Submitted by Barbados First

What is the connection between Adrian Elcock, Chairman of the Barbados Tourism Authority (BTA) and Rihanna?

Does it have anything to do with her being given a 3 year contract to market Barbados the terms of which have not been made public?

Does this connection have anything to do with the big Rihanna concert here 2 years ago?

Does it have anything to do with her concert here later this year?

Is this why we cannot get financial results for the concert 2 years ago which we taxpayers paid for… Is there what the Trinidadians call “bobol” going on at the BTA with Chairman Adrian Elcock in place?

Why after all this Rihanna expenditure and promotion  is St. Lucia still receiving more visitors than Barbados for 2013 so far.

Read the news story in the Barbados Today which names Adrain Elcock as agent for Rihanna :

218 responses to “Adrian Elcock Rihanna Partnership”

1. Would you like me to say how many monikers YOU have?…but there again now Onions is a branded LIAR…say it to MAH FACE…..dont cut this one..like you wanna VEX me dis MORNING….bring it !!!!!!

2. @ David
    The administrative conflict of interest is a very valid point. But the problem is NOT Rihanna…..the problem is that we allow and even EXPECT persons in these political positions to be dishonest.
    If the allegations are true, both Elcock and the MOT asses should be prosecuted….not just fired…..
    BUT WUNNA LIKE UM SO…even we courts like um so…

Remember Barrack?
    …same shiite….. Somebody give a multimillion dollar job to a friend or surrogate and just so…they are Multi Millionaires at the expense of Bajan brass bowls….

Wuh you was the head one calling for the government to pay Barrack… And our HIGH COURT (yea right!) says to pay him….

Now exactly WHAT MESSAGE does that send to other people who have the opportunities to ‘use their judgement’?

3. Jesus C’rist Looking, wah de man ever do you …?

4. This young girl, Rihanna, cannot be expected to carry all the weight of Barbados’ tourism problems on her shoulders, it is a world wide man-made economic meltdown that not even the government can squeeze out of, please understand, the mess (grand master plan) started in Greece longer than we have been alive and now it is ending in Greece, the root of the problems. If the education inculcated (programmed) into the minds of the existing inhabitants is not working and obviously it’s not and cannot, then just use your brain and natural gifts and skills that you were gifted free of cost upon your birth.

5. @BT

BU’s call to pay Barrack is predicated on the fact we must maintain an orderly society even though it is not perfect and other pillars are crumbling.

6. …..but Bushie honestly EXPECT that the allegation is untrue.

What would you bet that this is just a case of some reporter choosing to use the word “agent” to describe Mr. Elcock’s role in promoting the concert (on the BTA’s behalf…?)
    …and David(not BU) jumping to conclusions…? 🙂

7. see why it pays to be dishonest?

Adrian Loveridge gets hammered as everything under the sun because he has a view of what tourism should look like. this is person who ran a hotel in Barbados which has closed along with many others.

Adrian Elcock appears to be robbing the BTA and the taxpayers of Barbados blind while laughing all the way to the bank but he gets a free pass.

see why it pays to do wrong in Barbados.

making my point even clearer, free education was not really a good thing after all.

8. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | August 10, 2013 at 9:19 AM |

Would it be out of place to question the integrity of Adrian Elcock in his capacity of Chair of the BTA?
    Can anyone see a conflict of interest between his official relationship with Rihanna as her ‘contractor’ of services for the BTA and his personal (private) relationship by way of acting as her appointed agent in non-BTA matters (e.g. arranging/negotiating funeral matters unless he is related to the deceased?

Should this private relationship, business or otherwise, be declared and excuse himself when decisions regarding the engaging of Rihanna to provide services to the BTA are up for discussion / negotiation/ conclusion?

9. we must maintain an orderly society even though it is not perfect and other pillars are crumbling.
    David, you need to try to understand the focus of Pachamama’s posts…
    …or as Jesus put it…. ” I come not to bring PEACE….but a sword”

In other words, the REAL GOAL is JUSTICE and RIGHTEOUSNESS….not PEACE and an “orderly society”.

If you aim for an ‘orderly society’, you will not touch the underlying pillars of that society…and so you will continue to get what you have been getting….crumbling…decay…injustice….strife.

Um is a paradox.
    The way to peace is through JUSTICE and RIGHTEOUSNESS….not by focusing on maintaining the status quo…

10. Bushie, i ask questions. you should know what this ? means.

11. @BT

Yours has been one of the sage voices contributing to BU over the years. You are obviously well positioned, in the Barbados society. You like BU know that it is a club we are battling against which is comprised of both B and D. To fight to dismantle it will trigger the ire of both camps. One reason we have used the BU model is that it exposes those who are disingenuous and false because we allow ALL to contribute. Even if the BU household is spouting BS we will be called out.

LET THE DAMN CHIPS FALL WHERE EVER.

12. “Should this private relationship, business or otherwise, be declared and excuse himself when decisions regarding the engaging of Rihanna to provide services to the BTA are up for discussion / negotiation/ conclusion?”

i never understood this. so because i’m chairman and i excuse myself from discussion / negotiation/ conclusion means that persons who are there would not know how i want it to go? if i’m in that position, do they dare go against my wishes?

13. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Watching | August 10, 2013 at 9:47 AM |
    “Advise from loveridge cannot be taken under any circumstances. Loveridge could not even successfully run one of those little rooms at Vine and Nelson Streets that rents for $30 an hour after midnight.”

Why don’t you be fair in your criticism and extend your analysis to include Ralph Taylor that ran Almond into the ground? What about Tom Grant and Sam Lord’s Castle along with Leroy Parris that destroyed both the Castle and Grand Barbados along with the entire sugar industry?

Weren’t these establishments similar to the rooms ‘johns’ like you and Bushie are familiar with?

14. Wait Miller ….:) ..you like you itching to get that pox on your right ass yuh!
    What makes Bushie a “John” now? …will this apology be voluntary this time… or will the bushman have to threaten you with a pox again…? LOL Ha Ha

15. Getting back to the gist of the matter, $300,000 to put down a duppy!! Wuhloss there is a sucker born every minute and many of the suckers are Bajans where yuh got to fear not only the entrepreneurs trying to get through yuh bedroom window but the rip off artists dressed in suit and ties with their hands firmly in your pocket while they are smiling in your face.

I or rather my family was ripped off by 3 different businesses during one of my most recent visits to the land of the flying fish and these were not “fly by night” organisations one even included an agency which was supposed to look after the rights of senior citizens (won’t divulge details). Admittedly it wasn’t in the thousands of dollars but a couple of hundred here and there leaves a sour taste in your mouth. Another relative engaged the services of a workman who came with a recommendation from a senior Gov’t official whose name has even been mentioned on BU. One day when the workman was “cleaning up” some thing which had been purloined from the bedroom fell out of his pocket, we later discovered one or two other items were missing. My relative didn’t want to make any waves as she said “yuh never know what these people would come back and do”

Good luck to all uh wunnah who have to put up with this kinda shite if I was living there some of these people would make good “strainers”.

16. @BT

Have always understood your message but we quibble on the how. It is like in architecture a good engineer will always factor redundancy into the structure to ensure that one load bearing pillar or beam if compromised does not fatally affect the whole structure. In the challenge of managing our society can you say that we have redundancy if we compromise the judicial system for example which is you will agree a key load bearing plank in our society.

17. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David (not BU) | August 10, 2013 at 10:24 AM

Now what’s wrong with taking such position when a perceived conflict of interest is involved? It is called transparency and good governance especially when it involves public administration and public funds.
    That is why Barbados under the prevailing environment with its abundance highly educated jackasses would always remain a banana republic conducting monkey business.

18. It continues to be annoying that conflict of interest is never taken seriously in Bim and is looked on as just par for the course.

Even $150,000 to bury a body is unbelievable in any country, guess it will never be turned into a tourism product. That is a proper soaking.

19. Alvin wrote “Every time she performs you are sure to get the attention of at least thirty to forty thousand people/”

That is live at the concert but these days the concerts end up on YouTube and millions view them online.

The value of Rihanna BARBADOS is obvious to me but the issues of conflict of interest and how taxpayers money is spent should be debated publicly.

Lets play match the words.

Jamaica, Bob Marley, One Love, Sandals, Beaches.

Barbados Rihanna, ———————

20. @ Watching
    “Bush you can write a roll of shoite…”
    LOL…wait Watchie!… You may give away your identity yuh! Bushie’s English teacher used to say that EVERY SINGLE DAY!!!
    LOL Ha Ha

@ David(not BU)
    Good question….and if Elcock don’t realize that he NEEDS to clear up the situation then he had no right in the position in the first place. Such high profile jobs should only be accepted by those who are WILLING AND ABLE to undergo such scrutiny….
    …Bushie in your corner….

@ David (BU)
    Man David you does be right 99% of the time…..Wuh you want now?
    Wuh you think you is Bushie or siine?.. LOL Ha Ha

LOL ..ya best watch Onions don’t overthrow the apple cart and stage a coup…..
    Lord have mercy, …Bushie could picture it now….Onions in charge 🙂
    ….wid ac as the chief blogger….. AHHHHHHHHHHHH! Murda!

21. There is now a Marley Coffee product out of Jamaica being carried by one or two of the largest supermarket chain(s) in the US, it will also enter Europe eventually, this product is marketed successfully by one of Marley’s sons, think his name is Rohan. A warm wukking up, unclad body alone will not do it. Different ball game, other things are required.

22. Yes the man hotel succumbed to whatever external and internal attributed to its failure. however unlike Ralph Taylor who have seen a need to give barbados a second chance being as an investor. Adrian only contribution as of present is to continue to demean and frighten private and potential investors away. Taylor should be commended given his past failure in almond still having the confidence to invest in barbados.

23. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea | August 10, 2013 at 10:29 AM |

You want me then to call you a little john as in “johnny” or brass bowl?

You Bushie is just one bloody hypocrite and intellectual grasshopper.

On occasions you describe Barbados’ tourism industry as a business of prostitution with the over 40 “ho” called Bim tired looking and shabbily dressed but still on the streets although no one is interested in buying mutton dressed up as lamb.

Why then blame an old pimp like A L for the major fall off in business especially to the younger PYTs on the tourism block like Helen of the West with her invitingly tantalizing Pitons like erect breasts on a 16 year old (46-30- remember St. Lucia is 30 years behind Barbados in the game of prostitution)?

If A L is a pimp living off the immoral earnings of the old “ho” what does that make you Bushie that relies on the same sailor coins to support your cushy opulent lifestyle in the “bush”? Must be a johnny-come-lately brass bowl full of pox to share around from the numerous visits to the same Bushy Hill!

Until you retract you analogy of Barbados’ No.1 industry which employs thousands of Bajans and earn foreign money to support the country’s economy to that of prostitution you can stick any apology from the miller where the monkey stuff his nuts.

24. @ac

Again you exercise ignorance about the goings on in Barbados. When Ralph Taylor was in charge of Rockley and Almond do you know which companies supplied many services to the two hotels? Ask his ex wife. Adrian is at retirement stage of life why should he invest at this stage to a much younger Taylor who has a young wife and children to raise? This is when smart people retire and enjoy the fruits of their long labour.

25. It’s exhausting that the tourism players refuse to face reality, i suggest the hoteliers, Springers’ and the Dass’ start by scrubbing some floors, and ironing some clothes, doing some dishes for the taxpayers on the island, get a grip on the real, real reality that is ahead……….there are no more millions to scrounge off the taxpayers, reality. Start getting your hands dirty and get a new perspective on and better appreciation for life, not the pretend nonsense that has permeated the island for so many decades the party is over, dead, done, gone, give the taxpayers a break.

26. Oh Miller
    If you want to play THAT game…..we shall see how you are able to sit down tomorrow….. 🙂

BTW you are talking almost as much shiite as ac now…. Where did Bushie blame Adrian for any failures? …or even disagree with his analysis of the performance of the BTA….?
    …you like you are ” logically challenged” yuh”

Bushie’s ONLY beef with Adrian is saying the SAME THING OVER AND OVER….and failing to get to the ROOT of the problems…like Trevor Marshall started to do so succinctly…..

….you may want to get some rubbing alcohol and plaster on hand for tomorrow….

27. Miller i don’t disagree with you on the transparency and good governance bit but what i’m saying is if what is reported in the court documents are true, Adrian Elcock should of made one of two choices.

a) i will be Rihanna’s “agent” or;
    b) i will be chairman of the BTA

but he took c) all of the above. that is unacceptable. you can’t (shouldn’t) do doing both because as i understand it, as an agent, you should be acting in your client’s best interest at all time. One could argue that it would then be in the best interest of Rihanna for her agent to be chairman of the BTA but then what about the best interest of the BTA and Barbados by extension?

this is the greed we are seeing here. having the cake and eating it while in the gym on the treadmill.

Bushie, he should be made to answer, but this is Barbados and answer he will not.

28. What does age have anything to do with inveting. However adrian spends enough time investing in destroying the image and barbados economy. with his lickmout divionary articles. Ralph Taylor one the other hand has done something for barbados in helping to build up barbados and not to tear down. Btw some of the worlds biggest investors are over or about retirement age. U david can support adrian all u want ac see him as a trouble maker with ulterior motives one who can.t be trusted.

29. Wunna igrunt people who praising Taylor, wuuna ent know he hotel in St. Lucia under receivership, he new one here on the way there. Ask the staff who ent get pay, ask de staff why dem leaving. Go on trip advisor and read the reviews. His wife has her set of sun loungers while the guests are told that they have no more. When they ask about some empty ones they see they are told that is for the owner’s wife.

30. @ac

Again ignorance, how do you know Adrian is not investing? It may not be in TOURISM…lol.

31. ac? your c@#t don’t get tired talk shite?

how could Adrian destroy “the image and barbados economy”? no one is doing the job better than the people who are running this country in the ground. the current government. with the lies and getting themselves rich as outline by those court documents.

you does really reason some rassholeary.

32. AC I really can’t believe that you would sit down in front your computer and think up all this shoite to write. You have eroded any kind of credibility you may have had in the past. Girl wha happen to yuh? Yuh pon meds? Yuh husband does tawk tah yuh? Yuh depressed? Wha happen nuh?

33. I expect u BLP yardfowlsand other shite followers to respond accordingly no i just don,t get tired …….this forum allows me to say as much shite as YOU DAVID NOT BU as the other GUY . none of wunna have ever presented anything that anyb one can grasp or learn from when it comes to the economic affairs of barbados except crticsims

34. you go ac. to the back of the class.

when will you people put down part and pick up country? is that to much to ask?

35. @ Islandgal
    “Girl wha happen to yuh? Yuh pon meds? Yuh husband does tawk tah yuh? Yuh depressed? Wha happen nuh?”
    Eva since the man left for Arizona she has been going downhill…
    Bushie for one will be easing up on ac from here on….

36. Do we have any scientific measurement to confirm the amount of tourist arriving and attending the Rihanna Concert. I went to her last concert and the people I saw was mainly bajans. The oval was packed like sardines and getting through the crowd you hear nuff bajan. BTW. Do we have a formula to separate local or tourist when purchasing tickets?

37. I also understand that apart from bajans, her show was attended mainly by other Caribbean people, tourists did not leave Europe or North America to attend her show, she tours so there is no need to and she is just coming off a tour…..it’s really a show for Barbados and the Caribbean, and Caribbean people will attend as long as they can afford it.

38. In the absence of a local agent I see Elcock’s role more as a “facilitator” than an agent who may have acted on her behalf because he didn’t want to jeopardize BTA’s relationship with their major promotional asset. It begs the question why would someone engage in an unwritten contract without having an estimate of the potential liability? Couldn’t she have dispatched one of her management team to do the day to day footwork or do these people become so insulated from reality that they believe everything will be kosher because I am Bajan and we take care of our own?

39. That funeral home unpaid debt is all over the news world wide, not the best publicity in the world or the attention anyone would want.

40. There is nothing like publicity right Hants?

41. Is there a reason why so many people do not get the big picture in some of these discussions?

Jamaica has been reaping the benefits from the International stardom of BOB MARLEY. For years their tv and print ads were based on the connection to Marley and particularly his song “one love.”

I do not know if Rihanna has a song as infectious as “One love” but surely having a recognizable Rihanna song in tv commercials should be explored by the BTA.

Now St.Lucia got lucky having Sandals/Beaches(Jamaica) bombarding North American TV with commercials.

Watch for the next wave of Jamaican advertising.If he stays clean the Lightning Bolt is in the future.

42. David “There is nothing like publicity right Hants?”

The problem with the funeral issue is that the majority will be trying to understand how a funeral could cost $300,000.

It will appear to the average person that Rihanna charged a “celebrity” premium.

David have you noticed that Tiger is getting mega deals again even though he is still not at his best?

43. @Hants

Yes Tiger is still signing deals BUT no you will not find AMEX and similar global brands following suit, he is damaged goods.

44. Tiger does not need Amex. He makes enough from Nike to pay alimony.lol

45. David I respect your moral high ground but I am not a highly moral person.

I am also not a hypocrite.

Anyway let’s get back to Tourism.

The BTA should try some thing new. Advertise on TV and in Newspapers in major “Bajan friendly”cities like Toronto,Montreal and New York.

46. David, Just to be clear I am not implying that you are a hypocrite.

It is just that I know a few big ups in Barbados who are.

47. Agreed Hants but in the context of Barbados and the Rihanna partnership it is important that the brand Barbados is not subsumed by the brand Rihanna. Marley and reggae was about a cultural revolution born out of indigenous experiences and not about the individual called Bob.

48. @Hants

About trying something new- do you know this is all Adrian has been suggesting? At least let’s go down with our boots on…lol.

49. <iframe width="560" height="315"
    [youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Boj0DrnpxpU&w=560&h=315]

src=”//www.youtube.com/embed/4oVEL06UeFc” frameborder=”0″ allowfullscreen>

Light still shines bright on Bob Marley and Usain Bolt from Jamaica, both have attained popularity and are linked to Jamaica. Jamaica has right to boast. Usain Bolt hopefully will stay clean.
    Celebrities you know come and go. Rihanna is very chaotic and mentally off-balance but still attains some popularity. Her completion is still Beyonce and now the young Rachel Crow. Rachel Crow is predicted to be the next Michael Jackson. So, her popularity (Rihanna) will be sliding more and more down hill. Barbados must certainly do better than Rihanna to push tourists into its direction.

Leave a Reply to LOOKCancel reply