Adrian Loveridge - Owner of Peach & Quiet Hotel
Adrian Loveridge – Owner of Peach & Quiet Hotel

From an entirely tourism perspective, what can the Minister of Finance do next week to help kick start a beleaguered sector that has been systematically smashed to the ground with unbudgeted massive increases in operational costs, while attempting to survive in a dwindling market? It is a very big question and clearly for a Government that is experiencing the most challenging fiscal malaise for decades, the options are limited.

There can be few hoteliers who fail to recognise that much of our plant desperately needs to be re-vitalised and upgraded. But with 15 consecutive months of declining long stay visitor arrivals, widespread discounting of rooms and escalating expenses, how can this be achieved?

In the recently announced Ten-Point Plan, those tourism partners who qualify, will welcome the small rebates in electricity and water charges, but realistically how far do they compensate for previous increases of 72 per cent and 60 per cent respectively. Let alone a 50 per cent increase in land taxes, 16.6 per cent hike in VAT and prolonged delays in re-paying agreed VAT refunds.

The proposed APD Voucher, seemingly unique to any tourism driven Caribbean destination, was cleverly linked to a minimum 14 night stay ‘at participating hotels’. It is still unclear after declaring that ‘villa type accommodation will be available for marketing’, if this segment will benefit from any subsidised voucher. After all, these guests also eat in our restaurants, rent cars, shop and patronise the attractions.

So two weeks after the ‘media briefing’, the lack of implementation has created a vacuum of unanswered questions, rather than produce a unambiguous marketing tool to stimulate additional bookings. Our policymakers seem to have forgotten that Barbados is largely a tour operator driven holiday island and that it is critically important to fully inform the travel trade of any conditions of use, if you wish to maximise potential business. Put your yourself in the place of the average ‘Brit’. If you were even contemplating a package holiday to Barbados, after reading about this ‘proposed’ initiative, would you not delay booking, until the financial benefits of the voucher have been enunciated?

Also posted on the BTA website is the re-launch of the Barbados Island Inclusive programme from 8th –23rd August (depending on which market) until 21st December. So are there going to be two subsidy initiatives operating at the same time, which could have a combined cost of over $1,200 per visitor?

One thing for sure, whatever is proposed in the 2013 budget, it will be absolutely meaningless, unless the measures are actualised in a timely fashion. What became of the previously described ‘newly established’ Hotel Refurbishment Fund contained in the 2012 Budget ‘in which $50 million has been earmarked for hotel refurbishment for financing to refurbish and/or upgrade their hotel plant.’ And to make it clear, we are not talking about grant monies or hand-outs here, but loans at commercial interest rates.

Sadly, to date, this particular fund does not appear to have become a reality and you cannot fail to speculate, that if such a fund was effected two or three years ago, that it may just have prevented the closure of some hotels, notably, Almond Beach Village. It brings back into focus, yet again, that while all sorts of possible aids to recovery are discussed, proclaimed and paraded in the media, ‘we’ dismally fail to implement potential solutions to the problems.

178 responses to “A Beleaguered Tourism Sector”

1. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Adrian Loveridge

I am still waiting for that list of places of interest and things to do across this island’s neglected, decaying tourism plant where tourises (purposely misspelt) can experience the rich experience that is BIM

@ AC

One evening does not a summer make. Translation, these sporadic shows with our superstar Rihanna, while superlatively represented, ARE NOT A SUSTAINED MARKETING CAMPAIGN!!!

Wunna does get tie up in fluff (another word for faeces) enveigled by the bacchanal of the moment, the fumes of Kadooment, right before the sobering lashes of 13.9.13

But then again this is the norm for Bajans, easily seduced by the fluff of the immediate moment, blinded by the inconsequential, totally fascinated by the pretty pattern of the single file they are permitted to wuk up and bend down and touch their ankles on, while at bird’s eye view, one sees the national rape we are all bending over and greasing our anuses for.

2. millertheanunnaki Avatar

Barbados is having some very good exposure and free promotion on the MSN UK web page featuring young Rihanna in all her beautiful glory on the streets of Barbados. Thanks MSN!

Well done, Rihanna, we enjoyed every minute of your beautiful presence in live and living colour.
    You are doing much in promoting the country of your birth if not of your career development. Rihanna, Babes, the UK gave you your first break on the international musical stage way back in 2005 and you have not looked back since.
    To those miserable hypocritical Bajans who think you are of no worth just tell them:
    “Diligunt me quis enim ego sum”.
    Maybe Amused can translate for those BU readers who are linguistically challenged like ac. (LOL!!)

PS: Ac, since you are imbibing, in high spirits, knowledge from tailing and being light on the miller these days have a pint on me and read the above gibberish as “Love me as I am”, seen?

3. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

ADRIAN LOVERIDGE

We are still waiting for total room stock St. Lucia as opposed to total room stock Barbados.

I for sure want to see how your numbers match up against mine.

4. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | August 6, 2013 at 8:22 AM |

You are in NO Position to demand answers from others.

When you are prepared to answer Observing(…) $64 million payroll adjustment query then you can demand anything under the tourism sun from Adrian or anyone else.

But for now, STFU and wait for answer in one week’s time.

5. When Carson is scarce it does not bode well, something is smelling………..ac, you are an anomaly.

6. @PODRYR……………..how do you know the campaign built around Rhiana is not sustainable.Where are your facts to suggest such. don,t you realise that everywhere she goes .she is selling barbados .even without mentioning the name. after all she is Barbadian. Did not jamaica use BOB marley to promote the image of Jamaica. speaking of sustainabilty he is dead but his name is still synonomous Jamaica.

7. AC why do peoples like you believe that other people and islands have to be envious of Barbados?? That is why the UGLY Bajan is becoming well known. The Jamaicans have Bob Marley even though he is no longer with us he left a legacy for Jamaica. It has put Jamaica on the world stage. The name Bob Marley is synonymous with Jamaica and reggae. Then you have the thunder bolt of track, the many former athletes who have put Jamaica on the world stage. So then Why would anyone be envious of Barbados? Yes Rhianna is putting Barbados on the world map and refreshing the image of Bim. But to be envious???? That is just what a new negro like you would say! And I am being polite!

8. @island gal where did i say that a country or anycountry would be enviuos of barbados however in your haste to be crtical u have reached that perceived concluision. So what if they are jealous your words not mine it only serves as a catalyst and motivates them to work harder like our Sister island is proving .After all maybe those factors u mentioned maybe a good thing.

9. @island gal where did i say that a country or anycountry would be enviuos of barbados

“Barbados must take full use of her. a lot of the other islands are green with envy only wishing that they were as fortunate,”

AC I must have misunderstood you when you made the above statement.

10. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Interesting reading. A report (An Analysis of the Tourism Sector in Barbados) prepared by DeLisle Worrell (and others) by the Central Bank of Barbados concluded:

Barbados in 2009 had 5,038 HOTEL beds (not rooms)

and that the average achieved hotel (room only) rate in 2010 was:

3 star – Barbados – US$117 – St. Lucia – US$143
    4 Star – Barbados US$166 – St. Lucia – US$213

Certainly does seem that St. Lucia is 30 years behind Barbados in achieved room rates!
    Again, to underscore these are NOT my figures, but the Central Bank of Barbados.

11. ac…………you had no credibility to begin with, now you have zero chance of ever knowing what to have credibility means. HA!!

12. From: John Emmanuel
    To: “Adrian LoveridgeCc: Date: Tue, 6 Aug 2013 16:05:22 +0000Subject: RE: Hotel Room Stock
    Hi Adrian,
    According to the latest info I have its 4,857.

Best,
    John Emmanuel                      
    Public Relations Manager
    Saint Lucia Tourist Board
    Sureline Building| Post Office Box 221 Castries | Saint Lucia

http://www.stlucia.org | http://www.stlucianow.com  | http://www.stluciajazz.org

13. @well! Well!………….them comments coming from u is like the cou-cou telling the stick how to turn meal….

14. ac………..look at the above post by David and see how St. Lucia embraces Barbados, cause we all are one. Draw down on the information and tips provided, put away envy and jealousy, it will be your downfall.

15. O.k island gal if u what to pick a few words to prove a point then be my guest. the context and referencing is that of Rhianna.. Yes most countries would be green with envy wishing they had such a golden opportuinty as that of having homegrown international star like Rhianna again nothing wrong with that. i am not speaking about one of hatred or revenge but one of competion.. you interpretation could not be further from the TRUTH.as a matter of fact i appaude those countries if they are.it is a stimulant

16. Well Well you blithering shut in idiot if you spent a bit of the time you waste researching Caribbean tourism you would find:
    – St. Lucia plagiarized every facet of Barbados’ tourism from the legislation to promotion strategies. So did other Caribbean states but not as slavishly as St. Lucia.
    -St. Lucia is a new destination compared to Barbados they shifted from bananas to tourism a quarter of a century after a tourist industry was established in Barbados hence Sealy’s 30 years behind is bang on target.
    – Numerous Barbadian tourism experts made bags of money money showing St. Lucia how to promote and develop tourism.
    – Most of the hotel managers in St. Lucia were Barbadians who brought their expertise.
    – The bulk of St. Lucia’s airlift depends on the Barbados connection if Barbados evaporates tomorrow so would St. Lucia’s tourism and airlift.
    – Adrian Loveridge is a proven failure without credibility kicked off Tourist Board directorship because he could not get along with anyone. He’s not a team player he is bent on harming Barbados.

17. I read of Carson describing persons as lightweights ….seems the heavyweights sinking the ship

18. As stated in an earlier comment the BTA can use Rihanna to bring awareness to the destination but to compare her to Marley and the Jamaica reggae movement is a joke.

On 6 August 2013 16:59, Barbados Underground

19. Barbados has a problem of attacking the person and not the issue.

20. The real issue is that Barbados has a negative demand problem ….we need to fix the demand side of the equation

21. Passing by……………so what’s wrong with sharing, why all the selfishness?? It is obviously working for St. Lucia and Barbados will benefit going down the road, I am not one for hating on anyone. Why don’t you sue St. Lucia for plagarism???

David Said:

David | August 6, 2013 at 1:12 PM |

As stated in an earlier comment the BTA can use Rihanna to bring awareness to the destination but to compare her to Marley and the Jamaica reggae movement is a joke.

On 6 August 2013 16:59, Barbados Underground

Rihanna does have her uses but trying to act like she can single handedly turn around tourism because in the minds of those who don’t think, she is the only artiste Barbados and the Caribbean ever had is a joke. She is young, she knows how to draw attention to herself and hopefully it will last longer so she and the island can benefit, but the other tourism players have to get on board and do some work.

22. It is time for the MoT and BTA to give taxpayers a report on the success or lack of the initiatives used by the Rihanna engagement to drive traffic and brand presence. Where the hell are the numbers? Tired of listening to the party hack blowing hot air out of their asses. If we are spending million we need to be able to scrutinize good analysis of the results to date.

23. Passing by…………………..i forgot to mention, St. Lucia insisted on being self sufficient with food security, they cannot starve, you can still walk on the road and grab a fig or green banana, a cocoa pod or mango, star apple, sugar apple………they don’t depend 99.99 percent on food imports, your government might want to learn a thing or two from them, trying to denigrate them will not make things right in Bim, move on.

24. Having starved BTA of good management and on time money we now expect great results?
    Time to understand the importance of good management to success. How many BTA staff have gone home in the past six years? Do you not get a plan first and then take action? How come we took action and now trying to put in place a plan? Reminds me of what was done a Pelican Village Craft Village where we put up buildings and then try to fit them into a marketing plan…..backward thinking

25. @Passing by | August 6, 2013 at 1:07 PM |

“St. Lucia plagiarized every facet of Barbados’ tourism from the legislation to promotion strategies. So did other Caribbean states but not as slavishly as St. Lucia.”

And pray tell us where did Barbados plagiarized their legislation and promotion strategies from?? (Bahamas? Hawaii?)

“Most of the hotel managers in St. Lucia were Barbadians who brought their expertise.”

And why are we still hearing that only foreigners get the position of Hotel managers in Barbados? And where did all these Bajan Hotel managers train (Bahamas/ Bermuda USA?)

“Numerous Barbadian tourism experts made bags of money money showing St. Lucia how to promote and develop tourism.”

And where are they today? Where did they hide those money bags?

“The bulk of St. Lucia’s airlift depends on the Barbados connection if Barbados evaporates tomorrow so would St. Lucia’s tourism and airlift.”

You are saying that LIAT is responsible for air lifting 45 persons a day to St. Lucia?? Have you ever heard of Hewanorra International Airport? And are you saying that if Barbados shuts down that St. Lucia’s Tourism will perish? And thanks to Barbados St. Lucia is surviving? How noble of you to point this out and that Bajans are a bunch of stinking ungrateful lying SOBS.

I wonder where your grandparents and your parents got their ground provisions from? Have you forgotten the Windjammers that brought food and fruit to feed your hungry family backside? You have a very short memory on the things you claim Barbados has done for St. Lucia.

26. Passing said:
    ” Numerous Barbadian tourism experts made bags of money money showing St. Lucia how to promote and develop tourism.
    – Most of the hotel managers in St. Lucia were Barbadians who brought their expertise.”

Passing…….i hope you understand what you wrote, if bajans are so expert in all things tourism and can sell their expertise, what is the problem in Bim?? yall are the ones complaining, not me, tourism is not my thing, too much dependency.

By the way, i was blessed to have relatives throughout the Caribbean just like everyone else from the Caribbean, i therefore spent enough time in St. Lucia to understand their dynamics, there is very little you can teach me about St. Lucia from the 70s coming forward, i love the island and wish them well, just like Bim.

27. This is what bothers me about Bajans, i remember when Selby of the Stella S fame, he had two vessels if i remember correctly and ferried endless food between St. Lucia, Barbados and the other islands in the 70s. It’s time to stop acting like Bim is the only rock floating in the Caribbean sea.

Hewannora has had international flights for more years than i can remember, the only problem i had with it was the drive from Vieuxfort to Castries, all the precipices and all that i am sure the tourists love, what a view.

28. I think that the publicity that Rihanna brought for Cropover was excellent, but I still question her use in an overall tourism marketing strategy, simply because her demographic is so far removed from those whom we are trying to attract. Regarding Graeme Hall and Allard, is a government so shallow as to throw away a national asset just because a PM is pissed-off with the owner? I think the expression is “shooting yourself in the foot”, and it shows how party politics is slowly destroying this country.

29. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Well Well. | August 6, 2013 at 1:21 PM |

“Passing by” referred to you as a “blithering shut in idiot”.
    This is his style. Expect him to attack the miller in similar fashion as he has done in the past.
    But what can be said to peripatetic pathetic jingoistic asshole is that it takes not a passerby but a permanent resident hermit of a shut-in to know another shut-in.
    What he has openly not revealed is that St. Lucia is also learning from the mistakes Barbados has made and is still making.
    Also it needs to be asked of him if these smartass Bajans tourism gurus, that ‘developed’ the St. Lucian industry to the point where it is outperforming their own homegrown brand, have left or abandoned Barbados. Where are they in their country’s hour of need?

Ask him if Barbados is so creatively forward and advanced why does this country rely so heavily on foreign consultants to advise the smart officials on how to even clean the bloody streets.

Nearly every political institution from Parliament to public services like, Education Health and the NIS is modeled after the English system. There is nothing creatively Bajans about them.
    Barbados is the biggest mimic of the English way of pretense and even that they can’t get right.

So what is wrong if St. Lucia “copied” something that been handed down by people who knew what they were doing?
    “Passing by”, en passant, do you remember a Tourism Minister by the name of Peter Morgan? Where was he from? Rachel Pringle whore house or Harry’s Nitery?

The pen, solid fool, is mightier than the sword.
    So come and attack miller, he is ready and armed to the hilt.

30. Miller…………all water running off my back, did some trifling programmed nutcase not call me some type of **** this morning, not even conscious that call a spade had an agenda and got side swiped early in the game, i don’t let the distractions of words deter me………and i know you are the same way.

31. Miller……………..as i said this morning on another thread, if the information is not coming out of the anal cavities of the vatican, buckingham palace or the english legal system, in their minds it does not exist, ask any lawyer in Barbados, they are the biggest programmed idiots i have come across, they are so plugged in and not ready to be unplugged, if they are unplugged, they cannot function, will have to think for themselves, and as it stands right now others think for them and they have to consistently repeat words written for them hundreds of years ago, that’s how they survive, cannot do it without their plugin.

Peter Morgan used to have his bajan slaves, i mean his maids, heating all the utensils if any whites were invited to dinner at his home, and that was still pretty recent, just before he was planted, at least now it’s one less stain to deal with on the island.

32. @Passing By…I just pooped you out and you smell like rotten onions!

Smelly Welly…..please cease and desist from making erroneous statements about people you know nothing about. Peter Morgan was one man who loved Barbados more than most Bajans. If Barrow didn’t believe in him he would never have gotten the job as Tourism Minister. You sound envious about the maids warming up the plates, don’t you have anyone to warm yours? By the way in any good eating establishment the plates are always heated.

33. Island, Programmed and Trifling…………… what eating establishment i spoke about, if you were one of his maids at his home you would say the same thing, ask the maids who were there and had to put up with his nasty boorish racism. By the way, you don’t know what or who i know and never will.

34. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

‘Peter’s (Morgan) career is extraordinary, and so is the history of Barbados during this period. For a country which was more than 90 per cent black to elect as its representative, a white Englishman is without precedent, but it shows that Barbadians are not only tolerant but fair minded; and are prepared, on special occasion, to elect some they trust regardless of racial background’. From Bridging the Gap, compiled by Harold Hoyte.
    As someone who had the privilege of dining at Clifton Hall with Peter and Margaret Morgan, Sir George and Lady Moe and Sir Frederick and Lady Smith, I would have been truly honoured to heat any utensils.
    And before anyone turns this into a cheap party political thing, over the precious few years that I knew Peter, we never discussed politics, just the subject we both loved above all, tourism.
    We really have to pay more respect to outstanding persons who have made such a great contribution to this country.

35. Last year, TIME named Rihanna one of the 100 Most Influential People in the world.

36. @ac
    And?

How dies the TIMES define influential?

37. http://media2.intoday.in/indiatoday/images/stories//2013june/rihanna-story_060813105131.jpg

this is a new ad and I have counted more than one hundred international papers covering this story,,, well duh,,, BU

38. David | August 6, 2013 at 5:17 PM |

And?

How dies the TIMES define influential?

the same way they define ophray winfery and other notables who have contributed to society in different ways,

39. Minister of Tourism and International Transport, the Honourable Richard Sealy, said:

“The decision of Royal Caribbean International to include Barbados on the itinerary for ‘Quantum of the Seas’ is one that we have been working diligently to bring to a successful conclusion. It represents a clear statement of the strength of the relationship between Royal Caribbean and Barbados. It should inspire confidence in the cruise industry specifically and tourism generally. It means that we will experience tremendous increases in our numbers and along with other initiatives produce expanded economic opportunities for Barbadians.”

40. In other words you do not know.

Perhaps it has to do with how 5 TIMES Editors view her impact in her chosen career?

Note that hacker Anonymous was on the TIMES 2012 list.

41. btw David our cruise arrivals were up by 6 % while our sister island was down by 3% how is that possible with everything being so over the top there and glamorous … maybe u can get Adrian input on those numbers.

What is there to understand by the word “Influential” very simple to me. Oh! the Hacker he was on the Times some might say for a good reason, The public right to know who are invading their privacy , Maybe Snowden might be this year, However when u look at the positive, publicity that Barbados benefits from Rhianna being on the Times most influential it is huge. There is a saying No such thing as bad Publicity.

42. @ac

Keep cheery picking the numbers and BU will keep burning the fire under the asses of our tourism officialnados. After years of decline there is no place to go but up.

43. like you I go to the source, hey u cherry picked USA leaving all other statics out, So!

44. millertheanunnaki Avatar

Heard Irene Sandiford-Garner, Parliamentary Sec in the Ministry of Tourism and International Transport, saying that the island is being promoted as a “green eco-friendly” destination where the heavy use of fossil based fuels would be a thing of the past.

She must b told to stop putting the cart before the horse. You cannot talk about a green eco-friendly destination before the young plants are properly nurtured to produce green leaves.
    When she can get her administration to ensure those public transport vehicles stop belching black smoke all over the place, reduce their noise levels and the place is not generally littered with plastic and muck in the gutters then she can talk about promoting Barbados as an eco-friendly destination with real green credentials to prove it.

Let her use Bermuda as a standard to aspire to or even the Barbados of yesteryear when people took care of their surroundings and pride in the environment.

45. when Barbados starts to get the unused empty lots cleared, something done about unfinished buildings that are falling down, persons stop throwing used food boxes out of their vehicles, then we would have started to move towards greening Barbados. By the way, if the police in St.Lucia sees someone throwing things out of their vehicle, it is an immediate fine.

46. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

ADRIAN LOVERIDGE

Comparing yourself with Peter Morgan is like comparing apples with oranges.

47. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

ADRIAN LOVERIDGE

“we never discussed politics, just the subject we both loved above all, tourism.”

Is it just me or are you inferring that Peter borrowed
    tourism “ideas” from you?

48. Carson C. Cadogan | August 5, 2013 at 3:00 PM |

PM Freundel Stuart is the easiest PM in the world.

———————————-
    He is also the worst Prime Minister.

A woman in the Nation say that she–WOULD NEVER VOTE FOR HE AGAIN—-LOL LOL LOL L OL LOL LO L L L OOLL , LOL

49. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | August 6, 2013 at 7:29 PM |
    “Is it just me or are you inferring that Peter borrowed tourism “ideas” from you?”

Yes just you, CCC a reliable sign of paranoid schizophrenia.
    You are the type of personality that can be described succinctly as a conveniently confusing opportunistic racist.

Haven’t you yet figured out that both the living Adrian Loveridge and the departed Peter Morgan are both Englishmen belonging to a race that you despise with the blackest venom?

Two manifestations at work here CCC. One is xenophobia and the other is racist self-hate. You present both in your mix up moronic syndrome.

We have a question fuh ya, CCC, we got a question fuh ya:
    Do you still hate Adrian the Foreigner with the same venom you love Peter the white Englishman?

Leave a Reply to islandgal246Cancel reply