The Principals of Regal Farms, a start up company, who proposes to establish a fish farm in Barbados has provided the following information about the project and themselves.

Richard Alleyne (l) and David Silverbery

PROJECT BACKGROUND

Regal Farms LLC, was established in September of 2012, with initial capitalization provided by the founders. The company proposes to establish a commercial scale, close-containment, fish farm on three acres of land in the Sanford section of St. Philip on the island of Barbados in the Caribbean. Regal Farms–through licensing, knowledge transfer and partial funding from Israeli-based aquaculture consultants, Aquamaof Aquaculture Industries–will establish a turnkey operation that utilizes innovative technology which conserves water, reuses waste, optimizes energy inputs and promotes greater yields. Aquamaof recently opened the largest and most advanced fish farm facility in Europe which will yield 1,200 metric tons of tilapia annually.

We at Regal Farms believe that fish farming, using sustainable practices, is a great way to increase the Caribbean region’s seafood supply while reducing pressure on our oceans.  By partnering with Aquamaof, we intend to follow a “smart aquaculture” model to produce sustainable seafood. Sustainable seafood comes from sources both wild and farmed that are healthy for our planet now and in the future. Its production occurs without harming the longterm viability of the species, the ecosystems and communities upon which production depends.  At optimal capacity operations will include: growing, harvesting, processing, packaging and marketing of barramundi.

We at Regal Farms will create a local and regional demand for this increasingly popular, non-native species–also known as Asian sea bass or sustainable sea bass.  The Regal Farms project came into being through the efforts of Richard Alleyne and David Silverberg. It is the intention of Regal Farms to construct a facility that will serve as an example to all industry on the island of energy efficient operations that produce a minimum carbon footprint and has a minimum impact on the environment.

In addition to developing a commercially successful fish farm, it is of paramount importance to Richard  and David that Regal Farms also serve as an engine for local community enterprise and overall development of the aquaculture sub-sector regionally.

With nine billion people predicted to be on our planet by year 2050, experts anticipate we’ll need a 70% increase in food production to meet all of our needs. This reality makes a strong case for the responsible stewarding of our precious natural resources, and the introduction of a food production technology that makes it possible to breed fish in a controlled environment in any country, during all seasons.

Given the current environmental and economic climate in the Caribbean region, we at Regal Farms will create a stronger, more diverse and profitable fisheries sector in Barbados by fully realizing the potential of sustainably harvested fish products through fish farming.

Through the establishment of Regal Farms, we will contribute to local GDP through local sales and by integrating ourselves regionally through the export of our products. We will create jobs through our operations: growing, harvesting and distribution. Regal Farms will form relationships with local and regional actors to promote this form of aquaculture technology and will create a public education component to our operations that will focus on teaching the next generation of Barbadians about environmentally sustainable food production.

Regal Farms will operate as a close-containment, land-based farm–a production model considered ‘the gold standard’ for sustainable aquaculture.  Regal Farms will aim to recycle and purify 99% of our system water and use our fish waste as fertilizer in an onsite hydroponics greenhouse/laboratory to grow and test various crops using our byproduct. Because Regal Farms will use a close-containment, tank-based system and not coastal cages, we will help mitigate the effects of overfishing and pollution by allowing wild stocks to replenish and coastal habitats to recover–while helping meet the increasing demand for fish products. Aside from the commercial implications and overall contributions to national GDP, the growth of this subsector could help reconnect us to the origin of our food.

FOUNDERS

Richard Alleyne: A Caribbean native, Richard is responsible for conceptualizing the Regal Farms project. He holds a BA in Political Science/International Affairs from Moravian College in Bethlehem, PA.  For over fifteen years Richard has succeeded in driving public awareness, advocacy and engagement for non-profit organizations and political campaigns in the New York metro area and nationally, repeatedly exceeding all goals and expectations set before him.

Most recently Richard has worked on development issues impacting children for UNICEF and has extensive experience with advocacy and public education campaigns working with the media (domestic and international), private sector, community-based organizations such as civic groups, communities of faith and the elected officials representing these constituents and stakeholders.

Richard is particularly interested in the effects of climate change and its impact on food security and economic development. He is also a proponent of “green growth”–a new approach to economic growth that puts human well-being at the center of development, while ensuring that natural assets continue to provide the resources and environmental services to support sustainable development.

Richard has honed a strong competitive advantage by providing a razor-sharp and intuitive understanding of effective brand marketing and media strategy and he possesses a leadership style to engage stakeholder groups as evidenced by:

• Propelled the UNICEF Tap Project (clean water campaign) to national prominence; serving as the primary media contact for project that grew from a single city pilot to a national campaign in 49 states.
  • Coordinated task-force for New York City Council subcommittee on mental health which was instrumental in elevating the subcommittee to full committee status; brought together a cross section of field experts in behavioral and psychological sciences as well as consumer advocates to generate an impactful task-force report on the supervision of outpatient care for the mentally ill.
  • Played key role in crafting communications strategy for the U.S. Fund for UNICEF’s ‘Believe in ZERO’ campaign; raising awareness and positively impacting the reduction of global child mortality; reducing daily mortality deaths from 25,000 to 22,000 for children under 5.
  • Spearheaded social media strategy to engage new audience markets; penning web stories for social media platforms and creating canned Tweets and Facebook status updates for spokespeople and celebrity ambassadors.
  • Established a Haitian-American task-force to advise on Haitian and Diaspora issues related to UNICEF’s work in Haiti; a segment of that task-force was responsible for garnering $1M in donations for victims of the 2010 Haiti earthquake.

Richard is the proud father of two girls. He lives in central Florida with his wife and youngest daughter.

David Silverberg: An engineer by training, Dave is responsible for the technical necessities of Regal Farms. Dave is also the CEO and CTO of Lektra Laboratories, Inc. In 1969 Dave founded Photo Research and Products, Ltd. of Israel (PRP).  PRP developed and manufactured a precision line of equipment for the production of printed circuits, including cameras and silk screen presses and became a major supplier of this equipment to the  electronics industry in Israel and Europe.

PRP production retained foreign currency verses importing this equipment.  PRP gained the reputation for producing the closest tolerance printed circuit screen printers in the world market. Ten years later he transferred operations to the U.S. and took over Lektra Laboratories, a leading supplier of high-end photo lab control equipment worldwide–first established in 1940.

Using Design for Manufacturing procedures (DFM), Dave increased production allowing for a quadruple in sales after just two years.

Dave holds a degree  in Mechanical Engineering from Stevens Institute of Technology and later served at Stevens as a Visiting Professor of Machine Design and Project Management.   Dave has served as a supplier and consultant to major companies such as: Motorola, Elbit, Elscint, Machon Weizman,Technion, Bizallel, Ort, Amal, Scitex, Kodak, Polaroid, Fugi and many other industry leaders worldwide.

Dave served in the Israel Defense Forces in an engineering capacity where his duties were to guide rescue operations in buildings damaged by hostilities.  His job was to evaluate damage and then guide his men in doing what was necessary to make the building safe for rescue of victims in the building.

Dave lives in the Bronx, New York with two of his daughters. His other three children have returned to Israel where they have blessed him with 10 grandchildren.

93 responses to “Regal Farms to Establish a Fish Farm in Barbados”

1. Good job Dr. Estwick, can’t wait to see these policies materialise.
    Food production zones coming Added by Barbados Today on August 7, 2013.Barbados will soon have food production zones across the island.
    Minister of Agriculture, Dr. David Estwick, said this afternoon that such zones would contribute to the needs of small farmers.
    Speaking on this country’s draft Food and Nutrition Security Policy and Action Plan during the opening of a National Seminar on Food and Nutrition Security at the University of the West Indies, Cave Hill campus, Estwick said the key to unleashing the full potential of small holders, was the establishment of food production zones at specific locations around Barbados.
    The minister said Government was currently working on this initiative.
    “We are looking to make sure that these food production zones are going to be community-driven,” he continued.
    Estwick pointed out that the Food and Nutrition Security Action Plan was inspired by a consensus in Barbados for a systematic approach or strategies for ensuring adequate levels national and household foods and nutrition security.
    “Additionally, our awareness has been made even greater by our rapid dietary and epidemiological transitions,” asserted the Cabinet member.
    He reported that such transitions had caused nutritionists to observe a shift from foods based on indigenous staples to a more varied energy-dense diet of processed foods as well as beverages high in salt, sugar, oils, fats and alcohol.
    “We’ve also noticed a proliferation of nutrition-related chronic non-communicable diseases such as diabetes, high blood pressure, heart diseases and cancer. And without a doubt, these have replaced malnutrition and infectious diseases as our major public health concerns.”
    Estwick argued that unbalanced diets and a sedentary lifestyle have also served to increase the prevalence of such chronic non-communicable diseases within Barbados and the rest of the region.
    In addition to these challenges, he said Barbadians were conditioned to give more active consideration to the combination of increases in the price of fuel and the effect of climate change and the increased intensity and density of natural disasters.
    “Positively, there is now a trend towards investing in agriculture as an engine for economic development. It involves not only increased Government spending on agriculture and infrastructural inputs, but also encourages private sector inputs,” declared Estwick.
    Minister of Health, John Boyce, who also spoke at the seminar, pledged his ministry’s full backing for the proposed action plan.
    Boyce suggested that while Barbados had escaped the level of poverty which obtained in some other larger countries, one still had to be vigilant to the internal and external threats to food security.
    He said the global economic downturn had created a worrying trend, where more and more people had been unable to access safe and nutritious food to meet their dietary needs for daily living. This, he reasoned, was further exacerbated by changes in tastes. “Our tasks therefore includes vigilance and the promotion of a continuous educational thrust to guide our people in exercising healthier choices,” Boyce advised. (EJ)

2. Politicians making comments in public. After years of hearing speeches like these drawing attention to studies, reports a plans such as the one that was referred to, blame me for becoming unimpressed and disillusioned

3. @Bush Tea the word i was going for there was impotent as in a permanent rubber penises, lol jokes on me, i got spell check this time though.

@june boy do you mind getting the coordinates on Google earth so i can see where it is going to be? it should be sea side, these fish can handle some sea water mixed in, do you know if there are any reefs close to the site? fish farms have been know to damage coral reefs with their effluent.

@Twistorian you right bajans will eat any thing that is sold readydone. as BAFBFP put it “offal cuisine” lol. Its also true the world eats more farmed fish than wild caught. Using a can of sardines to illustrate my point, along time ago a can of sardines use to have in 3 fish the most, this is when their were plentiful and wild caught, so you get big ones, then as you over fish you started getting cans wid 7 and 8 smaller, younger fish as wild stocks steadily disappeared now you getting big sardines because they are being farmed and reaped at the right size.

————————————————————————————-

“We’ve also noticed a proliferation of nutrition-related chronic non-communicable diseases such as diabetes, high blood pressure, heart diseases and cancer. And without a doubt, these have replaced malnutrition and infectious diseases as our major public health concerns.”

From malnutrition? he ent sure. old people had kitchen gardens and used to eat way petter than we but the words sound good though. Them still let Roberts sell people only poison, fake butter and very processed oil is a big cause of this, 5 years after Roberts set up shop is when all this sickness start happening, stupes, the best thing any politician ever do for farming was to put the small business and farming miniseries together.

My question is how will anything in the ministry work if they keep employing people that never farm,

If i was Estwick the first thing i would do is make everybody that is work in the ministry of agriculture put in a half day work on the farm once for every payday. Most of there people never even water a lawn, let them get a better understanding of what they are trying to promote.

4. Isn’t Sanford a location in St.Philip which is NOT coastal?

5. http://www.knoxnews.com/news/2010/jan/06/fda-seizes-1m-worth-food-nashville-food-plant/

@ Ready done

Please, if you would, tell the Barbados Underground audience here how much the Barbados government puts into ceasing/seizing the release of bad and or filty foods like the USFDA, and Ready done (poster) surely you did not pass or overlook posting by Twistorian 08/07/2013 @ 6:55 “Bajans will eat just about anything, need I remind you we love chicken feet, necks and the oil cup? Need I remind you we ear pigs tail, feet, snout, skin and its ears? Need I remind you we eat cows liver, tail and tongue? LOL

6. http://wwwnc.cdc.gov/travel/destinations/traveler/none/barbados

@ Ready done

You can get typhoid through contaminated food or water in Barbados.

7. GP said:

Georgie Porgie | August 7, 2013 at 9:45 PM |

WELL WELL
    DO YOU THINK THAT A CHEMICAL MADE ORGANICALLY IS DIFFERENT TO THE SAME CHEMICAL MADE BY GENETIC ENGINEERING?.

DISCUSS

I would have to be educated by you on that topic but common sense tells me it depends on what chemical is introduced and the inherent dangers that can degrade the health of the person(s) inducing the product(s), i will take direction from you on that topic.

8. http://saflights.hubpages.com/hub/Facts-about-the-Barbados-Green-Monkey

@ Ready Done
    Although no longer abundant in the region due to over fishing and polution, barbados culture still embraces the flying fish. Ohhhhh and Ready done (poster) the green monkey in Barbados did you know likes the dunk. They also like fruits, nuts, grass and seeds but when food is short, they eat anything, have to: bird eggs, birds, mice, lizzars and some insects. Guess you got me started!!!

9. Look………………it was a shame and disgrace when Pemberton was allowed to destroy the natural habitat of the monkeys on the 4 Seasons compound, i used to see them dead in the street having been struck by cars because they had nowhere to go and had to find food, then everyone was complaining the monkeys were destroying their crops, what do you expect when you destroy their home so someone else can enrich themselves. I remember telling them many years ago, because of their actions, i would be extremely surprised if 4 seasons got of the ground in this decade……looks like it’s coming to pass.

10. @ Well Well

Detroit, Michigan (United States) home to the North American International Auto Show (NAIAS) which it hosts each year in January and Cobo Center there, site of the annual North American International Auto Show is midst a 320 million dollar renovation, since 2011. True, the City of Detroit on July 18, 2013 filed bankruptcy. The NAIAS none the less will go on – show must go on. Detroit, even in a financial crisis refuses to pull the plug on spending $400 million for a new hockey arena for its Detroit Red Wings. Michigan Governor, Rick Snyder and Kevin Orr, appointed emergency manager agrees to stick with the plan. Detroit’s bankruptcy in process won’t halt the 2014 North American International Auto Show or building a new hockey arena.
    Detroit even in its current condition is breathing. Four Seasons and the Pierhead Marina project down there on that dot in the Caribbean is not even doing that, breathing.

11. @ David

“Good job Dr. Estwick, can’t wait to see these policies materialise.”

We also can’t wait to see Dr. Estwick comment on the claim by Kyto BioPharma Inc. and by extension its President and COO Jonathan Bryant, that the company had “entered into” a letter of intent “for the acquisition of all outstanding common shares of a company called Barbados Sea Island Cotton Inc., which is claiming to have secured “all the rights to manage” the production of products from the island’s cotton. http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2013/07/22/over-to-kyto/

And also that the Barbados Government and Company have agreed in principle to:

“To provide at a deferred pepper corn rent a 650 acre plantation for the purposes of growing our own cotton and having accommodation.”
    “The Company has agreed to cultivate 6500 acres of agricultural land delivering 5000 bales of cotton”
    “Time frame is to secure funding May 2013, to plant August 2013 and to achieve positive return on investment through a 30% advance payment at point of seeding based on prospective orders of $10,890,000 USD.”

Details here: http://investorshub.advfn.com/boards/read_msg.aspx?message_id=87416589

12. baffy
    i noticed you spoke of shell fish
    i thought only americans spoke those
    fish dont have shells but scales

the sea food that have shells are either molluscs or crustaceans

13. @ Well Well

http://david.strongcommunication.com/news/2012/dr-estwick-food-import-bill-too-high

http://www.cnweeklynews.com/component/content/article/3845

The green monkey it seems arent’t the only ones forced to face food shortage in Barbados. Dr. David Eastwick is apparently concenred that there will be a food shortage and recommended increasing agriculture because the food bill is NOW out of control. Government you know is broke “all in the red”.

14. Look………………i am beginning to ignore the utterings of those DLP ministers, a relative of mine told them years ago that there will be food shortages if they do not cut the food import bill by at least half, that would have been a start, make sure local food production and food security remained their one and only priority, well, they soundly told him off cause Estwick was at the time more concerned about being Finance Minister after do nothing Benn was re-schuffled, and the PM was more interested in introducing more imported food, through cost you less, just so he could be re-elected or whatever other self-serving plans he had………so you see, i am not even on the island but feel weighted down by all their dumb shit, reason why i refuse to believe anything they say, however, if they think it’s bad now, just give it another year or two and they will be able to redefine the word.

15. Knight of the Long Knives Avatar
    Knight of the Long Knives

I don’t know what all this whining is about tell them bring the money and come. I nor my family will be eating any of them but they can export them to Timbuktu for all i care. Same thing with casinos bring them, foreign passport and foreign currency required, case closed.

16. Ready Done
    The proposed sight for the fish farm is obliquely opposite KGVM park about a quarter mile inland. It is nowhere near the sea or any coral reefs.

17. Hey Hey Ready done

The Twistorian (poster) posted said statement 08/07/2013 @ 6:55 “Bajans will eat just about anything, need I remind you we love chicken feet, necks and the oil cup? Need I remind you we ear pigs tail, feet, snout, skin and its ears? Need I remind you we eat cows liver, tail and tongue? Some of the restaurants in Barbados feature local Barbados Blackbelly lamb on the menu. It is said to be very tender and tasty, but Bajans in the end might be eating the green monkey that’s NOW forced to eat anything: bird eggs, birds, mice, lizzars and some insects. The green monkey may also appear on a local Barbados restaurant menu.

18. I wonder why people still think that the gob will keep food prices low. Lol. Ya can’t tax a kitchen garden.

19. @ look what is the use of the green monkey?

20. Ready……………but the IMF/credit rating agencies could catspraddle you when you can’t pay bills or meet international obligations because your deficit is too high, can’t import anymore food cause no foreign exchange to pay for it, which do you think is the lesser evil.

21. http://www.chicagoinjurylawblog.com/2013/08/fda-proposes-heightened-rules-for-imported-foods.html

http://www.foodqualitynews.com/Legislation/FDA-steps-up-food-import-oversight

@ Ready done

The United States Food and Drug Administration does not want cat/dog food from China. Barbados may want it, may gladly accept it, that and fish from this Regal Fish Farm. Country is broke “all in the red”. A food shortage is on the way, government can no longer afford its out of control food bill. USDA may not be 100% perfect but make effort when and where it can.

The United States is huge, much larger than Barbados but food imports are only 15%. There is an abundance of food in the United States because the United States cultivates a lot of its own food, 85%: vegetables, citrus fruits, rice, wheat, etc. That 85% could and should increase. It’s no secret the United States has a deficit problem. This is because of its involvement in (2) wars during the Bush administration. Barbadosmsms has that too, a deficit problem. The United States, though is not falling apart; Barbados though sad to say is opposite that – falling apart. The United States you know produces automobiles, Detroit, Michigan and imports them. The Boing Company, home based in Chicago, Illinois produces commercial and military aircraft. Boeing you may or may not know sells passenger jets to airlines around the world.

The United States in 2010 lost is AAA credit rating. The S&P downgraded it from AAA to AA+ with a negative outlook. The United States yet has a AA+ credit rating but its outlook is now stable. The United States is ill but recovering. Venezulean oil exports to the United States is down 30% and continues to decline. The United States has oil, lots of it. The United States, Michael Snyder says (04/25/2012) is swimming in oil. It can now export rather than import. The two, Jim Efsthathiou Jr. and Jim Snyder (06/18/2013) claim it [United States] is considering it, exporting oil. The S&P in June 2012 you know downgraded Barbados to junk bond status with a positive outlook. The S&P in July (2013) revisited Barbados and assigned it a negative outlook.

You opened up a can of worms, Ready done (poster), you know this right? David (Blog Master/Barbados Underground) who said people in North America hush? Who said that?

22. [youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DMVr5zhGDWk&w=420&h=315]

Know it will be hard to say goodby to the disappearing flying fish and other foods Bajans are now enjoying, but a food shortage is on the way. Governmen tis broke “all in the red” can no longer afford its out of control food bill.

23. http://www.worldsrichestcountries.com/top_us_exports.html

The Russians can keep Edward Snowden. Venezuela who wants him can have him. The United States imports more to Russia than Russia to the United States. President Obama cancelled meeting scheduled with President Putin in September 2013. President Putin isn’t begging Obama for this meeting and President Obama I’m sure will not beg for frozen crab, plywood and vodka imports from Russia either. Venezuela imports oil to the United States, but the United States does not and will not fall to its knees for Venezuela oil. The United States now has an abundance of oil. All are oil rich states in the United States: Texas, North Dakota, South Dakota, Minnesota, Alaska, Oklahoma, New Mexico and Louisiana. North Dakota, at moment is enjoying an oil boom. There is more oil in North Dakota than thought – North Dakota, western South Dakota and eastern Montana.

24. LOOK

Wah shite you talkin …

25. @ Baffy

Not talking the same shit you talk, Right? Go back into your hole and don’t come out. Tired of your Bull Shit.

26. @ look you really think that the Us now find oil? really? Seriously? you never wonder what happen to the oil in the places them bombing or now finished bombing? are you from the us? i bet you watch the us news more than the bajan news.

@ well well i will let the GOB worry about them things like IMF and stuff, i just wanna grown my own food, you should too. i think the evil is buying food from a supermarket and supporting that system i think it would be a good to grow and share food.

27. @ Ready done

You should indeed grow your own food. Actually, you don’t have a choice. A food shortage is coming because government cannot afford its high food bill. Barbados is in junk bond status, broke. It does not see light or the end of the tunnel

28. Look

Tired of my bullshit … Stupse …

29. @ Ready done

There really isn’t a lot of Barbados news to watch. I watch world not consistently, United States news and Canada news.

@ Baffy

Grow up

30. @ Baffy

You’re probably too old for your stupidity.

31. Ready said:

“@ well well i will let the GOB worry about them things like IMF and stuff, i just wanna grown my own food, you should too. i think the evil is buying food from a supermarket and supporting that system i think it would be a good to grow and share food.”

Ready………….those were the words no one in Barbados wanted to hear, too busy believing imported food gave them social status, that also includes the same government of Barbados, i have heard two reports that they are starting to cry, i will truthfully tell them, they have not started crying yet.

For the times i spend/spent in Bim, i always grow my own food, it does not take anytime at all to either put together a kitchen garden or reap the benefits from the kitchen garden. Fortunately for me i am not on the island presently and don’t have to worry about food. Continue to grow your food, don’t stop regardless.

32. Did some research today and found out it would be better to install high density vertical aquaponic backyard systems, save on everything, fertilizer, water, space, money etc, etc, you have the fish fertilizing your food, win, win, win all around, people in Bim might want to look into this for future survival.

33. The above is a link to a top class tilapia hatchery.

@ well well we have done lots of research on aquaponic systems and hope to see them replace the fridge in our life time. we have designs of systems well adapted to Barbados if your intrested give us a shout.

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Bairds-Village-Aquaponics-Association/486848404729021

34. Ready…………..thanks, but i have ready access to such equipment, wonderful to see you introducing them to the island, as long as they are affordable to the taxpayer’s dwindling pockets, it would definitely make a difference in their long term survival going forward.

35. @ well well, tell me some more about what you doing? what scale are you on? i love to learn about Ap you actually got a working high density vertical Ap system?

36. Thanks very much for posting this David. Apologies for coming to this discussion late. I am one of the principals on this project and want to thank you all for this forum and the opportunity to clear up some confusion that I see in some of the comments:

*Our barramundi will NOT be genetically modified…EVER. Barramundi is ideal for farming because they thrive in aquaculture settings, they grow quickly and they’re naturally disease resistant–therefore no hormones and antibiotics are necessary. Barramundi live on a mainly vegetarian diet so the need for fish meal and oil is greatly reduced.

*Being farmed in tanks ensures our barramundi will be mercury and toxin free. Barramundi also produce high levels of Omega 3 fatty acids–higher than swordfish, tilapia, shrimp and cod. Omega 3s are essential for optimal brain and heart health.

*Because our fish will be grown in-land in tanks with an iron clad bio security system in place, there will be ZERO chance of this non native species escaping into the sea or any waterways.

*The recirculating aquaculture system (RAS) technology is coming from a private aquaculture firm in Israel (the company is the global leader in aquaculture) and not the Israeli government. Until we are able to build a hatchery in Barbados we will initially get our fingerlings imported from our technology partners in Israel.

*We will aim to recirculate 100% of our system water. All suspended and settled waste and other nutrient-rich effluence will be filtered out and turned into organic fertilizer that we will make available to local farmers in the Sandford area. Our plan is to eventually source the grain we need for our feed from these same farmers.

*The Regal Farms project has NO political agenda driven by its principals, the Israeli government or the Barbados government.

We fully understand that Bajans prefer wild caught fish. We believe that consumer acceptance of barramundi will be driven by marketing, not just to the swankier restaurants and hotels, but also by convincing “cooked fish” vendors in places like Oistins and Baxter’s Road that this is a premium white-fish worth selling. Our tasting event tomorrow in St. Philip is part of our initial consumer acceptance efforts.

Fish are often marketed under different names from region to region, ie: dolphin fish vs. mahi mahi or chilean sea-bass vs. patagonian tooth fish. Perhaps we could market barramundi in Barbados as Bim-barra?? (Bimbarra??). We would welcome any thoughts and suggestions on this front.

I am not the PR guy for this project, I am a co-founder. The farm is to be sited on three acres of family land in Sandford. I was born in Guyana, but grew up in the U.S. Virgin Islands. My father and sister are Barbadian and my mother is Jamaican. My partner, Dave and I have the interests of the Caribbean region at the forefront of our mission. Yes, this is a commercial venture, but Regal Farms is not looking to simply line our pockets. We are very interested in sound food production technologies and want to be a part of growing the aquaculture sub sector in Barbados and regionally. We very much want to partner with like minded folks on further developing this movement and offer kudos to the work already
    being done by folks like Bairds Village Aquaponics Association to promote self sufficiency and smart, sustainable food production. For further information on this project please contact me at regalfarmsllc@gmail.com. We are in town until Aug 17th and would welcome the opportunity to meet with as many of you as possible–especially residents of the Sandford area. Thanks again for this forum!

37. @ RA/Regal Farms, LLC I am glad to hear that our island Barbados welcomes your venture, but why Israel partners? Until that country admits to it’s tyranny, racist views, and crimes against humanity and blacks, I will always question that country and/or their countryman’s intentions in helping anyone besides themselves and lining their pockets. Good luck at any rate, and I hope the island of Barbados will not endure regrets.

http://www.africanglobe.net/africa/israel-expel-thousands-african-migrants-unidentified-country/

African Migrants Fight for Freedom as Israel Builds the World’s Largest Prison Camp to Hold Them

http://www.eurasiareview.com/
    Though the circumstances then were different than now, when there are 60,000 African refugees in Israel, these sentiments Golda preserved, even at that early period, are reflected precisely in current racist Israeli attitudes. MKs rabble-rouse, calling Africans a cancer among the Israeli nation. Not far at all from this calling them a “5th column.”

The American Jew who wrote this letter to the Israeli prime minister was little better than the Likud when it came to issues like these that threatened Israeli Jewish hegemony. In fact, the racism reflected in this letter would be little different in tone or substance than the views of Meir Kahane.

On a related note, I reported here that Bibi Netanyahu, as late as 1989, demanded the expulsion of Israeli Palestinians for many of the same reasons Golda’s American Jewish interlocutors saw Blacks as “polluting Israel” and “bad” for it.

38. @ Wilford…your well wishes are much appreciated. We are only interested in food production using innovative, eco-friendly technology. Neither my partner or I have any political agenda to push.

39. Please let me know if you’re looking for a writer for your weblog.
    You have some really great posts and I believe I would be a
    good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d really like to write some content
    for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine. Please blast me an e-mail if interested.
    Cheers!

40. Add a bi directional Wi Fi signal amplifier to wireless devices as needed. A Wi Fi signal amplifier (sometimes called “signal booster”) attaches to a router, access point or Wi Fi client at the place where the antenna connects. Bi directional antennas amplify the wireless signal in both transmit and receive directions.
    juicy butt blonde http://www.modinewslatest.com

41. speakers, real projection with plasma TV, USB device compatibility and many other features which lack in older models and simple DVD players. Selecting a car DVD player or video entertainment is not easy and straightforward job and you must make properly searched and careful decisions to avoid any disturbances while using them when you are traveling with or without your family members. After buying a perfect entertainment system,
    steel house building http://www.bfsteelstructure.com

42. ?Thoroughly clean the site and let it dry naturally.
    Wedding cards http://www.vowscard.com

Leave a Reply to LOOKCancel reply