Hal Austin
Hal Austin

Introduction:
One of the embarrassing things about the scramble for new policies to rescue the national economy is the paucity of ideas coming from the self-selected band of politicians and career civil servants. If nothing else, this alone is a reflection of the shortcomings in the framework of our education by rote, and of the building of intellectual barriers between party-affiliated thinkers, policymakers and unsure academics. It also reflects a stubbornness on the part of those in power which is in many ways a core part of popular Barbadian culture, something that the objectivity of a liberal education should have erased. In fact, on a wider note, this has been the promise of the Enlightenment – scientific truth, objectivity, impartiality, etc – which Northern European post-mercantilist culture has been preaching since the 17th century and continues, to this day, even if with less vigour.

Class Politics:
Enlightenment values had a hole right at the centre of its beliefs, and that was filled in during the mid-19th century by Karl Marx in his long analysis of the battle between labour and capital. But, if the great dividing line in Europe, and in particular Britain, was between the mill owners and the chimney boys, to those of us who came of age during the black power movement of the 1960 and the post 9/11 Muslims, who see religion as more important than class, not only was the sc9ientism of the Enlightenment wrong, so too was the post-Darwinism of Marxism. Some social attachments are more powerful than class or religion, a reality that may be more expressive in some societies than in others.

The Decline of a Nation:
Most readers in this forum are familiar with the empirical historical evidence of the commercial and political value and political importance of Barbados to the British colonisers in the early to mid 17th century. They will also be aware that within a relatively short space of time that commercial value started to decline and in its place emerged a kind of ‘soft’ influence in which Barbados assumed a role in the Caribbean, and within the wider Empire, based not on commercial prospects, but on the alleged quality of its education.

The late 20th and early 21st centuries have seen this steady decline speeded-up until it has now reached a crisis point. But there is something in our cultural and social genes that prevent us from rebelling, or rioting like the Greeks, Egyptians, or Spanish or Brazilians or even the British and Americans. Apart from the 1937 riots and a little gathering of people outside the Abed store in Swan Street in the mid 1960s, there have been very few social disturbances. Ironically, given a culture of aggression and one-to-one violence, mob violence is not a feature of Barbadian culture. Had this not been the case, the daily abuse inflicted by this government on young people – through high unemployment, a repressive criminal justice system and an obnoxious social snobbery – would have led to a series of uprisings by now. Instead, given the absence of political leadership, these young men and women are quite prepared to waste the most important years of their lives playing dominoes, gossiping and doing the things that healthy young men and women do. This apathy will be the epitaph of a docile generation that has sat idly by and allow a group of over-ambitious politicians and career civil servants deliver them as offerings to the Gods of middle class pride, vanity and materialism. What is even worse is that these young people are trapped like rabbits in oncoming lights, unable to do anything for themselves, to form small cooperatives, to wash cars, help elderly homeowners, teach each other the skills they do not have. These are young people, the future of the nation, sitting idly by waiting for the government or private sector to rescue them from the depths of their own perceived failure. A generation that has lost confidence in itself, that official Barbados has given up on, and who have internalised that objectionable belief and have given up on itself. At some point, the younger generation must realise they must take their futures in their own hands and challenge the system.

Public Sector Reforms:
On the national level, however, we have now reached a fork in the road, a time when the trickery of civil servants and incompetent politicians have to make a hard decision. Already we are seeing the rats leaving the sinking ship: the governor of the central bank, once the principal cheer leader of the DLP government, is now saying publicly that he disagrees with policy; we are witnessing Donville Inniss launching an attack on the governor of the central bank, of minister Ince, the only properly qualified economist in the government, making a speech that can be read as a job application. And while all this is going on our prime minister is in hiding from his own ignorance, afraid that his shadow may expose his lack of knowledge of policymaking. All this goes on while the nation waits, and waits, and waits, all the while giving so-called trade unionists an opportunity to see no further than their noses.

Look at any public sector for an example of a system in decline: the administration of justice, the fight within the police and between the policy and the community they are paid to serve. Look at the failure of our educational system, both in terms of the poor quality of teachers, their street-wise rowdyism, and the colossal failure of our children in the classroom. It is all there, for the world to see, a once proud island community that has lost its confidence, its ability to govern itself and which, like addicts, is too proud to seek help. We have a government that has lost the ability to set clear, transparent and effective performance indicators, after negotiating with workers and their representatives; this is the failure of our nation.

Fiscal Failure:
Given the limitation of the government’s monetary and fiscal policy, and the clear evidence that minister Sinckler is not the most competent finance minister in our recent history, it is also my case that he has no knowledge of policymaking. A simple suggestion, but one that will be very relevant and effective in the current climate: a life-long savings vehicle.

Ignore for the time being the economics of savings’ impact on growth, apart from an irresponsible venture in to (Exchange Traded Funds) ETF’s early in his job, which I found horrifying – by the way it has not been mentioned since, and rightly so – Mr Sinckler has failed to develop any savings vehicles fit for our times. Had he offered households a long-term savings vehicle: saving taxed income to a maximum of Bds$15000 a year, with growth and withdrawals tax free and allowing only four interventions: marriage, university fees for self or children, home purchase and death, there is a highly likely chance that people would save more. Further, if the way that saving pot is invested is legislated for – 25 per cent in Barbados, 25 per cent in Caricom and 50 per cent globally – there will be a vast increase in liquidity and therefore the non-bank financing of SMEs, which is currently a major problem in Barbados.

Analysis and Conclusion:
The unpredictability of policymaking in Barbados is clouded by self-interest and the party dimension. Although in theory we have a generation of politicians and senior civil servants who worship at the altar of bourgeois nationalism, it is in fact a secular belief system that is contaminated with the narrow and selfish view of greed and corruption. Sometimes this manifests itself through party affiliation, seeing political parties more as lifeboats for achieving personal ambitions, than because of an ideological or commitment to social or religious values. Quite often these biases are echoed through a semi-educated chamber, devoid of any understandable of logical reasoning.

Where is our Tea Party, our Ukip, our rebellious young demanding better government, improved education, jobs and decent service? Why are we as a society tolerating 11 per cent of our productive labour – and even higher among the 16 to 24 demographic – staying late in bed, absolutely and totally economically inactive? I have said before, we are not just economic people, there is a wider social dimension to us as a society, living on a crowded island. It is this aspect of our lives, this sociality, that politicians and career civil servants find so difficult to deal with and to translate in to policy. Translated in to political economy, this economic crisis is an ideal opportunity for government – and the private sector – to be innovative, fantastically radical in policy formulation, forceful and dynamic.

What is the medium and long-term economic future of our little island – reaching out to 2030, 2050, and beyond? How are we going to cope with a demographic that will live to 80, 90, 100 and more years, and in the process demand hip-replacement operations, knee surgery, heart by-pass operations, women having children in their 50s and 60s because of the magic of medical science?

As professor J. Bradford de Long has observed: “To create wealth, you need ideas about how to shape matter and energy, additional energy itself to carry out the shaping, and instrumentalities to control the shaping as it is accomplished. “The Industrial Revolution brought ideas and energy to the table, but human brains remained the only effective instrumentalities of control. As ideas and energy became cheap, the human brains that were their complements became valuable.”

One of our greatest, if not the greatest, institutional failure is the economics department of the UWI Cave Hill. This economic crisis is their historical moment, it is a time when they can bring their expertise to bear on the national development programme. Yet, their silence is deafening and when they do intervene in the national debate they make juvenile contributions like a drunken uncles aroused from an afternoon nap. They have nothing of substance to contribute to the nation’s plea for help, no originality of thought, absolutely nothing of worth to inject in to the discussion. This is along with the other failings: to properly and independently analyse the national economy; to offer sound forecasts; estimate output; analyse public finances.

There are huge gaps in our knowledge of how our economy functions; the economics department should be our fiscal watchdog, but it has let us down. The same can be said for the school of business. I always find it difficult understanding why all students on the MBA course are not compelled to produce a workable business plan as a project, rather than some abstract thesis, so that on graduation they could seek funding to put their ideas in to practice. In fact, in an ideal world, the UWI itself should have a venture capital project doing just that and making a handsome return on its investments. This is a time when our public intellectuals should be coming out with competing grand visions of the way society should develop, of the kind of society we ought to be.

It is important to mention here that Errol Walton Barrow, one of our national heroes and a founder of the nation to his many fans, was educated at the London School of Economics in the early 1950s at a time when the economics department at the School was dominated by a West Indian, Sir Arthur Lewis, whose Theory of Economic Growth is still a must-read in development economics. Even as a law undergraduate Barrow’s intellectual curiosity should have driven him to a private reading of Sir Arthur’s works. Yet, since constitutional independence we have drifted in to a stultifying form of centralised bureaucracy, typical of India. This is the heart of the structural reform the nation is crying out for. Barbados is much worse off than is generally believed.

156 responses to “Notes From a Native Son: The Poverty of Ideas is Worse than Material Poverty”

1. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Pompasettin Pearlie | July 19, 2013 at 2:56 PM |
    you aint lie!
    i concur 100%

2. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Pompasettin Pearlie | July 19, 2013 at 3:37 PM |

You been framed!
    You said it all. A picture is worth a thousand words, if you know what I mean. Nudge, nudge, wink, wink!

Why call for the removal of the man’ picture unless it reminds you of your own ugly image. What is your mirror image, by the way, that of Hal’s!

PS: The miller is not looking in your mirror, just at you.

3. On an aside, Obama weighs in on the state verdict for zimmerman………

http://www.nydailynews.com/news/national/obama-trayvon-martin-article-1.1403643

4. Poor you Miller. Wa anybody who went school could see that you just tie up youself by de back foots like a sheep and now struggling tuh ontangle yuhself. De black and ugly talk come from you! It day in black and white. All dat happen is dat you try tuh insult my Prime Minister and end up insulting de same body you was suppose tuh be defenning.

Anyhow, Pearlie in got one shite more tuh say tuh you cause de mo yuh try tuh ontangle de more yuh gine hing yuhself! As David BU does say, you could have de last word.

5. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

I did busy all yesterday so I did get to listen to Dumb and Dumberer at the Press Conference. Is it me only or has anyone notice that Dumberer swell up big like a crapo bullfrog? Buffoon or Buffool?

6. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | July 19, 2013 at 3:41 PM |
    “glad you asked……………in a line up all would resemble You”

But ac love, the miller is a handsomely attractive good looking man in spite of his crippled middle foot just waiting for you to return it to it’s formerly pristinely erect condition.

The miller’s looks are in his genes which he has successfully passed on to future generations. (Did you see the linkage between the word “genes” and ‘gene’rations, or are you not that naturally smart?

PS: I am not technically black, black but like Commander Grazette ‘I am mulatto, mulatto, but the miller doesn’t want you to know that fact, fact’.

7. PS miller …………..technically black mulatto……. put up a picture cause I have seen u hanging wid musty onions and dat description don’t fit you and that baldspotted head.. Yeah I see that too LOL……..

8. @Perlie

Your party is struggling.

9. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Pompasettin Pearlie | July 19, 2013 at 4:07 PM |

Listen Pearlie Sweetie, you are the one that called (after GP) for the removal of Hal’s photo. Not me!
    If not his appearance what then are the grounds for your request for its removal? What about Adrian Loveridge’s or Austin’s?

Btw, your PM and those mentioned are die-in-the-wool are big ugly black men.

There are good looking black men and there are rather ugly black men.
    That’s a possible outcome of the role of the dice.
    It so happened that this DLP black ugly combination came up trumps.

It could have happened in the BLP where 1,000 lbs of blubber including Duguid’s large share could have been betted on the roulette wheel of life.

Comprenez!

10. OH. David can we have fun sometime. ?

11. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | July 19, 2013 at 4:27 PM |

In time, just a matter of time!

When you show us a picture of the bald pooch cat that Stinking “Lair” Sinckler claimed you have then the miller will show you a picture of a man with two “foots” in a grave and the third digging in a bald pooch cat hole.

Game on?

12. @ Islandgirl

I am afraid all Barbadians look alike. In the early 1970s I was working as a young reporter in the London snow, trying to learn my trade. Wrong man.

13. @ Chaucer

I said that Barrow studied law at the School when Lewis wrote his The Theory of Economic Growth. Being both from the Caribbean, even intellectual curiosity should have made Barrow take an interest in its arguments.
    There is no evidence that he did.

14. St George's Dragon Avatar

@ Pach
    I appreciate that you want to wipe the slate clean and start again, using the skills of Barbadians but to what end?
    You believe capitalism is dead but what specifically do you see as it being replaced with?

15. We in the PDC have said that these intellectually politically backward decrepit factions calling themselves the BLP and the DLP must be permanently REMOVED by the most politically progressive of countrymen and women from the governmental political landscape of this country within 5 years from now or else Barbados will in many respects in the next 9 to 14 years become like Jamaica was in the late 70s, throughout the 80s 90s and up to this point in time, with it having reached a point of no return on the current ideological political material trajectory.

Make no doubt about it!

16. @ St. George Dragon

We need to go beyond capitalism, beyond capitalism, beyond capitalism. We don’t pretend to have all the answers and are willing to really on the collective intelligence of the people, everywhere. First there has to be a wide recognition that capitalism has failed or cannot take us any further. We are not persuaded that we cannot exist outside of a capitalist constructed society. We already have element of the type of society we envision. Like an advance credit union – cooperative, constructed in harmony with mother earth. In a credit union members (citizens) could hold real power unlike capitalism where power is ceded to others for periods of time. Political actors can basically do what ever they want. The people are free to elect them once every five years. Party tribalism unnecessarily divides people about foolishness. And we could go no and on. The power to remove members of boards etc. There are opportunities for active citizen participation. And yes, we can borrow some ideas from elsewhere like the absence of interest in the banking system. We have found that borrowing may not necessarily be a problem, a bigger problem is interest.

17. Hal Austin,

In coming on the ending of your above piece, you wrote that the economics department at the UWI Cave HIll is one of the greatest if not the greatest institutional failure in Barbados.

While we in the PDC would say that we would agree wholeheartedly with anyone that says that this economics department has over the years been a massive ideological intellectual failure, we must state also that this position is more informed by the fact of the nature substance of its so-called academic content than by the insubstantialities making up the institutional frameworkings surrounding the department itself.

So, when persons like Alleyne, Howard, Mascoll, Wood, Francis, etc, – so-called economists – are continuing to help perpetuate foist a discipline – an ideology, a philosophy, a psychology – that is the most unscientific most untruthful most discredited and most discredited of all the social studies disciplines in Barbados, on the wider Barbados, the country is bound to suffer terribly in the end – more because of the vast majority of citizens of Barbados being inanely influenced taught driven led by these so-called economists by the relevant government/private sector actors, etc to continue practicing, to the detriment of the gross dedevelopment degradation of this island, this mainly progressively baleful pernicious content than because of a few personalities, accoutrements, etc making up this said UWI Cave Hill Economics Department.

18. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@PDC Except that althouth we are an island we do not exist in a world bereft of capitalism, and these are who you have to deal with in order to exist.

19. Alvin Cummins
    You could always find a frightened Bajan who is afraid of a different future, even their heaven. Why can’t systems coexist? Do we not live right now with this reality – the coexistence of systems of governance? There are always people who would find reasons why we are not to face a secure future with confidence, until somebody from over and way tell us we must do it. We have been told that your own Peter Boos has recently come the same conclusions as we long have. More generally, real progressive people all over the world are heavily engaged in this discourse and have been for a while.

20. The two worst Ministers of Government anywhere appeared together like two fat slimy rats in a Sardine (el sardon) pan talking crap as usual
    Richard ‘Poorhard’ Sickly and Chris ;’Sicklink’ StinkLiar should be sent to Dodds Prison for impersonating proper ministers of government.

21. EDITORIAL – Lessons from Detroit
    DETROIT, THE United States (US) city that filed for bankruptcy last week, shares many similarities with Jamaica. Both are broke and show their poverty. Both are being forced to take radical action to deal with fiscal crises.
    How Detroit, once one of America’s leading industrial towns, and Jamaica came to this pass should make interesting case studies. Moreover, the likely effect of Detroit’s bankruptcy filing should be a matter to which those Jamaican stakeholders who would resist public sector and pension reforms pay close attention.
    Like Jamaica, Detroit has, for too long, suffered from bad government and poor economic management, which exacerbated the loss of competitive advantage by the city’s motor manufacturers.There was a time, though, when the vibrancy of the city’s motor industry masked the shortcomings and the city offered its employees generous pensions and insurance. When there was no longer the income to meet these obligations, the city, like Jamaica, borrowed to cover the expense.
    Then there are the parallels in social and environmental effect from economic collapse. The departure of industries in Detroit, as is the case in large swathes of Jamaica’s capital, Kingston, accelerated urban blight. Nearly 80,000 buildings in Detroit are abandoned and the city collects not much than half of its property taxes – a rate that mirrors Jamaica’s. Detroit’s unemployment of over 18 per cent is perhaps close to the real rate of joblessness in Jamaica.
    With insufficient income, social services have deteriorated. About 40 per cent of Detroit’s streets light don’t work, similar to Jamaica’s. And the city’s rate of violent crime, at over 2,000 per 100,000 population, though higher than Jamaica’s, is something to which this country’s citizens can relate.

Jamaica gleaner
    source

22. millertheanunnaki Avatar

Extracted from the “Nation’s” newspaper The Sun on Saturday:
    By Deidre Gittens | Sat, July 20, 2013.
    “WHILE MANY PEOPLE choose to pay down on what are considered necessities, some women make a deposit on their Virgin Remy Hair extensions which they say are worth the investment.”

Why has this poor little nation- once a beacon of hope and the recommended model of development for small resource scare countries with a recent colonial past and a black managed governance system struggling to carve its own path to social and economic “interdependence”- all of a sudden been confronted with such unimaginable myriad combination of problems like the perfect storm waiting to release its devastation on it?

Life is indeed more marked and measured by a paradox of extremes than with rare conjunctions of middle ground events.

Now how can this country have invested billions of taxpayers, money in so-called ‘educating a nation’ with the primary goal of accumulating and appreciating the store of human capital while concomitantly underwriting the expensive depreciation of its major productive asset called “Commonsense”?

It would be interesting to see a ‘calculated’ figure for the total cost of “raising and educating” out of public funds (taxpayers’ money) the ‘average’ child to secondary and tertiary levels.
    Where are the identifiable and measurable returns for the billions invested in comprehensively “free” secondary and tertiary education accessible to both males and females?

Where should we look for this ROI?
    On the many drug peddling blocks blighting Barbados?
    In the Prisons populated with wasted non-academic talents buried in our young men?

Or in the hair salons where females boast of spending hundreds of dollars buying other people’ dead hair whose applications to those black empty heads are as expensive over time as some organ transplant operations?

Now which “Nation” full of “educated black women” would be proud to boast of its educational system but still have the unmitigated intelligence and educational gall to refer to this kind unnecessary expenditure on Remi or Remy dead hair in foreign exchange losses as an “Investment”? Investment in what?
    Investment in the trap for the next “John” that comes along to help pay for the façade of vanity, ignorance and stupidity?

Where is the Mirror Image for these young black people? Shattered like EWB’s 1960s project of black enlightenment and empowerment through Education?

23. Miller……..it’s a shame and disgrace, the empty headed shallowness.

24. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | July 21, 2013 at 7:45 AM |

What lessons are you trying to teach us here, ac?
    That unlike Jamaica, it could never happen here in Barbados?
    Just substitute ‘motor industry and related services” with sugar and tourism and you have a replica of modern day Detroit in miniature format in the making.

If this country doesn’t get its fiscal house in order very soon and start to not only save foreign exchange but more importantly earn foreign exchange at a faster rate the spectre of bankruptcy with its accompanying “D” friend for its currency will soon be looming large over the financial landscape of this paradise that was once like the Detroit of the 60’s & 70’s.

Bajans are pure copycats with Jamaican sub-cultures successfully the most penetratingly effective on the impressionable minds of culturally vulnerable young Barbadians.
    All the warning signs are there to indicate Bim is heading down the path (despite its huge monetary investment in education) to becoming a mini Jamaica.

The government is behaving as if the availability and delivery of imaginary “free” social services to this educated population is an automatic entitlement and not the outcome of hard work, productivity and selling of good quality goods and services to people willing to buy with foreign money.

This mendicant mindset resulting from experimental social engineering of the 1960’s to 1980’s must be significantly altered by the offspring of those now grownups from that social engineering era.

Time to stand on their own feet in a world that has run out of social largesse and each nation must earn its living in the marketplace full of players operating in a very competitive global village of economic survival.

25. Jamaican opposition leader Holt is now suggesting the country be allowed to temporarily suspend itself from Caricom, how does that make sense i do not know, but clearly Jamaica’s many financial problems continue to lie in a myriad of bad decisions made by incompetent leaders over many decades, they want to go it alone, let them.

Hopefully the leaders in Barbados understand what bankruptcy will mean for the island.

26. Another take on Detroit from http://www.theglobeandmail.com/commentary/who-killed-detroit-not-who-you-think/article13325277/#dashboard/follows/

Who or what killed Detroit? The conventional narrative is the collapse of the auto industry, exacerbated by white flight, which gutted the tax base and sent the city into a death spiral. But other cities’ economies have collapsed, and they’ve come back. The answer, in Detroit’s case, is decades of mismanagement, incompetence and looting that went ignored by anyone who could do anything about it. As commentator Walter Russell Mead, who has been brilliant on this subject, has written, the people who ran Detroit were largely indistinguishable from a criminal enterprise.

The biggest (but by no means the only) villain in the piece is former mayor Kwame Kilpatrick, who was convicted this spring of racketeering, extortion, bribery, fraud and enough other stuff to keep him in jail for the next 15 or 20 years. He was once thought to be among the most promising young African-Americans in public life, along with Barack Obama. But once in office, he presided over a reign of municipal corruption that was breathtaking even by the standards of Tammany Hall or Chicago’s Big Bill Thompson (who was paid off by Al Capone). He accused his critics of racism. He was enabled by an entrenched Democratic machine that has run Detroit for decades.

27. Along with state and city officials in Detroit, i also lay a heavy amount of blame on the federal government who obviously ignored and also neglected the city for decades for ulterior motives.

28. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Well Well. | July 21, 2013 at 9:23 AM |

It will NOT be the first time that one from 10 leaves naught. Don’t be surprised if similar arithmetic magical utterances soon emanate from T&T.
    How can a country which professes to be so “hot” on regional integration- with the regional Court right at its door steps- be so disrespectful as to refuse to join it in a fully fledged uniform of involvement?

Or does T&T only see Caricom as its business sector cornered marketplace to sell its goods and services in an already owned and controlled regional distribution network and to hell with the other “soft” matters of regional relationships like justice and proper governance?

When T&T and the other recalcitrant stragglers join up to the CCJ in full flying colours then there will be a ray of hope emblazoned with the CSME motto: “Per ardua ad astra” for the regional integration movement as one serious body.

29. Miller……….first, Jamaica and Trinidad will have to come to the stark realization that they don’t mean shit in the grand scheme of things that is the new order taking hold in the world, they are only wannbes in the Caribbean who they have successfully cornered as a viable market. However, things like this have a way of backfiring particularly when Caribbean politicians are still to fully understand what is being played out and how it will end for them, good luck to them i say.

30. well miller in my past comment I highlited similar parallels with carribbean islands on Detroit and YOU and motor mouth WELL . thought I was talking nonsense., so in true millerism style u dare question ?

31. Well Hal,
    Do we need more economists anywhere?
    Seeing economists as the key people in a society and plumbers as lesser and unimportant, neither our economic theories nor our pipes will hold water.

Even in the USA I have experienced the crash and burn influence of those bright sparks showing off MBA’s, really masquerading as though they have worthwhile ideas.

A week or so ago someone on here remarked that I had never been in a boardroom, presumably with fund managers – quite so, but on the other hand those types won’t be let anywhere near a product planning, development or marketing meeting in the same board room. We needed their money and nothing else as we were the competent ones that delivered and earned their clients their dividends.

Here in the UK I see focus on house prices as a sign of the economy moving in the right direction, the very basis that caused the present problems – voodoo economics again – they are from the same mould as voodoo doctors.

It’s like having nothing but clones of lame horses so that when one collapses you have another lame one to ride.

What an education system should deliver is a fund of competent graduates with practical ideas and the curiosity and drive to develop those ideas.
    Beyond those ideas, to be able to think well beyond and come up with fresh ideas and use the same drive to carry them forward.

It was during the time of the Barrow government that a minister observed that every Barbadian could read and write but few were functionally literate.

Government can only set certain parameters but it’s then up to the citizens to use them as a launchpad where necessary or useful.

Where development has been most vigorous, citizens have done their own thing. The most successful enterprises today established themselves without any governmental assistance other than establishing favourable trading arrangements.
    They got there through the ideas they conceived and the drive required to make them successful.

32. ac…..try as you might there is no correlation or parallels between what happens to state, city and federal governments in the US, and incompetent, corrupt, ignorant politicians in the Caribbean, like you the Jamaicans would like to blame someone else for their corrupt and stupid leaders, it cannot work with people who understand the US system, i were you i would be more worried about the day that another downgrade by S&P or Moodys signals that Barbados is indeed bankrupt, that is what you should be focusing in on right about now.

33. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | July 21, 2013 at 10:24 AM |
    “well miller in my past comment I highlited similar parallels with carribbean islands on Detroit and YOU and motor mouth WELL . thought I was talking nonsense., so in true millerism style u dare question ?”

Did you now? It must have just completely flew over our heads. We heard a buzzing alright but just thought it for the Privatization kite in the air.

We are so accustomed to you and CCC blaming everything wrong in Bim on poor OSA and his lame duck band of economic brigands that any “objectively” analytical reasoning regarding Bim’s economic troubles would appear as if you were just singing the blues of today’s stark reality.

Are you sure you want to compare capitalist and soon to be fully privatized Detroit with anti-privatization Barbados?

Privatization or outsourcing of nearly all public sector services including social services is what is on the cards for Detroit’s recovery.
    Do you recommend similar medicine for Bim or that is where your comparative analysis starts and ends?

The chickens are slowly coming home to roost and you are the mother hen.

34. I speak to my 6 year old grandson and he can understand the system in the US as it relates to City, State and Federal governments and the way each city is handled, the history behind them, he is able to analyze, comprehend and articulate his views on the matter, yet in the Caribbean and Barbados we have adults who cannot understand simple civics and the difference between countries and cultures, yet taxpayers continue to spend billions on education in the Caribbean, what’s the use. The days of blaming other countries or trying to compare other countries with the shortcomings of stupid leaders are over……..deal with it.

35. @ Sid Boyce
    No. We do not need any more economists – nor journalists. I have always referred to the fact we spent Bds$70m on a great white elephant of a high court, replacing the Barbados Foundry. Recently we had a black plumber who retrained as a lawyer, as you know, in Britain it is the other way round.
    The money we are spending on university graduates should be spend on teaching young men and women trades.

36. From their record of incompetence I think we may get along better without any economists and certainly without the majority of lawyers.

A friend of mine who is also a Bajan calls those “professions” parasites.

I hope the old high court is replaced by a new Barbados Foundry.

What we need from the Universities are a generation of thinkers and doers that can use their advanced learning to good practical benefit of the economy. A wasted education is an economic loss.

I know it’s the other way round in Britain, just when plumbing skills largely disappeared the worth and potential earnings of plumbers soared.
    It’s symptomatic of government policies espoused by the 1980’s lady to rid Britain of the productive skills and rely on the Banks and the City playing a cross between a game of monopoly and a casino.
    Now in 2013 we have a government that thinks may be we should reinvent and grow those wasted skills, but they still hold great faith in the Banks and the City.
    Sadly the past suggests that they’ll do the same skills culling again when the time comes around.

In the USA it has been the same, citing Detroit and even Silicon Valley where one of our system architects decided after being laid off that the computer industry was not the place for his skills if he wanted to have a secure career, he decided to retrain as a chef. One other colleague in the USA went into renting office space and one here in the UK also went into the real estate trade, a complete waste of highly skilled talents with decades of experience and significant contribution.

These days most of the highest earners contribute very little to any economy and are the biggest tax avoiders and that includes the so-called celebs, Apple, Google, Amazon, Microsoft, Starbucks and their ilk.
    The late Steve Jobs lived a life of extreme opulence, all on an annual salary of $1 US and as Warren Buffet said, his secretary paid more tax than he did.
    If the tax in an economy falls predominantly on low to middle income earners it’s slide is inevitable.

37. Governments fail to recognize that middle and low income earners are not beasts of burdens, or beasts for the taxman, when they finally realize that, the countries would have already descended into bankruptcy.

38. Detroit like Barbados is financially stressed. Alike Barbados, problems in Detroit are accumulative of several decades. Elected officials in Detroit were corrupt, didn’t know what in the hell they were doing. Elected officials from both parties in Barbados were corrupt, didn’t/don’t know what in the hell they were/are doing.

The American Auto Industry (General Motors, Ford & Chrysler) you may or may not know inhabits Detroit, Michigan (USA). The American Auto Industry in Detroit is an element of vitality and must be preserved and will likewise the City of Detroit. Elected officials in Detroit at moment are powerless, since March 28, 2013 and due to Legislative Law (Public Act 436). Any or all decisions concerning the City of Detroit fall from the appointed emergency manager under the Emergency Manager Legislative Law (Public Act 436) NOT the mayor or city council members. The State (Michigan) Legislative Law overrules Local or City (Detroit) Legislative Law. The Federal Government is above both the city and State and overrules both. Even at the Federal level, there is checks and balances; all branches of the Federal government (US President or executive branch, The Court System or Judicial Branch also the Senate/House of Representatives or Legislative Branch) all check and balance the other. It is, of course, quite different in Barbados, but Barbados is THIRD WORLD, the United States is not. The United States persecutes and convicts all individuals in any and all capacities; government officials are not excluded. . . . Bench Judges in the United States do not allow prisoners to go home for Christmas holiday or any other holiday. . . . The United States Government via Eminent Domain has power to take private property for public use. The private property owner, however must be compensated. The Violet Beckles Estate to date has not been compensated for the site of Kensington Oval, Sandy Lane, Six Men, etc.

39. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

Well England paid the Masters of Slaves , Now the Slave are to be paid. Then soon Queen Beatrice Henry and Queen Violet Beckles also will have to be paid ,
    If BLP /DLP feel Queen of England will paid their Bill and Barbados crook so called leaders dont pay their ,They Have another thing coming .
    PSALM 23 THY KINGDOM COME

40. Look………what the chronic idiots on here don’t understand is the day that politicians in Barbados, Jamaica, Trinidad already imprisons their politicians who commit crimes, and other Caribbean islands go to prison for corruption, lying and all the other crimes they commit against the taxpayers is the day they will be looked at in a different light and can then try to compare themselves to large cities and countries that put their corrupt, thieving criminal politicians and their thieving lying friends in prison for their crimes, until that day arrives, there can be no comparison.

41. Look………..i been on a US blog today that is discussing racism, now I am looking around this blog i am wondering what happened to everybody…….kinda scarce and empty, don’t tell me a little bankruptcy threat has frightened the big mouth yardfowls for the DLP. All the bragging and boasting and loudmouthism has come to nought. What a thing.

42. @ Well Well

Ex-mayor, Kwame Kilpatrick made himself one of Detroit’s problems, but Detroit allowed it. Kilpatrick has been persecuted and convicted, will be serving a lengthy sentence.

Detroit now a financially stressed city no longer controls its financial affairs, The State of Michigan Governor and Law Legislature (Public Act 436) are now above the City of Detroit and its elected officials. Some one or entity should be above either of the two ruling parties in Barbados. Some one other than them should know what they are hiding or attempting to hide. . . . know what they are doing and not doing.

43. Look…….that’s the problem, they have no oversight committees in Barbados, they have a governor general that is nothing more than an ass wipe for buckingham palace, who will not give two hoots cause Bim consider themselves independent and I am sure buckingham palace would like to get rid of the responsibility that are these former colonies once and for all. These politicians are a law onto themselves and do whatever benefits them, their friends, families, lackeys and if they are extremely valuable, a few yardfowls, there is no oversight………..as i said, i tried to explain to one chronic idiot, Detroit is a city in Michigan, the state can send in oversight and take control, but i believe that was too much for the lack of brains to understand, so why bother to try to explain.

44. That is a sick mess down there (Barbados) – really. Glad I’m not in it.

45. Look……..just saw some information on how the Circuit Court and the State of Michigan are now entwined in bacchanal over filing of bankruptcy in Detroit………it’s good for Barbados and the Caribbean at large to see the difference in the mess created by politicians and the difference in the way they are handled by the US.

http://mto.mediatakeout.com/external/64034

46. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Well Well. | July 21, 2013 at 5:29 PM |
    “… they have a governor general that is nothing more than an ass wipe for buckingham palace, who will not give two hoots cause Bim consider themselves independent and I am sure buckingham palace would like to get rid of the responsibility that are these former colonies once and for all.”

We think you might be bit off course here, matey.

The local puppet is not an ass wipe for Buckingham Palace or even for Whitehall.
    This position of a wind-up doll of Bush Tea’s prototype design is just there to perform the official job of a John Hancock rubber stamping of a figurehead embossed on Constitutionally required documents in doing the bidding of the PM who chose and appointed him or her in the first place. Alternatively to be just a stroppy fella to the succeeding administration.

As long as the British government or the Commonwealth Office is not asked to finance any of these ex-colonial conmen and crooks business activities or shenanigans the British don’t give a rat’s ass about these political monkeys pretending to be handling serious affairs of state of these banana republics like administering a regime of Integrity legislation and FoI.

47. Miller………….heard that loud and clear.

48. Activated Carbon Avatar
    Activated Carbon

Dear Mr. Prime Minister

Can you please reshuffle your Cabinet and make a place in it for Sealy’s, Sinckler’s and Estwick’s friend Mr. Mark Maloney, don’t you see this little arogant pipsqueak has all of the attributes to save Barbados, your government and the local business community?

49. Activated Carbon……..all Maloney will do is stab PM Stuart, et al in their backs, just like he was stabbed in his backside while incarcerated for stealing money from the bank, that would certainly be their comeuppance.

Leave a Reply to millertheanunnakiCancel reply