Hal Austin
Hal Austin

Dear Minister,

It is my understanding that you will be holding a seminar on the economy on June 27, at which it is hoped solutions to the economic crisis in Barbados will be aired. As I have not been invited, and will not be in Barbados at the time, as a loyal Barbadian I will like to make one or two suggestions for your consideration.

Let me begin by stating that I am somewhat amazed that after nearly six years we are now having this national discussion, it is one that we should have had five years ago. However, this is not a party political point, just one which recognises the urgency of the mission. It is also important that invitations to take part in the national conversation is not based on party loyalty, but on what one can contribute to the quality of the debated.

The Problem:
It is easy to make excuses blaming the continuing crisis on the previous administration – which, as I have mentioned, left office nearly six years ago – or on the global ‘crisis’, which to my mind is a total misreading of what is taking place in the global economy. To remind you, the global economy is growing, driven in large part by China and the other emerging economies, and indeed by the United States; the question is how a small island economy fits in this global reality, rather than how the reality fits in to the needs of a small island economy. In other words, your growth strategy must be based on what is taking place, rather than what took place in previous decades or what you would like to take placed.

The new global architecture is different: first, despite the background noise about globalisation, global inequality is getting worse. There is now a greater divide between the wealthy and those just making ends meet, both on a national and individual level. Barbados is now at a fork in the road and you, your colleagues in government, technocrats, advisers and business people must make a crucial decision: do we want a fairer society, or is it every man and woman for him/herself? Before answering, just remind yourself of recent events in Greece, Turkey, Spain, France, London, Brazil and the rise of organisations such as Occupy and the Far Right in Europe. If it reminds you of events before the Second World War, you are perceptive.

It is now a universal truth that an unequal distribution of global or national wealth will impact on growth – and social harmony. If you accept this position, and it is one promoted by both the International Monetary Fund and the US government, then the core strategy is the redistribution of wealth in Barbados. Global inequality is one of the dark stains over the three decades of financial globalisation. Of all the fast-growing economies  – Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa – all are marked with the deeps wound of abject poverty sitting cheek by jowl with obscene wealth. The wealth divide in Brazil is wider than in any other significant nation in the world, China bars its rural citizens from moving to urban areas and there are good reasons why the Chinese government bases its growth projections on growth of 7.5 per cent – that is what it takes to prevent social breakdown. This is a nation with 19 per cent of the global population, but only 6.5 per cent of land mass, five per cent of businesses are officially owned by the state, but 50 per cent of workers are on the state payroll.

Over the last 30 years, 450m rural workers have moved to urban areas and a further 234m are trapped in the repressive Hukou system – a permit to move from their rural base, that is why it has a policy of exporting its population. Further, it also has 6 per cent of available water and 1.1 per cent of its oil. The old Chinese development model was based on massive importation of resources, add value through cheap labour, then export at prices that made the rest of the world take notice. It has now moved in to phase two of that development, based on the 300m – and rising – middle class, what economists call demand-driven growth.
Put simply, with a middle class the size of the US, and with rural workers all wanting to move to urban areas, where the jobs are, China can continue to grow by providing the consumer needs of its own population.
Things we take for granted these emerging middle class people need: from fridges, washing machines, television sets, to motor vehicles, insurance, overseas holidays; within the next decade they will dominate global tourism. India has got its own problems, with the vast majority of its citizens illiterate, or being just able to read and write.

Roadmap:
We have got to decide as a society if these are the development models we want, or do we aspire to a more even distribution of wealth and prosperity. We are all familiar with the US and its terrible disparity between the wealthiest and poorest, as the Obamacare debate quite clearly exposed. The top ten per cent of Americans own 47 per cent of the wealth; 14 per cent of Americans receive food stamps. IN short, there is no perfect path to development.

New Programmes:
Of course, issues of wealth redistribution must be handled sensitively, but you must be bold and brave. First, the bulk of global wealth is in property and in most Western liberal democracies property tax is biased towards home owners: mortgages get special tax treatment, the increase in the value of the property often goes untaxed, and, in those jurisdictions in which there is no inheritance or death tax, the value of property is passed on to future generations free of taxes. Without going in to too much technical details, these are the basic facts on property taxation. Ignore the loud mouths and introduce an inheritance tax; impose a tougher taxation framework on property; introduce higher taxes on second and holiday homes; and homeowners who are not domicile in Barbados for taxation purposes introduce a new and tougher foreign residents’ tax. For non-citizens who have retired or settled in Barbados, for tax, health or social reasons, tax them on their global earnings.

Corporate Taxes:
I suggest you revisit your corporate taxation arrangements and target those corporations that use Barbados as a tax haven. Stop cross-border corporations from using the tricks of internal accounting, such as transfer pricing. I suggest a two-tier taxation regime for such cross-border companies, an initial tax claim, based on the declared revenue of the branch or wholly-owned subsidiary domiciled in Barbados. The onus then moves to the company to prove that all the revenue was not profit, get them to list expenditure item by item. They will have to detail such charges as income tax, national insurance, proper internal transfer pricing, etc. Once the final numbers are agreed, then the second and final tax demand will be issued. This also sends the right message to those multi-national companies looking for a haven to hide their enormous profits. They will be told in no uncertain terms Barbados is not playing ball. I suggest you read the SEC report on the American Insurance Group.

SMEs and Social Enterprise:
Ignore the badly argued advice that suggests that every new micro-, small, and medium enterprise must pay corporation and income taxes and national insurance. Tax breaks for new SMMEs is an incredible incentive for talented, skilled and enterprising people to set up new commercial, social enterprise and cooperative businesses. This does not mean they get away tax free, most of these people will still be paying VAT. What you have to do with skill is introduce tax breaks – on the principles offered to foreign-owned new businesses – with a limited period.

Sovereign Wealth Fund:
Minister, set up a Sovereign Wealth Fund which will become the vehicle for national investments, by rolling a number of existing public and statutory organisations in to a single body. Whatever you do, however, it must be managed by professionals and the government and central bank must be kept at arms length – and it must be independent of the national insurance scheme. Give the SWF a performance target, for example, 1.5 per cent above base rate, and a pre-determined asset allocation objective; leave the stock selection to the experts – and give it the authority to do deals.

Leisure and Tourism Infrastructure:
As I have said be bold, in fact be bolder than bold. For decades Barbadian politicians and policymakers have been scared of big capital projects. In fact, we have had two since the end of the Second World War and only one-ish since constitutional independence. The first was that remarkable job done by Sir Grantley Adams to reclaim the space between Pelican Island and the mainland. To this day the full importance and economic significance of that project is not fully recognised, either by ordinary Barbadians or by our economic historians. It is a disgrace.

The second was the ABC highway, interesting but a botched project – stand by the airport, decide the quickest way to get tourists to the West Coast, and cut across the country. It was municipal vandalism of the worst kind. But we are where we are. Any leisure development must be based on the needs of ordinary Barbadians and tourists are fully welcomed to enjoy the facilities. Think of developing Seawell as a small town centre, with at least one low-cost hotel, boutiques, restaurants, shops and a visitor centre; install a mono-rail track running east from the airport to Codrington College, in the first stage, giving travellers an opportunity to enjoy excursion rides; also think of developing the area around Ragged Point and Culpepper Island as an all-year funfair and visitor centre, with rides, and an aquarium, etc. The other part of the leisure infrastructure you should consider is the construction of three leisure and sports centres – one in St Michael, one in St John and one in StLucy/St Peter. A dry-ski ride in the Scotland District, complete with an indoor climbing wall, squash and badminton courts, a cinema, restaurant and piazza, giving people a vision of the East Coast and developing the local economies will be very popular. The unthinking will rubbish these ideas on the question of costs, but that is because they are limited in imagination. The role of government is to facilitate, provide the legislative and regulatory framework, not own or build everything. Your job is to draw up feasible plans and invite funders, foreign and local.

Finally, please remember that sound growth is built on structural reform, rather than fancy fiscal and monetary games, and the financialisation of the economy is key to this. Look again at the massive reserves the nation has sitting there doing nothing, waiting for some imagined external shock. It is based on an outdated economic theory. Use some of the money to develop the nation.

I know yours is a tough job, but I wish you and your colleagues good luck. One thing, do not tolerate people talking for talking’s sake at your meeting, often repeating the old and tired mantras. As for new ideas, or in management speak blue sky thinking; tell them to think the unthinkable., start with a blank sheet of paper, do not reject any new idea, no matter how ridiculous it may seem. The world is changing. China will overtake the US as the leading global economy by 2020, one thing to remember is that China is a communist country and all the banks are state-owned. So it is a different economic game entirely.

Whatever you do, do not allow the Chinese to poke you in the eye; those bi-lateral arrangements are biased towards the Chinese, including allowing their imported workers to stay on in the country they have worked in. Say no to that; tell them that your immigration rules must be respected.

Sincerely,

Hal Austin

155 responses to “Notes From a Native Son: An Open Letter to Minister Sinckler”

1. Goes to show us this guy is not in sync with what is going on in the real world, priesthood, horrible idea for a career move, are churches not for sale in bim and they cannot find buyers?…………..well now they are taking priest more seriously than before, the money train just halted…………

http://www.nydailynews.com/news/crime/monsignor-nunzio-scarano-top-vatican-official-busted-shady-money-smuggling-deal-article-1.1385114

2. Hi room,

When is this government going to pay Mr Barrack?

3. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Hal

A few stories taken from Facebook for your benefit and other BLP supporters:-

World Bank Cuts 2013 Global Economic Growth Outlook, Lowers Forecast For China, India, Brazil, Raises Projections For US, Japan

URL http://www.ibtimes.com/world-bank-cuts-2013-global-economic-growth-outlook-lowers-forecast-china-india-brazil-raises

Germany cuts growth forecast for 2013 amd 2014 . The Bundesbank expects the economy to grow by 0.3% this year, down from an earlier forecast of 0.4%.
    In 2014, it expects 1.5% growth, down from a previous estimate of 1.9%.
    URL http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-22810772.

China economic growth lower than forecast http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-22148991.

US economy grew slower in 1st quarter of 2013/ . URL http://www.scpr.org/news/2013/06/26/37931/us-economy-grew-slower-in-1st-quarter-of-2013/

French GDP decreased again in Q1 2013 (-0.2%)
    url http://www.insee.fr/en/themes/info-rapide.asp?id=26

Economists slash Brazil 2013 GDP growth view to 2.77 pct
    url http://www.reuters.com/article/2013/06/03/brazil-economy-survey-idUSE5N0C503820130603

India’s FY13 GDP growth hits decade low of 5%
    URL http://articles.economictimes.indiatimes.com/2013-05-31/news/39655833_1_farm-sector-output-third-largest-economy-growth-rate

European Central Bank cuts growth forecast

URL http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-22796454

A nice Lady on Facebook made the following statement:

“Please ask the BU critics of the Barbados economic performance not to depend on the Nation Newspaper as their sole source of information.”

4. Carson……………..it gotta tell you, you just cannot compare trillion dollar economies with the small economies in the Caribbean, if the politicians in Bim cannot get such a small economy to function without disaster, just imagine if they had those trillion dollar worldwide economies to manage?? what do you think will happen to them and those huge economies?? global turmoil not withstanding, these guys are way over their heads with that small economy and don’t know which way is up………..admit it, don’t let the IMF embarrass you into conceding.

5. DLP (formerly CBC) TV Avatar
    DLP (formerly CBC) TV

The time for talk was over for so long it ain’t funny no more. This is at least three years we can see the economy going down a black hole, the DLP making it worse by doing/saying ignorance (borrowing to pay salaries, say categorically no lay offs etc) and now Fumble coming AGAIN to tell we things BROWN !!!!(well black now). Well Fumble, the public ain’t really want to hear you now!!! (that is musse why he does really keep quiet). Anybody that had a clue about de economy know that the DLP just plain inept, and knows that what has to come next is not going to be pretty. I mean how long is the DLP going to hide behind the global recession and the supposed wrongs the Bees did to the economy as an excuse. The people are going to ask why one man(party) could have guided Barbados through nearly 14 yrs of economic growth/stability, (arguably the best period in Barbados history) for the DEMs to now come and only after 5 yrs put this country through economic strife and ruination. The DLP got to MAN UP, stop giving excuses and deal with the situation. I could imagine the Barbadians who voted DEM based on the smoke and mirrors, now biting dey lip because they are starting to see the real picture. The way i see it, it is 1991 all over again. There WILL be serious austerity measures.

6. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | June 28, 2013 at 7:25 PM |

Carson, don’t you think it would be more helpful to both your black DLP administration and to the country at large if you were to mine or milk your creative juices to come up with ways to shave off $400 million and counting from public expenditure?

Don’t you have any ideas/suggestions/proposals to offer at this dreadfully dark juncture of the country’s history?
    Do you know that if many measures are not put in place by August there will be a devaluation of the Bajan dollar in October? Or do you think this old Uncle Tom is just ‘fishing’ in a dry pond of alarm, doom and gloom?

After all, that dreaded “D” word could never be on the lips of the DLP which you often brag are the architects of modern Barbados and its independent financial system.

So what are you going to cut since the BLP has no solutions to offer?
    What about suspending the completion of the St. John polyclinic to the unfortunate dismay of Negroman?

7. Dear Uncle Ronald Jones,
    Your were listened to on VOB’s 12:30pm, 4:30pm and 5:30pm news cast this afternoon. It took you 6 years to know productivity in the teaching profession is low? You talk so much SHITE whenever you are in front of a microphone, it is not funny It seems that you are still embarrass that the private schools did so well in the 2013 Common Entrance exam when compared to the primary schools. You can be guaranteed that In 2014, the private schools will take all 10 top spots. So roll out your new strategic plan for public school teachers.

8. A blow hard, he is. Totally irrelevant, totally out of his depth!

9. carson u still up in here with these miserable malcontents…

10. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Millertheanunnaki | June 28, 2013 at 9:02 PM |

I will do you one big favour and save your comments for future reference. As you know you are always wrong and then I use your own words to beat you over the head with.

I am looking forward to more fun at your expense.

11. @George

when u completing ur doctorate?

12. @ Carson

In case you don’t know, I teach a lot of these young journalists, although the teacher can sometimes learn from the student.

13. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | June 28, 2013 at 10:22 PM |

After your recent comments on the passing of Dr. Richard Haynes nothing you say or do would be a surprise to anyone.

We trust you will also remember it is the PM who said that if serious measure are NOT taken very soon and far reaching sacrifices made by the people the country will be faced with a serious challenge to the stability of its currency.
    The miller did not get up before the nation and sounded the alarm. It was the PM himself.

But he has the option of doing nothing and let things be done for us.
    He has Hobson’s choice about that $400 million, right CCC?

But up to now you, Carson have not even offered at least one suggestion or proposal to help your party achieve that expenditure reduction goal of Sisyphus proportions and sits like the sword of Damocles over the head of this beleaguered and comatosely incompetent administration.

The Truth Will Out!

“It is easier to find a score of men wise enough to discover the truth than to find one intrepid enough, in the face of opposition, to stand up for it.” ~A.A. Hodge

14. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

Well Well @ , http://www.nydailynews.com/news/crime/monsignor-nunzio-scarano-top-vatican-official-busted-shady-money-smuggling-deal-article-1.1385114 @
    Your link goes all the way to the top. Why cant people just leave other peoples money alone? No even Gods money is safe in the hands of man.
    , We need special Investigation Unit in Barbados . Clean people that will stand up with the constitution and laws . For all persons even the church down have crooks.
    Fraud squad is over worked in Barbados so much that dont reach the news , The History books will have to be re-written . 100 years of truth is missing. replace with gaps and lies.So the mental of slavery lives.
    They now need to cut 400m , well the high court cost 150m alone.
    sell it , the land 80m sell it , but will not get a clear title , We have it , they dont.But we sure a Bajan lawyer can make up a deed and past it in the high court for a fee.

reach us @ moorishcourt@gmail.com

15. @Deeds

If Barbados Today really wanted to help you they would have added another paragraph to explain to readers that related documents re. Beatrice Henry/Violet Beckles have been posted online at Barbados Underground. Even by posting this comment we have used keywords that permit anyone using a search engine to find us. Remember, you have to work smart.

16. @ miller

Plse enlighten me. Your comment is over my head. Why aren’t you surprised by anything I say after my appreciation of Sir Richie, an outstanding Barbadian??

17. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

David @ Barbados Today did help , for those who question what is posted now backed up by the police Fraud Squad. Other papers like the NATION AND Advocate along with CBC take the information and print what they feel like or Nothing at all. So what ever is printed by Barbados Today is help. What ever posted Barbados Underground Help, and help to get the people ready for answers , to why things are the way they are in Barbados. We cant tell none of them what to print , Lawyers again have a hand in what is printed ,so you may know the outcome.When we speak we tell people to go to this site to read before and after comment , So it will not longer be a shocker,
    We dont know if you have a counter to count the hits or history of the hits per site.
    We can fix the problems in Barbados easy,
    Once the truth is told . Rents will drop, people will work, cost will drop,
    open books to all and all questions will get answered , Title deeds can and will be cleared, titles that will have the Good Banks in good standing.
    400m is no money, Why? 400 houses sold can reach that amount or the offshore accounts of the Ministers to put back the money taken.

18. Plantation………….it’s a mess of epic proportions around the world. That crowd in Bim who continue to sell what does not belong to them and model around pretending to be this and that sir idiot and dame jackass, need an extremely rude awakening with all the names of the thieves in the newspapers and broadcast around the world for everyone to see.

19. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hal Austin | June 29, 2013 at 10:00 AM |

“ miller: Please enlighten me. Your comment is over my head. Why aren’t you surprised by anything I say after my appreciation of Sir Richie, an outstanding Barbadian??”

Sorry, Hal but you are mixing up things here a bit! I was not referring to anything you said in respect of Dr. Haynes or his passing.

I was referring to the most obnoxious disrespectful crass way Carson Cadogan described the death of Dr. Richard C. Haynes.

Your personal association with the gentleman can only engender great respect and genuine condolences to his family

Come on Hal, we Ivy League people know better than that!

20. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar

Well Well, @ That is the problem the newspaper here in this deep , Keeping the news from the people. Its very hard to find a lawyer or news person over the age of 25 that dont know some thing about this Barbados mess. They will not print , they will not allow us on brass tax radio. We also went to NY , to where they have the office of the new paper called CARIBNEWS, Mr Best is the person We was told to contact and We did , He refuse to print it or even do the story or even email me back , We Found out first hand he was the same person on Brass Tax when we went there , NONE of them wanted us there .
    sat down at CBC on tape camera rolling , nothing put on tv,
    Nations for 90min, Advocate not a word.
    If not for BU , BFP, BT ,no one might not know. As you can see Dottin under control of MIA? and this is about her also.
    This is the first time in a very long time our phone is not dropping calls and so on , We feel also out phones were tapped ,We dont stop because they tap, we dont stop tape, we dont stop because they read.Truth is what we seek. They now know , we see what they did in the dark and the light.

21. Plantation……..don’t worry, they will soon be stinging in each other, there is no way in this world that Dottin would tap everyone on the island’s phone and don’t tap mia for insurance purposes, he knew he would have to cover his ass one day, in saying that, when the investigation has reached a certain level where you can name names, don’t depend on the minions who run the media in Bim or any Caribbean newspaper in NY they are nuisances who don’t understand the meaning of morals, nobody shitheads who have no clout, go to renowned media people with your story, the New York Times, et al, not the lowlife wannabe ivy leaguers and journalists, they do not even know what the word means.

22. Plantation………that way your story will be exposed around the world for everyone to see what these scum posing as title holders really do on the island, no one in the Caribbean can bribe the NY Times, they do not have that kind of power, small island power don’t count in the real world.

23. @Deeds

Do you have a recording (audio/video) of your interviews with any of the media houses you named?

24. @ Well Well

Alike the Raul Garcia story, Violet Beckles’ has been heard far beyond that island. The United Nations and ex-secretary of state, Hilary Rodham Clinton (United States) you may or may not know slapped Barbados on the issue of Raul Garcia. Just recently, the United States slapped their face again (Barbados) refusing to pay or pay late royalties to American composers and song writers. Some private and government broadcasters in Barbados have failed to obtain licenses from the Copyright Society of Composers, Authors & Publishers, Inc. (COSCAP) or just bluntly refuse to pay even if they are licensed. This is rather embarrassing. He, Raul Garcia is no longer incarcerated but embarrasses Barbados. Violet Beckles is now deceased but embarrasses Barbados. She was allowed none or nothing of what rightfully became hers via authentic legal documentation. Not surprised that Trinidad is setting traps down there and getting lucky.

25. LOOK! Wise up.
    Yuh ever seen a farm get end up run by de stocks?
    Yuh all stuff guts and now ready fuh de enda de road.
    Gonna end up as carcase on de hook.
    LOTSA Knowledge en nah understandin.

26. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Miller

Richie Haynes never meant anything to me.

You on the other hand probably drank lots of his cocktails and ate plenty of his Hors d’oeuvres hence you have to praise him. After all you BLP people love your belly.

Recall recently when you all claimed that you were boycotting Parliament, when ever it came to Lunch time you all still went into the Lunch room looking for food to eat.

27. Look………….i see where most everything is coming to light, that Violet Beckles affair can be turned into a story but not with local or regional wannbe journalists, you need people with clout who will actually expose it far and wide, that cannot be found in Bim, easier found in the US, they are too easily bribed in Bim……………Trinidad is a wonder example of how everything always come to light don’t care how hard you try to avoid it.

28. @ Well Well

New York Times, Washington Post and or the Chicago Tribune – Can’t bribe them. Not too much in the United States stay hiding. The United States FBI & IRS Investigation documentation involving the VECO Corporation is not hiding from either the BLP or DLP. Both, the BLP and DLP I believe are hiding from it and should. People in the United States tremble at the very existance of the United States FBI and IRS and should.

29. “You on the other hand probably drank lots of his cocktails and ate plenty of his Hors d’oeuvres hence you have to praise him. After all you BLP people love your belly.”

Asson ……have you seen your MOF and MOT lately? Plus the rest of the government ministers??? Remember what they looked like before 2008????

30. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | June 29, 2013 at 3:51 PM

You ungrateful M F!
    Is that the way you treat your own kind that won the 1986 elections for the DLP hands down leaving just 3 blind mice and whose legacy is immortalised in the song by the Mighty Gabby “Back Raise, Dem people back raise me” or something along those lines?

But time longer than twine and the ghost of Richie will many a moonless night be seen on that Hastings Boardwalk to haunt the DLP for its brazen callousness and to witness the DLP is given its just desserts for the lies and deceit inflicted on the naive and simple people of Barbados as it did in 1991.

A repeat of the 1991/92 fiasco is about to unfold but this time that dreaded “D” word will be the “anti deus ex machina” of its parliamentary survival and subsequent electoral downfall currently hanging on a thread of vote buying and fraud.

If you can figure out what was just written you are a boss, Carson!

31. Look……….that is why i am encouraging Plantation to get it out there, no one in Bim can mess with these media giants, they would get smushed like an ant….get the story out there and expose the names when the time comes, time to take down these lowlifes a peg or two and teach the respect.

32. @ Well, Well

I know it is not your forte, but the best journalism in the English language is British. That is well, the US, Canadian and Australian newspapers all employ a number of Brits.

33. Hal………….i understand British journalists tried to expose certain disgraceful behaviors by bajan politicians already and were met with problems, can’t pull that with the Americans, not saying the brits are not good journalists, but apparently they can’t get past the closed ranks on the island, as i said, can’t pull that stunt with American journalists they will come after anyone in their way, many people have paid dearly to learn that fact.

34. This is an aside for all the die hard church goers and christians, a lesson in reality about the vatican……………………

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2351535/Police-probe-claims-convicted-paedophile-priest-rent-boy-ring-Vatican.html

35. On March 11, 2013, Kwame Kilpatrick, former mayor (Detroit, MI) was convicted on 24 federal felony charges including all of the following: bribery, mail fraud, wire fraud, racketeering and extortion. He faces a lengthy prison sentence.

According to Katherine Skiba of the Chicago Tribune, Prosecutors for the United States government during trial of Jessie Jackson Jr. has asked the judge to seize the homes of the former United States Representative in Washington and Chicago, plus their Individual Retirement Account worth 80,000. Jackson, 48 will be sentenced Wednesday July 3th for looting his campaign treasury of 750,000. The government according to Skiba wants him to pay a 750,000 forfeiture plus restitution in the same amount. Jackson’s wife, Sandi also will be sentenced for failing to report to the IRS about $600,00 of the couple’s income.

It’s a wonderful life for politicians and government authorities in Barbados.

36. Look……….sweet life cannot last forever, that is an illusion and delusional thinking on their part……….it is all temporary.

37. Do we see a policy unravelling here?
    Region urged to reduce deficits
    Prime Minister Freundel Stuart (FP)
    Sat, June 29, 2013 – 5:58 PM
    BRIDGETOWN, Barbados, Jun 29, CMC – Caribbean Community (CARICOM) governments have been told there must be sustained economic diversification if they are to successfully reduce their fiscal deficits.
    Barbados Prime Minister Freundel Stuart gave the advice as he addressed the opening ceremony of the 31st Annual Caribbean Conference of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of the Caribbean.
    He said it was imperative for the region to overcome some of the global challenges that had emerged, while continuing to maintain “a reasonably adequate safety net”, and social development system.
    He outlined a six-pronged strategy, which, he said, would put the Caribbean back on a path of development and expansion.
    Stuart, who the day earlier addressed a national consultation on the Barbadian economy, explained that the plan would involve diversifying the sources of “our economic drivers to align them more with faster growing areas of the world, through expanded and more intensive tourism marketing and product development”.
    He said “expanded and more focused international business marketing, more and faster product development, increased labour content of our international business, and intensive work on the removal of foreign administrative hurdles to international business” would help Caribbean nations chart a path to recovery.
    “We must restructure the energy basis of the economy and improve the competitiveness of production through greater energy efficiency; greater use of alternative renewable energy; an enhanced technological platform for the economy; and greater availability of requisite labour skills.
    “We must improve the productive capacity of our economies through   infrastructure development. We must rationalise and consolidate the fiscal sector by reducing wastage; cutting unnecessary programmes; confronting the ‘entitlement’ mentality in         our countries; providing public goods and services more efficiently; and improving the facilitation role of Government,” he told the delegates.
    Prime Minister Stuart said the economies of the Caribbean had suffered along with the rest of the world over the last six years from a generally low level of economic activity and had continued for this period because of increasing uncertainty about likely changes in global economic fortunes.
    He said the global uncertainty had “badly shaken business and consumer confidence”, and as a consequence, there had been less investment and spending than usual throughout the world.
    He said consequently regional states had to “shift the locus of investment and growth more towards the private sector”.  Stuart also suggested that both the public and private sectors needed to cooperate more on a regional basis on economic matters and deepen regional economic relations, by increasing regional cooperation in tourism and investment marketing, especially in new markets, in order to diversify the countries of origin of the economic drivers.
    He said that this could be achieved by collaborating with airlines to increase intra-regional airlift and to increase and diversify airlift to the region; and by multi-destination marketing; tourism marketing and product development; international business marketing and product development.
    Prime Minister Stuart also called for greater collaboration on security matters; more intra-regional trade in food; more intra-regional tourism; increased intra CARICOM trade in both goods and services, and more direct and portfolio investment in each other’s economies.
    Figures released here show that Caribbean economies had been underperforming since 1990, with growth stagnating in the last two decades, except for commodity producers.
    The figures show that since 2008, economic activity grew by less than one per cent in tourism oriented economies, and that slower economic growth was compounded by competitiveness issues, widening external current account deficits, declining share of world exports, and falling tourist arrivals and tourist receipts.

38. Lots of fancy words, now time to put them into action, talking alone will not cut it this time around, different era……….looks like privatization will be the key word going forward…….

“He said consequently regional states had to “shift the locus of investment and growth more towards the private sector”.

39. actually what PM has outlined is a rebuilding and reshaping of carribbean economies which involved networking which in the long run would make it much easier and accessible for carribean markets to do trade with other countries on a global scale. PM was appealing to the carribbean states that all carribbean countries must work together effortlessly in order to get out of this economic dragnet,

40. Obama begged them to do this 4 years ago, what took them………..Bush administration with all their warts begged them to do this nearly 8 years ago, what took them………..it’s not too late to put it all into action.

41. no! it is not too late , but this me! ME! all about me mentality is what helping to destroy the carribbean economy. those at the top always thinking about themselves. and only giving lip service, you find that especially among the private sectors in most of the carribbean islands whom the govts after filling them bellies with enormous subsidies turn a deaf ear when problem come knocking and run fuh cover leaving the govt and the people to fight among themselves . the truth is much of this economic mess also involves the private sector responsibility in helping govt find solution.

42. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar

Well Well @Obama begged them to do this 4 years ago, what took them………..Bush administration with all their warts begged them to do this nearly 8 years ago, what took them……@
    THAT WHEN CROOKS MADE THERE MOVE, TAKING THE PEOPLE MONEY , THAT 12 YEARS AND 5 YEARS BEFORE THAT OFFSHORE BANKING GOT A SPIKE WITH THE MORTGAGE RATES , REFINANCE , TIME SHARES , EVERYONE WAS A CONTRACTOR , LAND TAX NUMBER MOVING REAL FAST , ALL YOU HAD TO DO IS SAY ITS MINE AT THE LAND TAX WINDOW, ALL LAND TAX WANTED WAS THE MONEY , DID NOT CARE WHO PAID IT ,MONEY MONEY , BUILD BUILD , SELL SELL ,,,WHAT A PARTY IT WAS.,, NOW FOR THE HANG OVER

43. @Ac

dont think that sinckler is out of his league, he hasnt got a clue abot economic diversification and therefore shold be replaced. Finance needs a new minister. I had spported sincler in the past, bt he has made too many mistakes and has not learnt from them. Dennis lowe should be given a lowly ministry, he too is a disappoinntment . All those temporay workers he took on jst before elections should be sent home. Richard Sealy needs a rest and shold be given a different ministry, What r r views on this?

44. Plantation…….so, they were too busy at the time to heed the numerous warnings coming out of the US, too busy lining pockets and accepting bribes and kickbacks, well, it’s now time to pay the piper.

45. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar

Well Well @ agree and he was at the UDC we had meetings , in case you missed it he said with Violet, Dennis, Richard and myself , We dont pay twice , he also said I will have to prove what i am saying , Then I told Sink man in a loud voice , WHEN EVER YOU ARE READY. then he say back at look at me .Keep in mind he never said Violet dont own any of the land he paid out to other lawyers acting for fraud land owners or rent collectors. All the paper where there in his face. The delayed the meeting for months ,
    IF you ever seen what we gave the fraud squad , maybe 20 pounds or more of deeds with Beatrice name on them ,
    keep in mind she was 93 and they list Violet as 93 also even so to me she was 92 , What more of a clear title you need clearer than that? 1926 to 2010 to 2013 with not gabs,.
    We would put it to the so called educated men , who to know all , how can you know more than who made the history? or even bought and signed the CONVEYANCE.if they not the owners then WHO.
    Why then put Moors on the deeds and not whites?
    BARBADOS books history will have to written , for they have not yet been.We have the missing pages of Barbados BIBLE,
    So , To Dr. Henry Fraser and the Ronnie Hughes , When ever you ready , In 1725 , 340 acres 34 adult slaves males , 57females ,49 slave boys and girls , what detail info , but nothing of 1930 till now.
    Looking to keep out minds in slavery , when the first salve where white, to Barbados base on other info , So as you can see they looked and kept the plantation going as the past with the slave wages paid in BIM today.
    In 1838 the Masters and Servant Act (Contract Law) made discrimination against persons of colour in Barbados illegal.

46. Plantation……….Barbados is a study in the successful experiment carried out by the British, i don’t even listen to the likes of Fraser and Hughes, they both come with agendas for the blinkered and totally blind majority on the island…………i would not even consider white slavery, that is white on white crime, let the blame lay where it belongs cause that is their business, it does not count in the grand scheme of things, as long as they are not allowed to continually make the taxpayers who were not responsible for their ancestors problems pay indefinitely for coming centuries through theft of land, kickbacks and bribes to politicians and hoarding of money through offshore bank accounts, let them take their crap to England and play those games.

47. newblood right now pointing the blame at MOF of finance is all we got left. however no matter who runs the affairs of this country would find it an enormous task to undo and correct the economic damage inflicted on this country over the years ;
    A lack to restructure the country debt and curb fiscal spending over the years have done us in..and the lack of foresight to set the country on a growth path one that is sustainable and in line with globalization and free trade has set us back about fifty years or more. to think that in the early 80!s and 90″s no govt every thought “seriously” about alternative energy one of the main causes of our huge debt and drain on foreign reserves is an abomination
    to think that in 2013 we are talking about our need to plant or revive our agriculture industry is mind blowing. I meaning newblood pray tell me how any MOF B or D can correct these challenges in a short period of time given the hostile economic climate we are experiencing. I might not be a road scholar but a dummy can understand the dynamics that have left this country wandering in the dark. looking for quick fixes or voodoo economics to get us out is not the answer, .

48. @ David
    Here is a suggestion for BU

Politicians offer themselves to serve their communities and to represent their constituents and the country as a whole if elected….RIGHT?

In the past, John public needed to attend their constituency offices in order to put a case, to seek assistance and to offer suggestions….but we now have new technology …..BU!

Why not start a section similar to the one you had before the last election …but one for each ELECTED MP by name and photo, where the public can directly raise matters to be addressed by the MP? Each MP can have a unique gravitar so we know it is not an imposter and we can TRULY communicate with them.

Those who choose not to participate….Well – that would speak volumes in itself.
    Those who wish to, may appoint a communications Rep.

Is it not high time that these highly paid parasites were put on the spot and made to be directly answerable to their REAL bosses…?

Name:
    Constituency:
    Political Party:
    National Appointment:

49. after years of plenty our country still grappling with an inadequate transportation system. lack of good roads . flooding. a hold host of inefficiencies across the board left to fester and rot complicated now by lack of financial resources to tackle these problems . the question is why ?

50. listen to this debate similarities to the challenges Barbados faces
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p01b35m7

Leave a Reply to JUST ASKINGCancel reply