Submitted M.R.Thompson
Flying Fish and Cou Cou

How can a prosperous flourishing country which gained it’s independence from mother England in 1966 have fallen into such a Political, Economic, Social and Financial morass in 47 years. Under the leadership of the British the country flourished, economically, financially and socially. It can be argued that this flourish was on the backs of black slaves, indentured white slaves and an aristocratic over bearing British master. The point is that the country did flourish and was looked on as the JEWEL of the Caribbean.

During the initial years of independence the leaders of the country were black and white British educated and schooled in old world ethics. Eventually locally educated and raised individuals assumed the day to day responsibilities, the political entity controlled by the blacks and the economic identity controlled by the whites. Today in 2013 these black/white control distinctions are becoming somewhat less distinct in the economic forum as the non whites are now responsible for the majority of lower/mid level commerce. The non blacks still control the majority of the larger corporate end of the economy which may or may not reside within the country.

The education, political, economic, social and financial learning of all these new controlling groups was heavily influenced by the Caribbean Culture, both in Barbados and surrounding countries. Caribbean people are well known for their “laid back attitudes”, poor work ethics, liming, put it off till tomorrow attitudes. This is not necessarily to be taken as a bad thing and in fact is good for ones longevity providing you do not interfere with thy neighbours wife. However this attitude can get you into trouble very quickly economically should you not keep close attention to exactly what’s happening in the global environment that we deal in today.

Barbados economy has moved from being agricultural based to one of tourism and offshore banking, both of which the country is not in control. Barbados has attracted a large offshore banking economy by offering LOW TAX rate shelters for higher tax jurisdictions. While the worlds economy was robust these other higher tax jurisdictions did not pay much attention to these off shore entities. Now that the world economy is sluggish these higher tax jurisdiction countries are looking at laws whereby they can recover monies being sheltered in no/low tax havens. These higher taxation countries merely change their tax rules such that off shore tax havens are no longer viable and countries such as Barbados are immediately “out of business”. What I’m saying is that Barbados does not have any direct control of it’s two major economic providers. Yes they can provide incentives, advertise etc., however all these initiatives will have minimal effects to the bottom line.

• Barbados is a fragile country of no more than 300,000 people trying to survive in a world dominated by countries with rich resources and populations that are galactic.
  • Barbados has lost sight of how to maintain it’s economic and social infrastructure.
  • Barbados to survive must protect it’s limited natural resources, assuming its not already to late.
  • Barbados has now reached the point of DO or DYE, the Dye part is easy, the DO part however will be painful and last for generations.

The BLAME game has to STOP and BAJAN’s have to step up to the plate and take ACTON.

RICE & PEAS anyone.

© Food for Thought

41 responses to “BAJAN, What Happened?”

1. The writer has missed the real reason for the mess in which this country finds itself. In a more prosperous time the people who led this country were not professional politicians: most of them made something of themselves and then offered themselves to serve the country. Now we have a core group of politicians who have no talent or skills running the place. As a matter of fact, being an MP is the best thing that has happened financially. If you look at the present Cabinet, you will find many who were unemployed or underemployed before attaining office. They look out for self rather than country and always have an eye out for a kickback. Of course, ever present in their minds is the notion that I only have to serve eight years and I am guaranteed a pension for life.

They will do anything to hold on for eight years; lie, cheat or steal. They are mostly without honour and are hellbent on dividing this country along party lines, with their lower level adherents becoming very caustic forgetting that in the end, we are all Barbadians.

2. We in the PDC have been writing pretty extensively on BU on the subject of the massive dedevelopment, decay, collapse, ruin and such like that have long been and that will continue to take place at all levels of this Barbadian society.

Thus, we have been pointing out many of those abominable destructive factors that have been helping to cause such and that MUST be absolutely got the rid of, or that MUST be totally degraded by the broad masses and middle classes of this country in any bid to halt this meteoric plunge that is taking place right now in this country.

We have also been writing – on here – about some of those social, political, material and financial concepts, principles, strategies, approaches and such like that are required by the said broad masses and middle classes to stabilize the country, to reposition it, and to place it on a different growth and development trajectory in this English-speaking Caribbean region.

Anyhow, here are just five of those disgusting factors (not though in any order of any particular grading of damage and destruction as may be concluded by some BU readers, because they are numbered):

1) This DLP/BLP combination – which must be totally removed from this political governmental landscape of Barbados;

2) Economics and Western Finance and their most devout practitioners – economists, bank managers, etc;- which must be totally degraded in the social political material and financial affairs of this country;

3) Taxation – which must be totally removed from this country;

4) Interest Rates – which must be absolutely outlawed in Barbados; and,

5) The giving of monies by the relevant persons, businesses and other entities to the relevant wicked financial institutions in Barbados, equivalent to the amounts initially got, if so – for in most cases no monies are really got, from the said relevant wicked financial institutions, plus the handing in of interest by the relevant persons, businesses and other entities to the said wicked financial institutions, at whatever times and for however long, must be totally outlawed in this country.

3. Well said Caswell
    You may recall that the BUP proposal called for the establishment of a scheme where APPLICATIONS would have been invited from suitably qualified persons for ALL these political leadership positions based on experience, qualifications and history of success.
    The successful candidates would then have become the BUP candidates for election.
    Of course each would have been required to sign a letter of resignation UP FRONT to be held by the National Supervisory Committee in case their “resignation” ever came to be in the best interest of the country… 🙂

…name ANY ONE of the present set of 30 in parliament who you think would have even been accepted as a candidate for BUP….

….you don’t find five…!

4. @BUSH TEA
    under your scheme ” Suitable qualified ” would exclude all, as you have stated that bajans are lazy and hand to mout, But as for one expection you did not include Thief, which gives CASWELL a better chance of leadership at BUP. ……….

5. In Canada it is not much different, senate appointments go to celebrities ,and party hacks rather than to career govt workers. Right now we have 4 senators being investigated for filing false expenses, they bring a right of entitlement with them, what my country owes me attitude. It is sickening to the guy in the street, but it is near impossible to get rid of them. We cant even shame them in to resigning especially knowing they get a big payout for a short time in office. I think the reasoning for that was they needed the brains from the private sector, and had to attract them with some inducements Today however they are some of the best paying jobs and everyone is trying to get one, so now it becomes a popularity or best looking contest, Qualifications be dammed.
    When the writer says gained its independence from Britain, I cringe, Britain has been in the game for hundreds of years and to think they couldn’t see down the road that if they didnt unload there colonies they would be drained financially is ludicrous. Hindsight is 20/20, but maybe still sucking on the tit of mother England may not have been a bad thing. Instead of asking for reparations, you could have bled the money from them within the system. .

6. The writer has missed the real reason for the mess in which this country finds itself. In a more prosperous time the people who led this country were not professional politicians: most of them made something of themselves and then offered themselves to serve the country.

… and the majority of those were grounded in the Sugar Industry.

One thing anyone into agriculture, regardless of colour, understands is that Mother Nature rules and that it is wise to put by something for the bad times.

The sugar industry was the backbone of the economy for over 300 years.

Now there is no backbone!!

In just 50 years everything lick up and dun wid!!

Maybe the geniuses who presided over the demise of the backbone should have looked to replace it with something else.

For their efforts, or lack thereof some of these geniuses have been knighted …. and some are recognized as National Heroes!!

Not much hope for the future with this crop!!

7. @John

Wasn’t the sugar cane given shelter by preferential agreements LOME etc? Then has come globalization which has given rise to cheaper alternatives? There is high level of simplicity to your last comment.

8. David…we should not be in this position and I will continue to harp on the fact that a vision as to where we were going existed in the Caribbean from the 40’s,we saw the need to diversify from the main forex earner cane and go into manufacturing and tourism,when cane and manufacturing were failing,we decided to go into IT and offshore biz,know those three have failed for whatever reason….we have no answers,other than trying to revive tourism and fall back on the old faithful in the form of value added products from cane.
    What was crucial to the growth path of the forties&fifties was the knowledge of what was needed and in order to get it the leaders of the day recognised that further education was required for the next crop of movers and shakers and it was found primarily in the UK and the USA.
    Our fledgeling UWI was intended to come up to the plate and fill that void,so far that has not happened……somewhere along the line things changed instead of the educational system serving our needs,we became slaves of the system and lost our focus….critical thinking is lacking.

9. @Vincent

Agree in the main to your last comment. In leads back to lack of leadership and what appears to be a failure to leverage education to buildout a path of sustainability. One would have thought the crucible which 2008 has offered will not be wasted even at this late stage.

10. David am I wrong in thinking that if you were still a part of England that cheaper globalization would not matter as the mother country would buy your products. Do you think there would be a tax on airline tickets to there own country? etc I agree with John, except for the fact that critical thinking is lacking, maybe the think tank has come to the conclusion that there is no horse to back for a recovery so it is everyman for himself.

11. David | September 14, 2013 at 10:22 AM |

Wasn’t the sugar cane given shelter by preferential agreements LOME etc? Then has come globalization which has given rise to cheaper alternatives? There is high level of simplicity to your last comment

It is the simple truths we often miss.

Thought I would point out a couple and amplify what Caswell and BT seemed to have been saying.

Incidentally, LOME was I believe post Independence ……. makes it even worse for the geniuses we have had masquerading as our leaders.

Even with the preferential treatment they managed to screw it up!!

12. @John

Obviously before LOME Barbados was the jewel in the crown who benefited from a guaranteed market.

13. @ David
    Any time you want to DESTROY a fellow, give him some “preferential treatment”. The mendicant will be doomed!!!

It is the path to laziness, uncompetitiveness, becoming soft and foolish….you may as well die…..

….you can’t see that is what happened to our sugar…while sugar beet and other less efficient brands are making huge profits?
    …you don’t see it in our graduates, even when compared to others from the same UWI?
    ..also the end result of the sweet life that comes from prostitution …uh mean Tourism..when you are YOUNG AND UN-SPOILT…..
    But by age 47 you are scrunting for a living….

Anyway – it is always easy to be wise AFTER the fact….we can write it on our gravestones…

14. The problem Bushie has been the inability of our people to make adjustments based on the challenges of the market. There is this law which says we have to consume consume to demonstrate how better off we have become. What is wrong with understanding we have to hold strain sometimes? Oh, forgot, the politicians rule!

15. Exactly!
    ….and brass bowls don’t think…they just sound off…

16. David | September 14, 2013 at 3:00 PM |

What is wrong with understanding we have to hold strain sometimes? Oh, forgot, the politicians rule!

That’s the lesson an agricultural economy taught us …. well at least some of us.

The politicians can only do what the majority of us let them do.

17. David | September 14, 2013 at 2:03 PM |

Obviously before LOME Barbados was the jewel in the crown who benefited from a guaranteed market.

Much too simplistic an answer!!

If you read a bit more history you would understand sugar prices fluctuated all over the place and often led to the demise of many a planter.

Sometimes it meant fortune for others.

For example, the Haynes family at Newcastle benefitted in the 1790’s and early 1800’s from the destruction of the sugar industry in Haiti and the consequent increase in price of sugar in Europe because of the decrease in supply.

It enabled them to purchase Clifton Hall and Wakefield as their income increased. Thereafter they became the dominant family in Barbados.

The only country I have ever heard described as the jewel in the crown was of course, India ………. immense when compared with Barbados.

18. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ John | September 14, 2013 at 4:04 PM |
    “For example, the Haynes family at Newcastle benefitted in the 1790′s and early 1800′s from the destruction of the sugar industry in Haiti and the consequent increase in price of sugar in Europe because of the decrease in supply.
    It enabled them to purchase Clifton Hall and Wakefield as their income increased. Thereafter they became the dominant family in Barbados.”

It’s a pity that those modern-day so-called educated black Christian fools calling themselves “Haynes” cannot see the light and seek reparations by laying claims to the said plantations instead of talking about approaching a British government that would soon be controlled by people of East Indian descent which would not give two hoots about the former jewel in the West Indian crown or broken trident but much more so about the East Indian jewel in the broken crown.

19. Bush Tea | September 14, 2013 at 2:55 PM |

Any time you want to DESTROY a fellow, give him some “preferential treatment”. The mendicant will be doomed!!!

It is the path to laziness, uncompetitiveness, becoming soft and foolish….you may as well die…..

I take it you are very much against reparations.

20. David

Clearly the 1994 author is trying to draw an analogy between Barbados and India!!

http://wiki.answers.com/Q/Why_did_the_British_call_India_the_jewel_in_the_crown

21. Barbados does not stand much of a chance when it has just been revealed that Diana’s sons are part of the direct Indian ancestry straight out of India, can’t remember the boy’s names, the two dudes out of buckingham palace.

22. All yuh keep missing the most important point–good jesus.

23. millertheanunnaki | September 14, 2013 at 6:38 PM |

It’s a pity that those modern-day so-called educated black Christian fools calling themselves “Haynes” cannot see the light and seek reparations by laying claims to the said plantations instead of talking about approaching a British government …….

You live in Barbados?

Newcastle Plantation was acquired by the Government of Barbados back in the 1960’s!!

They promptly made the house into a children’s home but did not have the ability to keep it in repair.

What was the point?

24. @ John
    Bush Tea…..
    Not at all. ….Bushie is not against reparations…it is just that the SOB’s don’t have enough money to pay for the centuries of inhumanity…
    …but pay they shall…!

25. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ John | September 14, 2013 at 8:50 PM |
    “They promptly made the house into a children’s home but did not have the ability to keep it in repair.”

Sorry if you missed the finer, or should we say, subtler point.
    But you have inadvertently made it yourself.
    Just replicate the quoted statement right across Little England and you would appreciate why Big England would laugh at any call for reparations coming from Barbados. Any money paid would end up in China, Japan or even India in less than 5 years.

“The rich rules over the poor, and the borrower is the slave of the lender”. Proverbs 22:7

26. Reparations … what nonsense …. but it keeps the uneducated with something to talk about, instead of worrying about who screwed your ancestors be more concerned who has been screwing you over the last 50 years

27. St George's Dragon Avatar

The post misses the point when talking about low tax rates in Barbados and how first world countries are seeking to change the rules and increase them. It is not really about “tax havens” these days. The driver is more about where tax is paid by a company versus where it does business and whether it pays its fair share in the countries where it really operates.
    First world countries are up in arms because major companies like Starbucks artificially move money from countries where they do business to lower tax countries where they may do no business at all. The effect is that they pay little or no tax on their turnover in the place where they do real business and a low rate of tax in a country where they may have a handful of staff running a shell company.
    Our problem is that this is exactly what the majority of our offshore business sector does. There is every indication that the world is going to get its act together and close these loopholes.
    The only way we can keep any significant offshore sector in the future is to ensure that foreign companies working out of Barbados have a real operational presence here. That means people on the ground doing real work, not some pokey office with two people in it which theoretically bills the rest of the world for something which is really done in Canada.

28. Bush Tea | September 14, 2013 at 9:19 PM |

@ John
    Bush Tea…..
    Not at all. ….Bushie is not against reparations…it is just that the SOB’s don’t have enough money to pay for the centuries of inhumanity…
    …but pay they shall…!

BT

Have you ever had a DNA test?

Your ancestors might very well include some of the SOB’s of which you speak!!

….. kind of like Prince William and his Indian ancestry!!

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2341437/Williams-Indian-ancestry-DNA-tests-future-monarch-clear-genetic-line-country-mothers-side.html

29. @St.George’s Dragon

Thanks for your intervention. Your comment begs the question what are we doing to militate given the rapidly approaching expiry date of the shelf life of this line of business.

30. Wait John…
    You were on holiday? …you like you come back refreshed and ready to dump your usual load of BS on BU….Steupssss

Look, if Bushie’s family were responsible for the inhumanity of slavery then their asses deserve whatever reparations they are made to pay also…what is your point?

Don’t you understand PRINCIPLE? …all you know is race and made-up history?

WHOSOEVER is responsible, and whosoever is benefiting from the spoils…..will pay

BUT BUSHIE DON’T WANT NO DAMN PAYOUT FROM THEM!

Rape one of Bushie’s daughters ….Bushie’s don’t want no payoff…Bushie want justice…revenge even…
    Rape one of Bushie’s ancestors…..same shit!

31. dear Dragon how do you keep a operational presence on all the ships Barbados is flagging throughout the world

32. Bush tea since it seems fair to you that I should pay for misdeeds of the past done by some white people I may or may not be related to, but by color you condemn me for it. What tribe did you come from that never enslaved anybody.

33. What happen to you Lawson….a cap fit you?
    …conscience problems?
    Where did someone blame you…?

FYI
    Karma is like a woman….spiteful for generations….

34. Bush tea said ‘Karma is like a woman….spiteful for generations….”

Bushie some woman must have done you wrong and you keeping that grudge alive. You seem to dislike women I am surprised that you even have a wife and children. Reminds me of someone who is fronting with a beard…

35. OK Islandgal….
    Karma is a bitch….
    …Bushie was just trying to be polite 🙂

36. BT

Rape one of Bushie’s ancestors…..same shit!

…. even if this imaginary rape gave rise to Bushie

… it would have had to come to think of it once you start with the assumption that it was one of your ancestors who was raped!!

It would also make the imagined rapist one of your ancestors too!!

Bushie man …. use your head!!

You can’t do nuffin ’bout who your ancestors were nor what they did …. especially since you don’t even know who they were and choose to wallow in your ignorance of the past!!

If you go back 10 generations you will find there were 1024 people who were involved in making you …. or for that matter anybody looking back 10 generations.

Each person can’t have 1024 separate ancestors 10 generations prior as the population in the world was small 300 years ago.

The two of us might even be cousins to the future King of England!!

Simple logic dictates many of us must be related!!

37. Why does Bushie bother to argue with you nuh John? Wunna people can only see everything from a SELF point of view….
    Did Bushie EVER say that he or his relatives should be exempted from karma?
    What €£¥> difference does it make to the PRINCIPLE of justice whether or not Bushie or his ancestors or his descendants are involved?
    It is the principle of the thing John.

Shiite man!
    You just like the damned Americans who got 90% of the world’s weapons of mass destruction; used atomic bombs on civilians; chemicals on civilians; depleted uranium on civilians (and on their own soldiers); and committing murder by drone daily….
    …..and are always ready to bomb any one else even SUSPECTED of having such dastardly weapons, into oblivion….

38. Surely the PRINCIPLE must apply to the imaginary perpetrators who are all dead.

The guards at the death camps are to this day being sought out on behalf of the survivors of the Holocaust but one day they will all be dead and gone, …… just like the survivors.

What happens then?

The survivors are left with their belief in the Old Testament, “… the sins of the fathers etc.”, ….. but you don’t believe in the Bible …. or do you?

http://www.haaretz.com/opinion/.premium-1.532147

39. John | September 15, 2013 at 12:34 PM |

Surely the PRINCIPLE must apply to the imaginary perpetrators who are
    all dead.

The guards at the death camps are to this day being sought out on behalf of the survivors of the Holocaust but one day they will all be dead and gone, …… just like the survivors.

What they are not telling us is that the funding for the holocaust came from the same families who are now funding the hunting of the guards, not unlike the $12 billion dollars in chemical weapons sold by a European country to Syria (rebels, government, what’s the difference, which they are now willing to go to war over (destroy, what’s the difference) scum at the top, scum at the bottom, what’s the difference.

40. Frustrated Businessman Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman

@ Caswell, I often joke that ‘the only honest man ever to enter parliament was Guy Fawkes’.

On a more serious note, your point about professional loafers seeking a career in politics rather than our historically-proven successful businessmen and professionals is well-noted by everyone with eyes; and certainly those in the business community who deal with them face-to-face.

My serious question is this: would not the abolition of the Westminster System eliminate the threat of 30 popular fools and replace it with the much lesser threat of a single popular puppet and be better for all of us? Surely the single elected president would find it in his interest to form a cabinet of qualified people rather than political lackeys??!!

Mia thinks the Queen should be replaced with a president and that is the form of republic her party promotes. I think the House of Assembly should be replaced with a president.

Leave a Reply to lawsonCancel reply