Submitted by Nomen Nescio
Harold Hoyte, Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Nation announced the return of Roy Morris

Roy Morris is back and his gun turns up.

On August 20 at 9.50 a.m. staff at the Nation Newspaper were informed via intercom that there would be a general staff meeting at 10 a.m. that same morning. Imagine ten minutes notice of a general staff meeting. Why not inform staff the day before? Anyway at 10 a.m. Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Nation, Harold Hoyte, informed staff that former Associate Managing Editor Roy Morris will be returning to the Nation as Editor-in-Chief from September 16. Harold really knows how to do things. Now the very people that this would affect, the editors, sub-editors and reporters, were not present at the meeting when Harold made his announcement, because of the short ten minutes notice of the meeting and also because most newsroom staff don’t arrive early since they work late into the evening.

Anyway Harold proceeded to tell the staff present that there are some who will not support the return of Roy (nuh wonder he hide and announce it to non-newsroom staff), but it was the decision of Board of Directors and he stood by the decision. Basically he was doing like former Prime Minister Erskine Sandiford did in the 1990s – saying like it or lump it. Hoye told staff that following advertisement of the position, Morris applied and after an interview process was chosen as the man for the job. Well if wunnuh think that Roy would just ups and apply for this job because he saw an advertisement in the Nation, wunnuh need wunnuh heads examining. Adults should leave lying to children. Roy had already told the staff of Barbados Today that Harold had called him and made the offer. Anyway Harold knows how to fool the staff at the Nation. He is notorious for crying, back in the days when he was Editor-in-Chief, when the Nation had to lay off staff. And wunnuh know they had some foolish bitches that would cry with Harold, including some uh those going home. But that for another occasion.

Nomen Nescio has learned that this return of Morris is not as transparent as Harold would like people to believe. This ent only about advertising and circulation numbers. It seems as though those Barbados Labour Party investors in the Nation think it is time to turn up the heat on the ruling DLP and they think Morris is the man for the job. I know I’m going to disappoint some of you, like Plantation Deeds, who think Roy is this fearless journalist and that he does let the chips fall where they will. But let me tell you all something when Roy was at the Nation no reporter could have written anything negative about Simpson Motors. Cause when Debbie call down there it is either suspension or go home. So yes the Bees on the Board think it is time for Hardball. Let me inform wunnuh that the last two general elections Roy worked for the BLP’s publicity campaign. In the February 2013 election he was the one who designed and managed the BLP’s blog. Well after Harold did his little song and dance, oh yea he’s good at it.

Publisher Vivian-Anne Gittens, in her no nonsense manner, told the staff that there were some conditions surrounding Roy’s return and that there will be zero tolerance. She also told staff that if they have any complaints when Roy is back, feel free to approach her. I guess she meant that if Roy makes any passes at any of the women feel free to report it. Mrs. Gittens I take my hat off to you. I would like to meet you and give you a kiss. You are the only one willing to stand up and be counted. That hypocrite Harold Hoyte couldn’t care less if Roy pull off one of the female’s panties in the newsroom in full view of all, once the paper mekking money. I forgive Haorld cause I guess when you ent too adept at something you does give others who skilled at it a big slap on the back. Yuh know Errol Barrow say Bajans got short memories. For those who are puzzled don’t forget Roy, who is known in Fontabelle as ‘Doggie’ Morris, because of his insatiable appetite for   young slim ladies, especially interns.

He was on August 14, 2007 arrested and charged with rape of a teenage girl who was an intern at the Nation. Remember the girl reported that Roy had pulled his licence firearm (I nearly said weapon but I don’t think he got nuh licence for that weapon) and put it on the dashboard, we guess in an effort to intimidate her into giving in to him. Afterwards many people were wondering if the police had taken away the firearm from Roy since it was alleged to have been used in the commission of a crime. Well life has many ironies. The firearm has finally appeared. At the same time that Harold Hoyte was sneakily telling a handful of Nation staffers that Roy was returning in September, Morris son Rafiq was appearing in court on gun, ammunition and assault charges. He was later remanded to Dodds. I know a lot of you does don’t believe Nomen Nescio so wunnuh could read it on page 22A of the Nation dated August 21, 2013, headlined Teen face gun charge.

Well as the story goes young Rafiq had some issues with one of his friends checking his girlfriend so he went into Roy’s bedroom and took up Roy’s firearm and went off and confronted his friend. I leave the rest for the court. But all along we were wondering if the police had taken away Roy’s gun, well we know now compliments of Rafiq the firearm was still in Roy’s possession. Ain’t life funny. Wuh even when a police officer is suspended he or she has to hand in their service firearm. And here is a guy who has been accused of using a gun in a crime he was charged with and the police ent tek way the gun from him. That is when yuh got big-up friends in the police force. Now tell me who would have been at fault if Rafiq had shot his friend and killed him. Yes Roy for not safeguarding the gun, but also the police for letting him keep it after it was allegedly use in the commission of a crime. Don’t forget the rape case ent done yet since it was adjourned sine die – which means without a date.

If it is one thing I always admired Roy for was his zero tolerance attitude when it came to certain things like the ZRs and the shite they does do. He really went too far with his zero tolerance when he put those two school teenagers necking and making out in Queen’s Park. I would prefer any day my 17 year old son to be necking he little teenage girlfriend in the park than he looking to shoot he friend. Still I encourage the blogs to pray for Roy. He like he need a good old Bajan bush bath. Boy trouble don’t set up like rain yuh.

Related Links

84 responses to “Roy Morris (and his gun) is Back”

1. David wrote “This is a posterity moment……..”

I saw that as a crass attempt to induce people to subscribe to the Nation “e paper”.

I don’t believe the “equipment failure” b e.

2. Marshall is a Runt -that is why
    Wha yuh tink ?

JUST ASKING

3. It appears that Harold Hoyte is cut from the same cloth as Roy i.e. a penchant for younger females. I read in the the nation a few months ago how Hoyte met his present wife (wife number 3) who was an employee a junior one at that, at the Nation where he was chief cook and bottle washer.

She recalled that he approached her telling her he like her and wanted to take her out and she ignored him. Then at a Christmas party he hid her shoes and the only way to get them back was to go out with him. Tell me if that doesn’t reek of sexual harassment in the workplace? I suppose if she had told him no and got annoyed she would have had to look for another job. She fell for the entrapment. What if it had turned out differently?

The problem is that these men in power don’t think that what they are doing is wrong, morally or ethically wrong. Yet no one would ever accuse Harold Hoyte of being a sexual predator because of the position he holds. No one not even he would believe that dating an employee should be frowned on and should be prohibited. Women have been brainwashed to believe that they can’t say no to men with power and position. Sad very sad!

4. Piece

Ha Ha … You know I is always hang onto your every word … HA HA HA

TmW
    Robert Best is the man… Thnx … Remember his face like it was yesterday, but I fear he may have passed so I am NOT allowed to use the word JackAss

Island
    The truth is women are drawn to power … Young un’s are enticed with the security that it promises… I certainly can’t fault them, no more than I can fault the older guys who could still take full advantage of a young female’s company… When you die there is no heaven with virgins awaiting. That is a tale dat dey is tell soldiers … and Hoyte sure as hell ain’ gon’ be puttin’ he life pun de line fah a fella. Look at Bizzy, accepting a bet to could bed a particular young chick, and now he getting put ta pasture …!

5. She recalled that he approached her telling her he like her and wanted to take her out and she ignored him. Then at a Christmas party he hid her shoes and the only way to get them back was to go out with him. Tell me if that doesn’t reek of sexual harassment in the workplace?
    —————————————–
    IS THIS A FACT ?

IF IT IS TRUE – IT IS SEXUAL HARASSMENT
    -HOYTE CAN BE SUED BY OTHERS WHO MAY HAVE SUFFERED… AND THERE MUST BE OTHERS. THIS IS SUPPORTING EVIDENCE.
    THIS WOMAN AINT KNOW WHAT SHE HAS DONE

TELL THE ONES AFFECTED TO CONTACT ME
    LETS GET SOME OF HOYTE’S MILLIONS

6. @Dear islandgal246:

Both Harold and Roy are scared of some of those Nation women.

Neither of those two men dares to ax some of those Nation women a question.

Ya tink some dem women is mek sport?

The only women they can ask a question of is foolish young girls.

Because a lot of the Nation women are better educated that either Harold or Roy, and can find work anywhere in the world where English is spoken (sorry written). Yes, yes, spoken and written.

And David that is another reason why Bajan parents believe in education.

Education is a great liberator.

It permits you to say to the boss puck you, and to find work the next day.

7. @ Dr. GP

Thanks for the information re that book by Hyman. Read some reviews on line and went to the library to borrow it. Just this minute got back. They are all out on loan. I put a hold on it. The librarian told me I am ninth on the list. Not to worry she says, it will move fast, we have 16 copies! must be some good reading.

Thanks again.

8. @ BAFBFP

Look, like yuh tekking over from Well, Well. Da is bare gossip man. You be a woman or wuh?

9. There must certainly be a reason why he has married three times, Harold Hoyte, but look at the Owen Arthur/Julie Price situation, same thing – Sexual harassment. Julie Price accepted it because it benefited her. Janet Burney, an ex-employee (Chrysler) accepted it (sexual harassement) too. http://www.autoblog.com/2011/02/17/report-chrysler-worker-files-sexual-harassment-lawsuit-against/. When she (Janet) no longer accepted it, it caused problems that forced her to seek legal assistance. She filed a lawsuit against Chrysler and prevailed.

Some things just some how fade away as did the Roy Morris rape charges and the Clarence Thomas sexual harassment charges prompted by Law Professor, Anita Hill. Roy Morris is returning to the Nation News (Barbados) and Clarence Thomas is still a United States Supreme Court justice.

10. Pat

I got me … I is a woman … But wah gossip you talkin’ ’bout …? Seriously

11. The photo on the BU banner is scaring me.

12. What is happening in Barbados? BU understands Donovan from the National Sports Council has been arrested for stalking a police officer and he made some of his calls from the phones at the National Sports Council. it seems he and Rafiq are sharing quarters.

13. Stalking ?

14. David asks “What is happening in Barbados?”

The same Shiite that used to get cover up before the public could find out.

15. @ Hants

You does kill me doah.

Quick repartees that immediately shed light on the fact that these strange behaviours that some are trying to attribute to the domain of the dimwitted DLP abounded in the BLP camp.

When Mark Williams beat he pretty outside woman in Deacons no body ent hear bout it.

He beat her to such a pulp that the Sargeant who was called to the scene had to be constrained when he saw the lass’s face.

No one heard about it because the BLP wiretapper was AG (or what i call the ABLOT Ali Baba Lot of Tieves from Roebuck Street) and the police report get quash by Dottin.

What bout de Police Officer who went visiting Ms. Weir place pull he gun when de resident in Cave Hill tell he he car blocking de resident driveway, chuck in a shot in de gun and blow off two uh he fingers??

Dottinned clamp down pun dat story till de Jada man kill he son and den a never dun investigation was commenced AND ENDED.

De Law of de Medes and de Persians dat Baffy does talk bout

16. @BAFBFP

I meant the noise bout Bizzy and the young chick and being put out to pasture.

I thought only Well Well knew everybody’s business. But it seems that you and POTRYR are right up dey wid she.

When I want a good laugh, I does turn on me cuntputer and read PIECE, YOU and WELL WELL.

17. Pat

You u don’ liv ’bout hey … Yah only gotta get out and open yah eyes… Dey really ain’ got many secrets ’bout hey, and the birdies that bring messages ain’ all dah small nider … but you’re right of course. It is indeed gossip, and I apologize for the offense ..!

18. how any can anybody welcome back that known well say “PERVERT roy morris and a man known to exhibit anti social behaviour indicitive of sexual harassment towards woman in and out of the work place! is unbelivable. THe management and those who made such a colossal error of judgement should hold their heads in shame. this goes against the grain of moral and social fabric and responsibilty of any reputable organisation who by law should catorgorize such behaviour as unetheical and illegal and take such matters seriously .,Apparantly the Nation would prefer that ROY behaviour be dismissed on the grounds that FINANCIAL goals and achievements are a preferance while obviously dismissing the fact that the cries of respect and decency of woman in the work place should not be ignored..

19. On page 21A of today’s Nation there s a full page ad blasting the benefits of subscribing to eNation (electronic version).

20. Yes David. But we haven’t subscribed yet.

Because we have already discovered a work around

21. look- you seem to be a fan of former president Clinton otherwise how could you forget to mention one of the most renowned sexual predators of all those mentioned and did he not end up as one of the most popular presidents of the usa having been endorsed time and time again by the womens lobby

22. balance Yes clinton was wrong both ethically morally and also an adulterer , however the two cases are not the same, Roy was charge with rape. the most Clinton was charged with was having an illict affair,

23. @Simple Simon
    Because a lot of the Nation women are better educated that either Harold or Roy, and can find work anywhere in the world where English is spoken (sorry written). Yes, yes, spoken and written.
    Do you really believe some of the shite that you write? There are educated men and women all over the English speaking world who can’t find jobs yet some Bajan women can just waltz in any number of countries and find jobs.

Moving on, power is the ultimate aphrodisiac but some of these of these middle age men think that they ooze so much sex appeal that when they approach young women they throw their knickers at them similar to what they used to do at the Tom Jones concerts.

24. The problem with Barbados is the news has become old and stale, hopefully the new editor will have the wherewithal to attract new interest by bumping up the stories for example

Large white woman fights off attacker at the garrison savannah police are searching for a near sighted man carrying a saddle.

Ancient bones discovered at Bathsheba park, the women from the commission claim we cleaned that washroom yesterday

Three thought extinct lichens have been found in Barbados, one in st Thomas one in st George and one on a union leaders back.

Six women in Bridgetown claim to have had sex with an alien, 3 describe it as having a green body with white genitals 2 say it had a white body with green genitals the 6th said it was purple with bumps all over its body. Authorities are on the lookout for a person with bad acne that works at a paint store.

Use a little embellishment to get interest

25. Mad panic at the Bridgetown port,a stampede erupted when a pregnant woman pointed down the wharf at one of the ships

Shortage of hoes at the agricultural dept. govt spokesman says if we legalize it there will be no shortage.

Residents of St George are distraught, after a committee watched many kadooment day videos they have been told the gun hill lion isn’t the biggest pussy on the island

It isn’t hard to make news interesting

26. Today’s Nation August 26th editorial put some warm lashes in Maxine McClean and her under performance along with some of their DLP touts at overseas postings.Maxine is listening to too many call in programmes and not attending to matters of state which seem to be beyond her capability.As is the position with almost all the cabinet led by the WORST PRIME MINISTER OF BARBADOS IN THE SHORT HISTORY OF INDEPENDENT BARBADOS.

27. how any can anybody welcome back that known well say “PERVERT roy morris and a man known to exhibit anti social behaviour indicitive of sexual harassment towards woman in and out of the work place! is unbelievable

AC- based on the revelations arising out of Mr Starr’s investigations, your comment above seems to fit Mr Clinton. you seem to be a fan too encapsulated by you supposedly pro-women defenders by Mr Clinton’s obvious charm and charisma.
    By the way, none of the persons mentioned in LOOK’S post HAROLD HOYE, CLARENCE THOMAS, OWEN ARTHUR were ever charged with rape to the best of my knowledge.

28. @ Gabriel Tackle

Maxine McClean is neck and neck with Richard Sealy for the worst “minister” in the Barbados Cabinet in History.

The two of them are clawing it out like a Bolt and Asafa Powell, it is saddening.

Then we have Adriel “Slit Eyes” Brathwaite, singularly the most incompetent Attorney General that has ever sullied the office since independence.

You have to feel for PM Fumble though, surrounded as he is by

(1) a global economy that is lurching
    (2) a local economy in shambles
    (3) a Minister of Economic Affairs whose budget speech is (badly) written by an “accountant” Darcy Boyce
    (4) an assembly of cabinet ministers who seem to have been haplessly pulled out of a(n) (un)lucky dip
    (5) an inability to reshuffle any minister, particularly the recalcitrant Sealy and/or Sinckler because either of these puerile characters will, do to the attendant shame of being retrenched, will bring down the DLP administration
    and, my personal favourite
    (6) the coup faction that waits until the US Command leaves the region

The canopy that is to be built at Llaro should in actual fact be a bunker to protect him from the fusillade of economic woes, incompetent ministerial colleagues, entrenched BLP espionage agents and the usual assembly of piranha and stragglers who surround the Party in Power or PI(M)P

God Save our Gracious Queen…send her victorious, happy and glorious, long to reign over us….. (the tune echoes in my mind these 80 something years)

29. @Nomen Nescio

Please update the BU family on the reception Roy gets especially from the women at the Nation.

30. Aequitas Et Veritas Avatar
    Aequitas Et Veritas

What irony, it is alleged Kaymar Jordan will head Barbados Today? So she & Roy swapped companies? ROFLMBAO – plus she’ll be arriving into a lawsuit, and I wonder how she & Wade Gibbons will pan out? Considering she gave him his walking papers at Fontabelle?

31. Were we not told by some on BU that this was about money as in merger?

32. Aequitas Et Veritas Avatar
    Aequitas Et Veritas

That was the original intent, but that concept seems in limbo now…

33. Barbados Today was Roy’s own creation, dreamt up in his dorm at university in the US. Does Roy still have a stake in the company, or was it taken off him?

Leave a Reply to balanceCancel reply