The following is authored by CASWELL FRANKLYN and was submitted as his bi-weekly commitment to the Nation newspaper. BU understands it was NOT published.

Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler

During his speech to wrap up the debate on the 2013 Financial Statement and Budgetary Proposals in the House of Assembly, Minister of Finance and Economic Affairs, Chris Sinckler, was quoted in another section of the media as saying:

“I don’t steal, I don’t rob anyone, I don’t do anything illegal or underhanded so they could listen as they like, it don’t bother me; so wunna could do what ever wunna like but the truth is going to come out in this country, oh yes it’s going to come out.”

He was speaking about his belief, paranoid or otherwise, that his phone had been tapped and his emails accessed. I must confess that he lost me when he claimed that he explained to the other party on the line that the click they heard would have been someone changing the tape. That suggests to me that he is far less technologically savvy as would be expected of someone in his position. Nobody uses tapes anymore: one little device the size of two fingers can record twenty-five hours of conversations if the battery does not run out of juice.

Be that as it may, I am more concerned with his protestations of honesty. If I am to accept the word of this honourable minister of the Crown, I would be forced to rethink the conclusions that I had drawn after reviewing his election returns for the 2013 General Elections. I actually went into the Registration Department and paid my $4 to view and obtain a copy of his return. Anyone who wants to view a return just has to pay a dollar at the Registration Department: copies cost ten cents per one hundred words.

Now, since I am assured from the floor of our hallowed House of Assembly that the Honourable Minister does not engage in anything illegal or underhanded, I am compelled to conclude that he unwittingly made several mistakes when compiling the return to the Supervisor of Elections. But what troubles me more is that the Supervisor has apparently not noticed the glaring mistakes.

The first thing that struck me is that the Minister declared that he spent $4,692.95 on “tee shirts”. I remember seeing several people wearing t-shirts bearing the Minister’s image during the election campaign. On this score, I must compliment him for his honesty for actually declaring them, in light of the fact that section 10A of the Election Offences and Controversies Act states:

A person is guilty of an illegal practice who before, during or after an election supplies to another person, or wears any apparel or form of dress bearing a political slogan, photograph or image advertising any particular candidate or party in the election.

According to section 28, a person who is guilty of an illegal practice is subject to a fine of $500. This fine only looks small if you are thinking one t-shirt but each shirt handed out constitutes a separate offence. In this regard, I cannot solely blame the Minister; he did something that was contrary to the law, and in effect, reported himself to the relevant authorities but they failed to pursue the matter. Mind you, they have a year to bring charges.

If the matter of the t-shirts were the only problem, I would have said that it was a small matter and let it rest. But there were some other glaring omissions from the return that should have been challenged by the Electoral Office. Contrary to what I observed on the ground and going by the return only, the Minister did not have a single poster or a campaign centre directly east of St. Stephen’s Anglican Church. Also, there was no telephone or electricity supplied to the building. Additionally, according to the return, it is remarkable that the Democratic Labour Party made no contribution to his campaign or that the national meeting that was held in St. Michael North West did not cost a single penny.

Section 52 (1) of the Representation of the People Act requires every candidate to make a return of their expenses to the Supervisor of Elections. It states:

Within seven weeks after the day on which the result of the election is declared the election agent of every candidate at the election shall transmit to the Supervisor of Elections a true return in the Form 5 set out in the Third Schedule, or a form to the like effect containing in relation to that candidate a statement of all payments made by the election agent together with all bills and receipts.

This return is required to ensure that candidates do not spend more on an election than they are allowed by law which, according to section 48 of the Representation of the People Act, should not be in excess of $10 in respect of each registered elector in the constituency. The law relies on the candidate’s honesty to make an accurate return but allows the Supervisor to conduct an investigation, under section 55A, if he is not satisfied that the candidate submitted a true return.

I have found some errors in the Minister’s return, and since he has declared, “I don’t do anything illegal or underhanded” from the floor of the House of Assembly, I am sure that he would welcome the opportunity to correct the errors that I found and any others that he detects on review.

After the last General Elections several people, without reviewing the relevant laws, called for election reform. This case shows that the call might have been misplaced and rather, they should have been calling for enforcement of the laws that we already have since they are mostly observed in the breach.

79 responses to “Sinckler's Honest Election Return”

1. Come to think of it, this municipal tax would hit Donville so hard because he has 19 properties……………..no wonder it is being reviewed. You really think if it was not going to hurt him badly, they would care? Hell no!

2. Prodigal
    Mia is on the ball in her pronouncements,her ideas and her ultimatum on having consensus.I agree with EVERYTHING she said.The lady makes sense and has a brilliant mind.I can see the likes of the ‘Quisling’Boyce and the ‘Physical’ in the background in lots of these impositions.They are not political thinkers,they are number crunchers and God help you if you got under the wheel of their bus.Recall some year or so ago the ‘Quisling’was on TV and was asked a question on Clico and dismissed the query with an off hand comment as much as to say if they took their chance for an ROI that’s their business,nothing to do with the government of Stuart!Stuart sez he Stuart is a Warrior.Now he can fight for his survival.As the Trinis would say it ‘dem is one set ‘o clown in Bay St.The halt leading the blind!

3. @ Cocky Locky

I was looking in your earlier submission to see if in all the pieces of varied elements, if you had said that Eric Fly was piece uh Rock.

I did note that you said that he was a Piece uh Girl.

As he is dead and CANNOT speak for himself, since I am

(a) soon going to be with him (as will we all) and
    (b) “related” by reason of being as a Piece uh “something”, I will speak to your comment about fly.

“Je t’accuse” as did the Defarge woman in a tale of tow cities of being the same piece of girl that you sully Fly’s image with.

And with that french phrase (not latin GP) I will add “moi. aussi” (me too) as are Bajan males. all “pieces of girl” and i will explain that comment.

What do you call men who bend over and let another man put their ***is up their rears?

Bullers!!

Well, Cockly Locky I suggest to you, me and all we Bajan men are bullers considering the buggering we got on 13.8.13 from your leader Fumble and his trusted sidekick Sinckliar.

By the way, where did you go for your vacation?

Was the stay there nice? Would you have liked to have remained there longer?

It would appear like if the people there were not of the same opinion about you being “nice” since they have foisted you back on poor little Bulbados.

4. Common sense is not common Avatar
    Common sense is not common

Prodigal Son also known as Pat Parris

I think you need to be a little careful in what you are saying because it will get some of these senior civil servants who are feeding you information in some big trouble.

You spoke about the Accountant who told the minister ‘he just can’t take people names off’,don’t you think the minister will be able to determine who that Accountant is?

I believe these civil servants should remember the oath they take about confidentiality.

What is your role there as Assistant to the leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley?Is it just to send out these gossip and rumours and comments about CC and AC on the internet?

You are allowing yourselfto be drawn down in the pit with some of these snakes and you know better than that I am sure.

All your posts are so bitter why not bring a litle humour,speak on some lighter issue,give yourself a rest before you fall victim to a heart attack and everyone else will move on.

Life is more than just about partisan politics and you as a woman and a mother should know that.

A word to the wise is enough.

5. Common sense is not common Avatar

I believe the prime minister needs to remove Chris Sincler as Finance minister because this is the second time he makes such a big foul-up if what donville inniss is saying is true.

Chris seems too wedded to increase taxation as a solution.

I also could not understand why he would cut the QEH budget when it is obvious in this time of hardship more persons in the middle class will be seeking their services unlike before.

He needs a break from that ministry perhaps the stress is too much.

6. @ Un commonsense,

You took great liberty trying to out me. For your information, I am NOT Pat Parris, please stop making that assertion.

I am one of the most pleasant person aIive, I am at peace with myself, I live a good stress free life, so do not bother with me. What upsets me is the state our country is in and it did not have to get to this. I have the right to speak out on BU as long as I don’t offend David. Get used to it.

How would I put anyone in trouble? The directive was given to do it by phone calls to take people’s names off went out to ALL accountants in the public sector. Are they going to fire all accountants and all the public workers who are talking about what is going on? Accountants have family too in the public sector, you don’t think people are upset and would talk, oath or no oath?

Another thing, when you are trying to take down someone, quote them accurately………I never said a minister called anybody…I said the call came from the Personnel Department.

7. Objectivity please !!! Avatar
    Objectivity please !!!

@ common sense.
    You place too much importance on the Minister. Barbados is run by Cabinet Government , NOT ministerial government . A minister is just a mouthpiece of the Cabinet and the policy is implemented by Public Servants . Once you consider this you would be better able to place blame where it properly belongs …

8. Objectivity please !!! Avatar
    Objectivity please !!!

@ common sense..
    “prodigal son also known as Pat Parris”
    I often wondered if this person was not employed , having so much time to hog the blogs . Now i know that she is really at work on the blogs.

9. Common sense is not common Avatar

Pat aka Prodigal Son

You outed yourself and confirmed you once worked at Barclays Bank.

Never mind,I do think that you are a good person at heart and was really sorry that they did not give you a chance for the St Joseph seat and instead gave it to Dale Marshal.

Don’t let anyone use you to drag you in their mess.That’s all I am saying.You work for Mia but you are not Mia o.k.?

10. @no objectivity and no common sense

I am not taking on the two of you! Your logic defies common sense. So only females worked at BB? Or only PP?

@ the one without any objectivity at all………………Why don’t you comment on ac and CCC who are the ones who hog the show. I do not blog on everything……I blog when your ignorant Dems do the shite you do to Barbadians every day. You don’t have to know what I do, none of your damn business. As long as the DLP continues to mess up Barbados, I will blog. Deal with it!

11. Objectivity please !!! Avatar
    Objectivity please !!!

@prodigal son
    The only dealing I would wish to have with you is to give you some kerosine to wash your filthy mouth …

12. David;
    Looks like the blog police are exposing a little bit of their hands. Do you have anything to say about the recent posts by Common Sense and Objectivity Please (Whose monikers suggest they might be the same person)? Such posts have the potential to do real damage to the Blog.

13. Perhaps you might institute a rule such as; Posters who post names and impute that they are the real names of individuals who post on BU under a moniker or pen name will be banned from posting under any moniker (or words to that effect)

14. @checkit-out

Agree with your comment. Why would another commenter try to put a name on another? What if BU attempted same? Let us respect that BU facilitates anonymous blogging.

15. David;
    The likely reason could be that the culprit is a bully attempting to blackmail the poster he has named and other posters as well. i.e. Big Brother has your name, toe the line or else you and your family will suffer or We knoh who yuh is. Stop posting that line or we coming fuh yuh.

The stakes are high and getting higher daily so if a normal poster pens something that is getting near to exposing an inconvenient truth he/she runs the risk of being targeted.

The true danger is that these characters might actually have lists of the real names of anonymous posters, obtained by whatever means, and thereby the wherewithal to do some real or implicit damage to all posters who take a particular line they do not like.

16. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@Objectivity please !!! | August 26, 2013 at 12:43 PM |
    “common sense. You place too much importance on the Minister. Barbados is run by Cabinet Government , NOT ministerial government . A minister is just a mouthpiece of the Cabinet and the policy is implemented by Public Servants . Once you consider this you would be better able to place blame where it properly belongs”

Could you please, Mr. or Ms Objectivity aka ‘Also Comical Sense”, explain to us idiots on BU the difference between CABINET GOVERNMENT and MINISTERIAL GOVERNMENT?

But we do accept your point that “a minister is just a mouthpiece of the Cabinet and the policy is implemented by Public Servants”. So a minister called Mr. Machine acting as the mouthpiece of an amorphous faceless Cabinet overrides Department Heads, bypasses accountants and payroll officers and like a true Trojan corrupt the records of certain temporary workers.

Barbados is experiencing its own patented version of the Pinocchio Lie Machine. However, instead of the nose of the Chief of the Liars extending vertically like in the real Pinocchio story we are witnessing a horizontal (broadening) expansion at geometric progression. Let them continue with their lies and cover-ups and we might see the sinking of the black Bajan version of the Bismarck in the sea of lies called Fumble Face.

That is why you should not tell lies on a “Cuntputer”(to borrow a reference to PODRYR’s patented machine). BTW, a ‘cuntputer’ is a device that allows c**ts like you and common class sense to write pure lies on BU.

PS: The miller is the husband of Pat Parris aka Prodigal Son.

17. @checkit-out

Don’t think you are correct.

18. Eric Fly revealed that in 1993/4 at a public meeting in Quakers Rd near the wall of Govt House,that the then Gov Gen was a bow legged so and so and proceeded to buse her in the worst way.Then he went on to say that with all the marches in Buhbaydus by the unions when news got to Sandy in Zimbabwe at a Commonwealth Heads meeting,he had the ‘trots’, crapping himself so badly that the hotel ran out of toilet paper.Later it was revealed that Sandy had gastro and was sick for troof.Another time Eric had a sunday night meeting by Rediffusion in the 90’s and said boldly 5 times that a certain man calling him by name that his wife ‘dead from aids’.That man recently joined his madam at wess berry and people seh he did a nighted man.Eric like he had sources,and he sources look like they did fairly deadly like Malinga toe hitters.

19. I keep saying this crop of politicians in Bim are dumber than rocks, most everyone is computer savvy, telling lies on a computer won’t cut it, everyone knows the politicians are lying to protect votes totally uncaring about the havoc and chaos their lies will create, i don’t think anyone is surprised that PM Stuart would look in people’s face and lie while insulting their intelligence, it’s a disgrace.

20. always shot the messenger. that is the rule in these barbados parts. sad really.

i would like to know if Donville is not putting pressure on his govt? his comments in today paper are very out of place. that was not the place or the person to make that statement.

we are in some sad times.

21. What people like the minister Inniss needs to tell the taxpayers is how/where he got the money to acquire so many properties on the island given his age and why should he not pay the maximum taxes on them. All of this is more than embarrassing, but apparently this crop of politicians have no shame and are waiting to retaliate against whomever expose their dirt, bajans need to stop putting up with the ignorance and let the politicians know that taxpayers are boss and will always be, stop enabling their nasty moves, those moves are aimed at the same voters they need to continue pretending they have power.

22. This government is simply throwing rocks in the air with the hope they land on something good. They are all a waste of time. I would gladly accept the imposition of a “leave office tax” if they would just leave Office and let people who know what they are doing run the country.

Imagine in times of economic troubles, foolish Bajans chose a lawyer over an economist. Literacy isnt common sense!

What next? Maybe the entire Budget was wrong!

23. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Please stay focus: we are dealing with politicians who cheat to win an election. I have provided absolute proof that Sinckler is guilty of illegal practices in order to win his seat. He is not the only one but I am not calling for new elections just yet. The first step must be a truly independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission.

This country is in a sorry state: it is absolutely corrupt with politicians being in control of everything, even the agencies that are intended to regulate their conduct. It really bothers me when I hear them refer to each other as honourable members. What is honourable about institutional lying and stealing.

Deeds

Scan the documents and send them to David: he might just need the Form 5 for each of them. Give me a call if you need any help.

24. @Caswell

What recourse is there to challenge the Electoral and Boundaries Commission?

25. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Only the opposing candidate or a voter in the particular constituency could have challenge the election. I live in St. Thomas so I would only be entitled to challenge that election.

26. LOL @ Caswell
    …well it look like de dog dead then…

– the opposing candidate probably broke the law as well so you done know they can’t complain to the commission….

– the voters seem to have accepted bribes for their votes, so um look like only BU bloggers are left to complain

– of the BU bloggers ’bout here, only Caswell and Adrian choose to use their own names, so wunna could forget the test o’ we….

– Adrian can’t complain – otherwise he can kiss his VAT return goodbye…(and dem white fellows like dem money real bad…)

– Caswell boy…um like like um is only you pon the burning deck yuh….

27. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

The Supervisor of Elections can also bring an action but she has already signed off on the bogus returns. The return was so obviously false that the Supervisor could only have missed the errors if she intended to.

28. Cuthbert of England Avatar
    Cuthbert of England

Caswell

Why don’t you head to the Courts? In fact, if you don’t head to Court with this bullet proof evidence then we’ll know you are just another clown in the circus.

29. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Cuthbert

The law only allows me to bring a case in respect of the constituency where I was entitled to cast my vote. Only someone from Sinckler’s constituency or the opposing candidate could bring this matter before the courts. The lawyers would say that I have no locus standi in the matter.