Submitted by Charles Knighton
Should the money spent on sex education be re-allocated?

Having harboured a long-standing belief that the time, effort and costs associated with government and/or NGO supported education programs designed to modify negative or dangerous human behaviour mainly serves as a means of employment for the various program facilitators, it was heartening to learn, beginning two or three years ago, that the rate of new cases of HIV infection had begun to decline as the effects of educating people in safe-sex practices had borne fruit.

Now, though, we seem to be faced with a conundrum, as the Chief Medical Officer has taken to both print and visual media to warn of an alarming spike in cases of syphilis. As we are all aware of how this infection is transmitted, claims for the efficacy of safe-sex education go out the window. Importantly, eliminating this red herring in the reported decline of HIV infection should provide an impetus for researchers to discern the proximate cause for this phenomenon.

Finally, could not the monies expended on such seemingly futile educational campaigns such as NISE or anti-littering or safe driving or anti-marijuana or healthier eating and safe-sex practices be put to more constructive uses?

67 responses to “HIV Infections Dip, Syphilis Contractions Spike – the Irony!”

1. Lawson this thread is rather infectious ..so be careful you don’t get caught. LOLLL

2. @ Pat …please keep your vital statistics in a safe with the key where no one can find it. LOLL

3. @ lawson

You really mek me think that you do not think! Instead of trying to insult and put down the good Dr. and cast aspersions at me, why did you not ask a few questions… for instance, if you think 180 is heavy, you could have asked, have you always been this weight? have you lost any weight? are you losing or going to lose any weight? Is your Dr. (the vet) happy with this weight, etc. etc.

By the way, I am a fairly tall, big boned lady. People looking at me think I am 150 and my freinds say not to lose anymore, (yea, I was heavier, way, way, heavier). In fact, I wear a size 10-12. Twelve tops and ten bottoms. So, you see, the joke is pun you. I also agree with the good Dr…..wasted education $$$$

@Islandgal246

Hypocrite? Can you prove I am a hypocrite? when my vital statistics reach 36-26-36, I will surely let you know. ha, ha, ha!

4. “when my vital statistics reach 36-26-36, I will surely let you know. ha, ha, ha!”

There is nothing wrong in dreaming Pat…Dream on LOLLL

5. @islandgal246

at nearly 70 years old, dreaming is one of me favourite pleasures. I suppose if I went on HRT, I may get back there, but then at almost 6 feet, I would be like skin an bones. besides, old, bony, black wimmen ain suh attractive. In these climes we need to keep a layer under the skin. Just ask the good Dr.

6. WHY dont you ease off the sex thing
    Too much of anything is always a problem/ Sex is for producing children. The main reason for sex. not all the kinky sadistic behaviour of a lot of crazy -ass ignorant people not able to control their desires.

7. Pat I find it hard to believe you are Canadian as you have not ended every sentence with eh. You again claim PG is your doctor yet the vet you never met claims nyet. By size 10/12 are you referring to shoes, and if people think you are 150 ….you should stay out of the sun. Trust me I am not insulting you just trying to make a few laughs, when my education is made fun of no problem, the only way I was getting to university was in a jar. But when a SY-Philistine takes me to task I will not smite him with the jawbone of a doctor but the occasional barb

8. @ lawson,

Where did I claim he was MY Dr.? Comprehension problems?
    Yes Lawson, the size 12 tops are hats and the size 10 bottoms shoes. You do understand somethings, eh? My congratulations!!

When I am on this blog, I am Bajan to de bone. by the way, there is nothing wrong with having fun, but this is a serious thread. Barbados has a high incidence of HIV infections and is the “supposedly” amputation capital of the world as a result of UNCONTROLLED diabetes. Think about it Lawson before you make fun of an old woman like me and a Dr. who is trying to help his people. For your information, weight is only one indicator and does NOT indicate good health. My neighbour’s daughter weighs 190 and is like a scarecrow. Her collar and hip bones stick out. She has no boobs and less butt, is 5 feet,10 inches, and looks like 120 pounds.

@ DR. GP:
    I like the word LAKH, it is Hindee, is it not? like two lakh rupees? Are you sure all the bloggers will understand that word? I know Bushtea, old onions and the miller will, but will Lawson, for instance? Very good slides as usual.

By the way, when I was in the teaching profession in the 60’s, we had to take our senior students to see a MOE film at the Plaza or Empire on veneral diseases. It was called “Devil in the Flesh”. It was very graphic, I was young and have never forgotten it. Talk about half rotten penises, vaginas with large oozing sores, etc. The only face saver was that ALL the subjects were white. If they were black, I dont think I could have watched. They also talked about the Wasserman test after the movie. some Dr. of MOE official, dont remember, that was 50 years ago.

9. THE DR YOU SPEAK OF MIGHT HAVE BEEN VAUGHN WELLS OR MAURICE BYER
    THESE GUYS WERE REAL STALWARTS IN DEVELOPING PUBLIC HEALTH IN BIM.

I USED THIS PPT IN MY MICROBIOLOGY COURSE LAST YEAR
    I PUT IT UP MY PPTS ON BU FOR FOLK LIKE YOU, HANTS AND THE FEW OTHERS WHO CARE TO READ ABOUT THESE MATERS.

I HOPE THAT MY CRITICS WILL NOTE THE STRUCTURE
     Primary
     Secondary
     Latent
     Tertiary
     Congenital Syphilis

THE SEQUENCE OR FLOW OF PRESENTING THE MATERIAL AND
    THE SUBSTANCE OR HOW THE OUTLINE OR STRUCTURE IS FLESHED OUT WITH RELEVANT FACTS DETAIL AND ILLUSTRATIONS.

10. Pat I will have to take your word that you are a poor old lady, however that being said …”The only face saver is the subjects were white.”…not to old to get a little racist though. Maybe you should ask the Doc where he got all his info …. maybe the Tuskegee trials. Scandalous how they were treated but no harm in using information no matter how it was collected .But as you have said this is a serious subject so check out the kadooment videos and tell me how this disease is making the rounds eh

11. @ GP
    Sorry for you if you expect Bajans to appreciate anyone calling for high standards and PRIDE in the things that we do. Ours have become an “any-thing-goes” society – where the most crude forms of mediocracy are acceptable and any hint of basic action is taken as genius….
    You checked out our examples of “creativity” in culture this (and every) Crap Over?

100% shiite songs with ZERO creativity, very limited lyrical content, piss poor structure and no taste.

NOT A SINGLE uplifting composition about love, or family, or growth, or community……ALL about humping bumpers, winning, jamming, drinking “drinks”, eating bacon …..and condense condense condense..

We have institutionalized mediocracy to the point of art…

Hundreds and hundreds of mostly sloppy looking, mostly naked revelers actually and literally “doing the dog” along the public road is the epitome of our main cultural festival…and the Minister announced it to be a great success….

Brass Bowlery is what it is….

In such a context, the writings of our friend is indeed a refreshing attempt….
    Your expectations of an Introduction, Structure, Sequence, and Conclusion may therefore be unrealistic, given the local environment….the poor chap is constrained by being in Rome and having to ‘do’ appropriately….

One of the things this country suffers BADLY from, is a lack of persons of your ilk, who are bombastic enough to call a spade a spade and to put morons in their proper place……………..but don’t expect the morons to understand or appreciate that fact 🙂

12. BUSHTEA

OBVIOUSLY I HAVE BEEN AWAY MUCH TOO LONG OR/ AND THINGS HAVE GONE DOWN HILL REAL REAL FAST

OR I HAVE LEFT SCHOOL TOO LONG AGO

BUT I GUESS YOU ARE CORRECT BECAUSE NO ONE SEEMS TO UNDERSTAND THAT YOU ANSWERED THE MAN’S SO CALLED” IRONY” IN YOUR FIRST POST

13. @ ac
    Now that your man has run off to Arizona, don’t you think you should start going to church and get saved, or get another (foolish) man, or join a Lions Club or something…. ANYTHING but hang around BU looking for someone to notice you…?

HUSH!

14. Face it GP…
    You are OLD!

15. LOL

16. bush tea whats your problem DOC,

17. Why are you calling Bushie “DOC”….you looking to make Pachamamma light in bushie’s tail now nuh…?

Bushie has no problem….wish we could say the same for you…you ain’t got nothing better to do at this time of night…?

Leave a Reply to lawsonCancel reply