Thanks to Prodigal Son for keeping the BU family informed
Click link to view document - Barbados Growth and Development Strategy 2013 - 2020
Click link to view – Barbados Growth and Development Strategy 2013 – 2020

91 responses to “Barbados Growth and Development Strategy Draft Document 2013 – 2020”

1. @ Caswell
    The truth is that most “Captains” nowadays are just as clueless as the ordinary folks who follow them….and often more cowardly and unenlightened….
    ….yet we continue to put our faith in them to come up with strategy to save us….even though they have failed and failed and failed and failed…
    …what does that make us…..if not brass bowls?

2. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

Has he not described this strategy as patently wrong and like to destroy both the economy and the society?

3. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ The Dummy @ Dumo | July 7, 2013 at 11:00 AM |
    & The Dummy @ Dumo | July 7, 2013 at 11:02 AM |

“Yes, we speak of things that matter,
    With words that must be said,
    Can analysis be worthwhile?
    Is the theater really dead?
    And how the room is softly faded
    And I only kiss your shadow,
    I cannot feel your hand,
    You’re a stranger now unto me
    Lost in the dangling conversation.
    And the superficial sighs,
    In the borders of our lives.”

Simon & Garkfunkel, “The Dangling Conversation”

Is this the same Dummy that almost killed the miller with the destructive stones of lies hurled from the George St. Fortress of confusion and fist fights with the PM receiving ‘superficial’ blows to the body from a barking pit bull for a mad doctor-at-large?

Any such move by the now sedated toothlessly silenced gun slinging pit bull of a monkey shooting agriculturalist will only result in a 15-14-1 ratio draw of a dead heat.

Such a shoot out at the OK corral in the Palmetto Square will certainly trigger very early elections given these trying and perilous times.

4. old onion bags Avatar

What’s with all thIs debate re: growth development strategies, and parables of titanic talk about problems we red devils have dealt with before?…..Who could forget the state of Barbados back in 1994?. WAS IT NOT FIXED ? Ye men of little faith and amply partisan-ly blinded.

I would venture my last dollar that if these moojans had allowed due process to occur without all the dollar drama…..Barbados would be seeing signs of improvement by now. Sadly they don’t have a clue…The Almond proffer is ample proof. They were told of the better choice to save Almond ( a going concern) than to pump more dollars in dieing Four Seasons.Did they reconsider NO…it is like we started this and we finishing it ..come what may…..

What seems paramount here is Adrian’s observation. This administration’s stance is clear. No involvement , no feed back no nuttin by anybody else but them…Dems are in to bat this innings and is they who calling the shots..How d ask you could call big able business people to discuss the way forward and give them this dogma booklet (BDGS) the SAME DAY?..a total disrespect to say the least…..But this is how they do things and nobody, nobody not even a pink musseled poodle steaming at the ears or a hushed Kung Fu Wanda can sway them….sad part is given Jones’ philosophy and Blackette’s foresight… nuff hard workin Bajans in for some flack ..but then again it all seems calculated..mining for intelligence in galaxies above…..unna sure that ain’t the saving bean stalk?

P.s
    It is FINAL…. wanna hear Donville ..the CR UN funds being targeted…

5. David wrote
    “Agree with you 100%. BU is willing to be corrected but so far we find no evidence that the document has been posted online even at this late stage. The media houses and other NGOs who received a copy appear not to see the need to convert their hardcopies to electronic format and post online”.

What is happening in Barbados though?
    “”””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””

David, there about 300 persons at the consultation and if there 200 copies, there were ’nuff and the documents were brought there the morning…must have been a reason not to have them circulated. I heard David Ellis saying that he managed to get one which “off the back of the truck”.

This government has the mind set that Barbadians are passive people and will take everything they dish out to them!

6. Okay Murray becomes the first in 73 years British born to win Wimbledon .. right … and people ’bout here forming the ass whether than discuss the contents of the draft … and somebody actually call’ David Ellis’ name. Stuppse, I gone

7. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

Miller

But less you forget the Speaker only votes in the event of a tie:

16 less the Speaker = 15 less 1MP = 14

14 plus 1MP = 15

You understand.

8. Look I come back … Stupse.

Absolutely no mention of fish farming … none. No mention of a Development Bank .. none. No mention of a curriculum shift at the UWI away from the EXPENSIVE medical sciences and the USELESS law facultie towards Industrial design, Plastics Tech, Nano Tech, Metallurgy, Prelim Robotics, Moulding and Casting tech, Food Tech, Top end Programing, Specialized Agriculture and Aquaculture and so on. Grads could always go on to do Post Grad in Law and Acc and the usual stuff if they so desire

9. BU received by email:
    Perhaps if you share this article from Forbes Magazine it may help GOB

http://www.forbes.com/sites/erikaandersen/2012/06/05/courageous-leaders-dont-make-excuses-they-apologize/I’ve been thinking about the power of apology lately.  I’ve been noticing that the people for whom I have the most respect don’t hesitate to say “I was wrong,” or “I’m sorry I…”  On the other hand, the people I have the hardest time respecting seem constitutionally unable to take responsibility for their own mistakes.  Even when they try, it comes out sounding like “I may have been partly at fault, but…” or “It may seem that I was wrong, but…”  They just can’t do it.

10. LOL @ Baffy
    Excellent ideas, good strategic thinking, clear focus…
    …if only it was 20 years ago……and..
    ….if only there were people in control who could actually EXECUTE these ideas (within budget)
    ….and if only it would have made any major difference…

..ALAS NOT!

Face it Baffy…stop fretting ya self…
    OUR TIME IS UP! …..its time for phase 2.

What do you think would happen if a baby after nine months tried everything possible to retain the warm, comforting peaceful environment of its mother’s womb?… Would that child ever experience REAL life?
    Why not look forward to that new birth into a bright new wonderful world ……..(LOL or bright new HOT world…. 🙂 …depending on which side you qualify….)

11. Said like someone who is on his way out … 🙂

12. Baffy and Bushie,
    Much to my immense horror wunna actually meking nuff sense here!

Now when I am forced into to such a position it amply explains the DIRE PREDICAMENT in which BIM is ensconced!

It is absolutely scary that these proposals are now seeing the light of day when many should have been implemented already. How did these AMATEURS get re-elected? The Dipper and Cammie mussa spininng like a combination of a Top and a Cruise missile trying to escape their graves!

13. I am wondering what happened to Alvin, he should be able to shed some light.

14. Money
    You always agreeing with me .. Wah shite you talkin’ …. HA HA HA.

Look, let’s talk about business travel. Every year millions of dollars are set aside for government and political administration personnel to travel on Government’s business. The Gov of the Central bank referred to the amount as inconsequential. Fine.

I propose that ONE HALF of that amount be allocated to those desirous in participating in Trade Missions where no fewer than four of these exercises be executed yearly to different destinations around the world.

15. @Prodigal Son

This is the problem in Barbados, the taxpayer is made to ‘beg’ for information which he/she has a right to. Let us hope by the time your party regains government some lessons would have been learned because Arthur was not very forthcoming to the media either.

In the document and Pat Hoyos mentioned it in his columnn today, forex reserves has likely slipped by 500 million or 13 weeks import cover. Not good!

16. “……forex reserves has likely slipped by 500 million or 13 weeks import cover. Not good”
    Man David what forex what?!
    Much of our forex is a result of loans that were negotiated for various nice-sounding causes…..like Alternative Energy projects;
    Educational development projects; infrastructural development;
    Arts and Cultural industries etc…..
    ..or the unsustainable sale of assets like the power company, BS&T etc…

You know the game…..
    ….a big splash with PR
    ….set up an ” office”
    …pass a meaningless law or two…
    ….hire a friend to do a study
    AND DRAW DOWN THE HARD CURRENCY LOAN….
    ….in six months everyone (except BU) forgets about the intended project and the loan is simply repayable by some future government….easy forex.

Now that we are largely restricted to borrowing from ourselves (NIS) in local currency the forex levels bound to fall. Why did you think the MOF was off to London begging recently?…..to see the bridge?

BTW
    How much of the income from our tourism do you REALLY think contributes to our forex? Is most of it not paid directly into the accounts of the foreign owners UP FRONT?

Basically we have sold our stuff and have borrowed some $$ which we have put in the Canadian and TRICKIDADIAN banks……and we are making withdrawals daily so that we can maintain our important lifestyles, but we have been making very few deposits…
    The only real question is …will the lenders precipitate our bankruptcy first?…..or will we get to spend till the last available cent before we have to sell ourselves for food and water…?

17. Frankly why even concern yourself about publishing a document which in the main will NOT be read, in the breach is a tedious read, and given past experience is hardly likely to be followed upon.

18. Here we go again, another PAC stymied in a procedural quagmire. BLP, DLP what the hell is the difference. Bushie is absolutely correct.

19. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

The Chairman of the PAC is refusing to accept the legal advice of the Attorney General and Solicitor General that the PAC cannot and should not operate unless and until the Rules & Procedures of the PAC, as proposed by the Chairman, are consistent with the Standing Orders of Parliament and by extension, the Constitution.

20. @The Dummy

The public is fedup with the philabusting from both sides. The public may actually be sympathetic to MAM for trying to make the PAC effectual.

21. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

They maybe sympathetic MAM but that does take her anywhere in the near future. When the BLP was in power they used the same excuse, even went as far as to get Roger Forde QC and Hal Gollop to render a legal opinion as to why the Leader of the Opposition (David Thompson) could not make the PAC effectual until certain legal issues were resolved consistent with the Standing Orders and the Constitution.

22. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

Pre 2008 was MAM not a member of the PAC?

23. @The Dummy

Where do we draw a line and get on with doing the people’s business?

24. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

When the Parliament takes corrective action and passes legislation to make the PAC functional with the law and the Standing Orders

25. Observing(...) Avatar
    Observing(…)

“BLP, DLP what the hell is the difference. Bushie is absolutely correct.”

Herein lies the problem. We’re not seeing the real problem.

Just Observing

26. In light of the downward revision of global growth how does this impact on Barbados forecast in the Barbados Development Growth document 2013-2020?

IMF Slashes Global Growth ForecastsMatthew Boesler Jul. 9, 2013, 9:37 AM 626 3
    flickr / Steve SnodgrassThe International Monetary Fund is out with its latest quarterly outlook for global GDP growth, and it contains several downward revisions to the estimates published by the Fund in April.
    The IMF lowered its 2013 global GDP growth forecast to 3.1% from 3.3%.
    2013 U.S. GDP growth estimates were revised down to 1.7% from 1.9%.
    The IMF expects euro area GDP to contract 0.6% in 2013, downgraded from the previous estimate of a 0.3% contraction.
    http://www.businessinsider.com/imf-slashes-global-growth-forecasts-2013-7

27. In light of the downward revision of global growth how does this impact on Barbados forecast in the Barbados Development Growth document 2013-2020?
    You is something else – ya hear David!

What Barbados Development Growth document what?!?
    You serious?!?

You must by now be familiar with these kind of papers presented by academics that read real sweet; gottin nuff big words; print REAL glossy, ….and says not one shoite….
    This is just the latest one….
    It’s purpose is to allow the government to claim that it is working on a plan (especially now that the Medium Term Fiscal thing has been exposed….) LOL….besides the consultants probably need another top-up by now…. 🙂

…as to the declining outlook for the global economy …..wait a while- you ain’t seen nothing yet.

Man David….
    Bushie CANNOT understand what you fail to get about this “end game”. The iceberg HAS struck, the vessel is sinking. The glory days of full steam ahead are permanently behind us…..it will be gradual decline until that momentous sinking….

If Stuart was wise….he would commission a strategy entitled “Barbados Survival Strategies – A new look at BBE and available options”…

28. @Bushie

Heavy sarcasm to make the point that our success and growth is dependent not on words but many variables which are outside of our control. However, we have some variables which we do have control but which we belief are sacrosanct i.e. cannot be modified.

29. @David [BU]

Forgive me as i go a little leftside with this David

Right in front of us our semi-ignoramus governments, bend over, pull down their pants and grease their pooches for the impending rape and buggery.

In the midst of so little structural, economic and bilateral aid we have the Chinese reaching out on intelligence gathering missions, well advertised by CARICOM government counterparts, sending so called “film crews”, or in Bajan terms, flim crews, to do videos in Barbados!!

I will not mention our ingrunt MoT minister smiling with the ambassador and making announcements of the impending film crews.

Silently entering our country, all of them without any examination by Erine Griffith’s vigilant immigration staff or the Customs people, with two more suitcases than normal, no examinations of luggage, entering our country, and not leaving. Their 20ft containers are given the same carte blanche treatment. 20 ft arsenals. How many of you have seen what the Type 56 does?

Buying houses and constructing massive buildings, almost said barracks, with reinforced walls, specifically coloured roofs, self contained electrical supplies, always finished by their “internal” contractors.

We are doomed to repeat history’s mistakes, doomed while led by the Erine’s of this world, doomed small island developing states led by men like Sealy, bringing the proverbial Trojan Horse, into our Troy, incapable of seeing in plain daylight the signs of “the enemy within”

Say what you will about Castro or Chavez, they employed a wisened strategy of taking what they wanted from the imperialists while safeguarding the interests of their countries, but these are/were men of vision who recognised that sometimes you have to be dance with the nameless one, get what you want, and disengage.

Tell me, dollar for dollar, what has the PRC done for Barbados for the time that it has been here? Watch and learn.

30. I guess “Chantal” save us the horrible news expected from the Governor today!

31. Observing(...) Avatar
    Observing(…)

This is easily one of the most difficult documents I’ve ever had to read. 141 pages to say what we know.

A) the external environment isn’t improving
    B) our revenues aren’t increasing
    C) major investments aren’t incoming
    D) cuts in expenditure need incurring
    E) the MTFS didn’t work as implemented
    F) see table 6 to understand what we are going to do but can’t actually and explicitly state for obvious political reasons.
    G) see table 1 to understand how much external and central gov’t debt we racked up between 2008/2012.

Even in the face of “crisis” we can’t get blunt communication.

Must however commend the authors for delicately and deliberately wrapping the “bad news” in a lot of hifaluting, jargon spouting, forward projecting language.

Let’s hope the decisions that need to be made work and B’dos awakes from its slumber of comfort.

Observing

32. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Piece Uh De Rock, Yeah Right!! | July 9, 2013 at 2:24 PM |
    “Tell me, dollar for dollar, what has the PRC done for Barbados for the time that it has been here? Watch and learn.”

Unless the ambassadorial arm of the PRC- primarily here to sell Chinese manufactured goods and as an escape valve for its burgeoning population especially those that have ran afoul of the regimented system like British criminals shipped in the old days to Barbados and later Australia- can justify its presence by investing in the Sugar Cane revitalization industry or “ac’s” much acclaimed ‘Lowe-down’ WTE plant we should just tell them to piss off.

Barbados has no natural resources like iron, copper, gold, oil, rare earth minerals or even large tracts of land to grow cereals or palm oil.
    Why are they interested in Bim other than as a retail outlet for its manufactured trinkets and excess population?

33. The PRC just wants Bim to vote with them in the UN etc

34. I,ve realised that Barack’s Bds $80 million debt has been taken off the government’s backburner, however, it continues to climb, by the time the World Court, or some international court deals with it, We will have to pay out almost Bds $ one billion; up from $ 34 million. What a shame.

35. This government seems to be in a whirlwind spin. Just after the recent elections we heard of a bds $ 900 million stimulus plan ( remember this same gov,t rejected the other party’s suggestion of a 60 million dollar plan as unaffordable). Recently we now hear of a bds 400 .million dollar debt, yet now a few days ago we hear of buying Almond Beach Village

36. continued
    Add this to the bds $400million dollar sugar factory that we are planning to build, at a time when sugar is on its way , plus a new cruise terminal. This government is playing with the minds of its citizens and something is going to explode

37. What’s up, all the time i used to check weblog posts here early in the morning, for the reason that i enjoy to learn more and more.

38. I need to to thank you for this excellent read!
    ! I certainly enjoyed every bit of it. I have you
    book-marked to check out new stuff you post…

39. Hi to every one, since I am actually eager of reading this blog’s post to be updated regularly. It consists of nice information.

40. Hi my friend! I want to say that this article is awesome, great writyten and include almost all vital infos.
    I would like too see more posts like this .

41. I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you design this website
    yourself oor did you hire someone to do it for you? Plz
    reply as I’m looking to design my own blog and
    would like to know where u got this from. thank you

Leave a Reply to Adrian LoveridgeCancel reply