Submitted by Equal Rights & Justice
John Nurse
Superintendent John Nurse

I for one believe, if the government of Barbados has something to do concerning the workers of the public service they should do so for the with full transparency, and not this cloak and dagger style we have become accustomed to. I for one do not know which set of workers are next but the Barbados Prison Service is first out of de box as it seems to be.

Today the 23rd of July a meeting was held at H.M.P Doods for 158 temporary workers who were employed between 2005-2009. They were told they all have to re-apply for the post of prison officer by the 9th of August, mind you they are at least two bank holidays before that deadline. They were informed that they are 37 appointments, 47 temporary positions and all the rest would have to be subs; when did goverment know this?

At the end of the meeting people had to seek medical attention, the shock was too much to bear for some when told by the superintendent and his deputy that they could not fight for them. If this plan is to bear fruit we could see a grossly undermanned H.M.P and a breach of security seeing that it takes X amount of staff to efficiently run H.M.P. It can be said as times get harder for Bim that the prison population is expected to rise, can the days of an understaffed Glendairy be seen to be about to happen at Dodds?

128 responses to “Barbados Prison Officers Under Fire!”

1. Alvin…………Noel Coward, if it’s the same one of Alexander’s fame, died some months ago.

2. Alvin…………..not the same Noel, that would be Charles, you are correct, the ‘jews’ and Irish had a lot of plantations in Jamaica during slavery.

3. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Prodigal Son | July 24, 2013 at 2:51 PM |
    “Isn’t strange how this PM who used to spout so much racist language when he was a senator and a MP, sits or sleeps and is allowing the same thing he preached against to happen now that he is in charge?”

Yes the same man that the miller “outed” as a blatant liar and highfaluting hypocrite early on in the camouflage of deceit he tried to cover himself with. His attempts to project an image of a clean and honest man of high integrity and competence could have only been swallowed gullibly by idiots like ac.

He ‘back-bit’ OSA with his truncated note of deceit and failed to keep his promise to David Estwick in return for his dynamic performance and genuine support during the last elections.

He is a real fumbling idiot for a man who is a totally genuine fake and richly deserving of the nick name Mr. Fakespeare as he was dubbed by islandgal.

This blithering dithering fool who makes Mr. Magoo looks like an Einstein has allowed more damage to be done to the economy of this little country than could a thousand Hiroshima type nuclear bombs dropped on it or even than a direct hit by an asteroid equivalent to 400 million times the body size of Stinkliar.

He will go down in this nation’s history as the worst PM this country could ever had.
    What have the people of this former paradise done to deserve this kind of punishment?
    “Quem deus vult perdere, dementat prius!” As a two-bit make-believe cognoscenti of the classics Mr. Fakespeare should be well aware of the serious message hidden in that statement. The signs are beginning to show as he ponders about the size, composition and configuration of his Cabinet of toy soldiers and dysfunctional wooden puppets.

4. u guys are such a bunch of empty head c..ts that a topic about the prison systems and a its relation to employment and the nations security was bushwacked by the likes of a degenerate miller and lick mout WEll and unwell! followed by that boy an wayward child prodigal .just to think that this kind of mentality is alive and well in the BLP and an country was once driven by the same mentality .Overall the same mentality with the same ability to compound and confuse and issue,

5. @Equal Rights and Justice

Thanks for the clarification. The yardfowl brigade have not read your submission to understand the real issue. Caswell better than anyone posting here understands what is happening here. Certainly better than those getting it from the newspapers.

6. @ Alvin the chipmunk…did I hear the DLP promise the people anything less than a preparation for difficulties because of the worldwide ‘recession, the worse in almost a hundred years” which they kept talking about incessantly.
    That is a lie, plain and simple.
    First of , the DLP won the 08 elections based on a felling that the BLP were corrupt and tired. Plain and simple.
    Second, if then the DLP were preparing us, why in Dec 2008, David Thompson were urging people to go out and purchase for the Christmas holidays, just to keep businesses turning over. That is not proper preparation for an economic crisis.
    Thirdly why was there a “wait and see” approach to the economy as a preparation for such a crisis.
    Hogwash, maybe they were still having the koolaid that all the idiots swallowed in believing that the immigration clapdown was going to soften the impact of the economic blow when in fact , it created a bigger mess.

7. Advanced Level Brass Bowlery!

Look Miller, Bushie raised this with you before. You feel that you is some kind of psychological bully trying to force Bajan brass bowls into a political corner…..but that level 1 psychology can only work on the likes of Sinckler and Fruendy.

Th BLP and DLP BOTH promised to keep Bajans “in work” or to put “money in their pockets” for the last election.

A N Y O N E who believed in that talk from any politician at that time DESERVES to have their ass fired now. OBVIOUSLY that was for the EXPRESS purpose of getting elected! NOTHING ELSE!

Shiite man, you never did want a little something from a girl and promised her all the good gifts in the world, including your eternal love…?
    …WELL only women does believe such things OK?

Stop with this childish shit about DLP promise no layoffs….

There are a whole bunch of unproductive brass bowls bout here that NEED to have their asses laid off….needed it for years now.
    Don’t mind Caswell.

A lot of jokers bout here seem to feel that a salary is a human right, but “it is by the sweat of a man’s brow that he should eat” …not by sponging off the public purse.

What the jokers in political power NEED to do is use this opportunity to lay off UNPRODUCTIVE jokers, BUT… keep (and even RECRUIT more of ) those who are prepared to work hard and be productive.

But who would expect such logic from an island of bowls of brass…

8. But Bushie you know that this is the point, the lie, the charade, the reason why many voted for D. The promise of secured jobs…lol. Is there such a thing?

9. alvin cummins Avatar

@Caswell
    I looked up the Public Service Act, 2001 as you recommended and have decided to post the relevant section on this blog for the information of other bloggers, who can judge for themselves what I have said. If I was talking foolishness I bow to Millers diagnosis of senility as the cause. In Part 3 of the act Section 13 says that: (1) The Minister may by order: (a) Establish offices in the Pyblic Service (b) Determine the number of persons who may be appointed to offices (c) Prescribe the qualifications for the posts (d) Determine the emoluments to be attached to these offices.While subsection 6 provides for temporary offices whoto which persons have been atttached for 3 years or more to be declared public offices, it goes on to say that Subsection shall not apply to temporary offices that were created in respect of specific projects and the determination as to whether a temporary office is a project office shall be made by the Minister responsible for the Public Service.
    How much does that differ from what I said?Except that it spells out in greater detail the power of the Minister to determine what constitutes temporary appointments, and the power to determine thereby when a temporary position ceases to be such.

10. @ David
    lol. Is there such a thing
    In the minds of brass bowls…there is!

11. alvin cummins Avatar

@Caswell, slight typographical error corrected before you jump on me, I meant to type Public service Act 2007 not 2001 Also “Subsection 5 shall not apply…”.

12. miller and other yardfowls want to form the agenda ,no matter how hard they try. the message has only resonate among themselves had not for a forum such as BU , Nobody body would give a rats a.ss about what they saying… Who de hell ever heard of any of them…there frigging house is falling to the ground yet miller find enough time to rag on PM. hey guys take a good look at your leader in the BLP party . SHE was one Time officially fired and handed a NO CONFIDENCE VOTE at the hands of the defunct leader,, ,.

13. Is it possible to discuss the issues as presented for a change?

The same boorish BS everyday?

The government is in a pickle at the moment and as Sir Frank suggested a couple weeks ago the government (PM) needs to lead a meaningful conversation with Barbadians. A government is not some pie in the sky standalone configuration. It is an embodiment of the people in what it intends to achieve.

14. alvin cummins Avatar

@Maggadog, No one in the world expected to recession to last as long as it did. You can’t deny this.Even Canada that rode the waves of the recession are now begining to feel its effects. Canada GDP rose by 0.1 % the first quarter of this year.

15. David if the bog deteriorates from a certain level or standard you have nobody to blame but yourself cause you blindly close your eyes to the never ceasing attacks by the BLP yardfowls until the the Dlp responds with equal vitriol. if you want this foolishness to stop . Stop it when it begins cause NOBODY gonna sit by and be demeaned by any one person not even their mother,

Now the issue that the BLP and others are consistently raising without clarity is one of Public sector jobs , one which is unfounded as in their haste to reach the finish line they are kicking up plenty dust which has clouded the issue in defiance laced with fiery atttitude and contempt of what is Factual. iN Augustr this would be put to rest but in the meantime talk and debate should continue and speculation and perception thrown out the window
    Caswell for example raised the Red flag of 3.ooo thousand workers being laidoff that was a lantant boldfaced lie out of the pit of hell.Guess what everybody starting kicking that can down the road,,,,When that ceases to resonate ,, a few weeks later another yardfowl would pick up the baton put in the paper and sell it as gospel. well people tired of hearing the same sh..t coming from the BLP and until august comes around what they say mean nothing .,

16. Prodigal Son

Not long ago, you were a member of that inept corrupt government (BLP). Remember? Do you remember? They bumped you for Dale Marshall. Remember? Do you remember? Must have done something they didn’t like. You for some reason have remained a loyal die hard BLP fan.

17. Alvin……..the big question in the here and now, not 20….15…..14…..or 7 years ago is does the DLP have a workable plan to turn the economy around and save jobs without cutting either hours, salaries or individual jobs?? dancing around the issue and not telling the taxpayers the truth will not cut it, the taxpayers still have to pay politicians salaries regardless.

18. Alvin…….i will excuse you, but i thought the other DLPites would be falling over themselves to answer me.

19. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea | July 24, 2013 at 4:18 PM |
    “There are a whole bunch of unproductive brass bowls bout here that NEED to have their asses laid off….needed it for years now”

Poor man, the pressure is beginning to get to you too, nah?
    Of all the people to talk about psychological pressure look what the brass bowl Bushie gone and said? Your BBE must be hanging its head in total shame to hear its evangelical servant reneging on his fervent Pentecostal type preaching of the end is nigh, prepare for the return of the BBE.

But I like the overall point you are driving at.
    Get rid of the bunch of unproductive brass bowls. Sounds like a ringing endorsement of Privatization and the much feared layoffs you once denounced as a recipe for social disaster and political suicide.

Bushie we all know you are a man who likes to hold your leaders to high standards and expect them to always lead by example (remember Jeff Broomes and the AX affair?).
    Let us hear you call in true brass bowl fashion on the PM your friend to lead by example and get rid of some of those unproductive brass bowls that are just taking up room in his Cabinet. You could start with Stinkliar, Darcy Boyce, Jepter Ince, Harry Husbands and even Todd.

Be a true brass bowl of a man of true psychological warfare and for once stand up for what you believe in but not only when the shoe is on the other man’ foot.

20. Observing(...) Avatar
    Observing(…)

@alvin
    “No one in the world expected to recession to last as long as it did”

Not true.
    Also, your interpretation of the act re. temp positions and Ministerial power is flawed, if not potentially illogical.

You are consistent. I applaud you. Admiring you however is a bit of a challenge.

@david
    A+ for effort. Lol.

@all
    What happened to the need. For the 74 other temp positions? Has that disappeared? What’s the statuatory definition of a “sub”?

This is just an example of how the $66M will eventually trimmed. A necessary “evil” and one that should be exercised with franknenss and candour rather than silence and stealth.

Just Observing.

21. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

O Christ Alvin, I said refer to subsections 13 (7) & (11) ! What nonsense you telling me about 1 & 6?

22. @ observing(-)

it is equally as challenging to listen and followed the poppy cock daily given as FACT, by the BLP ,, for e,g no one in the BLP would readily admit that the recession has impacted Barbados, NO one ! absolutely NO ONE! and on the other side of the coin is this ongoing mantra of gloom and doom. NOW If the BLP yard fowls going to talk about lies they need to be honest and say yes the ongoing recession has been a downside for the Barbados economy. IF then who else who to blame for the problems but then. I don’t give two hoots as to whether any one Likes agree or understaned me, I belive that when people speak they must tell TRUTH before asking the same from of others and the millers and other fowlcocks have been the leading antagonist and bastardisation of all that is TRUTH.
    So far the BLP malcontents have said or done nothing that would make me want to say anything good or even want to have them back in POWER.
    There are evil matadors in Propaganda and misinformation. no 1 EXHIBIT being CASWELL,

23. Owen Arthur recently in the Bahamas offered them advice on VAT and the Bahamans were not impressed. The Weblog Bahamas on 07/20/2013 reported said statement: “I must admit it galls me a bit a politician that has left his country [Barbados] and citizens with debt and taxes up the wazoo would consider giving advice that we should follow his lead”.

24. Look……….neither party believed the recession could affect Barbados and publicly said so, they were being warned since between 2004 and 2006 about what is likely to befall the island, while other countries took advice these know-it-alls cussed the messengers, both parties thought they had a lock on tourism and good times, that is why i would not put any stock into what either of them says, they display arrogance at mind-boggling levels.

25. That should read:

Both parties were warned between 2004 and 2009 about what was likely to befall the island.

26. @Observing (…)

We have some hard heads here even at this dire stage. Let it burn.

27. Prison workers in Barbados, quite a few will soon be removed from payroll. What’s going on? That’s a simple question, but the answer is just as simple.

The S&P during a better economic climate had downgraded Barbados three times before 2008. Richard Francis, an S&P associate in 2005 interviewed with the Daily Nation from his Wall Street office and stated that the [Barbados] deficit of ten per cent was “much too high” and the debt level of between 43 and 50 per cent of Gross Domestic Product (GDP), although less than a half of Jamaica’s and is even smaller than St Kitts-Nevis’, was unacceptable and should be reduced if the island were to maintain its high credit rating. Francis, further stated that the S&P worried about the Barbados deficit which he said should jump even more. Barbados credit rating before the 2008 general election won by David Thompson and the DLP was sliding down hill. Barbados before 2008 was not financially sound. Three S&P downgrades proves this. Government according to Clyde Mascoll is flat broke, all in the red, but government before 2008, before entrance of Thompson and the DLP was not financially stable. Three S&P downgrades prove this.

28. All that proof is more the reason neither political party nor any politician from across the divide cannot now pretend they did not know what was on the horizon for Barbados in the form of financial chaos, neither political party did anything to arrest the developing mess and both parties would now pretend that this happened over night, no it did not, it was gradual and happened over an extended period of more than 8 years…….they can fool their yardfowls and no one else.

29. Alvin Cummins Avatar

Establishment of Offices
    13. (1) The Minister may by Order
    (a) establish offices in the Public Service;
    (b) determine the number of persons who may be appointed to those offices;
    (c) prescribe the qualifications to be possessed by persons appointed to those offices; and
    (d) determine the emoluments to be attached to those offices.
    (2) An Order made under subsection (1) may contain such incidental, consequential and supplemental provisions as the Minister thinks necessary or expedient for giving full effect to the Order, including provisions
    (a) for the making of such modifications as may be expedient, in any enactment regulating the number of offices in respect of which, or the number of office-holders in respect of whom, salaries may be paid; or
    (e) relating to the appointment, powers, duties, rights and liabilities of any officer holding any office specified in an Order.
    (3) Subject to subsection (4), an Order made under subsection (1) shall be subject to affirmative resolution.
    (4) Subsection (3) shall not apply to any Order that relates to the qualifications required in respect of the offices in the Public Service.
    (5) Subject to subsection (6), all temporary offices in the Public Service that
    Establishment of offices.
    (a) were created as temporary offices; and
    (b) have been in existence for 3 or more years at the date of the commencement of this Act,
    are hereby established as public offices in the Service.
    (6) Subsection (5) shall not apply to temporary offices that were created in respect of a specific project; and the determination as to whether a temporary office is a project office shall be made by the Ministry responsible for the Public Service.
    (7) Any person who, at the commence of this Act,
    (a) is not appointed to the Public Service;
    (b) has been employed.
    (i) in a temporary office;
    (ii) in an established office; or
    (iii) in a combination of a temporary and an established office,
    for not less than 3 years immediately before the
    commencement of this Act, and
    (c) has the qualifications required by the Civil Establishment (Qualifications) Order for appointment to that office or to an office in a similar grade,
    shall be entitled to be appointed to that office or an office of a similar grade with effect from the date of the commencement of this Act; and shall be treated as being so appointed.
    (8) Where, on the date of the commencement of this Act a vacancy exists in an established office and the person who occupies the office has been acting for a period not less than 3 years immediately before the commencement of this Act and is qualified by virtue of the Civil Establishment (Qualifications) Order to be appointed to the office and there is no other person whose qualifications render that person more suitable for appointment, the person shall be entitled to be appointed to the office.
    (9) Where as a consequence of an appointment referred to in subsection (8) any other office that is established becomes vacant, each person who has acted in such an office and who satisfies the criteria set out in subsection (8) shall be entitled to be appointed to the office in which he has acted or an office of a similar grade.
    S.I. 2001
    No. 121
    S.I.

30. Alvin…………..where is 11??

31. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@Observing. I did not draft the legislation so I copied it for you and others from the act itself. And Cas well section 13 that you referred to contains 1 and 7 buit it also contains section 6 which has in the exclusion I referred to . The copy from the Act is there for you to see. You conveniently refer to the section dealing with appointment 9the expectation) after a number of years but you also conveniently refused to include the exclusionary section so I included it for your and others; like observing, miller et al so that all of you can peruse it.
    The entire act was too big to be downloaded on my ancient computer. Anyone can go to the act itself on google or yahoo,

32. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@Caswell the legislation is now here on the blog. as I said before :Legitimate “expectation” does not confer a “right”. Thus people who try to give temporary employees that though they are temporary that entitles them to a permanent position are giving these people a false sense of security. Temporary is temporary not perman [er,mantnt.

33. The Latest CLICO forensic report is on the FSC website
    http://www.fsc.gov.bb/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=89

I haven’t looked at it yet.

Enjoy

34. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@Well Well
    You asked about subsection 11 , here it is.
    ct.
    (11) No established office in the Public Service shall be allowed to remain vacant for a period of more than one year except
    (a) permission to allow the vacancy is granted by the Governor-General on the advice of the Service Commission; or
    (b) the office has been frozen by the Minister.
    (12) For the purposes of subsection (11), “frozen” in relation to an office means that the office is one that the Minister determines ought not to be filled.
    (13) Where an officer to whom this section refers is prejudiced by the operation of this section in respect of an appointment to an office by virtue of the provisions of this section, the Governor-General may appoint the officer to an office the appointment of which results in the remedying of the prejudice.
    14. (1) Subject to subsection (2), the Minister may create temporary offices in the Public Service for a period of not more than 3 years.
    (2) The Minister may extend the duration of a temporary office beyond the initial period for which it was created
    (a) where the office was created for the implementation of a specific project and the project extends beyond the period for which the office was created, the extension shall be for the period required to complete the project; or
    (b) in any case other than that mentioned in paragraph (a), for a further period that does not exceed 3 years beyond the initial period.
    (3) Where the Minister is satisfied, either during the existence of a temporary office or at the end of the period for which it
    Creation and establishment of temporary offices
    was created, that it is necessary that the office be established, the Minister shall make an order for the establishment of the office.

35. Say it isn't so Avatar
    Say it isn’t so

Alvin
    So you mean all the promises make around elections time was pure LIES?
    I still can distinctly hear the words.” No lay offs” din hear the words permanent or casual or temporary.What’s next nah?.the bus riding pensioner being told she has to pay up a lil sumthing.or will it be privatization by a new name” we found a buyer” for the TB his name is Kiffin

36. LOL @ Miller
    No wonder you like to tussle with ac, you are about as logical as she is… probably the same menopause thingie… (you got a fan…?)

Look Miller, as said before ..only a silly little girl would have believed the promises made by politicians leading up to the last elections so please stop that nonsense…. (if you listened to Onions sweet mouth and give away the thing, just take a deep breath and move on…. stop complaining that he had promised to marry you… Onions promised ’bout 87 foolish girls since he was in 3D 🙂 )

What do you not understand about MERITOCRACY? …where people who ACTUALLY are productive are well paid and those who are not are UNEMPLOYED..and provided with welfare?

Of COURSE a lotta big boys will fall into the category of unproductive – including YOU no doubt, so you bound to have issues with Bushie’s plan…

LOL … your ONLY problem with the status quo is that your gang is currently not the ones screwing the brass bowls…

BTW
    ..your continued harping on ‘privatization’ is becoming irritating too…. THE PROBLEM IS NOT PRIVATIZATION OR STATE CONTROL, IT IS INEPT LEADERSHIP, MANAGEMENT, caused by PARASITES of your political ilk.

CASE IN POINT
    Your government creates a situation where you legislate the low fares that ZR men can charge customers to use THEIR OWN bus, while allowing Canadian and Trickidadian banks to charge the same poor people WHATEVER THE HELL THEY LIKE to withdraw their own money….

what privatization what?!
    …that is just a convenient mechanism for your gang of politicians to collect bribes in the form of ‘political contributions’….whereas with the Transport Board etc wunna does actually have to ‘work’ to thief we money via insurance scams etc…

If is was up to Bushie you would be ’bout the 30th person laid off on August 10… 🙂 ..yuh could come and join the bushman in retirement… LOL

37. No matter how many pieces of that legislation is put up in any language the stand pipe lawyer caswell is going to come up his version the yardfowls will continue to play down the relevance and significance while braying and calling those who disagree idots.. …..however it is/noteworthy as to whom they are looking to for such expertise and legal advice

38. @Bush Tea

There is a blog which touches some of the issues raised in your last comment which hopefully will get writen for weekend. You are on the right track. Our band of politically partisan players are too blind to understand that we have gone passed the political realm.

39. Oops!
    That should have been the Final CLICO Judicial Management Report, Not the Forensic report.

The final forensic report has not yet been presented (even though promised). Hope it does not vanish into the aether while the OECS governments wrangle with Barbados on the apportionment of their quantum of the exposure.

Wonder how long the principals can keep the forensic report from completion and publication while getting the Governments to extract the full liabilities from their citizens. It should be noted that the Barbados Government should get all the kudos for the CLICO solution. It appears to be their plan and not the Judicial Managers’. They own it.

40. Colonel Buggy Avatar

@Well Well
    Well Well. | July 24, 2013 at 3:32 PM |
    Alvin…………..not the same Noel, that would be Charles, you are correct, the ‘jews’ and Irish had a lot of plantations in Jamaica during slavery.
    …………………………………………………………………
    Jews and Irish ? By Irish are you not referring to the relocated Scots and English, whose offspring paraded in the streets of Northern Ireland a few days ago on 13 July to commemorate a battle fought in 1690?

41. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea | July 24, 2013 at 8:46 PM |

You have said a mouthful not worthy of further comment other than to say that you need to drop the letter “y” before every instance of “your”. We can recognize a white flag when we see one even if camouflage behind “yellow” bush.

We know how you really stand on these crucial national matters, privatization et al.
    Post August 13th (if you are not that timid as to go underground –not BU of course) will bring out the “best defence lawyer” in you. Even Amused and Robert R would be most impressed; with Caswell only too keen to join your supervisory committee to be called “Save Barbados from political conmen, liars and crooks”

Meanwhile, continue to live in your little bushie, bushie world of make believe and talk to your (not our) imaginary friends in the sky.

42. Equal Rights & Justice Avatar
    Equal Rights & Justice

the real problem brewing at the prison is that the 158 temp officers are the ones who make up the bulk of the prison staff , the problem the officers have is the spirit in which the meeting was conducted ,and the many questions left unanswered ,at present the prison is understaffed ,this is not Glendariy ,this is ah much bigger prison and it’s an indoor jail ,overtime is paid heavily every month as officers have to come in and pull extra duty to keep the operation up and running ,the appointed officers know this and after the meeting they to are feeling ah bit uneasy as the ratio of prisoner to officer is not taken likely by staff ,what iam saying is if u fulck with the security of the prison its the recipe for disaster and that is what cause the burning of the last jail

43. @Alvin

Again you are encouraged to read the last comment by Equal Rights and Justice, will paste it under for you. We like to rave and rant without addressing the points of the argument.

the real problem brewing at the prison is that the 158 temp officers are the ones who make up the bulk of the prison staff , the problem the officers have is the spirit in which the meeting was conducted ,and the many questions left unanswered ,at present the prison is understaffed ,this is not Glendariy ,this is ah much bigger prison and it’s an indoor jail ,overtime is paid heavily every month as officers have to come in and pull extra duty to keep the operation up and running ,the appointed officers know this and after the meeting they to are feeling ah bit uneasy as the ratio of prisoner to officer is not taken likely by staff ,what iam saying is if u fulck with the security of the prison its the recipe for disaster and that is what cause the burning of the last jail

44. Colonel……………all of that too.

45. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@David,
    So you and equal justice are saying that because there is a possibility(as opposed to probability) that some of the temporary staff might (no certainty, since nothing has been mentioned officially) the present complement of appoointed officers, who work a lot of overtime, do not feel comfortable with the ratio of prisoners to officers, and this might result in the same conditions that led to the first revolt, and this might occur again. Am I right? Remember this was a complaint that was voiced during the OSA administration and was warned about months before the Glendairy revolt. The OSA administration; during that time, and even afterward did nothing about it, the prison burned down and after the period at North point they entered the BOLT (Buy Own Lease Transfer) agreement with Vesco. All this was before the election of 2008. Th eincoming government was now faced not only with a debt of 700 million dollars, but no money to pay for increased staff (appointed oficers) and therefore the reason for the number of temporary officers. Meanwhile this intent on spreading rumours and trying to incite panic is non productive. You only have a few more days left, wait and see what the budget will bring. Meanwhile, what about the BOLT arrangement, who owns the prison at the moment? Is it already privatized through the BOLT arrangement? This is not a DLP arrangeament.

46. Equal Rights & Justice Avatar
    Equal Rights & Justice

like i said the officers have no problem re-applying ,cause most are qualified and have went on to do prison qualifying courses ,but what has hurt and has left them in the valley of uncertainty is that they were not told when asked, what is the purpose or intention of the whole exercise

47. @Alvin

Have the last word.

48. Look this is one person assumption of what they belive might happened. nothing more nothing less this issue has no legs at this point no need for any further debate. concerns on the part of the writer are based on what they perceived might happen. the only valid point if true is that of re -application of employees and concerns of security. another sorry attempt to attack the DLP.

49. @ac

Your point is what? Nobody should attack the DLP?

A meeting occurred and someone BU knows has a valid concern which we should be able to discuss. Is it valid or not? Every damn blog you bring this political DLP BLP BS.

Have the last word, as usual.

50. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Equal Rights and Justice

Experience has taught me that interviews are only a mechanism to exclude persons who would merit the position. They arrange interviews and then say to the best candidate that so and so did a better interview. It always amazes me that the successful candidate comes from the minister’s constituency or is in some way associated with the ruling party.

So my friend if these prison officers have no problem re-applying, you are really saying that they have no problem being cheated out of a job.

Leave a Reply to pieceuhderockyeahright!!!Cancel reply