Submitted by William Skinner

marion_williamsLadies and gentlemen, our educational system has been a beacon in the Caribbean and the developing world. However if we are to cope with the pressures for change which lie ahead, the cost of education will be immense, if we are not to be left behind. In order that we are on the right side of the divide, the new requirements will necessitate that we restructure and find ways to deliver relevant and high quality education which meet the needs of the 21st century without altering the basic social principles which have got us this far.

Dr. Marion Williams former Governor of The Central Bank of Barbados, 14th Rudolph Goodridge Memorial Lecture & Education Awards Ceremony Tuesday, December 7, 2004

Those who support the abolition of what we commonly refer to as our free education system, are quick to defend their position by saying it is not really free because it is underwritten by the taxpayers. At first this appears to be a strong defense of their position but on closer examination, it is fatally flawed.

The whole concept of free education really means that those who are pursuing the education do not have to pay. In other words it is free at the point of delivery. It is based on the principle that no one should be denied an education because they are unable to pay.

If we endorse the position of those, who argue that we already pay for it via taxation, it could then be countered that if it is no longer” free” we would be paying for it twice: Once when we pay our taxes and when we have to pay the school fees. This also applies to all services we now enjoy free of cost.

A person earning under 12000BDS. per annum, having to pay fees for three children at any of our public institutions of learning, would be bankrupt almost instantly. It is also questionable if a couple earning a joint income under 75000BDS per annum would be able to pay for two children at any of our older grammar schools. Question: Do we really know what a prestigious institution such as Harrison College/Queens College will cost per term for one child? Conservative estimates are, as high as $4000BDS per term. It is widely believed the newer comprehensive schools could cost a minimum of 2700BDS. per term. It is therefore not difficult to conclude, that those who are supporting the abolition of free education are totally unaware of its cost. We can also speculate that a year at UWI, depending on the field of study, could be at least 45000BDS. How many poor citizens can actually afford such costs? Pray tell, which financial institution in Barbados, is going to give unsecured loans to poor students to finance their education.

The question is: What percentage of our population can meet such costs? I daresay a very low percentage, taking into consideration, that many parents even with free bus fares and no school fees still have great difficulty meeting the daily costs of sending their children to school.

There should be a greater flow of information regarding how the education budget is dispensed. The public should know what it costs to educate each child from kindergarten to the University of the West Indies. Perhaps if we had the information there would be a more balanced approach to the debate.

The former Governor as quoted above stated : “………..that we restructure and find ways to deliver relevant and high quality education which meet the needs of the 21st century without altering the basic social principles which have got us this far.” She was absolutely correct. To implement changes without “altering basic social principles which have got us this far” must be foremost in the minds and planning of any serious/progressive government.

108 responses to “Making Changes to Education … “without altering basic social principles which have got us this far””

1. Disacustomcy syndrome is still around……isn’t it amazing how some people does feel that dem children always better than other peoples all de time? An nuboddy ent axe dem a ting Stupse

2. Observing(...) Avatar
    Observing(…)

@Bushie
    “requirements needed to move on to the NEXT (level of) LIFE .”

A HA!!!!!!!! 🙂

btw, not me and no Commissioner pick boh. Apparently them too easy to get rid of nowadays.

we must expand on the “evaluation” but another time. Just bare in mind that it can’t work in isolation nor in a system that lacks immediate reactionary options to stem the tide when faults are found.

Observing

3. @ Islandgal
    Why you don’t stop allowing Well Well to cause you to sin your soul nuh…? Don’t you have enough problems already now that Bushie has dumped you…?
    …you going now and force WW to tell us all about her astronaut son with the 5 PhD’s who have already been (secretly of course) to Mars… after having played football in the last World Cup for Brazil…. 🙂
    Leave WELL enough alone nuh….. Ha Ha LOL Oh Shirt….muh belly…

LOL @ Moneybrain…. These days are funny night yuh…
    If Bushie slapped your head in the 60’s when he was 4 feet tall he would slap it again in 2013 at 5 feet 9 inches …..only this time with the left hand…… Since the right hand would be busy holding the “nine” … 🙂

4. @Bushie
    U should really stick to battling with WW and AC!
    Careful of walking into to DEEEEEP water especially that which drops to NINE feet at the waterline like Waimea Bay on the north Coast of Oahu, Hawai in the Summer months.

5. MoneyBrain | July 9, 2013 at 1:10 PM |

@Observing and John
    While I would not claim to be an expert in Teacher Evaluation here are a few pointers
    1 no drinking of rum during school hours and no excessive drinking on your time which leads to viscous hangovers affecting classroom performance, several HC teachers in the 1967-76 —FAILED!
    ++++++++++++++++++++++

Ethanol allowed!!

One of my teachers at HC enjoyed his liquors but I never saw him in anyway affected.

He is probably my most memorable teacher and when I see any of my contemporaries that teacher’s idiosyncrasies inevitably arise.

We all even talk like him when recalling the happy days he provided. I think what he taught us stuck because of his various stories he would tell, his constant reference to the “weaker vessels” among us and every now and again he would pick up the board duster and wind up as if he would throw it at one of us when that individual exasperated him.

He was a brilliant teacher, unforgettable …. always looked forward to his classes.

6. @John
    There are always exceptions to every rule and Fanny was certainly one!
    (BTW, assuming you are really called John I suspect you are either a Lawyer or Consultant)

On the other hand there was a certain Math teacher who could be exceedingly cranky with his freeeeeequent hangovers and was known to give Es to everyone when in a BAD headache mode! I once won a bet to scream his nickname from the 3 storey building and narrowly avoided a cutarse as a result. HC days was sweeeeeeeeet, if only I had taken school seriously.

7. […] Making Changes to Education … “without altering basic social principles which have got u… […]

Leave a Reply to BAFBFPCancel reply