Submitted by St.George’s Dragon
Facebook is the largest social network site.
Facebook is the largest social networking site.

According to an article in the Jamaica Observer, the Barbados Government is the only one in the Caribbean to have asked Facebook for information on its Bajan users. Apparently the Government has made three requests for information in the last six months. It’s not a high number of requests but why are we the only ones to be making them?

The original of the article can be found here: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/latestnews/Barbados-govt-asks-Facebook-for-info-on-users–data and the Facebook report is here https://www.facebook.com/about/government_requests. Interestingly, Facebook denied information in all 3 cases.

184 responses to “Barbados Government Begged Facebook to REVEAL Three Users”

1. I am simply amazed at how stupid we are as a people. Did anyone stop to ask if the story is true in the first place? We are so quick to curse our politicians over every gossip there is out there. I am a BLP supporter, but when we destroy all of our institutions just to get rid of a political party what then do we have left for ourselves. This petty foolishness of attacking the DLP over every crap in this island makes me sick. It has truly begun to turn me off from politics.

If the police wish to do an investigation then let them do their job. what the hell does FB investigation ahs to do with the AG or the PM.

Please let us be more rationale and stop the pettyness

2. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

If you check WordPress, you would find that Barbados made similar request to find out the identities of David of BU and those involved in Barbados Free Press. What crimes did they commit? They were just thorns in people’s side.

3. @millertheanunnaki August 28, 2013 at 9:44 PM ” Are you blaming OSA for this one too or the international recession?”

Me thinks that King Cuffy will blame a computer glitch for this.

And we will know that king cuffy is a Damn Lying Person.

LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

4. ac “Moreover nobody knows if this information was being sought by another govt for a Bajan living outside the country involved in criminal activity”

But ac in a Bajan living outside of Barbados commits a crime, then that other government can and will deal with him. Foreign governments don’t need permission from the Barbados to lock us the rasses of Bajan who commit crimes in their country.

If you doubt me ask your neighbourhood deportee.

5. @millertheanunnaki August 28, 2013 at 10:51 PM “We wonder if the same Minister is still entitled to be called Mr. Integrity”

I NEVER trust men who get to the age of 40 and don’t have a wife or a good liv-wid woman (or man) I have always wondered what is wrong with such men. I always wonder how many women they have deceived.

6. proudbajan2 “but when we destroy all of our institutions just to get rid of a political party”

Dear proudbajan2: Please identify, then copy and paste the statement on this thread that is an attempt to “destroy all of our institutions”

7. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ proudbajan2 | August 28, 2013 at 11:08 PM |

You can’t be proud Bajan(too) and be a hypocrite at the same time. What BLP supporter what? Whom do you think you are fooling? The BLP is doing nothing to destroy the institutions you so proudly fail to mention. Actions that can lead to the destruction of any institution can only be ascribed to this lying administration in which proud citizens and investors are daily losing confidence.

Just look at the way this same administration has treated the Judicial System by arrogantly dismissing the order to pay Al Barrack.

What about the Police Force and the treatment of the CoP and its breach of Constitution implications?

What about the fiscal and financial system where this administration’s incompetent failure to account for $300 million in foreign reserves is the laughingstock of the regional and international financial world?

What about the health care system that is being put at serious risks by cutting the budget of the country’s primary health care institution by $35 million or approx. 24% of its already overstretched resources?

What about the poorly handled move to introduce a revised funding model for Bajan students attending the UWI? Isn’t that a backhanded way to destroy the lynchpin of the EWB legacy now institutionalized as a sine qua non of bragging rights of what it means to be a proud Bajan? Isn’t this the only thing (free education) you show off to the world?

It is your incompetent dangerous lying administration that is putting the country’s institutions at risk; not the people whose head you would like to crack and if necessary shoot.

8. The bottom line, unless Prime Minister issues a statement all other comments are speculative. It is interesting so far that some are prepared to give government the benefit of the doubt. These are of course DLP supporters.

9. the Dems doing as they wish.
    its not the fault of the dems that the opposition poor

10. the Dems doing as they wish.
    its not the fault of the dems that the opposition poor

I am sure tat had the shoe ben on the other foot, ac and ccc would have the government catspraddled by now

11. Stupse the government wanted to find out who was behind the “Fire Freundel” page. Anybody waan bet me?

12. “Interestingly, Facebook denied information in all 3 cases.”

It’s more than “interesting”, it’s hilarious…ROTFL…

My deduction would be DENIED because Facebook decided the request did not have any merit. Just a frivolous, bullshit fishing expedition.

13. Cuthbert of England | August 28, 2013 at 9:29 PM |

Well Well

But he was representing someone giving evidence against the CLICO executives I think your premature and wrong. Wheel and come again.

Actually Cuthbert the lawyer’s family said since yesterday his murder had nothing to do with representing anyone for or against CLICO, check it out yourself, it is in the newspapers.

14. The bottom line is yardfowls notwithstanding, the Facebook administration saw the request from the DLP lead Barbados government for exactly what it is, an attempt to violate people (s) privacy for petty purposes that could actually lead to criminal purposes. LOL!!!!

15. If one looks at the privacy policy of Facebook and the basis which release of information is considered the government of Barbados – defined by government agencies and approved by Cabinet – then it speaks to the quality of government’s work given Facebook’s refusal to release info requested. In fact it makes Barbados and the AG’s Office the laughing stock of the Caribbean because Barbados is alone from the Caribbean to make any request.

16. If you really want to know the truth….see this video: TERMS AND CONDITIONS DO NOT APPLY. If there is a price to watch or download, it is worth it. Big Daddy is watching you…so why not watch them….

http://www.imdb.com/media/rm536453376/tt2084953?ref_=tt_ov_i

17. Both political parties have intimated a willingness to uncover persons posting on the internet. In Barbados in general there has always been an attempt to shut-up people whether via threats of libel/defamation or via threats of outing persons posting online. We all know the view of Mia Mottley on the subject of blogs etc. The fact is that threats to “out” online posters usually go nowhere; for one, such threats are filled with a lot of bluster, emotion, and little else; also, no one outside of Barbados takes these Lilliputian fifedom rulers and their henchmen seriously. I don’t believe the story, I don’t see how they could be successful when city, state and federal government in the US have to seek court orders to get internet companies to reveal persons identities. The Barbadian government name brand is not a entity that most people in power position at these companies would recognize or if they did, would honor a request from. They may consider themselves the big fish in the fish bowl they control; but in the ocean at large it is a little difficult to maintain that view point.

Look at Facebook privacy statement:
    https://www.facebook.com/note.php?note_id=326598317390057

18. It is the government officials that got to put up all their info online not the citizens

19. what other sources to spy on citizens are being used
    monitoring internet ehich can easily be done through c&w
    tapping telephone calls also easily done ( see news of tyhe world case)
    tracking of physical location using cell phones
    the gestapo and stazi would be enviouse of what democratic governments can do easily that they could not due to technology.

are we free citizens or just with democratic iceing. bajans need to become more strong on defending civil liberties

20. enslavement
    name of the game
    freedom/when
    slaves/yes
    have a rooster/must have a hen
    no beginning/no end
    —————————
    Yaaaaaaaaaagga -again +again

21. (1) Bu, be on the look out, you might be requested to provide information on the users of this blog. (LOL) (2) Any word on Chris Stinkliar’s attempt at borrowing money on the international market?

22. Proud Bajan en fool Miller.And e ‘en fool me neither.The problem is that the Dems leaders know that they have brainless followers just like the catholic followers who believe de Pope infallible.The Stuart and the Pope neither eat food nor take liquids so dem en like we lesser mortals.Whatever they say or do is Gospel…take it or leave it.Shut up and doan ask nuh questions.Follow me.

23. I plead guilty on cherry picking the responses on this thread to read … time restraints, so I am not sure if this point has been made. If it has, my apologies to the contributor.

Facebook is a Bona fide agent of the CIA. In fact it is the agencies primary gatherer of relationship intelligence, and Facebook itself has admitted to this. If the GoB wants information they could by pass FB and talk directly to the US Embassy …. (good luck with that ..!)

24. @ David
    “…… it makes Barbados and the AG’s Office the laughing stock of the Caribbean because Barbados is alone from the Caribbean to make any request.”

Nicely put and ties in with my earlier comment about it being hilarious.

25. The request to Facebook were made by or thru the office of the Commissioner of Police in Barbados. One of the request pertained to someone operating out of Barbados and selling and distributing fake cancer treating pharmaceuticals and of the other two, one pertained to a website with a link to facebook which involved pornography and prostitution in Barbados.

26. Thanks Multitude, can you also explain why the AG would not have known of this request?

27. St George's Dragon Avatar

@ Multitude
    If that is correct it sounds as though the requests were sensible. The question is then why the police requests were refused.

28. Yes! Why the AG did not know. Somebody seems to be telling gross untruths.

29. Gallant Pharmaceuticals operating out of #12 Emperors Court, Christ Church, Barbados. Arrested on 8th August, 2013 was Mr. Talib Khan of Palisades, Atlantic Shores, Christ Church, Barbados.

30. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Multitude | August 29, 2013 at 1:42 PM |

Are you saying three residents in Barbados are involved in such dangerously wicked criminal activities and Facebook blatantly turned down such genuinely reasonable requests in the interest of law and order and even justice?

Could you please address David’s query about the AG not being aware of these requests? Don’t you think a simple phone call to or visit from the CoP would have brought him up to date with Dottin’s past dealings, not so?

31. Before the AG spoke to the media would it not have made sense for each minister of government to ascertain if a request was made by a government department?

32. St George's Dragon Avatar

Facebook says they will release information:
    “This may include responding to legal requests from jurisdictions outside of the United States where we have a good faith belief that the response is required by law in that jurisdiction, affects users in that jurisdiction, and is consistent with internationally recognized standards.”
    Presumably, the police request did not come up to those standards.

33. ALEXANDRIA, Va. — Seven arrests have been made in a coordinated operation spanning several states, related to the unsealing of a 17-count indictment and criminal complaint involving Gallant Pharma International Inc., an allegedly unlicensed company that is accused of distributing misbranded prescription drugs from its headquarters in Crystal City and an office in Springfield. The individuals arrested were:

Syed “Farhan” Huda, 38, of Arlington;
    Deeba Mallick, 36, of Arlington;
    Anoushirvan R. Sarraf, 47, of Rockville, Md.;
    Talib Khan, 42, of Montreal, Canada, and Barbados;
    Harvey Whitehead, 67, of Troy, Mich.;
    Lisa Coroniti, 46, of Devon, Pa.; and
    Robert J. Sparks, 30, of Springfield

34. Multitude | August 29, 2013 at 1:42 PM |

The request to Facebook were made by or thru the office of the Commissioner of Police in Barbados. One of the request pertained to someone operating out of Barbados and selling and distributing fake cancer treating pharmaceuticals and of the other two, one pertained to a website with a link to facebook which involved pornography and prostitution in Barbados.

Since when has the Barbados government started bypassing Interpol and dealing with Facebook, that job description of contacting FB lies exclusively with Interpol, sounds like more lies being manufactured to cover original lies, and they would have been turned down anyway, again protocols dictate the GOB contact FBI, all these satellite offices are also located in BIM, there was absolutely no reason to contact FB directly unless it was itself a malicious and criminal request borne out of mischief……….no wonder it was refused and exposed.

35. What seems to be coming through is that Facebook is classifying request from government agencies as ‘government’. To mitigate the Barbados government needs to instruct ALL government agencies to liaise via a central body.

36. Well Well

You have written a bariffle of nonsense there. Are you saying that the RBPF cannot contact FB without going thru the FBI or Interpol?

37. Well Well

Let me expand, say the RBPF is investigating a local pornography, prostitution and trafficking case in Barbados and that the perpertrators of that scheme are based in Barbados but have a website from an anonomous server and that website is linked to a FaceBook page, presumably to target the world wide FB audience.

Don’t you think it perfectly legal and reasonable that the RBPF (with or without the assistance of the local courts) could approach FB with a request for user details so as to link the operators of the FB page to the Website offering pornography, prostitution and trafficking services in Barbados, and by extension obtain the evidence necessary to arrest the criminals?

38. This FACEBOOK thing has to be taken with more than a grain of salt.

One would bet all the tea in China that the Barbados Government which sought information on 3 persons would be Barbados Labour Party operatives masquerading as the “Barbados Government”.

I don’t anything pass the Barbados Labour Party!

39. Assuming the scanario above is correct, it is clear that FB would not allow any agency to use it for a fishing expedition. Internet law will require the RBPF in Barbados to show that it already has credible evidence that the crime in Barbados is being being conducted by certain named alleged criminals that the RBPF further believes those criminal are operating the Website offering the illegal services and also the FaceBook page.

40. If the racket is using a proxy server how would FB be able to help?

41. that should be “I don’t put anything pass the Barbados Labour Party”.

42. RBPF Request to FaceBook:

We believe that Joseph Harten-Toren, Kristina Mulgaters and Darcy Leadbetter-Kokie are operating FB page (xxxx-zzzz-222-ttt-4). The RBPF request that FB page be preserved until so date and that FB provide details of use, IP addresses and any other information on users.

FB Reply

Request Denied.

43. David

I am told the Website offering the criminal services in Barbados had a website operating from a anonamous/proxy server but the Website had a link to a FB and or Twitter page.

44. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Multitude | August 29, 2013 at 2:48 PM
    “Are you saying that the RBPF cannot contact FB without going thru the FBI or Interpol?”

We are saying the RBPF cannot contact FB to obtain information involving international criminal activities without the AG being aware of it before or after the FB report was made public.

The disclosure of the GoB’s (or any of its agencies) requests to FB was made public in Barbados before the AG denied knowing anything about them. What kind of AG would comment on such a serious matter and not check his CoP before talking with the Media?

Seems like we have a cabinet full of clowns performing acts of monkey business of Foul-ups, Bleeps & Blunders passing off as the people’s business. You guys have been at it for over 5 years now; it’s time you get your act together or resign if the job is too big for you.

45. Multitude said:

Don’t you think it perfectly legal and reasonable that the RBPF (with or without the assistance of the local courts) could approach FB with a request for user details so as to link the operators of the FB page to the Website offering pornography, prostitution and trafficking services in Barbados, and by extension obtain the evidence necessary to arrest the criminals?

Multitude………….if the request was legal to begin with, there is no way it would have been refused, it is highly unlikely it would have been refused coming from Interpol or FBI, presuming it was of a criminal nature and not malicious petty politics………..so my question still is, why was the request refused if it was valid, legal and fell within the parameters of protocols.

In case you are not aware, what you are suggesting falls under international criminal laws, more the reason for FBI/INTERPOL involvement, now if you/they could not fool facebook, what the hell makes you think you can fool/convince me. If you told me FB then redirected the government to go through FBI/Interpol to acquire the information on alleged criminal activities, i would be more inclined to believe you, you are just making yourself look more of a liar the longer you keep up the deceit and attempt to convince us of something that some of us are aware does not happen in the real world………..again, all of the above is the reason the request was refused.

46. Millertheanunnaki

You are trying fuse the office of the Attorney General and Mr. Adiel Brathwaite as always being in possession of all of the same information all at the same time.

That is quite unrealistic but given that you need to fuse them to make your political point does not make it true or right.

47. Well Well

If the crimes are being committed in Barbados by persons based in Barbados or by Barbadians how exactly does it become an internation criminal investigation?

Use your brain sonny.

48. And besides, i have known of instances where the police for whatever reason(s) were more than happy to contact Interpol/FBI to get information on bajans or others living abroad who allegedly committed crimes, the local cops would then jump on a plane and make a big production of bringing the allegedly criminals back to Barbados, big newspaper heading, the last time that happened a few years ago to a young lady whom they eventually had to release so she could return to the US……so tell me Multitude, what happened to change the modus of the local police, why bypass the international law enforcement agencies stationed in Barbados who are just a local phone call away to approach FB directly.

49. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | August 29, 2013 at 3:01 PM |
    “This FACEBOOK thing has to be taken with more than a grain of salt.
    One would bet all the tea in China that the Barbados Government which sought information on 3 persons would be Barbados Labour Party operatives masquerading as the “Barbados Government”.”

Carson the Carrier of Carrion (CCC), are you calling “Multitude” a Liar and a BLP operative?
    His or her submissions make sense except the part that the AG or some other member of Cabinet was blissfully ignorant of what was taking place in the name of the GoB.
    You, CCC, are so partisan purblind that you are unable to separate fact from DLP fiction.

50. Multitude said:

Multitude | August 29, 2013 at 3:19 PM |

Well Well

If the crimes are being committed in Barbados by persons based in Barbados or by Barbadians how exactly does it become an internation criminal investigation?

Your story is getting worse and worse, how did the police check local criminals before fb?? That pharmaceutical matter has an international connection, i read the story some time back, those drugs are not manufactured in Bim, so the local police decided to solve an alleged crime that has an international flavor all by themselves using FB information and can’t solve local rapes. give it a rest, that is good advice.

Leave a Reply to Yagga RoweCancel reply