Hal Austin
Hal Austin

Introduction:
This year’s world famous Notting Hill Carnival, the biggest and most successful popular cultural event introduced to Britain by its Empire Windrush generation, the 49th, was historic for a number of sociological and political reasons. First, it visually marked a passing of the baton, from traditional mas players to a younger, more raucous generation who just had its own ideas of celebrating black culture. It was also more integrative, in the sense that there were as many other minority (and majority) ethnic participants as young African-Caribbean people who took part, many arguably for the first time. But the event still brings out the contradictions in most Britons, and new communities, if not in Londoners.

Street Theatre:
In the main, middle class Britain has no intention of ever understanding carnival; it does not fit with their interpretation of ‘culture’, therefore it plays second fiddle to the Edinburgh Festival, the Edinburgh Fringe Festival, the Edinburgh Tattoo, the Reading Festival and the much earlier Glastonbury Festival, even if it attracts many more people. Above all else, carnival is street theatre, it is a celebration of music, costumes, dance, which, unlike its more mature cousins in Brazil, Trinidad and Southern Europe, is disconnected from religious meaning but was invented by Trinidadian Claudia Jones simply to cool passions, to temper the racial hostility that scarred that part of Ladbroke Grove in the mid-1960s.

So, to understand and describe the Notting Hill Carnival, which used to be the West Indian Carnival, one has to understand its pre-history: from the brutal murder of Antiguan Kelso Cochrane in 1959, to the Mosleyites, to the terrible anti-black policing which came out of the Notting Hill and Notting Dale police stations. It  must also be remembered that nearly every police commissioner after Sir John Waldron had had some experience of policing in Notting |Hill – an experience now transferred to Brixton in South London – before reaching the top of the greasy police that is commissioner of Scotland Yard. It is this background that makes the popular interpretation of carnival a policing event, rather than one of theatre.

Crowd Policing:
For these reasons, carnival has always been an event which allowed the police to put in to practice their latest crowd policing theories. This became particularly so after the first flare up in 1975, when police were caught unawares and were forced to use dust bin lids as shields, forcing them to return in 1976 fully armed with patent riot shields, extended staves, and vehicles with protective bars across their windshields. It was the introduction of para-military policing to the streets of London. It also gave the police an opportunity to devise new methods of command and control – from the manipulation of the press and management of the news, to new applications of street patrol as the event unfolds throughout the day; from jolly, mature traditionally uniformed officers dancing with plump elderly women or, this year, three officers showboating for YouTube, to the paras with their plastic handcuffs, baseball caps and hidden numbers creeping out after dark.

This year, for the first time, the police used the ‘kettling’ method, frequently used against animal rights campaigners and other protest groups. So, for an event that the police themselves officially and grudgingly had to accept was relatively peaceful, there was still the pre-planned aggressive policing, with the para officers stopping groups of young men, out for a day’s fun with their mates, to search them and take their details. These bits of gossip will eventually find their way on to some computer and will emerge later as so-called intelligence, which will no doubt go towards feeding further anti-democratic laws and regulations based on the myth of security and anti-terrorism.

The Media and Carnival:
The Notting Hill Carnival, the signature cultural event for Caribbean people living in Britain and the nation’s biggest street festival, presents an enormous challenge to the British media – and has always done. Due to a combination of police manipulation and the willingness of the press to represent black people as criminals, the media find it difficult treating the carnival as a cultural event, with colourful, theme-base, creative costumes, or just a massive public gathering at which criminals – in the main young black men – run riot (often literally).

But by far the great barometer of the acceptance of Caribbean people is the response of the press. The most telling media non-story about this year’s carnival was its treatment by the BBC, both television and radio, the voice of Britain, the organisation funded by taxpayers. BBC local radio and television behaved differently, and have always done. Nothing on the early or late national television news, nothing on radio and, on Radio Four’s Today programme on Monday bank-holiday, the flag ship programme which purports to be the eyes and ears of cultural developments, there was not even a mention of the number of arrests.

But, for the great decision makers, the policy wonks, the politicians and informed middle classes, that are the Today audience, there was an item about the new tattoo on pop singer Cheryl Cole’s bottom. This is what the producers of the day and the senior broadcasters working with them thought was the most important cultural event of the day. The liberal Independent (Monday bank-holiday) gave a better report on page 10, focusing on what is called ‘colour’, basically fluff about how wonderful the costumes  were designed, the weather, patronising drivel about smiling people, but with the expected number of arrests.

Again, there was no expert view on the creativity of the costumes, the themes behind the bands, the quality of the steel band playing, nor the street parades. The Daily Mail (bank holiday London edition), the day after the Sunday, a publication that likes to see itself as the voice of ‘middle’ Britain, could not even find space for a picture caption about carnival, but a full page, complete with eight pictures of Cheryl Cole’s tattoos. The message quite clearly was no violence, no coverage. The Tuesday edition, following the usually exciting Monday event, again did not even carry a picture caption; it was the Daily Mail at its political and quietly hostile best. The Independent on the same day, restricted itself to a small picture caption with one of the iconic carnival pictures, even if the words were just again waffle. The Daily Telegraph (Monday) also restricted itself to a cliché picture caption and again on Tuesday, going for a Brazilian samba shot. The Guardian (Tuesday) ran a full centre page spread with five pictures, with the main one that of a Brazilian samba queen.

One of the smears on the black British community, one that has survived since the 1950s, is that we are a drug-using culture. True, in the 1950s and 60s, as a young, male dominated community, there was a regular use of illegal substances, in particular marijuana, encouraged by a large number of US military personnel based in the UK. Carnival quite often is seen by the more popular press as a collection of drug users, even if there is now a shift in popular opinion.

By coincidence, a report in the Independent (29/8/13) of a study by Release, the drug advocacy group, and the London School of Economics, and well timed for carnival, said: “Hundreds of millions of pounds of taxpayers’ money are spent every year on arresting and processing people for possessing drugs, with no discernible impact on drug markets or levels of use. “Meanwhile, thousands of otherwise law-abiding people receive criminal records, and many poor and minority communities deal daily with the feeling that the police are unfairly targeting them.” Carnival brings all these biases in to a single geographical area. But we know the true story of drug abuse, from the so-called legal highs to the casual use of cocaine. All we have to do is read the confessions by the pop ‘stars’, actors and their hangers-on. Of course, none of this abuse is reflected in official crime statistics since police and law enforcing agencies rarely touch these mega-rich people, preferring instead to arrest the Rastas, unemployed teenagers and boys on the block.

Those of us who have been there know the drill: the late calls telling us about a raid and inviting us to accompany them; the television cameras, the photographers, reporters, the briefings, the paramilitary-style knocking down doors; the highlights on the evening news; the fear of ordinary people that drug gangs are invading their quiet neighbourhoods. It comes back to the old criminological statement on criminal justice: whose law are the police enforcing, and, what justice? In reality it is all public relations, a battle for the hearts and minds of ordinary people, while the high and mighty get away scotch free.

Festival of Food:
At the heart of the event is a festival of food, one of the highlights of which is the incredible display of foods from almost every ethnic group in Britain. It is this display of street-corner food that highlights the economic potential of carnival, along with the numerous other opportunities it provides to enterprising local people, from privately run toilets (one man was charging £2 to use his) to commodity sales and distribution, marketing, logistics, transport, just to mention a few. The carnival is estimated by the Daily Telegraph to bring £100m in to the local economy. Of that, it can be safely said that the Caribbean community gets minimal benefits from this, either as small entrepreneurs or as consumers. This is based on a crude calculation of one million people attending on each of the two days and spending about £50 per capita. One reason for this business failure is the lack of organisation and business enterprise: an inability over the last near 50 years to set up a permanent organisational structure to mange carnival and negotiate on behalf of the community. Another failure, one that is replicated across the Caribbean, is the refusal of professional people to step forward and provide the community leadership the event badly needs.

With the exception of the Barbados high commission, few Caribbean high commissions play an active role in the London carnival. Again, a politically-misguided lawyer aside, most of the organisation behind carnival has been clouded with voluntarism, petty nationalism – the Selwyn Baptiste (Trinidadian), Louis Chase (Barbadian) saga of the 1970s, and the intervention of such community activists as Darcus Howe and others on various occasions. “Carnival is we t’ing” became the signature tune for a reactionary nationalism that chose to ignore the social and political circumstances that led to founding of the carnival. It is the same rallying call is giving birth to a Brazilian take-over on the basis that Brazilians are world-class organisers of modern carnivals – just go to Rio. Compare this, however, with the inner citry youths of the US, marginalised by the society, kept out of meaningful jobs and criminalised, yet they went away and created a multi-billion dollar rap and hip-hop industry, which now dominates popular world music.

Analysis and Conclusion:
National media and the police have had forty-nine years to get it right over carnival, and they are still lost like kids in a maze not knowing if to recognise it as a criminal event or art. Even given the historical infighting and bad organisation of carnival, there is very little to excuse the Metropolitan Police for its historical prejudiced policing of the event, and the media for their bias and blatant contempt.

In the old days, the 1970s and 80s, at least the main attraction of carnival was the predicted showdown between young muscular policemen, and fierce, determined young black men. It was a show of strength, a battle as to who controlled the streets, and black youths knew that the police had most of the tools, from arrest and custody, to being legally heavily armed, to the courts and the loyalty of the press. All these young men – and a few women – had on their side was moral strength and courage, the right to go about their legal business unmolested, a right to enjoy themselves in a free and democratic society.

It is to fill this knowledge vacuum and lack of interest, that the dominant white community defines carnival by the metric of criminality, the number of arrests, the reasons for those arrests (300 this year for petty offences like urinating in public view, possession of marijuana for personal use, etc. In the meantime a death occurred at the Reading festival and few, if any, drug arrests took place at Glastonbury), and the number of officers policing the event. Even people who under normal circumstances will describe themselves as ‘liberal’ see carnival through this fractured and distorted prism. Those African Caribbean young people who feel that they have fully integrated in to British society, that they are now part of the social furniture, either have to turn away from this crude reality, or pretend it does not exist.

In many ways, the English reaction to carnival at home betrays the deceit of claiming to be madly in love with the Caribbean and its people when on a tourist visit. Cultural symbols are important as they signal the status of the group within the wider society. That our social and political leaders choose to disassociate themselves from carnival sends a message that carnival is not socially acceptable.

In the final analysis, newspaper coverage of carnival and official responses to it are but walk on parts in a wider moral drama: do Caribbean people, especially those from the former colonies, have any culture that we as English people should respect? Haven’t we already defined Caribbean people as petty criminals, educational failures, creative dunces, moral reprobates?

See: Hal Austin, Carnival: Reflections on a community, in Journal of Ethnic and Migration Studies, Vol 7, Issue 1, 1978, pages 114-117

70 responses to “Notes From a Native Son: The Notting Hill Carnival Remains a Yardstick of Caribbean Progress in the UK”

1. @balance

You are correct in a sense. But Barbados borders the Caribbean sea. The Bahamas is some distance from the Caribbean sea and borders countries (Haiti, Cuba) that have a Caribbean coastline to their south. Bermuda is way out there in the Atlantic. But, again, it is politics and culture that are important. I have never heard anyone speak of the Florida Keys (which are basically a continuation of the Bahamas) as Caribbean in any sense.

2. This is a silly diversion, but any territory that borders the Caribbean seas is Caribbean. That is why Mexico’s Cancun, and Columbia can claim a Caribbean-ness.
    The cultural point is also significant. So the Dominican republic, Puerto Rio and Cuba are parts of Latin America.
    The Caribbean comprises 7000 islands, 700 of them are Bahamian alone.

3. @ Hal

The Caribbean is one archipelago, the Bahamas another. Unlike Colombia, the 700 Bahamian islands do not border the Caribbean sea. Look again at your map. No map or atlas has ever placed the Bahamas in the Caribbean. The politico-cultural sense is the only sense in which we are part of a ‘region’ that includes Grenada, but does not include Key West.

4. @Hal

I am assuming you live in the UK. If so, then you seem content to have yourself represented in the eyes of your local public by urban Jamaican culture. That is fine. Just remember that the ignorance of British public perceptions cannot change reality. What passes for “Caribbean” or even “black” culture to the uninformed is as valid as the asinine image some over here have of all Brits as either cockneys or residents of Buckingham palace.

5. Lawson said:

“This may be shocking to you, all whites aren’t the same either , maybe that’s what you should be telling your children.”

Lawson some very powerful words and when telling their children the above should add that all whites believe in preservation of the white race, something that blacks should start emulating and identifying with asap.

6. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hal Austin | September 1, 2013 at 1:40 AM |
    “But apart from walking up and down the Royal Mile, watching street jugglers and people handing out leaflets for comedy events, what is the importance of the Festival.”

You might be right in your observations. But what about the Edinburgh Military Tattoo? Have you been to that?
    Both the Royal Mile event and the Tattoo are heavily promoted and attract large amounts of visitors from around the world. Scotland without those two Summer events would suffer tourism wise.

7. Well Well you are mixing up preserving the white race( ie the klan) and preserving humanity.If the klan mentality offends you why would you feel different about any other race or color having the same me first attitude . In Canada, Quebecers are a dying culture, who have been entrenching their rights as their population dwindles rather than accept the inevitable and seek a society that benefits all. Surely you see that working together with respect for each others history is far better than trying to mandate your history on someone .Action re-action thing. All of us on the planet today are descendants of survivors. People survive not by chance but by determination. Who did our forbearers eat, kill, hide from steal from for us to be living today. So yes don’t forget your culture but keep yours eyes on the big picture.

8. Lawson…….when you put it like that, it makes perfect sense.

9. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ lawson | September 1, 2013 at 12:41 PM |

Well put.
    Sounds like a keen student of Evolution both in a biological and a cultural sense.
    Paleontological and anthropological evidence support your position.

10. Thank you for the kind words, I am just a simple blue collar worker from poor stock that believes in tradition but not at the expense of anyone else. That is why I was confused with Hals comparison of the tattoo which evokes all my history ( men in dresses playing an octopus) and what I believe is a rudderless ship bending to possibly todays norms rather than holding dear the traditions of old. I have been to many islands, to me Barbados was unique. It wasn’t the prettiest, the easiest to get to, the most fun, but what it did have ,and I believe still has are the warmest hospitable people I had encountered .The economic crisis hasn’t been kind to people creating disparities, making people skeptical of each other, its tough keeping a smile when things aren’t the best. But that is what you are known for friendliness and warmth who could ask for a better endorsement of a people and its culture.

11. @ Hal Austin
    Man let it go. We here in the Caribbean are not really interested in the foolishness about your carnival. On my first visit to Britain my mother who is resident there since 1962 warned me to stay away. It is really a set of nonsense to use that carnival as a barometer of Caribbean peoples progress there. Several are now successful politicians , doctors, lawyers, business professionals and academics. Your thesis is tenuous and void of correct grounding arguments. In fact it is useless. Please recognize we are now a global society in an electronic age. Facts are available to each one at the same time regardless of locale. Let go of the stupid black and white issue we wish not to participate in such. Do not hijack BU with that toilet stuff anymore.

12. @ Lighthouse
    Skippa ….you can’t be serious!!! If Hal don’t write shiite about London carnival what you want him to write about?
    …Bajan economics and politics?

Man leff de man nuh!

Yea Hal…
    So why you upset that the police in London does bring out their bug sticks for this carnival…?
    …you ever see what we does bring out for Kadooment? 🙂

Lucky Bushie ain’t running things …else the bushman would deploy a couple garbage trucks to control the lotta wufflessness and crass behaviors at BOTH events….

13. @ Bushie
    Brother I do not portend any harm to Hal Austin but I am sure you will agree that we in Bim have too many serious issues ranging from the economy, cuts in hospital budget, UWI fees, Police Force and Darwin Dottin, slow justice in court, people laid off, crime, a city in squalor and other woes. Yet all Hal can pass out is this diarrhoeal flow. I recommend him to the sewage treatment plant. He will increase their customer base and thereby help with unemployment. Hal you can be helpful indeed.

14. The Carnival is fantastic! I have been every year since 1977, usually on both days. So though it is true that you don’t see a preponderance of black faces in the crowds anymore, you can go to the steel band competition the night before if you want a thoroughly West Indian experience, hardly any white people to be seen. Its not as good as it was because it is just too many people. Someone had the bright idea of advertising the Notting Hill Carnival in Europe and that started a huge number of young European students coming to the carnival. I get tired of hearing about violence, police presence etc. I believe it is one of the largest carnivals in the world and to think that the number of injuries, attacks muggings etc. is so small compared to say Rio where loads die every year is incredible. There are incidents every few years, sometimes the notorious steaming but amazingly the majority of the time it’s fine. Millions of people are making their way round quite narrow streets, mostly drunk or stoned and yet everyone stays cheerful. Don’t advertise it,try to keep it small and there will not be so many police needed. As for the middle classes, guess who follows the floats, guess who dresses up in costume? Yes, middle class black people. And guess what Notting Hill is now a mainly middle class area. An ex-council property opposite the main carnival judging point is now on the market for nearly half a million pounds!
    Over the years the costumes have improved immeasurably it is such a spectacle to behold. True, the steel bands have faded away in favour of loud sound systems but the atmosphere is so wonderful. Fantastic food, brilliant dance stages of every different kind of music there are public toilets easily available for free. Pubs that remain open have great parties inside and on the roof. It,s got nothing to do with “Britain” its a London Carnival in Notting Hill about West Indians. People keep trying to change it, make it more inclusive bla bla, move it to Hyde Park where it will be safer, have film crews and journalists. It is not the Royal Jubilee. NO it is the Notting Hill carnival. It is so exciting to arrive early in the morning before all the people arrive, you can say hi to your friends on the food stalls, their pots already sizzling away you can smell the food for miles around! Yum! Sound systems warming up, random people hurrying to their floats in costume. These people have been preparing all year for this. They are out to have a good time and show their wonderful outfits and dance steps. The dry humping is a relatively recent import.
    Carnivals which have Christianity as their roots such as Rio and Trinidad and Fasching, happen around the beginning of Lent whereas the main carnivals in West Africa take place in August.

15. @ Victor

Thank you.

16. @ Hal Austin and Victor
    Please get our point. This is a local Bajan blog. We ARE NOT interested in your Notting Hill carnival. Let it go. You fellows in Britain are stuck in a time tunnel. We have moved on since you left. Give us a break. You folk are out of touch and out of groove with the local Barbadian movementations. Notting Hill has nothing to do with us .WE CARE NOT ONE HOOT

17. @ Lighthouse

Are you interested in Syria? Are you interested in who buys our citizenship? Are you interested in the Chinese New Year, or Diwali, or Eid? Are you interested in anything that takes place outside the little world of Bajan insularity?
    @ Lighthouse, I am not surprised that we have the political and civic leaders we have. Maybe you should expand your universe a bit.

18. @ hal
    you do not get it bloke I am after the nonsense you continually write. I think I know more about Britain than you realize. I told you to leave us alone with your racist shit that we moved on. Let me explain. We have blacks, whites, Indians and other races co existing here. It is budding well and your experience in Uk is just that. Please do not be so ad hominem deal with my message. What we have is not racism but class problems and in some cases blacks are the worst perpetrators. Our landscape is so different. Your behavior explains why so many returning nationals are misfits in this locale. The English really bruised up your psyche making you feel less than equal. Keep that psychological damage to yourselves. Do not infect our children.

19. Non West Indians going to the Carnival including locals think wow the Caribbean must be a fun destination and choose to become tourists. All the negative occurrences aside, the drugs, muggings and offensive cavorting aside, it is a wonderful advertisement for the Caribbean as a destination. Forget the negatives and look instead at people of West Indian origin having a great time together. Of course they have more in common than just gathering together to express resentment at colonialism. They are there to have a great time and the exuberance is so catching. Children are proud and thrilled to be in the parade on Children’s Day, looking great, dancing all day in full costume for miles where do they find the energy! and to see an enraptured audience enchanted by the day and admiring their performances is rewarding for them. I met 2 middle aged Irish builders who had come all the way from Ireland to be there. “Is it like the St Patrick’s Day Parade in Dublin?” they asked me still several miles away and you could already hear the drums. £Wait and see I said and don’t forget to take a flask.
    When you think about it, what does Barbados have to offer other than what every other beautiful island has, beaches sunshine etc. Fine dining? Condos? The Carnival offers a taste of Caribbean exuberance and love of life and importantly, an invitation to join in, to several million people every year in Notting Hill. And THAT’s why people love Barbados too.They come to Barbados to find that, not just beaches etc. They come back again because they DO find that. It’s good for Barbados and the whole Caribbean tourist industry because the tourist is looking to find that singular element of personality which sets it apart as a destination from a beach resort in other parts of the world, eg the Maldives.

The West African diaspora is spread far and wide and it includes. hugely. the fun element expressed in music, dance and celebration, and food of course! Should we sit and frown, get stern and concentrate on wickedness when Rio, New Orleans, Notting Hill, Trinidad and now New York and all the other West African diaspora carnivals,kick off at Carnival time? Costume and disguise as an excuse to shed the ordinariness of life is a common human trait where an individual can let rip for a couple of days. It’s also very significant spiritually in its origins.
    I say it is also a great reason to remember your roots. Roots do grow out but boy, do they come back! To carry on the metaphor, roots belong to trees which shed seeds which grow into other trees carrying the same DNA as the original root.
    The strong influence of West African culture has spread to every country on the planet and has affected every area of culture from Picasso to Bob Marley and everything in between. That culture has spread without conquest of lands and peoples but through influence from within. And under the worst of circumstances, slavery, it has flourished. So don’t dis the diaspora.

20. Background

Leave a Reply to Hal AustinCancel reply