95 responses to “Government Shutdown in the USA”

1. So…..let us get this right (NOT BU)….somehow Bushie is to blame because the BLP got themselves involved with various bribe-taking, money wasting scams ….losing the 2008 and 2013 elections to the DLP – who then turned out to be totally incompetent during the global economic chaos post 2008 …..????
    WTF!!
    All Bushie has done is call it as it is…AND ALWAYS WILL! …ALL brass bowls….!
    If the bushman has rattled your cage ….TOO bad! worse is yet to come.
    Finally, your suggestion that the BLP (which fraction?) would do a better job is downright laughable, if they managed to balls up every thing during the stable period of high tourism income; to balls up World CUP Cricket; …..what suggests to you that they would now be suddenly competent…?

You better wake up and smell the coffee skippa…..it got in brass

@ Just Asking
    Judging from your accuracy in predicting the last election results it is clear that your ears are to the ground….the ground behind a pit toilet.
    Why don’t you stick to asking questions? That way you may be mistaken as normal. 🙂 LOL Ha Ha

2. that is what you Bush Tea but then again you are blind.

i would like to hear from you, given what we have who you think should run this country?

3. BT SAYS
    You better wake up and smell the coffee skippa…..it got in brass
    =============
    are you suggesting that the brass dissolving in the coffee? LOL
    HERE LISTENING TO HANDEL’S MESSIAH

THERE IS SOME BRASS IN THE ORCHESTRA BUT NO BRASS BOWLS LOL

4. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea | October 3, 2013 at 4:57 PM |
    “All Bushie has done is call it as it is…AND ALWAYS WILL! …ALL brass bowls….!”

Now, Bushie, you purposely forgot the CLICO scam.
    Tell us, oh Sage, the solution to this one! Would you put this one squarely in the lap of the BLP or would you settle for a 50:50 deal?

Would you ask Mara to use some of the laundered money to help finance the David Thompson Memorial Football Tournament? We are sure you would agree that such an affordable gesture (a mere incidental cost out of the many millions scammed from the policyholders to perpetuate Sweetcakes’ memory) would help relieve some of the burden the poor beleaguered taxpayers are being asked to shoulder.

In the country’s hour of need it would be certainly seen as highly altruistic if the good Catholic widow, as a form of penitence, was to establish the David Thompson Foundation & Endowment Fund to finance these kinds of events (including covenanted annual contributions to the DT Memorial Polyclinic) to venerate one of the biggest liars and crooks Barbados has ever seen.

As the crowning show of good faith and commitment to the cause and objectives of the Foundation she could appoint Leroy Parris as its life-time trustee.

Just remember BT: ‘The sins of the father shall be visited unto the children of the third and fourth generation’. You are quite aware of this inevitable outcome of retribution.
    But you also know your BBE is always forgiving provided one is prepared to pay the dues for past transgressions whether in the form of indulgences or penance. 50% of the laundered proceeds seems a reasonable figure for a “Win-Win” outcome, don’t you think?

5. You serious Not BU?
    No one has given more suggestions of managing Bim than Bushie.
    From a cooperative management team consisting of persons who APPLY for the positions – having met minimum qualifications standards…..to a national supervisory committee (Bushie even nominated candidates…)
    ….to a recent government of national unity using what little we had in parliament – to be led by Col Bostic in the first instance….and you want to see Bushie’s suggestions….?

You only looking to bwuse Bushie, but you gotta join a REAL LONG line to do that….. LOL ….we have to wonder WHO is blind now….! 🙂

It looking like we got brass in nuff things yuh…. Coffee, rum, coke, water…..LOL the only safe drink like um is TEA yuh…. Ha Ha

@ miller
    You only ask questions where you already know the answers….
    CLICO – nuff nuff people to lock up. Not only the politicians, but the Supervisor, board members, the senior staff….and ALL THE traceable assets should be confiscated.

Not one shoite ain’t wrong wid the football – it is an investment in a LARGE SEGMENT of the young population who would not benefit from the UWI freeness…..and it is NOWHERE near the amounts spent (wasted?) in education judging from the returns we get….

Perhaps Mara should make a contribution to football to justify the name assigned to the tournament….if Arthur could make a personal grant to cricket legends…… Why not?

ALL are brass…..

6. not only are you blind but ya stupid too.

7. BT
    you like you want to change the Word now yuh….from all flesh is grass to ALL FLESH IS BRASS murdah

8. The latest on the US government shutdown:

As the partial U.S. government shutdown enters a second day, and with both Republicans and Democrats firmly entrenched in their positions, any movement from either party to break the spending impasse seems unlikely in the days ahead.

“It looks pretty bleak to me,” Matthew Baum, professor of public policy at Harvard University’s John F. Kennedy school of government, said in an interview.

The shutdown was initiated after a routine government spending bill saddled with Republican-sponsored provisions to delay parts of Obamacare, failed to win support in the Democratic controlled senate. This forced 800,000 federal employees off their jobs and meant the closure of a series of non-essential government services.

http://www.cbc.ca/news/world/u-s-government-shutdown-what-s-next-1.1875050

9. @ David of BU
    As man David, surely you can see that it is no longer “business as usual” in this world of ours….
    There is no logical way to explain this level of stupidity in the USA….especially at a time like this..

10. AGREED BT
    There is no logical way to explain this level of stupidity in BARBADOS EITHER………… .especially at a time like this..

11. THE SHUT DOWN APPEARS TO BE A PROPAGANDA STUNT TO ME

12. @Bush Tea

It is as if the USA lawmakers are ignorant to how their economy will impact the global economy if they refuse to sort their mess out quickly.

13. @ Georgie Porgie

Just months ago, someone posted that they are in need of catarack surgery which is being delayed because Queen Elizabeth Hospital (Barbados) does not have the necessary medicine; it’s out of stock, has been for quite some time; hospital can’t afford it.The individual, additionally worries of going blind. Quality healthcare is not found in Barbados. This is just fact. Thompson perhaps couldn’t be helped in the United States but a United States hospital it seems saved your Mighty Sparrow man. I wouldn’t live there (Barbados). I just woudn’t live there.

14. We always seem to shift from the crud of the argument. The bottom line is that millions of Americans cannot afford health care and if you have a preexisting condition,crappo smoke your pipe.

15. Bottom line, evidence of quality healthcare does exist in the United States.

16. @ LOOK
    You could really get off this topic – cause you are talking a roll….
    When it comes to healthcare, Barbados – at our worse- is miles ahead of the USA ….wkhen it comes to the down-to-earth business of providing quality health care to a population.
    The USA SUCKS!
    It is not health care wunna have…it is a money making scam.
    TRUE, if someone has some money (ie if they are prepared to sell their home) then they may benefit from high tech services which may extend their life …for as long as the money lasts….

Say what we like about Barbados and our weak systems! but only a vey few countries like Canada and some European countries offer an OVERALL better health service to CITIZENS than does Barbados.

Health services are better in the USA …..for millionaires. BUT overall, Barbados is MILES ahead in this regard.

Shiite man, even with Obama’s desperate attempt to help MILLIONS who are presently in the same health situation as exists in banana republics, the USA still will not match what has existed in Barbados for DECADES now…..
    So
    …jump on your broom and go have a look, LOOK 🙂

17. LOOK | October 4, 2013 at 6:09 AM |
    @ Georgie Porgie

Just months ago, someone posted that they are in need of catarack surgery which is being delayed because Queen Elizabeth Hospital (Barbados) does not have the necessary medicine; it’s out of stock, has been for quite some time; hospital can’t afford it.The individual, additionally worries of going blind. Quality healthcare is not found in Barbados. This is just fact. Thompson perhaps couldn’t be helped in the United States but a United States hospital it seems saved your Mighty Sparrow man. I wouldn’t live there (Barbados). I just woudn’t live there.
    LAST YEAR I HAD BILATERAL SURGERY FOR CATARACTS IN BARBADOS
    I PURPOSEFULLY WENT HOME TO GET IT
    I WORE GLASSES FROM AGE 11
    I HAVE NOT WORN GLASSES SINCE JULY 2012
    IF YOU WANT CATARACT SURGERY IN BARBADOS GO SEE NIGEL BARKER!

Quality healthcare is AVAILABLE TO VERY FEW IN THE USA

EXPENSIVE HEALTHCARE IS AVAILABLE, HOWEVER , TO ALL!

18. David | October 4, 2013 at 6:13 AM |
    We always seem to shift from the crud of the argument.THIS IS A FACT!

The bottom line is that millions of Americans cannot afford health care and if you have a preexisting condition,crappo smoke your pipe.AND THIS IS EVEN IF YOU HAVE INSURANCE

MOST BAJANS CAN NOT AFFORD HEALTH CARE EITHER BUT FROM 1985 THE BARBADOS GOVERNMENT HAS PROVIDED IT FREE OF COST TO WHOSOEVER AVAILED THEMSELVES OF THE PROVISION

19. The health care system is Bim, while not perfect because none is, has been a lifesaver for many people on the island, both visitors and locals alike…………..one of my daughters was visiting the island picked up an infection and was treated promptly and professionally on the island.

20. @ Georgie Porgie

You are a bigger NUT CASE than I thought. Barbados is THIRD WORLD and [If] Barbados health care was so far ahead of the United States and its not, the ex-prime minister, David Thompson surely would have remained there for treatment needed.

21. LOOK
    Barbados MAY BE THIRD WORLD BUT IF YOU ARE ILL YOU CAN GO TO A POLYCLINIC AND BE SEEN FOR FREE IN A REASONABLE TIME.

SUCH A SERVICE IS NOT AVAILABLE EVEN TO FOLK WITH INSURANCE AND MONEY IN THE USA——-THEY HAVE TO WAIT UNTIL THEY CAN GET AN APPOINTMENT

the ex-prime minister, David Thompson THOUGHT INCORRECTLY THAT HE COULD BE HELPED IN THE USA

HE WAS VERY INCORRECT…………HE DIED AND WAS PLANTED AS I PREDICTED AT THE TIME. YOUR LOGIC INDICATES THAT YOU ARE A MEMBER OF THE LOWEST OF THE LOWLY EQUINOIDS.

THIS IS WHAT I SAW IN FL RECENTLY
    IT TOOK A 35,000 MACHINE FOR STAFF TO BE ABLE TO DRAW BLOOD FROM A PATIENT.

IT TOOK TWO CT SCANS FOR DRS TO DECIDE THE PATIENT HAD RENAL STONES

WE WERE MAKING THE DIAGNOSIS AT HOME 40 YEARS AGO BY TAKING A HISTORY

WE WERE DRAWING BLOOD FROM PATIENTS THEN WITH JUST A NEEDLE AS THE OLD GLASS SYRINGES OFTEN DIDNT WORK AND WASTED OUR TIME

22. LOOK
    YOU ARE A MEDICAL ILLITERATE
    I WILL NOT WASTE MY TIME WITH YOU ANY LONGER

23. @Look October 3 at 5:17 a.m. “Mr. Thompson, had been ill since March and traveled to New York several times for treatment.”

And what exactly was the New York hospital able to do for him?

He is still as dead as a doornail, isn’t he?

The mortality rate in the USA is 100%

The mortality rate in Barbados is 100%

We are ALL going to die.

And “no” this isn’t a threat. It is a fact.

24. Caribbean Lover Avatar

Why are the Republicans still trying to make Mr. Obama a one-term President is beyond me.

25. Agree with the last two comments,This shutdown has the ability to go all the way until they have to deal with a default of the debt and the specific faction within the House Republican party call “Tea party” is basically calling all the shots hence where we are now.It is increasingly looking like this could be a prolonged campaign of self harm to the US government based on its debt obligations and the US people who have suffered because of a lack of services due to the shutdown.There is no win-win,everyone loses imo during this crisis.

26. Jay…..the protracted government shut-down instigated by the republicans might actually bite them very soon, the primaries are next month.

27. GP………don’t look for an end to the madness anytime soon.

28. LOL
    THEOLOGIANS BELIEVE THAT THE USA WILL GO OVER TO USHER IN THE REVIVED ROMAN EMPIRE AS A PRECURSOR TO THE RISE OF ANTICHRIST

MAYBE THE SHUTDOWN WILL HELP

29. we complain of paying to go to QEH

HERE IN sANDFORD FL FAMILY MEMBER WAS CHARGED 25 THOUSAND ,JUST FOR VISIT TO ER
    THIS HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH DRS FEE 1500$ OR FOR READING XRAYS 600

30. I LIVE IN THE USA MORON

31. The debt was 9 trillion when Obama took over and now it is 17 million? So what’s the problem again?

32. Again, Barbados has too many problems of its own, should keep its nose out of USA. Barbados yet has not paid Al Barack, now must pay that Jamacian woman, quite a bit must say. Let’s not talk about Queen Elizabeth Hospital and UWI.

33. @ David

Barbados has its own debt problem and can’t afford its enormous food bill, should not be peeking into USA house.

34. http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/debt-pile-up/

United States has their problems, Barbados it seem has many of its own, too many to nosing around in the USA house.

35. @LOOK

If you don’t have anything constructive to add to a blog there is no harm being an onlooker.

On 9 October 2013 12:15, Barbados Underground

36. @ David

Some things one must accept, like it or not. Barbados like it or not is shipwrecked, under water and drowning. The United States is only partially shut down but should not concern Barbados. Don’t like it, then just grit your teeth and take it.

37. nipsey hussle crenshaw mixtapes for sale
    $100 per pop

Leave a Reply to David (not BU)Cancel reply