Adrian Loveridge - Owner of Peach & Quiet Hotel
Adrian Loveridge – Owner of Peach & Quiet Hotel

The bad news is that long stay visitor arrivals have declined in each and every single month over the last consecutive fourteen months. The good news is that in May, the fall was the lowest in that entire period with just 29 less arrivals than the corresponding month last year.

With the end of the only national marketing initiative, Barbados Island Inclusive, we are back again in this massive vacuum of marketing uncertainty. The non-tour operator dependent hotels will now be scrabbling around to see what, if any, additional funds they can spend on promoting their properties.

Up until the end of May, we were already 16,151 long stay visitors down, when compared with the same period in 2012, and that year was down by 31,421 over 2011. Some tourism policymakers are predicting that we (Barbados) will end the year ‘flat’ and hopefully that will be proven right. But sadly, the odds are overwhelming against it. Arrivals would have to average almost 50,000 people each month for the rest of 2013. Especially when you think we have not reached above this target in four out of five months this year, and those included our peak winter months.

Clearly, there appears to be this unscalable wall to any attempts in influencing change in the way we are attempting to do business. It’s almost as if, those in decision making positions have simply given up. Perhaps even more frightening, is when you hear widespread comments  carried in the media that Barbados is ‘outperforming’ many other Caribbean destinations. Regrettably, no journalist asked the obvious question, well isn’t that due to the majority of the other islands having less room stock? This is just like saying Barbados is ‘outperforming’ Montserrat, which sadly in reality, is the only English speaking regional destination currently with a worse performance than us.

As we move further and further away from restoring viability in the sector, it becomes ever more difficult to even contemplate the critical upgrading and re-positioning that is necessary for recovery and survival. Meanwhile, in this inertia, the global competition is getting closer to us. The Thailand based Six Senses Resorts and Spa group have announced they will be opening in nearby St. Lucia in March 2015. 53 one and two bedroom hotel villas, 48 luxury homes and 62 apartments spread over 60 acres located at Freedom Bay in the foothills of the Pitons. The property will harvest rainwater for irrigation and use geothermal techniques for energy usage. Already operating in Europe, China, Maldives, Vietnam, Thailand, the Middle East and Africa, currently their only other regional property is in the Dominican Republic.

Again, it brings the strength and benefits of another world-class brand and all the marketing advantages that comes with it. This is yet another issue that has to be addressed, as to why our neighbours have been so much more successful in attracting the big names. The initial interest seemed to be there, with brands like Rosewood, Meridien, Banyan and dare I mention Four Seasons, but none of them have so far materialised.

Six Senses are not immune from the recession either, so what are ‘we’ doing wrong?

124 responses to “What Are We Doing Wrong in Tourism?”

1. Carson………….you continually speak of a few blacks who were ALLOWED in a black majority country to show their enterprising skills, but you fail to mention how much hell they smell under the black political class particularly when that black political class has a non-black in mind to favor whether through bribes, kickbacks or whatever scam of the day is in existence, so don’t try to convince me of something that is not reality, that is another problem on the island, the political class and their yardfowls seem to live in a perpetual land of delusions, do you see where it has the island headed, or has that also escaped you?

2. Carson…………do you really want to go there, run from where? how does a baby run?? If you think you can get me to go down in the sewer with you, faggetaboutit. I am always passing through Bim to see how you guys have been continually and consistently destroying it for decades…………..the appropriate question you should ask at this point in time in 2013 is……. WHY IS EVERYONE NOW SEEKING TO RUN FROM BARBADOS UNDER THE DLP. Now how do you like that question??

3. Carson C. Cadogan | July 2, 2013 at 12:12 PM |

Well Well

Oh smart one, why did you run from Barbados?

Carson…..may i add one more thing to your delusional mindset? if i return to Bim I will only end up having to leave again because of all of the above.

4. @Adrian
    Almond Beach Village , my apologies

5. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Well Well

You are so funny and I mean funny, haha.

6. Tell that to the IMF oh dear Carson, they will soon be knocking, let them know how funny they are…………..

7. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Well Well

Then you would get to see all the starving Bajans you are hoping to see.

8. The worst is yet to come. . . . Trinidad setting traps down there and getting results.

9. Carson………..everyone wants to see the politicians who are clearly not starving when we see all the excess fat they are wearing on their stomachs, especially the male politicians, doing the right thing……………at least you are acknowledging through your silence and contrary comments meant to distract that inevitably that is what will happen to the taxpayers who were trusting enough during the buy election to listen to the crap and lies coming our of the mouth of the political class and their asinine yardfowls……..When all is said and done i hope you can sleep well at night and live with yourself Carson, remember it’s not me trying to convince voters that the island has been and is still lined with milk and honey with an infinite money tree.

10. Look………..Trinidad is doing the dog with their integrity legislation and transparency laws, people are fed up and will not take anymore, they are saying enough and want to see the political criminals in prison………..we are no longer hearing the pre-election talk about integrity legislation in Bim, everything is once again an attempt to cover up re Clico, but they don’t know what is about to roll in on them, so let them carry on smartly.

11. The Obama administration is being scrutinized about its leaked surveillance, but what obama said makes sense – it did so for the sake of monitoring terrorist activity. That surveillance probably was the essential element, assisted the United States when it tracked down Osama Bin Laden and killed him. The United States says, that “since the leaked surveillance, it is now difficult to track terrorist activity” [and or enemy countries]. It will now cost tax payers more money to monitor terrorist activity and keep enemy countries at bay. Can’t see what Barbados is doing, has done to keep Trinidad at bay.

12. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Chaucer,

No problem. In the last operating period of ABV they were discounting very heavily. At some stage even offering rooms through Groupon at a net room rate of US$60 per room all inclusive. Clearly, not sustainable. A very high dissatisfaction level, with 35 per cent of guests that posted on TripAdvisor saying they would not recommend the hotel to friends. Some have blamed the closure on the decline in arrivals, but this is only partly true.
    The sums: 396 rooms X average stay of 7 nights and 80 per cent occupancy
    and two persons per room would amount to 13,667 guests between January and May 2013. We are actually down nearly 17,000 long stay visitors and the fact that ABV has been closed for over a year, would have given the tour operators long enough to switch sell to either another Barbadian hotel or destination.

13. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | July 2, 2013 at 12:01 PM |
    “It is obvious to me that you don’t shop at Shopsmart or Carlton, otherwise you would not make that stupid statement.”

Unlike you, the miller puts his money where his mouth is. Do you appreciate the play upon words here, CCC?

Can we assume therefore that you are of the view that these allegedly black-owned businesses are bustling with activity and sales throughput and profitability?
    If so, why are you complaining about white Bajans selling out to Trinidadian Indians?
    Who gave Cost-U-Less the approval to compete unfairly with the same Shopsmart and Carlton?

But how come you are bringing these red herrings to the counter instead of dealing with the reduction in the Cost of Living as promised by the DLP. Has this promise been put in eternal cold storage and Jobs 1, 2 & 3 made redundant in the Supermarket?

Tell you what CCC, just blame the BLP for the increases in excess of 35% in the cost of living over the last 5 years; or even the international recession and look at the real idiot in the mirror.

14. Urgent resuscitation of Almond Beach Village is required to generate foreign exchange and employment, without delay

15. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Chaucer,

Agreed but it either needs to be a quick fix, or we are looking at 3 years plus, even if a buyer is secured soon.
    We have lost so much airlift this year, I am not sure it would be even feasible in the short term.

16. The Govt must work with the private sector to resolve this issue, the longer AVB not operating the worse, govt can inject $80M from its reserves and the private sector a similar amount.

17. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ CHAUCER | July 2, 2013 at 3:42 PM |

The private sector people that have $80 million to put to productively profitable use failed to invest in Four Seasons when things were not so bad especially the foreign reserves situation. Why do you think the will be prepared to come on board in our hour of need?

COW is interested in tying his tether to a dam and cosmetic surgery clinic while Kiffyn SOL is looking at expanding his retail empire in a dying oil industry.

What about the new people like Bjerkham Jada or even Mrs Ram? Can’t they too step up to the plate?

The government will be supported in any move to use NIS funds to invest in tourism projects especially the resuscitation of the Almond Beach Resort since the survival of Bim is symbiotically entwined with the success of tourism.

King sugar is dead! Long live the Queen of Prostitution called Tourism as pronounced via a Papal bull by that tin pot dictator and Lilliputian god almighty called Bushman with a Tea bag for a brain.

18. why should there
    be talk show
    in middle of festival
    play some music Dennis Johnson !

19. What abut Haloute, the domestic fast food king?

20. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

Adrian Loveridge @ W e would like to know if you have a CLEAR TITLE deed for the land you are on ? Some do some dont.

21. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

According to our MOT, ‘St. Lucia is at least 30 years behind Barbados in terms of tourism… that’s the reality’, but according to Travel and Leisure magazine readers they have TWO of the 2013 TOP 50 Hotels in the WORLD.

22. If in six years they could not get FOUR SEASONS going, you really feel there is hope for Almond Beach Resort?

23. Ever thought of Brazilian investors for Almond?

24. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Roverp,

I understand the BTA has a delegation leaving for Brazil over the next few days, perhaps you could suggest it to the Chairman, Mr Elcock?

25. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Plantation

“Adrian Loveridge @ W e would like to know if you have a CLEAR TITLE deed for the land you are on ?”

Love that question.

I am waiting for the answer.

26. According to the MoT St.Lucia is behind Barbados by about 30 years. If this is so how come two properties in St. Lucia are listed in the top 50?

http://www.travelandleisure.com/articles/worlds-best-hotels-2013

Just curious.

27. Well well welll Avatar
    Well well welll

It is being forecast that Jamaica will record a decline in arrivals during the current winter tourist season.

The outlook has come from the Jamaica Hotel and Tourist Association (JHTA) which on Wednesday said its members have so far seen mixed results.

Evelyn Smith, president of the Association, said this is a continuation of last year’s trend where arrivals were down for winter and up during summer:

“We have had members who have reported that they have had a good winter, some who have had about average – on par with previous years – and others who have indicated that that they have experienced a decline. So it had been mixed. The proof is in the final pudding, in terms of what the final overall numbers for Jamaica indicate. I think we are only at the stage of preliminary, I would suspect though for preliminary arrivals we will end up being down”, said Ms. Smith.

In a statement on Tuesday, Edmund Bartlett, Opposition Spokesperson on Tourism, said the sector had for the first time in several years, seen a fall in stopover arrivals, with five consecutive months of decline since October.

According to Mr. Bartlett, the situation is bordering on a major crisis, as the winter tourist season registers the most arrivals for Jamaica.

However, Dr. Wykeham McNeill, Minister of Tourism said the sector is in a state of transition. According to the Minister, economic conditions in markets such as the US, North America and the UK, have substantially affected the sector’s performance.

Dr. McNeill said the UK has been struggling through a triple dip recession, and this has had a significant negative impact on a major international travel agency, Thomas Cook.

That company owns Sunquest which operates the Thomas Cook air charter service, on which Jamaica has relied for airlift out of Canada.

Dr. McNeil said Thomas Cook’s internal problems have led to a realignment of its business, which included disbanding the airline in Canada.

This has resulted in a shortfall of more than 20,000 seats to Jamaica.

28. I recently posted that unlike the rich ethno-historical culture of places like Cuba and Dominica, Barbados is bereft of any real tourism attractions and, once you have gotten your skin peeled from your back as a result of over exposure to the sun, while on our beautiful beaches, our tourism plant is devoid of things that are interesting to our tourists.

I again challenge some of you that (purport to) care about tourism to go to the port a Wednesday and to hike as the tourist on foot do, the path from the Port to Bridgetown.

I am not skilled at all in” bed nights, nor throughput, nor long stay vs. short stay sttistics “, nor the exorbitant cost of food, overpriced bedrooms, five, six and seven stars ratings that the BHTA may issue and which some say are a mockery to hospitality standard across the globe.

I am a little more primal in this submission.

What are we marketing that a tourist will want to see, and will come again to see and/or recommend his friends to see?

I suggested that instead of the one shot, one kill methodology that the MoT has sought to employ, so unsuccessfully, while tagging onto Rihanna concerts, that we develop an indigenous offering of “Rubbing shoulders with the stars”.

I suggest that we actively seek collaborations with Rihanna-like persons to promote our fair isle as a place where “an assembly of Persons of Lesser Renown” would be encouraged to come, (at one point I wrote to Minister Sealy and suggested that the MoT begin this thrust with the same Rihanna), to remain at the all inclusive village of the Crane or Snady Lane or Jada’s Port Ferdinand.

Maybe Mr. Bjerkham might be persuaded to collaborate with the GoB in something like that.

As opposed to this single shot idiocy, practised unswervingly by the current and previous governments, sponsoring people like Serena Williams at over a million dollars a shot, get our Ambassadors and the Consulate staff in London, New York, Germany and wherever the high flyers are, to compose a list of “second and third tier performers” who (i) come at a smaller price than Rihanna and Serena AND (ii) whose collective following would travel 2,000 miles to see their favourite stars (admittedly not a Rihanna etc) in our Beautiful Barbados.

Here is the maths for my learned MoT sages.

Rihanna at US $2M, for a single shot show at Kensington can attract 15,000 people for one day.

This CANNOT equate to 20 3rd tier (not Rihanna-personages) each costing $100,000 with say 2,000 neophytes, (cult?) supporters who would be disposed to following their idols to a Barbados venue

Let me go further. Anyone coming for that specific tour for that week of “Rub Shoulders” (call it what the hell you like) is offered 50% on their accomodation.

If one were to plan such an activity properly (and for a fee i would be willing to assist you) we could have cumulative throughput of 40K people for this bespoke promotion.

Say to fund it we took 50% the $10M that Minister Sealy is spending (i did not say wasting) on this rebate, that might translate into 5 similarly constructed, (but not necessarily same themed) happenings.

Let us say then you were to get Magna Card to facilitate a loyalty card specifically for said “Rub Shoulder” sessions, one that would extend to their food and (duty free) shopping during the time that these visitors we on island, such would certainly be more attractive to a visitor you think?

Our hotels are closing slowly gents, we have to do something other than wukking up wunna pouch on the Brazilian dancers.

I respectfully suggest that my simplistic idea might deliver something more meaningful than this $10M MoT rebate being employed.

I know. That would mean that the people who are in the various satellite offices that the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and the MoT have all over this globe would have to work for their salary.

Back to the “tourism plant deficit” that i started this submission by mentioning.

For those of you who know me you can be assured that I do have a proposal for that as well.

I am sorry if i didn’t join the “tear down and don’t buy backers amongst us but this is my Barbados and I have always believed that we have to live out the “pledge allegiance to Barbados ant to my flag” as opposed to lip service.

Once again, in closing, I add “them ideas coming from that Weekes fellow that suing CARICOM, he needs to be put in his place therefore his ideas must not see the light of day”.

29. Caribbean Lover Avatar
    Caribbean Lover

If Travel & Leisure magazine was fair, Sugar Beach (former Jalousie Plantation) and Ladera would have made the cut; and thereby giving St.Lucia 4 of the top 50 hotels in the world.
    Barbados might be ahead of St.Lucia in some sectors; but when it comes to tourism, St. Lucia is right there, if not ahead, of Barbados.

30. Georgie Porgie Avatar

islandgal246
    THANKS FOR THIS POST
    ITS GOOD TO READ SOMETHING EDIFYING UNLIKE THE DAILY DIET OF DRIBBLY DRIVLE, OR THE WEEKLY PORCINE FAECES BY THE MAN WITH PORCINE FACIES

31. Information junkie Avatar
    Information junkie

Tell them Caribbean Lover even cricket the St. Lucians playing of late theyve got two West Indies reps, a mere 300 more picks before you are ahead of Barbados. You should catch up by 3013.

Old college classmate told me besides the Pitons all of St. Lucia tourism initiatves were “borrowed” from Bdos.
    Barbados blazed the trail and opened the eastern Caribbean to tourists. The next serial copier is St. Vincent when romeo Ralph cuts ribbon at Arglye international airport.

SVG brings the attractive thirty island Grenadines in the pie. So dont panic Caribbean lover try to lower your island’s crime rate.

32. Junkie what yuh smoking ??

“Old college classmate told me besides the Pitons all of St. Lucia tourism initiatves were “borrowed” from Bdos.”

And who did Barbados borrowed these tourism initiatives from??? Were they ORIGINAL ideas??? Doubt it!

“Barbados blazed the trail and opened the eastern Caribbean to tourists. The next serial copier is St. Vincent when romeo Ralph cuts ribbon at Arglye international airport.”

And how come we have run out of ideas? Is it that we are finding it difficult to find someone to copy???? We have no more ORIGINAL ideas???

This is where the problem lies too many persons are looking backwards and patting themselves on the back with lots of self praise. You know what they say about self praise?? Stupse ….Bring something better than bragging to the table. If you can’t do any better shut to rass up!

33. been to st. lucia and Barbados and yes, Barbados is WELL ahead in terms of tourist numbers, spending and the overall development of the industry. A few good resorts does not make an overall good industry.

34. Caribbean Lover Avatar
    Caribbean Lover

“… A few good resorts does not make an overall good industry.”
    ———————————————————————————
    Not only does St.Lucia have more world-class resorts than Barbados for stay-over visitors; but cruise ship passengers as well have found Port- Castries to be more beautiful and accommodating than Barbados’ deep water habour. Check-out the many YouTube videos comparing the two ports of entry..

35. old onion bags Avatar

Caribbean Lover

Oh please…..St.Lucia ?Chalk and Swiss cheese man…..Imagine Rodney bay a tourist attraction?…Sheraton Mall has more inviting shops…Try our Lime Grove for medal…..Barbados leaps n bounds easily

36. I guess it depends on what you are looking for. If you want a relaxing resort in an idyllic location, Indonesia beats both. But if you want a more sophisticated experience with better infrastructure, nightlife and overall development, then Barbados is well ahead of St. Lucia

37. Govt to purchase Almond Beach Village ( Nation online 06/07/13)

38. Adrian what do you make of the Almond purchase?

39. @Observer

Why don’t you posit yur view?

All of us are curious what is the funding arrangement and will it be given too a hotel management company to run?

40. I instinctively prefer a private sector solution. This outcome probably means that the private players are either unable to raise the funding, or may not be committed to operating the property as a hotel.

I am not sure of the funding, but I would hope an arrangement along the lines of the Hilton with joint funding and an independent hotel operator in change of management is put in place.

I sense a market failure or conflict between private and public interests. The financial institutions and private investors are reluctant to invest in hotels but hotels clearly benefit the wider economy.

41. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Observer | July 6, 2013 at 7:00 PM |
    “I am not sure of the funding, but I would hope an arrangement along the lines of the Hilton with joint funding and an independent hotel operator in change of management is put in place.”

Isn’t that the same model that was proposed for the Four Seasons?

42. what’s become of Avinesh Persuad looks like he replace Elton Mottley as Barbados’ most succesful failure. The man is a snake oil salesman without equal we still waiting to hear about 4 Seasons.

Caribbean Lover is your real name Adrian Loveridge?
    Island Gal are you and the blog owner one and the same?

43. davidweekes001 Avatar
    davidweekes001

“Credit to My Nation”

I still believe that there is still an opportunity for courting Ms. Rihanna in her person of Robyn Fenty as our bespoke marketing ambassador for our “Rub Shoulders with the Stars” programme.

Ms. Fenty is very smart and as time passes she is already showing that she understands the game of Music and as the Pinks, Lana Del Reys, Rita Ora, Iggy Izalea’s come onto the stage, Ms Rihanna has become aware of her “longevity” in the singing arena and is already seeking new horizons that will give her longer shelf life… perfumes, clothing lines, Hollywood’s silver screen

I still believe that, all other of her “commitments” notwithstanding, our government should discuss with her if she is willing,, and contractually able to pursue an “alter-ego” which promotes her as a “Credit to My Nation” Ambassador focused on promoting Barbados to “Persons of Interest” in various pertinent arenas

If Angelina Jolie has been “cleaned up” to become UNHCR Emissary, and Obadele Thompson made Youth Ambassador, I again respectfully submit that Ms. Fenty, once she is so disposed, should be courted as an Ambassador in this specific regard.

Rihanna is undoubtedly a fine specimen of Nubian beauty that many women desire to become and, when she dolls up, as my picture below shows, Rihanna is a Gem of rarely comparable beauty.

As I have been saying these many years I am willing to submit a proposal to you MoT peeples for your active consideration.

We are imploding while practicing this myopic tribalism that has gripped both of our political parties from independence in 1966.

I have no political axe to grind i am in fact disliked by both parties equally as the man who would bring “shame and disrepute” on the regional bastion of unity – Caricom so you will discern that i don’t really interest myself in whether you are a D or B

I am only interested in my Barbados not dying while people try to get up to speed with an effective tourism marketing strategy. Like the next man, want to be paid for what I am proposing so i ask you to try not to do what comes natural to a few of you Bajans, tief de man ideas, that may be hard but try anyways.

I am suggesting this to all Bajans, if we are really serious about changing what is wrong with Tourism (or anything else in our economy) we need to use different strategies and stop manning missions with people who are just out there for the croissants and tea.

44. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Observer,

Personally I am against any Government ownership of hotels. We surely must have learn something from GEMS (Hotels and Resorts Ltd). Many hotels are still trying to recover from more than a decade of systematic predatory pricing by GEMS and it hasn’t stopped with a private sector organisation leasing two of the former GEMS properties and one of them selling rooms are US$58 per room per night. Something that could not be done if the lease payment rates reflected commercial reality. The Hilton is an exception because it is managed by a professional hotel management company. I can see this Government ploughing millions into ABV and then appointing a lawyer or other political crony to run it.
    Also the timing, we have ALREADY lost so much airlift (upward of 40,000 seats this year alone) and we have had 14 consecutive months of long stay visitors arrival, each and every month. Unless this is reversed, all that re-opening ABV will achieve is further diluting occupancy of other private sector hotels and taking them ever further from viability and the pressing need to upgrade and refurbish.
    Maybe our only hope is that ‘St. Lucia is at least 30 years behind Barbados in terms of tourism… that’s the reality’ according to our MOT. The ‘reality’ is that we are past due the way we should be doing business.

45. Caribbean Lover Avatar
    Caribbean Lover

St.Lucia’s Director of Tourism Louis Lewis, said that Barbados’ Tourism Minister might have been reacting under pressure to explain why St. Lucia’s hospitality sector had surpassed that of Barbados.

46. a read of Cnn travel has Barbados among one of the best places for surfing and placed Barbados as having some of the best beaches worldwide notably Crane and Bottom beach.
    also this back and forth pinning two countries namely St Lucia and Barbados against each other is offensive and smacks of childish banter and fits into the mentality of those who is attempting for whatever reason to garnish publicity for themselves .

47. In general I support the state staying out, but Adrian what if the private sector is not coming forward to do the hotel investment. Airlift is a bit chicken and egg. With almond out as a hotel of a certain scale airlift will be challenged and properties other than almond will be affected.

In the near to medium term return to a growth path depends on Tourism, and almond re-opening is a crucial path of that.

Leave a Reply to millertheanunnakiCancel reply