What value should we place in the word of a Prime Minister. Should we dismiss Prime Minister Stuart’s promise as election campaign rhetoric? Should we dismiss the promise the late Prime Minister David Thompson made to CLICO policyholders? Are we finally willing to say to politicians, ENOUGH! Read Nation article PM’s Word

What value should we place in the word of a Prime Minister. Should we dismiss Prime Minister Stuart’s promise as election campaign rhetoric? Should we dismiss the promise the late Prime Minister David Thompson made to CLICO policyholders? Are we finally willing to say to politicians, ENOUGH!

Read Nation article PM’s Word

296 responses to “A Prime Minister's Word”

1. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

All the talk about protest is scaring the Government, and it seems that they fear a Barbados Spring uprising. That is the reason for all of this putrid talk starting with Ronald Jones’ cracking heads and shooting people speech. That is also why they have replaced Dottin as Commissioner of Police: they wanted someone more favourable to them in control of the police.

From now on I will think of the PM as Freundel “Bashar al- Assad” Stuart. It seems, coming from his mouthings, that he is prepared to kill to stay in power.

2. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

CASWELL FRANKLYN

Any Government worth its salt will do whatever is necessary to maintain proper order in the country.

No matter what it takes it will suppress Terrorism.

Egypt is a good example to note!!!!

3. Caswell:

We are still royalty. We flog, beat our children unmercifully, run to fire and from rain but we ain’ gine bash nuh heads, nuh heads bout hey. We rebuke the Minister and seek wisdom afterwards to understand what he meant.

His choice of words were not usual to our palate but in context, considering the whole matter we conclude that the compassionate and stately minister could not even spray a fly with too much water lest it got into trouble breathing.

Don’t call for worse. We are educated, law-abiding, competent workers and we will dialogue with our leaders and come up with alternatives and resolutions.

Didn’t you hear the Pres of BCCI say to give it time? He represents the gurus.

What measures or investors are you lining up to bring to Bim? Let us discuss alternatives, and probable investors in our economy and turn away from the violent messages to invoke startling our brothers. Let us help even though we don’t agree.

Let the change of government be by a democratic process that we agreed to from inception.

4. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

@ CCC

The DEMS are already suggesting that Cabinet will suppress dissenting and critical voices in Barbados. Already to critique is to be unpatriotic; to be legitimately offering a different or alternative view is seen to be inciting the masses. Barbadians need to read. We give up these things to our detriment. Thank God Sandiford did not bring out the police and BDF in the 1990s because we may never have lived long enough to see Barbados grow and employment creation become a standard thing. Will we allow the Stuarts and Jones and the Mara Thompson’s to so mislead us as to see the enemies in our homes and in our neighbourhoods? Is Barbados and a democratic Barbados not important?

5. When are you people going to stop trying to mislead the public?
    carson there we go again .we have to be fair. did you ask the mof this question when he told thenation in his budget wrapup that the committee had agreedto impose tuition fees on the students?

6. They keep saying they got free education from cave Hill but have no qualms about keeping down the ladder for others!

can’t you see that ac and ccc are pounding this emotional line of reasoning to good effect and it is not resonating entirely with the public who are seeing it as political posturing. the opposition needs to go back to the drawing board and do their homework and bring a more philosophical approach to this far-reaching issue.

7. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Carson

I don’t normally reply to your nonsense but you said:

“Any Government worth its salt will do whatever is necessary to maintain proper order in the country.”

I agree with that statement, however, in this case, there is no breakdown of law and order. It is only in the imagination of the Government. These feeble minded fools want so desperately to qualify for their undeserved pensions in 2016 that they would do anything to cling on to power. They have now gone so far as to suggest that this idiot opposition is plotting to bring them down by unlawful means.

Doesn’t Mr. Stuart realise that his imbecilic speeches can be pitched up outside go Barbados and could potentially scare off the very tourist that we want to attract to help us out of this economic crisis. If you have access to the PM tell him to put a sock in it. He goes to sleep for long intervals and when he gets up to pee, he talks a whole lot of crap before going back to bed.

8. CCC; To get a fuller grasp of the situation see the Starcom network yesterday’s news summary here
    http://vob929.ocmnet.net/vob/News/LocalNews.aspx
    I heard that, I think, yesterday.
    Both News outlets indicated that there was a supplementary that was passed yesterday. The 160 Million in the Starcom network story will have to be accessed through a supplementary unless it was passed in the earlier estimates.
    Seems like a draw. There was definitely a supplementary even though it was not for 160 million dollars, despite the talk last week of not entertaining any supplementaries and your high ranking informant, unlike an old doddering pensioner like me who mixed up the two stories, misled.

9. Good point Caswell. All are so intent on navel gazing and losing the plot in the process.

On 21 August 2013 10:29, Barbados Underground

10. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

checkit-out

Don’t hurt your head, the bottom line IS that as usual PRODIGAL SON tried to mislead AGAIN.

11. Objectivity please !!! Avatar
    Objectivity please !!!

Thanks for your reminder to “miller…” that as a Minister of the Crown Sen McClean is entitled to a certain level of respect . The same advice should be passed on to Caswell Franklyn who takes delight in calling persons who disagree with him , idiots . But tell me : what do you think of a man or woman who describes the speeches of the Prime Minister of Barbados as “imbecilic”? Do you think he could be a credible contributor to your blog ? And by the way did you hear one of the Barbados student representatives interviewed by Mrs Layne say that the payment of tuition fees will now effect especially those students WHO FAIL EXAMS AND HAVE TO DO RESITS ????? She allowed the statement to pass without comment or criticism . For the benefit of “Miller ….” let me say that a moniker like ‘Objectivity Please” is most appropriate for circumstances like the few mentioned above ..

12. Another thing Marsha allowed to pass was the student rubbishing government’s attempt to manage its loan maturities more efficiently by floating a bond. It merited a challenge for the benefit of the public.

13. Balance i agree with our last coment and some food for thought for the OPPOSITION. “stay far away from VOB and the Nation news cause both of them equally are guilty for the BLP LOST. the public is fed up with both of these news organizations partisians politics. Both these news outlets have given rise to the term” Emotional politics ” and the BLP is now foolishly taking it.s cue .as long as the BLP keeps hanging their hat on those two organizations to set standard they will continue to Lose.

14. Caswell……………….I believe in karma, come 2016 there very well may be no pensions for even the government ministers to get, they better not keep their hopes up too high and ease up on the misleading and double speak, they are still very clueless as to what is really happening…………karma

15. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

Prodigal Son | August 20, 2013 at 7:10 PM | @ that was funny ,so true

16. Can sumbody or sumbodies opray tell what is the BLP message for putting the country in what they say is “the right direction? punching holes in the DLP alternatives has weakened and the public have already tuned out. Well except for a few who are convince that radical crticism would end with a good results for the BLP.

17. Equal Rights & Justice Avatar
    Equal Rights & Justice

if bim want tourist ,why dont wunna hold hemp fest or de cannabis cup in barbados ,wunna aint see that de world changing, why wunna feel de ppl like Vinci and Lucia so bad ,watch strain hunters on YouTUBE

18. @ Casswell

The comment and sentiment “by any means necessary” is not and I repeat, not directed at the BLP.

We have our Coards and cowards in our midst who, knowing that the will not win at the ballot, seek the next logical means, the barrel of the gun

Enough said, I have been told to be quiet but all of the evidence is there Mr. Franklyn you only have to know who to ask about the rapid response teams, on and off, island

If I were 45 years younger, I too would wish to be PM, BUT NOT BY ANY MEANS NECESSARY

19. Piece……..be aware that all the power hungryism will come to naught very shortly, there are few people who are aware of the shift that has taken place, power has now become irrelevant, the want and lust for power will only lie with the unaware who will then be surgically cut off at the knees. The desire for power has been turned into an illusion.

20. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

This blog is beautiful. It ‘have’ all kinds on it expressing their opinions biased or not in a dynamic synergy of naivety , pomp, bravado and sometimes sound analysis. Loving it ! keep it up. Kudos to all concerned

21. millertheanunnaki Avatar

Objectivity please !!! | August 21, 2013 at 7:55 AM |

Listen up Objectivity please, every human being, repeat, human being, is deserving of a measure of respect. However, that person loses the right to automatic respect when he or she deliberately sets out to deceive, con or mislead the public.

Why would a minister expect to receive respect when he or she being fully aware of the f acts of a situation or problem deliberately seeks to fool those who know no better.?

We are putting it to you that the DLP administration is replete with liars and deceitful people. The facts stand on their own as the truth.

It would do your conscience a world of good if you would disabuse mind of the explicit double standards you want to parade here on BU.
    Daily you refuse to decry the many accusations from the likes of CCC, ac and Bushie leveled at past BLP Cabinet members especially the Rt. Hon O S Arthur of misappropriating hundreds of millions of dollars salted away in overseas bank account and real estate acquired by way of their various corrupt dealings while holding public office.
    Now if these accusations were true why aren’t you calling for this clean full of men of integrity administration to bring charges against these so-called crooks?

Until you demonstrate a ‘balanced’ level of real objectivity you will convince no one but your delusional self. Don’t you think the Rt. Hon Owen Arthur is deserving of similar respect as any other current minister of the crown? Or do you find it objectively acceptable to denigrate, vilify and assassinate the character of a man that served this country as PM for 14 years?
    Please do your moniker a favour and call to account the likes of CCC and ac with equal vigour of criticism and we would be prepared to grant the appropriate level of respect to your existing ministerial misfits.

22. Miller instead of reigning terror on DLP supporters why don.t u called your BLP camp and tell them to get their house in order. A way to start is to let the People know their solutions for this economic doldrums .it would go a long way in helping to restore their credibilty cause after there last reign there is absolutely nothing left of integrity from them to be desired. AS of now the lousy PR of calling PM stuart a LIAR is not working.tell them such behaviuor should be left to the BLP yardfowls .

23. DLP hardears
    dont listen
    they were told before
    spending too much
    made excuses// explain away
    Opposition not the Government
    DLP yardfowls cant have it both ways

24. what solutions”
    arrogant assholes
    should have consulted
    before budget
    if they wanted solutions
    want a solution -ac
    —-Fire the GOV’T

25. Objectivity please !!! Avatar
    Objectivity please !!!

@ Miller .
    you obviously have plenty time to reply in the manner above to every comment made on the blog ….I DO NOT. Your professed erudition should allow you to compare the contribution of an UNKNOWN , UNIDENTIFIED .blogger like CCC , AC , MILLER…et al with that of a PAID , IDENTIFIED talk show host on a radio programme like Mrs Layne who is well placed and makes a valiant effort at influencing public opinion . There is absolutely no need for me to engage in the kind of facetious verbiage of which there is a perfect example in your post to go any further to make the point . I SHALL NOT RESPOND FURTHER ….

26. By Jove this is about ten times on various blogs that I see the same character begging some bloggers,those with obvious intelligence,to give some solutions to the DLP on the proper and efficient running of a Government.Holy cow!I thought that particular blogger known for spouting miasmic abuse left right and centre appears so bereft of ideas like the DLP elite, had all the answers for taking the country out and forward to the promised land of visionary eminence and status in things worldly.But how can one expect dangerous,dimwitted and deluded menaces like Stuart,Sinckler,Boyce,Ince,Estwick,Jones and their cohorts in and outside Parliament to punch above their weight!Impossible,so let them all find thier own way.Wunna prep boys!We is upper 6.Wunna stan dung day and stop lookin for manna from heaven.Its only for the select!

27. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | August 21, 2013 at 4:08 PM |

May we kindly remind you that the BLP is NOT the government of the day.
    When the BLP forms the government we will be just as vociferous in our criticisms should they make decisions that are not in the interest of the people but and inimical to proper governance in keeping with a 21st Century democracy occupied by people who like to boast how educated they are and would even go to the ends of the earth in protecting their much revered sacred cow call free university education.

A University education ought to be the gold standard of aspiration for any third world country. An asset that should be valued but used as a blessing from above to help your fellow man to improve his lot and ease the burden that must be carried during the journey called life.

Unless you ac take stock of your moral inventory and stop blindly supporting an administration that finds it rather easy to lie and to be deceitful with no remorse of even admitting they had it wrong in promising the naïve people they would always be entitled to dream an impossible dream of a free university education at first degree level then you are no more than a hypocrite and a lying fake.

You could therefore be considered in the same light that your favourite Lord and Master Jesus described in the analogy of a rich person finding it more difficult to enter the kingdom of your God than a camel can pass through the eye of a needle therefore making it totally impossible for a liar of your quality to ever pass through the pearly gates by a man who knows liars like his own self.

28. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Objectivity please !!! | August 21, 2013 at 5:11 PM |
    “I SHALL NOT RESPOND FURTHER ….”

Thank you! We shall always be most graciously magnanimous in our treatment of those who raise a white flag.

But please, could you objectivley explain to someone else what you mean in your reference to Marshsa Hinds-Layne?
    We presume you would soon be attacking your own kith and kin in Nefertiti, sorry, Nefatari the great “daughter” not wife of “Ramesses” Caddle for being outspokenly rash for her constructive criticism of what she sees as anathema to her great father’s hallowed memory and selfless contribution to the DLP of yesteryear.

The real DLP of the people and not an instrument or vehicle for evil “educated” black men to get rich and in true iconoclastic style destroy a legacy which represented the epitome of what is meant to be a black beautiful educated proud Barbadian capable of travelling to the four corners of the Earth and quietly shout “I am Bajan fuy real!”.

PS: Since you have come to the stark realisation of whom or what you are up against, just say adieu and Good night , Sweetheart!

29. Objectivity Please

In response to your comment at 7:55 am.

You have me all wrong, I don’t call people that disagree with me “idiots” just because they disagree with me. I call people idiots who are idiots it is only coincidental that they disagree.

That said, I will move on to what I want to say.

This post is entitled, “A Prime Minister’s Word”. Have you all realised that this PM’s word cannot be trusted? He changes his position depending on who he thinks is listening.

30. It seems that a man’s word is no longer his bond
    That is why we must always respect the decision of Bree St John when the evil conniving richie haynes just to win the 86 election.

I am sure that we all remember the consequences of that decision from 91-94.

31. miller,

As soon as you hit Dems with truth and logic, they run. They run when they realise people can see through their bullshit. Ac and CCC are the exceptions, they will go down with the sinking ship.

I questioned an ambulance dispatcher today and asked why it took so long for an ambulance to just get down to the market for the lady who was brutally murdered yesterday. The person said………………we did not have an ambulance to send. only two government ambulances are working.

This is serious indictment on this DLP government who fool their low information supporters that they are the party of the poor man. Look how they are treating the poor man. The well off can get to FMH or Sandy Crest or Elcourt Clinic or pay for a private ambulance. The poor will die like this lady did waiting on an ambulance.

It will only get worse with this 35 million dollar cut. But in the meanwhile, the football tournament to honour the disgraced king goes on as well as constituency councils to keep a yardfowl like CCC with a paycheck every month!

32. My nose biting me … somebody call my name ’bout hey and I purposely don’ get involved in polical diatribe … Who ever it is, I beggin’ yah, lef me out ah dis one hear …

33. It will only get worse with this 35 million dollar cut. But in the meanwhile, the football tournament to honour the disgraced king goes on as well as constituency councils to keep a yardfowl like CCC with a paycheck every month!
    ——————————
    SOMETHING IS GOING TO HAPPEN IN THIS COUNTRY.

RONALD JONES TALK ABOUT CRACKING HEADS WAS NOT MADE IN ISOLATION.
    PEOPLE WILL REACT. THIS IS A DIFFERENT TIME. PEOPLE FEEL BETRAYED BY THIS GOVERNMENT. AS SURE AS THE SUN RISES IN THE EAST, SOMETHING IS GOING TO HAPPEN IN BARBADOS

34. I have been waiting for someone to make the connection because it is as plain to see as the nose on on Freundel’s face; the Opposition came out and rubbed shoulders with the vendors on Swan Street, and before you know it the Police are out there rubbing shoulders with them too. Coincidence? I think not but I am open to someone setting the record straight. From where I stand, it seems as though the Police are being used to enforce a partisan political agenda. Again, I must ask: Is this the real reason for the unceremonious removal of Dottin from the post of Commissioner? With all due respect, I am just asking. (apologies to Just Asking)

35. A spokesman indicated yesterday that the vendors association (BARVEN) and the Police agreed to have a meeting to discuss the matter BUT to their surprise there was the clamp down on wayside act ivies by the Police. Another case of a broken word? DO not expect in Barbados for the authority to issue a public statement to clarify the matter.

36. Caswell,

I will not say that it serves the vendors right, suffice to say that they overwhelmingly voted for this wicked, inept, incompetent government.

Elections have consequences. I distinctly remember Mr Alexander decrying the BLP and saying how things will now be better under the DLP.

Just a few weeks ago, the governor of the Central Bank told people that they will have to find things to go out there and sell. There are so many vendors in Bridgetown, I wonder how they make a living. One vendor said the government has not been giving licences so I guess a lot of them are without licences. Poor vendors!

All these actions of this government against the poor black man that the Dems fool them with the nonsense that the DLP is their champion, will sure hurt them. Crack heads and shoot some people if they don’t comply!

37. Caswell and Prodigal u guys not convincing intelligent bajans that the govt is taking advantage of the poor. are u the same people who says the image of bridgetown needs a makeover and in more ways than one the vendors peddling their wares on the sidewalk might be more of a hindrance than a help when it comes to a tourist destination like Barbados. i meaning there is a method to how things are done and properly executed as not to stand in any ones way whereas to impede or stiffle progress.

38. @ Caswell Franklyn..
    Imagine you drawing attention to a black man’s nose ! you are the pits .. and need to be exposed for what you are : an empty headed bag of nothing …The PM’S nose as you point out is easy to see ; the size of your brain has been fortunately concealed but we can still gauge how empty you are .

39. Strange logic on the Brasstacks show
    Some people behave as though
    politicians are Gods.
    we have some strange people in B’DOS.
    with strange logic
    Jonestown/Jim Jones-Syndrome

40. Caswell seems to be the lightening rod for you Dems. Poor soul, he upsets you Dems and rattles you, not so? Does he not have a right to say what he wants just as you have the right to say what you want about him? You Dems are so thin skinned but can dish out all kinds of nastiness against anyone who does not agree with this wicked, inept and incompetent government.

Instead of you attacking Caswell, you would do better to tell us the true status of the PM’s health. Is it true that he is having difficulty climbing the stairs of Illaro Court hence the $812,000 supplemental to build a canopy and install an elevator?

Grow up!

41. Sinckler has admitted that the real problems in our country are threefold and he is correct.Firstly,there is a huge distrust of the Administration leading to a lack of confidence by LOCAL and FOREIGN investors, it its ability to govern and take the country forward.It seems to him to explain the flight of capital at the rate of just over $3.2million per day.
    The second thing is that he has admitted that rampant and irresponsible expenditure resulting in huge budget deficits and unsustainable debt levels
    cannot continue.
    The third thing is that former Minister Hutson was asleep(one would have thought it was Boyce at Transport & Works who was always asleep watching TV all day)on the job and failed to facilitate the International Business Corporations’ investment portfolio by making it easier to do business in Barbados;the good folk of St James Central took care to remove him.
    Now that it is public knowledge,perhaps the mighty PM will take action as promised,not that we can take anything he says as gospel.Morning and evening
    talk don’t gell.
    So there you have it DLP.Address and resolve the lack of confidence shown by investors,rein in unproductive expenditure and expand and accomodate IBC’s.
    My advice is a fourth item.Spend some dollars on the Tourism product instead of a new sugar factory for 20k tonne of sugarcane

42. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Prodigal Son

I don’t worry about the abuse; that’s all they know how to do well. The truth hurts and that’s why I am a target.

Some of them went to UWI and did not pass a single course but they were passed because they and their lecturers were DEMS. That is also a major part of the problem facing the country: UWI Cave Hill betrayed this country and its reputation and now their idiot graduates can’t handle the job that they are qualified on paper only to do.

43. So……………i have been hearing for years of the abuse at UWI regarding issuance of degrees, everything is now tainted and corrupted with politics and the stench of political affiliations, what a shame.

44. @ Prodigal “I questioned an ambulance dispatcher today and asked why it took so long for an ambulance to just get down to the market for the lady who was brutally murdered yesterday. The person said………………we did not have an ambulance to send. only two government ambulances are working.”

Prodigal is this new? Didn’t Owen tell the operator at the Ambulance Service as PM that he only wanted one when she advised the caller that there were only two working?

45. @ those concerned about ambulances

Buy shite ambulances, buses and Suzuki motors piss poor Subarus as police cars and expect that, in a few seconds as it takes Chris Sinckliar to tell a lie, them gine break down and be unavailable for use

Of course wid all the kick backs that data processing officers and the chief accountant and CEO getting at there respective government departments you and I can’t seriously expect to have quality vehicles around the place

46. @Caswell

It is either one of two things

If during one of these “rubbing shoulders wid de people” an incident is “perpetrated” and someone or several people get hurt, as is the plan, tell me where all your imputed concern about Barven rights will feature?

So it is either (a) you are honestly unaware of what is brewing or (b) you are “in the know”

For a man who has access to so many confidential bits of info Caswell I find it hard to understand how you have not been able to source information from someone in the Defence Force and to see the noted presence of the Coast Guard up and down the Carenage etc and the rapid response units

I’ll tell you what Caswell, Ask Payne. Coups and aborted coups don’t inspire visitor confidence nor investor confidence anywhere in the world and barring We Jonesing, it i has been well managed

An ole fart like me would have managed it differently, I would have exposed them all and let the chips fall where they will. You would have had international fallout but the support that ** and ** would have given you would be greater that what it is now, after all they stand to gain by not having any summers of discontent in their backyard