes a specific group) to continue or take some new action.

DD is no marketing or advertising expert; but it seems to me that the virtual absence of advertising (in Canada at least) has to be a significant contributing factor to 18 consecutive months of long stay visitor decline and the LOWEST arrivals numbers in ANY month during the last 11 years in September 2013.

On Saturday October 5 there were full page ads in the Travel section of the Globe and Mail for LeSport (The BodyHoliday) in Saint Lucia, and for one of the Sandals properties.

Today, October 9, there is a half page joint Air Canada Vacations/St. Lucia Tourism ad featuring 8 properties (including 3 Sandals properties) in the Business section of the Toronto Star.

These newspaper ads in the Globe and the Star for competing destinations appear at least weekly and often twice weekly as well as Westjet/St. Lucia ads.

Since the start of 2013, there has been virtually no newspaper advertising in Toronto for Barbados properties.

Given the absence of marketing/advertising, how could there not be 18 consecutive months of long stay visitor decline and the LOWEST arrivals numbers in ANY month during the last 11 years in September 2013.

The MOF said in his budget speech that government would be funding BTA with $50 million, including $13 million to pay its payables, when it gets funding from a (to be negotiated) $100 million loan from IADB; so it is obvious that BTA has no money for advertising until it gets the money from AIDB to pay its existing payable

The “something that has to change” is that the hoteliers, individually or collectively through BHTA, have to step up to fill that void left by BTA’s absence, to encourage, persuade, or manipulate past or new visitors to choose to vacation in Barbados.

failure to do so will simply ensure that the downward spiral in long stay visitors will continue and accelerate; and in the words of CCC (who I hate to quote) the dying tourism horse will be dead.

4. DLP destroying Barbados
    every sector in trouble
    They say BLP was bad
    DLP baddest they ever had

5. Peltdownman says:

One sinister note – he mentions the Barbados Dollar being being at a disadvantage at 2:1 with the US$ compared with the DR etc. He’s never mentioned that before. Has he been away on briefing classes to help set us up for a devaluation?

When Carson comments on the blog, we know what is being discussed, never mind they don’t think it’s necessary to tell the taxpayers anything, right now we know that devaluation is first on the list of topics…….

6. The truth is that YOU adrien has figured out a way to destroy TRUTH…using the slave master mentality of indoctrination with a repetitive echo that sooner or later trasform a lie to REALITY…….

7. PRESS RELEASE
    Oct. 9, 2013, 12:17 p.m. EDT
    JetBlue Increases Service to Barbados
    New York’s Hometown Airline Moves to Daily A321 Service –

NEW YORK, Oct. 9, 2013 /PRNewswire via COMTEX/ — JetBlue Airways JBLU +0.15% today announces a renewed commitment to Barbados, with plans to serve New York/JFK to Bridgetown, Barbados with daily Airbus A321 service, adding up to 580 seats per week each way, starting December 19, 2013. Additionally, JetBlue has filed to offer more capacity to Barbados during peak holiday times, including President’s Day and Easter, subject to receipt of government approval. Both the daily A321 flights and additional peak holiday flights are now available for sale on JetBlue.com.
    “JetBlue has been a trusted partner to Barbados since 2009, moving large numbers of visitors and members of the diaspora to our beautiful island!” said Adrian Elcock, Chairman of the Barbados Tourism Authority. “We are extremely excited to have reached an agreement with JetBlue to significantly increase their capacity to Barbados and we will continue to work aggressively with the expansive JetBlue network as part of our greater strategy of securing more arrivals from the United States.”
    “The people of Barbados and those who love to visit the island nation for work or pleasure can continue to rely on JetBlue for great service at a competitive fare,” said Robin Hayes, JetBlue’s chief commercial officer. “We have been warmly welcomed by the Barbadian community ever since we started service in 2009, and it is our honor to continue to meet the travel needs of this community.”
    JetBlue expects to meet peak winter holiday demand by deploying brand new A321 aircraft on the route starting December 19, 2013. These aircraft will be fresh from the Airbus factory and will not initially have LiveTV programming (television, movies or radio) available. As a new aircraft to the JetBlue fleet, the A321 must receive a supplemental type certificate from the Federal Aviation Administration before JetBlue can install and activate the airline’s signature entertainment on all A321s. The certification timeline may be impacted by the partial U.S. government shut down. JetBlue anticipates offering LiveTV’s full suite of entertainment on the first A321 aircraft by April 2014 (a). Per the airline’s policy, all customers on aircraft without functioning inflight entertainment will receive a $15 travel certificate credit per flight, valid for one year, to apply to future JetBlue travel.
    About JetBlue AirwaysAs New York’s Hometown Airline(TM) and a leading carrier in Boston, Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood, Los Angeles (Long Beach), Orlando and San Juan, JetBlue carries 29 million customers a year to 79 cities in the US, Caribbean and Latin America with more than 750 daily flights. With JetBlue, all seats are assigned, all fares are one-way, and an overnight stay is never required. JetBlue’s fleet totals 189 aircraft, comprising 130 Airbus A320s and 59 Embraer E190s. Upcoming destinations include Savannah, Ga.; Worcester, Mass.; Port-au-Prince, Haiti; Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago; and Lima, Peru, subject to receipt of government approval. For more information please visit JetBlue.com.
    (a) Live satellite TV and radio programming is not available on flights operating outside the continental U.S. Where applicable, JetBlue may offer complimentary JetBlue Features(TM) movies on these flights.
    SOURCE JetBlue Airways
    Copyright (C) 2013 PR Newswire. All rights reserved

8. The DLP / right
    Everybody else/ wrong
    How could this bee
    Somebody needs
    psychological evaluating
    head examining
    botsy examining
    stool examining
    mout examining
    teet ha fe tawk
    tawk ha fe walk
    walk ha fe caulk
    in the morning
    caulk /.evening
    shit heads or
    air heads dabbling dribbling dropsy
    should sit on a topsy
    not chair in house o’ assembly
    recall legislation
    hardears yuh go feel it; yuh now feel it
    bread and fish bullers

—————————–
    Yaaaaaaaaaaaagga -run tings

9. The Jet Blue announcement is good news indeed.

10. The Jet Blue announcement is indeed good news for Barbados.

Now the hoteliers have advertise to fill those seats.

11. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

ADRIAN LOVERIDGE will find that something is wrong with it. Trust me on that!!!

12. “Now that the Tourists are not coming in their usual numbers because of the difficulty there they are facing in their own home territories we now see what a mistake a “Service” economy is.”

http://media.unwto.org/en/press-release/2013-08-25/international-tourism-demand-exceeds-expectations-first-half-2013

Are they referring to monkeys?

13. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Its not about trust, its about facts.

Good news indeed, but does not redress the situation altogether.

Daily American Airlines – B757 = 1,316 seats per week.
    Daily jetBlue – increased 580 seats (during non-peak periods) per week.

Net potential loss – 736 seats per week.

And does NOT address the US Airways merger potential.

14. Canada seems to be holding it’s own, we need to improve in Europe which adds more to the tourist numbers.

15. This is off topic; BUT,

I just read the article on the back page of the Advocate, and remarks of the MOH (assuring Barbadians that the government will ensure that there is access to health care for all), and the Acting CEO of QEH saying that QEH would never say they were “hung out to dry” by their suppliers,.

Reading between the lines of their remarks; it sounds to me like the finances of the Government are far worse than I had previously understood.

If health care finances in as bad a condition as the article suggests; there seems little hope that there will be money for BTA.

BTW, where is the QEH CEO, when the hospital is living hand to mouth?

16. as usual adrien always has his own version of bad news stack away in his back pocket must be a heavy load to carry around daily , who said life aint easy was right cause adrein is the perfect example

17. Cuba most popular Caribbean destination among Britons English.news.cn   2013-10-09 12:31:19 HAVANA, Oct. 8 (Xinhua) — Cuba has attracted the largest number of 2014 holiday bookings in the Caribbean region from British tourists, Caribbean News Digital magazine said Tuesday, citing Britain’s Loveholidays travel agency.

Jonny Marsh, CEO of Loveholidays, said Cuba was the most popular Caribbean destination, accounting for 70 percent of bookings to the region for 2014.

According to the magazine, Cuba “offers a tremendous value for the British in terms of the quality-price of its products.”

Until recently, Cuba was off the radar for mainstream tourism in the Caribbean region, said Marsh. But today’s “all-inclusive” promotions at five-star hotels have helped make the Caribbean island nation one of the main attractions for the British travel market.

Cuba’s tourism infrastructure is robust, offering more than 60,000 rooms at some 300 hotels throughout the country.

Britain is now the second main source of international visitors to Cuba, after Canada.

Loveholidays’ study of the most popular Caribbean destinations for the British market also found that Jamaica was considered the most economical destination in the region for those on a limited budget.

Editor: Bi Mingxin

18. To think that Cuba is attracting the most Brits without any significant advertising speaks will for their product. It says a lot about ours and the expectation of the UK market.

19. Caribbean Lover Avatar

“…Your focus ought to be curbing the high rate of killings instead of lying on Barbados….”
    ————————————————————————————
    WAITING, WAITING, WAITING, I’m afraid you’re losing your mind. You cannot substantiate your 30 killings in St.Lucia for 2013, so you accuse me of lying on Barbados, the island of my birth by a St.Lucian mother.
    When Bajans, like you and Carson, talk shit about St.Lucia I come to her defense; and when St.Lucians talk shit about Barbados, which they hardly do, I likewise come to Barbados’ defense.
    Go to St. Albans infant school (the girl school) and St. Albans junior school (the boys school) in St. James, and also the Speightown boys school in St. Peter and look me up; then come again.

20. @Carson
    Lets face it; the Barbados dollar is overvalued.

Hear what I tell yer? Carson, being the fount of so much knowledge, please first of all advise us of what percentage of each tourist dollar goes back out in foreign exchange to feed and house them. Then please explain to us in detail how a devaluation of the Barbados Dollar would make any difference to the price of a holiday. Then tell us in detail what will happen to the cost of living in Barbados, a country that spends over a billion dollars on imported food and other items. Then spell out in detail what will happen to the manufacturing and agricultural sectors when the cost of their inputs (almost all imported) rise as a result of a devaluation. Please, lay off your research on what’s so bad in St Lucia, and give us the benefit of your wisdom.

21. Please see the link below to see what will really attract visitors to Barbados. When you think of all the heritage sites that we have and what potential they have, why can’t our officialshave the vision of Larry Warren?

22. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

It is a common myth that the hoteliers and other tourism partners do NOT spend substantial amounts on marketing their product. I am reliably informed by a former BHTA President, that their members alone, spend around $40 million annually. If you look at the BTA accounts (when available) you will see that a HUGE proportion of their budget is NOT spent directly on marketing at all.

23. ‘Adrian
    I hate to keep harping about (the absence of) marketing and advertising.

I googled “Barbados Tourism Authority Annual Report” and Barbados Tourism Authority Financial Statement”, but found nothing.

I can only speak to the matter in Canada/Toronto; where newspaper and other media adversing for Barbados tourism product is virtually non-existent.

I came across this comment in a post in one your articles in another blog:

“K Murphy
    July 8, 2013 at 3:47 pm

Hello, and Greetings from the United States ~

Q: Whom is the Barbados Tourism Authority actually “Targeting” in their marketing ?

I am not sure, as I have never seen a single advertisement in the US.”

If the hotels and other BHTA members are spending $40 million annually on marketing, and I do not see any ads in Canada and K Murphy has never seen a single advertisement in the US, they are not getting much bang for their $40 million bucks in 2 of the 3 key markets.

If advertising is a form of communication for marketing and used to encourage, persuade, or manipulate an audience (viewers, readers or listeners; sometimes a specific group) to continue or take some new action, I have to say they are not communicating very well.

Are they spending their advertising dollars in China and Brazil?

You said – “Something has to change”

I said
    The “something that has to change” is that the hoteliers, individually or collectively through BHTA, have to step up to fill that void left by BTA’s absence, to encourage, persuade, or manipulate past or new visitors to choose to vacation in Barbados.

Failure to do so will simply ensure that the downward spiral in long stay visitors will continue and accelerate; and in the words of CCC (who I hate to quote) the dying tourism horse will be dead.

Please tell me where/how the $40 million was spent.

BTW – I was able to find the BHTA 2012 Annual Report, a very comprehensive and detailed report. I note that about 50% of its income is for staff costs and about 8% is for advertising, public relations and promotional tours.

24. Adrian Loveridge Avatar

I understand that the BHTA accounts are exactly that, and cover the finances of the Association and not of the individual members. Don’t forget a lot of the individual members funds go into supporting BTA led promotions (ie: WTM and ITB) and all the trade/road shows around the various markets. Add complimentary rooms, meals etc., and the real cost to the private sector really adds up.

25. Adrian

Thanks

I understand that times are tough in Barbados tourism; but I do not understand why no advertising in North America.

Piggy backing with BTA has not been working for the past 18 months.

“Something has to change”

Sandals advertises profusely.

St. Lucia advertises jointly with Air Canada and Westjet weekly.

Mexican, Cuban, Dominican Republic, Belize properties are advertised weekly.

Is there something that the Barbados tourism industry knows that those in the these other countries do not know – about marketing/advertising?

Barbados cannot afford to sit and wait for Butch to build his Beaches and promote Barbados as he does for St. Lucia, Grenada, Antigua, Bahamas and T&C

26. What is needed is for the Auditor General to tell us where the money is really going.

27. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

DD, we CAN do a lot better and that applies to both the public and private sector. The first hurdle to climb is getting politics out of tourism. My thoughts are putting the Opposition Tourism Shadow onto the BTA board before (if ever) it is restructured. That way, they could never deny knowledge of, or involvement , whichever party is in ‘power’.

28. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

The problem is that Hotel sector is owned and operated by a lot of visionless people. They depend on Government for everything.

Without Government they are lost.

29. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Carson, we already know that and to remind the public that the hotel you were associated with begged for and received nearly ONE million in TIRF (Tourism Industry Relief Funds) taxpayers monies.
    What is the expression, ‘the pot calling the kettle black’
    Shall I remind you of the dates it was paid over to your visionless hotel?

30. Peltdownman

Wouldn’t it be great if the Auditor General COULD tell us where the money is going – or has gone.

This is from Chapter 1, General Issues, in the Report of the Auditor General for the year 2012
    “1.2 It has been five (5) years since Government has been switched from the cash to accrual basis of accounting; however, there continue to be considerable shortcomings in the accounts presented which have so far resulted in the Audit Office being unable to verify that the financial statements are presented fairly and in accordance with International Public Sector Accounting standards. There were numerous omissions from the financial statements presented, and these included over $150 million which was owed to the University of the West Indies, Cave Hill Campus
    1.3 Revenue continues to be recorded on a cash, rather than an accrual basis, and numerous items on the balance sheet such as Plant, Equipment and Furniture, and Accounts Receivable could not be verified because of the absence of adequate supporting schedules. There is a need for an urgent examination of accounting currently being practiced by Government since, in many instances, there is no adherence to International Public Sector Accounting Standards (IPSAS) to which the Government has subscribed. Regrettably, as in previous years, I have to report that my Office could not certify that the financial statements which were presented gave an accurate picture of the financial position and operations of the Government.”

So the Auditor General CAN’T tell us where the money is going or where it has gone.

This is much worse than DD could have imagined.

How can anyone trust what the MOF or the GOB say if they cannot keep a proper set of books?

QEH cannot pay its drug suppliers (partners).

BTA has $13 million of past due payables, according to the MOF in his budget speech. How do we know it is not $23 million, or $33 million.

How can Government expect to raise money on international markets, when it can’t keep the books?

How can anyone trust anything the Government says?

IMF to the rescue please.

31. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

ADRIAN

Go back and read what I wrote.

Carson C. Cadogan | October 10, 2013 at 3:46 PM |

32. Whither the National Insurance Scheme?

On 10 October 2013 21:12, Barbados Underground

33. Just booked a week in Costa Rica. Air far from Miami $400 return, hotel Courtyards Mariott with pool and gym $90 per night and I can buy local healthcare for very little money. So what can Barbados offer to compete?

34. David

NIS?

Who knows if they can’t keep books.

I wonder how many of the names on the list of delinquents are actually up-to-date; but their contributions are lost in the accounting system the AG says is in urgent need of examination

35. Will Barbadians be told the objective of the BTA’s attendance at the World Routes 2013? How much has it cost Barbados?

http://www.routesonline.com/events/160/world-routes-2013/attending-delegates/p6/

36. Caribbean Lover | October 10, 2013 at 6:29 AM |
    Look boy you are a waste of space you like herpes you recur and irritate. I don’t give a rats ass who born you or where. Neither do I give a cow’s crutch if you went school in St.Peter or you sponge off taxpayers money at Cave Hill. When you speak ill of Barbados as you did I will confront you. You low islanders have a long culture of bad mouthing Barbados none more so than your leaders. I don’t give a f**k about you or your leaders. Your island has big crime and economic problems denying and lying your fanny off on Barbados isn’t going to solve them.

Leave a Reply to TravellerCancel reply