marva_clarkeFor some years now, BU has been seeking the removal of the Registrar, Marva Clarke. Now, she is gone.

We are told that it was voluntary and that she was not asked to resign, but that she did so anyway, since it had been made clear to her that, under Gibson CJ, she would never be promoted to the Bench. Which, if you think about it, is precisely the same thing.

Some months ago during the sick leave of Elneth Kentish, instead of bringing Marva Clarke in as an acting high court judge, Magistrate Pamela Beckles who had been lauded by the CCJ for the way in which she conducts her court, was brought in. Marva Clarke was reportedly furious and immediately “sanctioned” any directives given her by the CJ, in a fit of pique.

Just a few weeks ago, former registrar Michelle Weekes, had occasion to write to a judge in a costs matter involving the much reported Knox v Deane saga, stating that she had sent her records of a costs hearing to Marva Clarke to be placed before the court and could not understand why this had not been done. In order to facilitate the court, former registrar Weekes provided to the court copies of what she had sent a year previously to Marva Clarke.

It was under the watch of Marva Clarke that certain licensed legal practitioners in Barbados served notice of impending legal action against the Attorney General and joining the Registrar, because they had been left off the official list of those holding practicing certificates in the Official Gazette.

It is the same Marva Clarke who has obviously failed to extract contributions of $200 each payable to the Compensation Fund as required by law and, in breach of the law, issued practicing certificates to these delinquent attorneys.

Under this, now former, registrar, files have been lost, expensive equipment unused, scheduling rendered chaotic and part-heard matters left in abeyance for YEARS.

Under this, now former, registrar, there are more actions filed in the court on the basis of constitutional breaches due to delay that in any other common law country at any other time in history.

And she quits, because the reward she expects of her total incompetence and breaching of the constitution is to be appointed to the Bench?

Now, she will doubtless set up shop as a practicing attorney-at-law, or maybe be hired by the Cave Hill Campus to teach her brand of ineptitude to future attorneys. Or maybe she will simply find her professional level in life selling computer games.

67 responses to “Tales From the Courts – Marva Clarke Gone: Oh Happy Day Part XV”

1. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

Amused @Remember the SBG company and all those golf courses they were going to build in Christ Church and St George and all the plantations they were going to buy to build them on? You know full well what SBG stood for. (David and Peter) Simmons, (Glyne) Bannister, (Philip) Greaves.@
    If true you know we looking for the Deeds

2. @David. I don’t know about anyone else, but I think Michelle Weekes should have been appointed registrar instead of Marva Clarke right from the start. I would have no problem with Michelle Weekes and, indeed, nor would any of the brethern (which includes sisteren as well). Ms Weekes enjoys an excellent relationship with counsel, she understands where they are coming from, she makes herself available to counsel, she responds to their telephone calls (which Marva never did) and their letters (which Marva never did, unless ordered to do so when counsel were going to sue her ass) in a timely manner. And Ms Weekes, although polite and sympathetic, is tough and efficient and not noted for standing for any nonsense. Now, I can fully understand if some people (namely Lassie Franklyn) don’t want to see Ms Weekes as registrar, but that will be dancing to the tune of the politico who was CJ who passed Ms Weekes over in favour of Marva Clarke. And we know how Lassie loves to dance to that tired old jig.

The post of Master will be becoming available shortly, as the present useless incumbent is due to retire (thanks the good Lord) – he should have been fired years ago, because he has been as much use as a fa*t in a windstrorm. Might it not be a good moment to appoint someone who can do the job and who has an excellent track record, to that position? Someone like Pamela Beckles? Just a thought. With Ms Weekes as registrar and Ms Beckles as master, there actually is a chance that we might just start to get somewhere. Finally!!!!!

Then fire 80 of the judiciary and replace them with people who have more than half a brain and we will get the mess sorted out.

3. @PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS | July 9, 2013 at 10:07 AM | I have not the slightest idea WTF you are talking about.

4. @David.- Ms Weekes is good however its time that a few reputable men take the position of Registrar and Deputy. The women have found to be to emotional, engage in plenty gossip and walking about, delay in execution of duties and don’t get along with everybody well….. to much hair spray in the place.

The technology implemented is under used everything operated backwards.

Ask Lawyers what is happening with ORDERS that have to be signed by the Registrar, Taxation Decisions, ESTATE MATTERS, scheduling court dates, files missing, staff disgruntle, staff not doing they work effectively, etc. There are issues of rules and procedures that govern how things are done(staff understand them differently and at times are confuse as to how things should go) Everyone sings a different tune.

The Court Registry is a MESS and its operates to satisfy a few.

5. @Clap Hands. I agree with you about the mess. However, with respect because you obviously deeply care about this issue, your comments could be interpreted as being sexist and I have a problem with that. The problems we have faced with the registry lie, not in the sex of the people running the registry, but in their competence. I am sure you will agree with me on that. We all hunger for the days of Mr Rocheford and the friendly efficiency of the registry under his leadership. But there is NO reason why a competent woman cannot bring the registry back in order.

Frankly, after my error in supporting Marston Gibson as CJ, I am reluctant to put my head on the block regarding Michelle Weekes. Understand me, I had no problem with Gibson being appointed as such and I never accepted the nonsense about him not having practiced in a Commonwealth country as being a bar to his appointment. I still don’t. He held a practice certificate in Barbados and was licensed to practice here for over 20 years and that, to me, is quite sufficient. I also support the government in its change to the law to avoid the inevitable meritless litigation that would have ensued had they not changed the law. Gibson, on the face of it, has everything it takes to be CJ. But, as they say, the proof of the pudding is in the eating – and the eating, so far, is not good at all.

Michelle Weekes has all the right elements to make an excellent registrar and to bring the registry back to what it ought to be. The staff like her and work well for her, the attorneys like her and she works well with them. She is efficient and firm, while being polite and personable. She is a good jurist and appears to keep well abreast of the CPRs, unlike the majority of the judiciary. Ms Weekes does not keep her door closed and responds to correspondence with admirable alacrity. It is certain that, initially at least, she will have everyone in her corner. So, all the elements being in place, the question then is whether or not she can cope with this very large job and the monumental mess she will have to straighten out. And she does not have time to straighten things out, she has to move with great speed. The mess has completely eroded any respect for our judicial system and has killed our foreign investments stone dead. Therefore, there are several billion reasons (dollars) riding on Ms Weekes if she is appointed. That is a LOT of pressure!!!!! I would have said that she can handle it. But, I would have said Marston Gibson could handle the job of CJ and the urgency of his performance is no less than what Ms Weekes’ would be if she is appointed registrar.

But there is only one way for Ms Weekes to find out – and for us to find out. And I say that if the job is offered, she should give it a try. For certain she will have the backing of the majority of the legal profession to support her. And the most important thing is that if I read Ms Weekes correctly, if she finds that the job is too much, we will not need to demand her resignation – she will admit it first. Personally, I think she will be excellent. I hope she is offered the job.

6. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Amused

I second Ms. Weekes.

She is approachable and is respectful of staff and public

All things being equal this will mean that she won’t be appointed since the possibility of efficiency coming to this Registry is an undesirable outcome by the powers that be, so we can expect that she won’t be appointed

7. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS | July 5, 2013 at 9:04 PM |

you seem to have interesting points but the grammar is not really good, please re-check and then repost

8. i know for a fact that there are some public servants working in the registrar dept and outskirts who are totally happy with her departure…good riddance to bad rubbish. now let us hope that the DPP’s reign comes also to a sudden end

9. @Piece Uh de Rock. If you back Ms Weekes, then it merely strengthens my support for her. Actually, I like her very much indeed and I believe that she will do an excellent job, if the position is offered to her – and if she decides to accept it. But as you say, maybe she is exactly what is needed and the powers that be could not possibly allow us to have the best person for the job, now could they. Now, what do you think of Pamela Beckles as Master? I enthusiastically back Ms Beckles for that job and if you put these two ladies together as Registrar and Master, then I will accept, with reservations and caution, that Freundel is serious about cleaning up the mess of Simmons and Clarke.

@Pinkie. I can certainly confirm your statement that MANY of the public servants working at the Registry are glad to see the back of Marva Clarke. It is why I have never advocated the dismissal of Registry staff, unless they really are unsatisfactory, but instead I have constantly moved for the dismissal of the Registrar. Mind you, there are some at the Registry that I would love to see removed, but strangely not that many at all. I also support your view that the DPP must go. That idiot ought never to have been appointed. Prize jackass.

10. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

Pinkie@ Sorry
    The C.U.P seek the RETURNS OF THE 2013 FRAUD ELECTIONS, They were giving the run around on the 1st July were shown a book with sections, They then asked for what ever the law allowed THEM to have. 2nd July 2013 they were then told ,They needed an appointment . Then an appointment was set for the 3rd July.
    3rd July over 2 hours before any one came out after asking to view the returns . A lady who was looking the worst ,of the rest of all the women came from behind a wall , This lady refused to identify her self as well as answer any questions.The Female person then got up and went back behind the wall after asking for an excuse, never to return.. The C.U.P Members were told they needed a letter to inspect the returns.
    A phone call was made and a typed one page letter was there ,NOW 2pm on the 3rd of July! Then, they were asked for an envelope! one was taken out well typed after being read by another worker..The letter then went behind the wall and a date was set to view the records. .When asked who was the rude woman that did not answer any questions ,The C.U.P was told
    Marva Clarke, Registrar.The person They had an appointment with ,
    The time was set for 10:30am July 4th 2013 ,The next day.
    Right on time 4th July 2013 was a BOMB threat as everyone was out side for a while , By the time the C.U.P got in side it was time for the person to leave for lunch.

We can only wonder , but we know better.
    All the workers were nice and seem to be following orders. A very polite and rude runaround.

11. Are the police harassing Lord Evil?

12. Dr. Simple Simon Phd Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon Phd

Rest in peace and rise in glory.

13. Dr. Simple Simon Phd Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon Phd

@Hal Austin November 11, 2017 at 7:45 AM “Are the police harassing Lord Evil?”

Some people might ask–especially those people who are not living 4000 miles away–whether Lord Evil, all 5 ft 3 inches and 126 1/2 pounds of him when soaking wet, some of those people might ask whether Lord Evil is troublesome to the police.

14. Dr. Simple Simon Phd Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon Phd

Some people like Bush Tea, and Georgie Porgie and Zoe might quote John 3:19 “men love darkness more than light, because their deeds are evil.”

15. What Bushie would say is that you KNOW that you have a shiite, brass bowl society when the authorities are put to flight by a little pissy runt…..

The wicked brass bowls flee when no one pursues them… but the righteous are as BOLD as lions.

16. Simple,
    The police are bullies.

17. Police are SUPPOSED to be bullies.
    Who do you want to be society’s bullies? …yuh yang!!

When someone decides to slap your hard head around don’t you want the LAWFUL bullies to come and deal with them? …. unless we all should have our own personal enforcement ‘gangs’ for protection….

Leave a Reply to AmusedCancel reply