Adrian Loveridge - Owner of Peach & Quiet Hotel
Adrian Loveridge – Owner of Peach & Quiet Hotel

While our small hotel is currently on the market with the objective of re-opening for the up-coming winter season, I have been looking back 25 years to when we purchased, a then derelict Arawak Inn, and trying to evaluate exactly how much the investment climate has changed. Does it need to be revised to help take our tourism industry out of the current malaise? Attempting to look through the eyes of a new investor’s perspective it is clear to see, that many of the institutions who have been empowered to entice such interest are dismally failing in their stated mandate.  At least to a level that modern-day investors reasonably expect.

Sadly, it’s almost pitiful.

Initially, without knowing all the possible agencies involved, the natural first source of decision making facts is the national Ministry of Tourism (MOT) website, where the very latest statistics can be sourced.

We can all understand, at this time, that Government is under extreme fiscal pressure. But does this excuse their existing employees or managers, who have yet to to suffer any detrimental effects of what is referred to as the ‘global recession’ not updating existing posted data in a timely manner. Why, for instance, should the last visitor arrival figures show August 2012?

Other ‘information’ is clearly out-of-date, and with an industry that is  dynamic, it’s very success is dependent on by being able to access current market information critical to making informed decisions. Are ‘we’ sending the right message?

Quite rightly, the subject of an ageing and tired hotel plant has been repeatedly mentioned by our policymakers, however, does the responsibility solely rest with the private sector to ensure that every aspect of our tourism product is projected in the best possible way?

Frankly, if you want to view something old and uninspired, then look at the MOT site. It does not even have a FaceBook component to generate interest and feedback. When comparing some of the other MOT sites around the world, including countries who are far less tourism dependent than Barbados they are streets ahead of us in presentation and content. These include, Panama, Oman, Lebanon, Belize, Malaysia, Uganda, Trinidad and Tobago, Cameroon and even the Azerbaijan Republic. Also missing are high quality visual images, which play a fundamentally critical role in destination and investment choice, especially in an ever increasingly electronic world. They make the difference and I cannot think of a single advertising executive still in business, who would argue that point.

So with all the resources, both financial and physical which includes two Minister’s of Government in this sector, why after so many years, can those responsible not develop a state-of-the art investor friendly information portal? If after several decades in the tourism business, ‘we’ have not yet fostered the expertise from within, then why not put it out to the very many talented young people, who can view and craft the project through a completely fresh viewpoint.

Even offering a competition prize of $50,000 or $100,000, while seemingly appearing large amounts of money, in reality, is almost insignificant in the scheme of things, with an industry generating over $2 billion annually.

175 responses to “Minister of Tourism Richard Sealy and Parliamentary Secretary Irene Sandiford-Garner Please Drag Barbados Tourism Website into the 21st Century Please!”

1. @ Cocky Locky

Follow me just a while CL

I know that the sarcasm of the first two remarks to ComeHere and David[BU] are lost on you.

I know that the issue of reversed “foreign Direct Investment” by Sealy and Garner in their US, Canadian and UK accounts are lost on you

But the bulling seems to have rankled you a little to much.

It is a metaphor, grease, bald pooches, 2008, 13.8.13. speaks of the iniquitous Budget that was foisted on us bajans.

I am not like the madam with her “Saved in the Blood “coochy coo speeches.

I make no apologies for my language to “the youth” because my country is going to hell in a basket and people like you Cocky Locky, want to tell them fairy tales about Henny Penny instead of waking them up to the reality of the incompetent DLP (and BLP) that adorn the halls of successive parliaments

No sir, I will use the language that i have found awakens the sleeping sheeple.

Riddle me this Cocky Locky, which of your princes, wizards and kings hath the words of power of the Grimoire to stop death?

For in invoking the Harbinger on this octogenarian it seems to me that thou hath acquired this Magus like enchantment to summon Death and his Makata on an ole fogey like me.

Since you have “the gift” i beg you to invoke these spirits and ask them to assist the lost Fumble and the Seer of Spirits Richard Sealy.

2. BAFBFP may have an idea that warrants exploration, now that school fees are going to be enacted, and every stripper you ever ask why she is doing it the answer is always.. to put myself through university. The closing of TGI Fridays couldn’t have come at a better time. Not your typical strip club, more for the refined older clientele like ourselves, the name would have to be catchy like Puss and Coots , if you die on site you get a free funeral. You have to show an old age pension stub to get in and forget the young girls they hire some of those older ladies and we give them money to put there clothes back on .Don’t let good ideas like BAFBFP’s go to waste.

3. piece

Is this your way of defending the indefensible?

4. CCC can’t you read? did i say someone ask me something? i said the person made the points. i defend my country where i can. i’m not Richard Sealy and even he would not have the answers.

5. The Government of Barbados should make an effort to retrieve some of the website names they appear to have lost.

http://www.Barbados.com, (sends you to col.com)
    http://www.barbados.net/ (brings up a search engine)
    http://www.barbadosvacations.com/ (currently listed for sale)
    http://www.barbadoshotels.com/

The Internet is now critical to almost everything on this planet and BARBADOS is a brand name that should be owned and controlled by the people of Barbados through their government.

Barbados needs a comprehensive internet strategy. This should have started years ago but it is not too late.

6. lawson

Now that is creative thinking … and when implemented innovative. Should bag a couple of older folk from traditional and newer markets to the South … Piece would not doubt be a regular … Would require additional space at the rear for internments though …

7. @ Cocky Locky

“…But here you are getting on like an alley cat at your age..”

Whuloss, Cocky Locky, he of the Assassins Creed Crew, steeped in arcane science and the ability to summon death for ole fogeys like me, the very same man who unleashes vitriolic language on Adrian Loveridge (because the latter is white) has now taken the high road of sacred speech, curbed of invectives, to voice this inane disconnected comment about “defending the indefensible”

In kendo there is a move called the Katsugi-waza which implements swift successive movements to surprise and overpower the other kendoka.

You Cocky Locky are not a kendoka and it is futile to engage with your ilk, on any level, devoid as you are of any substance

8. piece

You have one foot in the grave and you still have not learned much during your time here on Earth.

9. Well Well

I am sorry that I am going to have to tell this, I know that it will give you heartburn, but here goes:-

The British Government recently issued a travel advisory against your beloved Trinidad. The British sure knew what they were talking about. It is almost war in Port-of-Spain.

“UPDATE – Police giving safe passage out of Port of Spain”

“A high police presence is being kept in and around Beetham Gardens
    this afternoon as law enforcement gives safe passage out of the city to commuters leaving work and headed east.

Many workers took to social media trying to find out if it was safe to use the Priority Bus Route and Beetham highway, which was the scene of violent clashes between police soldiers, and area residents Sunday night into today.”

But of course you can still continue to encourage Tourists to visit Trinidad instead of Barbados.

I am wondering when was the last time Police and Soldiers had to come out in Bridgetown and shoot Law breakers?

10. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | September 2, 2013 at 5:09 PM |

Carson Oh Carrion, Oh Convoluted Confused C**T you are! You are so naively stupid that you can’t even see ‘the forest for the trees’ when you are being insulted at the highest level of intellectual expression to put you in your “pissy” little place to high heavens.

Can’t you appreciate in the slightest way that PODRYR is in an intellectual class you can only dream about and admire with crass envy? Can’t you for one moment get it into your empty skull that is as thick as two planks you are dealing with a wizard whose store of knowledge is built from life’s experiences and lessons and who is blessed with an intellect informed and fashioned by a bookshelf of universal information that would take you a thousand lives to come to grips with far less grasp or even fathom.

The miller tried it by encouraging you to prove that you are not just a vocal shit-hound but there could just be an iota of ability in you to prove to Adrian Loveridge your kind is better than his kind.

Like PODRYR, we pity you.

PS: No need to respond to either PODRYR or the miller. We are both on our way out (in the departure lounge) and you would be beating two dead horses. Just leave us alone, please, we implore you.

11. EIGHTEEN year old Trayvon Martin is in the grave you fart and whether you are 18 or 80 we all have “one foot in the grave”

As to what i have learnt, even if it is but one thing, i do know that sucking ass as always do, with great adeptness, to the incompetent DLP party, gets you no place for they, like all political parties are ungrateful masters.

C’est fini, i leave you now to your own devices of suckdom and obeisance at the feet of the soon to be deposed.

60 months less 8 incompetent months leave 50 with you puckering your lips for excrement, sorry, singing for your food.

It must goad you to the extreme to feel so impotent, yes and i know of that shortcoming too, incapable of discoursing at either end of the scale of encounter, with cuss words or the queen’s english.

Sparrow spoke of plebians like you when he said, “children go to school and learn well, otherwise later on in life you gine catch real hell”

It will be hard Cocky Locky but try once to rise above your stunted intellect, seek to rise above yourself, search for some reasoned remarks, sans ad hominem, and intersperse your submissions with an iota of reasoning.

Even if from time to time you will go “leftside” of the goal what happens is that others here will begrudingly acccept what you are saying as a reasonable perspective that even though not agreed with, you are respected for.

80+ earns me the right to speak with love for country, to speak passionately and from time to time, to cuss

The problem is that wunna believe that because people get older they must get stupid.

In one breath when David and Solomon of the Old Testament, even in their old age, were unrelenting in their defense of country and GOD, because it is a fairy tale to people like you, it is easy for you to overlook their actions.

Wunna are quick to adopt a sanctiminous position when it suits you.

Ole bembers like me who toiled to make this country what you and the rest of the DLP leeches sponge off on must now sit quiet while you rapists and fxckers destroy our country while you commit us to walking graves.

We are already in the grave Cocky Locky, living vampires, walking around in this BIM that your DLP and the BLP have infected with your lycanthropic disease, veritable Boris Karloff’s or Barnabas Collins’ just awaiting Buffy the Vampire Slayer (IMF) to put us out of our misery.

12. piece

Old age , common sense, good manners, don’t always go hand in hand as you continue to demonstrate.

13. Miller(Uncle Tom)

I just wasted ten seconds of my life reading your comment.

14. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | September 2, 2013 at 6:07 PM |

Time well wasted indeed.
    Do as you like as Democracy takes its course. Take heed of what one in your camp said his mother told him: Time longer than twine.
    We believe you are old enough (GP can confirm) to have heard of the singer Brook Benton. ‘It’s just a matter of time and you should ‘think twice’ before you open your foul DLP yard fowl mouth.

15. Adrian a supporter of the BLP ?Owing ROFL, surely ye jest?Didn’t they threaten to burn he joint down??

16. If Freundel Stuart was not PM, there is no way on God’s green earth would he be seen at a place like Limegrove. No way, jose!

17. Carson C. Cadogan | September 2, 2013 at 5:51 PM |

Well Well

I am sorry that I am going to have to tell this, I know that it will give you heartburn, but here goes:-

The British Government recently issued a travel advisory against your beloved Trinidad. The British sure knew what they were talking about. It is almost war in Port-of-Spain.

“UPDATE – Police giving safe passage out of Port of Spain”

“A high police presence is being kept in and around Beetham Gardens
    this afternoon as law enforcement gives safe passage out of the city to commuters leaving work and headed east.

Many workers took to social media trying to find out if it was safe to use the Priority Bus Route and Beetham highway, which was the scene of violent clashes between police soldiers, and area residents Sunday night into today.”

But of course you can still continue to encourage Tourists to visit Trinidad instead of Barbados.

I am wondering when was the last time Police and Soldiers had to come out in Bridgetown and shoot Law breakers?
    ___________________________________-

Carson……….did 5 youths not rob a transport board bus or it’s passengers last week, now you tell me, why did Jones make that remark about cracking heads and shooting some people if he was not expecting or trying to manifest problems on the island, that remark went down real well with the tourists, did not see many of them in Barbados on my recent pass through.

18. Well Well. | September 2, 2013 at 8:36 PM | ….did 5 youths not rob a transport board bus or it’s passengers last week

Did not the efficient RBPF nab the 5 scum in no time recovering all that was stolen? In Port of Spain they would never be caught and some of the passengers robbed would have been shot dead.
    Well well you are a moron with way too much time at your fingertips.

Keep it coming Carson you alone destroy the whole army of BLP yard fowls on BU beginning with the blog owner and running thru miller, prodigal, caswell , just asking, david not BU and on and on.
    They cant handle you Carson your hard hitting yet short sharp replies that rip the BLP losers apart are gems.
    You don’t even need help from ac, Alvin, clone and the odd DLPite who drops in to share lashes on the BLP hacks.

Yuh have to love your style of writing Carson you don’t mince words and you don’t waste words on the BLP johnnies who you outwit and defeat at every turn. They can learn how to turn a phrase from you.
    Bravo keep it coming.

19. Carson the manner in which you high fall and pin down Adrian Loveridge especially pleases and amuses. Loveridge has no answers to the cutting counter attacks in your brief but devastating posts.

20. Watching…………you can tell all of that to the tourists who are NOT coming to Barbados and the citizens who are now SUFFERING on the island. I was on the island recently and saw it first hand, you boast if you had a tourism product but you don’t, so what are you boasting about.

21. piece

“The problem is that wunna believe that because people get older they must get stupid”

No, people expect that as you grow older you carry yourself with greater decorum and choose your words not from the sewage plant in Bridgetown.

Whatever words you use should edify. Leave the gutter language for the likes of “JUST ASKING” and “MLLER(Uncle Tom)”. People who just don’t know any better.

But here we find that you are as foolish as you are old.

22. watching

I just like to be fair and restore a little balance to the debate.

Barbados is not as bad, nor as stink, nor the people dumb and stupid as these people want the World to believe.

That is what people such as “Well Well , Prodigal son, Miller(Uncle Tom) and you know who want to mislead the whole World with.

I am here to make sure that they don’t succeed.

It is difficult to believe that these people are Bajans. With one notable exception, so you would expect anything from him.

23. Watching

You still dipping into your clients’ account. Leave me alone!

24. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | September 2, 2013 at 9:30 PM |

What adjective(s) do you use to describe Owen Seethru Arthur?
    Don’t you go to the Bridgetown Sewage Plant to buy them brand new?

Carrion, we are just following your lead. We learn every thing from our mentor Carson the Cussing Corbeau.
    We might be old but we still have memories like Mother Elephants.

People who live in glass houses should not throw stones at others.

25. @ Watching.
    Sparing on CCC to make a donkey of himself wouldn’t cut it. Here we had a budget without a manual and the populace not knowing the future and you complimenting a political parrot. Check the mouthing of some of Barbados’ leading businessmen/women and you will hear the same language of “…little confidence in the local economy”. Are you going to wait until one of the financial agencies rank us on par with Haiti? If Adrian, Caswell and David don’t inform us of the shxt happening in Barbados, who will? For sure not CBC or the Advocate or AC or CCC, nor even you “Watching” with your eyes closed and you being deaf.

26. Whatever words you use should edify. Leave the gutter language for the likes of “JUST ASKING” and “MLLER(Uncle Tom)”. People who just don’t know any better.

—————————–
    Yuh mean to say yuh sleeping or you aint even bout here but people talking yuh name behind yuh back >
    Man gi’ muh name a break. Tek muh name out yuh mout nuh !

There is nothing to do with you Carson but cuss yuh rass back in yuh ……. …………….
    You support all the stupidness the DLP do like a slave. It is sickening . If they are wrong tell them they are wrong. Yuh mean everything the DLP do is right and everybody else is wrong. You are a sick man Carson ‘arthur’ Cadogan

Yuh mean if you got a family member or a child , yuh are going to allow them to do foolishness and dont chastise them.

What else to do but cuss yuh rass CCC , you and AC and the ignorant people in St, John because I cant understand how a people could be so ignorant than dont matter if the DLP carry Barbados and dump um in the Amazon River that all yuh going to support nonsense because all yuh is -‘party people–Utter folly !!!!!!!!!!!–A sick mentality!!!!!.

Politicians are not Gods to be worshiped. They are put there to do a job and dont care who they are , they should be dealt with when they are doing stupidness.. Chastise your party asshole !!! or face the wrath when it comes in whatever form it comes Mr Carson -arthur- Cadogan

27. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Watching | September 2, 2013 at 9:22 PM |

“Watching: You still dipping into your clients’ account?”

Is the above question posed by Caswell true?
    Watching, are you really a swindler and a crook?
    No wonder you find great company in your lying friend Carson.

What has Adrian done you other than to expose your fake DLP administration?

28. from horse sh..t to web sh..t gimme a break…..

29. Minister Sealy, let us stop this NOW!

“1st trip to Barbados, dissapointed somewhat……”Sep 02, 2013, 7:47 PMTheBrooklynBoy, New York City, New York, 12 forum postsJust returned from a week in Barbados. I have been to many various islands in the caribbean, and this is one of the most beautiful. The island is beautiful and built up at the same time.The 99% of the people are wonderful and helpful and so friendly. Never did I feel not at ease.The 1 bothersome issue i have is the amount of time in an evening I was asked if i wanted cocaine, charlie, weed and pills in an evening.My wife and I are in our mid 30s and do like to have a drink or 2 in the evening while listening to some music. Sitting in places in the Gap having a drink, strolling thru the Gap or at the Fish Fry at oistens, I would be asked literally every 30 feet if i wanted to by drugs.firstly I dont do drugs, nor have I ever, but being asked once or twice a day wouldn’t bother me, but literally every 2o feet someone asked me if I wanted cocaine.I was at the fish fry and yawned and some guy came over and said if i needed anything to “keep me awake all night lone” he was selling. It got to the point where it ruined my holiday.One dealer even came over to my table and sat with us for 30 minutes at a karaoke bar, where we had a discussion over the shortsightedness of him selling drugs. I told him the drug dealers are going to drive tourists away then there wont even be any bars left. He said the amount of Brittish and Americans who actually buy the drugs are outstanding. So i am not blaming him.But sell drugs, fine do it behind a fence, not out in the open.I even saw a guy who offered me Charlie at the fish fry go over and ask a tourist who had his 4 years old daughter on his shoulders if he wanted some as well.Mind you I am born raised and lived my whole life in New York City, Brooklyn to be exact, and have never been harassed by drug dealers like this before. Even here before NYC was cleaned up for the tourists.TA might delete this, but I would hope the Bajan police put an end to this before it gets out of hand.Thanks for listening.and PS besides the night time harassment, I had a lovely time on the island.Just returned from a week in Barbados. I have been to many various islands in the caribbean, and this is one of the most beautiful. The island is beautiful and built up at the same time.The 99% of the people are wonderful and helpful and so friendly. Never did I feel not at ease.The 1 bothersome issue i have is the amount of time in an evening I was asked if i wanted cocaine, charlie, weed and pills in an evening.My wife and I are in our mid 30s and do like to have a drink or 2 in the evening while listening to some music. Sitting in places in the Gap having a drink, strolling thru the Gap or at the Fish Fry at oistens, I would be asked literally every 30 feet if i wanted to by drugs.firstly I dont do drugs, nor have I ever, but being asked once or twice a day wouldn’t bother me, but literally every 2o feet someone asked me if I wanted cocaine.I was at the fish fry and yawned and some guy came over and said if i needed anything to “keep me awake all night lone” he was selling. It got to the point where it ruined my holiday.One dealer even came over to my table and sat with us for 30 minutes at a karaoke bar, where we had a discussion over the shortsightedness of him selling drugs. I told him the drug dealers are going to drive tourists away then there wont even be any bars left. He said the amount of Brittish and Americans who actually buy the drugs are outstanding. So i am not blaming him.But sell drugs, fine do it behind a fence, not out in the open.I even saw a guy who offered me Charlie at the fish fry go over and ask a tourist who had his 4 years old daughter on his shoulders if he wanted some as well.Mind you I am born raised and lived my whole life in New York City, Brooklyn to be exact, and have never been harassed by drug dealers like this before. Even here before NYC was cleaned up for the tourists.TA might delete this, but I would hope the Bajan police put an end to this before it gets out of hand.Thanks for listening.and PS besides the night time harassment, I had a lovely time on the island.

http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowTopic-g147262-i230-k6814202-1st_trip_to_Barbados_dissapointed_somewhat-Barbados.html

30. I just like to be fair and restore a little balance to the debate.

Barbados is not as bad, nor as stink, nor the people dumb and stupid as these people want the World to believe.

That is what people such as “Well Well , Prodigal son, Miller(Uncle Tom) and you know who want to mislead the whole World with.
    DIDYOU HOLD THIS NOBLE AND PATRIOTIC POINT-OF-VIEW CCC WHEN THE OTHER PARTY LED BY YOUR NEMESIS OSA WA IN POWER? DID YOU?

31. from tripadvisor St. Lucia:-

“We have been coming to Coal Pot for years and of course went back during our visit to St Lucia. Unfortunately it wasn’t a good experience, the staff were fine but the food was sadly sub standard, lack of taste, lack of care put into the food, which is a shame, after many years of coming to the restaurant we think this will be our last visit there for a long time to come………sorry, but I have to be honest. Remember this is only my opinion of our visit. ”

‘The market in Castries is even more mercenary than Jamaica. Vendors assault tourists, thrusting trinkets in their faces and refusing to take no for an answer. It is impossible to shop with all the turmoil and rudeness. ”

“I may have just had my expectations too high but the trip down the Castries in my opinion was just a waste of time. Nothing down there is authentic, its all mass produced or bought from a different local store and then sold to tourists for a profit.”

“shabby

A very small community dependant on visiting liners, some 20 to 30 market stalls all selling the same thing and a duty free complex totally overpriced and that is about it! ”

Just a few of the many “nice” reviews of St. Lucia on tripadvisor.

32. Does anyone know when the TOURISM MASTER PLAN will be rolled out?

Does any one know when the long promised split of the BARBADOS TOURISM BOARD responsibilities will executed?

33. “Barbados is not as bad, nor as stink, nor the people dumb and stupid as these people want the World to believe.”

Balance where have you been lately? Have you ever been a Tourist on this island to experience what the tourist from NY experienced? Have you driven around the island and seen some of the litter that is shrewn along the roads, in front of people’s homes? Have you seen the unkempt roadsides, tall grass and bush? Come on, one drug dealer is one too many. There have been numerous complaints by Tourist being offered drugs and sex by these stinking nasty men. What we need is some undercover police sting operations with the help of a few Tourists. We need to clean up Barbados and rid ourselves of this scourge. STOP making excuses and putting plasters over the sores by saying “Barbados is not as bad, nor as stink, nor as dumb”. YOU are expressing just what a DUMB and STUPID person would say and continue to say.

34. Adrian Loveridge Avatar

Citing the reasons behind the latest restaurant closure with the loss of 50 jobs, Christian Mouttet, Chairman of Trinidadian based Prestige Holdings Ltd, ‘it became unsustainable due to local operating costs, increasing losses and the declining local economic climate’.

This despite reporting a 20 per cent hike in profits for the last published six months trading of the company.

35. Well Well

UPDATE PORT OF SPAIN

‘WAR ZONE”

Beetham residents, cops trade gunshots as protests continue following killing of 23-year-old man

By Rickie Ramdass rickie.ramdass@trinidadexpress.com

Story Created: Sep 2, 2013 at 9:59 PM ECT
    (
    Story Updated: Sep 2, 2013 at 11:13 PM ECT )

BEDLAM was the order of the day with residents of the Beetham Gardens yesterday exchanging gunfire with police after they shot and killed resident, 23-year-old Christopher Greaves, on Sunday.

The gun battle caused the police to declare the area “a virtual war zone”.

Well Well when was the last time the Police in Barbados declared area in Barbados “a virtual war zone” and had to shoot residents in order to maintain Law and Order?

Is this what you all are hoping will happen in Barbados as WELL WELL? Residents exchanging gunfire with the Security Forces?

I am sure that Port of Spain “is more safe” for tourists than Bridgetown!!!???

Do you agree ADRIAN LOVERIDGE and WELL WELL?

36. ADRIAN

If Christian Mouttet, Chairman of Trinidadian based Prestige Holdings Ltd, wants to take his business back to Trinidad, lets hope that the war there allows him to make the profit which he is looking for.

He certainly did not close it here for lack of Profits!!!

37. Adrian Loveridge Avatar

Carson, As you are so well informed on tourism matters despite your complete lack of knowledge about the industry, does this also apply to Prestige Holdings Ltd., partner, C O Williams?

38. ADRIAN

“your complete lack of knowledge about the industry”

Oh do enlighten my darkness!

39. Adrian Loveridge Avatar

Carson, if thought you would actually listen for a single second, I would be delighted to. Please, for the benefit of all BU followers, list your overall achievements and successes in the tourism industry (locally and worldwide) and just remind us all when you last made a construction suggestion?

40. Adrian Loveridge Avatar

Should read CONSTRUCTIVE suggestion.

41. No Carson BUT due to ROI you numbskull!!!. If you invested $100 and your operating profits increased from $1 to $1.20 and the previous years you recorded losses or even less profit, but your business plan is for $1.75 profit do you remain open because you made a profit the last financial year?

42. Tourism is one of the most competitive and capital intensive industries. It puts tremendous pressure on the islands'(all Caribbean islands) in having to maintain infrastructure such as airports etc. While it provides employment, most of the dollars earned have to be pumped back into the industry. In the boom years of the industry , there was no vision(BLP/DLP) and hence we now have a situation like fire: A good servant but a bad master !.

43. @David
    Minister Sealy, let us stop this NOW!
    Should that be directed to the Minister or the RBPF? I don’t condone crime but it happens even in the most pristine destinations short of encasing tourists in a glass bubble some will be faced with some unpleasant encounters. If you go to some European cities beware of pickpockets and if you ask the locals they blame the Roma (gypsies). It would be interesting to hear the other side of the coin i.e. those who come trying to source cocaine.

About crime a little while ago I wrote about my next door neighbour who opted to go to Jamaica last year over Bim because Bim was too expensive. This year the family decided to go to one of those beach resorts in the Carolinas an easy trip which required some hours drive. Result? During the vacation the wife got mugged (lost a couple thousand dollars), I tend to be optimistic and believe the glass is half full not half empty.

44. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ islandgal246 | September 3, 2013 at 7:12 AM |
    ““““Barbados is not as bad, nor as stink, nor the people dumb and stupid as these people want the World to believe.””””

Islandgal I think you might be inadvertently responding to the wrong blogger. Balance was just quoting Carson Cadogan who made this unfortunate remark @ Carson C. Cadogan | September 2, 2013 at 9:37 PM |.

45. “fire: A good servant but a bad master !.”

Who is the master and who is the servant ..?

46. @Sargeant

Rising crime is all our business but Sealy is heavily vested if tourists are feeling ang reporting the above.

47. OOPs thank you Miller and my apologies to you Balance. I am now redirecting my response to Cocky Locky. Balance in future please put quotation marks when quoting someone. I really don’t read Carson’s posts and again I am sorry for attacking you Balance.

48. Sargeant, David

What if … What if it was determined that a significant proportion of tourists grace our shores as a result of the availability of the psychotropic pharmaceuticals. Do you think that officialdom would have the balls to include the relevant question as part of an exit poll …? If so while they are at it, perhaps they can venture to ask about the relative availability of sexual gratifiers …

I say information is everything

49. It is time we stop wasting time and deal with the issues in tourism. Whether the glass is half full or half empty is irrelevant so also if I am a JOKER or not. What is important is that we recognize the real important issues facing tourism and find answers to them. If the websites in Barbados tourism need updating then find ways to update them, if our marketing needs to be improved, improve it. Likewise if our corporate communications/PR news to be improved do so. If the product needs upgrading then do so. What ever is needed to be done just do it. STOP THE LONG TALK!!!!!

50. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | September 3, 2013 at 7:39 AM |
    “Oh do enlighten my darkness!”

We note with intense interest that you are one of the most prolific contributors to this blog. But can’t you broaden your topics of interest a bit and open up your intellectual vista to let in some light?
    Why this narrow focus on attacking people like Adrian Loveridge, OSA, MAM and here of late PODRYR? Why this narrow focus on attacking the BLP and other countries in the region like St. Lucia and Trinidad who business class actually own and control Barbados?
    There are so many issues discussed on this blog that would hungrily welcome your erudite contributions.
    For instance why can’t we hear your views regarding the situation in the ME with the probability that the Syrian conflict (if the international forces are brought into the fray) can have immediate and severe implications for the tourism industry in Barbados and could lead to the economy going belly-up?

Even ac- in spite of her intellectual constraints and propensity to calumniate people like OSA in the same vain as you do) does her upmost to make contributions on a variety of issues raised on BU. We admire her and even encourage her to continue.

Can we therefore ask you a favour and implore you to broaden your horizon by topping up your “half-full glass” with more interesting contributions of a universal nature to the blog?

If you need help we are sure you pal “ac “or even “Watching” would be only too willingly to help you with the rudiments.
    David (BU) and PODRYR would be most impressed.

Your avuncular friend and future mentor, Uncle Tom.

Leave a Reply to Yagga RoweCancel reply