Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart and Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler as they appeared t the national consultation
Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart and Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler as they appeared at the national consultation

The news that government has introduced a plan to the private sector to cut $400 million from the budget starting with the Transport Board (TB) does not come as a surprise to BU. The issue of financial indiscipline and a ballooning subsidy at the TB which has encroached on malfeasance has been ventilated in several blogs. The irony is that former Minister John Boyce was rewarded for his ‘good’ work after the February general election with a transfer to the ministry of health which commands a greater allocation of government’s budget.

The political rhetoric which was showered on a gullible public during the February 2013 general election has been replaced with the sober reality that government’s widening current deficit and chronic negative growth must by wrestled to the ground, and soon. As distant as 3 years ago several BU commenters joined others in wider society in calling for better management of government’s resources. The government (until recently) had remained steadfast in its decisionmaking driven by political expediency rather than confront the harsh financial reality which was visible to even fools.

The country has had to pay a high price because of the 2013 General Election. Some will argue the one year of drift which affected the country because of the illness of the late Prime Minister David Thompson  spurred the economic decline. Truth be told we did not take all measures to make the best decisions during the boom years. There is a lot of blame to be shared by both political parties for the economic mess we currently find ourselves.

Some will argue that it is too late to get the nose up from the ‘economic dive’. And that we are at the stage where those to don life vests will have the responsibility to rebuild. Time will tell. Our over-dependence on tourism, the fact that our main tourist markets will continue to struggle for the foreseeable future with anaemic growth in the US, a struggling UK and Canada’s economy beginning to slow all combine to promise a negative outlook.

It is easy to say that BU’s greatest disappointment is the extent to which our current crop of leaders dithered and fiddled on the deck of the burning ship. This will be the legacy of this group of misfits in the political and private sector arenas. How public workers who were disingenuously assured that their jobs will be protected react to austerity measures is left to be seen. By definition of jobs we mean protecting incomes. Whether the private sector and ministers in government are prepared to take a % haircut to show solidarity with public sector is left to be seen.

In the face of adversity confidence to wrestle the ‘economic beast’ is a necessary condition to drive success. What is the national conversation currently being stoked by our leader to whip the masses in the direction they must go.  If there is any opportunity to correct the economic flight plan it must happen by design.

In a next blog we will continue the conversation about how the people must respond.

236 responses to “Government Cuts: Wrestling the Economic Beast”

1. If this government believes that the Nation Newspaper is bias and hostile against it,then this government should boycott the damn Newspaper and do not give it any government business.The Nation Newspaper is dependent on government business for it’s survival.The Nation Newsaper recieves on average about $35,000.00 in advertising and other government business monthly.

2. To be fair to the GoCB he has not said anything about the forex reserves which he did not mention at the press conference.

3. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Smooth Chocolate

I expect you to say that.

You are just another disappointed BLP supporter who thought that your party was going to white wash the DLP.

4. the bLP yardfowls only WANTS to HEAR what they want to hear ,The Gob in his news conference was asked about the decline in forex and he stated that with 3 weeks in default although there was need for concern ,the govt had already approached these problems with haste in cooperation with the
    social partners’and as he spoke remedies were being sown and weaved together to tackle the problem
    The gov also stated that there was enough reserves to cope with the problem
    The BLP yardfowls have ears of convenience which they only apply and conveniently select in highlighting and pointing out those areas which jell with their policies of doom and gloom.

5. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | July 18, 2013 at 11:04 AM |
    “The BLP yardfowls have ears of convenience which they only apply and conveniently select in highlighting and pointing out those areas which jell with their policies of doom and gloom.”

Next minute you are going to deny that the P M acting on the advice of the Governor announced the need to cut $400 million from the current year’s expenditure budget.
    Yes ac, he never said such. It’s all figments of the imagination of the BLP yardfowl brigade and propaganda spewed by the agents of doom and gloom.

6. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Miller and PRODIGAL SON

Here is a good one for you BLP jokers

HENNY PENNY

One day Henny-penny was picking up corn in the cornyard when–whack!– something hit her upon the head. “Goodness gracious me!” said Henny- penny; “the sky’s a-going to fall; I must go and tell the king.”

So she went along and she went along and she went along till she met Cocky-locky. “Where are you going, Henny-penny?” says Cocky-locky. “Oh! I’m going to tell the king the sky’s a-falling,” says Henny- penny. “May I come with you?” says Cocky-locky. “Certainly,” says Henny-penny. So Henny-penny and Cocky-locky went to tell-the king the sky was falling.

They went along, and they went along, and they went along, till they met Ducky-daddles. “Where are you going to, Henny-penny and Cocky- locky?” says Ducky-daddles. “Oh! we’re going to tell the king the sky’s a-falling,” said Henny-penny and Cocky-locky. “May I come with you?” says Ducky-daddles. “Certainly,” said Henny-penny and Cocky- locky. So Henny-penny, Cocky-locky and Ducky-daddles went to tell the king the sky was a-falling.

So they went along, and they went along, and they went along, till they met Goosey-poosey, “Where are you going to, Henny-penny, Cocky- locky and Ducky-daddles?” said Goosey-poosey. “Oh! we’re going to tell the king the sky’s a-falling,” said Henny-penny and Cocky-locky and Ducky-daddles. “May I come with you,” said Goosey-poosey. “Certainly,” said Henny-penny, Cocky-locky and Ducky-daddles. So Henny-penny, Cocky-locky, Ducky-daddles and Goosey-poosey went to tell the king the sky was a-falling.

So they went along, and they went along, and they went along, till they met Turkey-lurkey. “Where are you going, Henny-penny, Cocky- locky, Ducky-daddles, and Goosey-poosey?” says Turkey-lurkey. “Oh! we’re going to tell the king the sky’s a-falling,” said Henny-penny, Cocky-locky, Ducky-daddles and Goosey-poosey. “May I come with you? Henny-penny, Cocky-locky, Ducky-daddles and Goosey-poosey?” said Turkey-lurkey. “Why, certainly, Turkey-lurkey,” said Henny-penny, Cocky-locky, Ducky-daddles, and Goosey-poosey. So Henny-penny, Cocky- locky, Ducky-daddles, Goosey-poosey and Turkey-lurkey all went to tell the king the sky was a-falling.

So they went along, and they went along, and they went along, till they met Foxy-woxy, and Foxy-woxy said to Henny-penny, Cocky-locky, Ducky-daddles, Goosey-poosey and Turkey-lurkey: “Where are you going, Henny-penny, Cocky-locky, Ducky-daddles, Goosey-poosey, and Turkey- lurkey?” And Henny-penny, Cocky-locky, Ducky-daddles, Goosey-poosey, and Turkey-lurkey said to Foxy-woxy: “We’re going to tell the king the sky’s a-falling.” “Oh! but this is not the way to the king, Henny- penny, Cocky-locky, Ducky-daddles, Goosey-poosey and Turkey-lurkey,” says Foxy-woxy; “I know the proper way; shall I show it you?” “Why certainly, Foxy-woxy,” said Henny-penny, Cocky-locky, Ducky-daddles, Goosey-poosey, and Turkey-lurkey. So Henny-penny, Cocky-locky, Ducky- daddles, Goosey-poosey, Turkey-lurkey, and Foxy-woxy all went to tell the king the sky was a-falling. So they went along, and they went along, and they went along, till they came to a narrow and dark hole. Now this was the door of Foxy-woxy’s cave. But Foxy-woxy said to Henny-penny, Cocky-locky, Ducky-daddles, Goosey-poosey, and Turkey- lurkey: “This is the short way to the king’s palace you’ll soon get there if you follow me. I will go first and you come after, Henny- penny, Cocky-locky, Ducky daddles, Goosey-poosey, and Turkey-lurkey.” “Why of course, certainly, without doubt, why not?” said Henny-Penny, Cocky-locky, Ducky-daddles, Goosey-poosey, and Turkey-lurkey.

So Foxy-woxy went into his cave, and he didn’t go very far but turned round to wait for Henny-Penny, Cocky-locky, Ducky-daddles, Goosey- poosey and Turkey-lurkey. So at last at first Turkey-lurkey went through the dark hole into the cave. He hadn’t got far when “Hrumph,” Foxy-woxy snapped off Turkey-lurkey’s head and threw his body over his left shoulder. Then Goosey-poosey went in, and “Hrumph,” off went her head and Goosey-poosey was thrown beside Turkey-lurkey. Then Ducky- daddles waddled down, and “Hrumph,” snapped Foxy-woxy, and Ducky- daddles’ head was off and Ducky-daddles was thrown alongside Turkey- lurkey and Goosey-poosey. Then Cocky-locky strutted down into the cave and he hadn’t gone far when “Snap, Hrumph!” went Foxy-woxy and Cocky- locky was thrown alongside of Turkey-lurkey, Goosey-poosey and Ducky- daddles.

But Foxy-woxy had made two bites at Cocky-locky, and when the first snap only hurt Cocky-locky, but didn’t kill him, he called out to Henny-penny. So she turned tail and ran back home, so she never told the king the sky was a-falling.”

hahahaha!

That reminds me so much of you the BLP jokers on this blog. One idiot say something stupid and the rest of you just pick up and run with it.

THE SKY IS FALLING. Mia Mottley and the Barbados Labour Party exactly.

The sky is falling, the sky is falling, the is falling, their message since Feb. 2008, and the saga continues.

You guys are funnier than Laurel and Hardy.

7. so when expenditure is weighing down national debt . isn’t it not incumbent on the gov. to give such info to PM and MOF. SO what is Your problem or would you prefer the Gov to conceal the relevant information giving you ammunition to claim that the gov is covering up for the govt ..as it is now you asking for his removal for giving his assessment Can’t Win!
    I believe the BLP yardfowls just can’t handle the TRuth after 14 years of lies ! coverups! and deceit,
    Just look at MAM running around like a chicken with the head cut off talking about PAC…….when she should know the laws of PAC and how protocol and rules are adhere to and not about her getting media spotlight for political grandstanding.

8. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | July 18, 2013 at 11:17 AM |

Repeat that same story next month to the MoF and when the credit rating agencies arrive at the airport welcome them with that fable in song with steel pan accompaniment. Just one continuing “kadooment”!

Yes continue to make “Cocky-locky” sport with the people’s business as if you are running a two bit rum shop in Brereton or Marchfield or on the Farm.

9. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | July 18, 2013 at 11:36 AM |
    “so when expenditure is weighing down national debt . isn’t it not incumbent on the gov. to give such info to PM and MOF”

Yes indeed that is his responsibility to inform the MoF of this situation and to recommend corrective measures to avert further deterioration of the foreign reserves which ought to be the primary monetary concern of the Governor.
    That is where his responsibility ends. Not to behave in a fiscally inappropriate manner as to tell the MoF (via the PM) and the public what and when to cut.

So whose advice are you following Mr. Minister? Your Governor’ or Sir Frank’s?
    Bu there is one constant in all of this; $400 million MUST BE CUT?

Any specific practical proposals ac, before the skies start falling?

10. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Post Cabinet address by the MOF this afternoon according to David Ellis.

11. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Adrian Loveridge | July 18, 2013 at 11:54 AM |

Hope it does come off and the media ask pertinent and searching questions.
    It would have been more appropriate if the Head of Cabinet was to deal with the media and to inform the public.
    Mr. Sinckler has lost the confidence of the people and both his integrity and competence are under severe scrutiny as negative suspicion.

All we are going to get from this man are lying excuses and playing the blame game. World recession, BLP, unproductive Bajans living above their means , lazy civil servants, back to 10 years ago blaming the BLP etc, ad nauseam over and over and over.

12. millertheanunnaki | July 18, 2013 at 11:52 AM |
    Yes indeed that is his responsibility to inform the MoF of this situation and to recommend corrective measures to avert further deterioration of the foreign reserves which ought to be the primary monetary concern of the Governor.

ac is it a lost to your contradictory barbs concerning the gov role. You seem what to be confused as to what role the gov should play….on one hand you say he must be released all and necessary info to the MOF and PM .while on the other hand you are attacking the gov for doing so, .
    the gov role is consistent with his job and he is legally right within the confines of the LAW in issuing statements in regards to the economy and give necessary advice.,,,,,, also as a citizen of Barbados he is within his rights just like you miller to make any comments .or suggestions, however the govt is not obligated to agree with his suggestions on necessary corrections.
    the govt can look to other advisors with whom they belive can make other contributions if they want to as they have been doing with the social partnership needless to say the govt does hold the gov in high esteemed and would take his contributions whether verbally or written seriously and with importance and not easily dismiss any suggestions he make without proper consideration.
    all this talk about what the gov say is another whishy washy attempt by the BLP yardfowls to muddy the waters.

13. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | July 18, 2013 at 12:26 PM |

Yes, Mr. dc acting as the ac ventriloquist dummy except more “polished” in language.

You are quite right about the Governor’s role, responsibilities and rights as a citizen. We can’t agree with you more.
    The Governor’s is so competently informed and professionally sound in his judgment that even the PM has publicly agreed with his recommendations and has announced his intention to “swiftly and sharply” implement them before the dollar comes under threat of devaluation.
    So far the PM has not reneged from his publicly announced support of the Governor’s clearly enunciated recommendations.

Are you telling us Mr. or Ms ac using your dummy mouthpiece that the PM should disregard the Governor’s advice and accept that of Sir Frank, minus of course the constant $400 million?

Would you please try to appreciate that this $400 million thingy is nothing the miller has concocted or devised as a plan to unseat your administration but something straight from the Governor’s mouth via the somnambulistic giant’s rare confabulations.

Focus on the divisions between Delisle and Frank in their confusing obfuscation called professional advice not on the irrelevant tongue-in-cheek-taking-the-mickey-doublespeak of the miller.

14. Where were they all along? Black Business of Barbados. I suppose they have had enough of Jada and the crew getting all the ‘wuk’ ’bout here. Cannot wait to hear the post-Cabinet press conference.. Cat-pis and pepper.

15. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Miller,

MOT is going to be there as well. Hopefully some solutions. Do we have enough media people to ask the right questions? 3pm, I understand but still waiting to hear if it will be carried live on radio. I expect the BGIS will tell us at 2.59pm.

16. With all respect Mr. Loveridge, do you and the others in the tourism sector expect to hear anything different from which you all would have heard before? Waiting for 3 pm as well.

17. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Bag Juice, I am trying very hard to be positive in case Carson criticises me again.
    Just spoke to a wonderful lady at BGIS (there is hope) who said it is now ONLY the MOT at 3.30pm and StarCom should be carrying it live.

18. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

millertheanunnaki | July 18, 2013 at 12:08 PM

There you go.

Jumping the gun as usual. trying to appear more knowledgeable than you are.

19. millertheanunnaki | July 18, 2013 at 1:19 PM
    | @ ac | July 18, 2013 at 12:26 PM |

Are you telling us Mr. or Ms ac using your dummy mouthpiece that the PM should disregard the Governor’s advice and accept that of Sir Frank, minus of course the constant $400 million?
    …………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
    who me I am in no position to tell the govt who! what! Where! or Whom they should take advice..
    But this I will tell you that you ought to stop talking sh…t and presenting it as FACT.. stick to wuh yuh f..king know and leave the social and economic problems to those who are in the business of dealing them.Miller u no expert on nutting except for sh..t talk and dat easy…..

20. ADRIEN AND MILLER U guys and all BLP yardfowls hear YE hear YE wunna going to be hearing GOOD NEWS and wunna not going to like it . So wunna excused from not listening or if possible attending. LOL

21. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Oh wise ADRIAN LOVERIDGE

How come you were not invited to the Post Cabinet address? You have to listen to the radio broadcast like the rest of us peasants.

22. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

There was a great big hullaballoo on this blog, encouraged as usual by the Blog owner,

It had to do with the granting of concessions to COST-U-LESS.

In Bermuda the Government just did this for developers:

“262-year lease for waterfront developers”

One Bermudian said that his grandchildren wont be around in 263 year time.

23. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | July 18, 2013 at 2:32 PM |

If you and CCC think that by cussing the miller and Adrian will make that $400 million millstone disappear from around this administration’s neck well keep cussing and wishing and hoping.

The first question on the agenda to ask the MoT is where the money is coming from to buy back Almond. Let’s deal with reality, not bullshit promises like the Four Seasons.

24. David (not BU) Avatar
    David (not BU)

anything the MoF says is a lie. the man is a lair. only people, sorry yardfowls, like AC and CCC hanging onto his words.

we have all seen the letter where the MoA told person under his command not meet with the MoF. It should not surprise many to know this has now multiplied across the cabinet. Why?

They all now see him as a lying sack of shit. who likes to be near or around shite? ac? CCC?

25. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

If I were the PM I would not buy Almond, Peanut,
    cashew or whatever it name is, that would not be a priority for my Government.

So too I would leave Barrack for whenever the BLP is returned to office, for me those are not pressing issues.

But I am not the PM, not yet anyway.

26. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

BTW

if Barrack kicks the bucket, who gets the money?

27. miller,

I tell you do not answer these two humbugs on BU.

ac sounds to me like that a stupid woman who calls Brasstacks. I call her Miss Stupid who during the election seemed to be getting her talking points from George Street or that she was in George Street. One day Peter tried to engage her and she said cannot talk about that.

ac strikes me to be Miss Stupid! She spins everything around that this inept incompetent bunch of misfits for ministers ever said during the election! How pathetic!

28. But my brother Carson poor Barrack would have to wait for at least another 10 or 15 years for payment.The BLP is doomed to be in opposition for that period time.
    Carson I also agree with you that David of BU and his BLP propaganda is not working .The sensible people of Barbados are not buying.

29. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

negroman

they enjoy fighting a loosing battle.

30. Prodigal whether any one reply to ac comments or not don’t bother me ;just give me a forum to say anything I want to say go unchallenged , NICE! but one thing fuh sure u and others going to be sitting on the sidelines wishing wunna could cuss my ass out like u doing now PRODIGAL HA! HA!. I wonder why I always get the last laugh. eerie reminder of the election. nuff licks but sweet revenge HA! HA! HA!;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;

31. Carson Cadogan
    maybe you pay/the woman’s
    light bill
    if you get the money

32. Tune out, from the press briefing. Mr. Loveridge, give your analsis of this briefing with Minister Sealy when it is over.

33. CCC
    In reference to your comment at 3:26.

We are not religious but if you serve ‘god’ as well as you serve the DLP be assured you will be in heaven in the sweet bye and bye.

34. Just the same words Harold Blackman said when he left the DLP and cussed out Sandi………….If I had served my God likeIi served the DLP, my seat in heaven would be secured!

35. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

UDC HAVE TO GO.
    CUT THAT FIRST NO MORE FUNDS FOR LAND THE UDC , NOR NHC OWN OR TAKEN , MANY HOUSE BUILT STILL EMPTY.
    EVEN AFTER ELECTION FRAUD.
    LEAVE ALL THAT TO THE OWNERS OF THE LANDS , NOTHING DONT BELONG TO THE CROWN ,IT IS THE CROOKS IN UDC AND NHC TALKING CROWN LAND.WITH NO DEEDS LAUNDERING THE LAND FOR THEIR PVT GAIN,
    HOW MUCH WILL THAT SAVE THE PEOPLE.?

36. You will realize how brilliant your idea is if you
    choose personalized satchels as gift wrap: Tired of wrapping gifts in paper?

The critics can look back to the 17th century but was not used to describe bags until 1900.