Adrian Loveridge - Owner of Peach & Quiet Hotel
Adrian Loveridge – Owner of Peach & Quiet Hotel

Once leaving August behind, we enter what is traditionally the most challenging period in tourism terms. Historically, the month that experiences the least number of arrivals of the year is September. September 2012 recorded just 27,230 long stay visitor arrivals, the lowest number in any month for the past ten years. A decline of 6.6 per cent over the same period in 2011. Given our already dramatically reduced airlift, with an average of just 907 passengers per day, it will result in flying hundreds of empty airline seats daily, or in fact thousands, by month end. Once the plane has taken off, clearly these seats cannot be sold twice the next day.

From an accommodation perspective, even if all these 27,230 persons stayed in a licensed hotel and the average stay was 7 nights with two per room, that still only fills less than 2,000 rooms against a total that is often quoted of between 5,000 and 6,000. This of course, does not take into account all the apartments, villas. condominiums and any unregistered accommodation providers. It also helps explain why several hotels and restaurants decide to close during September for annual holidays, refurbishment or simply to curtail operational costs. September, perhaps would have been the most logical month to roll-out the proposed APD Voucher but this could have only possibly influenced one main market, the United Kingdom.

As I have to submit this column a few days before publication perhaps details of the voucher conditions will be announced in the interim. So should the industry simply lay down and accept the current trend of falling visitor numbers? Under the current fiscal challenges we cannot afford to, it becomes an imperative to look for other creative ways to achieve a positive difference.

From 7September until 14November, American Airlines through their loyalty programme, AAdvantage has reduced the mileage requirement to 25,000 miles from any point they currently serve in the Continental United States and Canada to/from Barbados. With over 66 million members, it’s a huge untapped market for us. When American merges with US Airways ten of millions more people will have the means to reach us, from many more connecting cities.

Now look at it from a potential visitors perspective. If I wanted to fly from Los Angeles to Barbados, the lowest bookable return fare online is US$1017 for travel in September. Using miles, it’s only US$59.70. This breaks down the huge geographical airfare cost differential and opens up what are considered far-flung price deterrent source markets. How do we reach this massive group of travel ready people? The simple answer is to smart partner with the airline and use their existing channels of communicating with frequent flyer customers, electronically. The destination could also purchase additional miles to further lower the travel threshold and make it almost irresistible.

Already some private sector partners are offering triple miles over this period to maximise opportunities for every part of the sector. Timing is critical, and in this industry there is no longer the luxury for procrastination in decision making. Not that there ever was but we seem to have grown accustomed to apathy and a lack of lucidity. Let us collectively make it the best performing September in eleven years, rather than set yet another record of failure.

195 responses to “Boosting September Tourist Arrivals”

1. Georgie

When they start sending drones in to target White peoples houses and farms and attempt surgical strikes on Catholic Churches as havens for Christian radicals, and they start deporting White males under a rendition campaign or putting bounties on the heads of Christian politicians, then you and only then should you have need to worry, but until then, understand that these ppl have got some catching up to do … wha you t’ink ..?

2. baffy

these people does breed like rats yuh
    yuh will have to take dem out with drones fuh trute………or “queen bees” murdah

3. Look David i can easily understand the eupohoria and praise heaped oon barbados by sister islands and using barbados as a model to which to look to improve their tourist industry.However the shift is when our own operates with a deceit and vindictiveness out of self interest which sends the wrong message. U know david a govt needs the suport of all . CRITICISM IS GOOD AND SHOULD be given. but when a potion of decit is added then we are heading in the wrong direction.

4. Georgie

“Breed like rats …” Ha. The British has never had too much of a problem dealing with Irishmen and the rest, and they are Catholics. … and they even killed the Queen bee (Mary) … I’ll bet you that if the Muslim women would start dressing like the rest of the women in England, no one would give a shit, I certainly wouldn’t. But this pajama thing …Ugh!

5. This blog would make yuh vomit sometimes.People do post some rubbish. wtf is ‘pirate’ talking about? Too much unsubstantiated pup. And then Carson bout building up the West Coast. The west coast was always built up and it is far less a concrete jungle than the south coast. The west coast was REdeveloped i.e. buildings demolished and new buildings erected in most cases. What your government should do is BUILD Four Seasons dah is the west coast too!!

6. check that link and see if it is pup.above.

7. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Soursop
    pill and drug mega billionaires companies would like you not to use soursop
    leaf tea.i saw it originally on msn news as proven cure.then it quickly disappeared.
    in any case too many hotels.
    reason= buy hotel !! get to live in barbados and bring in all your family and friends[whites] so they can feel superior and the weather sure beats stinking England.
    also billionaires or millionaires buy their way in to barbados also/driving all prices uppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppp! comprehend?
    how about another source of electric or liquid power.
    fuck off gasoline and all oil products for ever.
    i see a man driving a hummer in tiny barbados.
    what is that 8 miles per gallon?
    Obama must have shares in the oil companies as at his famous speech with opera crying he promised to fine renewable sources of fuel.
    i see nothing happening and people just settling in with the price of fuel…..
    until the next big shortage.
    and did i not hear him say the troops would be back in a year.
    it has been six years and nothing has changed.

just us stupid, quick to forget working fucks paying for the politicians
    parties and what the fuck ever they use our tax money for.
    are we picking up now???????enuff
    pave paradise put up a parking lot.you want it you got it.

8. Looks like St.Lucia intends to keep pace with Barbados:

Saint Lucia and Taiwan Exploring a Multi Billion Dollar Yachting Partnership Tue, 2013-08-20 16:48 — shannon.lebourne

Tuesday, August 20, 2013 – The opportunity for a billion dollar yachting sector partnership is being explored by the Governments of Saint Lucia and the Republic of China (Taiwan).

During the recent state visit here by Taiwanese President Ma Ying-jeou, Saint Lucia`s Minister for Tourism Honourable Lorne Theophilus encouraged the Taiwanese to use Saint Lucia as a hub to market yachts built in Taiwan – the world`s fourth largest producer of mega yachts.

In his speech at a breakfast meeting hosted by the Taiwanese President to discuss tourism related issues, Minister Theophilus disclosed that the Government of Saint Lucia will offer incentives for the registration and berthing of yachts manufactured in Taiwan.

“As part of our tourism product, Saint Lucia is quickly becoming prominent as a haven for mega yachts and yacht related activities as we host a minimum of four internationally recognised yachting events and are poised to increase this number to include a Mega Yacht Regatta in 2014. Taiwan is world renowned as a yacht building nation amongst other things and we believe that while we can learn from you in terms of your yacht building and maintenance techniques which are vital for the provision of the ancillary services related to the ever growing yachting sector that Taiwan can also benefit from our increased presence in the world market as a yacht haven and use Saint Lucia as a hub to market yachts built in Taiwan. We propose further that we can offer an incentive registration and berthing of yachts purchased from Taiwan amongst a variety of other initiatives which include joint marketing that will result in fiscal benefits for both of us.”

In preparation to maximise the potential benefits from the billion dollar yachting sector partnership, the Government of Saint Lucia has moved to legislate the set up of a Yachting Registration Desk.

Steps are also afoot for the establishment of Maritime training programmes at the Sir Arthur Lewis Community College.

For its part, the Taiwanese Government has favourably welcomed the proposed collaboration and pledged its support to ensure mutual benefit for both countries.

9. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I am confident that because of this anti American foolishness called ALBA, that the American Government will be pulling all of their Tourists from St. Lucia.

Serves them right. Then we will see who they are better than.

10. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

St Lucia subject to US ‘Leahy Law’ ban, PM confirms
    By Caribbean News Now contributor

CASTRIES, St Lucia — In a 17-minute address to the nation on Tuesday night, Prime Minister Dr Kenny Anthony confirmed that Saint Lucia is currently prohibited by the terms of what is commonly referred to as the “Leahy Law” from receiving security-related assistance from the US.

The so-called Leahy Law, named after its principal sponsor, Senator Patrick Leahy of Vermont, is a US human rights law that prohibits assistance to any unit of the security forces of a foreign country if the Secretary of State has credible information that such unit has committed a gross violation of human rights.

Saint Lucia thus joins Bolivia, Colombia, Guatemala, Mexico, Nigeria, Turkey, Indonesia, and Pakistan, whose security forces have been denied assistance by virtue of the Leahy La

The prime minister acknowledged that the suspension of US assistance to the Royal Saint Lucia Police Force (RSLPF) is “clearly not a happy situation.” He referred in particular to the recent incident at Hewanorra International Airport in St Lucia, when RSLPF commissioner, Vernon Francois, was not permitted to board a flight to participate in US organized and financed training programmes.

Anthony confirmed that this resulted from the US ban, contrary to the initial claim by Francois that it was a “ticketing issue”. The prime minister said, however, that he had received confirmation from the US ambassador to the Easter Caribbean that Francois’ US visa has not been revoked.

“Yesterday, I was also advised that the United States has gone one step further and suspended all assistance to the Royal Saint Lucia Police Force,” Anthony continued.

Anthony also confirmed that the prohibition under the Leahy Law is grounded in the killing of 12 individuals by security forces in Saint Lucia in 2010 and 2011, which he pointed out took place under the previous United Workers Party (UWP) administration.

These killings, he said, attracted the attention of the US, which in the State Department’s 2011 human rights report on St Lucia described the 12 fatal police shootings as potentially unlawful, with some reportedly committed by officers associated with an ad hoc task force within the police department.

There was only limited progress by the director of public prosecutions (DPP) in reviewing and other investigations of unlawful killings dating back to 2006, the report added.

The report also said that the government did not implement the existing anti-corruption law effectively, and officials sometimes engaged in corrupt practices with impunity.

Anthony went on to point out that the Leahy Law prohibition shall not apply if the US secretary of state determines and reports that the government of such country is taking effective steps to bring the responsible members of the security forces unit to justice.

The prime minister outlined the steps being taken by the government to satisfy the US that those responsible are brought to justice.

First, he said, action has been taken to expedite the legally required inquests into the deaths of the 12 individuals, which can sometimes be a lengthy process and one in which it would appear that the US has little confidence.

To date, six of the 12 inquests have been completed, all resulting in a verdict of death by lawful act. However, one has been remitted for a new inquest to be undertaken.

In addition, Saint Lucia has requested US assistance in conducting polygraph or “lie detector” tests in relation to 40 senior police officers, only one of which failed such test. Anthony said the officers were asked about their knowledge of the killings in question and were also questioned about possible involvement in drugs and corrupt practices and behaviour.

However, Anthony pointed out that such polygraph tests have no evidentiary value in a court of law and are therefore not a solution to the current problem.

The Saint Lucia government has also requested the CARICOM Implementation Agency for Crime and Security (IMPACS) to provide three senior investigators to assist in resolving the outstanding issues, along with changing the law to deal with any future incidents of this nature.

11. Then the tourists will see the Dominican Republic and Cuba as better for a much cheaper and more natural holiday destination.

12. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

ADRIAN

Just imagine that, you all sending Tourists to possibly their deaths in St. Lucia and you don’t care just as long as you damage the Barbados Government

“………if the Secretary of State has credible information that such unit has committed a gross violation of human rights.

Saint Lucia thus joins Bolivia, Colombia, Guatemala, Mexico, Nigeria, Turkey, Indonesia, and Pakistan, whose security forces have been denied assistance by virtue of the Leahy Law”

Shame on you all. You care nothing about Tourists.

“Gross violation of Human rights” in St. Lucia.

No such thing has ever taken place in BARBADOS, but somehow you all failed to mention that teeny little FACT!!!

The Taiwanese had better think twice before wasting their money on St. Lucia.

13. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

JULY 2013 – Lowest long stay visitor arrivals in this month for 11 years.

AUGUST 2012 – Two of the lowest visitor arrival number in this month for TEN years.
    SEPTEMBER 2012 – Lowest long stay visitor arrivals in this month for TEN years.
    OCTOBER 2012 – Lowest long stay visitor arrivals in this month for TEN years.

NOVEMBER 2012 – Lowest long stay visitor arrivals in this month for TEN years.

DECEMBER 2012 – Lowest long stay visitor arrivals in this month for TEN years.

So Carson, what is St. Lucia doing so much better than us?

14. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

That is because their “Royal” St. Lucian Police Force are involved in “money laundering, Drug trafficking, and extra judicial killings.

Unlike us here in BARBADOS.

15. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | August 21, 2013 at 10:36 AM |

Are you referring also to the time when the BLP formed the ruling administration?
    Or only recently since your bête noir was “dottined”?

You don’t have to answer that one Carrion. It would involve you telling the truth, using commonsense and admitting you are a damned lying pimp of a sycophant to a party prepared to crack heads and kill your own black brothers and sisters.

16. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Miller

As usual, you are making no sense at all.

Step away from the computer!

17. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Miller

Before I forge,t ADRIAN LOVERIDGE will soon invite to his place for your supper.

18. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | August 21, 2013 at 12:04 PM |

Let us repeat what we said to you:
    “You don’t have to answer that one Carrion. It would involve you telling the truth, using commonsense…”

Why did you respond? Instead of reading only Stowe’s Uncle Tom Cabin you should have read a bit of Mark Twain and heeded his advice:
    “It is better to keep your mouth shut and appear stupid than to open it and remove all doubt.”
    As your mother Celestine’s mother would say: the higher my monkey grandson climbs on the BU tree of intellectual fruits the more he exposes his ignorant black ass.

Making reference to Adrian Loveridge as a political red herring would not suffice. Now you step away from the computer in your constituency council office and look you’re your mirror image and ask your self, Carrion, the same question:
    Were the local law enforcement agencies during Seethru’s despotic rule over Barbados involved in “money laundering, Drug trafficking, and extra judicial killings” as you claim took place in St. Lucia?

19. @ Cocky Locky Cadogan

So I take it that The killing of tha young man at Miss Ram ‘s store does not count as an extrajudicial killing because (1) of his nationality (2) he “exsanguinated” and his blood was not of regal stock, just a Nelson Street dweller, no relationship to Lord Nelson and (3) the number killed by the RBPF did not exceed the “instance threshold” of say 3 at one killing and it fell into the permitted ” one nigger t a time” Trayvon Martin quota which the mighty USA sanctions right?

20. Carson quoted deceased president Kennedy:

Carson C. Cadogan | August 21, 2013 at 10:03 AM |

“Ask not what your country can do for you but what you can do for your country”

Both DLP and BLP party members should take that quote seriously along with these additional words, ask not what you can get out of the taxpayers and country financially but what you can input to make life better for all.

Carson………see how easy it is to formulate your own words, these are my words you have my permission to use them, now pass that on to the ministers as well as the opposition whose salary the taxpayers have to pay on a monthly basis, you may also want to apply them in your daily life seeing that you also benefit from the taxpayer’s purse.

21. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Miller

not as I claim, but as the American Government stated!!!!!

22. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I await the American Government’s travel ban on St. Lucia.

23. Carson…………don’t hold your breathe, the same US officials rah rahing about St. Lucia are the same ones getting on a plane as often as they can and going down there to enjoy the island, there is a method to the madness, you still have a way to go to catch up and understand.

24. Well Well you would do well to STFU and stay out of business you know nothing about.

25. Hector……………..it may be a blessing for you that you are clueless to the real realities of the present environment, you will not be able to handle these realities seeing a simple economic situation was allowed to descend into utter chaos on the island when everyone and their mother knew what was ahead and was more than capable of preparing for such eventualities, they say ignorance is bliss, in your case it will last many, many years. Most people no longer have patience for idiots, i certainly don’t suffer fools for very long.

26. Caribbean Lover Avatar

“I await the American Government’s travel ban on St. Lucia.”
    —————————————————————————-
    Wow! Why do you harbour such ill-will towards St.Lucia?
    And what has St.Lucia done to you? Do you really believe that Barbados will do better if St.Lucia disappear? You must be dreaming; for as long as the Pitons are there, tourists, especially Americans, will continue to visit St.Lucia.

27. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Caribbean Lover,
    please don’t believe for a single second that some of these irresponsible comments are at all typical of how those of us that live on Barbados are. I for one would like to see a lot more tourism co-operation with St. Lucia. It is clear that we can learn from each other and we have a golden opportunity of collectively opening-up new markets and niches. Brazil was a classic example of how we could have worked together. Panama could be the next one.
    Some, including myself, are deeply embarrassed that our Minister of Tourism has not made a public apology for the ridiculous things he recently stated.

28. @Adrian

If you read or watched the budget you will see that a large chunk of the 50 million allocated to tourism will be spent on promotion in the Caribbean islands included St. Lucia. Jackasses will always bray.

On 22 August 2013 10:54, Barbados Underground

29. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

I am afraid I am not to impressed with the touted BDS$100 loan for debt repayment and ‘marketing and promotion’. As I understand, the loan has not even been arranged yet, and it could take months to implement and apply the funds before ‘we’ see any positive results. We are days away from September, so there is precious time to make a difference now before the winter. And with the same policymakers in charge that have steered us into 16 consecutive months of long stay visitor decline, what hope is that that they will start to make the right decisions?
    Lastly, why would you plough millions of dollars into a market (Caribbean) that has a dysfunctional airline?

30. @Adrian

The bigger issue is the intent of government to attract regional travel.

31. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

you may recall, we tried VERY hard for eight consecutive years with the re-DISCOVER the Caribbean Show, attracting 22 Caribbean countries, over 400 delegates spending around B$1 million each year in foreign exchange.
    The BTA lifted any support and even refused to have a stand at the last show, citing the reason that they could not find two of their 130 staff to ‘man’ the stand for one and a half days. The re-DISCOVER the Caribbean initiative was entirely private sector funded, apart from a very small contribution for 3 years by the BTA. It did however, give the BTA at 40:1 return on investment (ROI). To put that in perspective, the BTA is spending $733 for each ‘additional’ visitor with the Barbados Island Inclusive promotion. If it generates the 15,000 additional long stay visitors (it hasn’t yet) that’s a ROI of 1:2.72

32. A good comment Adrian for those who have suggested you have done nothing.

33. What public apology .had not for that asinine poison pen article. nobody would have nothing to apologise for. the fall out from that article would revibrate for years to come causing a wedge between both islands anybody who should apologise is you adrien for the pain and hurt u caused between these two islands after so many years of good relations.. as usual u draw attenion to the negative asking for “apolgy have it ever dawned on u that such might have been dispatched by different means of correspondence

34. @ac

What article? Or do you mean the MoT’s statement that ask. Lucia is 25 years behind Barbados. Give it up, your obstinacy on this matter continue to expose your nuts.

35. I am not the one harping and calling for an apology .u guys like to stir up trouble and when conforted acts like Pontius pilate. However for adrien to be consistently redirecting peoples attention to the subject by interjecting and asking for a public apology shows the level of deceit and intent on doing harm to barbados. Furthermore he has no knoweldge whether there was a direct apology given by the minister of tourism and to keep repeating such ,absent such fact is rumormongering and misleading.

36. @ac

Continue to defend your party. It is what the party faithful do.

37. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

As long as you have the pitons……….

Count on them!!!!!

St. Lucia cant have its cake and eat it too.

St. Lucia has joined the Anti American ALBA grouping. This organization is bitterly opposed to the Government and people of the United states of America. On the other hand St. Lucia is promoting a Sales and Marketing pitch at the said same United States of America and its citizens. You St. Lucians must really think that Americans are dumb and stupid.

Talk about hypocrisy!!!

All of this has not escape the notice of the United States of America Government. And rightly so. St. Lucia has joined an organization which hates America and by extension it means that St. Lucia also hates America.

You wont have to wait too long for the American Government imposed travel ban on its citizens travelling to St. Lucia.

Now lets talk about the Pitons………….

38. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

this is an example of how much these BLP members and supporters love St. Lucians:-

39. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Here is another example:-

40. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

41. Defending what party i go by facts. unlike adrian who like to fabricate and mislead. as in the case of an apology being asked by him. Adrian has absolutely no Knoweldge or fact as to whether the minister did enage with anyone in the tourism industry of St.lucia to render or retract the comment.Therefore for Adrian bring this issue to the forefront and project it as truth is an art formed which adrian seem to have mastered Oblivious of facts and truth.

42. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

ac,
    once again, you are entirely wrong. The Prime Minister of St. Lucia contacted me personally (TWICE) to ascertain, if in fact our MOT had made the ridiculous statement carried in the Barbados Advocate. I have no doubt that he would have been back in touch, IF he or a senior member of the Cabinet had received an apology.
    But in our Minister’s words, ‘if we had to be perfectly honest’ or ‘that’s the reality’ doesn’t seem to apply here.

43. @ac

What facts what. Confirm this fact, when did you travel to St. Lucia as stated by you on this blog. Your credibility on this matter was shot a long time ago.

44. Here is another best practice from an “island 25 years” behind St.Lucia:

http://news.stluciastar.com/swimmers-medal-at-goodwill-games/

45. With all the long talk and badminded wishful thinking that something will happen to St. Lucia’s tourism, the tourists are still going there in droves, i spent the weekend there and saw nothing but tourists, so eat your badminded hearts out, i passed through Bim on Monday and the airport was definitely not packed with tourists, wonder why, it would do the badminded, badwishing yardfowls well to embrace the island of St Lucia regardless, it may help the healing on the way forward.

46. Caribbean Lover | August 22, 2013 at 6:45 AM |
    “I await the American Government’s travel ban on St. Lucia.”
    —————————————————————————-
    Wow! Why do you harbour such ill-will towards St.Lucia?
    And what has St.Lucia done to you? Do you really believe that Barbados will do better if St.Lucia disappear? You must be dreaming; for as long as the Pitons are there, tourists, especially Americans, will continue to visit St.Lucia.

I AM BEHIND YOU 100%
    THERE IS NO SITE IN THE CARIBBEAN THAT CAN COMPARE WITH THE PITONS, WHETHER YOU VIEW IT BY AIR LAND OR SEA

AND IT IS TRUE BARBADOS WILL NOT DO BETTER IF ST LUCIA DISAPPEARS

ST LUCIA IS NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR THE FAILURE OF BARBADOS’ TOURISM

47. GP…………..the couple days i spent were absolutely beautiful, it also has a lot to do with the mindset of St. Lucians, they create a fantastic ambiance for everyone to enjoy.

Leave a Reply to HantsCancel reply