Submitted by Napolean Bonaparte

tourofstjohnpolyclinicBarring any unforeseen circumstances, the St. John Polyclinic should be set to open its doors to the public come June, this year. So says Minister of Health, John Boyce, who toured the 27,000 square-foot multi-purpose facility yesterday with officials from the Ministry of Health. Mr. Boyce said he was happy with the progress so far and was pleased with the co-ordination between architects Michael Lashley Architects Limited, Ministry officials and a team of public health nurses, who were also on the tour.

April 4th, 2013 – BGIS Press

The million dollar question of recent is, what is holding up the opening of the St. John Polyclinic? Slated then to open in June 2013, this will now make the third aborted attempt at opening the place.

Can the Democratic Labor Party then make idle boast that St. John is their crown jewel given the present and past lackadaisical attention being paid to the parish? Why it is a known indisputable fact that St.John is the most under developed parish on the island. Being a strong hold seat of the DLP for decades and nesting home of the late EWB and David Thompson, why are we finding this strange?

Residents of the parish can make ample boast that there is no bank, no major supermarket, no fast food outlets, one major secondary school and now no health clinic to-date. Again why are we not finding this strange. Talk about unperturbed representation.

79 responses to “The St. John Deliberations”

1. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Palgrave Court | July 8, 2013 at 11:07 AM |

“Don’t you think if there was any merit whatsoever in your legal position, it would have been pursued by those who stand to benefit, the BARBADOS LABOUR PARTY?”

That is the biggest joke for a while.

First let me say that Mara, although born in another country, has every right as the spouse of another Bajan citizen by descent to run for the House of Assembly (HoA).
    The question is whether she is allowed to hold simultaneous citizenship in three separate jurisdictions; that is, St. Lucia, Barbados and the UK.
    But this would never be tested since Mara is the mother of MAM’s god child the same way that she is the godmother of David Estwick’s child.

You simple naïve fools being used to carry messages between friends playing gods even if they are fooling you they are political enemies.
    These politicians in Bim went to school together, socialize together and work together in professional capacities.
    Don’t let the little blood sport of fun and games and manipulation of the masses like pawns in the game of chess or common men in draughts distract you from the real aim of fulfilling egotistical ambitions in the power game called politics.

Even if Mara is found to be unqualified to sit in the HoA of Barbados there is no way the BLP could ever win the St. John constituency in the next 10 years.

If the DLP sends a jackass or even a monkey dressed up in yellow and blue with a banner marked “Vote DLP” to run for St. John that idiot will certainly find a seat in that chamber.
    Just ask “JUST ASKING” and he will confirm. Even if the premier yardfowls ac or Negroman have the guts to run they too will win hands down in St. John.

2. Who are the principals of Michael Lashley Architects Ltd? Any relationship to the Minister?

3. old onion bags Avatar

Bet that this polyclinic goes the way of the other St.Peter institution…open for few years….unable to be adequately capitalized n staffed..later put up for privatization….Harris & Co…look they providing fodder for canons…

4. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Jeff

Re: your comment at 11:12 AM

The fact that you marry a person who is a non national does not automatically make you have allegiance to your adopted country. The non national spouse does not have to acquire citizenship of their adopted country, but if he/she does then they must subscribe to the Oath of Allegiance and that would surely bring them in collision with section 44. Therefore if she has in fact become a citizen of the UK, she would be barred from serving in our Parliament.

I accept your earlier position that being born by itself would be insufficient to disqualify anyone because it was not their own act.

5. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

Caswell,
    And she is a citizen of England? Was David Thompson too? Because, if so, then….

6. Gabriel Tackle Avatar
    Gabriel Tackle

Remember Peter Morgan?Remember the Nation newspaper asking aloud on its front page in the 70’s….Where is your mother country Peter?And ‘e get ‘ten to in ’81.

7. @Jeff & Caswell

Whereas the children qualify for UK citizenship by descent Mara would have to have lived for three years with he husband on UK soil to acquire citizenship.

8. Colonel Buggy Avatar

David | July 8, 2013 at 4:17 PM |
    @Jeff & Caswell
    Whereas the children qualify for UK citizenship by descent Mara would have to have lived for three years with he husband on UK soil to acquire citizenship.
    …………………………………………………………………………………
    Not quite so David. I got married in Barbados while holding both British and Barbadian Citizenship. My wife who followed me to to the UK a few weeks afterwards , was granted British Citizenship ,before leaving Barbados.
    I am at present looking at my wife’s Certificate of Registration as a Citizen of the United Kingdom and Colonies.

And by the way, according to Caswell, then I could have been considered ,by the Barbados Government ,a Mercenary in the employ of a foreign power, the Brits.

9. @Buggy

That must have been before 1983.

https://www.gov.uk/british-passport-eligibility

10. @ Jeff C
    the problem is that people take Caswell Franklyn too seriously .The ignorance he displays most of the time is matched only by his disrespect for others . Ignore the man !!!

11. Observing(...) Avatar
    Observing(…)

“Therefore if she has in fact …”
    “I accept your earlier position…”

lol. Caswell like only Caswell can do it.

Just Observing

12. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

Caswell is a stovepipe lawyer. It is obvious his lack of training by the fact that he rushes out on BU and elsewhere with an opinion and tries to rearrange the facts to ensure his opinion holds.

The man is a clown.

13. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ The Dummy @ Dumo | July 8, 2013 at 7:46 PM |

Why are you so hard on Caswell?
    He does have a point.

If Mara holds British Citizenship through being married to a British-born man she cannot continue to hold triple citizenship. She has to renounce one if she is to “properly” serve as a duly elected member of the HoA.

We are sure that you being a well brought up Bajan brainwashed “christian” would be only to keen to heed the Biblical injunction about serving two masters far less three.
    She just cannot be a citizen of St. Lucia, Barbados and the UK at the same time. One must go!

And if we are thinking what Mara is thinking Barbadian is the one to be jettisoned.
    Why do you think the JM wants the CLICO forensic audit report to be “sealed”?
    Such revelations would bring down the legacy of D T and by infection contaminate the integrity of the sitting member.

Is it too early to spring a by-election on the country? Yes we say!
    Let the DLP stew a bit more in its no layoffs, no privatization juices flavoured by the dirty lies and confusing deceit. Transport Board will soon collapse unless rescued by private sector benefactor.

14. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

Miller

Much like you Caswell is a clown, a court jester……………..someone to laugh and joke with but never, never to be taken serious.
    By election in Saint John or not, the Parliamentary tall remains unchanged at 16 to 14.

15. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ The Dummy @ Dumo | July 9, 2013 at 8:07 AM |

You mean like your friend David Estwick? You think he would ever be Minister of Finance or will he be looked over for the job again and again in favour of porn king Donville or even the biggest court jester and clown Mr. Physical Deficit himself Jepter the clown prince Ince?

Listen up Messenger to the Court of Dummies: it is neither the miller nor Caswell to be taken seriously. Whom you have to take real seriously are just around the corner are the financial clowns masquerading as credit rating agencies who will soon declare Bim bankrupt and the Doctor Booby IMF just waiting to come to its rescue as the banker of last resort.

Why can’t you tell your funny friends where to cut the $400 million without sending home one public sector worker? After all, they are magicians who can turn a deficit of $400 M into a surplus of $800 M to build a brand new hospital that has simply slipped off the radar of projects.

When are you guys going to pay the UWI? Or are you waiting on the quack Estwick to inject more morphine in that broken foot diabetic?

16. Miller just like caswell u like to circumvent! propagate! twist and instigate issues to your way of thinking to form conclusion. how do u know what mara legal status is outside that being of barbadian citizen. as usual u being the consumate yardflow lean to your thinking oblivious of facts solely relying on perceptions

17. Napoleon Bonaparte “Residents of the parish can make ample boast that there[are] no fast food outlets”

But Napoleon, having no fast food outlets is a good thing. The sugar, grease and flour served at all fast food outlets is what is killing we.

If we think:

Fast food outlets=progress and development.

Then Lord help we.

18. The way I look at it

fast food outlets=chronic non-communicable diseases.

I bet nobody ever see the late Mr. Sisnett (aged 113) at any fast food outlet yet.

19. The BLP bought Eastry House, St. Peter (anybody remember Eastry House (formerly owned by the sister-in-law of Bree St. John and her German? husband)

Now the DLP is buying Almond.

My questions are:

Why?

Why?

20. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

Miller

Which end of the shallow gene pool did you crawl out of? You should not worry so much about the DLP, why don’t you concentrate your efforts on helping the hopeless and hapless BLP? They only have 1,700 days or so more to wait until another chance to piss off the electorate.

21. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

Miller
    You still vex with DT over the little trick he put pun you regarding the CLICO Committee, all before you retired from Finance.

22. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ The Dummy @ Dumo | July 9, 2013 at 9:40 AM |

And you, my genetic prototype, have definitely less than 170 days (approx. 6 months) to initially cut $400 M before the IMF come a calling on recommendation from the credit rating agencies.

Do you think (if that is possible of an intellectual amoeba) that such a matter is exceedingly more urgent and should be treated as an emergency instead of looking through the BLP lens from 1,700 days away to cuss the miller without helping to deal with the problem in the DLP’s hands?

The BLP has to do nothing but wait out those how many days. This DLP will self implode as it did in its1991/94 session under its own weight of fiscal mismanagement but this time the onus will be thrice as heavy and resulting in an early pulling up of sticks to end the game of fiscal charade.

Now spend you time helping out the DLP with its $400 M fiscal sword of Damocles
    hanging over its 16:14 neck. One slightest move like Estwick moving onto the bench reserved for independents like Hammie La and wham the sword falls to behead the DLP.
    Is this the trump card Estwick is playing, Dummy, to ensure he gets to be MoF?

23. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ The Dummy @ Dumo | July 9, 2013 at 9:51 AM |

Even David BU is laughing at your deliberate case of mistaken identity which can only happen to a blind Dummy.
    If you want to slander Willianm L do it but leave the miller out of any association with DT.
    Let’s seal that deal, just like the CLICO cover up, alright?

24. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

Miller
    Gotcha little man. Don’t run for David BU to help you camouflage your true identity. We’re you no part of the chorus along with Caswell, Just Asking and Prodigal Boy saying the DLP and FS could NOT win a General Elections?

25. IMPEACH THE CENTRAL BANK GOVERNOR NOW

26. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Logistics.

After finishing the building the issue like the Messersmidt 206 that the Germans built is who will fly the damn things?

The allocation of (proximate) willing staff to go to this out of the normal, bus route deficient, outpost of scorn and punishment is giving the rocket scientists who built the monstrosity meant to shame the BLPites the licks of Trafalgar Square to man/woman.

In these days of austerity very few staff want to drive all the way to St John to work at the spanking new facility and there is no travel allowance nudget to lure the staff to this outpost.

Another brilliant coup for the DLP which is fast becoming the personification of “the Enemy Within”

27. old onion bags Avatar

Barring any unforeseen circumstances, the St. John Polyclinic should be set to open its doors to the public come June, this year. So says Minister of Health, John Boyce, who toured the 27,000 square-foot multi-purpose facility yesterday

|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||

And that was June of 2013………abated breath again? Nah.

28. onions you all ova de place wait yuh turn flying cockroach now but ac cant gel but rub some salt in yuh eye before yuh go blind after not seeing how many issues govt is taking away from wunna , tick Barrack…tick polyclinic. tick Clico. boy wunna got plenty of catching up to do, sorry bro wunna made the dreadful mistake of giving up a king for a peasant see i talking about wunna leadership. seems like ship BLP about to run aground before Team Barbados, all aboard make the way clear team barbados just hoisted the flag of pride smooth sailing from now on……captain blow that horn…do,

29. St George's Dragon Avatar

The list of DLP achievements is a bit premature.
    Barrack – not yet paid.
    Polyclinic – not yet finished.
    Clico – no progress at all.
    Leadership – none.
    Come back and tell us when you have sorted them out.

Leave a Reply to old onion bagsCancel reply