Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart

Execution in it’s simplest sense is to: get things done. Period. But it’s more complex than those 3 words might suggest. It’s about getting the right people in place, building a strategy around the resources available, and finally implementing the strategy, linking the strategy with people.

David Lau

It is generally accepted that highly successful organizations achieve stated objectives because they execute with military like precision. And as Lau opines, it is about defining a strategy, accumulate and efficiently deploy resources and assemble people with the correct skillsets.   The theory is easy until we allow indiscipline to intervene.

Barbados like many countries in our region finds itself mired in an economic morass. While there is agreement from all quarters that the environment in which we have to manage is a challenging one, we remain divided as a people the path we should follow. It is a situation which cries out for leadership.

In the just concluded 2013 Budget and Financial Proposals the Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler outlined several projects which the government proposes to implement to spur economic activity. BU and Barbadians at large wish the government success. However, it is an open secret that successive governments have struggled mightily  with efficiently designing and implementing major projects. Scare financial resources currently at play will likely exacerbate the problem. Despite the public assurance from the Prime Minister that he will ensure projects mentioned in the budget are rolled out to plan, there is little if any confidence by BU that this promise will be kept.

Even if Barbadians were to believe that the grave economic situation Barbados finds itself would spur a change in the albatros moving culture which cloaks this government, we were presented with enough evidence after the delivery of 2013 Budget to be sceptical.  It was made clear that the projects to be rolled out supported by revenue and tax measures were critical to Barbados improving its economic performance.  Instead we have had confusion in the post budget period.

The Greening Levy was replaced with a Municipal Tax of .07%. A quick calculation however by a burdened and rapidly disillusioned middleclass quickly alerted government to an ERROR ERROR. Minister of International Business Donville Inniss to his credit came public to confirm that the Minister of Finance will have to speak to this matter because there is consensus that a clarification is required. Barbadians continue to wait.

The decision to pass on UWI  tuition cost has also created confusion. A few days after Minister Chris Sinckler informed Barbadians that ‘free education’ was to be abolished, Minister of Education Ronald Jones appeared on national TV to announce that the edict was not cast in stone. He indicated that suggestions would be welcomed by his office. Other issues have arisen which suggest that the 2013 Budget was not well crafted.

The point to be made is ever there was a time when flawless execution by our government is required the time is now. To have delivered a budget which is replete with errors which has provoked public hysteria and outcry does nothing to infuse confidence at a time when it is sorely needed. A confidence which is rapidly depleting given government’s decision to send home temporary officers last week with a promise of more to come. Before it is too late the government needs to send strong signals to Barbadians that they are an empathetic lot. They can do this by reducing the size of the Cabinet to 10 and slashing parliamentary secretaries by half. An immediate order to suspend all travel in the public sector for the next 12 months unless deemed urgent by a bipartisan committee of parliament. With immediate effect no wives to accompany ministers on overseas jaunts. All government vehicles to be parked by 5.30PM unless on official duty.

The Barbados economy and society cannot be sliding into the toilet and these jackasses wearing suits continue to operate business as usual. They were elected to serve us for crissakes.

149 responses to “Execute Prime Minister!”

1. Adrian Loveridge Avatar

‘getting the right people in place’

When I first read the 2013 Budget statement, I thought that’s a good move. To lower the VAT rate from 8.75 per cent to 7.5 per cent on ‘hotel accommodation’ and perhaps even more game changing, the rate of 17.5 per cent to 7.5 per cent on Direct Tourism Services.
    But then I read ‘Sinckler said the initiative would cost the Treasury about $9 million annually’. That’s when the alarm bells sounded, as it was obvious that this had not been thought through at all. Now I understand people within the Ministry of Finance are scrabbling around in the background, trying to define exactly which DTS (Direct Tourism Services) can apply the lower rate of VAT. Rather than think it through before, announcing the ‘fact’ with all the chaos that this is now causing in the industry and all our major visitor markets.
    To do this once in our beleaguered tourism sector, is bad enough. But to do it twice within weeks of each other, is just plain bad planning. You simply cannot tell the world, that that the Government is proposing an APD Voucher subsidy, without first evaluating the cost, calculating the best time to implement such a scheme, so that it does not dilute existing business and without ensuring the travel trade is fully briefed, let alone your own BTA staff members.
    With 16 consecutive months of long stay visitor decline and monthly record lows of arrival numbers, it is abundantly clear that WE DO NOT HAVE THE RIGHT PEOPLE IN PLACE in tourism.

2. This is exactly what I am taking about. In an email to brass-tacks the day after the budget this was my point. The society becomes more receptive to the intended adjustments if there is a sense that indeed all hands are put to the plough.Instead this pig-headed government has refused to disband the political arm on Urban,namely the stupid constituency councils. Insult added to injury is the sponsorship of a football tournament at this time.Clearly retention of office is not a priority of theirs,and for that they must be given credit.

3. BU and Barbadians at large wish the government success.

for the sake of the poor and indigent especially who stand to be crippled further by the measures imposed whether necessary or not, I too wish the elected Government of Barbados every success.

4. Minister of International Business Donville Inniss to his credit came public to confirm that the Minister of Finance will have to speak to this matter because there is consensus that a clarification is required. Barbadians continue to wait.

the question is if MR INNISS spoke the MINISTER OF FINANCE before critiquing the purported error unless there is a crisis of confidence in the cabinet

5. Donville Inniss is the ONLY one in this government who seems to have balls. If there is anyone in this present government who should be the PM it is Donville.! Say what wunna like BUT it is the best of the worst. IF these party officials want to have any credibility in the future they need to stand up an be men and not mice. That party need to be purged from the head down. We have a useless lying PM and MOF and many of their lying ministers. Just imagine the health of the island is in jeopardy, cuts to QEH and the sanitation dept is MADNESS. Any right thinking person would NEVER do that. Yes cutting wastage is priority BUT for John Boyce to come out and say that the cuts will not affect the hospital is ludicrous. He is living on another planet or he was told to lie to the people of this island.
    The PM and MOF are blind to the wastage they have created and can put a stop to.
    Wastage like:
    Constituency councils
    Alexandra enquiry
    Free bus fares for school children
    Free camps
    Football Tournament
    Building of matchbox houses that are still empty around the island
    Attempting to buy Almond Beach

The numerous lies that they keep telling the public, no lay off, Free UWI education BU has been saying all along that they cannot continue like this and the sooner they put things in place and speak to the public HONESTLY the population would have been better able to brace themselves and start putting things in place. What did they do? They continued to LIE, LIE about everything. Now they are doing what was proposed by BU and the bloggers yet they still continue to LIE. Now the PM wants an investigation into the people who have been sent home and claims that he knows NOTHING about that. Either his diabetes has affected his memory or he is in the early stages of Alzheimer’s.

6. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Adrian Loveridge | September 1, 2013 at 6:52 AM |
    “You simply cannot tell the world, that that the Government is proposing an APD Voucher subsidy, without first evaluating the cost, calculating the best time to implement such a scheme, so that it does not dilute existing business and without ensuring the travel trade is fully briefed, let alone your own BTA staff members.”

This is heavy stuff.
    What are you saying here A L? Are you saying that the APD incentive is not yet in place? Shouldn’t the mechanics be sorted out by now since the policy announcement? This kind of poor management leaves a lot to be desired and makes the tourism officials interfacing with the market look rather incompetently stupid.

Tell us more about the proposed reduction in the rate of VAT to 7.5% applicable to hotel accommodation and tourism direct services. Would such a reduced rate be applicable to residents buying such goods and services? We don’t think this is really the intention of the MoF to forego tax revenues from this local source. But how can you preclude the residents from enjoying this lower rate unless the MoF is prepared to deal with an administrative nightmare of such a two-tier tax system in an already administratively overburdened business environment compounded by government’s bureaucratic impositions.

7. The order of business has to be country first political party last!

This whole budget thing is a lot of nonsense. There is no way if you were a CFO at a private company that you could be announcing changes and have no idea how to implement or the effects the changes would have, or even if fact if you were a junior member of staff.

Its as though the MOF or his team, as Minister Sinckler (not sure if these were his ideas or he was just the mouth piece. If it was the latter, then he truly has someone is his camp trying to bring him down) just woke up the day of the budget and said yeah lets do xyz with no investigations as to how, how practical is it, or impact on the people of Barbados.

Then you have the rest of the DLP in Parliament agreeing like sheep and to add more fuel to the fire come out post budget and say there was a mistake. Which was probably after Minister Inniss calculated how much more extra he would have to pay.

David I agree with you Government and oppositions should be leading by example and not leave all the sacrifices to be made by temp workers etc. by the suggestions you made. The private sector have been taking the hits for the last few years. I’m sorry to say but its time for the public sector to pay the piper too.

As for the temp workers being sent home and our PM saying it was a computer glitch. Our PM is clearly at sea unless it is master plan to oust the MOF. the Police teachers etc. should not be affected by the cuts. unless they are truly surplus to requirements

As for the cuts to the hospital well..it will soon be bring your own bed, scapel, nurse and proof of laundry contract….

Some members of the Public sector also need to remember that it is not Prime Minister Stuart paying their salaries but the average worker in Barbados (taxes) from that they need to be providing a better service.

Public of Barbados need to remember that without you neither party could be in Government. Ultimately it is the people of Barbados that have the power. Learn how to use it constructively and wisely as everyone needs to work together to get out of this economic crisis

8. politics in barbados is a joke everybody wants an equal share of the pie but don’t bother asking anyone to do the heavy lifting especially the private sector who after budget is announced nit picks every any everything until there is very little lifting for them to do. i clearly remember in the second budget when govt said that they had an increased in revenue because of vat ,the private sector waiting with hands fully extended requesting that the govt pay them what is due never mind how much the govt has exercised in way of budgetary proposals towards them. now after this 2013 budget the same scenario is happening the nit picking has begun. the t’s have not been crossed sufficiently enough and i’s are missing one or two dots, the job of running govt in barbados and implementing policy has become polluted and toxic and should be classified as hazardous to one’s health.

9. The political mismanagement of the national governmental affairs of Barbados by the DLP and BLP will only get worse and worse as times go by.

Indeed, the Grantley Adams led BLP political management of the national governmental affairs of this country was succeeded by the Errol Barrow led DLP one which itself was succeeded by the Tom Adams led BLP one.

All three of those late leaders and their supporting teams demonstrated vision, perspicacity, enormous intellectual and other skills, and the will to lead politically the country, from the 1940s to the mid 80s, from a lower and less complex, scientific, problem correcting based level of national/sub-national development across various social class, production, knowledge and security affairs of the Barbadian political society, to a higher and more complex, scientific, problem correcting based level of national/sub-national development in those same respects.

The death of Errol Barrow in 1987, marked a massive departure away from that type of national/sub-national intensive transformational governmental politics, and a deeper descent into the worsening of the politics of the personalization sectoralization of the affairs of the government, and into a lower politics of government that is based on the collectives of those that have been at the helm of or close to the national government of this country securing personal group social advantages by superficially acceding to the narrow selfish personal, familial, cronistic, business, financial and foreign affairs interests of those within or without the collectives, more so than on a far better and enriching national politics – a greater politics of government that is based on fundamentally advancing the fundamental good of the public national interests of Barbados.

It is the Sandiford oriented DLP era of political misrule of the national governmental affairs of this country, and the one that succeeded it – the Arthur oriented BLP era of political misrule of the same category – that have both constituted substantial reversals from achieving even higher and greater complex, scientific, problem correcting levels of national/sub-national development across various social class, production of goods and services, technology, knowledge and security affairs of the political society of this country.

Too, the Thompson cum Stuart oriented DLP era has so far been doing a plethora of negative things to help bring about even more profound dramatic declines in the levels of operating and succeeding in those affairs of the political society of this country.

It has been characterized by the taking over from where Arthur left off – from the said deepening and worsening of the politics of the personalization and sectoralization of the affairs of government and the said crass and deliberate lowering of the politics of government into one that based on these same collectives that have been or close to the helm of national government securing personal group social advantages by superficially acceding to the personal, familial, cronistic, business, financial and foreign affairs of those within or without the collectives, more so, again, than on a far better more enriching national politics – a politics of government that is based on achieving, in substantial ways, greater levels of national/sub-national development across the various levels of social class, production of goods and services, technology, knowledge and security affairs of this country, by creating higher and greater means of conceptualising and implementing greater scientificism, greater complex holism, and greater problem correcting solution in the national/sub-national development spheres.

So, rather than repeatedly futilely and in vain criticizing these terminally incorrigibly intellectually politically atrophying moribund DLP/BLP governments, over what we know is the expected acceleration in growth of their ideological policy programmatic failures in the domestic and external politics of this country, the PDC, and the other components of the CUP and many other individuals that we know have been putting in place in the political market of this country entire information based confidence building oriented people centered and other strategies and approaches for their PERMANENT REMOVAL from the political governmental landscape of this country.

Remove the Damned DLP and the Blasted BLP!!

10. Miller,

I understand an eight page letter has been sent to the MOF by the BHTA to ascertain exactly WHO is eligible. Something that should have been done BEFORE the Budget announcement. However, I also have to ask WHY no-one in the Opposition (in either house) or the Independent Senators did not question the $9 million figure.

11. Miller asked …..”Are you saying that the APD incentive is not yet in place? Shouldn’t the mechanics be sorted out by now since the policy announcement? This kind of poor management leaves a lot to be desired and makes the tourism officials interfacing with the market look rather incompetently stupid.”

Free spending money
    http://www.visitbarbados.org/islandinclusive

12. Cuthbert of England Avatar
    Cuthbert of England

BHTA sent a 8 page letter? Must have contained a lot of nothing.

13. @ Adrian Loveridge

” I also have to ask WHY no-one in the Opposition (in either house) or the Independent Senators did not question the $9 million figure.”

Just hold a little we should be hearing from Barney soon. I may be wrong but isn’t he the one who usually speaks on Tourism matters for the BLP? Having said that, God help us all if that’s the case!

14. Harold Hoyte and the Trinis knows how to execute.

Sun, September 01, 2013 – 12:08 AM

Senior Barbadian journalist Roy Morris has been appointed Editor-in-Chief of all Nation publications.

Morris, currently the Editor-in-Chief and Chief Executive Officer of Barbados Today, officially takes up the position from September 16.

Morris, who holds a Bachelor of Science in mass communication from Virginia Commonwealth University and a post graduate certificate in newsroom management and investigative journalism from the University of Maryland, brings more than 30 years’ practical media experience…..

15. @ac

Do you guys understand this is past partisan stupid political positions? It is up to the PM and his government to exert whatever leadership qualities they possess to whip ALL stakeholders in line.

16. Can anyone explain why the House is on recess with urgent bills like Cultural Industries Bill and Amendment to the Electricity Act to name two? This is what we mean by sending messages to the country that it is not business as usual. We’re we not promise a day in parliament by the MoF to debate Barrack?

17. David; re. your 10:54 am post.

1) They have to take a vacation now to allow Ministers to use their facility to go on exotic trips with their wives. If they wait till later they might not be able to do so at the rate the economy is declining.
    2)They have to hide and allow the Public Servants to take the full brunt of the backlash while the first phase of the budget measures is being implemented.
    3) because they always go on a summer recess and can not recognize that these are peculiar times that calls for their hands being on the wheel
    4) Because they cannot risk the possibility of a vote of no confidence if some members are absent. So, shut the whole thing down.
    5) Because they can, stupid.

There are several other reasons that others can bring up. The above is just a start.

18. David; my point 5 above was not meant to call you stupid but just a standard phrase used in such situations. Of course you are not stupid.

19. 5)” Because they can, stupid.”

“David; my point 5 above was not meant to call you stupid but just a standard phrase used in such situations. Of course you are not stupid.”

Check it out you cahn get otta dis one….yuh done say what yuh said. ROFLMAO

20. I want to make a contribution to this thread but I DO NOT know what to say that would not be a repetition of what has been said before. This is so because the same bad Government remains in power . And we are asking for solutions ? The Solution should be obvious.

However, the fact of the matter is that Barbados took things for granted, tinkered with its future and now here we are. Saddled with an incompetent Government that fool the people in 2008 and then bought them out in the last BUY -ELECTION

I blame the DLP Government for the tragedies that took place on Friday. I blame the DIP especially for the 18 year old girl who probably saw no hope in living in Barbados under the DIP. You will be surprised how desperate times affect young minds. Some young people blame themselves for their parents ‘ divorce and sometimes take out the situation on themselves. When people see no hope ; they do funny things

It is important to note that the unfortunate situation of the 18 year old took place after the worst budget ever in the history of Budgets brought by the worst Government Ever.

Dr . Belle agrees with me that this is the worst Government Ever. He has seen the light.
    Are you blind that you can see it too ?

Why should we keep this Government ?
    Why should we continue to pay Ministers including the Prime Minister for doing nonsense ?

JUST ASKING

21. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@David | September 1, 2013 at 10:54 AM |
    “Can anyone explain why the House is on recess with urgent bills like Cultural Industries Bill and Amendment to the Electricity Act to name two?”

This is the same administration led by a man who is concerned about productivity in the public sector and project implementation deficit. And to add insult to injury these same people went on a 6 weeks break after the last Estimates debate and had another 3-4 weeks break subsequently.

It was during these unjustified unproductive hiatuses from conducting the people’s business that the $300 million in foreign reserves disappeared.
    Why the need for this 2 months’ break at this “make or break” period for the Bajan economy and by extension its society?
    Why not a reasonable break of say 3 weeks like any other stressed-challenged top executives given the amount of leave or break from debate taken in the last 5 months?

When these political loafers return to the job what would the country be confronted with this time around? Another loss of $500 million in foreign reserves as a ploy to welcome the IMF the banker of last resort since there is absolutely no way this country can get foreign investors to easily subscribe to US$500 million in junk bonds with negative outlook unless an atmosphere of confidence in the country’s management team is engendered.

22. the barbados that once existed under the adams and barrows no longer exist, in its place is a country and govt being run by special interest groups ,who lays out the do’s and don’ts before and after the election. the people being ploys govt becomes players moving and shuffling trying to strike a balance being the haves and haves nots with the have nots always getting the shitty end of the stick.

23. We’re we not promise a day in parliament by the MoF to debate Barrack?

Hey David , you are confusing me with the (We’re )
    I am sure you meant (Were we not )
    I am sure of that and I am sure that this is one of these things. BTW, this is the second time I have seen it.
    Sorry !

24. It is called predictor text. It happens when multitasking.

25. there is “NO REAL” govt in barbados under OSA regime the goverance of barbados was given full regins to the special interest groups to do as they please . Now as a new govt enters the loud noises and screams from those groups are relentless as they envisionthat the reigns which they once easily acess are being wrestled away the daily calls of doom and gloom reaches deafeaning levels in an effort to dumb down a society causing division among the populace

26. @David September 1, 2013 at 10:54 AM “Can anyone explain why the House is on recess.

Because our Members of Parliament are still growing up stupid under the union jack.

They believe that there are 4 seasons, winter, spring, summer and fall.

So if it is summer now so they must take summer vacation.

In the fall, starting September 21 when it get cold outside our MP’s will return from enjoying the summer and come inside the house to do the people’s work.

But please note that they will still wear English-man wool suits and crank the air conditioning in the house down to about 17 degrees celsius.

AND THEN STICK US THE TAX PAYERS WITH THE HUGE ELECTRICITY BILL.

It is call never growing up, never having to decide what is good in our circumstance, it is called never having having to pay your own bills. It is called sucking on the dried up bubbie of the tax payer.

It is called being colonialist fools.

And they wonder why we hate them.

27. Mia Mottley was right when she said that the budget was not thought- out.

28. The truth always come to light no matter how long it takes Mr PM.
    LIARSSSSSSSSSSSS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

29. Another recommendation for Minister Jones is to negotiate with UWI to raise the entry bar to the UWI. We all know that many of the first years are not ready and there is high failure rate. Expand the BCC and continuing studies department.

30. Damn Lying Party

31. In the private sector an employee’s vacation is a moving target based on the priorities of the company.

32. @ Checkit-out… Can’t help but agree with your point #1. Look for the PM sometime very soon to boldly pronounce that with immediate effect all members of cabinet shall do this, that and the third. Lets not forget that the bajan way is to stop right before the point of no return,don a condom and then somehow convince oneself that conception could not have happened.

33. What are the solutions?

How about introduce an environment card funded by the private sector, who would need to be given some kind of tax break or incentive to participate. Purchase the card for say $30.00 per year. Persons can show the card at participating retailers to get instant discount on approved environmentally friendly products e.g. light bulbs. the Government would have previously changed the tax rules so that persons can only claim on large environmental improvements e.g. solar power etc.
    It could be a win win. The Government gets money and the retailer should see an increase in sales, the customer sees savings straight away and no longer have to wait for a year to get back some tax money on it and it opens it up to persons earning insufficient to pay tax and those that don’t file at all. the Government would have widened the net.

Maybe introduce a health care allowance. Through our salaries we pay $5.00 a month paid to say the tax office. Monies are transferred to a hospital fund. The interest on the money received can either be paid back to the Tax office for tax returns to employees. The principal is used to fund the hospital or vice versa. Each year the tax office can produce figures on how much money was collected etc and the hospital how much was received and how it was used.

Perhaps tax the interest on savings by 0.05% per month or something nominal. Think about it if everyone is really
    struggling how come they have money to save and go on vacation overseas?

Get the systems at Land Tax Office so that persons can pay via Surepay and allow persons to pay on a monthly basis. So that rather than having to wait once a year for an influx of funds you have a continuous flow all year round making easier for land owners to pay both financially and conveniently. Plus side your freeing up the cashiers time and they can do some more productive work and hopefully more people will pay their land tax.

At end of the day ‘regardless as to what you call it’, the Barbadian public that has to find the money so why not make it easier on us all and give us some incentives and encouragement to pitch in.

34. Mr PDC,

What do you want? Is your party ready to right all that ails Barbados?

35. Apply a forex tax on holiday travel.

36. Apply TMV ( too many vehicles) on the number of cars > 1 registered to a non trading address.

37. Adrian Loveridge Avatar

David, isn’t there one already. 17.5 per cent VAT on air travel. Perhaps to make it fairer, put the same rate of cruise travel, Currently there is no VAT payable. Had you ever thought, just how much VAT is collected on the VAT Barbadians (and others) pay on Barbados originating air travel. It helps subsidise air travel for our visitors.

38. Adrian Loveridge Avatar

Should read ON cruise travel

39. Hamilton Hill;

Thanks for the heads-up.

I take it we can therefore expect to see the PM mandating the following, inter alia, after the MP’s come back from their last spree this “summer”;

Rolling back their salaries to pre-2012 levels to be more on par with the ordinary public servants who have to endure serious cutbacks.
    Reduction in some of their allowances.
    Taking the lead in contributing to Island wide worthy causes.
    Declaring their true assets, especially land, and not hiding them using relatives and companies.
    Starting their own rubbing shoulders programme.
    Having regular post cabinet press conferences.
    Follow Sinckler in recognizing that they and they alone own this economy.
    Etc., etc.

If they do these things they should be congratulated, pity is the horse has already bolted. Too late too late shall be the cry.

40. @islandgal
    The PM and MOF are blind to the wastage they have created and can put a stop to.
    Wastage like:
    Constituency councils
    Alexandra enquiry
    Free bus fares for school children
    Free camps
    Football Tournament
    Building of matchbox houses that are still empty around the island
    Attempting to buy Almond Beach”
    “”””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””
    Islandgal
    To your list of blatant wastage, I would like to add:
    # The Paul Volker visit to deliver a lecture (over $100,000)
    # Gala for the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee (The one at Government House # Gala for the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee at the Garrison
    # Hugh Independence galas at Garrison
    # Richard Sealy’s visit to Guyana taking 100 persons
    # PM’s visit to Australia
    # Rhianna concert (big loss to the taxpayers)
    # Big roll out for Ryan Brathwaith…………..from Airport to Kensington…..closing down Barbados (poor fellow, the DLP blight the guy, since then he has not been the same)
    # Monthly galas at Illaro Court (the tourists are not spending money but what little they spend, this idiotic government spending back on them but these are another occasion for the yardfowls to feast on the fatted calf.
    # Giveaway of NHC houses

I am afraid for Barbados as right now we seem to be on auto pilot as all of the incompetents like they are on holiday and have left the poor public servants to implement their dirty work. Watch out for the refrain……we did not cut anybody…the Permanent Secretaries and the Chief Personnel Officer did.

We are up the creek without a paddle!

41. Now, now is the right time for many more of the broad masses and middle classes of people of Barbados to join many of these same categories of people in doing whatever is necessary to permanently remove the BLP and DLP from the political governmental landscape of this country.

Can anyone deduce what may be further evidence of the gross and incorrigible insensitivity and indifference of these two stupid factions to the havoc they themselves have been wrecking on so many people in this country ( well until some of them are/may be asked to bear some sacrifices proportionate to social ranking), when there was an allegation that was made in the “Awright Den” column by Corey Worrell, in last Thursday’s Daily Nation newspaper, that attributed to Mr. Donville Inniss, the member of Parliament for St. James South, the utterance that “he has bills to pay and no one is cutting his salary”??

Well, while the PDC would be unaware of the context in which that utterance itself, if proven to be true, might have been made, we still do have an understanding that there are so many Barbadians who are in so many ways today smelling and catching hell in this country in order to make ends meet, that with this said allegation being attributed to this joker, there can be no doubt that these very same people would construe such a remark itself as being very stupid, offensive and insensitive, especially if it came from any person who is among those DLP/BLP dolts that have not only been presenting themselves as so-called sub/national leaders over the years, but that have also been grossly and recklessly presiding over the affairs of this country, to the point that, whilst in the process of doing so, they have been bringing this country and the majority of people of it, to their knees. Think about it, HUH??!!

Some people must remember that it is this same fool that had objected to the question of declaring what assets he had sometime ago in the House of Assembly of this country..

As well, if that utterance were truly made by the Minister of Commerce, then it would be clear that this is the sign of a very stingy uncharitable, and unpatriotic person that must as soon as possible be politically removed from the House of Assembly of this country.

And if such a remark were made by Mr. Inniss also, then we would not be surprised at it, coming from a person who has a record of being very crass, insensitive, indisciplined, and mean, politically.

Remove the Damned DLP and the Blasted BLP!!

42. The Budget seemed to be filled with inaccuracies, therefore, an already uncomfortable people who have lost confidence in the Government will not have any hope the Budget will achieve its objectives.

Now that is a problem. If the Budget cannot do what it is expected to do our next option is IMF. From here on the everyone will be hoarding foreign currency. The writing is on the wall. Barbados is set for a head-on collision. The best thing is to enter into a power sharing deal. It will take a miracle for them to win the next election (then again Bonnke may be able to get that do)

43. Barbados’ BIG problem is that in these serious times, not one of these DLP ministers had any experience when they came to office except David Thompson and he has gone to the great beyond.

They are still learning on the job and that is hard to do in an environment like this. And they are not learning, that’s the problem!

44. Do we really expect this PM to really “execute” any policy when he has never been that type……………he admitted that he was “asleep” for the most part, never held a ministerial post, is well known in legal circles as lazy and slow.

Former PM David Thompson gave him the reigns when he got sick and the man admitted that he was only keeping house. Well it seems as if the status quo remains.

Fellow BU bloggers, do you all get the impression that the Cabinet seem clueless as to the extent of the trouble Barbados is in only at the last Cabinet meeting before the Budget? They all seem clueless but all came out defending the indefensible. What an arrogant bunch!

45. The reality of the situation is that things are always better on the DLP than the BLP maybe not for the mealy mout paraites that suck on the party juices and benifit but generally speaking for the wider Barbados whenever the DLP is in power things get hard and yuh does got to squeeze in yuh pooch grin yuh teet and bare a lot of shite, It is only when the BLP get back in power that things does ease–Dat is really true though. Doan care wuh nobody say the DLP does got um hard hard for people all the time . THE DLP IS BAD FOR BARBADOS- VOTE THE DEMS OUT

46. The reality of the situation is that things are always better under the BLP than under the DLP maybe not for the mealy mout paraites that suck on the party juices and benefit from being party members

Generally speaking for the wider Barbados whenever the DLP is in power things get hard and yuh does got to squeeze in yuh pooch grin yuh teet and bare a lot of shite,

It is only when the BLP get back in power that things does ease–Dat is really true though. Doan care wuh nobody say the DLP does got um hard hard for people all the time . THE DLP IS BAD FOR BARBADOS- VOTE THE DEMS OUT.

THE DEMS say that they are for the people but never demonstrate it. People are voting for the DLP based on Errol Walton Barrow and St. John people are the most ignorant when it come to that kind of shite. The DLP has longed moved away from Errol Barrow’s philosophy. Barrow was for the people, the DEM are for themselves but yuh know they are going to do shite and nothing aint going to happen to them. Nobody aint gwine do them a thing but they should really be LOCKED UP !!!!!

47. A bit off topic but does the Central Bank Governor live in the official residence? Someone wrote a letter to the editor in one of the newspaper commenting about the press release regarding the installation of solar panels and the saving that would be made on the over $36,000.00 annual electricity bill at the residence. The writer mentioned that the Governor does not live there. True or false?

48. @Adrian

The suggestion is made to be specific to forex purchase given the scarcity of forex.

49. I think it is generally accepted that FJ Stuart is not cut of the cloth of a serious PM.He does not share the traits of the solid,tough,politico. Barrow,Adams,
    Arthur and now Mottley all have the tremendous capacity for hard work,putting in 18 hour days as the norm.So Stuart will not succeed as PM.
    Millionaire Ajmal Khan is making the case for an airline similar to Redjet.If Hutson and Barney Lynch did not understand the value of Redjet here is but one example of its worth.I have already suggested many other of Redjet’s worth to the economy of Barbados not the least of which is its value to the earning of scarce foreign exchange.I read a few years ago that Bwee earned approximate revenues of US$500 million.Think if Redjet could bring in 10% of that in its first year of operation,it would be more than the waste-of-money sugar industry is earning.
    Its amazing that the official residence of the Governor of the Central Bank is not used any longer yet its usage of electricity is a whopping $3611.00 per month.That is a saving worth Darcy Boyce’s sharp pencil.
    Finally,Minister Byer-Suckoo seem to have put the ole Duke in his place by revealing certain ILO secrets,like for example that the Duke had given up his exalted position in the ILO and was now an unknown entity there and here.The taming of the shrew?One point to Byer-Suckoo,nil to the Duke.