The tenor of public debate about where the government will cut 400 million has become interesting to follow in recent days. Can we pick up the conversation from before the general election when the platform cry by the government was that public sector workers will not be sent home?  A few months later, and as recent as today, we have had to listen to the head of two unions address the prospect of government slashing public sector jobs.

First up this week we listened to an incoherent position from Dennis Clarke of the NUPW. He suggested that public workers have not enjoyed a pay increase in recent times, and with trending inflation, public sector workers have suffered a reduction in spending power.  He went on to suggest the NUPW will not support any initiative to cut public sector workers. He acknowledged that although the government is having a cashflow problem, one option available to avoid sending home workers, is to dismantle at least one statutory board which he did not reveal. Perhaps Dennis Clarke, the head of the National Union of Public Workers (NUPW), is privy to the content of a report which the government commissioned with the brief to rationalize statutory corporations. Does Clarke understand that rationalization through mergers of government agencies must of necessity displace jobs?

Today on the news Pedro Shepherd, head of the Barbados Union Teachers (BUT), appeared to have taken a defensive position by suggesting that the teaching service will be the last sector to be touched by a cash strapped government. How the hell does he know what the government will do?

It is a moot point to debate whether any right thinking Barbadian would want to see people sent to the breadline. However, there is a reality of now which cannot be ignored. The government has been borrowing to pay salaries which is an unsustainable position. If the government is committed to maintain staff levels, what are the options?

The reality of now is that we have a burgeoning current account deficit which has also eroded the external position. In a simple descriptive, the economic is on life support and immediate interventionist measures must be taken NOW.

No pain no gain.

129 responses to “No Pain No Gain: Barbados Economy On Life Support”

1. Georgie Porgie Avatar

HAVE WE SEEN THIS

2. @ Baffy
    So because National service has had a bad history means that it is not a good idea….?
    THAT is the whole point. Many many excellent ideas are destroyed by idiotic control. A national youth service need not be about toy soldiers in this day and age. It could be built around sport, technology, agriculture, arts, music etc. it SHOULD be fully integrated into the SCHOOL system.
    This is the long missing step beyond the 11plus exam….. But it will take WISE leadership and VISION to conceptualize and implement such a scheme.

BTW
    In answer to the question “why is Bushie not seeking to lead such a movement…”
    …..because a people ALWAYS get the leadership that they deserve.

Brass Bowls DO NOT DESERVE A BUSHMAN leader ….wunna deserve someone more like Miller….

Bushmen are being groomed for service to communities that will DESERVE such leadership. Bushmen are freaks…..living in this world, but not really focused on, or OF, this world.
    …..just that this particular bushman is a big-mouthed, interfering, malicious busy body…. 🙂

3. Imagine the large amounts of money being paid to the DEMS spin doctors and health care suffering.

4. @Bush Tea

Agree 100% with your last comment. The Court decision to rule that the BDF control the Cadet Corp in Barbados as an example epitomises the hole we find ourselves.

5. @ Sashquash:
    Please add to your list to 1. Dismantle CBC 2. Sell the Transport Board, 3 Get rid of Constituency Councils, 4. Put in place a Objective Appraisal System in all government run entities….more to come

6. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea | July 3, 2013 at 9:10 AM |

There you go again. When you can’t win an argument or ability to silence your opponent you resort to personal insults.

You really have serious hang-ups about women and their biological issues.
    But hear this Bushie, the ‘girlie’ miller would rather be a menopausal woman than be a Bushman riddled with intellectual impotence.

At least there is that opportunity to ‘rise again’ into a Venus butterfly of sexual beauty free from the fear of pregnancy. Do you, ‘flaccidly grumpy old man, have that choice?

If you can’t offer alternative proposals of some merit just leave the miller alone. Stop behaving like a rubber tooth Chihuahua tirelessly snapping at the miller’s ankle like some wingless mosquito.

Alternative solutions, please! Any ideas on how the practically needed cut of $400 million can be implemented to stave off an immediate devaluation now that Sagicor has been downgraded?

7. @ Miller
    “…..Any ideas on how the practically needed cut of $400 million can be implemented to stave off an immediate devaluation ”
    If you insist Miller….
    …..ask your BLP cohorts to return half of the $800M in cost overruns accumulated during wunna last 5 years in office (and which is likely stashed in solid FOREX.)
    …ask the current lot to implement FULL TRANSPARENCY with a man like CASWELL responsible for whistle blowing – perhaps another $200M saved – and we are AHEAD of the game…..

Of course by “ask”, Bushie means that they either do it or have their behinds moved to Dodds until such time as they feel more inclined to comply….

…any other questions?

8. @ David
    CAN YOU IMAGINE THAT!?!?
    A Bajan court rules that an 11 year old school child who joins the school cadet corps is legally a soldier under the control of the BDF?!?
    In 2013?
    Where else in this WHOLE world would a state OPENLY and legally allow itself to be condoning child soldiers? Do we have a press?
    …are parents even aware of this ruling? ….talk about brass bowls..

Without wise leadership, NOTHING WORKS.
    Even the VERY BEST of ideas are contaminated by idiocy. For example, the constituency councils approach are not really a bad idea philosophically. These can become grooming grounds for leadership development. They can become centers for community involvement, for community self help and for inter community activities based on sport, culture, dance etc to build esprit de corps and national pride
    ….instead, they turned out to be financial liabilities, political dead weight and community let downs.

Really, our fundamental problems are associated with the Millers among us…. 🙂

9. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea | July 3, 2013 at 9:45 AM |
    “.. ask your BLP cohorts to return half of the $800M in cost overruns accumulated during wunna last 5 years in office (and which is likely stashed in solid FOREX.)

The more the monkey in the bush climbs onto the tree of partisan political persuasion of good and evil in George St. the more he reveals his true yellow and blue ringed tail colours of lies, deceit and hypocrisy.

Yes Bushie, the miller is beginning to ease up off you as you are now dealing with ‘issues’ of the political and economic kind instead of female genitalia and the miller’s prescribed medication for late on set of ‘men-on-pause’.

If you know this to be a fact of the BLP salting away $800 million in overseas bank accounts totally against the laws of Barbados and the regulations of its Central Bank why not instead of offering a slanderously issue of verbal scandal why not invoke your moral commitment to the Law?

How come a man of complete faith in your BBE’s moral code of political conduct refuses to bring such evidence to the attention of the PM who in his erudite and informed wisdom absolved in the highest Court of the land the said accusers you so pointedly push your finger at?
    Don’t you know there are laws, both moral and civil, against encouraging, collaborating and colluding with others in the perpetration of criminal activity including theft, graft and corruption?

Tell your man Stuart to bring charges against the BLP and while he is at it release the second CLICO forensic audit report to the policyholders who have to pay for it so that justice can take its natural course like water from the BBE.
    Would you agree, Bushie, that your friend the Fumbler cannot continue to protect his friend for facilitating the stealing of over $400 million from policyholders while at the same you are asking the entire BLP brigand of thieves to return $800 M?

As you have been told before, you are just a confused mixed bag of double standards and partisan political hypocrisy. Now go and look in the mirror to see your true yellow image!

10. @Bush Tea

Where the vacuum in the leadership shows is why would the MoE (with Cabinet approval) not have advised the AG Office to proceed with necessary amendment to the law.

11. @ Miller
    Steupssss

Come on David. We are talking about people of the ilk of Miller. Good for long winded back and forth talk – saying nothing… They speak in the tongue of men and of angels (Annunuki) and have no love…..they are as clanging bells ( brass bowls)…. LOL Ha Ha oh Shirt!
    …but we seem to like having such as our leaders….

12. I think with the greater militarizing of the psyche of young people, it would become easier to accept a “crack some heads and beat some people” approach to Governance …. (V Good GP …)

13. How do we define the local private sector? Is it not mainly retail and distribution? Therefore what weight does it bring to the table in a situation where we need forex?

What is the role of the Social Partnership? Is it times like know the protocol is to kick in. Is it not similar economic conditions in 1991 which gave birth to the partnership?

14. Oh what a tangled web we weave, when we first practice to deceive

So many instances of sage advice coming from as many wise persons but, because we have so muddied the waters in our past lives, we are unwilling, (not unable) to accept what is best for the country.

The noun “opposition” has, in the context of (Barbadian) politics migrated from the definition “the act of opposing and resistance” to the single immutable position of “being in conflict and antagonistically defying whatever is proposed”

And therein lies our damnation, we are not being guided by logic and reasoned stances from men, women (and other ambiguous genders) but merely by people who long have forgotten not only why they oppose but what they are opposing.

Ask any BLP or DLP-ite what is the fundamental difference between their party and i am sure that they will strangle with their response.

This is not going to be a political treaty, but an appeal to us all to be pragmatic here.

To both your clowns masquerading as political parties, this is not about brownie points any more, it is about taking quick incisive action (which in many cases is going to hurt several persons/families) to save our country. If we fail to do this, cut our nose and spoil our face, then the whole body is going to face a life threatening infection.

The suggestions from Sasquatch, The Anunnaki, Bush Tea and others too numerous to mention, while like bile to our mouths, must be employed.

I think that it is instructive that various “opposition” personages, on either side, will posture and cry “no” to salary freezes and anything that will help Barbados through these times while pretending to be “the alternative governments in the offing”.

When there is time i will pen an article on “Oppositional Defiant Disorder a la Barbados” loosely translated “I oppose because if I do the nothing that i am qualified to do, i will show myself to be the absymal waste of time that I am”

For the time being i would beg you unions, administrators, politrickians, Boyces (bad choices) fumbling stewards and Stuarts, Jepters and jesters, opaques and Seethrus and, of course, she who would be PM, at any cost, including wire tapping, stand back a little from this equation and put country first.

Join collectively, and in one voice say that “what you do is not because you want to do it, but because you have to do it”.

Bajans, as much as we will suffer, will appreciate you for it, stop welching

15. Most important of all who will lead the attitudinal change required to ensure we do not become immerse in consumption behaviour which we cannot afford.

16. The MoF that nobody here seems to like, at the “Chamber Breakfast meet” did draw attention to the same issue that you are referring to. Barbadians are here to be exploited by both Government and the Private Sector. He referred to the process as cannibalism … Yes it is all talk from someone who speaks with a prepared speech in front of him, but the issue of the “Design” of the Private Sector has been seen as a problem by the political spokesmen for generations.

The handing off of the responsibility for collections to private finance houses wrt the Industrial development funding, and the use of narrow brained profiteers like the Enterprise Growth Fund and Fund Access has helped shape this resultant parasitic environment

17. Food for thought.

I intend no pun per this topic but it is really a serious matter when we can go online and order food, (clothing and other goods) and still, after tax, it is less expensive than most local outlets in Barbados. (Go to Popular)

I would have felt that the primary thing a “caring government”, an oxymoron to be sure, would have done to alleviate some of the pain that Bajans are feeling, specifically the 80% of the labouring poor who earn $200/wk, was to make sure that food was affordable.

But when two ministers can get in bed with a so called price conscious retail outlet and, for the proverbial plate of pottage, sell out Bajans for some IPads, we have come to an all time low.

In keeping wid de practice uh my preaher at ** I am going to speak in proverbs and parables and those of you who have eyes to see will see.

How is it that a whole highway get prioritize by MTW just to make an entrance to a single wharehouse and the same highway ent even finish yet?

I hope them foolish Wharehouse owners from ovah and away unnerstand dat dem get trick, TWICE, once fud de road and de nex ting fuh de iPads.

You could run a rat thru dem carpark dese days,

Dat fellow pun Bay Street does be de first to use de H word wid Mummy Why you Bite Me but here he is, tekking out de unspeakables (doggies) uh big Bajan and Amercun investors, and stroking dem tings dem till dem pan up all dat blenzer fuh a general election and now dem hurting,

Dat ejalculate puts a new interpretation to “I gine put a hurting pun you, babes”.

In de strictest sense one of the term, man pulling de male organ of annuder man meks he a H word too doesn’t it?

But i guess dat doan count depending on if you is a Minister of de Cloth or a Minister uh $$

“Let them eat cake” (supposedly attributed to Marie Antoinette of Guillotine fame) while the masses in France suffered during the revolution.

The MoFo, sorry MoF like he telling all uh we de same ting.and judging from he face he like he eating all de cake, he looking more like a buffalo recently ( i did not mention the BU backdrop picture eider).

Sorry first class does eat caviar, not cake

18. Adding other food commodities to the zero rated basket will only mean importers will manipulate such products.

19. Look For your elucidation Bushie can RELIABLY inform that you are talking rot.
    **************************************************************************************
    @ Bush Tea

Wash your mouth with soap. Natural disasters have happened occurred in places all over the world. We have seen worse than Katrina and the recent New York Storm. Remember the 2010 Haiti earthquake? Remember that? Remember the 2004 Tsaumi in northern India? Remember that? Remember the 2011 Tsaumi in Japan? Remember that? The United States and Canada are not proud parents to any of the SEVENWONDERS OF THE WORLD, but the United States and Canada Bush tea (poster) have natural resources that Barbados could only wish for. The United States and Canada are massive and have mass amounts of people that enjoy a better and or quality life than those down there on that dot in the Caribbean. Did you know this? Technology in the United States is far above that in Barbados. Barbados Forensic Laboratory according to the Barbados Free Press, has been unable to produce results in over two years now? Did you, Did you know this Bush Tea? Probably not. Queen Elizabeth Hospital (Barbados) is now unable to perform cataract surgery, medicine needed for it not in stock, hospital has no money for it. Did you, Did you know this Bush Tea? Probably not.
    Alike Barbados, Detroit, Michigan (United States) is suffering a lot of pain but will gain, Detroit I think will fully recover, Barbados, probably not.

20. It is the same old talk year after year from the naysayers,doomsayers and those who wish Barbados to go under because the Democratic Labour Party is the government of Barbados.
    Since January 16,2008,the reactionary forces and all those against the Democratic Labour Party were preaching and saying the same foolish talk about the imminent collapse of the Barbados economy.That did not occur and it will not occur in the life of this present DLP administration.
    The admission of this government that it is facing a 400 million dollar deficit or 4% of GDP is nothing that we Barbadians should be unduly worry about.That miniscule deficit will not result in the devaluation of the Barbados dollar.Neither will it result in massive job losses in the public sector.
    Prudent management of the resources of government is now require so as to not allow the deficit to expand and present challenges.
    I am very confident that the great Democratic Labour Party has the expertise to navigate this country in these challenging times and bring us to safe harbour.
    As an earlier blogger indicated there will be no massive layoffs,no deep cut back in the provision of social services and definitely no devaluation of the Barbados dollar.
    This country is in the capable and safe hand of the Democratic Labour Party ably led by Freundel Jerome Stuart.
    The naysayers & doomsayers take a hike.

21. Look guys Sashquash is not politically motivated. I am a mere nationalist. For too long that BDF has eaten out the country without producing the cost relative service. There is just nothing for an army to do in Barbados. In the Caribbean St Lucia, Grenada, Dominica and St Vincent do not bear armies. Such is too flipping expensive and if real mercenaries come calling they are a waste of time. Watch it, the first world rich U K has cut drastically its war machine and they are always at war ; even as we speak. Bite the bullet Barbados!!!! We have to stop paying all that large sums of money into the RSS. Do you guys know that this little country pays 3/4 of that funding and the others should pay the other 1/4 which is seldom paid. Trinidad said ‘We are not an ATM machine’ but we are trying to behave so. We have to get real. Send that RSS thing into equal balance or let it collapse. I did not even know of the CTUSAB foolishness. The cadets can be managed by the Regiment as in past times prior to 1979.There are only three real armies in the region; JDF, GDF and T&T Defence Force. What we have here is a money sucking, fat, marching band. There are too any instances where we are being bled. The nipples are sore.

22. I also do not recall the government saying it would not lay off public officers. I recall them stating it as an achievement to date.

23. Riots in de land!!! Avatar
    Riots in de land!!!

One thing this government should never do is allow it’s dollar to be devalued. Devaluing your dollar only works with countries who’s governments and businessmen know how to run an export economy. Also countries rich in natural resources so they don’t have to purchase the raw materials for manufacture from elsewhere.Barbados has no export driven economy.

Caribbean economies need to earn foreign exchange not devalue their currency.

We have heard for years governments talking lotta long talk bout efficiency
    in public sector yet they are the head causes of bloating the public sector with friends and family, many of which just pull a pay cheque, that’s the hardest work they do.

Inefficiencies need to be weeded out.

24. @Observer please!

The government’s campaign was all about protecting public sector jobs.

25. @ David
    If the DLP changed its mind, like it seems it has a right so to, then the people can change their minds more so, like Egypt, no?

26. @Pacha

The Egyptians appear to have a strong army riding shotgun :-). We have no similar enforcer.

Seriously, the DLP got a significant support last election because of the belief (perceived or real) that this government will protect jobs. If the government sends home public workers to any significant degree this place will see flashes of 1991.

27. Riots

Point taken, but let’s face it, cutting civil service salaries is now illegal but a very real way forward. A devaluation would be an even more fair solution, as every one takes a hair cut, and I would dare the Cheffettes and Kentcukies to push up their prices to offset the effect … as they are always the first to push their prices up (I have not seen inside of either company in years anyway)

28. after not having a salary increase for many years

civil servants cannot stand a salary cut

it would be criminal !!!!!

29. It is all about whether the government can afford to pay, simple.

30. @ David
    This time only we have to go further, deeper. David we have been talking about seismic shifts in the world that include the collapse of capitalism. This is a deeper crisis than 1991. It is a mistake to make that comparison. Everything you current see is just a symptom of this underlying problem. Things will get far worst before they get better. We have projected early elections in Barbados but these will only serve as a tool to mislead the people of Barbados. Egypt and Barbados maybe seen to have much in common, soon.

I’m afraid that Morsi, by supporting the Takfari/Salafist in Syria and elsewhere and neglecting the needs of the people has accelerated his demise. This one is real tricky though. Too early to say but we are likely to have a civil war in the largest Arab country. The Brotherhood will not take this sitting down. If you know anything about their 80 years of history and repression by successive Egyptian regimes. The old Mubarak regime may want to reassert themselves through western sponsored figures like Mohamed Mustafa ElBaradei and using the American paid for military. The hidden hand of the West is critical, they maybe seeking to distance themselves from the radical Brotherhood types while buttressing their prime interest, Israel. You know the interests of the settler state is even more important than the US itself, they pretend.

31. ”Arab””

32. iabingy
    If you catch a local you expect the train to stop regularly.

Pacha
    Thnx for the heads up

33. @ David
    We still can’t understand why Bajan still looking for some ‘economist’ like Mascol, Straughn, Arthur, GOCB, ”Sinckler”, other people at the UWI. We know these people well and their point of reference. It you are dealing with an historical matter they maybe helpful but they are totally useless in predicting the future or analyzing current events across disciplines. If Bajans are deluded enough to think that these people could solve any of these problems we are really in pottta. The best these people are good for is waiting around to see if somebody somewhere else will send them in a direction. Come to think about it, it may not be a bad ideas to consider closing down the UWI to save 160MM yearly. We are not now persuaded that this institution is worth its salt.

34. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Pachamama | July 3, 2013 at 2:01 PM |

Seems that President Morsi has been toppled in a military coup.
    Most like the Western-backed military will install ElBaradei as the figure-head interim President.
    There is no room for religious fundamentalist bigots as leaders in a modern age of science and enlightenment; especially in a country like Egypt that depends on heritage tourism for its survival.

35. Come to think about it, it may not be a bad ideas to consider closing down the UWI to save 160MM yearly. We are not now persuaded that this institution is worth its salt.

ASSHOLE
    Whoever you are
    Should be locked up
    for those comments
    yuh Rat-pig

yaaaaaagggaa –again !
    yaaaaaagggaa

36. I do not believe in sending anyone home as a solution to anything other than the consultants and councils and yes the army. Is there really a Public servant that would object to a cut for the sake of saving people’s livelihoods? I have spent a couple of years in the service and believe myself to be among some very forthright and noble individuals.

37. Yagga Rowe | July 3, 2013 at 3:33 PM |

Come to think about it, it may not be a bad ideas to consider closing down the UWI to save 160MM yearly. We are not now persuaded that this institution is worth its salt.

ASSHOLE
    Whoever you are
    Should be locked up
    for those comments
    yuh Rat-pig

Yagga……………that individual is sounding more and more like a muslim (a religion i thoroughly despise) fundamentalist and extremist with an agenda.

38. Boom and Bust is the macro economic model that Barbados has been part of from its inception Surely the administrators should have some degree of play in determining the level of compensation that is required for the period within the cycle. When Sandiford cut the salaries, what he in fact did was borrow the funding from the public service and later it was returned (I do not think there was an interest element)

39. @ David
    We just predicted the demise of Morsi. Now we will predict a civil war that will have a potential for a world war. The Brotherhood could ignite a wide campaign of bombings, interfere with traffic in the Suez Canal, boycott elections, conduct military operations to involve Israel, stage attacks on religious minorities and conduct bombings against the US supported Egyptian army. And this is just the beginning so expect oil prices to soar in the short term Barbados, maybe US160dpb.

40. FIREWORKS sounds good today
    Nuff Muisc
    I like it man!
    music ! man

41. De Higher De Monkey Climb Avatar
    De Higher De Monkey Climb

Barbados Economy On Life Support? We ent even get in a bed yet to get treatment – we still in de corridor at Accident and Emergency…..

42. Wonderful quote: I t would do the two political parties in Barbados well to take heed…………….

“Governing with consent. Something many governments should ruminate on and consider the will of their people. – cynical scarlett, Brighton, 3/7/2013 20:55 — True. Too often, politicians assume that ‘I got elected’ mean they have carte blanche to do whatever they want until the next election. Events in Egypt tonight remind us that a politician must also demonstrate that he or she is acting in accord with the will of the people if they want to keep their office for the entire nominal term. Perhaps if more politicians were dragged from office in this manner after pandering to special interest groups and oppressing all others, democracy wouldn’t be such a joke right now!

– Ben Russell-Gough , London, United Kingdom, 03/7/2013 21:09

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2354953/Morsi-longer-president-Military-coup-forces-Egyptian-leader-tens-thousands-celebrate-streets.html#ixzz2Y16za5wy
    Follow us: @MailOnline on Twitter | DailyMail on Facebook

43. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

Well Well@ 400m$ is there , no one need to be laid off
    Audit of the island rental house and taxes not paid by big business , As head of inland rev , tell the big rich boys how to avoid taxes , by shutting down the business and reopen under a different name all the time. Less than 50% or more ,” Numbers made up” of person not record the rentals and not paying taxes on them , Lawyers taking money on the side for rents and agents.
    It dont seem as this point that the PM will go after the lawyers or the Ministers for the side money they making from land and house that dont belong to them.None want to or cant sign the papers ,
    Who has Title or Right to title of the.

44. Plantation…………..it’s all coming to an end, the end is very near.

45. some people talk shi..t come to that conclusion after reading squashhit comment about the BDF ,the problem with people like squasshit is that the only thing that is important, is themselves and absolutely nothing else, the BDF involvement is the national of security the safety of people in natural as well as military disaster , people like u talk nuff shitt until when the real sh..it hit the fan then wunna start the f,,ing blame game called wouda! and shoulda! if any thingt that should be cut is yuh mudda F;;;ing ass ! ass hole. what are looking for .when the police give up then who the f;; do we turn too because of overload on one department in times of emergency, yes some things worth the money; and arguments and controversy don’t add up to a hill of beans when it comes to the security and safety of a people

46. It’s all becoming clearer now. The slumber of the Leader, the venality and individual self centredness of the cabinet and an apparent inability of the Government to do the right things for the country in a timely fashion has led to a situation where there are now no good short term options for Government action to save Barbados from utter chaos. The die appears to have been cast therefore the Consultation that lifted the veil, the Jones cracking skulls declarations, the attempted CLICO report binding, the summary removal of a Commissioner who was thought to be a creature of the Opposition, etc., can all be seen as preparation of the wicket for the coming very hard times. Those who have eyes to see let them see.

The only short term, albeit very tenuous, solution and respite is for the Opposition to join the Government in a constitutional motion to allow the reduction of salaries / wages of the public sector. But that is unlikely to happen and of itself holds dangers of serious counter reaction by those so disadvantaged since the scale of the necessary reductions can endanger many mortgages.

Looks like crapaud gine smoke we pipes.

47. Gabriel Tackle Avatar
    Gabriel Tackle

Investors borrow at a low cost and reinvest for a higher return.For the umpteenth time,nobody will invest in Barbados under this current DLP regime.
    No one in the Cabinet inspires confidence.Stuart is still in his teaching mode.Top pocket always adorned with pens,probably one black or blue and one definitely red.Our junk bond status has destroyed a once proud country that was sufficiently solvent to lend Trinidad money in the 70’s.We have enacted legislation that will run prospective investors.Locals will bear the brunt of it all.The BWU mantra as ordained from the ILO is ‘decent work’ as if that mantra will save Barbados from its downward spiral.When the IMF comes and meets with the private sector,the first order of business will be what will make it less difficult for you to increase your work force and stabilize the economy and the country.All else will follow from that meeting.

Leave a Reply to millertheanunnakiCancel reply