PLEASE READ THIS WHOLE ARTICLE....AND I WANT TO KNOW (A) IS THIS A BONA FIDE ARTICLE/SITE...(B) AND IF IT IS I AM SURE THAT IF YOU CARE ABOUT YOUR HEALTH YOU WOULD WANT TO KNOW IF THESE FOODS ARE BANNED HERE OR NOT, AND IF NOT, WHY NOT? – Rosemary Parkinson Read Article

PLEASE READ THIS WHOLE ARTICLE….AND I WANT TO KNOW (A) IS THIS A BONA FIDE ARTICLE/SITE…(B) AND IF IT IS I AM SURE THAT IF YOU CARE ABOUT YOUR HEALTH YOU WOULD WANT TO KNOW IF THESE FOODS ARE BANNED HERE OR NOT, AND IF NOT, WHY NOT? – Rosemary Parkinson

82 responses to “Are These Banned Foods for REAL?”

1. I hardly think it is about “your way” “my way”…it is simply about eating clean foods vs dirty foods…why is this so difficult to comprehend? This is perhaps what you need to enlighten us with. We need to learn too.

2. One time I heard a man on the radio preaching and saying –eat anything—don’t mind them. Shortly after that episode (weeks maybe), he had a Stroke !!!

3. GP taunts..
    “Bush Tea….COULD YOU HELP ME TO UNDERSTAND how important to our whole physical, psychological, spiritual and emotional well being is what we choose to eat……”
    Probably not!
    Wunna HC men does done know everything already….

…besides that statement does not apply to doctors. Wunna psychological, emotional, and economic well-being is best served when brass bowls eat the lotta shiite and then come and hand over their life savings to wunna – to be finished off with priscription drugs for the rest of their miserable lives of diabetes, high blood pressure, asthma and other chronic deseases ..

Wunna medical fellows must REALLY hate this organic food business nuh !? 🙂
    ….well not YOU of course GP….. Bushie mean the real real doctors…not doctor-teachers…. LOL

4. I AM STILL HOPING THAT THE SAGES ON BU WILL ENLIGHTEN ME AND GIVE ME SOME ILLUMINATION

I WANT TO LEARN. THATS WHY I ASK BT MILLER AND WELL WELL TO EXPLAIN THE POINTS THEY RAISE

I HAVE NOT SAID ANYTHING ABOUT FOOD.

I ASKED THE BU SAGES TO EXPLAIN THE POINTS THEY RAISED. I DIDNT ASK FOR A LECTURE FROM ANOTHER KNOW IT ALL. I HAVE LECTURED IN BUOCHEMISTRY AND NUTRITION. IN MEDICAL SCHOOL BUT I HAVE CHOSEN NOT TO GET INTO THE FRAY IN THIS AREA ON THIS BLOG

I WANT TO LEARN ABOUT THE ISSUES RAISED BY THE BU SAGES

IF I DIDNT HAVE THE ABILITY TO COMPREHEND I WOULD NOT HAVE ACCOMPLISHED THE THINGS THAT I HAVE STARTING FROM PRIMARY SCHOOL

LOOK OUT FOR THE HERD NOW.

5. Bush Tea | September 22, 2013 at 7:20 PM |
    I am not taunting anyone. Please kindly note that I was very serious about my question
    I asked simply “Bush Tea….COULD YOU HELP ME TO UNDERSTAND how important to our whole physical, psychological, spiritual and emotional well being is what we choose to eat……”

Your statement that “Wunna HC men does done know everything already….” is clearly false, especially when you consider the poor performance of HC men currently running the affairs of Barbados.

Please kindly note that I was once involved in organic farming and supplying hotels and supermarkets with produce.

6. Georgie Porgie | September 22, 2013 at 3:50 PM |

WELL WELL COULD YOU HELP ME TO UNDERSTAND THE SAYING “YOU ARE WHAT YOU EAT?

GP…………….i will be brief, if people eat only pork, what do you think they will look like?? i know you understand well and just pulling my legs. Bajans are pork lovers, you can even tell that by looking behind the necks of the males who eat plenty pork on the island. If you are not too infatuated with large sized (obese) females, take a look at the ones who love the pudding and souse and roast pork, tell me what they look like to you, that is assuming you are not enchanted by that sort of size.

7. GP……….i was away from the computer for a few hours, did not realize you were seeking information.

8. And even closer to your neck of the woods in the US, GP, those MacDonald’s hamburger garbage eaters all look like unhealthy hamburgers, so much so that they have the balls to want to sue McDonald’s for their obese look, see, you are what you eat.

9. Man GP why you does always have to go and destroy Bushie like that?
    OK touché!

Like most other things, the global food business has been taken over by scags and gully wags. names like Monsano, Dow and Du Pont have become legends in their own time in this regard.
    these are NOT ordinary crooks. They are BIG!
    They own the FDA
    They own the US Congress
    They own the presidency…
    …these &@?/)(ers own the world.

Food is now about PROFITS…and the nutritional and other benefits are just incedental to the matter.

Even where CLEAR evidence exists of long term danger in consuming certain products, the financial realities dictate that health is secondary to profits.

In such a scenario, anyone who does not take a PERSONAL interest in what they eat is crazy….and will pay the price.

Even if this was not the case, our bodies operate in such a complex physical, chemical, electrical and mechanical interaction of mechanisms, that the proper maintenance of the right balance of minerals, vitamins, metals, liquids and air HAS TO BE a matter of CRITICAL importance to the optimum functioning of such complex systems.

However you look at it therefore, what we CHOOSE to ingest into our bodies MUST be of fundamental importance; and MUST influence the way in which our bodies function physically, mentally, socially and spiritually…
    …only seem like basic common sense to a bushman… 🙂

10. Bush Tea said:

Like most other things, the global food business has been taken over by scags and gully wags. names like Monsano, Dow and Du Pont have become legends in their own time in this regard.
    these are NOT ordinary crooks. They are BIG!
    They own the FDA
    They own the US Congress
    They own the presidency…
    …these &@?/)(ers own the world.

GP……………you can also guarantee that the likes of the Duponts own all the credit card companies.

11. Bush tea
    Basically I understand your Biochemical postulates based on common sense rather than factual information but “Bush Tea….I still aint understand how you come up with the physical, psychological, spiritual and emotional well being as a function of what we eat.” You have not given any details.

Well Well.to explain “YOU ARE WHAT YOU EAT” is a term paper topic in my Nutrition course. Nearly all the students go down the line you followed re obesity and fast food. I usually send them back to go do the assignment properly. I was hoping that you would give me a better answer.

I thank you both for your answers as you have proved my hypothesis

12. @ GP
    Bushie was going to recommend that you try some Mary J to explore the spiritual, psychological and emotional implications of what we ingest on our bodies….but on second thought perhaps you are already there ….if you need to be provided ‘facts’ to assert that different aspects of our being ARE affected by what we eat/ drink/ inhale etc….
    …you had better stay away from the student lounge yuh!

13. @BT
    In such circumstances, one has to be brave, (or clueless) to dismiss claims of food impacting schizophrenia and MS etc.
    Duty called but back into the breach; once upon a time before the advent of the Internet many outlandish ideas would die a natural death before they even reached our eyes and ears but today with instant delivery of information, instead of treating some claims with healthy scepticism some people are prone to giving them an aura of credibility by repeating them and adopting them as authentic.

As resident sage on BU instead of writing generalisations about food impacting our physical and mental state tell me how cessation of consuming wheat based products will cure schizophrenia.

14. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Georgie Porgie | September 22, 2013 at 4:12 PM |

Now where do you think the brain and heart (blood pump) get electrical charges from? BL&P or some other man-made electricity generating plant?

15. @ Sargeant
    …perhaps if you explore how wheat could have CAUSED the problem in the first place, it would be easier to understand how ending its use may be considered to be like a “cure”…

..and while you are researching that, look up celiac disease and the impact it can have on the stomach (and hence the brain)…

…and don’t expect Bushie to do your research for you just because you got some rank….

You know the other side of the Internet coin is that lots of things of which we remained COMPLETELY ignorant in the past, are now available to those who have eyes to see and ears to hear…

16. Bush Tea
    I understand that you dont have the specifics of the answer. You may brimble on Sir!

millertheanunnaki | September 22, 2013 at 10:00 PM |
    @ Georgie Porgie | September 22, 2013 at 4:12 PM |
    Now where do you think the brain and heart (blood pump) get electrical charges from? BL&P or some other man-made electricity generating plant?
    MILLER you are not talking to one of your friends in the rum shop Sir
    Your answer reflects your ignorance of basic physiology
    I don’t think about where the brain and heart (blood pump) get electrical charges from I KNOW ! It has to do simply with passage of sodium into cells and potassium out of cells. Easy so! Just remember HIKIN’: There is a HIgh K concentration INside the cell. From this can deduce that the Na/K pump pumps K into cell and Na out of cell. Alternatively: When I was learning this pump (circa 1992), a band that was “in” was Kris Kross, and a band that was “out” was “Sha Na Na Na”: So pump moves K K (2 K) in and Na Na Na(3 Na) out.

17. @BT
    You know the other side of the Internet coin is that lots of things of which we remained COMPLETELY ignorant in the past, are now available to those who have eyes to see and ears to hear
    Have you ever gone to a Buffet Dinner? I suspect that you may have attended a few, I also think that you gorge yourself on the first few items rather that observe what other choices are available. The internet is a veritable smorgasbord with many delectable selections but many more that are unpalatable and the majority of us (prime example BT) can’t tell the difference.

Hey you won’t be the first to drink piss and call it warm beer.

18. 1. Sargeant | September 22, 2013 at 9:44 PM |
    @BT
    In such circumstances, one has to be brave, (or clueless) to dismiss claims of food impacting schizophrenia and MS etc.
    Duty called but back into the breach; once upon a time before the advent of the Internet many outlandish ideas would die a natural death before they even reached our eyes and ears but today with instant delivery of information, instead of treating some claims with healthy scepticism some people are prone to giving them an aura of credibility by repeating them and adopting them as authentic.
    As resident sage on BU instead of writing generalisations about food impacting our physical and mental state tell me how cessation of consuming wheat based products will cure schizophrenia.
    ============================================================
    SARGEANT YOU ARE ON THE BALL WHEN YOU OPINE THAT A LOT OF JUNK IS POSTED ON THE INTERNET
    I HAVE SPENT A LOT OF TIME POINTING OUT BLATANT ERRORS ON BU IN THE PAST. AND HAVE DECIDED NOT TO CONTINUE.
    BUT IT IS CLEAR THAT MANY SAGES ON BU WRITE A LOT OF GENERALISATIONS ABOUT WHICH THEY HAVE NO SUPPORTING FACTS
    ALSO WE KNOW THAT THERE ARE MANY CONFLICTING REPORTS IN THE SO CALLED RESEARCH

19. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Georgie Porgie | September 22, 2013 at 10:50 PM |
    “It has to do simply with passage of sodium into cells and potassium out of cells.”

Hmmmm! We wonder where these chemicals (minerals) come from?
    Enlighten us more Doc. Tell us about the difference between potassium and sodium.
    How does it come about? This is not a rum shop question but a genuine request for knowledge about this chemical reaction.

GP, you might have just hit on a brilliant idea on how to solve Barbados electricity generation requirements or even the key to fountain of youth and longevity.

20. @ GP
    Bush Tea
    I understand that you dont have the specifics of the answer. You may brimble on Sir
    GP you have NO IDEA of what specifics bushie may or may not have. You can only surmise from the Bushman’s postings…

The point is that BU is not one of your classrooms and Bushie is NOT one of your students. You are just trying to show off…. 🙂
    “I KNOW ! It has to do simply with passage of sodium into cells and potassium out of cells. Easy so!”
    You don’t know squat!
    Passage of sodium into cells?!?
    Easy so?!?

Skippa, this a complex mechanism which essentially means that the heart acts as a battery, Wuh um is only even possible because of the yet unexplained role of a protein called calmodulin which provides the channels for the passage of your sodium and potassium.

But why show off on BU how easy it is to access such information?
    All we REALLY need to know is that the human body is a miracle and that one has to be VERY thoughtful of what one adds to the mix of ingredients.

@ Sargeant
    You know that you are not making any sense right?!
    You have no idea what Bushie selects from his frequent buffets.
    You have no idea of the state of Bushie’s health, or wealth or state of happiness….
    It makes no sense to join with GP and criticize the www because it have a lot of brass bowls on it… THERE ARE MULTITUDES of brass bowls all over….but interspersed among them are some GEMS…..

The more brass bowls you can access, the more gems you are able to find…..if you know what to look for….

Bottom line:
    One should be conscious and careful of what one CHOOSES to eat, drink and use…. You are thereby making your bed, in which you must lie for the rest of your life.

21. @Bush Tea

What would we do without you?…lol.

Thanks to all the contributors who continue to make BU what it has become, we don’t always get it right but we try to make amends when we get it wrong.

But special thanks to you for your support to BU over the years. We will not forget you and a few others who submitted quality submission when we were at the fledgling stage.

22. On a previous blog posted by the Barbados Underground, Regal Farm Establish a Fish Farm in Barbados, The Twistorian (poster) on 08/07/2013 at 6:55pm posted said statement “Bajans will eat just about anything, need I remind you we love chicken feet, necks and the oil cup? Need I remind you we ear pigs tail, feet, snout, skin and its ears? Need I remind you we eat cows liver, tail and tongue?

Although no longer abundant in the region due to over fishing and pollution, Barbados culture still embraces the flying fish. Oh and shame the green monkey in Barbados did you know likes the dunk. They also like fruits, nuts, grass and seeds but when food is short, they eat anything, have to: bird eggs, birds, mice, lizzars and some insects.

http://saflights.hubpages.com/hub/Facts-about-the-Barbados-Green-Monkey
    The green monkey it seems aren’t the only ones forced to face food shortage in Barbados. Dr. David Eastwick is apparently concerned that there will be a food shortage and recommended increasing agriculture because the food bill is NOW out of control. Bajans if not already consuming these foods ultimately will due to a forthcoming food shortage.
    http://david.strongcommunication.com/news/2012/dr-estwick-food-import-bill-too-high

http://www.cnweeklynews.com/component/content/article/3845
    The United States Food and Drug Administration does not want cat/dog food from China. Barbados may want it, may gladly accept it, that and fish from this Regal Fish Farm. Country is broke “all in the red”. A food shortage is on the way, government can no longer afford its out of control food bill. USDA may not be 100% perfect but make effort when and where it can. What about Barbados???

http://www.chicagoinjurylawblog.com/2013/08/fda-proposes-heightened-rules-for-imported-foods.html

http://www.foodqualitynews.com/Legislation/FDA-steps-up-food-import-oversight

23. GP said:

Well Well.to explain “YOU ARE WHAT YOU EAT” is a term paper topic in my Nutrition course. Nearly all the students go down the line you followed re obesity and fast food. I usually send them back to go do the assignment properly. I was hoping that you would give me a better answer.

GP………i will give you the opposite of my comment and listen carefully to your opinion……..i am a 57 year old female, i eat one full meal a day that i deem healthy, no breakfast before 10 am consisting most days of oatmeal, no solid foods after 4 pm, lots of herbal teas, i grow the herbs myself…………this is my doctor’s analysis, i have the body of a 25 year old female, NO health problems beyond an injury i suffered in an accident……….please give me your take on this anomaly. You are what you eat, i am sure, does not apply only to me.

24. @BT
    I notice how yuh “back back” from the position that schizophrenia is caused by wheat based products to mass generalisations about being careful about what one is consuming. Of course no one will dispute that assertion but yuh gotta be careful about jumping on bandwagons to support some spurious claims.

It looks like the analogy about the buffet spread flew right past yuh head (or yuh choose to ignore it because it would prove my point about picking and choosing the good from the bad).

Last point before I pull up my tent on this topic re your “wealth”, we know how wealthy you are after all you have told us many times, we also remember how generous you are when you promised to put up approximately $5.00 of your “wealth” in support of some cause (can’t remember what but I’m sure it is in BU somewhere).:-)

Re the ode to BT, is that a swan song in the offing? Despite my recent bout of criticism I like the blog but when people who I think are smart otherwise make ridiculous declarations I can’t always ignore them so I gotta jump in, its my nature.

25. Sarge
    You are becoming an embarrassment – mainly to yourself. 🙂

BUSHIE NEVER SAID THAT WHEAT CAUSED schizophrenia!
    …..NEVER!

What the bushman said was that YOU should not rush to dismiss such an assertion as rubbish.
    Can you decipher the difference Sarge…?

26. Well Well
    Maybe you are only twenty five but the life you have been leading makes it feel like you have been around 57 years Doing all the right things doesn’t make you live longer it just seems longer. Remember Jim Fixx

27. lawsons | September 23, 2013 at 9:09 AM |

Well Well
    Maybe you are only twenty five but the life you have been leading makes it feel like you have been around 57 years Doing all the right things doesn’t make you live longer it just seems longer. Remember Jim Fixx.

Oh how i would love for that comment to manifest into reality, for with the experience i gathered in those 57 years i would rule the world. Sorry to tell you Lawson, i am a mother of 5 and grandmother of 5, you don’t get 25 year olds in that range, you only get to look like 25 with all the factors involved…..in a few years i can call myself, great grand.

28. I KNOW ! It has to do simply with passage of sodium into cells and potassium out of cells. Easy so!”
    You don’t know squat!
    Passage of sodium into cells?!?
    Easy so?!?

YES BUSH TEA THIS IS BASIC PHYSIOLOGY AND CELL BIOLOGY
    GO LOOK UP POLARISATION AND DEPOLARISATION OF MEMBRANES ON THE INTERNET.

also look up the SODIUM POTASSIUM ATP DEPENDENT PUMP
    THIS IS BASIC INFORMATION

HOW COME YOU HAVE NOT FOUND THAT YET.
    EVERYTHING IS ON THE INTERNET YOU SAY. AND YOU KNOW EVERYTHING
    maybe I can have David upload my powerpoint thereon

29. You are missing the point GP
    There is such a thing as TOO MUCH DETAIL….

We could take this discussion down to the molecular level…but it will not be helpful in elucidating the basic moot.

We must stop eating shiite…. 🙂

30. No BT………..as you guys say …….the devil is in the details.
    Thats why so much is wrong with the world to day….we are missing the details most of the time.

i AGREE that We must stop eating shiite…………but we need to have the details about what to eat and not to eat. That is indeed a challenge.

We must take this discussion down to the molecular level if we will …n elucidate what the person in the article is saying, which is basically chemicals in some foods are dangerous because they act AT THE MOLECULAR LEVEL TO CAUSE HARM.

MILLER
    I HAVE ASKED ONE OF MY STUDENTS TO ASK BT TO UPLOAD SOME INFO THAT SHOULD HELP ANSWER YOUR QUESTION

IT IS A BIT DETAILED
    EXTRACT WHAT YOU CAN GET OUT OF IT

31. […] The provocative Bush Tea posted the following comment on the 22/09/2013 under the blog – Are These Banned Foods for Real?: […]

32. miller
    now you have all the juice you need to help in your introduction of electricity in the body

with respect to sodium entering the cell and potassium leaving think of the game “on the river on the bank”

Leave a Reply to Well Well.Cancel reply