George C. Brathwaite, founder and interim president of BAJE

Background and the Problem
For the past few years, there has been widespread apathy, in almost all areas and sectors, and affecting increasing numbers of citizens in our beloved Barbados. Things social, economic, cultural, legal, and political have all run-aground against the backdrop of uninspiring national leadership, challenged but ill-directed youth whose voices are drowned out by selfish adults. Barbados is being pummelled by lackadaisical responses to economy and society so much so that there is a floundering but starved private sector, together with a stagnant national economy made worse by fiscal deficit, paltry macroeconomic planning, and growth in the incidence of poverty and unemployment.

Furthermore, inter-generational hopelessness has eclipsed Barbadians’ willingness to be firm craftsmen of their fate. There are various volumes of institutional shenanigans and bouts of political interference that have presided over, and in many cases, ruthlessly encouraged social decay within the fabric of everyday life for the ordinary Barbadian. In essence, there are man-made political decisions being made by major political elites in what has become a much polarised Barbadian society that has at its core the remnants of colonial structures that may well have outlived their usefulness in recognition of Barbados’ contemporary needs. Barbados must reject the threat to ‘crack heads’ or ‘to shoot people’ whose embattled voices are crying out for help, justice, and dignity. Marcus Garvey once said:

Read full document

46 responses to “Barbados ADVOCATES for JUSTICE and EMPOWERMENT (BAJE) Launched”

1. I’m not sure if you (george) can use the acronym BAJE as that might be infringing on the intellectual property of Baje International.

2. No intellectual property, just a right to use the name. Many companies and organisation use the word Barbados as well as Bajan. Where is the intellectual property in Baje, which is known to be a shortened version of Bajan?

3. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@George:
    I know that you know better. However you use the acronym BAJE you are infringing copyright of BAJE International . You a
    And ROK I know that you know better. .

4. @ Alvin
    You and George were in the same class at school?

5. ROK……………..i am seeing a picture of my buddy.

6. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

George

You actually wasted your time writing that bunch of collosal nonsense?
    You ain’t got nothing better to do with your time?
    Bajan struggling to get by as the recession creeps ever forward and you encouraging civil unrest?

7. George like MIA trying to make himself relevant , nevertheless going about it the wrong way shoving cart in front the horse.

8. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

You should be able to get a copy of the defense Edmund Hinkson filed today in the High Court matter with George ‘ My Big Head’ Payne.

9. Believe the Crop Over entity goes by the name Baje International.

10. @ROK. With the greatest respect, I disagree with you and I agree with @gfparoman | June 18, 2013 at 8:55 PM and others. Before George settled on the name, it would have been prudent to have checked with the register of business names at CAIPO, which, I believe, is available to the general public online. An action by Baje International would, I believe, succeed and George would face a court order not to use that appellation, plus costs and possible damages. But what do I know, or the others with whom I am agreeing?

@George. Frankly, I cannot see the point of this organisation, other than as an attempt to form a political lobby that will attract a lot of attention and some political power/relevance for whoever heads it and is its mouthpiece. In other words, it is an electioneering gimmick designed to garner votes at future general elections.

@ac. Instead of just talking about the Hinckson defense and offering your usually extremely biased (and therefore subjective) interpretations on that defense, why not post a copy here on BU, so that we can all read it for ourselves and come to our own determinations on it? I dare you to post it in support of your allegations as to what it contains. I also do not understand your apparent partisanship over what is a BLP implosion. I would have thought that a devoted DLPite would have been cheering both sides on in this matter.

11. @ amused where in my comments have I made mention of any allegations about Hinkson or anything to do with the legal ramblings, I do not understand what u are talking about,

12. @ac. I beg your pardon. It was the Dummy.

13. Of course the barbs from the politicos will be plentiful. The question we must ask (as if we do not know) is why is it those from the political cadre are the ones to be motivated to start groups to advocate.

14. old onion bags Avatar

PER Amused
    @ac. Instead of just talking about the Hinckson defense and offering your usually extremely biased (and therefore subjective) interpretations on that defense, why not post a copy here on BU, so that we can all read it for ourselves and come to our own determinations on it? I dare you to post it in support of your allegations as to what it contains. I also do not understand your apparent partisanship over what is a BLP implosion. I would have thought that a devoted DLPite would have been cheering both sides on in this matter.
    Forget it..ac got nin nins ( small fish) to fry.where she is going with it… only she knows….When you are so programed, you can’t switch off JUST SO….ex. Dummy @ dumo and partner in crime Arson Give us a BREAK..

By the way JUST ASKING….where are you?. You minding these nimbles?
    By your absence they feeling besides themselves….COME BACK and give them hell..Ya hear !

15. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

Onions

You read Hinkson’s Defense? Some real nastiness out in the public and the present LoO’s name seems to be a feature of it.

16. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

I am not being defensive but it can be reasoned that with insight, one ought to illustrate better judgement. I have supported several causes in my lifetime. Indeed, I believe that Barbadians are currently either too quiet on many issues with profound ramifications for the country, or that Barbadians in taking some of the country’s accomplishments for granted, have decided not to act out of deference to individual and personal interest. It is my view that I can make a difference, that is why I am keen to fight for a just cause. No excuses, plain and simple.

17. Actually George the comment is complimentary of politicos (in a roundabout way) because they seem to be the ones who are not afraid often time to lead the charge. There are the obvious reasons but you are right, we are too passive, we need to exercise our rights which are suppose to be enshrined in our democracy to ensure we are better served.

18. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

@ Amused
    It would be useful if many of us that purport to so love our country Barbados see pass the imagined and real boundaries of BLP and DLP. Last I knew, I am not a candidate in any election. I also do not have to subject myself to insults and ridicule by being in the vanguard of any task that will more than likely entertain strong and differing perspectives. Quite frankly, there is always the choice of joining those who say nothing, do very little, and reap the rewards. However, I am not made of that cloth. So, you can join me in trying to fight for a cause or you can remain a skeptic unwilling to see how you can make a difference in your country. It is a matter of choice and I respect your decision.

19. old onion bags Avatar

Lets not forget some of us in here have less to lose being up in age and are fearless…”to the cause that lack resistance”..unlike others who do. Imagine your offspring just settle in a new Govt job or the wife a manager at CBC and the family DEPENDING ON IT…..we cud talk…we dun bald pooched and don’t have to drink blackbird soup when shoved a plate…so we must be more understanding to these facts. Although as a young boi, I could not give two brassbowls bout a fella…never did want nutting frm politics.

20. Barbados is NOT a society it is a market ( (c) BAFBFP 2012). This is true for all businesses which increasingly includes the agencies of Government and the political parties.

21. Afra Raymond, with all of the evidence before him, absolutely refuses to believe that political parties are business enterprises (unregistered of course …). There is a fight to be fought, but the dreamers will have to be identified and sidelined …!

22. Alvin……………..this link is for you to peruse

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/10m-fine-and-10-years-jail-if-guilty-212080941.html

23. @Baffy. You are, as you know, correct. The problem, as I am sure you will agree, lies in the fact that government does not seem to accept the same standards as private sector businesses and people whose competence in the private sector would see them working at the lower end, are, in government, big magufees. Only when government takes on board the fact that it IS A BUSINESS and that its shareholders are the electorate, will we start to see some sort of movement.

24. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

George

I think the best thing for you to do is to be “founder” for a new Barbados Labour Party!!!

25. Advocacy is admirable by any one persons or group. however for a group or individual to be taken seriously there must be no association or connection between political parties. in order for these group to maintain crdibilty. GB on this quest have failed the test since his political leanings have been vented for all to see.

26. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

@ ac and other like-minded friends
    I am a member of the BLP. I have been ‘publicly’ critical of both the BLP and DLP. I have been critical without being disrespectful or disloyal to the BLP in and out of governance. Sometimes I have referred negatively to politicians and administrations and other times I have refrained from stating BLP or DLP, but speak to political elites. Contrary to what you believe, I understand that no political party will reach perfection, but a political party cannot be so afraid to make mistakes that it rests on its past laurels, or indeed on the comfort of premeditated excuses.
    Indeed, I give praises to the inputs of both political parties, and to politicians in general. They often have more guts than most of us for even attempting to face the people and beg for a vote. However, it is my right as a citizen to comment or ask questions. It is also a right for freedom of association. Most of all, and given my training, I believe (and I could be wrong) that I am in a position to analyse and draw conclusions on the way that my country is being governed.
    Now, I shall continue to respect your views without having to label you or define you by political leanings. I can tell you that philosophically and beyond any political party, I am a self-professed social-democrat whose readings are grounded in Marxism, neo-Marxism, and recent critical and post-structuralist traditions. Yes, the world is what we make it! That being the case, I prefer that you find ‘factual’ fault with the things I write. I prefer the process of supporting or refuting a claim on the basis of evidence. And most of all, recognising that we have different talents, I encourage all of us to use those talents to benefit the brothers and sisters in need of a helping hand or voice. Let us help our country since that has a greater sense of permanence than affiliation to a political party. Cheers.

27. George is /an unapologetic mouth piece for the BLP….He is tied to a political party .now how in the name of God he expect public to take him seriouly.

28. @ ac
    Even if George was as independent as a church mouse, who the hell would take him seriously when he does talk almost as much bovine stuff as you…?
    George aint serious, he just shame to see his party demonstrating (as most Bajans know) that the ONLY thing worse than the DLP and its troop of incompetents, is the BLP’s collection of morons….bunch of brass bowls…

The first thing he should look to ‘advocate’ is justice for all those of our fore-parents who worked penny-by-penny to gain a foothold on independence and ownership, only to have Owen, as a matter of party policy over 15 years, sell everything of value back to foreigners again…..and for what? …..The illusion of development?
    Steupssss. ..George could really follow Ossie (Carl) Moore and buzz off…

29. Alvin Cummins Avatar

George I reapect you as a n intellectual, an ambitious young person and above all for your sincerity. We may have differences of opinion but I will never “put you down.” I commend you on your following statement, and recognising that we have different talents, I encourage all of us to use those talents to benefit the brothers and sisters in need of a helping hand or voice. Let us help our country since that has a greater sense of permanence than affiliation to a political party. wish that more of your associates would take this to heart. I look forward to debating you on this forum.

30. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@George forgot the required ” at the begining of your statement…”…and recognizing….political party”.

31. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

@ Bush Tea
    You have almost outdone yourself. Maybe if you had waited a bot more, you would have realised your niceties were pointless.

32. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@ac,Old Onions et al. Why do we seem to take such pleasure in hurting each other. Even though we may be on the different sides of the political fence, we really do no need to take such pleasure when either side is beset with problems. There has to bea time of healing after the war is over. I will never forget the pain expressed in the novel “All Quiet on the Western Front” written from the German infantryman showing the suffering of both sides, and the need to heal after the war is over, for both sides would have suffered greatly. The war of 2013 is ended it is time for healing rebuilding and putting ALL hands on deck.

33. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@Bush TeaGeorge and myself did not go to secondary school together but we were at University together.

34. @ George
    Maybe if you had waited a bot more, you would have realised your niceties were pointless.
    Waited a bot more for what George?
    You leaving in truth?….like Ossie?
    …man you can’t tek a joke now? If you leave who Bushie going have to bwuse?
    Onions is a waste of time – he don’t tek bushie serious.
    ac don’t even understand when she getting cursed
    Islandgal horning the bushman (and besides she does curse worser that Bushie)

…..which only leaves Miller….and all he like to cuss bout is Boxology.

…don’t leave yet man! Give we another article so Bushie can put a next nedder good review in your tail… LOL Ha Ha

35. u see George u got it wrong like I say u putting the cart in front the horse…first of all to be an advocate u can’t be a “loyalist : to any political party are u kidding me the natives that u propose to represent would eat u alive. as bush tea say u cant serve two masters at one time. u might mean goodwill but all that goodwill would have to go towards the natives and nutting absolutely nothing left for any political party. loyalist to a party wuh big mistake . u don dead upon arrival. …..

36. @ Alvin Cummins…
    wuh I done gone and do u now,,, I was talking to GB who have been racing around the political Savannah for many years neatly woven and and tagged to the BLP and somehow by sleight of hand presumably or a Damascus moment he discovers and wants people to believe that he should be an advocate, ‘Houdini” couldn’t pull off such a trick ,,some political fireball that would be…some body needs to tell him the truth to save him the embarrassment. especially having them kind of political roots .kind a hard for him to pull them roots up and move on.

37. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea | June 19, 2013 at 5:29 PM

At least it’s just talk and no action analogous to your party’s modus operandi.
    But then again your admired dumb fool for a leader does not fit the description at all. He is your new action man. Ask Peter Wickham. Peter has secret files on you too, you dirty minded bushman!
    The miller would be a friend of a homo or cuss about “boxology” any day than be a rapist hiding in the bush.

38. George

You can’ help but like the Bushman …. ha ha even when he cussin’ yah. Tek the foolish advice from one who used ta get cuss regula’, he don’ do dah shite nomo’ fa some reason, HA HA, stick around and tek yah licks like a man. You would be the better for it…. HA HA HA

Amused

It is amaisin’ but my comment was meant as a critisism from one who is just tired of being EXPLOITED, tired of being considered a market. I am just a hopeless jackass who actually still believes that a time will come, even if it is only for a day, when I would GENUINELY be considered and treated as a CITIZEN of a home, of a place called Barbados.

39. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

@ BAFBFP

I agree with you. I was not running. Merely letting Bush know that if greedy wait, hot wil cool. But thanks, and you know that I am not even afraid to laugh at myself when necessary.

40. But Braf

I is laugh at me every day … HA HA … partly because I still can’ understand how a man this ugly could live this long and have children too, that good looking … HA HA HA … MURDA … HA HA HA

41. old onion bags Avatar

Man you want sending to Alma Parris school for some remedial classes you ent know…..man you all a sudden attackin evabody like a attack dog…..but wait breds WHO PULL SPARMAN LICENSE and WHY?????

42. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

Put the fear of God in a man or woman charge them a ball of money, open up there chest, play around for a while, close them up………………..nothing new in there but the money is in the bank. X-Ray can make a liar of someone.

43. @ George

Steady on those -isms.

44. @Baffy. “I am just a hopeless jackass who actually still believes that a time will come, even if it is only for a day, when I would GENUINELY be considered and treated as a CITIZEN of a home, of a place called Barbados.”

Amen. I agree. Not the jackass bit, but the rest of it. I think the majority of us feel the same way.

45. Interesting protest in Brazil.

I think you need a cause or your thing just looks political.
    Brazil World Cup Champ Calls for Hospitals Instead of Cup
    By David Biller – Jun 20, 2013 2:32 PM GMT-0400

A member of Brazil’s team that won the 2002 World Cup, Rivaldo Ferreira, took to Twitter this week to support protesters who say the 30 billion reais ($13.3 billion) being spent on next year’s tournament should go to social services.

“It’s shameful to spend so much money for this World Cup and leave the hospitals and schools in such a precarious state,” posted Rivaldo, who said his father was hit by a car and died after failing to receive medical attention in a public hospital. “At this moment we aren’t in shape to host the World Cup, we don’t need it, we need education and health.”
    Enlarge image Brazil World Cup Champ Calls for Hospitals Instead of Tournament

Workers repair a walkway damaged by protesters outside the Legislative Assembly building in Rio de Janeiro on June 20, 2013. Photographer: Dado Galdieri/Bloomberg
    Enlarge image Brazil World Cup Champ Calls for Hospitals Instead of Tournament

Protesters walk during demonstrations in Sao Paulo on June 18, 2013. Photographer: Marcos Issa/Bloomberg

Protests initially staged in response to higher bus fares have expanded to include issues from government corruption to lack of adequate public services. While mayors of Sao Paulo, Rio de Janeiro and other cities rolled back the fare increases, demonstrations are scheduled tonight across the country. The protests are taking place during the FIFA Confederations Cup, which is being played in six new or renovated stadiums.

In a video posted online yesterday, soccer legend Pele called on Brazilians to “forget all this confusion that’s happening in Brazil” and refrain from booing the national squad, which yesterday beat Mexico in Fortaleza.

Inside the arena, fans held up signs saying demonstrations were against corruption, not the country’s squad. The signs bore one of the movement’s slogans: “The giant has awakened,” a reference to Brazil’s national anthem.
    Ronaldo Approves

Ronaldo Luis Nazario de Lima, a two-time World Cup winner and three-time recipient of FIFA’s player of the year award, posted on his Twitter account that he has been proud to see the protests and hopes they serve to improve management of public funds.

Ronaldo, a member of the local organizing committee for the 2014 World Cup, also wrote he doubts Brazil would be any better off had it not decided to host the tournament.

Romario de Souza Faria, a striker who won the Golden Ball award in Brazil’s 1994 World Cup win and is now a federal deputy, railed against Pele’s video in a press conference.

“Pele has absolutely no idea what’s going on in this country, so he can’t speak such nonsense,” said Romario, who has sparred publicly with Pele in the past. “He needs to shut his mouth.”

Neymar da Silva Santos Jr., the phenomenon who in May signed a deal worth 171 million reais to transfer to FC Barcelona, wrote on his Facebook page before taking the field yesterday that the protest movement had inspired him to play.

“I’m sad about everything that’s happening in Brazil,” Neymar wrote in the post that garnered more than 100,000 ’likes.’ “I always had faith that it wouldn’t be necessary to reach the point where we need to go to the streets to demand better transport, health, education and security, all that is required of the government.”

Neymar netted one goal and one assist in Brazil’s 2-0 victory, its second thus far in the tournament.

To contact the reporter on this story: David Biller in Rio de Janeiro at dbiller1@bloomberg.

46. @ Onions
    “Man you want sending to Alma Parris school for some remedial classes you ent know…..man you all a sudden attackin evabody like a attack dog…..”
    Onions, more drastic remedies than that have been proposed and tried on the bushman……..all failed.

Bushie is simply allergic to BS and Hyprocracy…….although (surprisingly) somewhat partial to brazen bowls…..

The simple solution to Bushie’s malady is common sense.
    ….so you can’t help 🙂 – but thanks anyway.