Text – Review of Barbados’ Economic Performance for the first six months of 2013

209 responses to “Review of Barbados’ Economic Performance January to June 2013”

1. All of the economic indicators are trending south just as BU has predicted. The curry approaches/strategies continue not to work despite the Governor’s unbridled optimism.

2. The behaviour of this governor has gone past comprehension. How on earth he could spin the awful evidence before him is beyond words, beyond believability. All the indicators point south and instead of telling like it is, he spins for this government. When the reality hits the Barbados people, “riots” will break out about here and then we will see how true Ronald Jones’ words were……….crack some heads and shoot some people!

3. IMPEACH THE CENTRAL BANK GOVERNOR NOW

4. old onion bags Avatar

Give Dr.Worrell a break will ya……I see nothing wrong with presenting things the way you see them….. BESIDES who got the PhD you or he?If he saw things as STABLE even up to the last 3 months who are you all to say different. Are you all aware how quickly these things can change affa an elections?
    Who F_ing well robbing this train doa…you or Jesse?…Wanna MADD?

5. Part of this article was taken from Google news
    IMF scales back world growth forecasts for 2013-14

A recession in the 17 countries that use the euro currency is shaping up to be deeper than expected, another factor pulling down the forecast, the IMF said. The Eurozone is now expected to contract by 0.6% this year, compared to the April forecast for a 0.4% decline.

To say one thing about Barbados and discount all other factors that are impacting on us involves a certain level of intellectual dishonesty.

One of those countries in the Eurozone is Great Britain our biggest tourist market.
    Just bringing some perspective of what is happening in the world

6. @Clone

Do you think the government and those who offered input to the Barbados Development Development document would have considered external conditions when forming the 20 objectives?

https://bajan.wordpress.com/2013/07/06/barbados-growth-and-development-strategy-draft-document-2013-2020/

7. Gabriel Tackle Avatar
    Gabriel Tackle

I am not impressed with this GOCB.He is too biased and has a fetish for playing with small cars like a little child does.He will tell PM Stuart everything he thinks he wants to hear other than the plain truth.As for the buffoon Sinckler,the least said the better.It’s plain to see Buhbaydus economy has gone south and might not be back.Let’s get out the marching boots,guys and dolls!

8. Knight of the Long Knives Avatar
    Knight of the Long Knives

I maintain the biggest economic damper was the raising of VAT. Choosing to increase the already burdensome tax regime to cover governments cost rather than try to reduce spending (wastage) has been the deathblow to commercial activity in almost every area of the economy beside Jada and Preconco of course.

9. David
    Those countries have economist too and they plan but no economist will get the world out of this mess until unsustainable living stops.

10. St George's Dragon Avatar

At least he stands up and gives a report on a regular basis. That’s more than Fumble does.

11. @Clone

Then one must wonder why both political parties year after year in the last 6 years have been making these pie in pie promises.

12. old onion bags Avatar

@ Knight of Long Knves

RAMFLO……..Suppose Vat was sent up to 20% come nxt Budget?

13. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

look for VAT to reach the USA and Canada rates , for the fool feel if we work in the states and other places, then we can pay the same rates at home,
    It will keep going and they will keep spending. GODS to repeat the same mess , If the Americans buy that mess that means they can feed it to us, Trash man just got 2.5% more and the trash pick up is less, nothing gets better with more taxes,
    No VAT in Suriname?

14. Can the Governor explain why he thinks “reducing spending in
    the economy” could ever lead to growth? What spending is he talking about? Government expenditure or private expenditure?. God help us if he thinks we can take more taxes. It seems like the strategy is to grind Bajans into the ground to stop them spending, while praying for a miracle in the tourism (and renewables) sector. Not really very sensible. If that is it from him, bring on the IMF.

15. Hamilton hill Avatar

@ Prodigal Son…Relax yaself man,we are too matured a people to engage in any riot.If it came down to it this government would gracefully bow out before it came to such.You guys keep hanging on to the idiotic rantings of Ronald Jones as if jack ass comments by government ministers is something new to Barbados.Man try and relax and enjoy crop over.

16. Ease up on the Governor doh! Wunnah all know CB Governors are all Creatures of the Minister of Finance. What do you expect the creature of this current MoF to do? Say that things are going south? I suspect that the figures he gives us are all themselves as accurate as he can make them (I remember when he changed the methodology for collecting the Employment figures to make them more believable. There doesn’t appear to be any similar sleigh of hand here).

But note that in the Consultation report last week he indicated something to the effect that earlier efforts to reduce Expenditure had not been successful. It is not the GCB’s job to implement policy or strategy. That comes under the purview of the Minister. This Governor is clearly setting out to differentiate his role from that of the Minister while still remaining his creature.

But it looks like we in trouble. It seems to me that the one and main prerequisite for us to come out of this situation is for most of the relevant actors in the strategies for improving the economy to have confidence in the Government and the main Institutions involved in Economic policy. That does not seem to be now so and hardly anyone seems to be factoring this elephant in the room into the numerous prescriptions for turning around the economy.

In the meantime we get pretty words but frightening numbers, especially for the uninitiated like me.

Is there hope in the current system or is a drastic revamping necessary?

17. maybe the mOF should consider stimulating the economy through the reduction of income tax across the board short term in an effort stimulate the economy. as now investment has been at a standstill, the Vat has reached its peak and bottom out since peoples income in most cases might have stagnant or declined causing them to reduce spending which has negatively impacted vat from the previous years, slow spending and high unemployment complicated by lower wages is another factor contributing to even further decline in growth at a faster rate than govt expected . as I see right now keeping the vat in place but cutting individuals income tax across the board,maybe the way to go short term to accelerate growth through individual spending. the govt has its work cut out but I am positive that they can pull it through.

18. here is another jackass name bus driver who don’t understand what the govt meant in his recommendation “to cut spending ” yet he can pontificate on how dumb the Gov is LOL. I recommend that Bus Driver seek legal counsel from CASWELL

19. BU? Bajans just amaze me. It’s simple >>

The GOCB mislead the Bajan electorate before the election in support of the DLP, now that he is up for reappointment he wants to come clean just before the economy totally tanks, and DLP supporters on this blog still continue to defend the incompetence of the GOCB and the current DLP administration. Have we not been MISLEAD enuff…

At what point will DLP supporters start to put country first in there thinking … is it when there is a run on our banks as occurred in the U.S great depression.

While other Caribbean nations are making progress in these challenging times (like St.Lucia) by reinventing themselves as needed, we here is Barbados continue to use the global recession as an excuse to do nothing on how to best re-position our economy … this has now become pure national insanity.

This news from the CBB is clear proof of the continued failure of the current DLP administration. To continue to support incompetence is simply selfish, insane and does not reflect the many painful realities of bajan families.

However I know that many DLP supporters now starting to get it, unfortunately its too late …. We are in deep as a nation with 4 long years to go with an missing in action PM and the worst set of DLP ministers EVER.

It’s time to pray for Beautiful Barbados.

20. I forgot to mention above that I think that the current situation requires the following actions for any significant turnaround.
    1) Developing strategies to rebuild the country’s confidence in the players who direct the economy
    2) recognition that a total reconstruction of several Government Ministries and privatization of several of their functions is now necessary
    3) Drastic reductions in the number of MInistries.
    4) Rationalization of a number of Statutory Organizations
    5) Zero Budgeting as a standard budgeting methodology.
    6) Adapting and adopting the good aspects of some systems used by some of our neighbours to combat situations similar to those we are now experiencing.

This prescription obviously needs a lot of work, but you get the idea.

21. LIKE IT OR LUMP IT Avatar
    LIKE IT OR LUMP IT

Arthur was correct. I challenge anyone to say otherwise.

22. @ Check-it out
    As man Check-it, you must know that the VERY BEST approach to bringing a level of stability to the Barbados economy will be to completely reverse the idiotic acceptance of the globalization policies that were imposed on our world by the G8 thugs in the hope of turning the world into their own personal dumping ground.

LOL they are now trying to dig themselves out of their own well – since the Asian tigers turned tables on them and turned THEM into dumping grounds for cheap exports. LOL Ha Oh Shirt!!!

But serious, our brass bowl leaders started digging this hole when they accepted that “free market” nonsense push at them…..why don’t we now take some creative steps such as:
    1 – Reduce VAT to 5%
    2 – impose massive IMPORT DUTIES in the order of 1000% on luxury items to a minimum of 200% on other non essentials (like most shoite food items)
    3 – Ban ALL imports of vehicles except for replacement of units over 20 years old, and ONLY by approved energy efficient units.
    4 – Full annual road taxes to be payable on all vehicles by the last owner, until it is officially scrapped and properly disposed of.
    5 – 50% discount on all land taxes where a current certificate of compliance with NCC beautification standards is presented.
    6 – 100% discount on all land taxes for all farmers earning more than 1% of the value (of their total land) in profits on produce during the year.
    7 – 20% annual land tax rates for all properties blocking windows to the sea along any coastline.

……LOL
    This shirt is soooooo easy! 🙂 …..in five years Singapore leaders would be coming here to learn how to plan national development Ha Ha LOL..

23. @AC

You killing me… When the BLP suggested we do as you state “reduce tax rates” in order to “put money back in people’s pockets” BACK in February …. DLP supports like you said it was a bad idea … Now you blog on BU in support of the approach.

That sir is classic ” a day late and dollar short ” … furthermore name one positive and significant thing that the MOF has done for the economy, which history will show he has wrecked with the PM …. Current government pull what off please ….

Sell crazy on some other blog, and stop drinking the election coolaid …. your responses put me in mind of the kind of incompetence civil service mindset the GOCB referenced in the announcement today.

Stop the nonsense … Put Barbados First …. Stop participating in misleading the bajan people.

24. Given the structure of the Barbados economy, growth from local tax reduction will increase imports and forex outflows. Arthur and team suggested that we use the reserves to stimulate domestic spending, I wonder what the outcome of that policy prescription would have been.

Why are private inflows down? Is it primarily confidence, the effects of the european recession or a somewhat inevitable slowdown in the real estate market? Maybe there are other causes?

There was an 8% increase in new international business registrations but a 14% decline in renewals. Thats a bit confusing to me, it would be good to develop an understanding of the underlying issues.

25. @Bush Tea

I get where you are going …. but as a realist the current DLP administration does not have the intellectual capacity to address simply reforms.

26. I have been somewhat bemused by the arguments about the “wonderful” performance of the St. lucia economy. The 2013 IMF article 4 consultation reports a 0.4 decline in gdp for 2013, an inflation rate of 6.6%, a deficit of 11.9% and a projected deficit of 9.4% for this year.

Executive Board Assessment

The Executive Directors noted that St. Lucia’s economy has suffered from a weak global environment and external shocks. The outlook remains challenging, and vulnerabilities have built up in the fiscal, financial, and external sectors. Directors welcomed the authorities’ commitment to address these vulnerabilities, and underscored the need for prompt and resolute action.

Directors agreed that the main policy imperative is to address the fiscal imbalances and set debt on a sustainable path. They urged the authorities to start consolidation without delay, while minimizing the negative impact on growth. In this regard, they recommended focusing the adjustment on current spending, including wages and subsidies, while protecting productive investments and targeted social spending. Wage agreements should be consistent with fiscal and economic fundamentals. Directors welcomed the introduction of the value-added tax and underscored the need to protect its base. They saw scope to further widen the tax base by reducing tax incentives and exemptions.

27. @Observer

“There was an 8% increase in new international business registrations but a 14% decline in renewals. Thats a bit confusing to me, it would be good to develop an understanding of the underlying issues.”

It called playing with numbers or spin … truth >> “there was a decline in international business registrations about 6% at the end of the day. But to say that in straight English could be viewed negatively by potential new international business inventors … so here comes the CBB spin mastering.

28. Austin that was not the right time . there was a need to sustain and preserve foreign reserves while at the same time sustaining growth at a reasonable level which not been done at such a time would have caused rapid erosion in foreign reserves and faster decline in what little economic growth was fueling the economic .. well now we have entered another phase at a faster and rapid rate through lack of disposable income flowing into the economy which have stagnated economic growth which translates to slow or insignificant spending insufficient to maintain the economy. NOW is the time that the govt should bit the bullet short term and release some monetary funding into the hands of consumers , it might help short term but however it is not a silver bullet, the silver bullet lies in the ability of govt being able to grab hold and wrestled import bills and energy cost lost term combined with other measures the Gov; suggested.

29. St.Lucia is doing one thing that Barbados is not …. They are using their god given brains to innovate and come us with ideas to strengthen there economy which is working. We in Barbados are playing with numbers to mislead the public which takes lots of energy to keep track of.

But forget about St.Lucia .. lets get our house in order by first recognizing we have a ineffective government, we still nationally cant seem to get there and are still playing party politics with the future of our nation.

30. I think we all mean well for barbados.

I think its a huge error to focus on the dlp and the central bank governor and overlook the underlying issues in our economy.

We had a decade long real estate boom fuelled by foreign buyers. Is that game now over and if so how do we fill it?

We rightly focus on business facilitation but is the International business sector fatally wounded by the chnages in the canadian tax laws which undermine barbados in particular and the anti-tax avoidance stance in the g8 generally. If so how do we fill the void in forex and tax revenues?

31. The medium term development plan is a starting document as we try to build out a new economy for a new environment. I had rather hoped for some more constructive comment on the “Draft” document.

I actually wished the BLP had won the last election so we could hopefully get that issue out the way and maybe then focus on some of the deeper issues.

32. I disagree with your thinking as you clearly sound like someone from the MOF School of Economics (so smart we foolish). It is always better for the public to spend money as an economic booster then for governments to do so. Holding on to foreign reserves with no real economic growth strategy that actually works only delays the crash that Barbados is facing and makes the whole in the ground when we hit deeper.

33. Lets deal with facts. the st. lucia economy is plagued with the same growth and fiscal deficit issues as barbados. their fiscal deficit is actually worse.

34. Bush Tea;

Nice as usual, But my Mother often said that when one’s hand is in the Lion’s mouth, ease it out.

I note that none of your prescriptions are meant to be workable in the current environment. Therefore to at least try some of them, requires a total revamping of our Governmental and Private Sector system. This probably translates to your BBE setting the stage in a possibly cataclysmic way prior to the implementation of a system in which your prescriptions would stand a chance of being implementable.

In other words; Cataclysmic situation; People erupt and run the present Government, Opposition, Cabinet, Public Servants, yardfowl of various stripes, toute monde backai out of the Island, along with all the monied Private sector people. Leaving only the Bushmen; a few old people and some strong energetic Rasta types here to put together the brave new world. Properties left here would be protected by a loyal police force for the new owners, Deeds, Since he would have the dedds for all of them.

VAT could then be eliminated completely.
    A list of luxury import items could be drawn up by the Bushmen who now run the country and the 1000% import duties placed on them. In short order none of these items will be brought in.
    An outright ban would be placed on all food imports. Everyone will go back to yams and eddoes, etc.
    Ban import of all vehicles. Let our Mechanical Engineers provide the population with our home grown vehicles; Souped up Solar vehicles.
    Etc. Etc. Yuh see how uh going.

Tourists will flock here in droves to see how we survive, nay thrive, in this new system

Barbados is beautiful, a gem in the Caribbean sea.

35. Well we can agree to disagree austin. the best evidence says that every dollar spent in bim results in a leakage of at least 75 cents of forex.

what would the public spned the money on that would not use forex. the point is that if you want to maintain your fixed exchange rate you need adequate reserves and growing the economy from domestic consumption leaks forex.

36. Austin; Your explanation for the way the changes in International Business Registrations seems not quite believable. Surely it would make more sense and be more attractive to a potential new International Business registrant if he were simply told there was a 6% increase in registrants rather than the spelling out of a 8% decrease in registrations and a 14% increase in new registrants. The potential registrant would most likely be inclined to try to find out why the old registrants were leaving.

The GOCB would be smarter than that. The data as presented begs further questioning by potential registrants. Or are you saying that the Governor and some of his staff dropped the ball here.

37. yes austin that works well in an economy that is not undergoing the undue stress and shocks tied to global economies plus having to service heavy debt, firstly we had to get what was the most important order of the day back up and running that being our foreign reserves ,also you must note that part of our ability to borrow also hinges on our foreign reserves which was depleted at that time and to reinforce my point which also in part lead to our downgrading as the credit rating suggested that our economy would not have been able to sustain adequate amount of foreign reserves; therefore the need to maintain sufficient or adequate forex must have weighed heavily on the minds of govt; in addition if need arises for us to borrow in an emergency we could use them as leverage. plus growth around that time was sustaining itself at a reasonable rate even with a slower economy so the need to put money in the consumer hand would not have accomplished both objects at that time, taking those mitigating factors into mind such was a deciding factor for not implementing what OSA had suggested,

38. “what would the public spend the money on that would not use
    forex.”
    So are you suggesting that we are so useless and lacking in ability and creativity that we can do no better than import and resell? If some of these subsidized, poor rakey, so-called food items were completely banned or penalized with duties like in the old days, don’t you think that local manufacturers could step in and create competing products?
    If the Japanese can create a whole industry by completely reconditioning cars every three years….don’t you think that we could encourage a similar market and industry here too….rather than sending our scarce forex to Japan to buy THEIR reconditioned cars…?

Oh Ye of little faith Check-it…. 🙂

39. even though I need to agree with what you say observer about leakage we must take all angles into account and try to stop the leakage in other areas as well. Now is not the time to be storing all your eggs in one basket while the other basket remains empty, the govt must in order to stop the bleeding in growth MUST at this point and time finds a way to release monetary value into the economy short term if not the bubble would burst. right now what I am seeing compared to the last five years is that spending has slowed not so much because of vat but might be due to further unemployment and wage s being freeze and little hiring. there must be a balance . it does not mean that we have to give all at one time but incrementally short term it can worked .

40. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Austin:-

this one is for you!

By Melanius Alphonse( a management and development consultant. He is an advocate for community development, social justice, economic freedom and equality; the Lucian People’s Movement (LPM) critic on youth initiative, infrastructure, economic and business development)

“When governments are faced with economic challenges such as those currently faced in Saint Lucia, one would expect that a coordinated strategy of cutting taxes, the implementation of new incentives for business to hire, thus enabling the middleclass and working family’s to make ends meet; and a reduction of the deficit to enable a return of confidence in the economy!

However, island states and PARTICULARY SAINT LUCIA, where the economy CONTINUES TO WORSEN, similar measures have hardly been instituted. In fact, with each passing year the economy underperforms.

And not only does the quality of life suffer, but the effects can be felt in the societal disintegration which is currently taking place throughout the island.

But wouldn’t it be nice, for once, if the government of Saint Lucia abstained from excessive borrowing, and instead remedied the economic deficiencies with the right social and economic policies? Ever wonder what it would be like to achieve a people-driven economy that no longer takes comfort in government insistence on creating artificial employment?

Well, if only the government of Saint Lucia is finally able to listen to the cries of desperation coming from the people, along with the pensive, but silent ramblings of disappointment from the business community, perhaps there can be hope for Saint Lucia after all.”

Now tell me again which St. Lucia are you referring to?

Even St. Lucians are disillusioned with St. Lucia. Yet somehow you and ADRIAN LOVERIDGE keep referring to a St. Lucia no one can find.

Where is this ST. LUCIA?

41. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

AUSTIN

In a recent online poll in St. Lucia, St. Lucians were asked by LPM,

How would you rate Kenny Anthony’s leadership?
    a) An excellent leader
    b) A mediocre leader
    c) A gross failure

28.16%, voted “excellent” for Kenny Anthony’s leadership abilities; 27.59%, voted “mediocre”; and 44.25%, felt that he had failed as a leader.

Don’t you read any of this before you come onto this blog to mislead people?

42. @CCC
    Your point is well made but when is your DLP government going to come to term with a realism that says capitalism is collapsing? The refusal to make this determination leave the country looking to a failed political-economy model for answers. That, is worse than pointing on some other house that is on fire. We know the illness the patient has death is coming soon. Let’s prepare for the hereafter, no?

43. pachama u need to go to sleep and take your communist sh..t elsewhere.

44. Some folks will find every possible reason to do NOTHING.

Your missing the point which is simply… While St.Lucia as a whole still has challenges, their approach to growing their tourism industry (as a key industry) is betting the brakes off is us daily and getting stronger, just by using their brains. While we stand by an make silly comments about them as recently done by our MOT.

We cant control the global recession but it is the recession of ideas on how best to navigate it that is killing our economic more …. that is the core of the point I’m attempting to make.

45. As far as we can see Communism as a political-economy model has already failed. That seemed to have happened 20 years ago. This blog will be forever mired within the inbreeding of idiocy so married to a bi-polar construct that there is never the creativity to start thinking about a third, or fourth sets of organizing principles. Kiss yuk pussy ac!

46. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Austin

Here is another tidbit from St. Lucia

Taken from the St. Lucia Star newspaper:

“In an address to the nation on Wednesday, February 27, 2013, the Prime Minister Dr Kenny Anthony indicated that growth in the economy in recent years has been subdued, falling, it is estimated, to a low of -0.6 percent in 2012. Further, he lamented an In an address to the nation on Wednesday, February 27, 2013, the Prime Minister Dr Kenny Anthony indicated that growth in the economy in recent years has been subdued, falling, it is estimated, to a low of -0.6 percent in 2012. Further, he lamented an unemployment rate of 24 percent, reaching an estimated high of 45 percent among our youth in the labour force. With such disheartening statistics, it is not surprising that St Lucia is among seven other Caribbean territories which the Caribbean Development Bank has listed as having a high and unsustainable debt!

Who and what then is responsible for the status of our country? Who does this slow economic growth inadvertently affect? Based on the statistics from the head of the nation, the rate of unemployment is a grave predicament. What does a low employment rate say about our education system, since it is supposed to prepare its students to make a meaningful contribution to society?”

Just reading this one sided blog, one would believe that Barbados is the only place on Earth facing challenging times.

St. Lucia is being PORTRAYED as a place that is doing exceptionally well in the Caribbean, however the TRUTH paints a very different picture.

Note the words of the PRIME MINISTER of St. Lucia,

“he lamented an unemployment rate of 24 percent,”
    “reaching an estimated high of 45 percent among our youth in the labour force”

47. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | July 9, 2013 at 10:05 PM |

When Barbados has reached the stage of comparing itself with “lowly” St. Lucia we know things have really hit rock bottom.

Imagine Bim once the No.1 developing country in the World is now using what Bajans used to refer to as “low island St. Lucia” as a benchmark for success or failure.
    What has happened to Singapore, Malta, Bermuda Bahamas Cayman Islands, Mauritius, or the Seychelles?

Are we tacitly preparing Bajans to think along E.C dollar lines?
    Maybe when the dollar is devalued to make it on par or more competitive to the EC dollar then the Helen of the West might just be the jewel in the crown of the sub-region including poor Barbados.

Where there is mediocre leadership expect to get mediocre performances and negative outcomes.

48. Pachamama | July 9, 2013 at 10:35 PM |
    Kiss yuk pussy ac!

U foul mout PERVERT! I hope a crapoo eat uh swibbly balls while u sleep;

49. Observing(...) Avatar
    Observing(…)

@Observer
    ” the best evidence says that every dollar spent in bim results in a leakage of at least 75 cents of forex”

Can you point to this evidence? this is the “smoking gun” that would really allow objective observing people to see which strategy is better.

Arthur and co. claim that 70% of economic activity is domestic. who’s right?

@Bushie
    your prescriptions call for an immense amount of balls and massive willpower. Can’t say I’ve seen that lately.

Observing

50. oh shut up miller. NO PRIVATISING NUTTING !

Leave a Reply to checkit-outCancel reply