Mickell Als,Shanice Holder

Barbados Underground encourages members of the public to visit Shanice and Mickell’s blog and give generously to help them achieve their dream.

Shanice is a 17 year old girl who attends Harrison College and is currently in lower sixth studying chemistry , physics and biology. Shanice aspires to be a neurosurgeon who is just as famous as Dr. Benjamin Solomon “Ben” Carson. She is the President of her school’s environmental club.

Mickell is also 17 and attends Harrison College and is also currently in lower six studying physics, environmental science and geography. Mickell aspires to be a climatologist focusing on the impacts of climate change on cyclones globally. Shanice and Mickell are both members of the Caribbean Youth Environment Network(CYEN) the Barbados chapter, The Youth Think Tank (YTTE) that is currently being hosted by the CYEN.

The Mission Which They Have Been Chosen For:

Shanice and Mickell have been selected to be team members on the International Antarctic Expedition (IAE) 2015 and the Antarctic Youth Ambassador Programme, which will be held at a later date to be established but the expedition lasts two weeks. With the carefully selected team, Shanice and Mickell will explore the Antarctic Peninsula with onboard experts and gain firsthand knowledge of the continent’s fragile ecosystem. They will also experience the unique Antarctic wildlife and observe its magnificent landscape, all while learning about climate change, sustainability and what we can do to protect this last great wilderness on Earth.

The mission for the IAE Expeditions is to engage and inspire the next generation of leaders to take responsibility, be sustainable, and know that now is the time for action in policy development, sustainable business generation through the promotion of recycling, renewable energy and sustainability. The problem is this mission is not a cheap one as you can see by the cost below.

As a team member you will be fully responsible for all costs of the expedition at the rate of $22,000 USD. This price includes the following:

• Three nights pre-expedition hotel accommodation with breakfast
  • Transfers from the airport to the hotel
  • Transfers from the hotel to the ship on embarkation day
  • Transfers from the ship to the airport on disembarkation day
  • Shipboard accommodation with daily housekeeping
  • All breakfasts, lunches and dinners on board
  • Coffee, tea and cocoa available around the clock on board
  • All shore landings per the daily program
  • Leadership program throughout the voyage by our experienced Expedition Leader, including shore landings and other activities.
  • Formal and informal presentations by our Expedition Team and guest speakers as scheduled.
  • Photographic journal and video on jump drive documenting the voyage
  • A pair of waterproof expedition boots on loan for shore landings
  • Hair dryer and bathrobes in every cabin
  • Comprehensive pre-departure materials
  • All miscellaneous service taxes and port charges throughout the program
  • All luggage handling aboard ship.

Not included in your costs:

• Any airfare
  • Passport and visa expenses
  • Government arrival and departure taxes
  • Any meals ashore not specified in itinerary
  • Baggage, cancellation and medical travel insurance
  • Excess baggage charges
  • Laundry, bar, beverage and other personal charges·
  • All clothing and equipment needed for the expedition

This is where the first problem came, trying to raise enough money for the both of them and as you can see it’s a little more than pocket change. We are glad that we can receive some publicity about our mission and our plight so thank you so much in advance for your help in promoting our project.

Shanice Holder
President Of The Harrison College Environmental Club

77 responses to “Shanice and Mickell’s Antarctic Dream”

1. Youthful Blogger Avatar
    Youthful Blogger

Shame on all of you critics! The world should be our generation’s to explore and enhance. To think that you on this website who parade as being enlightened citizens could be so harsh and down right negative towards these brilliant young minds who are so full of potential. In ten years time and they had to earn noble prizes in these fields then you same persons would be singing praises but right now in your eyes these are just two young glory seeking youngsters. Shame on all of you! To the youngsters be not discouraged where there is a will there is a way. I am incensed at these comments. Listen to all of you bloggers the youth read this blog daily for I myself am the tender age of nineteen but let me just take a moment out to say most of you comments except for those of Jeff Cumberbatch, ac, Cazwell and David (BU) are the laughing stock of university and schools at lunch.

2. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@Pieceuhderockyeahright!!! | July 1, 2013 at 6:34 PM |
    “Some unlucky blows to the herniated area by a younger man to be sure LOL”.

Man Piece, don’t let that whippersnapper jump-up calling himself “Really?” and behaving like a smart ass Bob Geldoff run you off this blog.

Get back on the “cuntputer” and suggest to those two lads that looking to raise funds to travel overseas on an environmental awareness expedition to be a bit more imaginative and Christian in outlook in order to raise the necessary money.

Put a proposal to them that would involve them doing some voluntary work in distributing food to the needy and indigent. You know that Christ-like project you and the missus and the other old folks get up to?
    If they take up your offer they can invite “Really?” and they would receive in turn blessings in abundance, financial and otherwise, in return for their show of compassion worthy of good Samaritans.

BTW, ask the young fella “Really”? if he knows what a “cuntputer” is since he might be of the view that the technology was invented by his generation and old idiots like Bill Gates (over 50) ain’t got a clue. LOL!!

PS: The miller has a definition for your new toy but would let you know another time once a dose of reality is displayed by young Really?”.

3. old onion bags Avatar

@ youthful blogger

Why don’t you go fly a kite with them also……As a kid ever Saturday I was as buzy as a bee workin for pocket $$. I remember once I needed a new swim suit costing $5 to swim at the school sports ..(as the ole one had in a hole) and I went in Swan St. and worked for it ..a days work in D indian man shop…why cant they do the same….rich spoil stuckup kidds….Going where Anartica?….musse Jacques Coisteau..LOL ….they should get your support wid friends…send me some too…Black costing $167 a bottle hicup ..and it for a gudd cause…puttin D ole man to sleep

4. Bushie ….”My thorny bush????” My bush is sought after by many. LOLL You may call it bush but many call it tisane!

5. some people like dem got big hairy testicles for brains…

…….but okay i see this is just for kicks now…..so im done ..i made my point and im leaving it……instead ive been asked if i know what a “cuntputer” is………………..a hamster woulda give me a better responses than what ive seen

and this is the reason why god coming soon…TO PREVENT TESTICLE BRAIN PEOPLE FROM TALKING SO MUCH NONSENSE……..he gotta shock that big people reasoning like yall…….

from sensible arguments to this

dream big and go to a good school and your called …rich spoil stuckup kidds lol

6. Youthful Blogger Avatar
    Youthful Blogger

@ old onion bags.
    How could I forget to thank you personally? You provide us with so much stress relief during tense days. You’re yardfowlism, attempts to be analytical and knack for being WRONG all make wonderfully cheap entertainment. Keep up the good work. Btw I think ur mixing up Swan Street with the other street persons of your caliber usually find gainful employment in.

7. Young people don’t mind ignoramuses like busht tea don’t expect one red cent from the likes of him or OLE MUSTY Rotten ONIONS. the fact is that the world needs more young people like you and less of the likes of bush TEA. stop wasting your time trying to convince these ole farts that the younger generation of tomorrow with hopes and dreams for a better future is “much deserving” take your conversation to those who understand the need and inspiration of a youth trying to make a difference in the world. I promise that I would send an email to the proper source and you would get enough information on how to move forward successfully .In the immortal words of PM Thompson.” Barbados is not only an economy but a society”
    also Hilary Clinton in a similar summation says “it takes a village to raise a child”

8. I can’t can’t donate much but I will definitely leave a donation, great aspiring kids,all the best.
    I hope you get the payment from Barbados issue solved soon.

9. @ac your right …as your respected

10. IT IS RATHER IGNORANT TO SAY THAT THE TRIP IS NOT BENEFITTING BARBADOS. THOSE STUDENTS ARE BARBADIANS THEREFORE THEY GO ON BEHALF OF THE COUNTRY, IF THEY RAISE SUFFICIENT FUNDS TO GO ON THIS ONCE IN A LIFE TIME EXPEDITION THIS COULD BE A HISTORIC EVENT FOR BARABDOS.
    IT IS ALSO SELFISH TO SAY YOU CANT GIVE TO THE CAUSE, ITS NOT AS IF THEY’RE ASKING FOR YOU TO INDIVIDUALLY DONATE $22 000 USD. YA MEAN YA CANT EVEN DONATE A DOLLAR, EVERY PENNY COUNTS, BUT EVEN IF YOU CANT GIVE, A LITTLE SUPPORT ‘ATLEAST’ COULD BOOST THEIR CONFIDENCE

11. tired but amused Avatar
    tired but amused

I have to give you young people points for gumption. Asking people to donate to a USD$20,000 two week, site-seeing trip round Antarctica. Incredible!
    “The mission for the IAE Expeditions is to engage and inspire the next generation of leaders to take responsibility, be sustainable, and know that now is the time for action in policy development, sustainable business generation through the promotion of recycling, renewable energy and sustainability. ”
    Given the lofty goals of the expedition how can they justify that price tag?!?!?!? $40,000 BDS for a two week trip? Seriously? I mean the future leaders (who are still in school) will all have to be filthy rich or have generous benefactors to afford it.
    On top of that one of you wants to become a neurosurgeon and still got selected?
    Wow.

12. old onion bags Avatar

Look where ac came affa hidin face to find solace from d’s mess…..in D arms of Kiddies Korner….I hope they find a benefactor and take you ac wid them….climb down a crevasse as well too…..and stay till summer..spoil brat harbourer..,,here have $500 on me…doan cum back

13. LOL @ Onions
    Ha Ha
    If they promise to take ac (and leave her there “in a crevasse”) Bushie would pay for the two youths and 1/2 for ac 🙂
    …now THAT would be a laugh,
    …ac in Antarctica and Mr. ac in Arizona….

14. don’t worry about these measly mout two bits selfish bald pooch canarys . BUSH and OLe Onions, I got yuh back. I did my part and sent necessary information regarding your project to the proper source . ignore these “yahoos” nutting more than empty gas bags couldn’t care less about the youth only like to criticize !, guess what with crop over coming they gonna have a field day talking negative about the youth .fuh dem its all in a days work,,. Kids don’t expect nothing from them but shallow talk and empty criticism and you know what they say about empty vessels,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,NOISE and more NOISE…

15. Colonel Buggy. Avatar
    Colonel Buggy.

balance | July 1, 2013 at 9:46 PM |
    IT IS RATHER IGNORANT TO SAY THAT THE TRIP IS NOT BENEFITTING BARBADOS. THOSE STUDENTS ARE BARBADIANS THEREFORE THEY GO ON BEHALF OF THE COUNTRY.
    ……………………………………………………………………………….
    The same can be said about the millions of dollars that we pour into the university on the hill, turning out Phd’s and Masters, only to find that when we experience a real problem in many a discipline in Barbados we have to turn to overseas ‘consultants’.
    Like the CBC TV programme , many Government departments, and many in the private sector are headed by a Different Accent.
    Barbadians must demand value for money.
    And to the question of some being negative over this otherwise worthwhile venture, probably stems from the Niche Clique practice of some scholars ,past and present in this community.

16. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | July 1, 2013 at 11:00 PM |
    “I got yuh back. I did my part and sent necessary information regarding your project to the proper source”

The young people don’t want referrals or information overload but for you rich girl to step up to the plate and donate.
    Get it, honey chile? Now where is the money? The children are starving and dying with a bullet in one.

17. De missus gone sleep so i sneaking this one out.

I am going to put a different slant on this one for a moment.

I will not repeat that $44K for a trip to Antarctica is no different to Minister Sinckliar and Maxine McClean jetting around first class pun tax payers money.

Nor will i repeat that Kimberley’s brain surgery is more befitting of my support/purse.

Let me look at this from a third perspective.

Let us say that, all things being equal, the trip is the single experience that does raise their sensibilities and make them into budding PM material and all of that.

Help this old fool understand this.

BU has a readership of 20K people and suppose each of us, in our dastardly effort to make sure that CBB governor Worrell doan get back all he two dollar bills (AC i am sure that this will be consistent with an utterance that you or CCC will soon make) let us suppose that we all make a $2 contribution and reach this $44K on their behalf,

i would just wish to find out, which crystal Ball AC, CCC or Really are in possession of, through which they will know how much $$ these two young turks,who ent sharing how much money dem has mek already) have mek?

Oh, oh, sorrydem is harsuns College student so dem gine tell all uh we here dat dem achieve dem target and dat we is tuh stop donations.

Oops sorry, Really already tell me earlier dat dem two young uns ent got de time tuh mek no submissions to dese useless discussions bout dem fund raiser so it would clearly be madness tuh expect dem tuh tell we dat dem exceed dem target and to stop. Whu after all de IAE having a nex tour to de Artic nex year and we is now part uh de neverending Shallice and Mickell Fund raiser.

I has jes fly in de face uh de earf gods AC, CCC and Really causing we is to abdicate common sense fuh dese two ambassadors who gine place Barbados pun de map of IAE like Rihanna has, or Nobel Co-Prize Winner Dr. Leonard Nurse for his work at the IPCC

I sure dat Really gine tell me who he? LOL. No AC nor CCC ent know who he is neider.

Homegrown project fuh Shanice and Mickell.

Biodegradable material separation from garbage for all the 5th and 6th form students from Harsun college. Collect and create a mulch for organic manure and grow carpet patches pun school property and when unna get enough “carpets” tek dem accross by Haynesville Housing area and Beautify we slum area dwellings.

I nevah see de two uh wunna no where in de trenches uh Barbados befo’ i see wunna heah hugging up pun BU.

Whu even de parish ambassadors does at least pretend to be doing sumting in de district dat dem representing

Shanice you is de president uh de Harsun College Environmental ting, get dat group togeder an at least leh we see you an AC, and CCC and (you) Really (serious) in de paper doing someting heah.

I is not sending you a cent till i see Vivainne and Sankey and Carl Mo’ (de monkey climb, de more we does see he tail) mentioning de tings dat unna doing in de districts dat need environmentalizing and greening

Here is the ting.

Evey day we holding up de politicians to specific standards about mekking a difference and showing we de people whu dem capable of.

But all of a sudden dese two whippersnappers cum pun scope en all de bleeding hearts get soft and start to say “po’ tings and how we ole people hard pun dem” and all sort uh shite.

Tings hard heah in Barbados. By the sweat of thy brow shalt thou eat bread, this is not any MegaSix or Lotto, leh me see how wunna does wuk fuh dis money in a way that satisfies me, not AC, nor mamby pamby wish wash CCC.

At over eighty, walking to the departure plane, WHILE WORMS DESTROY THIS BODY, I WILL NOT RELINQUISH MY BELIEF THAT THERE IS NO PLACE IN MY COUNTRY FOR YOUNG OR OLD WELCHERS.

I TOO WILL SING SHALL WE GATHER AT THE RIVER wid de rest of the Holy Saints Crew pun a Sunday, but if Ninja or any uh dem welchers do any sh*te wid me at de Feed MY Sheep (translated trying to bribe de Almighty fuh a place in heaven) I gine tek out my cutlass and meat gine pull (yes i know Really, it was purposely misused but i thought it better to say that instead of I gine cut dem throat).

Doan get tie up, charity and being a bass bowl is two different things.

Today’s text read by this Piece uh Rock, “wake to f**k up and put out somthing for my country and stop this lip service.

We are at the doors of devaluation and all this begging that is being dressed up “as building leadership skills” is probably why Bishop Sununnu Sinkliar up pun bay Street breezing in de Audi Quattro, flying bout first class and people all over barbados suffering,

GO watch Sesame Street, dring deeper from the Pierian Spring, and come back

Wont re-engage on this one again

18. @ Pieceahderock….
    “Doan get tie up, charity and being a bass bowl is two different things”
    CLASSIC.

19. The fact of the matter is, most old folks who have worked hard to save up two pennies will gladly contribute toward a NEED. One should always take care of their WANTS.

20. a word of advice ! sometimes pointing people in the right direction.would do wonders, money is not the all or end all of our existence. there is nothing wrong with helping others to accomplish. one confidence can be strengthen in may ways by the action of those who give a kind word .

21. Pat;
    Could there be a temporal continuum between the concept of needs and wants. Could the wants of a previous age be the needs of a current one? Could part of the problem be an inability of Oldsters like us to recognize that the world is changing and that our concept of needs might have long been left behind?

Yuh have Grandchildren dat spend long quality times wid you? Yuh tink dem needs is the same duh parents? I was one who couldn’t understand why current parents have to use the TV as a babysitter. My wife and I didn’t. But when the Grands come to stay the TV is a now a definite need.

22. ac; I agree with you again.

The tenor of many of the comments on this blog was ill tempered and crass and replete with personal attacks, tinged with an overbearing attitude of “I got where I am by the sweat of my brow I ent giving none uh wunnah one red cent. Go and wash some cars like I had tuh do if wunnah want money. Wunnah HC elites need to do community service”.

None of them recognized that their prescriptions offered NO hope of success while the youngsters’ modern approach offered at least a possibility of success when tried with other fund raising efforts.

This blog showed up a side of some posters here that is interesting to know.

23. colonel buggy – I don’t see what this has to do with my comment

24. “IF” for any reasons some had doubts . they were several ways to confirm the legitimacy of these kids objective. then if confirm could have offered support by sending emails to ministry of education as support .nothing about spending ones money or raiding an individual bank account. a small pebble when thrown across the water makes a ripple which eventually helps to make a wave,

25. -_- only Barbadians will seek to tear down others, maybe you should read their blog before you jump to conclusions http://bajandreamer.wordpress.com/

26. I did my own research into the IAE and it turns out that the expedition has over 700 international partners! Also if yall idiot wanna continue this slander keep in your mind these kids simply have to ask one of those companies to invest in us! These are companies aren’t companies people don’t know! These are companies like Shell! Which has tens of billions at its disposal! So if yall want to continue go right ahead but these kids(the first from the caribbean ever to be selected) can bring investment and recognition, they have my vote!

27. AHHHHHHHHHHHHHH
    Trade Mission to Brazil in September and all participants must pay their way
    AHHHHHHHHHHHHHH
    Gove’ment can’ afford money for participants
    AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH
    Minister and wife and Ps and wife could travel to China first class pun Gov’ment money
    AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH
    Every week people traveling pun public purse … Govrment business
    AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH
    If nah money coming back Govment can’ be doing business
    AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH
    But Govment can’ find money to prop up trade mission that design to do real real business
    AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH

Leave a Reply to islandgal246Cancel reply