Submitted by Looking Glass
Hon Ronald Jones, Minister of Education, Science, Technology and Innovation

We are about the only country in the world where Tertiary Education is free and the cost to the taxpayer is truly excessive not only in terms of finance but in terms of what is taught and how it is taught. This is especially true of the kind of economics we teach and has implications for successful social and economic development.

Countries are not identical. They differ in terms of size, natural resources, social resources, population etc. China population exceeds one million the USA about 275000. Economics is a social science not a physical science. All we have is land, sea, sun and no natural resources. To be truly effective for Barbados it requires knowledge and understanding of the local economy.

Econ growth and development require technological and other growth to increase productivity. It requires structural factors social, economic and political to increase output and efficiency of available resources and investment. The agricultural sector is vital. Much of economic development in Latin America is tied to the land and growth of products for consumption and export. Much of the population is involved in agriculture. They grow every thing from coffee and cocoa, work on the land and have enacted vigorous development policies. In Barbados we are still inclined to avoid working the land and linking it to Slavery.

Our High School and Tertiary Education economic system offer few outlets for training, employment and economic investment. The High Schools curricula remain substantially unchanged. Students leave Cave Hill knowing nothing the history or the economy. The poor training and professional environment limits full talent utilization and or investment. Correction requires an integrated educational system with appropriate curriculum to develop the attitudes and facilitate understanding.

Continuous economic development requires ongoing social, economic, political and technological progress. Things change as the population increases.

Economic development requires structural factors at the social, economic and political to increase output and efficiency of available resources and investment. The existence of many souls with low employment is not conducive to social or economic development. Much of the economic development in Latin America is tied to the land and the growth of products for consumption and export. Much of the population is involved in agriculture. . They grow every thing from coffee and cocoa and have enacted vigorous development policies. Much the same is true in Africa. In Barbados we are still inclined to avoid working the land and linking it to Slavery

Our education system offers few outlets for effective training and employment. High Schools curricula remain substantially unchanged. Economic growth requires technological growth and growth in other areas to increase productivity Continuous economic development requires ongoing social, economic, political and technological progress. Economic students leave Cave Hill knowing nothing about our history or the economy. The poor professional environment limits full talent utilization. It requires an integrated education system with appropriate curriculum to develop the attitudes and skills needed. Management opportunities result in underutilization of talent and are not conducive to econ development. Cave Hill needs to introduce students to the nature of the economy, introduce agricultural courses and become much more involved in Research which so far appears to be a bad word there.

45 responses to “Local Tertiary Education”

1. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

Looking Glass@ No one wants to tell theTruth ,So lies will not fix any thing.So all they will give is long and longer talking.We can not put the cost of what Adults do on the back of the up and coming students.
    DLP and BLP do not want to own up to the sell off and the sell out of Barbados , CUT their pay first and put back all the money they took for signing deals, All of those 10% adds up to millions and we know they get a pay check on top of that each month, Now they are being paid twice .
    High Court cost 150 million, free land not paid for as yet ,There are more things that made them money and serve us less.

2. At this stage, there is a sufficient amount of “natural” resources available to Barbados – land, mineral,water, marine, wind, solar, etc, resources. There is a good number of people living in and visiting this country with an array of different skills and services. There is a fair amount of goods and services that are available for purchase or sale, rent, etc, in this country. And there is a reasonable amount of money in existence and circulating in the country.

Yet this country has entered its sixth consecutive year of political economic and services industry decline – thus the deepening, lengthening and intensifying of this said localized political economic depression.

Given the fact of this failed westernist oligarchist dependency exploitation development model in Barbados, the more and more there is and will be of this deepening, lengthening and intensifying of this disgraceful state of affairs (until it ends), the greater and greater the remuneration costs associated with the use of money and associated with any national/sub-national recovery efforts, and the greater and greater the burden will be on the uses of the majority of the people in Barbados of these existing natural resources, goods and services, professionals (meaning all manner of things that persons are doing commercially in Barbados), and money in Barbados (and their reproductions where necessary).

Thus, the main problems facing the political economy and services industry sectors of this country, are not in the natural resources themselves, are not in the nature of production of goods and services and people, professionals ( meaning all manner of what persons are doing commercially in Barbados), money, but are in the distributional remuneration costs associated with the use of money ( local/foreign)and associated with the reproduction and maintenance of professional statuses, and associated with the reproduction and maintenance, if so, of goods and services in this country.

Therefore, the Governor of the Central Bank of Barbados is very wrong in putting such emphasis on balancing (which is really mythical) foreign exchange inflows and outflows as a factor in determining joke political economic stability and growth in Barbados, when
    the above mentioned distributional and recovery issues are taken into consideration.

3. Why is everyone saying that Barbados is the only country or one of three countries in the world that provides free tertiary education? Do you people not read? Go and check http://www.wikipedia.org and ask for the list of countries that still provide FREE TERTIARY Education to its citizens.

4. @Dipablo
    I checked the wikepdeia webaddress you gave, this is the answer:
    The page “List of counries provding free tertiary education” does not exist.
    Kindly verify your sources if you are going to come on this blog and spread false information. People like me will check.

5. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Free_education
    Free Post Secondary Education buddy…. learn to use the internet.

6. List of countries with free post-secondary education[edit source | editbeta]

This is not a complete list, and only countries discussed in the article are mentioned.
    Algeria
    Argentina
    Bhutan
    Cuba
    Denmark
    Egypt
    Estonia
    Finland
    France
    Greece
    Italy
    India
    Malta
    Mauritius
    Morocco
    Norway
    Oman
    Pakistan
    Russia
    Saudi Arabia
    Scotland
    Spain
    Sri Lanka
    Trinidad and Tobago
    Turkey
    Barbados
    Kenya
    United Arab Emirates
    Uruguay

7. alvin cummins | September 4, 2013 at 11:37 AM |

You need to apologise to Depablo. If you don’t know how to use the internet search engines, you should check with Carson.

8. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DLP Lunch Time Lecture

Friday, 6th September 2013

By

Ms. Maureen Holder

Resident Political Analyst, Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation (CBC)

Topic:
    “Pondering Tertiary Education in times of Uncertainty”

the lecture starts at 1:00 p.m.

9. a political pimp

10. Common sense is not common Avatar
    Common sense is not common

Post secondary education does not necessarily mean University education and in the context of the article alvin cummins was right to believe that by post secondary you were referring to tertiary.

11. “Applying for GATE
    Undergraduate Level Application Upon acceptance at an approved TLI to pursue an approved programme, citizens of Trinidad and Tobago can access GATE application forms from the institution.” Students pursuing approved undergraduate programmes will complete the GATE application form to access funding for 100% of their tuition fees.

12. Common sense is not common | September 4, 2013 at 6:08 PM |
    Post secondary education does not necessarily mean University education and in the context of the article alvin cummins was right to believe that by post secondary you were referring to tertiary.

Clearly common sense aint common. lmao

13. @Dipablo
    The current discussion centred around Free University education for which the UWI students will have to pay tuition fees. the original article pointed out that Barbados was one of the few countries that provided government paid UNIVERSITY education. Consequently the issue of free Post Secondary education shlould not even have entered the discussion. . I owe no apology.

14. @ Alvin
    STFD!!

“We are about the only country in the world where Tertiary Education is free and the cost to the taxpayer is truly excessive not only in terms of finance but in terms of what is taught and how it is taught.

15. @Enuf
    BULL TURD!!!You know not whereof or “whatof you speak. Fees at UWI are no more excessive, or the budget is nowhere as excessive as other equally good universities.The curricula are as good as, and as euql to other similar universities. Why do you always try to pull down what is yours and good, rather than build it up. That is where Jamaica has it on us.

16. @Looking glass
    Lots of research is undertaken at Cave Hill. Every PhD student, and for that matter Masters candidate has to undertake a research project. apart from that there are lots of research projects being conducted in each faculty.Agriculture is conducted at UWI St. Augustine so if a student wants to do agriculture that is hwer he/she goes; UWI, St. Augustine

17. “We are about the only country in the world where Tertiary Education is free and the cost to the taxpayer is truly excessive not only in terms of finance but in terms of what is taught and how it is taught

you might very well be right but can’t you understand the issue alone is not whether it is necessary to make barbadian students pay for tertiary education but how the decision was executed. the timing, the brutal impact such a decision suddenly thrust upon an unsuspecting public who only months ago would have been assured by none other than the maximum leader that all is well and never would such a backward decision be taken.

18. balance your point is mute. so far the blp yardfowls have made an issue about cost, very vocally stating about its impact on poor as far as the blp is concerned this budget has impacted the poor in monetary ways . however in respect to timimg when would have been a good time. it is like death when it comes it is never a good time although we are told and warned befor hand, the fiscal problems with the UWI has been talked about for a long time and advance warnings were given as to changes which would have come about,

19. @Balance
    You are getting on as if you are living an a place outside of this world. Since 2007 you and everyone else have been aware od the world’s financial situation. You fought an election campaign on the economy. You pointed out that the fiscal position was desperaqte, and that cuts and changes had to be made. Now that the changes have been made you are complaining about thetiiming.Make up your mind what you want. If you want to get to heaven YOU HAVE TO DIE. Stop complaining and get with the program.

20. @ac

The topic of reform of the education system in Barbados is a long standing one. To refrain discussion in a political frame is myopic. The reality is that the government has been forced to pursue its proposed course because it is cash trapped simple. But we know that vision is required when forming strategic positions.

21. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Alvin Cummins | September 5, 2013 at 8:17 AM |
    ” Make up your mind what you want. If you want to get to heaven YOU HAVE TO DIE. Stop complaining and get with the program.”

If you genuinely believe in a place call ‘Heaven’ that’s fine and you surely have to die to go there. But is that the only entry requirement?
    As a man of strong Christian faith as you are, Alvin, you must know that liars, deceivers and hypocrites cannot enter the kingdom (called heaven) of your god unless they repent even at the last moment like the allegorical thief on the cross next to your mythical Yeshua in the crucifixion or passion play put on by the early RC Church.

So stop the complaining and get on with coming clean with the people by first apologizing for the lies and deceit purposely perpetrated against them.

“A false witness will not go unpunished, and he who breathes out lies will perish”.

“You hypocrite, first take the plank out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to remove the speck from your brother’s eye.”

22. What is Alvin the fossil rambling on about? My post is the opening sentence in the topic not mine. Go take your high blood pressure meds bosee.

23. The fact is that the overiding concerns of the UWI has been a topic of discussion for a long time and NOBODY should have been caught by surprised as to how govt would approach the challenges. the only ones pretending to be caught off guard are tbe BLP yardflows who are now using the “poor” as their weaponary of choice .all in the meanwhile they have been openly stating that hard choices had to be made in this regard. as usual a bunch of back bench hypocrites….

24. @ac

Check the definition of yardfowl in Allsop’s dictionary. This government assured Barbadians during the general election that it was committed to free tertiary education, While BU agrees that reform is necessary if we take the government at its word on the matter it has decanted.

25. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | September 5, 2013 at 12:55 PM |
    “NOBODY should have been caught by surprised as to how govt would approach the challenges. the only ones pretending to be caught off guard are tbe BLP yardflows who are now using the “poor” as their weaponary of choice”

Does your “NOBODY” include the PM who made it abundantly clear that University tuition would continue to be free at the point of access for Bajan students?

Are you saying that in spite of the PM knowing about the “challenges” facing the Government’s ability to fund the UWI as in the past the PM willfully and deceitfully misled the nation by giving the ironclad guarantee that free access will continue under his administration come hell or high water?

In other words are you calling the man a damned lying hypocrite for sacrificing the sacred cow? Or are you saying he never made such a promise which would make you also a liar and hypocrite?

26. I understand Suriname also has taxpayer funded post secondary education, so Diablo is right, the list is not complete, many more countries can afford to do so or better yet insist on funding tertiary education.

27. @Well Well I am surprised at you joining the “post secondary” chorus. The argument is concerned with UNIVERSITY education and the payment of TUITION fees. the economic costs paid for by government are more than the tuition fees so the student, or parent pays a small portion of the overall costs. Further, according to you “many more countries can afford to do so or better yet insist
    on funding tertiary education” The point is they don’t.
    @David would you prefer to use the epithet “free range political touts? It is just as applicable as “Yardfowl.
    And Miller, show me the correspondence where an “Ironclad guarantee of Government paying for Tertiary education in perpetuity is made. It is just an assumption on the part of some people…like you. and an attempt to score cheap political points. And tell Kerry Simmons to check Canada’s Entrepreneurship Visa requirements.in force since the late 1970s or early eighties

28. @Miller;
    what do you “know” of my christian leanings? I want you to read Yeshua A.K.A. Jesus the Nazarene and then come again. It will soon be published so get in line. It will be a best seller. Next thing, note the words you are carefully using..”free access” Is this the same as “free Tuition?” Enlighten me.

29. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ alvin cummins | September 5, 2013 at 4:25 PM |

Now how can a man of your self-acclaimed intellectual status be such a stranger to the truth? How can you in the face of hard factual evidence defend a man that is an unadulterated liar and hypocrite aka Mr. Integrity?

Let the truth stand on its own!
    We refer you to a recent thread on the same issue as discussed extensively on this blog under the theme: “A Prime Minister’s Word” posted on August 18, 2013 by David and attracting 296 comments to date. The reproduction of the Nation Newspaper’s verbatim reporting on his words is incontrovertible proof unless you are prepared to argue the Newspaper with its open agenda was trying to stitch him up and twisted the PM’s words to suit their hidden intent to set up the poor beleaguered man.

This is what the miller had to say in late August last year about the UWI fee paying situation as a contribution to a most enlightening thread by the visionary Ping Pong titled “Are The Storm Threads Gathering?”. Where were you and your johnny-come-lately attitude for a contribution?

“millertheanunnaki | August 27, 2012 at 2:45 PM |
    @ David: The recent news about the financial difficulties at the tertiary education level is just the tip of the iceberg heading our way.
    The miller’s earlier warnings about a new fee payment regime at the UWI in the coming (sic) ‘months’ (redacted) were never taken on board.
    By September 2013 there will a fee structure at UWI for Bajans in which students will be required to pay at least 50% of their tuition costs. So parents, be prepared for this inevitability even if it means you will not be able to buy the next SUV or go on the next cruise in Europe or America.”

“The faintest ink is greater than the sharpest mind”.

We suspect you would also argue that the same lying PM never gave an assurance to the CLICO policyholders that his administration would guarantee the return, at least, the principal portion of the investments/savings.

“A man’s word is his bond. Tell the truth….Never go back on your word.”

30. @ Miller
    What man’s word is what bond what?!?
    Bushie is beginning to think that, like some others here on BU, you are trying to mislead us about your gender. You must be female….
    We are all getting tired now of your ceaseless complaining about the promises made by politicians prior to elections.
    Only a woman would fail to appreciate that men are wont to say things when they are in the heat of the chase……things that are expected to be taken in context
    ….you know…things like “I will do ANYTHING for you…darling”
    …or….. “You are the most beautiful woman in the world…Sugar”
    …or… (As ac’s suitor used to lie) …”you say some wise things dear…I can listen to you all night…” 🙂

When Freundy said “there will be no layoffs” or that “Job number one is cost of living” …de man did only want piece…….and he got um.
    All like now so he still wukking up pon we.
    …so just tek it like a big woman. Stop griping …swallow your pride and move on – as a more experienced woman….

What promises what?!?

31. RE (As ac’s suitor used to lie) …”you say some wise things dear…I can listen to you all night…”

BUSHIE YA LIE !
    THE MAN THAT WOULD SAY THIS TO AC IS NOT YET BORN AND WILL NOT BE BORN. SUCH A MAN WOULD BE STILL BORN- A COMPLETE N ABORTION!

COME ON BUSHIE!

32. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea | September 5, 2013 at 7:55 PM |

Now forget about the ad hominems and gender crap.
    We are talking about people whom we elect to high office who are there to serve the interest of the public not to beguile a man in return for sexual favours or for material gain.
    Would you, through your bent and narrow morality lens, continue to keep in your employ a man (not a woman for you seem to have a problem with them) who consistently tell you arrant lies about the his performance on the job?

It seems is Integrity means nothing to you. We wonder what your BBE would think of this major flaw in your perfect ‘know-it-all-have-the-solution-to -very problem’ persona called the Bushman? If you accept hypocrisy as part of governance in a so-called Christian country called Barbados, then you should stop with you BBE nonsense. He is not impressed with you.

You ought to be ashamed. But we are not surprised at your hypocrisy. One law for the Medes (crooked lying OSA administration) and another for the Syrians (lying, crooked, crack heads and shoot people Fumble administration).

“Foes in plenty we shall meet
    Hearts courageous scorn defeat
    So we press with eager feet
    Up and on, Up and on
    Ever upward to the fight”
    Ever upward to the light
    Ever true to God and right
    Up and on, Up and on.”

Does the above resonate with you, hypocrite and letdown?

33. @ GP
    LOL …so you don’t remember the things you used to say to the gullible girls… Other may think you were in that church choir for the music….but Bushie knows better… 🙂

@ Miller
    What is it exactly that you fail to get now?
    The REALITY of life is that people, as a matter of course, tell you what you want to hear in an effort to bullshit you into giving them what THEY want.
    ….did you follow that? ….Good!

Young men do it ALL that time (and a few oldsters like Onions)….unfortunately, young women (and foolish old women) fail to GET IT, and fall for the flattery and sweet talk again and again…

Insurance salesmen are bosses! They are always available, sweet smiling and have all great news…until you sign the dotted line and pay up….and don’t talk about when you file a claim…ABSENT!

Best of the lot are politicians. They are worse than the village rams…they target the whole CoUNTry.
    They Promise jobs, free bus fares, free camps, tax rebates, sweet life, money in your pockets, ……any thing to get access to the nooksie….

All Bushie is saying is that you need to be mature enough to RECOGNIZE this reality.
    WE HAVE BEEN FCUKED…. Stop the whining and bitching nuh!

Our choices now are to ….
    1- try to make the most of the situation like a child mother stuck with a wutless man for the children’s sake

2- dump the so and so’s and move on – but we have to wait for the chance and to make sure we don’t end up with even worse fcukers…

3- try to make them marry us and hold them accountable by law (but our courts are also fcukers – so don’t hold your breath)

But WHATEVER you do, stop bitching about the promises that were make…it only makes you look like an idiot for actually BELIEVING them in the first place…..shite man, ya mean you REALLY thought that they would keep those promises…?
    Bushie thought better of you….

Islandgal, come up the hill to Bushie nuh? Bushie will give you anything you want and love you for ever….. LOL

34. @Bush Tea “Islandgal, come up the hill to Bushie nuh? Bushie will give you anything you want and love you for ever….. LOL”

Bushie is lying. He only want to fcuk you and leave you. Don’t go.

35. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea | September 5, 2013 at 10:44 PM |
    “What is it exactly that you fail to get now?
    The REALITY of life is that people, as a matter of course, tell you what you want to hear in an effort to bullshit you into giving them what THEY want.
    ….did you follow that? ….Good!”

The “Reality” of life is that your BBE- a figment of your pseudo moral imagination- ain’t coming back to fix anything for mankind. So you better stop with the BBE and BUP or PUP bullshit and deal with the D or B or even X. Get that?

To reinforce your hypocrisy why are you so up against Obama for practicing his art of immorality (unless you see morality only through repressed sexual eyes) that you seem to subscribe to? Here is what you wrote on Obama’s plans for Syria:
    “But let us even say that Assad was stupid enough to try to snatch defeat from a sure victory….WHO THE HELL DIED AND LEFT THE USA IN CHARGE OF WORLD MORALITY?
    …this the the same USA that dropped nuclear bombs on TWO Japanese cities?
    …the same USA that dropped millions of tons of chemicals on Vietnam causing untold deaths, deformities and cancer that is ongoing even today…?
    ….is this a different USA to the one where blacks were legally like animals in Bushie’s lifetime? …and where Obama would probably be arrested and have his ass thrown into jail should he miss and walk down the wrong street without his secret service escorts?..?……that is if he did not end up like Trayvon Martin.
    Give Bushie a damn break do!
    Wuh even if Assad needed to be taught a lesson it should come from his powerful neighbors China and Russia….not an even bigger criminal…”

BTW, who the hell tell you that your BBE is returning? Did he tell you that himself if so when and where will he be making his appearance? At Bush’s place of residence?

“What is about to happen is beyond Assad, Obama and even you…
    ..it is just time up!”
    Now how real is that, Bushie the BBE Doomsday Prophet, hmmm?

36. @Miller
    I read your blog from August 2012. Having written that then how is it that ou are being so”surprised” that something you predicted and warned about has taken place. Maybhe they listened to you and followed your prediction. And talking about hypocrites, every wedding (Western and christian) has in its vows “…til death do us part”. How many of those prokmises are broken before death parts any of them? Bushie forgot to mention the firebombing of Tokyo in the second world war that killed more people by fire thaqn the nuclear bombing of Nagasaake and Hiroshima combined. He also neglected to remind you of the American use of depleted uranium munitions in the first Gulf War and the hundreds of american servicemen who are still suffering the after effects and the thousands of Iraqi CHILDREN who are suffering still from the effects of uranium poisoning. He also forgot to mention the use of Phosphorus bombs and munitions against the Palestinians, and the use of “bomblets” that haave been outlawed by the same people who outlawed the use of chemical weapons. My My. How hypocritical can we get?
    And who taught you the words to the best school song ever written?I hope the words “Foes in plenty we shall meet, Hearts courageous scorn defeat.”, if you do you would understand our tenacity.
    Does your assertion that: “The REALITY of life is that people, as a matter of course, tell you what you want to hear in an effort to bullshit you into giving them what THEY want.” appply to the statements of your political party and its promises of the last election?

37. @Depablo
    Taken straight from the website you referenced. You will notice that almost every country makes provision for scholarships for International students…something that Bajan students should take note of and use to their advantage. However” this is for the information of those who do not go to the website and for your notice :”Tuition Free Universities in Germany

For many years, higher institutions of education in Germany usually do not charge any tuition fees for undergraduate studies. But after the Constitutional Court of Germany lifted the ban on tuition fees in January 2005, a number of Federal states now charge tuition fees for undergraduate students. Postgraduate studies such as most Master’s or PhD has been charging tuition fees for some time now.

Tuition Fees for Undergraduate Programmes

Since the winter semester 2006/07, German universities are now allowed to charge tuition fees for undergraduate study programmes. Currently, only four out of 16 Federal states charge tuition fees of up to 500 Euros per semester. These states are Baden-Württemberg, Bavaria, Hamburg, and Lower Saxony. All other federal states only request a certain amount of money as a semester contribution (about 50 euros) but charges no tuition fees. Detailed information on tuition fees in different federal states in Germany can be found at this page.

Tuition fees for Graduate Programmes

In most cases, you need to pay tuition fee for Master’s programmes. The fees vary between 650 Euros and several thousand Euros per Semester. Aside from the tuition fee, each student has to pay a certain amount as a semester contribution to the university (about 50 Euros).

Source link: http://www.scholars4dev.com/4031/list-of-european-countries-with-tuition-freelow-tuition-universities-colleges/#ixzz2e9MOmLsB

the reality of the world is that things have changed and as the words of the old song go “The things we used to do, we do them no more…” It is a different world now.

38. @ Simple Simon
    Islandgal…
    Bushie is lying. He only want to fcuk you and leave you. Don’t go.
    Brilliant! ….on the ball…..what perception.
    Very good Simple Simon…..now see if you can get Miller to exercise such common sense….for a change.

LOL ….. Now Bushie see why you have so many Ex-boyfriends…. 🙂

39. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ alvin cummins | September 6, 2013 at 5:16 PM |

How can you say ‘I am surprised’? I am disappointed about the poor formulation and possible execution of the policy to make students pay for full tuition cost.

How can the government agree to be the guarantor of all loans taken out to defray the tuition fees for students who cannot foot the bill themselves?
    Where would the money come from? Certainly not from the current cash position of the Student Revolving Loan Fund?

Listen up Alvin I would repeat what I have said all along. The government needs to do two things:
    First, implement its manifesto pledge to giving tax breaks (up to a certain limit) to taxpayers who have taken out registered educational savings plans to help finance their children’s or (charges) investment in tertiary education.

Second, the government needs to float a tertiary education funding bond to generate funds to recapitalize the student loan revolving fund in order to meet the numerous applications that will be coming its way should the government proceed with the policy to require students to pay full tuition cost.
    Let well-off Bajans like you show your patriotism and put you bloody money where you damned mouths are and oversubscribe to the bond instead of leaving it on the bank and in the credit union to make other people richer.
    I hope you would pass on this suggestion to your political principals.

BTW you need to check your dictionary for the mean of the word “verbatim”.
    The statement about “Reality” is straight from Buhsie’s mouth, not my head.
    We all know that going to some so-called outstanding school does not mean you gained entry based on merit. We also know your parents could have bribed their way in order to send their ‘not-too-bright’ boy to Cawmere.

40. @Millder, You don’t know me. My father was a seaman; a fireman on the Harrison Boats, at a time when those sorts of obs were the only ones available to Black men. He died in Bermuda when I was eight years old. My mother was a Maid, working for the wives of Plantation owners who formed a Ladies Club in Bolton lane where they could come and have theirtea when they came into town. Her wqages were 10 shillings a week; a shilling was 24 cents. I was raised by my mother without a father. She had to struggle to get the money to PAY for my attendance at Cawmere. I got in there on my own merit, I had NOBODY to pull strings. I have worked all my life for what I obtained, and I am still poor, but proud, and I have achieved all I have achieved on merit and hard work. So don’t come to me with any foolishness. You obviously have the wrong person in mind.

41. @Miller Further, this “not so bright boy. through his ability has obtained degrees and Diplomas from 5 universities including the University of Toronto, The University of Saskatchewan, the University of the West Indies, state University of aNew York, , and is a member

fellow of the royal College of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene, and Successfully completed courses at such prestegious places as Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons. Just stating facts that you don’t know.

42. @Miller There is more but that is enough for you to digest. I won’t go any further.By the way, Yeshua A.K.A. Jesus the Nazarene will be printed very soon. Place your order soon. The price will be announced in good time.

43. @Miller, there were four children. All of us went to secondary school, we were all bright. My Brother obtaine his Masters degree in Music from Johns Hopkins University’s Peabody conservatory. Ours is a family of achievers on our own merit ability and hard

wo
    If the name Pearlman the violinist means anything to you, my brother studied under his tutelage.rk.

44. “Her wqages were 10 shillings a week; a shilling was 24 cents”
    I understand that was a lot of money in those days.

Leave a Reply to millertheanunnakiCancel reply