Six years after the global meltdown and we remain an in-cohesive people
Six years after the global meltdown we remain a divided people

There is no safety for honest men except by believing all possible evil of evil men.

Edmund Burke

Modern societies are fighting to stem an unprecedented level of corruption across the globe. There is  pervasive hankering for material things even when personal values are compromised in the process. Is Barbados insulated from the global experience?

There has been a lot of puffing of the chest by the political people in reaction to Transparency International’s release of the global corruption barometer for 2013. BU understands that Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart gave an interview to BBC and addressed the issue – how Barbados maintains its clean image given our high rating. Any good PR planted in the UK space is good given the dent to our reputation in the last 12 months. BU is not bowled over by Transparency International reports because we know this is based on a ‘perception index’ and then there is the relativity of the result. What is the significance of Barbados registering a better score on the corruption index compared to Jamaica, T&T, EC countries and others in the English speaking Caribbean anyway? Let us smile about the PR opportunity for Barbados but let us not forget that the incumbent government ran its campaign in 2008 on what it perceived was corruption by the Barbados Labour Party (BLP). Who do we believe Mr Prime Minister you or Transparency International?

More important should be the focus by Barbadians on what political science refers to as ‘legitimation crisis’. This is defined when  “a governing structure still retains the legal authority by which to govern, but is not able to demonstrate that its practical functioning fulfills the end for which it was instituted.” Some will argue that BU is being harsh in its assessment of the reality that is Barbados. We think NOT.

Let us pick two examples which we have flogged over the years. It is widely known members in the hierarchy of the police force did (do) not see eye to eye. The tension we have been made to understand was greater before Assistant Commissioner Bertie Hinds retired.  As a result of the tension in high command many senior police officers scurried to take up jobs in the private and non governmental sectors (What a waste of resources).  When questioned, Barbadians were told by Commissioner Darwin Dottin that the police force was performing its role to his satisfaction. One wonders if the police high command was able to cultivate a greater team dynamic if better results would have been possible.

As we write this blog suspended Commissioner Darwin Dottin and Acting Deputy Commissioner of Police Seymour Cumberbatch have challenged in our court key decisions by the Police Service Commission. Lest we forget there is the case outstanding which provoked a prominent QC to skin his botsy at a judge which involves several senior officers who have also challenged officialdom.

The other example is the judicial system which – to use a generic definition – is established to deliver equal justice under the law. BU has posted time and again about the ‘log jam’ of court cases which has neutered the ability of our judiciary to deliver justice. By the Chief Justice’s own words and other officers of the Court we have a problem. BU’s simple measure of performance – and which the CCJ concurs – by the judiciary is, justice delayed is justice denied – see Tales From the Courts.

Never (and this is our considered view) in our history have Barbadians become disillusioned about so many of our governance structures and other key agencies which comprise civil society.

We deliberated avoided the political system which in our view has shown all the indicators that it continues to struggle with exerting the tenets of a true democracy. When will the Public Accounts Committee deliver? When will the Committee of Privileges in parliament execute fairly read David Estwick? When will members of parliament be driven to vote conscience and not party affiliated robots?  When will our system of government respond to 40% of its people who have withdrawn from the system as evidence by voting statistics?

A legitimation crisis arises when the economic or political system can no longer count on sufficient levels of support from the population to continue to function – that is, to reproduce itself without resorting to force or violence” – Habermas.

75 responses to “Averting a Legitimation Crisis–a divided country”

1. Peak Oil and Economic Contraction

2. @ GCB

Your 3:04 contribution inaccurately represented our position. We do not pretend to have any system of governance to recommend, far less one that would be perfect. We have previously suggested some ideas only, that all. What we know for certain is that the current governing systems are not working for the vast majority of the peoples of the world. On the contrary, we believe that the collective intelligence of Bajans is far better than a narrow band of party loyalist, on either side. You pretend on seeking to improve the current system but the Westminster system as practiced in Barbados is more conservative than Westminster itself. Moreover, the operations of the BLP and DLP have made sure that the world would come to an end before Barbados could to transformed. We could not even form a coalition government if election results were 15/15 and may invite a constitutional crisis. 50 years after independence we still look to England, still have an eleven plus exam that the British dumped 45 years ago etc, etc. Tell us what has the present system done since independence to broaden democracy, improve governance, welocme mass participation, locate the axis of power with the people, deepen democracy? You tell us.

3. @GCB

By the way, we are not persuaded that you are the type of person who is so tethered to a party that you would avoid commonsense, unlike most party loyalists. However, you must admit that within the broader political culture it is hard to find many who refuse to drink the party’s cool aid.

4. BAFBFP July 13, 2013 at 5:10 PM…”When political parties circumvent not convention but law, what does it say about those involved?

It says that those political; parties are dishonest.

Plain and simple.

5. What Barbados really needs is caretaker government made up of qualified persons from both parties and a few independents, to put their heads together in the interest of COUNTRY and pull us out of this muck. However, this is asking to much, we are not nationally matured enough to acheive this, therfore, we are going to fall real hard.

6. millertheanunnaki Avatar

Zimmerman found “NOT GUILTY”.
    Hope there is no racial backlash as a result.

7. YOU MILLER there you go again with your racist bigoted statement. guess you can’t help it.

8. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

Barbados Diocesan Trustees are a bunch of crooks, owning more land than COW or the govt can claim with no deeds as yet. to be seen.
    Yet the Church collecting rents for over 20 years and refuse to forward the FUNDS ,
    Churches in Barbados have also robbing the people by taking and not giving every Sunday.
    As many become church Ministers/lawyers to gain a pay check ,Liars and crooks also in the church to the government house going after the minds and soul of the people..
    All need to stay home and read your Bible, save your 10%,, for the church will never lay off and they still looking for your !0% percent.
    More churches being built , We will have to count them and see how many different Faiths they are in BIM….

Plantations land have to be in the equation of all things in Barbados . If not , nothing will never add up and we will spin in the thick mud of gossip and untruths. Distraction by the Ministers will lead you no where. ,
    Learn to ask them questions each time you see them out, Put the Question to them and not let them give you speech and long talk ,
    It will be time to Vote soon ,
    We cant not and will not wait for 4 more Years.

9. keep skirting around the issue and using the blog to wallow in a false sense of importance rather than inviting learned comment as to how we are going to come up with a system to change the system which you vilify

10. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Economic Crisis Threatens Global Recession, U.N. Warns
    By Thalif Deen

This article may well be able to help some of you BLP people who cant think straight

“The United Nations Thursday reaffirmed a lingering fear haunting Western capitals: the world economy is teetering on the brink of another major downturn and heading towards a global economic recession.

“The situation is very grim,” Assistant Secretary-General for Economic Development Jomo Kwame Sundaram told reporters, “and it is expected to deteriorate further.”

In its 40-page biannual report titled “World Economic Situation and Prospects 2012” released Thursday, the United Nations painted a rather gloomy picture.

The European Union (EU) and the United States form the world’s two largest economies and they are “deeply intertwined”.

“Their problems could easily feed into each other and spread into another global recession,” the report warned.

The most pressing challenges, according to the report, are the continued job crisis and the declining prospects for economic growth, especially in the developed countries.

“Failure of policy makers, especially those in Europe and the United States, to address the job crisis and prevent sovereign debt distress and financial sector fragility from escalating poses the most acute risk for the global economy in the outlook for 2012-2013,” the study noted.

Among the major developing countries, growth in China and India is expected to remain “robust”. However, gross domestic product (GDP) in China slowed, from 10.3 percent in 2010 to 9.3 percent in 2011, and is projected to decline further to below 9.0 percent in 2012-2013.

India’s economy is expected to expand between 7.7 percent and 7.9 percent in 2012-2013, down from 8.5 percent in 2010.

Still, developing countries, which had rebounded strongly from the global recession of 2009, “would be hit through trade and financial channels”.

Asked how the eurozone crisis will impact developing nations, Rob Vos, director of development and policy analysis at the U.N. Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA), told IPS: “The eurozone crisis is both cause and effect of the economic slowdown in Europe.”

Because of the crisis, he pointed out, fiscal deficits have widened and this has pushed up public debt ratios.

The fiscal austerity measures in response to sovereign debt stress in a context of persistent high unemployment and a clogged banking sector is slowing the European economies and exacerbating sovereign debt stress, he noted.

And the rest of the world is affected through trade and financial channels. Weaker growth is slowing world trade and this is affecting exports of developing countries, Vos said.

Last month, manufacturing output of China declined for the first time since 2009.

Output growth in developing countries will reach 6.0 percent this year, which is already 1.5 percentage points less than in 2010, and it is expected to decelerate further in 2012, mainly as a result of the economic weakness in Europe and the United States. The sovereign debt distress in Europe, as well as in the United States, has caused financial turmoil worldwide with gyrating stock markets and exchange rates, Vos said.

“It has exacerbated capital flow volatility, with a sudden withdrawal of large sums of portfolio flows in the third quarter of 2011 from many emerging and developing economies putting pressure on their exchange rates,” he said.

The financial uncertainty is also affecting commodity prices, which have come down from highs earlier in the year, but foremost showing greater volatility, he added.

This is complicating macroeconomic management in developing countries and is not conducive to long-term investment in their economic development. The risks for a further slowdown and even a global recession are high, said Vos.

Asked whether the spreading economic crisis will have a negative impact on development aid to the world’s poorer nations, Vos said official development assistance (ODA) was still increasing last year and despite greater fiscal austerity, total flows may still increase during 2011-2013.

“Some individual donor countries have already cut aid in their government budgets, however. In any case, aid delivery will continue to fall well short of commitments made,” he said.

Asked if the crisis will also impact on the voluntary contributions by European nations to U.N. agencies in 2012, he said some agencies have already felt cuts in voluntary contributions from several European donors.

“In some cases these are significant, but it is not yet clear what the overall picture will look like,” Vos added.

http://ipsnorthamerica.net/news.php?idnews=3995

11. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

THE LIE

DAVID

Said that Cropover this year was not going to be good.(which is what he is hoping for, anything to damage Barbados will make him happy)

THE TRUTH

By Ricky Jordan | Sun, July 14, 2013 – 12:10 AM

Flights are coming in packed for Crop Over, according to tourism and airline officials.

Chairman of the Barbados Tourism Authority (BTA), Adrian Elcock, said while he could not give exact numbers since these were still being tabulated, Barbados was enjoying a “very strong demand for the flights”, with most arriving at capacity from all of the major markets, “mainly the United States, the Caribbean and Britain in that order”.

Elcock said Barbados could do with more airlift in the region in particular, since Crop Over would have benefited from the now defunct RedJet.

“But what we’ve been told at the board level is that the numbers are looking good and our airlift is coming in full,” he added, noting that summer bookings and arrivals from Britain were encouraging in spite of the country’s much-criticized air passenger duty (APD).”

You are free to jump in now ADRIAN LOVERIDGE and say that it is not so.

12. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

I think I would like to see some predictions that actually become true, rather that a lot of ill-informed hot air.

‘He (Adrian Elcock- Chairman BTA) added the BTA had spent BDS$250,000 promoting the annual Crop Over Festival which he said HAS been a major success’.
    BTA Media Conference – Hilton – 7 August 2012

Now the reality

July 2012 – Long stay visitors DOWN 12 per cent
    August 2012 – Long stay visitors DOWN 13.6 per cent

Those are the facts, so if it HAS been a ‘major success’, what constitutes a failure?

How much longer can we go on rewarding and re-appointing people for FAILURE?

13. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Adrian Loveridge | July 14, 2013 at 7:41 AM |

Adrian, these people running the show don’t deal in facts or make decisions based on evidence but merely rely on bullshit, lies, deceit and a general level of ignorance among the people and the frighteningly sycophantic silence among those who should know better.

What is coming over from the BTA officials is that this Crop-over will enjoy the arrival of so many visitors that will even make our so-called high winter season look like a day out to Great Yarmouth in the dead of winter.

Most visitors coming in for Crop-over are either Bajan Yankees and Bajan Limeys coming in to spend time with friends and families; not staying in hotels or guest houses.

Instead of making unrealistically faulty projections like expecting significant arrivals from the UK during a reasonably warm summer and having to pay high airfares because of the school and national holiday season, they should focus the little cerebral energy left to come up with ways to rebrand the festival.

First of all it needs a name change.
    There is no more sugar crop. Every thing is just one of bacchanal. Just look at the costumes and music. So why not rename it: “The Bajan Carnival” or “The Bajan Music Festival”?

14. Observing(...) Avatar
    Observing(…)

@adrian
    Ouch.

Carson has a slight allergy to facts and figures. Take it easy on him. Lol.

15. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

We need someone to please tell the People the truth

16. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

That is my boy ADRIAN, knock everything.

Cheers matey!

17. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Now if only ADRIAN were in charge……………

We are so “lucky” to have you here!

18. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

ADRIAN LOVERIDGE

To the rescue of us dumb peasants!

19. Observing(...) Avatar
    Observing(…)

@Carson
    Adrian presented figures in response to your assertion. I haven’t heard you dispute or defend them as yet. Can you? Is this your best response??

or will you respond like you did to my $66M (or $64M) question?

I admit though, you serve your purpose well.

Just Observing

20. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

BTW

I have not heard or seen SEETHRU lately?

Is he still living?

21. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I will soon be having my breakfast at a WENDYS restaurant some where near me!

22. Paying close attention Avatar
    Paying close attention

Who is the touted (by Tony Best) economist Charlie Skeete does Best pay his tout to deliver economic prognoses out of his backside?
    Skeete is a bewildering piece of work he’s been predicting Barbados economic meltdown from the days of Owen Arthur.
    Does he reside in Barbados nobody knows him aprt from Best who claims Skeete is a former IMF economist.

Under Owen Arthur “economist” Skeete told Tony Best morning after morning on VOB news the economy was on unsustainable path on the verge of implosion.
    Twenty years later the piece of s%#* still at it contradicting Worrell and gleefully adamant its doomsday for the island’s economy.
    He’s been wrong so long we can rest assured this too shall pass.What Charlie Skeete what.

23. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Taken from FACEBOOK:

“My beef is with economists like Ryan Straughn and Charlie Skeete who lived and worked in the UK and USA respectively. In the case of Mr. Skeete, he , as the old people would say, has feces on his doorstep in America and can’t smell it but could smell Barbados’. On the other hand Mr. Straughn left UK recently and knows how bad the situation is there but buries his head in the sand while giving the impression that Barbados economy is the worst in the world.

It is regrettable that neither of these gentlemen can’t find the time to research the following articles and highlight them in the BLP Nation Newspaper.”

(1) The economics of enough by Dan O’Neill
    http://www.guardian.co.uk/business/economics-blog/2013/may/01/economics-of-enough

(2) Public health statistics could cease to be published amid wave of budget cuts
    http://www.guardian.co.uk/society/2013/jul/10/public-health-statistics-publish-cuts-cameron

(3) Unicef: British children facing bleaker future under coalition

http://www.guardian.co.uk/society/2013/apr/10/children-bleaker-future-coalition-unicef

!!!!!!!!!

24. Hi to every body, it’s my first go to see of this weblog; this web site includes remarkable and really good data in support of visitors.

25. We are witnessing a legitmation crisis playing out in Detroit

Leave a Reply to PachamamaCancel reply