The ‘Rubbing Shoulders’ initiative of the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) has been attracting attention and criticism from the government of Barbados. Minister Ronald Jones has gone so far as to suggest that insurrection may result which may lead to the cracking of heads etc.

What is there to fear from the BLP talking directly to the people? Isn’t the opposition political party charged with ‘raising’ issues?

124 responses to “Barbados Labour Party Rubbing Shoulders”

1. grab by the neck
    and rub

2. Both Carson and ac are starting to sound mentally deranged, seems like the pressure is starting to get to the DLP ministers and they are transferring it to their yardfowls.

3. Another perspective about “Rubbing Shoulders”

I am the first person to agree that both sides are Onanists output (the sin of Onan was to spill his seed on the ground) or in Bajan vernacular “Waste Foops”

Mia Mottley’s first choice, dipshi* woman beater Kerrie Symmonds, but when you examine it closely one does see a pattern, the new leadership of the (W)BLP or the (Woman) Beaters and Lesbians Party – you have to beat women or bite out their private parts to be part of the newly constituted BLP.

If it were only as simple as being led by incompetents it would be easy to tolerate these incompetents and pray that the Father comes in the interim.

Here however we have a challenge and i quote “The King assassination riots, also known as the Holy Week Uprising, was a wave of civil disturbance which swept the United States following the assassination of Martin Luther King, Jr. on April 4, 1968”

Imagine the social upheaval and unrest that a simple riot where the police are present when one gunshot is fired!!

Just imagine that during a simple “Shoulder Rubbing” gathering where, in classic style of fostering social unrest, one incites a single incomparable incident of social disobedience.

We only need one.

This is the sole purpose of that “Rubbing Shoulders” session.

Couple a contrived incident, with the “over-enthusiastic” police of our RBPF, just one person being injured, shot or killed during a “Rubbing Shoulders” incident and whaplax, we have a serious issue on our doorstep, more serious than the economic ineptitude of this Fumble administration.

Stage the “mini riot” to happen around the time that the IMF is scheduled to come avisiting our shores and whuloss…it all over.

We Jonesing is an idiot and should not have mentioned what was shared with him in confidence but he is privy to the real issue and context of the “By Any Means Necessary” objectives of Mia Amor Mottley.

4. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | September 10, 2013 at 2:03 PM |
    “Why these BLP people like so much “rubbing”?”

What are you implying here, Carrion the bitch lover? Remember you were told that people in glass houses should not throw stones (at others).
    Do you want people to go up Ilaro Court to “pelt” a few, do you?

BTW, when are you going to find a wife for Fumble? The man looks rather lonely. Maybe a wife would help him choose a suit other than pinstripe even if he retains his colourful shirts.
    Even Nelson Mandela married Samora Machel’s widow. Why can’t Fumble marry David’s? Or is he not so “inclined”?

Now you need to keep on the ‘straight’ and narrow when it comes to the “rubbing” business.
    You know little about what you write. Hypocrisy in one’s public life is a clear indication of hypocrisy in one’s private life.
    The evidence is there for everyone to see.

5. @Well Well
    In an election the voters do not vote for either a government or am opposition/ they vote for someone to represent them in Parliament. Because they are members of the party that lost the election does not mean they cannot or ought not to do their duty and represent thee interests of the constituents. So if they are honest and the government invites them to support in on an initiative that is for the good of the country (the constituents) then they have a duty to support that initiative. When the idea of constituency councils were proposed, before the structure was put in place the Barbados lLabouarParty was invited to participate n the discussion to set it up and invited to participate. They obstinately refused to have anything to do with it even though it was for the good of the constituents. Both parties who have constituents representatives on the councils receive assistance. The persons requesting help are not asked for their political affilitation. When children are chosen for extra tuition before the 11plus exam, paid for by the constituency council the parents are not asked about their political affiliation. the objective is to help the children. The BLP has to remember that at the endof the day we are ALL Barbadians BlP, DLO, PEP. npon affiliated, P
    DC. therefore they have to stop opposing and putting obstacles in the way of the government in the hope that it will be overthrown. I will make this prediction, If the present government is overthrown before the end of the parliamentary session the BLP will not be forgiven and whenever the election is held they will lose even worse. People are not to be played for fools. They can see through the subterfuge.

6. Did we not hear in today’s VOB News that the IMF and World Bank are in Barbados examining the Government Finances??Can anyone confirm what this
    means?Is the fox at the door?Hear the idyut Sinckliar in to day’s Nation
    ‘Sinckler made it clear there is going to be no sacking of workers in the Public Service’
    Then in the same breath’I said in the budget and it is policy of this Government
    that any RETRENCHMENT OF WORKERS IS A LAST RESORT.We have to go through the system properly,there are savings that can be made in the system to avoid any LARGE SCALE RETRENCHMENT OF WORKERS IN BARBADOS.
    IF THINGS DETERIORATE TO A HORRIBLE LEVEL AND YOU CAN’T AVOID DOING CERTAIN THINGS WELL THEN….BUT WE ARE NOT AT THAT STAGE.’
    NOT YET!But we are on the way.Talk of double speak!Talk of misleading the public!What a disgrace this man is!

7. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Alvin Cummins | September 10, 2013 at 5:02 PM |
    “I will make this prediction, If the present government is overthrown before the end of the parliamentary session the BLP will not be forgiven and whenever the election is held they will lose even worse. People are not to be played for fools. They can see through the subterfuge.”

What arrant nonsense is this? How can the government be overthrown unless sitting members of the DLP vote with the Opposition in any vote of No confidence brought to the House as they did in 1994 against the Sandiford administration? The subterfuge would have to come from within.

Be off desperate fool! You sound life a flaming madman. Is this some sort of virus attacking you guys or what? Or is this your way of telling us you smell trouble in the government’s camp or can predict the demise of someone? The Royal Palms are truly dying in George St.

8. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Come on BLP supporters, don’t you think that it is high time that you told the BLP “leadership” whoever that is that it is high time to recognize that the glass is half full and not half empty?

This ought to stop them from trying to sabotage every imitative which is brought forward for the good of the Bajan people and Nation which includes their constituents.

9. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Gabriel

First it was PRODIGAL SON, now it is you, what is this fixation with the VOB(LP) news?

They are always wrong. Look how many times the 12.30 VOB(LP) news has led astray PRODIGAL SON. You ought to learn from the mistakes of others(Prodigal Son).

y

10. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

Gabriel | September 10, 2013 at 5:58 PM |

commenter, Gabriel above asked the question

“Did we not hear in today’s VOB News that the IMF and World Bank are in Barbados examining the Government Finances??Can anyone confirm what this
    means?”

DR. THE HONOURABLE -says

Will not confirm what it means but will confirm that they are here in Barbados. Its about to get , ‘iggy’

11. @Miller
    I was to ask you before, why do you refer to our members of parliament as “black boys” (no girls?).
    I find that reprehensible and tells me what your true leanings are.

12. Why can’t you people discuss the issues intelligently for once? If only some of you had the ability to read what you write with a clear perspective.

13. WHere is the message””’ LOL”’ Rubbing Shoulders. sound lke a commercial fuh Bengay,,,, really this is 2013 not 1913,, so embarassing,,,,,

14. Cuthbert of England Avatar
    Cuthbert of England

Alvin

Miller thought he had John The Voice beat in the last election, his entire Bull Ling Brigade was out in force and celebrating His victory by 8pm election night in Sayes Court.

15. Alvin Cummins | September 10, 2013 at 5:02 PM |

@Well Well
    In an election the voters do not vote for either a government or am opposition/ they vote for someone to represent them in Parliament.

Alvin……………..i personally heard Sinckler tell the opposition if they had an alternative ideas to rescue Barbados, put it in writing and hand it to the government and it will be reviewed, personally i don’t see where the BLP has to comply to such a request, they were not given/took the mandate to save the country, the ruling party was, the DLP ministers are being paid to govern, if they are not so equipped they should step aside. Never heard of what you said happening in any other democracy.

Carson………..no wonder you and ac sound deranged, the IMF and world bank have been ‘invited in’ and both of you have the jitters, hee, hee, hee!!

16. Cuthbert of England Avatar
    Cuthbert of England

……but on the positive side He now has more time for further plastic surgery in anticipation of his transformation.

17. Well Well! dat what every BLP yardfowl been saying about ac for the last six years . HE! HEE!

18. What is of importantance is what the World Bank and IMF will say, they will certainly let the media know, then everyone will know.

19. should read………………what is of importance.

20. How is it that nuff people getting send home, the Unemployment Agency being bombarded and we now hear about a one percentage drop in unemployment. Who manipulating those figures, or we taking Guyanese figures.

21. we “talking” Guyanese figures.

22. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Alvin Cummins | September 10, 2013 at 6:56 PM |

What has that red herring got to do with you talking arrant nonsense?
    How can the DLP administration be deposed before it is removed by the electorate unless through machinations on the part of DLP malcontents?
    That is the question to you, man. What black boys what? We are not dealing with that.
    Check with ac and her “Negro”, talk not me.

23. @Well Well
    When the former Prime Minister lost a vote of no confidence in him, he pulled up stumps. that had never happened before in a Parliamentary democracy, nut what is of interest is that some of his own ministers joined the opposition. I am sure this will not happen again, . What intrigues me however is the anticipation of some BLP supporters that MA will call a no confidence vote and they expect th have solidarity in the ranks of the BLP, and therefore it would be interesting to see how the BLPmembers line up, and how many will vote with the DLP aga inst the BLP. that is a possibility, and a probability that I don’t thinkmany BLP supporte

24. (Continued)…many BLP supporters have considered. The IMF is nothing to be scared about. they have been coming here periodically in good times and bad times. Because they are “examining” our financial position is no reason for fear or trembling. We can handle them as we did in the past. I keep telling all of you we will make it and reach where we want to go. Note tha unemployment rate dropped. There are a number of big porjects on stream…have to go to the town hall meeting tomorrow night to hear about the sugar point Cruise terminals project. google it (the sugar point project) looks reaally exciting. More to follow.

25. @Miller
    You used the words”black boys”…a pergorative, odious epithet to which I take umbrage, and it is not a red herring. I am sure you know the way especially since you people set the precedent in the removal of the leader of the opposition by “BLP malcontents.”.

26. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Alvin Cummins | September 10, 2013 at 9:18 PM |

Until you, Alvin, can address the issue of sitting members of the DLP undermining their own administration you can continue to take umbrage and piss off.

27. @ CCC, AC, & Alvin Cummins….

Look, you DLP yardfowls…

Tell your bosses, that form the government, to stop the pussying around and GOVERN THE COUNTRY PROPERLY!

Thank You

28. @Miller
    OUCH!!!Did I touch a nerve? “piss off?” Such language.
    For your informtion I Piss off many times each day. If you mean by it that I should “get lost…you have to come better than that/ I already told you I don’t scare easily(If at all) and I am not easily got rid of. Anyone who knows mme will tell you that.

29. i wonder if any of these DLP supporters or the DLP government will tell the country what is happening with Dr. Dennis Lowe?

waiting to see how long they allow this to play out.

30. @Alvin Cummins
    have to go to the town hall meeting tomorrow night to hear about the sugar point Cruise terminals project. google it (the sugar point project) looks reaally exciting. More to follow.

It does sound exciting Alvin wish I could be at the Town hall meeting. Where is the meeting taking place?

This isn’t the kind of news miller, well well, irate bajan and the assorted BLP lackeys want to hear. This is about rubbing shoulders to take Barbados forward.

Adrian Loveridge must be fuming Sugar Point is shaping up to be one of the most creative projects in the Caribbean. Horror of horrors its not being done in St. Lucia the island Loveridge campaigns tirelessly for visitors to visit. Not only that he is all over the world wide web pleading with tourists not to vacation in Barbados.

Sugar Point has major positive implications for the renewal of the tourism plant and improvement in arrivals and foreign investment.

Loveridge ,prodigal, George Braithwaite and the Nation columnists will not be happy campers with GOB executing such a game changing tourism venture.

31. then there are these questions, which no one on the government side has address.

now these are real questions. how come ppl like ac and CCC what answers from the BLP and when they point out problems and give you jackassess the answers, you still can’t respond?

then you will want people believe this country is well run? well run in the ground. bunch of fucking idiots but time longer than twine. remember that one.

32. What am I hearing unemployment is down? Well that’s more bad news for the folk on this blog working overtime to destroy Barbados. They will say government is cooking the books but when they quote tourism numbers down the same government figures are used to justify their abuse of the DLP.

33. BLP yardfowls “WHERE IS THE MESSAGE. ac can’t hear yuh all..

34. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Waiting | September 10, 2013 at 10:06 PM |

We are also so keen to see the cruise terminal project take off for the good of the country.
    But similar promises were made in regard to the Pierhead Marina (and the Four Seasons restart). So don’t quarrel with us if we express major reservations and are not terribly excited like you. It would be interesting if you could confirm that the financing aspect of the project has yet been sorted out and ready even if BOLT and all like the Prisons.

BTW, when you make your contribution at the Town Hall meeting could you tell the project developers to please clean up Bridgetown. It’s pissy and shitty and rundown.
    What’s the sense of inviting people to your well-appointed living room but your toilet bowl the guests are expected to use is full of old shit. Would you recommend your fellow guests to visit that little room or keep it until otherwise “convenient”?

35. I eagerly await the full data on the new unemployment figures. Were they compiled and computed by the Statistical department, or the Central bank? What period were they for? etc. etc.

36. Not one sensible person has any confidence in anything this government does or says.

Look at the parade of idiocy over the last few days. ……….the PM and the Smart Stream glitch………walk hat back.

The AG did not know anything about postal workers being sent home.

The PM walking back the sending home of workers ……………despite the directive from the Director of Finance acting on clear directives from the LIED Minister of Finance.

The Minister of Health saying that health care will not be compromised at the hospital despite a cut of 35 million dollars………….never mind the doctors have said otherwise.

Donville Inniss going against the budget he voted for………….the municipal tax is wrong. But wait, who wrote this budget? Municipal is not a word which is used in Barbados. The PM should check the meaning of this word in his dictionary.

Out of the blue the Central Bank Governor is forced to make an economic statement in the third month of the third quarter.

The Minister of Education getting on like a scunk on TV…….looking like a cornered animal.cursing the media. Hope the media remembers the next time they want coverage.

The Minister of Finance now back from his jaunt with Leroy Parris looking like he got bigger telling bold faced lies ……the tuition fees are only temporary.

Only a DLP yardfowl would believe that the unemployment rate has gone down. I the quarter that Almond workers were severed, amazingly, that quarter, the rate decreased. Everyday workers are being laid off, the winter season was bad and yet for that period, the rate decreased? Impossible.

You fools are fooling yourself that we are only preaching doom and gloom……….many people are living doom and gloom daily. I was at dinner at a luxury hotel a few nights ago. During the dinner, I made a little talk with one of the waitresses and she told me that she was only getting 20 hours work a week! You fools continue to feast on the taxpayer provided fatted calf! And in your fool’s paradise.

We are drifting on a rudderless ship.

37. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ checkit-out | September 10, 2013 at 10:43 PM |

Have you heard anything regarding the publishing of the findings of 2010 National Census? The mere fact that the summary data and findings are still unavailable can only reinforce people’s genuine skepticism of statistical information coming from government.

Do the unemployment figures include people who have been off unemployment benefits, out of work for more than a year and have, through mere exhaustion, given up looking for work?

Politicians tend to use statistics like a drunk uses a lamppost. Not for enlightenment but as support for a weak position.

38. millertheanunnaki Avatar

Prodigal Son | September 10, 2013 at 10:45 PM |
    “Out of the blue the Central Bank Governor is forced to make an economic statement in the third month of the third quarter.”

This is what you call preparing the wicket for IMF fast bowlers.
    You can bet if there is indeed a third quarter report it will be ‘doctored’ to the hilt with the $300 million foreign reserves brought back in as a prior period adjustment by some sleight of hand magical touch.
    If the real facts are reported Barbados’s reserves would be easily under Bds$1 billion.

With regard to the Municipal tax; that is straight out of the list of tax revenues raising measures submitted by the IMF/IDB.
    The foolish MoF didn’t even had the smartness to spot it and change the name of the tax to say “Waste Management Levy” and forget the municipal talk( unless it was meant for the people in Bridgetown) with the understanding that the Land Tax Act will have to be amended to grant authority to the CoLT to collect such a levy.

But Prodigal how can people return from holiday and still look so horribly obese, stressed out and flustered? Something wrong with these guys’ health. Too much free food and big drinks available.

39. Cuthbert of England Avatar
    Cuthbert of England

Miller

Did you see that CIBC have moved against Christopher Andrew McHale and employed Terra Caribbean and put his property, Ocean Reef Suites up for sale En Bloc as a building? Bank says sell with 120 day. Now that is a fire(ass) sale.

40. Cuthbert of England Avatar
    Cuthbert of England

Can you remove the picture of Kerri ‘I does Pelt Nuff Hand’ Symmonds, its is frightening battered women who visit BU?

41. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Cuthbert of England | September 10, 2013 at 11:39 PM |

You Cuntbert and the Carrion boy Cadogan and ac can “partner up” and buy them and show the white boys especially Adrian how to “manage” things the Bajan black way.
    How about that CoE?

42. It seems fate will prove the downfall of the DLP government, rumors have it the one minister was to have gone overseas to have a second opnion on a medical problem but had to abort the mission because of the sudden and serious illness of another. However, this minister has stated that if the hospitalised minister’s illness is prolonged, he will have no choice but to go because his health comes first. This would leave a minority government torun the affairs of this country.

43. We spoke yesterday, Tuesday, with a gentleman who informed us how now on an ongoing basis he has to wait three days to get monies from First Caribbean Bank via the presentation of government cheques authorizing such payments.

A provider of services to the government, he remarked that a couple years ago, this was not the case, there was no three day clearance, the simple proper presentation of the government cheque to First Caribbean, and the money was got soon after the certification of the cheque.

Imagine that this man was/is a supporter of the DLP Government, and used to be singing the praises of the DLP the same couple years ago, and now regrettably he is crying so much shame on the DLP Government.

Amid those praises, we had indeed warned him at the time that the country was going to get worse and worse financially commercially materially and he never took heed.

Remove the Damned DLP and the Blasted BLP!!

44. Alvin said:

“Note tha unemployment rate dropped”

Alvin, you know that’s a big lie, there is no way that all these businesses closed in the last year, hundreds upon hundreds sent home and the unemployment rate dropped, i am sure the unemployment is now around 18%………..that is what i keep talking about, commonsense sense Alvin, the DLP has shitty credibility issues, they manufacture too many lies for the taxpayers to swallow.

45. Alvin……sometimes i believe you forget i don’t live in Barbados, i know how to do serious research, i was trained in North America, only Bajans would believe that shit or anything coming out of the mouths of Sinckler, Stuart, or central bank governor

46. If these two bit politicians on the island continue to tell lies to the taxpayers consistently and unequivocally, they will all find themselves falling sick.

47. Market Vendor recently bemoaned the fact that TGIF shut down because its not making business sense to remain open.Market Vendor revealed a shocking and unknown secret which is that 71 repeat 71 businesses folded up in the recent past.What a slap in the face of the Statistics which suggest that the unemployment rate has come down!From where St John?St Philip?Because in our culture one ‘comes down’ from the ‘country’.

48. @ Gabriel
    Actually, it is altogether possible for the unemployment statistics to reflect a fall in unemployment. Wunna people need to read the fine print.
    Unemployment DOES NOT mean “not employed”, it actually means something more like “unemployed and actively looking for employment”

Now most persons who lose their job in this environment and who are typical of those who have mostly lost their jobs so far – are intelligent enough to see the FUTILITY of seeking a similar job at this time. They therefore “look for something else useful to do” like babysitting, vending or working in a family venture.

If the previous unemployment figure was x% and y persons lost their jobs and a large percentage of those did not seek employment (as well as others who previous were looking), then the unemployment rate could actually IMPROVE.

49. OK Bushie but it is also possible that Statistics lie and many situations are possible as you posit but its highly improbable that with so many people losing jobs that the unemployment rate has come down.Bear in mind also we have a Governor of the Central Bank who has tampered with these Stats in the past.The old story of a dog having a reputation for biting.

50. Riots in de land!!! Avatar
    Riots in de land!!!

Too many people in Barbados living above their means. Barbados like many other countries is not soundly rooted on bedrock but upon sand.
    A government must run a deficit, a business should have a credit account. All these things encourage debt, not efficiency and certainly not responsibility. Look to the great depression and the great recession to see where these foolish things get you.

We cannot feed ourselves, we import our food, most of it unhealthy. Is Barbados overpopulated, I say no. 300 thousand would be an optimal level for Barbados to have a good ratio left for agricultural land. But what we choose instead to do with the land, put it up for sale to the highest bidder. Food be damned, we rather starve and count the money.

We have compromised individuals in places of governance, law, finance, you name it. Too many conflicts of interest occur, thus the system is clogged with untouchable men and women who do not have to pay for the high crimes or incompetence they commit. They just fade away or ride off into the sunset.

Rulers, I will not call them leaders, with no vision. All they know to do is tax, lie and pull a fat salary. A benevolent tyrant would do a better job.

The Dirty Lying Party (DLP) campaigned in 2008 about cost of living and corruption of the Bullsh!!t and Lies Party (BLP). Cost of living has gone waaaaaaay up and the only people that charge any Blp member was another Blp member. Freundel got on national tv and say he saw vote buying with his own two bulging eyes. No charges have been filed to this day as far as I know.

Alot of jokers talk bout compare Barbados to Singapore or Mauritius, HA!
    Barbados more akin to Easter Island. That island in the pacific where the people built those great stone statues, monuments to human stupidity. Cuz after cutting down all the trees to build rollers and rope to errect those mysterious works of art, the climate of the island colapsed from soil erosion, food became scarce. Their ancestors came to the island in boats, but after wasting all the trees they had no materials to build anymore boats. A couple generations later this highly organised culture knew nothing about boats and now practiced cannibalism. Their past rulers whose vision and incentive was to destroy life for stone monuments to arrogance and waste left their children the then rulers to eat all the remaining people and then eat themselves.

The end

So I say to all those incompetent, corrupt, selfish, greedy, uncaring
    persons in positions of authority; “Keep eating, keep destroying lives, keep building ya stone monuments, keep cutting down them trees”. Barbados deserves better, we shall not allow arrogant fools who present themselves as saviors to destroy us any more. Either LEAD, FOLLOW or GET OUT DE WAY!!.

Leave a Reply to Tell me WhyCancel reply