Richard Sealy, Minister of Tourism

The compilation and research for this submission was done by BU family member Due Diligence with minor edits by BU.

The long-awaited Tourism Master Plan for Barbados is expected to be ready by September this year [2013] Saying he recognized the plan had been promised for a long time now, Minister of Tourism Richard Sealy revealed to the annual general meeting Barbados Today

The author joins with Barbadians who want to see a growing, profitable and sustainable tourism industry; I do not want to be negative; but I have to be blunt. As I see it, there is no way to sugar coat the current state of tourism in Barbados. Some time in 2010, the Government of Barbados (Ministry of Tourism) issued an Invitation for Expressions of Interest for the Development of a  Tourism Master Plan for Barbados for the Period 2012-2021. The Expressions of Interest were to be delivered not later than 4:30 pm on June 30, 2010.  Full details of the Invitation can be read here on the Barbados Tourism website. Also here is a Press Release which notified Barbadians and others about what to expect from the Tourism Master Plan.It is September 18, ( 3+ years after Expressions were to be tendered and 3 months after the Plan was to be completed). Unless I have missed it there is still no Barbados Tourism Master Plan which Minister Sealy announced in April would be completed by June (2013).

The Plan may, in fact, have been completed; but if so why has this open, transparent and full disclosure Government not released the completed Plan, if only to invite public discussion.  The Minister is reported to be in London [last month], doing what? at the taxpayers’ expense, while Rome burns. Even by Barbados government standards this is shocking.  If the Plan is not released and deemed to be viable, the IMF will supply a plan.

For the moment though, lets forget about the Plan for 2021, and ask the question  – What is being done to promote visitor arrival numbers in what is left of 2013 and 2014, to reverse the downward spiral of the past two years? The last evidence of promotion that I have seen in Toronto in 2013 was the 26 year-old Breakfast in Barbados giveaway promotion, apparently a joint promotion of BTA and radio station 104.5 CHUM-FM.  In this promotion BTA/CHUM brings 60 lucky listeners (plus BTA/CHUM entourage) each year for a week of sea and sun in April.

There are obviously some in the tourism business in the Caribbean who believe there is value in advertising. Recently there was a full page joint St. Lucia Tourism/Air Canada Vacations ad promoting 12 properties on the back page of first section of The Globe and Mail .  There is a half page St. Lucia Tourism/Westjet Vacations ad promoting 12 promoting 12 properties on the back page of the Business section of the Toronto Star.

In the April 2013 Budget the MOF said:

Government proposes over the next eighteen months to expend an additional US50 million dollars in marketing and promotional activities of the BTA starting with our traditional source markets and working our way into some of the newer growth areas. US $13 million of this will go immediately to settle all liabilities of the Authority with the balance earmarked for a new aggressive marketing and airlift support programme to be unveiled by the BTA in the coming weeks. These funds will be sourced from a proposed US$100 million fiscal Policy Based Loan to be negotiated with the IADB later this year.

That $13 million of the additional $50 million was to go to immediately to settle all liabilities of the Authority suggests the Authority had not been paying its accounts payable.  If this the case, it may be that the Authority has been cut off by suppliers; including by the carriers and the media used for promotions. This could account for the absence of advertising; which could at least in part account for the downward spiral of arrivals from Canada and elsewhere. It may also be that, after carrying past due receivables, the carriers and media have put the Authority on C.O.D. payment terms.  It may be the case that the funds to pay the bills have not been received from the proposed IADB loan (to be negotiated), have not been received.  While much of the promotion and advertising cost may have been borne by BTA in the past; all of the responsibility cannot be laid at the feet of the taxpayers.  Where are the hotels own advertising?  They are virtually invisible in Toronto newspapers.

On the other hand, Sandals/Beaches advertises properties in St. Lucia, Turks &Caicos, Antigua and Grenada at least weekly, and often more than once a week in Toronto newspapers. Today there are half page ads for Sandals La Source (Grenada) in both the Globe and Mail and Toronto Star. I have to assume that the same is the case with advertising in New York, Chicago, Miami and London. It is almost like the Barbados government and hotel operators are just waiting for guests of past years to call to make a reservation for this year.  But the numbers confirm that strategy is not working.  They simply must advertise.

The reality is that every consumer who responds to the ads of competitors is one less potential consumer to spend a vacation in Barbados.  People who have had less than a stellar experience in Barbados, will look for other places to spend their next vacation.  And they will return to those other places if they have a good experience.  They will be lost to Barbados. They will return to Jamaica, Bahamas, St. Lucia, Antigua, Turks & Caicos, Grenada, and to Mexico, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Belize and Panama. The train is hurtling down the hill and the speed of the downward trip will only accelerate if something is not done to reverse it course.

The solution is beyond DD’s pay grade, but clearly a solution must be found NOW.

79 responses to “Minister Richard Sealy Promised Barbadians the Tourism Master Plan Will be Delivered by Midnight Tonight”

1. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Adrian Loveridge | October 2, 2013 at 7:25 AM |
    “The MOF and MOT has yet to decide which DTD services are eligible. Does this send a message that WE are in control?”

This recent case of implementation deficit is another stark reinforcement that the current administration is totally lost at sea and ought to be relieved of its position of steering the ship of state before SS Barbados flounders on the rocks like the Costa Concordia.

Any MoF worth his salt would have requested his mandarins carry out a pre-budget analysis on the tax effects such a measure would have. The analysis would certainly involved an identification of those areas expected to be affected by a reduction in rates and their potential fiscal implications for the deficit and weighed against the potential spinoff benefits to the wider industry in terms of business turnover.

We wonder what the apologists have to say. Are they going to blame the international recession or the BLP creating strife by rubbing shoulders with the same tourism players? Is this the DLP administration’s way of punishing the sector since they cannot ‘crack heads and shoot people’ who own and control the sector.

But we would be more rational and stick to the initial position of the proposal being poorly thought out without taking into consideration the real factor the rate would have to apply to residents with unexpected revenue loss unless the Act is amended to reflect this gross discrimination and create a whole set of new bureaucratic procedures to implement such a two-rail tax system.

2. This BU blogsite should have been in the forefront of helping to bring about this said gigantic thrust that we referred to just now.

And it does have the capacity to do so!

To help restore the confidence of the broad sectors of people in realizing and being part of social political changes for the better for the country – rather than reaching back to any expectations that either the Damned DLP or Blasted BLP will perform according to what they have promised, when it is clear that too many times they will not perform according to their words, and that such is a case of many people witnessing history, the illogical too often repeat themselves, with some of these same people chancing with imprecision and uncertainty and incredulity as to what these two older stupid parties are really going to do.

For instance, both the Damned DLP and the Blasted BLP have long been talking about accountability, transparency, and integrity in public life.

Yet, what is their bloody record on such issues? What?

These jackasses (political principals in these two older ramshackled parties) can hardly account to the broad sectors of people, and can little be responsible to them, yet you are talking about holding government accountable. Where are the clear and very effective means for doing so, without some process that should be functioning to help bring about such accountability being impugned?

How much longer is this otiose ineffectual outdated principle going to be held up by persons like you, whilst these jackasses continue to primarily look after their own interests, some of their friends, some of their families interests, their business, financial, corporate, and foreign affairs interests? Rather than primarily the public’s, the country’s, the nation’s? As the country bleeds? Huh?

The answer must be an emphatic no longer!!

The right and disciplined people centered coalition building progressive nationalist parties must be in the not to distant future installed in this country to, et al, help bring a greater level of decency civility to the affairs of government of this country, to help bring greater levels of empowerment, greater enfranchisement, greater responsibility to the vast majority of people of this country, to devolve genuine sovereignty to the people of this country, and to properly reposition and resuscitate the commercial business sectors of this country.

That has NOTHING to do with continuing to fecklessly flimsily expect these two corrupt stupid parties to perform to their words (one must now greater expect them to greater default on their words), especially when it is clear that their record of doing so is so miserably poor and that for those and numerous other reasons they must be got the rid of by the broad masses and middle classes of people of this country ABSOLUTELY TOTALLY PERMANENTLY from the political governmental landscape of this country for the greater benefit of the country’s future good.

Such will form part of a newly desired evolved social political material financial dispensation for this country, under a certain future coalition government of which the PDC will be a part of.

3. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

Easy !

4. @Sunshine,
    I am not living in a dream world. It is a real world when I can see a truck exiting the port with sweet poataoes imported from St. Lucia, when hundreds of acres of prime land ios allowed to go to grass and bush. Check the lands at Vaucluse. Who imported and/ or why was the sweet potatoes imported.? Why would we need to import lamb (whateer kind) from New Zealand?Nothing to do with the trade mark or rights. Just don’t import the damned thing. Talk about politicians trying to get rich, what about the daamned distributors?There is NOTHING can convince me that we need to import 700 million dollards of foodstuffs.

5. The figures are out for the last quarter and Tourism is down as well as retail. Bizzy Williams now pleading to Barbadians to come together and help pull this country out of the mess it is in. BU has been saying especially Adrian that our Tourism numbers are down and something must be done to stop that downward spiral. Miller, Hants, myself, the Colonel Buggy, and many others have been saying that the island needs cleaning up especially Bridgetown and the Garrison. Bizzy sounds like he is fighting for the survival of his businesses.

Miss Irene I hope that you are reading this post and I do hope that you understand what we are speaking about. We love this piece of rock and don’t want to see our own destroy it. I know you can’t do anything about that idiot you have as your MOT but please whisper in the right ears that he must be removed as soon as possible. The problem is that you might be whispering in another fool’s ear so it might not make a difference. You see there is a saying that one fool makes many. That is certainly the case with your present colleagues. If you really love this island you and Donville along with Dr Estwick should make a move and distant yourselves from the crop of fools.

With a heavy heart,

Islandgal

6. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Alvin Cummins

You see what I tell you about you. You are living in a dream world. You see any part of Barbados where sweet potatoes are dominating the land. Lets go a little further. You see any part of Barbados where corn is dominating the land. Let us go even further you see any part of Barbados where pigeon peas, peppers, sweet peppers, tomatoes, onions are dominating the land. Agriculture is seen in Barbados as a poor man occupation for which slaves laboured for the plantocracy. Stupid ass bajans do not see the wealth in Agriculture because they do not want to involve themselves in the adventures of the soil or in animal shite. The few who see the lucrativeness in farming are stymied by crooked merchant class who practice discrimination and unfair price control on the people”s produce. Government do not give two whoops and a wuk-up about agriculture until now. So what is the crooked merchant class to do; wait for the farmers to produce who struggle to meet their demand quotas? What are the merchants to do when its easier to import and inflate prices and use the excuse that duties and import taxes are the reason why they have up their mark ups. Them just as crooked as well and are in cahoots with their political buddies. Tell me Alvin “Buy Local Eat Local” Cummins you think that we got enough farmers producing quality local foods that can meet the food needs of Barbados, with the type of prevailing mentalities. Every other country has sought to preserve agriculture and make it better. . Barbados on the other was trying its utmost best to erase there’s and push a UWI graduate in every household but no inclusion of an agriculture progressive model.. How on Gods earth you expect a backward thinking people, with tunnel vision and small- island- shrink- the brain- syndrome..to operate at a higher level of conscious thinking. We f….up and loss sugar because we had to many PhD and highfoluted qualified thinkers to busy to come up with additional ideas to add value to sugar or some super duper specialty by product of sugar. The battle for articulative supremacy is what we are about bout here. A lot of educated talkers but not enough think tanks for action and implementation.

7. Alvin Cummins | October 2, 2013 at 6:42 PM |
    @Sunshine,
    I am not living in a dream world. It is a real world when I can see a truck exiting the port with sweet potatoes imported from St. Lucia, when hundreds of acres of prime land is allowed to go to grass and bush. Check the lands at Vaucluse.
    ……………………………………………………………………………..
    Perhaps this will all change when UWI students start working the 40 acres of prime agricultural land given to them.

8. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Alvin Cummins:

We want you to respond to “Sunshine Sunny Shine | October 2, 2013 at 8:06 PM | “.

BTW, Alvin C., what do you mean by the statement “when hundreds of acres of prime land (is) allowed to go to grass and bush”?
    Are you aware that the majority of the same acres of prime land (excluding the CLICO vast holdings) is owned and controlled by the BADMC & BSIL?
    Are you also aware that the DLP administration has been in control of the reins of government for the past 5 years and almost 10 months and could have influenced the size of the food importation bill whether it is sweet potatoes from St. Lucia, frozen lamb meat from New Zealand used in food for dog and zoo carnivores and dipped in formaldehyde for long distance storage, sugar from Guyana, molasses from Brazil or even bottled coconut water from Indonesia or tamarinds from Thailand?

9. @Miller;I agree the DLP has had “control of the reins of government for the past 5 years” and could have controlled the size of the food importation bill. They should have become very positive and confiscated lands that are not being fully utilized in what land is for…food production. They should have BANNED the importation of crops that could have been grown here: tomatoes, onions, sweet potqatos, Yams, etc etc. The should BAN the importation of Lamb forthwith and if people want to eat lamb let them buy local black belly sheep. They should BAN the importation of bottled water; if people want bottled water let them buy Bomanston Liqueurs (local water). I don’t have to tell you shere the hundreds of acres are, you were part of the last government that was in the business of buying land for a “land bank”, you were in cahoots with the plantation owners who were waiting expectantly for change of use of agricultural land to build houses (expensive ones at that). Your government was in control of the same lands controlled by the BADMC and BSIL and did NOTHING with them. Barbados needs to take a leaf out of Cuba’s book.
    Later.

10. How can you ban selected items in a liberalize market.

11. Alvin Cummings please cork yuh backside! Yuh talking bare shoite!

12. Alvin my friend, i gotta tell ya, the DLP, your party…………….coulda, woulda, shoulda……they had more than 5 years to get it right.

13. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

YOu see what I tell you about this man. Either he is in a glass case or he really does not understand what is going on in my littlle island. This man seems to think that the problem will be solve if we start buying local. I mean how many local products are they on the market that we can choose from. We do not produce a bajan brand of cereal so therefore must we resort to corn meal pap and rice tea just because I would like some Kellogs.. If Agriculture was vibrant and well developedm we could cut down on some of the essentials that I believe we can grow here. But agriculture was on the back burner for years and now that the two party clowns is seeing its worth, the political lackies wants to jump on its bandwagon and proclamate buy local. Ok where should i start to buy my locally made cornflakes from….

14. When we signed all those fancy “free trade” agreements is when the noose was placed around our necks. All the white people had to do was call it “free” trade and everyone was signing its praises…
    Lotta shiite!
    Local agriculture CANNOT compete with outsiders who pay starvation wages; who exploit migrant labour; who prop up their farmers with grants under various guises; who use prisoners for free labour.
    Since we CANT compete! there is NO opportunity to export! and we are dumped with cheap, often unhealthy imports – which then become expensive, unhealthy imports once we are hooked.

Can we restrict some of these imports? OF COURSE WE COULD…if our leaders had the balls to convince local importers to CHOOSE not to do so….

If they had the skills to communicate with the public about the real situation we face….and to win their confidence…to choose LOCAL.

If they could stimulate local agriculture to be competitive by INGENUITY and PRODUCTIVITY and HIGH QUALITY rather than cheap mass production….

Our leadership does NOT have such skills.
    SSSunny is correct….Alvin is a fossil who is representative of our politicians. LOL…they think that HOPE is a strategy.

15. @Bush Tea

We have to convince the consumers.

16. @ SSunnyS
    Ok where should i start to buy my locally made cornflakes from…
    If you REALLY knew what was good for you you would not buy ANY damn cornflakes….too much gluten and sugar… and MUCH too expensive for what you are eating…
    What you got against some fried plantain, roast corn, and local vegetables washed down with little bush tea? 🙂

17. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Bust Tea
    I do not want cornflakes I am drawing a covert point. We cannot even produce cornflakes so if we are not producing we therefore have to import. If you produce you do not have to import and if you are importing then it means that you might be producing but not enough to sustain the demands and needs of the local populace. What little Barbados produce is not consistent and sustainable because if it was we would not need to import now would we.

18. Bushie asked….”Can we restrict some of these imports? OF COURSE WE COULD…if our leaders had the balls to convince local importers to CHOOSE not to do so….”

Bushie it will come to past that there will be no other choice than to buy locally because there will be no forex to pay for these goods. The local population palates will quickly adjust to farine(dried cassava) grilled plantains and Guyanese salt fish or local bacon and eggs for brekfus. I am waiting for my farine to set with a swirl of mango jam on the top. Or a likkle salt fish and green bananas. I made some delicious sweet potato pudding/pone and it was taken to Canada last week. Dem Caribs in Dominica does mek a sweet potato bread dem does cook pon the coal pot dat nuff people like. I gine try to replicate the recipe if I can’t get it from someone.

Well dem brassbowls who feel dem cahn do widout certain tings at Christmas time better start their reprogramming now because it ent gine get better.

19. @ Islandgal
    Shhhhhhh!
    You going let GP, Pieceuhderock, and dem fellows find out why the bushman had his chops licking out pon Islandgal now…? That lunch invitation still on…? 🙂

You are correct that we WILL adjust our taste REAL soon….when we CANNOT afford to pay for the imported junk.

..would it not be WISE to make such adjustments PROACTIVELY – when we still have a few dollars in we pockets to buy the CRITICAL stuff like medicines and little fuel….?

@ SSunnyS
    Have you considered that we only need to import cornflakes because idiots INSISTS on buying it – and in so doing, making others rich -while making themselves ill?
    It is not a case of IMPORT or PRODUCE. It is one of FALSE and unnecessary DEMAND.

20. “Barbados needs to take a leaf out of Cuba’s book”

IN WHAT AREA- Everything in Cuba is down, down, down, where there is no vision, the people perish. Cubans would love to live in Barbados but Barbadians would only want to visit Cuba enjoy the beauty of the country and the warmth and hospitality of the resilient Cuban people.

21. Balance said “IN WHAT AREA- Everything in Cuba is down, down, down, where there is no vision, the people perish. Cubans would love to live in Barbados”

Balance you better get off the scale because your lopsided views about Cuba says that you are very BIASED. Cuba can feed itself….Can we? Cuba has made medical research history…Have we? Cuban peoples do not have the frills we have BUT they are not known as the amputation capital in the Caribbean. I bet you that the average Cuban is more healthy than the average Bajan. I bet you that the average Cuban is more educated than the average Bajan. Because you live in a big concrete house and drive a fancy motor car does not make you any better than Cubans. You are a perfect example of a BRASS BOWL Bushie speaks about!

22. Talking about Cuba, why does the US still impose an embargo on that Caribbean country? Interesting to hear Senator McClean calling for its dismantling this week at the qUN.

23. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

Yesterday a caller (the Trinidadian Lady – real name Mary Sargeant) said on VOB’s Brass Tacks that the opposition BLP is the genesis of talk of devaluation which, once heard, could undermine investor confidence in both the domestic and international spheres for Barbados. Consider the following two questions, and I urge you to arrive at a fair conclusion.
    1. Can any of you remember a Governor of the Central Bank becoming embroiled in an argument with the lady boss of the IMF in which the Governor sought to defend Barbados’ peculiar position against devaluation?
    2. Can someone please tell me who wrote: “Following the June 27th
    Economic Consultation, Government is in discussion with the social partners on measures that will be introduced to reduce the fiscal deficit. The required adjustment is considerable, about 4.5% of GDP, but not sufficient to cause major social disruption … The adjustment will protect the value of our currency, which is vital to Barbados’ economic prosperity.”

24. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

And then we allow tourism to be in a FREE FALL FOR 17 CONSECUTIVE MONTHS AND NOT 12 AS EARLIER ALLUDED TO, and wonder how will Barbados escape the clutches of the IMF? Leadership is about solving problems, and the fact that Barbados has been unable to avert this downward fast fall in tourism but the same Cabinet Minister with responsibility remains in place, says more about the incompetence of Stuart.

25. The fact that the government has withdrawn its recent offer in the Capital market needs explanation. BU recalls that MAM’s request for an explanation why the rate was greater than existing drew an arrogant dismissal from the MoF at the wind up of the Budget debate. In today’s newspaper leading US investment houses echoed the same concerns.

26. Here we have the MOF going abroad and showing his INCOMPETENCE to the whole world. We already know of it here BUT he mek us real shame. TIME FOR HIM TO GO! Donville and Estwick wunna still backing these fools? Wunna don’t know that one fool makes many?

27. George Brathwaite

you are right /
    It is amazing
    the way people distort situations

28. @ George
    Stuart can’t touch a fella…16 – 14…Definitely the worst of worst times.

29. When will these hard headed government ministers start listening to others for a change, even at my age i listen to other people, whether they are older or younger than i am, there is always something new to learn,